Submitted by Cherfleur
Stephen Lashley – Attorney

As we approach our 70s and go beyond, we have to be weary and decide whether it pays to live to ‘that ripe old age’ then be stripped of all assets and control of our own welfare or whether to say goodbye at this point, with our faculties intact and muscles taut and able to fight back.

Today I learned, while attending what should have been the appeal for that matter Stephen Lashley blushed, that the elder and co-applicant died since January 21, 2021.  Nothings pained like this.  It was not murder it was by Pneumonia and Dementia.  Seriously?  Dementia can kill someone?  Why is an elder contracting pneumonia when someone is responsible for their care?  I am asking because I really do not know/understand. 

This very end result was predicted and that was why I took the matter to court.  In the UK and civilized spaces, once in/before the court the matter has to be dealt with properly.  In this case there was no direction to the applicant to re file one way or other (although there were two sittings without the defendants) but a dismissal of the application in favour of another under the mental Health Act, which removes all ‘interested parties’ who are not blood relatives; to the detriment of the elder.

I turned my attention away in December 2020 and he, for all intent and purposes a good whole man, DIED IN JANUARY 2021.  Itn’t it a pity!

The matter was thus withdrawn. The object of the appeal was to get ceases to exist

But Stephen Lashley had the presence of mind to mention cost.  I honestly was so devastated that I can’t say whether he was offering it of otherwise.

Believe it or not, he complained to the three wise men that I like to go to the Press and give my perspective. Whose should I be giving?  Why does my affair with the Press un-nerve him?

“Unless the Lion learns to write, tales of the hunt shall glorify the hunter”

A human died and that was Stephen Lashley’s concern.  Members of that fraternity must now think me an upstart to saunter into their Club house and play that I can play ball.  I merely wanted to bring attention to the plight of an elder that was being abused so greviously and he couldn’t get to his Attorney or any agency to complain. He was held hostage and denied some basic human rights.  Lashley stated that there was ‘no evidence’ (proven/presented) of abuse. 

The man is now dead. Lack of proper care!  God knows what else.  The State should be sued. But who will do it?

Since the application under the Human Rights Act was substituted for a Mental Health Act,  how can such be proven?  The Mental Health Act, simply because persons are older and it is given that they would be presenting with a deterioration of body parts and function, ip so facto, it is a presumptuous position and in my view an abuse of aging people and their rights.

The fight for elders’ rights is going to have to get fierce. Lawyers won’t do it.   The fraternity will fight to lock laymen out of their midst but there needs to be some new ways and attitude in the region of how to protect these vulnerable people.   Though the Judge’s Order addressed the other points I rose under my application, it failed to give protection (remove the offending parties) from the direct care and access to the elder. The Mental Health Act refers to them as ‘patients’. This Act, and under which Stephen Lashley’s clients  brought their application, removed outsiders; persons or organisations which are knowledgeable and unbiased about the scourge of elder abuse from bringing a claim to court.  His death so soon after the Order, which included that all receipts of his expenses be presented to the court each quarter and that only his expenses must be paid for from his money is testimony that such orders without protection are an invitation and recipe for their extinction.  The Order also tells where we are as a region as regards the reality of elder abuse.

Think Hernandez Brothers.

139 responses to “Elder Abuse – To be or not to be”

1. @Cudear Bajan
    You could not have heard that I was stripped of care of the individual nor that I was a ‘friend’ later in life, or if you did your source was malicious.
    The gentleman cared for himself fully until recently.
    And to appease your appetite from further gossip, I knew him and his children since the children were in Primary school. That same private school that my daughter attended from Nursery.That is how long I have known the family.
    I may not have known that people die from Dementia, but I sure know elder abuse and how elders should be treated according to the UN Conference on The Older Person, what obtains in other societies and basic human courtesies. This is not the first person I assisted in such circumstances. It was the first that was being held hostage and prevented from getting to his Attorney. It is the first that reached the courts and the Press..

2. @Tony
    Going forward you have to ensure that you provide for old age.
    The elderly that are being rushed or victimized are those with assets. That suggests that they made provision. What happens is if or when they become ill and have to depend on ‘anyone’ to care for them, in that instance, they have to give that person access to their keys and money and anything of value and when the time comes to return them, that becomes the dilemma God forbade when the scenario is coupled with the forgetful disease. They get Psychiatrists to diagnose that the individual is unable to manage their affairs.

