Three months after the second defeat in a general election Democratic Labour Party (DLP) members voted for Dr. Ronnie Yearwood to replace Verla Depeiza who resigned in the aftermath of what transpired. He won by a reported vote of 273 to 205.

It is surprising more of the 800+ DLP members eligible to vote were not motivated to participate yesterday. It would have sent a strong signal to the public that there is a burning desire by the party to get back on track given the herculean rebuild effort. The last contest between Guy Hewitt and Verla Depeiza attracted a 507 to 295 vote, President Yearwood has a gargantuan task ahead. David Estwick who could not command significant support from the parliamentary group after David Thompson died in office and was a bane to the party during Stuart’s tenure attracted 205 votes from DLP party members. There is a lot political pundits can unpack from the result.

The next three years will be a critical in the rebuild period of the party. The next 18 months will be crucial for Dr. Yearwood to measure his success as a politician. By taking on the DLP presidency at this juncture in its history one suspects if he is perceived to be unable to breath life into a political party currently in a comatose state -it may doom him to be a stillborn DLP politician like his predecessor. Similar to when Owen Arthur became leader of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in 1993, Yearwood does not command a significant power-base in the party. Neither is he a member of parliament. Arthur was able to successfully navigate that early period because he received strong support from elders of the party. Hopefully the DLP will be able to learn from the BLP experience and avoid making unforced mistakes.

It is understandable a significant number of DLP members continue to be disillusioned, who would not be after losing at last count 61 times at the polling booth. The Freundel Stuart era is one the party will have to work hard to overcome. It will be crucial for Yearwood to display the leadership required to co-opt early support from losing candidates David Estwick and Guy Hewitt in order to present a united front to current membership and the wider public. The adage united we stand, divided we fall seems an apt reminder to all concerned. This will be crucial for the party to be perceived as making progress to members of the public.

An emerging Barbadian voter is ready for a new kind of politics. The naked partisan behaviour and empty rhetoric seen and heard from today’s politicians and old guard is on the way out. It will be hard- in many cases impossible- for dye in the wool DEMs to shift positions. Hopefully under Yearwood’s leadership enough are persuaded to shift perspectives and he is also able to attract enough NEW members to make a difference.

Until the DLP is able to make a ‘course correction’ and elusive alternative third party political options emerge the saying that in the land of the blind one eye man is king will continue to ring true. In the system of government practiced by Barbados the best results occur with a strident opposition voice IN parliament.

On behalf of the BU household the blogmaster congratulates Dr. Ronnie Yearwood for showing the courage to undertake a job that must rank high on the unwanted job scale at this time.

299 responses to “DLP Going with Yearwood”

1. For the record
    Artax is one of the more likable bloggers on BU.

2. 🤢🤮

3. And I am the most likeable.

lollollol

4. Talk is cheap. We the people have heard it all.

Ain’t nobody still buying talk.

5. If one read the various articles on housing, the picture that emerges is a fabricated mess.

It appears as if the desire is to employ everyone except locals … “Member of Parliament for St James North Edmund Hinkson said the practice of local construction firms hiring overseas workers before locals must be corrected if young Barbadians are to reap the benefits of investments in local building projects.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/05/10/employ-barbadians-first-says-hinkson/

6. Most likeable
    Most liked
    Even old farts like a smart, plain speaking and honest woman with some fire in her blood.
    You go girl.

7. TheO,

Except that you are not classified as an old fart.

They know who they are.

8. SUPPORT THE FARMERS

” Fed up with what they describe as Government’s continued disrespect towards them and the failure of the Barbados Agricultural Society (BAS) to lobby on their behalf, more than two dozen vegetable and produce farmers have decided to form their own organisation to fight their own battles.

That was the unanimous decision taken by the group following an over two-hour meeting at the Wildey Gymnasium on Wednesday evening.

The disgruntled farmers who work with the Barbados Agricultural Development and Marketing Corporation (BADMC) met to discuss several of the major issues plaguing them, including a 200 per cent increase in water bills as well as the rising cost of other farming inputs.

One of the spokespersons for the group, Arrindel Evelyn, who has been farming for over three decades, complained that the sector had gotten very little assistance from Government.”

9. BAJANS SUFFERING.

” Customers at minimart and village shops across the island are complaining about having to pay more for basic food supplies and other necessities, but the operators of these establishments insist they have had no choice but to pass on increased costs to consumers.

Several shop proprietors who spoke to Barbados TODAY said even though they sympathise with customers who are feeling the pinch of the increased cost of living, they were in the same boat as they were also facing higher bills from suppliers.”

