Submitted by Heather Cole

The Oistins Fish Festival is having a Kanye West moment. All will recall that this popular Hip Hop artist Kanye West changed his name to Ye but it has never caught on and the public has not missed a beat in referring to him by his given Christian names.

Many were in shock and disbelief when in an Easter Sunday recording at the Festival, the Chairperson of the Oistins Festival announced that the name of the festival had been changed. It appears that the name was changed 2 years ago. This name change does not resonate well with the public from the outrage that was expressed in the comments to the live recording so it is unlikely that this name will ever catch on, making it indeed a Kanye West moment.

To me, both Oistins and fish are inseparable, both are nostalgic as they take me back to another era. In my primary school years, every fishing season my brothers and I would trek down to Oistins from Cane Vale to wait for Nobby to come in. He was a fisherman and my grandmother’s cousin. We spent many evenings waiting behind the old fish market waiting for him to come ashore, help take the flying fish out of the nets and get our supply of fish. I don’t even have to close my eyes to remember the splendor of those evenings long ago. There was the sound of women from the front of the market saying “fish! Fish! who calling? get yuh flying fish! 10 ah dollar! There was the peace at the back of the market broken by the cries of sea gulls as they occasionally scooped down in search of fish guts and the sound of waves gently lapping on the shore. As the evening sun lowered its gaze, casting shades of bright orange in the sky, and with the backdrop of pink and white sands on the shore and a shimmering blue sea, the place looked magical. It was away from the hustle and bustle at the front of the market that I looked out at those moses coming near and waited for Jesus to appear. To the child in me it was the Sea of Galilee.

At Emancipation, many of the former enslaved persons from the nearby Plantations came to Oistins and became fishermen. There used to be houses on the beach belonging to the fisher folk and all are now long gone. The old fish market too is long gone and has been replaced by another one, but it has remained the most prominent fixture in Oistins. One cannot think of Oistins without thinking of Fish. Fish is still the common thread in the community. Oistins was where young people would meet. Almost everyone’s father, grandfather or great grandfather was a fisherman. Without having to ask anyone, all you must do is to view the baptismal records from Christ Church Parish Church of a few generations ago. So, if you ask me, it was fish that created genealogies.

Long before the first fish festival was created. My grandmother told stories of going to Oistins at night to get fried fish and I am sure it was happening long before her time.

So why change the name? Although the name Oistins is unique, what happens there has nothing to do with its name. It is a fishing village but by Bajan standards we call it a town. It is one of the last strong holds of Barbadians on the Southcoast of Barbados that has not been overtaken by tourism. It is a place where the people congregate. They came to buy fish. It is what made it popular. Fish is the brand of Oistins. Brand identity must be consistent. The change from Oistins Fish Festival to Oistins Festival is like removing the main character from a novel; like a chef removing a popular main course from the menu.

The Oistins Fish Festival has never concentrated solely on fish. In her address the chairperson expressed that the name change would allow them to get more sponsorship to do more not just concentrate on fish. Sponsorship should not change a brand’s name. The sponsor agrees to a sponsorship because it is a way for him to get exposure by attaching himself to a well-known product or event. It is therefore a win-win situation for all, The sponsor, the company, and the consumers. Under normal circumstances a sponsor’s name usually comes before the event and at times after it. Sponsors usually showcase or sell their products at the event but there is no change in the name of the brand as this will cause it to lose its identity and appeal.

It was not stated what would define the new brand. It leaves one to wonder if with the new name of Oistins Festival that the festival will take on a more historical outlook. Perhaps they are going to showcase the Austin Family. Oistins is a corruption of the name of that prominent family who owned most of the land in the bay.

Perhaps it will take on the significance of a colonial festival with a reenactment of the signing of the Barbados Charter which was negotiated and signed at the Mermaid Tavern in Oistins in 1652.

Yet again the focus could be the history of black entrepreneurship as it is a fact that the town was one of the locations in Barbados that created the earliest black entrepreneurs, but this still leads back to fish.

Oistins, is not a resort town like Holetown with its many hotels so one cannot say that the aim is to successfully create a festival that is predominately for the tourist.

One is at a loss as to what the name is to connotate since the Oistins Fish Festival has never concentrated solely on fish. There is also an abundance of arts and craft, music, and entertainment.