The Judge’s Order, in this instance, touched on all of my concerns and igave precise and stern directions of how the Applicant under the Mental Health Act must treat the elder’s properties, finances and health/welfare. However, it left an opening.

3. @Cudear Bajan xxxx the elder died since January 2021. How can you be interested in someone and not know they are dead, dead, dead.
    ———-“Where there is no wit, money cannot buy” ———-
    My interest took the plight of this elder to the High Courts and had an Order directing how and what was to be done as it regards his assets and welfare. I had carried out my responsibility; tried as hard and as diligently and fearlessly as I could to get him/his plight heard and addressed.
    I do not know of any thief, who someone exposes, that wants to be in communication with that person.
    I filed an appeal because I was not satisfied that the Mental Health Act addressed all the aspects of the elder’s human rights that he complained to me about and which I reported.
    I focus on what was asked of me.

4. David, BU, I sure do not know all the ailments and sometimes get my tenses wrong too, but for Christ sakes implore your followers to talk sense and ask sensible I cannot believe that people like CudearBajan is talking about running away and minding children and money owed when this is one of many articles about this issue.
    I never stated anything about maintenance owed. Why are people talking about that and justifying an elder’s financial abuse or other abuses and his death for owed maintenance?
    For all the pandits who are claiming that old people get this or that sickness and pneumonia and all else kills, they are ignoring that I said, a good and strong (subjectively) man died as soon as I turned my back/focus.
    How are would-be intelligent people purporting that every old person because they are old, will present with these debilitating diseases?
    It is known that Bajans, per capita, are the largest number of centenarians..
    I won’t say anything else.

5. BU
    The majority of bloggers’ comments stray. Critique is good and I welcome those who point out that I was not very clear in some area or the other or even about my ignorance regarding dementia.
    The general attitude here tells where we are as a society; Caribbean Society.
    I am in some international groups that address elder abuse and am pleased with what is being done for elders elsewhere from a policy level and NGO’s advocacy and actions.

‘Buckle up. We can learn a lot from a Dummy’

6. No, it is not my comprehension skills. It would be your writing skills that are the problem.

That is, if I were to believe your attempted cover up. I believe you mean just what you implied about dementia.

Now, what about the pneumonia? Was that gaffe also simply a misunderstanding on my part?

Do you still not understand how the gentleman could end up with pneumonia?

Steupse!

7. Meant

8. Ah, I am inclined to scan these days and so I missed some of your posts.

Did you research dementia? You do know that those who suffer from dementia are often divorced from reality, don’t you? They often accuse their caregivers of all manner of atrocities.

A good strong man of sound mind found himself in this predicament? I could never quite understand how he was able to talk with you but not to break free.

There are certainly cases such as you describe but I am not certain that this was one of them.

9. Uh-oh! He run way an lef de woman tuh raise de children?

Another dead beat dad? Plenty of them around. I always wonder if these runaway men do not realise that they will not stay young forever.

It seems we are dealing with an old case of CHILD NEGLECT which, in my opinion, is a passive form of child abuse.

Just last week, I wondered about the plight of a man living in a leaning shack wrt any children and how he had attended to them if he had any. I always wonder.

Having said that, I still believe that our governmental systems are not adequate to investigate and address elder abuse.

Nor child abuse for that matter.

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Cherfleur , appreciate the attempt to clarify with “The public interest is about elder abuse. This is one of many on elder abuse.
    The substance of this article is about elder abuse not lawyering…
    ” so in turn a brief response.

As others have noted you were not very clear with your report but the greatest problem was your attempt to be ‘transparent’ about your knowledge or lack of it on the health issues. It seems that several bloggers – including myself – were astonished by those admissions… NOT that you were unaware of specifics about pneumonia or dementia but rather that you thought it necessary to show such a basic lack of research (with ALL the available resources). If you CANNOT grasp that that ‘carelessness’ or ‘indifference’ suggested that you may be bringing a similiar attitude to your analysis of this man’s plight then … 🤦‍♂️

For my part – as I believe all others did too – I completely get your admirable focus on the elder abuse (and too your veiled and dangerous allegations of possible homicide) but YOU also must get the concerns of others who are saying 1) all may NOT be what it appears to be if a person has DEMENTIA and (alas unfortunate but real) your latter note that the elder – if by your admission was a dead beat dad – may have brought some of this “bounty” hunting on himself. That is your word!

