Submitted by Heather Cole

The Oistins Fish Festival is having a Kanye West moment. All will recall that this popular Hip Hop artist Kanye West changed his name to Ye but it has never caught on and the public has not missed a beat in referring to him by his given Christian names.

Many were in shock and disbelief when in an Easter Sunday recording at the Festival, the Chairperson of the Oistins Festival announced that the name of the festival had been changed. It appears that the name was changed 2 years ago. This name change does not resonate well with the public from the outrage that was expressed in the comments to the live recording so it is unlikely that this name will ever catch on, making it indeed a Kanye West moment.

To me, both Oistins and fish are inseparable, both are nostalgic as they take me back to another era. In my primary school years, every fishing season my brothers and I would trek down to Oistins from Cane Vale to wait for Nobby to come in. He was a fisherman and my grandmother’s cousin. We spent many evenings waiting behind the old fish market waiting for him to come ashore, help take the flying fish out of the nets and get our supply of fish. I don’t even have to close my eyes to remember the splendor of those evenings long ago. There was the sound of women from the front of the market saying “fish! Fish! who calling? get yuh flying fish! 10 ah dollar! There was the peace at the back of the market broken by the cries of sea gulls as they occasionally scooped down in search of fish guts and the sound of waves gently lapping on the shore. As the evening sun lowered its gaze, casting shades of bright orange in the sky, and with the backdrop of pink and white sands on the shore and a shimmering blue sea, the place looked magical. It was away from the hustle and bustle at the front of the market that I looked out at those moses coming near and waited for Jesus to appear. To the child in me it was the Sea of Galilee.

At Emancipation, many of the former enslaved persons from the nearby Plantations came to Oistins and became fishermen. There used to be houses on the beach belonging to the fisher folk and all are now long gone. The old fish market too is long gone and has been replaced by another one, but it has remained the most prominent fixture in Oistins. One cannot think of Oistins without thinking of Fish. Fish is still the common thread in the community. Oistins was where young people would meet. Almost everyone’s father, grandfather or great grandfather was a fisherman. Without having to ask anyone, all you must do is to view the baptismal records from Christ Church Parish Church of a few generations ago. So, if you ask me, it was fish that created genealogies.

Long before the first fish festival was created. My grandmother told stories of going to Oistins at night to get fried fish and I am sure it was happening long before her time.

So why change the name? Although the name Oistins is unique, what happens there has nothing to do with its name. It is a fishing village but by Bajan standards we call it a town. It is one of the last strong holds of Barbadians on the Southcoast of Barbados that has not been overtaken by tourism. It is a place where the people congregate. They came to buy fish. It is what made it popular. Fish is the brand of Oistins. Brand identity must be consistent. The change from Oistins Fish Festival to Oistins Festival is like removing the main character from a novel; like a chef removing a popular main course from the menu.

The Oistins Fish Festival has never concentrated solely on fish. In her address the chairperson expressed that the name change would allow them to get more sponsorship to do more not just concentrate on fish. Sponsorship should not change a brand’s name. The sponsor agrees to a sponsorship because it is a way for him to get exposure by attaching himself to a well-known product or event. It is therefore a win-win situation for all, The sponsor, the company, and the consumers. Under normal circumstances a sponsor’s name usually comes before the event and at times after it. Sponsors usually showcase or sell their products at the event but there is no change in the name of the brand as this will cause it to lose its identity and appeal.

It was not stated what would define the new brand. It leaves one to wonder if with the new name of Oistins Festival that the festival will take on a more historical outlook. Perhaps they are going to showcase the Austin Family. Oistins is a corruption of the name of that prominent family who owned most of the land in the bay.

Perhaps it will take on the significance of a colonial festival with a reenactment of the signing of the Barbados Charter which was negotiated and signed at the Mermaid Tavern in Oistins in 1652.

Yet again the focus could be the history of black entrepreneurship as it is a fact that the town was one of the locations in Barbados that created the earliest black entrepreneurs, but this still leads back to fish.