10. house of cards Avatar
    house of cards

Long live the new leader of the Dlp Dr. Ronnie Yearwood also known as the Obama of Barbados

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

i see some continues to have delusions of grandeur

11. A reasonable person will give Yearwood a chance before condemning to political damnation.

12. Long live the new leader of the Dlp Dr. Ronnie Yearwood also known as the Obama of Barbados
    Xxxcccccc
    @house of cards
    Thanks for the reminder

13. Just listened to Dr. Ronnie Yearwood in his second interview as the President of the Once again I am.more convince he is taking on the role which president Obama did in his leadership
    If he continues on this path having the confidence and conviction of good governance for the people he would win the hearts of many barbadians B.. D or Independent
    A man ahead of his years and time

14. For whatever reason I can only speculate but that I would not say
    For whatever reason Dr. Ronnie Yearwood videos are not being uploaded on BU but any one who desires to see the current video can go on U tube and type Barbados today one on one with Dr. Ronnie Yearwood

15. Heal the division first, Yearwood urged – by Anesta Henry May 11, 2022

Veteran politician Hamilton Lashley is hoping that newly-elected President of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Dr Ronnie Yearwood is prepared to face the challenge of healing the division in the party head on.

Lashley, who said that the young versus old division that has interfered with the party’s internal affairs for many years may create a headache for Dr Yearwood. He suggested that the new leader formulate a workable plan to bring the members together, and put it into action as soon as possible.

He charged since Dr Yearwood’s victory, there has been underlying subliminal messages circulating among senior members of the party as it relates to “the older members” and the role they play.

“Of course you cannot and should not discriminate against a person in any organisation from reaching the pinnacle of their talents based upon this discriminatory process that currently exist within the walls of the Democratic Labour Party called age.

“He has to heal these wounds first that clearly exists. He is a relatively young man and he has first to conquer that. Until this divisiveness stop within the DLP, he of course has a long road to travel and a rough way to go,” Lashley said.

On May 1, the university lecturer was elected as the new president at the DLP’s Extraordinary Conference, held at the George Street, Belleville, St Michael headquarters. Dr Yearwood captured 273 votes compared to the 205 former government minister Dr David Estwick secured.

“My solution for Dr Yearwood would be one of fostering cohesiveness rather than divisiveness. It is one where each and every member should be treated equally and this great divide should be eliminated. But he has a difficult role. This threat that undermines the DLP must be healed and not a plaster put on it, then we will continue to have a divided party. He has his work cut out [for him],” Lashley said. (AH)

Barbados Today

That’s true, Hammie Lah. ‘ the Bajan Obama’ definitely “has his work cut out [for him].”

16. As Dr. Yearwood pointed out all parties have division but it is the leadership responsibility to find the correct method to heal and unify
    He knows he has his work cut out for him but he.is willing and prepared to.undertake the task

17. It is interesting to see the new DLP maths
    30 ÷2 x 0 =16
    A pack of losers from the original 30-0 don’t want to go away. One surfaced in the last election and described the glorious and wonderful years before the loss. Forget about healing and try to do some spring cleaning. Throw them out, if you can.

When you think these jokers are about to set sail, they create a next obstacle to progress.

18. Slightly amusing that some will see the above as favoring the DLP and others will see it as favoring the BLP..

19. Hopefully people would see Dr.Yearwood as a bright future for the country and do the right thing

20. Hopefully people would see Dr.Yearwood as a bright future for the country and do the right thing
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Do you understand the concept of a drowning man catching at straws…?
    Dr Yearwood is no doubt an upstanding citizen, but what the hell has he EVER done that may suggest that he is any more competent to address the complex challenges that we face, than the other set of JAs that you previously championed?
    Stand in front of a class of BBBs (Bajan Black Belly Sheeple) at UWI talking shiite..????

The REAL joke is that the alternative to him was the shiite hound (formerly ‘pit bull’) best known for ranting and raving incoherently and for putting the final nail in the sugar industry at Andrews.
    Face it – It CANNOT get any worse…..

The DLP should do us all a favor and DESOLVE itself…. let the damn place self-destruct in peace.

21. Bush TeaMay 13, 2022 7:27 AM

Hopefully people would see Dr.Yearwood as a bright future for the country and do the right thing
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Do you understand the concept of a drowning man catching at straws…?
    Dr Yearwood is no doubt an upstanding citizen, but what the hell has he EVER done that may suggest that he is any more competent to address the complex challenges that we face, than the other set of JAs that you previously championed?
    Stand in front of a class of BBBs (Bajan Black Belly Sheeple) at UWI talking shiite..????

The REAL joke is that the alternative to him was the shiite hound (formerly ‘pit bull’) best known for ranting and raving incoherently and for putting the final nail in the sugar industry at Andrews.
    Face it – It CANNOT get any worse…..