So as I said prior ‘condolences re the untimely death of your friend’.

And to respond to a query from the Blogmaster of course ‘Elder Abuse’ is a serious problem of which we ALL as respectful citizens have deep concerns … but all of us have to be clear and properly researched when we seek to bring ANY issue to public awareness!

11. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@cherfleur May 15, 2022 12:20 AM “You could not have heard that I was stripped of care of the individual nor that I was a ‘friend’ later in life, or if you did your source was malicious.
    The gentleman cared for himself fully until recently.”

You said yourself that you were prevented by family members from being in contact with the old man. I call that “stripped of care.” I have heard no gossip, only what you have written here now and previously. Dementia patients tend to decline slowly over many years and it is unlikely that a person with dementia could care fully for themselves until recently. Almost certainly, his wife, even if previously estranged, and his adult children were providing care, baths, meals, hair cuts, laundry, house cleaning etc. I’ve never heard of a dementia patient who can provide these services for themselves until close to the end.

12. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@cherfleur May 15, 2022 12:07 AM “The substance of this article is about elder abuse not lawyering.”

If your story is about elder abuse, not lawyering, why was it necessary to mention a lawyer by name? You do not mention your own name, you do not mention the old man’s name, you do not mention the wife of the old man by name, you do not mention the children of the old man by name, you do not mention the names of the court officials, you do not mention the names of the psychiatrists/doctors.

You mention the name of the lawyer.

And you try to convince us that the story is about elder abuse, and not about your abuse of the lawyer mentioned by name?

13. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@cherfleur May 15, 2022 12:20 AM ” how elders should be treated according to the UN Conference on The Older Person?

The UN Conference on The Older Person does not cook meals, escort elders to the doctor, cook meals, do laundry, clean houses, change diapers. These tasks are almost always performed by middled age daughters, and “yes” sometmes by wives, even if previously estranged.

I know a wife who cared for her husband in his declining years, even though he had treated her shabbily during most of their relationship. By the time he died she had nothing except her national insurance pension. She had spent all of his assets and all of hers on him. Why did she care for him? Because she said “he was the father of my children” and she did not want the children to see their father suffer. She also remembered the loving days of their youth before he spent a lifetime horning her with Sue, Jenny, Jane and What’s her name.

Don’t be so hard on estranged wives. Sometimes wives leave because the marriage has become intolerable. It is not always that a wife leaves “because she got anneder man” Sometimes she loves her husband but feels compelled to leave because the marriage has become intolerable.

If she leaves and then raises their children with her own earnings, and perhaps with the earnings of another man who she has found, she is still a wife, the children are still the elderly husband’s blood relatives. If the old man has assets, and especially in this case if the family is willing to provide years of care then in my opinion they are ENTITLED to any assets he has left behind.

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Chefleur…and that’s why my case was not for BU consumption….

.that’s why Hal got mad at me because i absolutely REFUSED to give specifics…in a then ONGOING court process..

not a fella knows what occurred, they only know that i won..

15. William Skinner Avatar

@ CudearBajan
    Still can’t understand why people don’t get the simple fact that all relationships, like everything else, can fail for any reason. The same way they start.
    No wonder then that marriages fail and some succeed. No big thing. All humans are predators. We are nothing but naked apes. There really is no mystery to it. Both women and men bear scars from failed relationships.

16. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

And in addition if the man had a wife, even if estranged for decades, it means that he has CHOSEN to remain a married man. He did NOT want a divorce. He has closed the door to marriage to any other woman. When he becomes old and sick, the task of caring for him RIGHTLY belongs to the wife and their children. I would caution any other woman not to become too attached to that still married man, his assets, or to assuming care giving responsibilities. Most likely, it won’t end well.