Oistins, is not a resort town like Holetown with its many hotels so one cannot say that the aim is to successfully create a festival that is predominately for the tourist.

One is at a loss as to what the name is to connotate since the Oistins Fish Festival has never concentrated solely on fish. There is also an abundance of arts and craft, music, and entertainment.

Truth be told, the Oistins Fish Festival is now a national treasure of our cultural heritage that has outgrown its private ownership. One thing that I wish to state is that back in the mid-seventy’s night life in Oistins was hanging on to a thread and the Oistins Committee branded and enhanced an activity that was already there and turned it into a successful cultural festival with several other attractions. So perhaps now that the committee is at the crossroad and devoid of ideas to take the festival forward, now is the perfect time to pass the baton on to the National Cultural Foundation for that body to take over and take the festival into the future.

One thought that comes to mind, is to have fish festivals during the Lenten Season in other fishing communities. One up North, one on the East Coast, one on the West Coast and the grand finale on the South Coast at the Oistins Fish Festival on the Easter Weekend.

While there is always room for brand improvement, there is a lot to a name and as the second last line of the national anthem states, we must be “strict guardians of our heritage.”

197 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – OFFC: Creates a Kanye West Moment”

1. I mean how likely is cococola likely to take the coke name out of their product? Some say that in the days when that product was legal, used medicinally, and considered safe in small quantities it was included in the beverage.

Good American saying “if it int broke, don’t fix it”

2. @ Cuhdear Bajan April 28, 2022 5:13 PM
    (Quote).
    You know that none of this name dropping has anything to do with the naming or renaming of the festival. Right? What do the “experts” at Cambridge University know about our festival??? Stupssseee!!!
    What do the “experts” at JP Morgan know about our festival? Stupssseee.
    If you are going to rebut what Heather has written–and more often than not disagree with Heather–at least come with some sensible arguments. Otherwise ya mek yaself look small man.
    (Unquote).

Good one there, SS!

Glad to see you exposing that red painted political ‘po’ acting a public urinal for BU liquid waste.

His intellectual contributions have been severely compromised by his red political ass-licking.

He needs to take a leak to ease his over-flowing ‘foul-red’ brain cells.

3. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

“Oistins Fish Festival is a name with cultural significance.”

the more I look at Bu the less I feel I have in common

3 words
    1 Oistins
    2 Fish
    3 Festival

1 and 3 have more significance than 2

4. David
    Heather is free to venture her own opinion NOT her own facts though. You recall the Ponzi scheme? Was the festival on the decline and, if so, why? Has the organising committee managed to attract additional sponsorship due to the name change? Did they recognise that “fish” was a deterrent to attracting sponsorship from their experience or feelings like Heather? Has the name change, while still celebrating the fisherfolk–fish boning and skinning, net throwing etc–led to reduced interest by the wider public or disadvantaged the fish and other vendors? The festival has been more than fish for yeeeeears, with most of the public rolling in to fete long after the fish-related activities done. Ah lie?🤣

5. @enuff

From the chairman’s own mouth the festival declined in the last two years for obvious reason.

6. Cuhdear
    That’s how you read it? I guess you missed the part about the young lady organising local events. Oh she’s a Chevening Scholar too.

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved April 28, 2022 5:01 PM #: “I have relatives who visit Oistin just to eat the fish, that is their attraction….of course they are turned off by the shitty 1950s blue grass, square dancing music they love to play believing that’s what the tourists want to hear…no it’s not..”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    How do you know tourists do not want to hear that type of music?
    Because your “relatives are turned off” by it?

Come on, my friend. You’re being ridiculous.

Why must EVERYTHING have TO BE ABOUT YOU and YOURS?

Before the Friday night Bay Garden/street party became popular, it was traditional for locals and tourists to gather at ‘Lexie’s Bar’ on Friday and Saturday nights to dance to ‘oldies’ and old reggae music, in addition to sessions of calypso, dance hall reggae and current songs.