The DLP should do us all a favor and DESOLVE itself…. let the damn place self-destruct in peace.
    Xxxxxccc

Xccccc
    Steupseeeeeeeee

22. @ac

You will not be able to appreciate this feedback but the blogmaster is a gluten for trying.

Sensible Barbadians want there to be a strong governance system. Part of making this a reality is strong alternative political parties.

We wish Ronnie Yearwood well but we cannot or shouldn’t label him until we can do so by his deeds. The next couple of years will be interesting to observe. Let us wish him and the party he leads well and leave the deifying at the door.

23. David in all seriousness don’t not if to appreciate your feedback or not
    However this I say that they are a class of bajans who belive there intelligence supersedes all others
    My pray and hope that Dr
    Ronnie Yearwood is not of that class

24. Where and how I place my labeling of Dr. Ronnie Yearwood should not be a bother to u or anyone else

25. #moonrock

26. No Contest
    If Ronnie is Barack Obama
    then Mia must be Michelle Obama
    and everyone knows Michelle would beat Barack

27. ######humbug

28. Never in a million years would Mia ever be consider a Michelle Obama
    First Mia does not have the accreditation
    Secondly Michelle name has never been associated with distasteful behavior or attitudes (check Owen Arthur utterances)
    Never heard any one in political circles or amongst society questioned Michelle Obama qualifications

Btw Dr . Ronnie Yearwood was a community activist

29. Michelle LaVaughn Robinson Obama is an American attorney

30. Time’s Up versus Time’s Up (Remix)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5NjCx5o_IUg

31. No one ever questioned Michelle qualifications as an accredited lawyer
    Neither has anyone questioned Dr. Ronnie Yearwoods credentials as a lawyer
    But a whole lot of controversy doubt and suspicion has been leveled at Barbados PM feet about hers

32. DLP have got bad karma
    I hate to keep on telling you it’s mental This is what I meant tho I can take a cape and turn it into what it’s meant for Everyone’s a villain I just wear it like it’s meant to Everyone’s a villain I can teach you like a mentor Caged birds still flying high up in rhetoric Caged from the monster he currently living with Truth too deep blind eye so to hell with it Demons keep on burning for the hell of it See no more of your point it’s irrelevant I don’t give a fuck how you feel you’re an element I’m too deep I could sell my intelligence I’m too deep I could sell my intelligence Spit on a nigga watch him fall into a rabbit hole Go so deep see him turn into a rabid soul Two baggy eyes see him seeing with no vision Ima show you how to turn a hero to a villain Flying from wings on sky income In from planets from In your dreams I’m as real as they come Like bad things I’m indigo try and come In this deep but you’re never gonna leave the dome Muhahaha Your closet couldn’t hold me Hidden in yourself don’t you act like you don’t know me Triggered by depression and you just too weak to hold me A hero to a villain that’s exactly what you showed me I’ve seen Real life demons with their mask off Real human looking like things with their mask off Real life smiling in your face with their mask off Real life looking in the mirror with their mask off Real life knife in your back with the mask off Real life Imma get em back with the mask off Real life Imma hurt em back with the mask off Real life now you a villain with the mask off Make way for instrumentals Justice in law and order only incidental I’ll abuse my power all my power from the people All my heroes tripping on their egos Bloodshot eyes looking like the joker with no disguise What’s the tripping point where darkness leads to your demise What’s the evil thought currently running through your mind What’s the balance keeping you from running in your mind No hope for the future when the black boy gunned No hope for my siblings when the black gunned down He raise his fist in anger when the black go down He turned into a villain buy his black boys guns I am not your enemy I’m just merely invested Let me take this cape I admit that it’s majestic The colour looking great I admit that it’s majestic Now won’t you put this mask on cos I think that it’s majestic I’ve seen Real life demons with their mask off Real human looking like things with their mask off Real life smiling in your face with their mask off Real life money in my face with their mask off Real life knife in your back with the mask off Real life Imma get em back with the mask off Real life Imma hurt em back with the mask off Real life now you a villain with the mask off Allow me to introduce my villain Karma the destroyer

Karma The Villain

33. angela cox May 13, 2022 2:59 PM #: “No one ever questioned Michelle qualifications as an accredited lawyer..”

Hmmmm

HOW DO YOU KNOW “Michelle’s qualifications as an accredited lawyer were NEVER questioned?”

34. @ ac
    Has it EVER crossed your little mind that people like you and the drooly jackass who calls Brasstacks every damn day, may be the reason that NO ONE likes the damn DLP?
    Hard as we try to dislike Mia and her troupe of clowns, it is ALWAYS harder to stomach wunna complete idiots that seek to represent the DLP.
    Shiite woman, why don’t change your support to the BLP and associate yourself with Mia and her ‘senior’ ministers? This may be your best bet to give Dr Yearwood a fair shot…..