17. There is general acceptance relationships will go south- we are human beings, however, it does not preempt the opportunity for individuals to seek justice based on their perspectives and judgment calls. The process equips players involved in such a process of advocacy to learn and hopefully to positively influence others in their circle and wider.

18. I am still digesting tis story and the many turns it took. I am completely lost.

It was as if Chefleur assembled a creative writing team and instructed them to play with the story. A small crack was turned into a gorge; different sexual relationships, wife beating and being a dead-beat dad were explored.

Needles to say, I am assembling my creative writing team. What if the lawyer was wronged by this man in some way? More to come.

19. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Under Barbados law a wife remains a wife until a decree absolute is granted. It does not matter if the wife has moved to Antartica and remained there for 50 years. It does not matter if her husband happened upon her in New York and did not recognize her. Under Barbados law she is still WIFE and can turn up after the old man is dead and claim and get 2/3 of his estate. She does not need to have done anything for him in decades, She is still WIFE. Is this just, moral, right? I am no philosopher nor theologian. But I know that it is LAWFUL.

Barbados law recognizes only ONE WIFE at a time. A married man even if estranged from his wife for decades cannot in law have a common law wife, even if that subsequent woman has lived with him and served him excellently for most of her life. Under Barbados law she is NOTHING to him. However if children are born of that union the children if minors are entitled to a part of their father’s estate. If the children are adults and in good health he can decide to leave them NOTHING. The children’s mother is entitled to NOTHING.

Sometime we women are too kind for our own good.

20. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

SC=Since Covid I have seen a widow hollering and screaming in the cemetery for a husband she had not lived with for nearly a decade, because once he got his first stroke on his way home from the outside woman, the QEH discharged him to the “almshouse” where he remained until death. The taxpayers got screwed for nearly a decade’s worth of his care. The outside woman got nothing, The wife shed the “appropriate” tears and got the estate.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Simple Cuddear, LOLLL… you need to ease up on this ‘Outside woman’ getting nothing line of argument! Please revisit the Selby case at CCJ (which I am sure you recall from these pages).

As I recall from that now precedent making judgement the unmarried outside woman DID GET the estate from the not-divorced male who was still supposedly residing with his wife although apparently also co-habiting with the shrewd and resourceful lady friend!

All that to say, where there is a Bajan ‘will’ (in this case no legal will of final testament) there is a way for the ‘outside woman’ to get her way!😎

22. My mother was being abused by her children too. She was also diagnosed with ‘mild cognitive impairment’, the first stage of Dementia.
    I know,,,, Dementia has four stages before that point where the brain ceases to function. If the subject in question was and I had been communicating during 2020 and I got clear and crisp comments and instructions from him, then, ordinarily, dementia shouldn’t be the cause of death.
    Lashley claimed that abuse wasn’t established. Of course not. He represented the Respondents and he shut down the case of alleged abuse and opened one under the Mental Health Act And I reiterate, ‘the Judge’s order gave instructions on how the elder’s assets were to be treated, managed and about his care and welfare. A normal application under the Mental Health Act, does not come with such instructions
    The order is .in the Registry

Again, for those who “missed the point’ this is about highlighting elder abuse and the flaws in the policythat lend to it and the attitude of various groups of people that seem to ignore or condone it.

23. All illnesses are due to a breakdown due to poor nutrition brought on due to a lack of care. To the Gurus who think that all old people will and should have an illness and these are a warrant of old age I can say that theirs is ill-informed.
    People, old or young are becoming ill or presenting with diseases because of poor diet or other forms of biological neglect. Dementia, Diabetes, you name it, do not have to be if people who are able to care for themselves do so knowledgeably and those who are charged with the care of the elderly have the ‘know’ and do ‘care’ for their wards.
    The doctor who is usually on ‘Doctor on call’ always says there is no cure for Diabetes. One evening a woman called to share with the public that she was diagnosed with diabetes and told there was no cure only treatment to manage it. However she went somewhere and was put on a robust diet and after some time when she was again tested, it was found that she did not show to have diabetes. The knowledgeable gentleman then said, that he always tells his patients to eat vegetables. Which vegetables and how or how much he would never be able to advise because he is not a Nutritionist nor does his branch of care support this science. Big Pharma would go belly-up.
    My point, is; no one “has to have” any of these diseases. The modern diet is responsible for all diseases.
    My mother was diagnosed with diverticulitis and was told the only way to correct that was by surgery. I had her sent to Barbados and Dr Cheeseman did a ‘simple’ regime of purges over a few days and walla!
    It was not magic. It is truth and knowledge. Poor diet and late meals are issues of elder abuse.