The DJs playing for the Friday night lime, play a variety of music, thereby catering to ‘everyone’s taste.”

Bluffing again.

8. “when they trot out all these credentials and name…”

This is rich coming from the Salemite who had BU to know that she has a cousin, aunt, niece, nephew, uncle, godmother, godfather, godson, goddaughter, grandchild, grandfather, grandmother, mother, father, son, daughter and white husband that went to every ivy keague school in Amurka. I can provide receipts bout Toni though. 🤣🤣https://www.jbs.cam.ac.uk/insight/2021/mba-star-representing-home-country-of-barbados/

9. No Enuff. I missed nothing. I did not question the young woman’s scholarship I questioned your name dropping. There are event organizers by the dozens or the hundreds in Barbados, some with and some without political affiliations.

I too know scholars by the hundreds. Do they have political affiliations? I don’t know. I never asked, because it is not important.

Anyway all this talk about fish made me hungry, so i made myself a batch of fishcakes, with fresh herbs from my garden. I’ll enjoy then now.

10. Thanks Theo

11. David
    So the Chairman has EVIDENCE. What Heather has but her granny stories and her going to buy fish both at times when neither KFC nor Chefette were in Oistins? Nor the gambling parlours? Nor the Fish Fry? Nor Surfer’s Cafe, nor Boats Bar and Grill? This expert struggles to grasp the concept of niche, ask Ms.Wentzel.🤣🤣

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

I would hazard a guess and say that most Barbadians left out the Fish from the very beginning. They found Fish Festival too much of a mouthful. But I may be wrong.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“This is rich coming from the Salemite who had BU to know that she has”

yeah…but having worked in a corporate setting myself….also KNOW THAT….

a VP, works under a Managing Director, who works under a Director, who works under a Vice President who works under a President, who works under a CEO who works under a board of directors who has to answer to the REAL OWNERS who most don’t even know or ever meet, even if they work in the company for 50 years ….so ya never ya own boss or own person..

.so a VP is low down on the food chain…in any corporate setting….but don’t tell that to the GIDDY…

14. Cuhdear
    Someone sought early to discredit the young lady by disparagingly asking who she is. I simply provided a short biography. All in the interest of ensuring FACTS/INFORMATION is as present on the blog as the maliciousness and misinformation. Nothing else intended.

15. @Enuff April 28, 2022 6:32 PM “when neither KFC nor Chefette were in Oistins?”

So are these coming onboard as sponsors? If so how much are they putting in? Enough to demand and get a renaming of the festival? And if so why not say so upfront?

Why the talk about “sponsors”? Unnamed?

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Ah won’t bother to tell ya about those MBAs and how they are dime a dozen….it might hurt ya feelings after all the hours of study the young lady put in to earn one…

young people need to tap into their creativity…it’s much more rewarding and pays dividends.. …

17. A cup of hot sorrell tea infused with cloves and cinnamon is just right with the fishcakes.

18. Salemite
    LMAO you clearly don’t know what VP means. But you’re so determined to discredit the lady, that in your haste to do so you’ve made yourself look like a fool yet again. Let me guess you know someone at Cambridge and JP Morgan, right?. What a bitter, lonely human you are.

19. Enuff snobbish response to Heather is in line with the disrespect the blp hierarchy like to speak and talk down in unmannerly manner to others that they believe are not good enough or have enough sense to form opinions outside of what is recited or written in the blp handbook
    Noted how Enuff stares Heather in the face and actually tells her she is not sensible enough to make a decision about what is best for a social Barbados
    Hell yes Enuff goes on to say that the person who came up with the plan to change the name is person well educated a band designer or whatever other names attached to her status positions which gives her a right to speak on the issue of name choice than a Barbadian having no status or accolades
    Well I’ll be dam
    What about Rhianna who made that choice

