Andrew Fahie

The arrest of former premier of BVI Andrew Fahie in the USA last week on a narcotics charge has caused regional tongues to wag for several reasons. It is disappointing to have to witness an elected officials betray the public trust expected of them. It is more disturbing when the arrested person is Black (note Fahie is currently on bail in the USA awaiting his day in court. A reminder a man is innocent until declared guilty). 

It boggles the mind tinpot politicians to satisfy one of the seven deadly sins never learn, in this case still having the courage to cross US borders. In the famous words of Carlos Suarez – you do the crime you do the time.

Fahie’s arrest and possible incarceration serves as a reminder to Barbadians what happened to former minister Donville Inniss currently serving a 24 month sentence in the USA for money laundering. Another public servant based on the court hearing who betrayed a public he swore to serve. Some will debate this matter within the boundary of the law to suggest Inniss was ‘unfaired’ by the ‘system’, however, there is a strong ethical case still for him to answer to answer.

Alex Tasker

The most intriguing observation about regional politicians landing in hot soup is the patience of USA authorities to wait for the ‘fly’ to fly into the spider’s web. Is this a case of USA authorities lacking confidence in extradition treaties with regional countries? The case of former FIFA Vice President Jack Warner comes to mind, he has been fighting an extradition request from the USA since 2015. Alex Tasker has been fighting an extradition request from the US also since 2021 in connection with the ICBL/Donville Inniss matter.

The recent case of a St. Vincent court rejecting a request from the US government to extradite Kern Z Mayers to answer charges dating to 2006 makes for interesting reading. Has the time come for CARICOM to take a regional approach to extradition requests? Our friend Caleb Pilgrim is asking.

See press report of the St. Vincent matter.

Vincentian court refuses US application to extradite national

Published:Saturday | May 7, 2022 | 5:12 PM CMC

File photo.

A court in St Vincent and the Grenadines has refused an application by the United States to extradite a Vincentian man, who is said to be among the most wanted in Pennsylvania.

“The court has considered carefully the arguments and submissions, examined all affidavits and other evidence, case law, statutory guidelines, and the court finds that given all the circumstances it would be unjust to return him,” said Chief Magistrate Rechanne Browne in a recent ruling.

The authorities in the United States wanted Kingstown to send Kern Z Mayers back to Pennsylvania to answer charges in relation to a January 4, 2006 incident in that state.

“Law enforcement attempted to initiate a traffic stop on a vehicle driven by Kern Mayers. In an attempt to flee from the police, Kern Mayers struck several vehicles and injured police officers. After a vehicle and foot pursuit, Kern Mayers was captured. Mayers was released from the Luzerne County Correctional Facility and then failed to attend his scheduled court hearing on January 25, 2006,” the website Pennsylvania Crime Stoppers said of the allegation against Mayers.

While in St Vincent, the police in Kingstown arrested Mayers at a business place in the city on December 10, 2020,  a few years after he returned to St. Vincent and the Grenadines..

Lawyers Joseph Delves and Grant Connell represented him in the extradition hearing.

Connell also testified on Mayers’ behalf during the proceedings in which Rose-Ann Richardson appeared for the Crown.

In her ruling, the chief magistrate noted that the Crown had submitted that Mayers is a fugitive and should be returned to the United States to answer to the charges.

However, Delves submitted that not all the offences are relevant and that the Crown had not shown that the extradition is permitted under the Fugitive Offenders Act.

The chief magistrate pointed out that Mayers was arrested on the basis of being wanted in Pennsylvania, as he had not appeared at court on January 25, 2006 for the preliminary enquiry.

She noted that evidence was presented viva voce or orally, by affidavit and documentary evidence.

Browne further pointed out that the Fugitive Offenders Act and the extradition treaty between St Vincent and the Grenadines and the United States govern extradition between both countries.

The United States charged Mayers with two counts with each charge comprising several charges, including alleged possession of two grams of cocaine and injuries to a police officer.

Only some offences extraditable

The court held that some of the counts were extraditable while others were not.

The chief magistrate noted that the law says a person shall not be returned if: the court of committal is satisfied by reason of the trivial nature of the case; the accusation against the fugitive, having not been made in good faith; the passage of time since the committal of the offence; any sufficient cause as it would, having regard to all circumstances be unjust or oppressive or too severe a punishment to return the fugitive.

The Crown argued that the issue of statute of limitation did not apply as Mayers absconded and had no reasonably ascertainable place of abode or work within the Commonwealth.