People do not have to get sick, young or old.

24. TheO,

Not playing with the story at all. The main points came, albeit murkily, from Cherfleur.

You guys have a tendency to believe without question. Not Miss Marple. I think that is stupid.

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@DPD
    Granted the outside woman does sometimes get the crumbs that fall from the good wife’s table.

In the case you referenced I recall that it was a sibling who was challenging the newish “not quite married” woman’s ability to get a share of the estate. I recall that the gentleman was divorced, and living with a newish woman who claimed common law wife status. Under Barbados law a single, widowed or divorced person can have a common law spouse, but a married person CANNOT, My recollection was that a sibling was asserting a claim that the newish woman was not a spouse, and that the court ruled that she was in fact a spouse because the gentleman had been legally divorced from the wife of his youth, and therefore the law recognized the newish woman as the ONLY wife he had at the time of his death. She was therefore not an outside woman, but a common law spouse.

26. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@cherfleur “My mother was diagnosed with diverticulitis and was told the only way to correct that was by surgery. I had her sent to Barbados and Dr Cheeseman did a ‘simple’ regime of purges over a few days and walla!”

Dr. Cheeseman died at 71 or 72 did he not?

Did he die of good health then?

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I wonder if there is a Nobel prize waiting in Stockholm for cherfler who had discovered the secret of eliminating, aging, sickness and death.

28. I have heard too many made up stories about myself to believe everything I am told.

Didn’t I say that once the police were called on me for “threatening to kill my baby son”? Did not the policeman apologise most profusely when he came and found him well taken care of and sleeping peacefully. Did I not take him to a paediatrician the very next day for examination to protect myself?

And all because the child cried incessantly for months. When he wasn’t sleeping or stuffing his face with breast milk, he was more often than not, crying.

Since he has grown up, I often look at the cute crying baby pictures I have framed and tell him that it was only his face that saved him from being tossed out of the window. It is our little joke. But at the time, it was no joke.

Believe what you will. I will continue to question EVERYONE and EVERYTHING until it makes sense to me.

How can one expect to be a credible elders’ rights advocate without having taken the time to acquaint one’s self with dementia?

29. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

And “yes” diabetes can be reversed bit only under a strict regimen supervised by doctors, nutritionists, exercise therapists etc. and with a highly committed patient. Reversing diabetes is not yet a commonplace. It will likely never become a commonplace in our lifetime.

30. @Simple Simon

Diabetes can be reversed or is it more accurate to say managed by making smart decisions.

31. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna May 15, 2022 10:51 AM “And all because the child cried incessantly for months. When he wasn’t sleeping or stuffing his face with breast milk”

I had a nephew like that. Cried incessantly. My sister much my elder and who helped to raise me and who I know to be is the gentlest of souls would sometimes be overwhelmed by the crying. Then but I would to leave my home and go to hers and order her to leave home for a couple of hours to escape the crying. I didn’t care what she did in that time, walk in the park, go shopping, visit a friend. The li’l rascal is 41 now and a most pleasant quiet man, but back then…wuhloss!!!!

Some babies are cry-ers, that’s the truth, and the mother deserves a spouse, friend, relative or paid caregiver, or ALL of the above so that she can get a break from the incessant crying.

32. @Donna
    My comment was not directed at you, but mainly to highlight the direction the discussion was taking.
    To counter what is being said Chefleur is now entering a medical minefield. Is it the blogmaster who likes to say “Less is more”? Good advice.

33. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David May 15, 2022 10:59 AM @Simple Simon. Diabetes can be reversed or is it more accurate to say managed by making smart decisions.”

Actually reversed. Completely off medications. But it is NOT a do it yourself project. This was done in a specialist diabetes center with enormous human, technical, medical, psychological support directed to the patient. And with a highly compliant, highly intelligent youngish patient. Yes it also involved complete lifestyle changes.