Truth be told, the Oistins Fish Festival is now a national treasure of our cultural heritage that has outgrown its private ownership. One thing that I wish to state is that back in the mid-seventy’s night life in Oistins was hanging on to a thread and the Oistins Committee branded and enhanced an activity that was already there and turned it into a successful cultural festival with several other attractions. So perhaps now that the committee is at the crossroad and devoid of ideas to take the festival forward, now is the perfect time to pass the baton on to the National Cultural Foundation for that body to take over and take the festival into the future.

One thought that comes to mind, is to have fish festivals during the Lenten Season in other fishing communities. One up North, one on the East Coast, one on the West Coast and the grand finale on the South Coast at the Oistins Fish Festival on the Easter Weekend.

While there is always room for brand improvement, there is a lot to a name and as the second last line of the national anthem states, we must be “strict guardians of our heritage.”

197 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – OFFC: Creates a Kanye West Moment”

1. AC

So what happened to the pierhead and the “gap”?

2. I am speaking under correction but buses go to Martin’s Bay both from Speightstown and Bridgetown, but check the Transport’s Board’s website first. No need to drive if you don’t feel like it.

3. Dame+Bajans April 29, 2022 10:29 PM #: “You don’t need a car to go to Martins Bay. Just take the bus.”

@ Dame+Bajans

Surely you should’ve realized by now that angela cox DOES NOT THINK, but keyboards the first thing that goes into her head.

Transport Board provides a service to Martin’s Bay and I think there are about 2 privately owned mini buses plying that route as well.

4. angels cox April 29, 2022 10:21 PM #: “Unless one does not have a car don’t see of any reason not going to Martins Bay..”

Supposed an individual isn’t interested in going to Martin’s Bay?

Unless you’re suggesting it’s COMPULSORY for people to visit there.

5. angels cox April 29, 2022 9:44 PM #: “I believe baxters road was deliberately left to dwindle and die because big tourism saw it as a threat
    A place which captured night life for entertainment and partying would have drawn many tourist away from the hotel environment onto baxters road where culture would have reign supreme cutting into the pockets of big hotel industry.”

Your above comment is a clear indication that you don’t know anything about the tourism industry.

Some people are of the mistaken belief all tourists are rich. Some of them ‘save-up’ to come here. Nowadays, you’ll find them taking TB buses and privately owned PSVs.
    And, because of the high hotel prices, they also patronize local restaurants. Why buy a beer from the hotel for $8, plus service charge and VAT, when they could get 4 for $10 at a local bar?

Is “big tourism” seeing Oistins or Martin’s Bay as threats as well?

Additionally, ‘government’ undertook infrastructural upgrades of St. Lawrence Gap, including repairing the boardwalk at its entrance.
    And, despite consultation with stakeholders (I’m sure you’re aware there are several hotels, guest houses, apartments, bars and restaurants in the the ‘The Gap’) to revitalize the area,……….. it remains ‘dead.’
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cuhdear Bajan April 29, 2022 10:04 PM

I’m always saying I’ll “give Martin’s Bay a try,” but have never been able to.

6. William Skinner Avatar

@ Angela Cox
    The Paros became a nuisance and menace often washing peoples’ cars without permission and then demanding payment.
    It was also a question of many popular shops closing and so on. There was a decline in the hotel workers from such places as Paradise when that went out of business.
    Demographics also had an impact and other areas such as St. Lawrence Gap started to pick up with vendors selling street food that could be obtained in Baxter’s Road.
    The younger crowd partied at After Dark and when they came out., the vendors were right there.
    Furthermore. once Oistins started to gain momentum. it was obvious Baxters Road
    could not compete.
    Oistins is also a safer venue and the Paros could not disrupt patrons to any large extent.; it was therefore considered a safer spot.
    Nobody or business, big or small and no government B or D can be seriously blamed for the fading of Baxters Road.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    “You seem to have misinterpreted my comments, perhaps purposely so, while attempting to give credence to Waru’s comments.”
    That level of response is extremely puerile to me . You are way above such nonsense. Why would I “ purposely” do anything to appease @ WURA or anybody on this blog.
    Why couldn’t you just reply to William Skinner without such .
    I would leave it there for now but …………….

8. William Skinner April 30, 2022 12:10 AM

You are correct.

I remember, as a youngster, Baxter’s Road was the ‘place to go’ after the ‘Crop Over Finals.’

The ‘Pink Star’ was frequented by ‘overseas Bajans’ who came home for the festival.

9. Did you know that Edward Oistin came to Barbados in 1627 and had bought 1000 acres in what became Crist Church?

Oistin is another spelling of Austin which became a standard Bajan family name.

He was Irish and is described as follows in Ligon who was here between 1647 and 1649, just before the rise of the Society of Friends.

