The following is a Press Release received from Global Network for Cultural DevelopmentBarbados Underground

On 1st May, 2022 representatives from the Global Network for Cultural Development, Praise Academy for Dance, Orgasmik Intelligence, Politically In-correct, Operation Safe Space, Spiritually Aware Group, We the Forgotten Women, Barbados Youth Action Programme, Full Moon Goddess Circle, Sulam Construction & Property Management Services, Omololu The Children’s Foundation and women from all cross sections of the society and the Barbadian diaspora met to discuss strategies on how to assist in eliminating the systemic abuse of youth in the Barbadian society.

This group of organizations and passionate individuals will continue to network and collaborate on several initiatives that support the safety and holistic wellbeing of the wards of the State who are housed at the Government Industrial School (GIS).   Preliminary    initiatives are scheduled to occur in this month of May (designated as Child’s Month) and various short to long term strategies will be implemented until the current structures that enable the aforementioned abuse are dismantled.

The problem of systemic abuse in Barbados started during slavery and still exists today in the form of sexual, physical, and emotional abuse, that impact generations of families. On one side of the coin, abuse occurs in the home that is often perpetrated by a relative on women, young girls, and young boys.  On the other side of the coin, abuse is inflicted on minors, who are wards of the State in government run institutions.  The situation at GIS and Dodds has sparked outrage from as far back as forty-two years and because no fundamental changes have been made to this penal system for juveniles, the outrage continues today, in 2022.

We have compiled a short-term plan and we are launching our events with a Silent Prayer Walk on Mother’s Day, Sunday 8th May. We have already requested the necessary permit to do so and are awaiting word from the authorities. The Prayer Walk starts at 6 am on Black Rock Main Road near its junction with Dodson Land and Griffith Lane and is to continue along Black Rock Main Road to its junction with Wavell Avenue and return. Our medium-term effort will target the structural changes through legislation and institutional practices as well as pushing for accountability in crimes against minors.

Our long-term plan is to, through advocacy and strategic action, usher in a juvenile correctional system that is humane and underpinned by the principles of child justice. Our network of organizations in the Third Sector have and will continue to build their capacity to create programmes and deliver training to staff and care-givers of all government-run juvenile penal institutions and any other facility in need of it. We are adamant that any work with the nation’s children aimed at correcting behavior must honour their sense of dignity and self-worth. Mindful of the honourable intentions of this government we anticipate that they will be willing to engage us and make use of the wealth of knowledge and experience that we are gathering in this umbrella body of network of organizations.

Our initiatives and advocacy also need the women of Barbados who have been the backbone of this society since the 17th Century to stand up for this transformation. We also need to have the support of the good men and the youth to let it be known that we expect better of our government for all our people.

Our success depends on the public of Barbados to prevent a situation that is still unfolding from ever occurring again where minors without a voice have nowhere to run, no one to talk to and feel that the only way out of an abusive situation is suicide. Though we cannot put ourselves in their shoes we can become their voice across this nation and beyond.

To the girls of GIS, we want you to know that we have not forgotten you. Our Prayer is that you are the last group of girls on this island that experience these atrocities at the hands of the State.

Women in Action

glohumdevsols@gmail.com

#Saveourgirls. Connect with us on Facebook

163 responses to “Walk to #Saveourgirls”

1. No to moving girls

Matter over to Appeal Court after ruling against rehousing
    by MARIA BRADSHAW mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