NOT a do it yourself project.

I am a diabetic myself and I know that I cannot do it. Just had half a brownie. Don’t ask why. lickerish I guess.

34. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

https://www.diabetes.org.uk/diabetes-the-basics/type-2-reverse
    Reversing type 2 diabetes
    We don’t call it diabetes reversal, because this might sound like it’s permanent, and there’s no guarantee that your diabetes has gone forever. But yes, it may be possible to put your type 2 diabetes into remission.

35. Thanks Simple Simon. This is point the blogmaster was trying to make.

36. @ Simple Simon
    PLEASE, reclaim your original pseudonym. It was soooo appropriate.

Try to follow here…
    Shit happens!!
    All that civilized persons ask, is that when it does, coherent systems are put in place to not only ensure fair, balanced and just outcomes, but that such systems are transparent, and equally applied to everyone.

What the hell does THAT have to do with if dementia kills?… or if the victim deserves his fate? or if the person who highlights the example of failure ‘did her research’..? or if diabetes can be cured ‘forever’???? or ANYTHING else?

Shiite woman!!!
    give us a break do!!

….and as to babies that cry incessantly…. perhaps this is a natural instinctive premonition about your damn patent’s proclivity to nag on and on and on….about the same damn shiite, …. day after day after day….

@ Dribbler…
    Boss you are so consistently lukewarm that it is actually impressive.
    You should be a Permanent Secretary……

37. Cuhdear Bajan,

My former cry baby now does not care if Sunday comes on Monday. Indeed, I believe that only my death could bring a tear to his eyes right now.

And the way I am always joking about my pending demise, the laughter may quickly follow the tears when I actually make my exit.

We love tuh skin we teet!

38. And that is why we took care to mention the inadequacy of our systems each and every time.

My baby is all smiles and laughter now. He can now read my posts and they don’t bother him at all. So….

So funny that one whose answer to EVERYTHING has been the same for several years has a problem with one whom he deems to be doing the same.

“Brass bowls, ass is grass, pitchfork at the Garrison, too many women in authority, “total destruction’s the only solution” etc. etc. etc.”

“Lotta shiite!”

39. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna ““Brass bowls, ass is grass, pitchfork at the Garrison, too many women in authority, “total destruction’s the only solution” etc. etc. etc.”

Donna, ya killin’ me

Lollll!!!

40. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bush Tea “if the victim deserves his fate? or if the person who highlights the example of failure ‘did her research’..?”

Please note that nowhere did I say or imply that the victim deserved his fate.

Nowhere did I say or imply that the person who highlights the issue did or did not do her research.

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Simple, you got the point of that Selby case reference, so all good.

Not to relitigate that again but one point of note. An issue missed in the case was the ‘time’ of when the husband was divorced and NOT living in the same home with his wife… in short, the duration of his supposed time of common law ‘live wid’!

But she got the goodies she was aiming for and that’s now a dun deal.

Anyhow quite fine synopsis … if all from memory then kudos!

@BushTea, is that what luke warm is about, well den!

42. @ various coments and questions
    This is becoming a squabble about other things rather than highlighting ELDER ABUSE and getting more muscle in the policies and agencies.
    1:
    I never said the dad was a run away. How are you people reading and getting that point wrong?
    I have known this family since the children were in Nursery school. Their life is not new to me. He had relied on my advice regarding the raising of the children and other financial and legal matters throughout their adolescence and college years.
    This is a matter that was taken to court (by me) under one Law and health with under another but the Order speaks volumes, except for those aspects of human rights. So I don’t see where I could have gotten ‘facts’ wrong as some are saying.
    I had accompanied this man to HIS attorney some years back. He complained to me and asked me to intervene. I contacted that Attorney who said, rightly, that he couldn’t take instructions from me orally. His attempt to reach the individual were barred. That’s when I went to the government agencies.