It was further contended that the offences were committed on January  4, 2006, and he was immediately arrested and charged and soon thereafter failed to show up on January 25, 2006, for the hearing.

Despite the fact that five-year and two-year statutes of limitation exist, the limit is not applicable as the respondent absconded, the Crown further argued.

However, Mayers’ lawyers contended that the passage of time was critical and having regard to all circumstances, it would be unjust, oppressive and too severe a punishment to send him back to face trial in the United States.

They argued that the offences were allegedly committed in January 2006 and the extradition proceedings commenced in 2021.

The lawyers told the court that 15 years is an inordinately long period and the prosecution of the offences should have commenced in 2011 and not in 2017.

They said there was no evidence that Mayers was not continuously in the Commonwealth between 2006 and 2011.

They also contended that an address of New York was given in 2017.

The court also noted that all charges were dated 2017, adding that even though the affidavit by James McMonagle Jr, the assistant district attorney for Pennsylvania, said that the complaints were destroyed in 2015, “What is the nexus between these matters before the court?”

US authorities said that the indictments were accidentally destroyed while documents were being purged.

And while they said that the court keeps copies of the original documents those exhibited in the extradition proceeding were documents filed in 2017, even as Mayers was indicted in 2006.

Mayers’ lawyers argued that the document that should be exhibited are those from 2006 and, therefore, the matter was really brought against Mayers in 2017 — way past the statute of limitation.

They pointed out that the US government did not explain why it took so long and raised issues.

The lawyers also argued that Mayers would not receive a fair trial in the United States.

73 responses to “Court Rejects US Request to Extradite”

1. @Artax

There is a convention governing diplomatic relations between countries. Interesting what it says about misconduct of holders.

https://www.government.nl/topics/embassies-consulates-and-other-representations/diplomatic-immunity

2. @ David

I’ve read information about diplomatic immunity and passports.

Hosting country provides diplomatic immunity:

“The SENDING state DOES NOT provide immunity. Infact to assign a diplomat, a prior permission is required from receiving state/country to assign a diplomat. The RECEIVING STATE PROVIDES immunity NOT sending state.”

Perhaps we should PRAY for those persons who parade as though they have common sense, when in actuality they don’t.

3. @Artax

The blogmaster is aware the matter would have been well researched by you before entering the discussion.

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Artax May 11, 2022 10:53 PM “Please explain how BVI or the UK government could ‘grant’ Fahie Diplomatic Immunity in the USA?”

My response: The sending country requests immunity. The receiving country says “yes” or “no”

@Artax May 11, 2022 10:53 PM “Wouldn’t the USA be responsible for ‘granting’ or ‘withdrawing’ immunity?”

My response:
    NO.
    Only the sending country can WAIVE the immunity of its own diplomats. The USA or any country can expel foreign diplomats if it is believed that they have engaged in undiplomatic behavior but cannot withdraw diplomatic immunity from foreign diplomats. But if a foreign diplomat is asked to leave the USA or any other country, then.he or she MUST leave.

5. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David May 12, 2022 10:43 AM “Artax the blogmaster is aware the matter would have been well researched by you before entering the discussion.”

So what am I David, chopped liver incapable of doing careful research?

The USA can only withdraw diplomatic status from its own diplomats. The USA can also waive the diplomatic status of its diplomats in a foreign country, but almost never does so, as to do so would permit a foreign country to civilly or criminally charge/try a USA diplomat and the USA does not want any other country to have that power over its high ranking officials. If a USA diplomat engages in “naughty” behavior, the USA will RECALL that diplomat, often so quietly that only the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is aware. Foreign countries can also expel USA diplomats, but typically only powerful countries do this.

6. Indicted! Ex-BVI Premier facing life in prison, assets could be seized | Loop Barbados

http://barbados.loopnews.com/content/indicted-ex-bvi-premier-facing-life-prison-assets-could-be-seized-3

7. You should always do whatever you can for your fucking Government as they will always look after you selflessly.

8. Hugo Chavez’s ex-nurse-turned treasurer extradited to US | Loop Barbados

http://barbados.loopnews.com/content/hugo-chavezs-ex-nurse-turned-treasurer-extradited-us-3

9. Cuhdear Bajan May 12, 2022 5:39 PM

It seems as though you enjoy being difficult.

I asked you:

(1): “Please explain how BVI or the UK government could ‘grant’ Fahie Diplomatic Immunity in the USA?”

YOUR RESPONSE:
    “The sending country REQUESTS immunity. The receiving country says “YES ” or “NO”…”

(2): “Wouldn’t the USA be responsible for ‘GRANTING’ or ‘WITHDRAWING’ immunity?”