OPERATION SAFE SPACE has lost its bid to get two children who are wards of the Government Industrial School (GIS) removed from that institution.
    But founder Dr Marsha Hinds said they were already in the process of taking the matter to the Court of Appeal as well as other international agencies to which Barbados is a signatory.
    “We lost the interim application for these girls to be rehoused,” she told the DAILY NATION hours after High Court Judge Barbara Cooke-Alleyne had rendered her decision.
    Hinds added: “The opinion of the judge was that she didn’t have jurisdiction to overturn the decision of the magistrate who placed the girls at the Government Industrial School. She indicated that it was a matter for appeal.
    “Our contention is that the parents were not initially opposed to their children going to the Government Industrial School because they recognised that their children needed help and they needed support.
    “What has changed their feelings about their children being at the Government Industrial School is the abuse they faced as wards there,” she added.
    Hinds, a former board member of the GIS, said the parents “trusted the state and the processes of the state to be able to get assistance for their children”.
    She said: “What changed their relationship with the GIS is that their children reported abuse. So we could not anticipate that at appeal before it happened but what we must ask ourselves as a nation is that now it has happened, how do we treat to it and that is a part of the question that we went to the court to have answered,” she said.
    “We have no choice but to take the matter before the Court of Appeal as well as to our international partners that we have signed commitments with because we feel as though Barbados is acting outside
    of international best practice when it comes to this matter.”
    She revealed that the appeal process was “already in train and we have already sought audience with the international partners for an independent review”.
    In terms of the 13-year-old girl who absconded from the Psychiatric Hospital on Saturday night, where five of the wards were taken two weeks ago and placed under suicide watch, Hinds suggested that the child was being denied access to her attorney.
    Being silenced
    “My question to you and my question to Barbados is you are a child, you are saying in your voice I am being abused; I am being hurt and at every turn that you say that, you are being silenced. What would you do as a child?
    “When you have a constitutional right to speak to your attorney but you cannot speak to your lawyer within the institution [where] you are being housed and your rights are arbitrarily being removed from you, what would you do?
    “This is one of the questions that you have put one of our most vulnerable citizens of Barbados to answer and she has answered and I think it reflects more on us than on her because we are the ones that are supposed to be protecting her and providing a safe environment and we are obviously failing that.”
    When contacted, Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams said he would not be dealing with the matter of the GIS in the press.
    In terms of the committee which has been set up to conduct a six-week independent investigation into the reform school, he said that committee would soon communicate to the public how it would function.
    “We have said what we are doing to get to the bottom of everything and I am letting the committee do [its] work. The committee is organising its business and as indicated there would be facilities for persons who are interested in the enquiry to be able to make representation. And at the appropriate time all of that information would be put in the public domain,” the minister said.

2. DavidMay 10, 2022 8:41 AM

Unfortunately you despite your effort twisting this into a political issue, majority of sensible Bajans are aware issues at penal/reform institutions in Barbados straddle both political parties.

Xxxxx
    There u go blaming me for the issue becoming a political issue
    Even a blind man on a trotting horse see and knows the political ramifications of this issue
    Reason why the outrage and calls abound for the school to be closed and the Minister resign
    Yes it is a political hot potatoe which the PM needs to reign in
    Not my fault by now u should realize you umbrella cannot hold shade over the PM head on this issue

3. Meanwhile yuh got judges and magistrates unable to make any decisions when issues involved citizens and govt
    The whole place has become dysfunctional and at a stage of asking who is in charge of this madness

4. @ TheOGazerts and David the blogmaster

Listening to Brasstacks caller.

“children trying to get arrested to escape abuse at home.

Parents prostituting their children.”

5. HantsMay 10, 2022 11:48 AM

@ TheOGazerts and David the blogmaster

Listening to Brasstacks caller.

“children trying to get arrested to escape abuse at home.

Parents prostituting their children.”

Xxxxx
    Nothing new here
    Now govt PR machine goes into full throttle
    Not unexpected however the push back against the loud outcomes would be hard for govt to manage since the GIS issue covers wide areas of abuse some allegedly attached to govt hospitals and govt schools which house abused children

6. @ TheOGazerts and David the blogmaster

I am awaiting your responses .

7. @Hants

We have established intake of students enter GIS with multiple issues.

8. But why are these girls on the run
    Asking for a friend

9. @Hants
    It is possible.

But who are the clients? Locals? Sex tourists?
    ——x—–
    A little extra – half of a conspiracy theory

Given the very high visibility of this case, I thought the young lady who escaped would have been quickly found.

One mud ask … Is the frequent disappearance of young girls for an extended period of time the product of a well organized scheme? Is there an ‘underground railroad’ or is it just for nefarious purposes.