20. Salemite
    What bout those that “write” books but them don’t sell,🤣🤣🤣

21. Is someone called angela cox speaking? I can neither see nor hear her.

22. Uh got a PM telling bajans they can’t spell and stuepse loud and hard when need necessary in an insulting manner when questioned by media
    Got a hardback blp man telling a well know cricketer that only idiots can play cricket
    Then there is the now infamous pedigree remark
    Now here comes Enuff to add her name to the list of blp elites that knows how to insult others of differing opinion
    Well not surprised at all cause this group thinks all barbadians are stupid

23. EnuffApril 28, 2022 7:06 PM

Is someone called angela cox speaking? I can neither see nor hear her

Xxxxxxx
    But what I see and hear in you is an ugly soul
    One that thinks and acts like a snob

24. If the “Oistins Fish Festival (OFF) is changed to its shortened version of “OF” how would it differentiate itself from the other festivals like Crop-over and Hole-town?

By opening a tavern called the Mermaid Inn- as Heather or some other blogger rightly suggested- to sell fresh (local) seafood and Bajan-brewed booze?

What about promoting Oistins as the birthing place of the notion of Republic of Barbados (RoB)?

After all, isn’t it the result of the naval standoff at Oistins when the principle of ‘No Taxation without Representation (local or self government)’ first raised its republic-like head and subsequently adopted by those rebellious North Americans?

If only either side of the red-blue-yellow political duopoly had kept its many promises about the blue economy and turned the Oistins Bay into a fish farm and marine sanctuary Barbados would not be importing tilapia and other fish from China and other places.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

I venture to guess the same general market in Seattle was were Starbucks was born, and hence the name of one brand…Pike Place.

26. The fish festival was dying because of the lack of sponsorship

“Fish”was removed so now chegar-te can sponsor the whole “festival”

🤣🤣

27. @NO

That is correct.

28. They want to take the Fish out of the Fish Festival, I don’t know if it has changed much from its inception, but these kinds of festivals can’t afford to be one dimensional, you can’t have a jazz festival with only one type of Jazz and every year I read about the fastest fish boner etc. If our main product is tourism, why not try to attract off season visitors who would want to take part in fishing derbies? I don’t know much about fishing, but I know enough that many people take part in competitive angling, we could have boat owners offering charters for those who want to catch e.g., the largest Marlin or Tuna. Maybe we can encourage local chefs to prepare specialty fish dishes in selected restaurants for clientele during the festival.

The name Oistins Fish Festival stands on its own, Oistins Festival is bland stands for nothing.

29. Where did Sarge get his MBA?
    “I don’t know much about fishing, but I know enough that many people take part in competitive angling, we could have boat owners offering charters for those who want to catch e.g., the largest Marlin or Tuna. Maybe we can encourage local chefs to prepare specialty fish dishes in selected restaurants for clientele during the festival.”

Silly me would have removed Oistins or fish
    Fish festival
    Oistins fish
    No MBA, but I can remove a word

30. Conspiracy committees.

Do you remember the over priced slogan which was then followed by a slogan committee. Can you remember either of the slogans? All I can remember is somebody first got paid.

What if someone also got paid just to remove the word fish? What if we follow the trend of ‘fixing’ first and then appointing a committee to remedy the situation?

Did they create a vaccine committee after the vaccine scam?

31. WATER
    UP
    FIRE
    DOWN
    BRAIN EDUCATION

#mentalhealth #brainmeditation #braineducation
    Develop the Power of Your MIND (from “Water Up Fire Down” by Ilchi Lee) | 10 Minute Daily Routines

Awakening the power of your mind starts with releasing blockages in your brain and heart that prevent energy from flowing there freely. Try this 10 minute routine based on Ilchi Lee’s book “Water Up Fire Down” to experience meditation techniques to develop the power of your mind.

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“No MBA, but I can remove a word”

that’s the whole point….anyone can remove a word, and don’t replace it with anything original or creative…

i saw 10 and 11 year olds in Afrika yesterday BUILDING ROBOTS….

fishing and fish is BIG ANYWHERE…..wuh Russia and Ukraine train fish to help them in wars and other things….ya can’t beat fish, they are all-purpose and well respected everywhere…….