YOUR RESPONSE:
    “NO.” Only the SENDING country can WAIVE the immunity of its own diplomats.”

I refer you to YOUR RESPONSE to my first question.

You have essentially CONTRADICTED yourself.

How could the sending country ‘waive’ something for which it had to seek permission from the host to be granted?

If you ‘said’ the SENDING country REVOKED the APPOINTMENT of its diplomatic, then, we could discuss further.

10. Not only the CARICOM HOGS.

The Mother Country looking bad too.

https://www.wsws.org/en/articles/2022/05/02/owgy-m02.html

11. How
    Corruption
    Works

I am from Delhi, Hello..

Hello, are you our Delhi friend
    Yes
    I am the man from phone number double 7 double O two one
    Yeah, I know
    This is $50,000
    Thank you
    Good luck

Inspector Jay from Dehli

12. Where should i put this
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/21/respect-due/
    From BT
    “The buildings down there will be going to other people, they will not be going to us and, of course, we are not happy. We are most distressed and disappointed once again that the magistracy has been treated with total and utter disregard because once again we cannot get the kind of facilities befitting of our status.

“We must always be given a last resort kind of facility. Here it is we were to be upgraded and given facilities befitting of our status . . . and now they are going to find room for others to enjoy our space. So, we are not happy at all about that. So I am shouting from the mountain tops that once again the magistracy has been disrespected. I call it institutionalised disrespect,” Weekes declared.

He needs to get off of his status and distribute justice.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, unfortunately for Warner this judgment is perfectly timed for renewed public interest with the Qatar world cup about to start !

However, at this 80 year mark of his life one wonders if his lawyers will likely work a suitable plea deal and save him further issues in court … or maybe his health will markedly deteriorate and further give him respite to remain in T&T!

But as one revisits this scandal and reads that he is alleged to have received $5 million for his alleged corrupt actions … all I can say is WOW! That goes a long way in the land of the ‘Humming Bird’.

Hope he enjoyed it … possible jail at his age is no picnic!

14. @Dee Word

That is the question, he has spent the last 12 years racking up legal fees and having to manage disruption to his peace of mind. If memory serves his children were also implicated.

15. Did anyone or any organisation in the Caribbean benefit from Warner’s collection of funds ?

16. His travel agency?

17. De Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    De Pedantic Dribbler

Well @David, that’s the *itch of illegal activity: you surely need to enjoy the spoils while you can!

To your point I can’t perceive he spent more than 60% in legal fees so he had more than enough to live large in TnT. Consider also1
    he was a FIFA executive since the days as a boy I fanatically climbed up the stadium wall watching “Gas’ and Co until I then moved on up to sitting pretty 😎 in de stands to enjoy my soccer.

He has been allegedly dippsie-doodling for a looonng time, in short!

@Hants u not serious right 😎 … based on your vintage u went Kolig wid a national soccer playing older bro of mine and HE would regale me with tales of regional soccer ‘business’ as things evolved … so ABSOLUTELY they are allegations that Warner was the regional chieftain for the ‘griftwood’ that floated across and between the islands from the bigger griters in Europe!

No maguffy like him works alone, that’s fah sure!

Same thing with a certain long gone Bajan big shot exec on the Olympic committee … it’s life!

18. Did anyone or any organisation in the Caribbean benefit from Warner’s collection of funds ?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    His travel agency
    ….and a wide collection of ‘enablers’ across the region, who made it a point to ‘persist’ in sport administration even when their SPORTS results. were dismal. But who enjoyed the $$US cash that flowed like milk and honey…

They must now be sleeping lightly in fear that Jack will become ‘loose lips Jack’ under the strain of the US judicial blackmail called ‘plea bargaining…’

What a ting nut!!

19. Is Jack Warner still an MP in T&T? Trinidadian politicians have long been known for a little bobol . Caribbean countries must be the laughingstock of the world, imagine establishing a Caribbean Court of Justice to be the final Court of Appeal for their territories, headquartering it in Trinidad and Republic Trinidad refusing to recognize it and going to the Privy Council in England to obtain a final decision on legal proceedings.

That’s right they don’t need the Queen, but they need London’s Privy Council and BTW Trinidadian jurists sit on the CCJ, yuh can’t make this shit up. The participating countries should relocate the HQ of the CCJ to another island that respects the judicial competence of legal professionals from the Caribbean but none of them have the cojones to stand up to Trinidad.