@ the person who suggests that I was cloaking my accusation of murder withing the statement that it was pneumonia and dementia.
    I was not cloaking anything. I made a bold direct statement. The Head Judge read the Death certificate to me. Cause of death: pneumonia then he mentioned Dementia. I myself have not seen the death certificate. Place of death is QEH. I am hearing that once in there it is likely that you die from the former. How then could it be suggested that I intended to accuse (and who might I ask), of murder. I thought I was being fair, by stating that the sudden and mysterious (to me) death WAS NOT MURDER. ya’ll making me wanna laugh when all I have ae tears and grief. Focus on the issue. If you say I was inarticulate, I plead the 5th.

@ all those who are asking about bad lawyeringxxx
    At the time it was decided that the Mental Health Act was going to be used where I, a neutral person wouldn’t be involved, I informed the Judge that the elder has a daughter from his previous union. She sternly told Mr Lashley that she expected him to be transparent.
    What did he do?
    He removed himself from the case. Second Attorney: apparently in taking his briefs, he discovered same (my suspicious and investigative mind) and removed himself also. Third Attorney filed application for the daughter stating that it was only her and a brother. The Judge processed the application before her.
    What goes?
    The order was made with the 3rd attorney’s rubric/legend on the top right-hand side of the front page.
    Then Lashley resumes the matter and his name in the legend of the same order; now final order.
    What goes?
    I policed this case. I checked on everything that was filed and naturally the order, which I obtained a certified copy of. Didn’t have in in hand when I needed to use it as reference so I requested a copy from the registry, and hey presto. The same order but Lashley’s name in the Legend. Where are we?
    @ comments about reversed diabetes and other ailmentsxxxx

ALL diseases can be erased, corrected or whatever adjective suit the fancy. More and more people are choosing alternative medicine. Some doctors too, are referring patients to Nutritionists. Big Pharma has swindled enough and even they are now into manufacturing vitamins and supplements. Time will come when the masses too will move from the minus side of the number line to that place of knowing that there is and has always been another branch that has been providing release to sick people without surgery or chemical medicines. It has been happening for numerous decades. I don’t only help in elder abuse I also direct people away from medical doctors.

@ those who opined that the family blocked me.
    Those that are ungrateful and devious and (perhaps) covetous and criminal-minded would have. That first child, who I do not have an address or contact number for, is being robbed of her rightful share of her ancestors’ gift. The applicant and her mother (who ran away) had changed the phone numbers. Thus that young woman would not be able to contact her dad in the usual manner. I too could not get in touch and it was why I journeyed to Dover, only to find all this drama unfolding.
    I have nothing to gain from this case nor have I lost….but a life snuffed out.

There is a lot in the mortor than the psstle

43. @ BU xxxxxxThere is general acceptance relationships will go south- we are human beings, however, it does not preempt the opportunity for individuals to seek justice based on their perspectives and judgment calls. The process equips players involved in such a process of advocacy to learn and hopefully to positively influence others in their circle and wider.xxxxx

I realize you are responding to someone’s comments.

Seriously? Is this what bloggers have moved this article to? A wronged outside woman, thing?
    Man!
    There will be no improved laws and hope for me when I grow over 70s old.
    I can cry all over again for this man’s last days and his rightful heir.

44. @ Donna
    you have all day to sit and nitpick. I don’t. I want to deal with elder abuse and how to get the persons taking taxpayers money to make changes to the shabby policy.
    You and some take one perspective on dementia and pneumonia et al. I didn’t. I don’t. My interest in old people is about fair play aka, justice. Since most people do not know and therefore eat to their sickness and ultimate death, I do not focus on their health issues, except the medical service they get or do not get.
    Further, I am not a career advocate for elder abuse. I have a personal interest in this and another case because of the individuals.
    Let me again reiterate.
    no one needs to get sick and if and when they do they sure do not need to die.
    I do not care what anyone says. Pneumonia kills and no one, especially old and frail people need be in a situation to contract it in the first place then to die because of it.
    There is financial abuse to the elderly. You send in the police. I do not get involved in that.
    what then is so different if I do not kill myself on the many and various sicknesses?
    I preserve my energy.
    Get the man is freedom as per the Convention on Human Rights and he can then address the medical and financial abuses. that was my calculation. It was what I was asked to do. To get his attorney moving on his behalf.
    FOCUS FOCUS stop the senseless fuss.
    I put the matter in court. His plight was heard and addressed.
    What would you Donna do if someone complained to you about abuse?