10. Looks like another walk coming up on June 7th from Cheapside to Independence Square.

Protesting the illegal BLP GOB!!

I never thought Bajans would twig to the obvious but clearly someone has.

11. Home affairs minister says GIS and prison bosses only replaced to ensure no bias in ongoing probes
    Article by Kareem Smith
    Published on
    May 14, 2022

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/Wilfred-2-730×456.png

Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams has made it clear that the move to replace the leaders of the island’s prison and juvenile correctional facility is not indicative of wrongdoing on their part.

He said the decision to place Superintendent of Prisons Lieutenant Colonel John Nurse and the acting principal of the Government Industrial School (GIS) Ronald Brathwaite on leave was simply part of a wider plan to improve the country’s system of incarceration and rehabilitation.

In an interview on Friday, the Home Affairs Minister explained the two were sent on leave to protect ongoing inquiries at the institutions from even the slightest presumptions of bias.

“This is not prejudging the outcome of the inquiry, this is not saying that anything has been found at this time in relation to either person or that anybody is guilty of any wrongdoing. This is simply a matter of protocol and propriety,” he told Barbados TODAY .

On Monday, Nurse went on leave and was replaced by DeCarlo Payne, while Barbados TODAY was reliably informed on Friday that Catherine Jordan was introduced to staff at GIS as the new acting principal.

Jordan, who is also chairperson of the Child Care Board (CCB), is based at the boys’ unit of the juvenile reform school, Dodds, St Philip.

When contacted, she referred Barbados TODAY to the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Home Affairs who was unavailable for comment.

“Yes, it is true that the Superintendent of Prisons and the principal of the Government Industrial School are on leave. There is no mystery in that,” Abrahams confirmed.

“That is because a departmental inquiry is ongoing into both facilities and, obviously, as a matter of protocol and to assist with the smooth running of the inquiry or to remove any suggestion of bias or influence, it is necessary to remove the persons at the top of those institutions to be on leave,” he added.

The girls’ section of GIS has been at the centre of controversy for weeks, following an attempted escape at the institution which was followed by two successful escapes and numerous calls for the Barrows, St Lucy school to be closed down.

In mid-April, Abrahams said investigations into operations at the institution had shown no evidence of abuse. But two weeks later, following further scrutiny in the wake of the wards’ escape, he announced that there would be a full departmental inquiry expected to last six weeks.

The Minister also promised a wide-ranging inquiry at Dodd’s. At the time, he spoke of complaints about the recruitment processes, promotion processes and the treatment of staff at the St Philip prison.

On Friday, Abrahams said the leaves of absence of Brathwaite and Nurse were facilitated by the Ministry of the Public Service to guarantee a “full and fair inquiry so that we could get to the bottom of everything”.

“In the initial press conference, there were some complaints in relation to the prison and it is just an opportune time, as we are dealing with the Government Industrial School, to actually look into all aspects of the prison to address those complaints.

“At the end of the day, this Government is about reforming what people perceive as our penal institutions. The philosophy behind the Government Industrial School and what informs the creation of our prison, those philosophies have changed, we have modernised our thinking and we need to get with the programme,” he added.

He said the ultimate intention is to implement the best possible practices and operating procedures as a model for others to follow.

“We are deconstructing and reconstructing so that at the end of the day, recommendations can be made and going forward we have institutions that are best catered for the purposes for which they were set up,” the Home Affairs Minister said.

“We are looking at a parole system, we are looking at electronic monitoring as an alternative to incarceration and remand, we are looking at rehabilitation of offenders. We are looking at all of these things. It has been made clear from the very beginning, we keep saying it.

“A lot of things are in train right now and these investigations allow us to get to the bottom of everything, to view everything with a clear picture, to decide what is the best way forward and the way to put things in place seamlessly, so that we can move to that,” Abrahams added.
    kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb
    emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

Source: BT

12. A calysonian had a song entitled, “We looking at it.”

All like now dum still looking.

13. A shy demur young girl from Barbados in search of a job.

https://imgur.com/dYJSH7u