From A True & Exact History of the Island of Barbados, by
    Richard Ligon in 1657, pages 25-26 we find: “Three
    Bayes there are of note on this Island; one, to the eastward
    of this, is called Austin’s Bay (Oistin’s Bay), not in
    commemoration of any Saint, but of a wilde and drunken
    fellow, whose lewd and extravagant carriage made him
    infamous in the Island; and his Plantation standing neer
    this Bay, as it was called by his name. The other two. . .”
    In Sir Robert H. Schomburgk’s A History of Barbados
    published in 1848, on page 220, one finds: “At the infancy
    of the colony, the most easterly plantation in the parish
    belonged to a person named Oistin, from whom the large
    bay in the neighborhood received its name. Ligon does not
    speak in very flattering terms of the character of this man,
    whom he calls profligate; nevertheless, as the population
    increased, a number of houses were erected in the
    neighborhood, which received the name of Oistin’s town.
    The bad repute of this person was probably the reason that
    an attempt was made to call it Charlestown; but this failed
    and its original name was retained.

10. Edward Oistine was buried on 9th August 1654 at Christ Church.

Christ Church at the time was located in Maxwell Coast Road, close to where I used to live until I was 9 years old.

Some of the graves and vaults remain to this day in the corner between Sandals and the Sea by what used to be Mr. Waithe’s Shop which became “The Tourist Trap”.

The story is a hurricane passed by and the sea came in and swept out numerous coffins.

The Parish Church was moved to its present location at the top of Oistin’s Hill.

His son, also Edward Oistin, became a Quaker.

He made provision for a Burying Ground for Quakers in his will in 1669 when he died.

1669 – Edward Oistine of Christ Church gave half an acre of his land “unto the People called Quakers in this Island … for a burying place … which shall be in part before my Garden which is encompassed with Plantaine trees where I desire that I may be buried”.

You will find the reference here.

http://www.caribbeanfamilyhistory.org/quakers/

Good chance, given the location of the Oistine Family on the 1680 map that this was what we call today, “the largest example of a Slave Burial Ground in the new world”!!

Recent analysis of human remains uncovered at Newton show their owner(s) at the time came from Bristol.

11. Maybe my observation sees a difference in politics between Baxters Rd and St. Lawrence Gap
    Saying the above that parros would never have been given the opportunity to maintain a presence in St. Lawrence Gap in the same manner they did in Baxters Rd
    I am of the opinion that a place that was culturally and historically sound was allowed to failed and with sinister motives attached politics and power structure involved
    Have heard all the reasons for Baxters Rd economic failure but none can convinced me that parros alone was the reason

12. Artax @ac

Supposed an individual isn’t interested in going to Martin’s Bay?

Xxcccc
    Really makes for a 😂😆

13. Just take a look at the predominantly black areas that thrive
    Baxters Road
    Nelson Street
    Bay Street
    All mostly thrived by economic self empowerment
    Today are simply shells of neglect and no govt hands on financial intervention
    The image tells a story of a people lacking the aide and resources which were given to areas and business which are located on the West Coast and South Coast of this island
    No one can deny that financial resources and govt intervention was not part and partial for the West Coast and South to maintain a visible and economic life span over the years
    Some black folks needs to opened eyes and look into a past history as well as the present political environment that would be the betterment for one percent of society while the majority is tossed to wind and driven like tumble weed
    Just cast eyes first to understand and see the truth

14. First the powers in charge dismissed black relevance
    Next black presence
    Slowly but surely a picture is created in the minds of black of having no worth
    This creation deprives the mind any attempt to deal with self worth
    The picture becomes thicken with self doubt anger and hopelessness
    That is the long and short of a psychological dumbing and draining of the black mind resulting in a mind that think less of itself and relying on the minds of others to think for us
    Hence we have no reason to fight for what is rightfully there’s
    That image is also associated with how the black person can be easily manipulated and the truth snatched from before their eyes and replaced with facades and gestures and half truths

15. Another factor that send Baxter Road down the drain was the gun shots in and around the area including Country Rd and New Orleans. How many time youngest some one was shot on BAxter Rd and the gunman escaped by running through the orleans ?