“Salemite
    What bout those that “write” books but them don’t sell,🤣🤣🤣”

says YOU because you know what’s going on in MY BUSINESS and know ALL my plans….

Clueless Enuff ….let me know when she reaches SENIOR Vice President…..less people to answer to….then i can tell you what’s AHEAD OF HER….as just another employee…nothing special…

33. So why the removal of the word Fish isn’t fish part of the Barbadian culture a main stay in our day to day menu
    Why attack part of our culture
    Why not remove the word Ostins and infuse the the word Barbados Fish Festival
    I sense that the marketing strategy is an attempt to lure more tourist to the event and some big wig thinking that the word Fish and Festival together does not send a correct message of fun and party enjoyment
    But then again that is how the big wigs think of our culture reason why streets like Baxters Road and Nelson Street does not get attention from govt to be brought into mainstream of tourism
    Our culture has always been an afterthought when building and becoming a part of the tourist industry
    Remove fish and the bigwigs in the hotel industry would become more involved with the festival
    Our culture and our way of life in some way in the minds of the powers that be must be removed
    While big wigs creep in and take over the whole hog for themselves
    History has shown that those things created or associated with blacks have been removed by those in power throughout ages
    It not a little issue but those things which has been seen and done throughout history a removal of black culture and our history creating in the minds of future generations of a white creation

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Let me guess you know someone at Cambridge and JP Morgan, right?. ”

let me hurt you even more now….remember the corporate setting I worked in at least 20 years ago…….guess where? and by the time i left, they were hiring very young people who acquired MBAs and giving them entry level positions starting with VP designations straight outta university with no experience…….and that was years and years ago…
    so you can’t dazzle me with bullshit…i can read you chapter and verse that you don’t even know about…and embarrass you even more, but will save that for another time, i can wait you out….ya will come again with some other small-time, small thinker crap…

35. Less is more simile* is applicable in this argument about shortening a brand name.
    But speaking of similes if 1⁄2 a smile shows ignorance** (such as about Kanye) then surely the whole argument should be discarded based on it’s false premise should it not.
    Heather must fully research Kanye and revert back when she is ready before she starts false comparisons in vain again.

Kanye West – Hurricane

Kanye West – Heaven and Hell

(*) a figure of speech involving the comparison of one thing with another thing of a different kind, used to make a description more emphatic or vivid
    (**) lack of knowledge or information

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

One more little pearl to light up ya day… i worked with people who were in the corporate world for up to 50 years…and had to work 30 years before being promoted to VP, in those years, they had to work a full five years before getting any type of benefits including vacation………see how life has evolved…but there you are stuck on a garden variety title….also met VPs in New York, on Wall Street, who never even finished, as one told me….standard 7…..that would be grade school, but they are white so not much education needed…

37. Less is more simile* is applicable in this argument about shortening a brand name.
    But speaking of similes if 1⁄2 a smile shows ignorance** (such as about Kanye) then surely the whole argument should be discarded based on it’s false premise should it not.
    Heather must fully research Kanye and revert back when she is ready before she starts false comparisons in vain again.

Kanye West – Hurricane

Kanye West – Heaven and Hell

(*) a figure of speech involving the comparison of one thing with another thing of a different kind, used to make a description more emphatic or vivid
    (**) lack of knowledge or information

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“So why the removal of the word Fish isn’t fish part of the Barbadian culture a main stay in our day to day menu
    Why attack part of our culture”

lol…then they will want to tell ya how brilliant and intelligent an entry level VP with NO EXPERIENCE, no creativity and no originality is…

fowls should be fired….look how this one embarrassed himself and this young lady….just because he is CLASS and position conscious instead of BLACK CONSCIOUS….just because her father is an MP….damn fool enuff…

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Let me tell ya what a VP at entry level does in the corporate world…….take instructions from a Managing Director and pass out projects to OTHER EMPLOYEES, in other words they DELEGATE…….that’s it, they also have projects handed to them directly by MDs which they have a timeline to HAND IN themselves using their educational skills and the TRAINING they RECEIVED when they entered the company, until they gain the necessary experience to operate smoothly….. you get paid for your training………….part and parcel of their job descriptions…

but here is the fowl trying to make us believe that it’s something so exceptional….

i wish some on BU would stop trying to insult our intelligence….and they only do it to Black commenters…..