45. @ TheOGazerts
    xxx Cherfleur gone into a medical mindfieldxxxx
    I hope I don’t get my other foot blown. I think I was very cautious about big pharma and their cabal.
    Which exactly of what I said are you referring to?

The medical fraternity has it warped (legally so) that only they must refer to reverses of health issues as ‘curing’. So be it.
    They also have it warped that only they can better people’s medical situations. So be it.
    But I can and shall speak of purging. Getting rid of toxins and excess mucus from the body thus clearing locked pores and valves.
    I shall speak of nutrition and vitamins to boost the body’s fighting capacity.

46. I want Nigel Humphrey to strengthen the Act so that once anyone reports that an elder says he is being taken advantage of, the authorities would step in and assess and first remove the offending party or put some restrictions on what they can and can’t do. The Judge did that in this case but failed to give an order that would protect his human rights.
    He died.
    2019 50 now I am on this case. It is not what I bargain for. Going to court and all the ensuing bad blood. All I was required to do was to get the man to his attorney or the attorney to act. when both those attempt failed I went to the agencies purporting to be acting on the elders’; behalf. All those failed the man also.
    I am pissed about the time and resources I had to expend to get this elder man a semblance of his human rights restored, if ever.
    HE DIED.
    The Ministry is aware of the magnitude of abuse among this vulnerable group.
    How many more has to be humiliated and degrade in their last days before some sensible and concrete law is implemented?

47. Barbados does not have an elder affairs law/act.
    Since 2016 Alicia Archer, Attorney at Law, wrote about this absence and the urgent need for such a legislation. Usually, in the absence of local legislation, the common law is used.
    There is no local Human Rights Act either. Are we serious about our human resources? Are we thinking and looking in the direction of progress?
    So I filed the matter (not knowing about CPR Rules etc, at that time) using the common/International Human Rights Act, in the capacity of ‘an interested person’. “YOU CAN LEARN A LOT FROM A DUMMY!
    The ‘new’ Judge put it aside first until the Mental Health Act was filed, then dismissed the first.
    The title of this Act itself is odious and a violation of a basic Human Right.
    As a society with centenarians, Barbados needs to have an Act that addresses the affairs of the elderly properly. No ‘ifs’ and ‘buts’. This is the objective of going to the Press. Le t it be known that there is this inefficiency and the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs gives the impression that its various arms/units can do justice, but really there is very little they can do with cases like this one, under the present circumstances.

For those gurus of Research, what Act, does this Ministry carry out its mandate under?

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Le t it be known that there is this inefficiency and the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs gives the impression that its various arms/units can do justice, but really there is very little they can do with cases like this one, under the present circumstances.”

same criminals who sat on their well-fed taxpayer paid asses for over 4 DECADES watching the elderly and their beneficiaries ROBBED OF EVERYTHING and did not lift not one finger to help them, or bring it to the public’s attention or to that of international agencies….they are just as complicit in what happened,…EVERY crime committed and THEY TOO SHOULD PAY…

they love to come up with these acronyms for SHOW ONLY…

“Further, I am not a career advocate for elder abuse. I have a personal interest in this and another case because of the individuals.”

now you learned your lesson…do not give any more details about any other case, the BU fake experts and fraud judges use every opportunity to ridicule victims and whoever tries to help them…and always have since I came on here…some even complained that they were called liars on FB….you would have to go our of your way to do something that vile…..always with the victim blaming…

49. DEAD beat dad, dead beat dad, Dad now DEAD DEAD DEAD.
    BU, am I to understand that a dad ‘wusless’ in his youth, who acquired great wealth (because of that) must be held hostage and his assets taken away when he is old and defenseless? Inheritance is not a ‘right’. It is consideration, except for a minor child or spouse. There is right and wrong and two wrongs do not make a right.
    1. I advised and accompanied that man to his long-time family lawyer, some time back, to do some estate planning. Not Lashley. That was done. No need to hurry him out.
    2 I know of a multi million dollar lawsuit where 2 daughters sued their Baseball icon dad for 14 million because he did not maintain them or featured in their lives when they were growing up.
    That is how knowledgeable and civilized people deal with such matters.

Leave a Reply to cherfleurCancel reply