Steupsss… even on BU the best barometer of someone being completely wrong is when they agree with you, or you with them…. except for those two times daily when even a shiite clock is right….

35. What is interesting is that BU has highlighted some of Ronnie Yearwood’s work since 2017 and a quick perusal of those blogs revealed she had little to nothing to say about the man.

36. Bush TeaMay 13, 2022 3:18 PM

@ ac
    Has it EVER crossed your little mind that people like you and the drooly jackass who calls Brasstacks every damn day, may be the reason that NO ONE likes the damn DLP?
    Hard as we try to dislike Mia and her troupe of clowns, it is ALWAYS harder to stomach wunna complete idiots that seek to represent the DLP.
    Shiite woman, why don’t change your support to the BLP and associate yourself with Mia and her ‘senior’ ministers? This may be your best bet to give Dr Yearwood a fair shot…..

Steupsss… even on BU the best barometer of someone being completely wrong is when they agree with you, or you with them…. except for those two times daily when even a shiite clock is right

Xxccccc

Steupseeeee

37. DavidMay 13, 2022 3:28 PM

What is interesting is that BU has highlighted some of Ronnie Yearwood’s work since 2017 and a quick perusal of those blogs revealed she had little to nothing to say about the man.
    Xxxxxc

So what does the above comment has to do with him being President of the dlp in 2022
    Sometimes I wonder how and why intellectual people belive they have a God given right to drawn a line in thecsand

38. ArtaxMay 13, 2022 3:16 PM

angela cox May 13, 2022 2:59 PM #: “No one ever questioned Michelle qualifications as an accredited lawyer..”

Hmmmm

HOW DO YOU KNOW “Michelle’s qualifications as an accredited lawyer were NEVER questioned?”
    Xccccccc
    The international.media hides nothing and questions everything

39. “The international.media hides nothing and questions everything…”

Surely you’re not referring to CNN, FOX News, MSNBC, CNBC, abc, NBC etc?

40. ArtaxMay 13, 2022 4:30 PM

“The international.media hides nothing and questions everything…”

Surely you’re not referring to CNN, FOX News, MSNBC, CNBC, abc, NBC etc?
    Xxccccccc
    Surely u can draw a line in the sand on those u choose to eliminate
    However wherever and however u draw the line it does not prove that Michele accreditation was ever questioned as a lawyer

41. The international media never questioned mia lawyer qualifications
    The group that did it is now hoping and praying for the bajan obama to save DEM
    Maybe DEM should send for Michelle
    What acting doah

42. angela cox May 13, 2022 5:17 PM

Last/last

I asked you a simple question. Note the ‘?’ at the end of sentence.

Your response clearly indicates you DO NOT KNOW the DIFFERENCE between ASKING a question and making a DEFINITIVE statement.

You have once again demonstrated to BU that you’re devoid of the ability to THINK rationally or otherwise.

43. John2 May 13, 2022 9:00 PM

You are correct.

It was Denis Lowe, Michael Lashley, Adriel Brathwaite and ‘de rest uh DEM’ that “questioned Mottley’s qualifications as an accredited lawyer”………..

………. not the local or international media.

Brathwaite promised to launch an investigation into the matter, when he was Attorney General.
    Seven (7) years later, we’re still waiting the results.
    ‘Broken promises?’ ‘Smoke and mirrors?’

Ironically, while the politicians had their fun and have MOVED ON, in addition to information which suggested Mottley and two other lawyers were exempted from obtaining the LEC under a legal provision……

……… angela cox continues ‘riding a dead horse,’ making a fool of herself in the process.

🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣

44. Well Well twist torians never tell.the truth
    The truth being that Michelle Obama was never questioned about any of her credentials
    However Mia Mottley was so much so that a defense was lodged in the local media in Barbados
    So much for those who can’t face historical facts but would bend twist and even invent those things that are not in association or relevant to.the crux of an issue

45. Angela Cox if Dr Yearwood could not beat Mrs Husbands what the hell makes you believe he has a snowball chance in hell of beating Ms Mottley? He is snother political nightwatchman in my view who will most likely suffer the same fate of the proceeding nightwatchman Ms Depeiza.She felt beating two political lightweights in Mr Pilgrim and Rev Hewitt made her a national leader.We all know how she faredYou heard it here first remember that as that is my view . I gone

46. Lorenzo is that your final answer to my above questions
    I pray fuh you
    Your govt said for ten long years that the people were suffering
    Comes 2018 and present 2022 the pain and suffering is back breaking and u come here to talk about Dr. Ronnie Obama Yearwood who in his ultimate wisdom was able to present a fiscal solution to help the people within a three week period
    Shame on u brut