40. The Pepsi BU challenge
    Is Waru bluffing again with a made up Résumé / War Stories

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I wish more creativity was shown and the fish, centerpiece of why people are attracted to Oistin, should not have been removed…

The VPs I met……who had over 35-40 years in corporate, in their 60s and about to retire back then…….all white….only 2 of them had associate degrees and they got those while working for corporate, the others, including Blacks and others had bachelors and masters…

.naturally a Managing Director or Director up the hierarchy chain would need degrees to manage departments, but ya did not need degrees in those days, in the 60s, 70s etc for entry level, and had to climb the ladder through promotions, most people used the company’s degree program linked to top-notch universities to get one or more during the decades they spent working, the company paid a portion of the money…but of course ya got stuck with years and years of student loans…i respect those people, some of whom were from Barbados and other Caribbean islands..

……..fast foward to mid 00s…and young people, whites, blacks and others, needed degrees and MBAs etc to get hired for certain positions at entry level…where they may have at least 10 employees to delegate work to…etc.

42. Here we go again.

43. @ Enuff

Is VP an entry level position?

Where is it on the ‘organisational chart?’

44. “Here we go again.”

Yuh know she gine go on now for the balance of the day.

45. William Skinner Avatar

@ Sargeant
    Thank you.
    They can’t and don’t know how to market anything. A pack of politically appointed professional miscreants from either Roebuck or George Street.
    There are festivals throughout the world marketed exactly as you have hinted here.
    There is a very small town with a population of less than fifty thousand.
    Every hundreds of thousands of tourists go there to be part of one aspect of its history.
    The tourists stay at hotels that are ten and fifteen miles away from that town because the town cannot accommodate them.
    But, in brilliant Bim, some joker declares that the best way to market a fish town is to remove fish.
    Oh well, the garbage was picked up this morning and new buses are running, there are no downgrades, Sinckler is off to Washington to represent us and all is well in Bim. And we all have a little kitchen garden .
    Who cares about fish in Oistins…………..

46. Salemite
    No one on BU is surprised you “worked” wherever you’re claiming to have 20years ago. There’s no shortage of egofowlism, which is wuss than the much maligned yardfowlism, on BU. I have no time to waste with a serial liar. Like a fellow blogger described you–bluffer.

47. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    It’s all about taste. I do not enjoy listening to hours of Connie Francis and Billy or Jonnie crashing a race car because of some messed up relationship.
    I enjoy all genre of music but if I were marketing Oistins , it would be Bajan/ Caribbean music all day and night
    I am never going to hear one Bajan song at any festival in America. Not one !!
    We have to believe more in Richard Stoute and Lord Radio and the Merrymen before we can claim to be marketing Bim.
    There is a very big hole in the marketing efforts of both administrations when it comes to our tourism product.
    That’s why I will always be a Baxter’s Road man.
    Oistins is suffering from the same political bull shit that has stymied the growth of tourism. We have given into the snobbish, classism oriented culture that takes everything that is genuine and pure and turns it into inferior amusement for the so-called “arrived.”
    Who would want to listen to Connie Francis while nothing by Wendy Alleyne is being played.
    Have a good weekend bro’
    Peace

48. @William

You are aware one of the most popular ‘socials’ in Barbados is Q in the Community which is mainly patronized by senior citizens? You want to guess the genre of music most played? And you blame the politicians right?

Leave a Reply to 555dubstreetCancel reply