16. Youngest = you heard

17. John2April 30, 2022 7:26 AM

Another factor that send Baxter Road down the drain was the gun shots in and around the area including Country Rd and New Orleans. How many time youngest some one was shot on BAxter Rd and the gunman escaped by running through the orleans ?
    Xxxccxc
    As if the same never happened I’m the West Coast and South Coast
    Also in a shopping mall in Warren’s
    Difference being govt steps up.and does due diligence for those areas
    Who the cat likes the cat licks
    Try another excuse as to why govt allow Baxters Road to become derelict
    I would wager a bet that if white business investment was tied up.in that area the environment.would present a different picture

18. Which government u blaming?

How often did u hear people getting shoot in the mall at warrens?

What are some of the things you would have like government to do / done in Baxter Rd ? Be specific

19. I think the speightown bus used to travel to Bathsheba. I am not aware if they extended it to martins bay

20. Whenever I went to Martins Bay, I took the bus. It is jam packed and empties at the restaurant. It is a beautiful ride with scenery you don’t see up north and the chatting, joking and laughing reminds me of bus excursions. The Speightstown bus goes to Bathsheba not Martins Bay. But if you take an early bus, you can walk along the coast from Bathsheba to Martins Bay. We did it as kids. With comfortable shoes, it should take less than an hour.

21. @Dame Bajans

It is a beautiful side of the island, of late the sargassum has been a nuisance and muddied the experience.

22. angels cox April 30, 2022 5:29 AM #: “Maybe my observation sees a difference in politics between Baxters Rd and St. Lawrence Gap
    Saying the above that parros would never have been given the opportunity to maintain a presence in St. Lawrence Gap.”

@ ac

You have a silly habit of politicizing every issue.

The parros, drug pushers and male prostitutes are some of the main reasons why ‘The Gap’ is ‘dead.’

Baxter’s Road was redeveloped and new stalls with bathroom facilities were built for the fish fryers, taking them from selling on the sidewalk.

You need to research the facts, rather than ‘talking’ about what you ‘feel’ happened.

23. Stalls yeah that is what the small
    black business person must settle for
    As for the Gap it goes through periods of recession but the Gap has never been allowed to become an eye sore like Baxter road

Next

I get that some blacks would settle for anything
    Not me though

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Did you know that Edward Oistin came to Barbados in 1627 and had bought 1000 acres in what became Crist Church?”

ya mean TIEF, who that criminal….bought land from in 1627…..the thieves who stole the island from the indigenous inhabitants…our Afrikan ancestors and other indigenous people…..ya really need to stop…

the little vp should have REMOVED the criminal name Oistin….and NOT THE NAME FISH…

25. @WURA
    I agree with your post at 10.52. hahaha. John does not know when to stop, or how to stop. hahaha.

26. AC
    What are some of the things government did/ does for the gap that you would like to see don’t for Baxter rd?

27. @Waru: April 30, 2022 10:52 AM
    “Did you know that Edward Oistin came to Barbados in 1627 and had bought 1000 acres in what became Crist Church?”

ya mean TIEF, who that criminal….bought land from in 1627…..the thieves who stole the island from the indigenous inhabitants…our Afrikan ancestors and other indigenous people…..ya really need to stop…

the little vp should have REMOVED the criminal name Oistin….and NOT THE NAME FISH…
    (Unquote).

That was a hard slap to the face of John; and deservedly so!

From whom did the old brigand “Oistin” bought the land?
    From the Arawaks the same way the same European thieves bought the lands from the natives in the Americas, Southern Africa and Australasia using vi et armis as the currency of exchange?

The patented twister of Bajan history knows no bounds when it comes to the history of Barbadoes.
    From asserting that sugar was never profitable until after World War 11 to claiming that the Quakers freed the slaves to that of asserting that the Africans came to Barbadoes as a result of fleeing from their Muslim oppressors or on their own accord along with their pet green monkeys and black belly sheep with many of them living to a ripe old age on the plantation called Paradise.

What next piece of Bajan ‘twistory’ will Sir John be regaling us with?

That the pirate Stede Bonnet was a runaway slave of Quaker persuasion

Or that the Bajan interbred mongrel, called the salmon tot retriever aka pot-starver, is really a direct descendant of the African wild dog?

28. @Rabbit

It is amazing that even with Google we still see the big lie being brought to BU. If not our intelligence, then please credit us with a web browser and a keyboard.

“The first English ship touched the island on May 14th 1625 under the command of Captain John Powell. The island was therefore claimed on behalf of King James I. On February 17th 1627, Captain Henry Powell landed with a party of 80 settlers and 10 slaves to occupy and settle the island.”

What is next? Oistin was a Quaker? You were named after John Powell?

29. I see that others are anxiously waiting on installment #2 of Quaker tales: The Twistory of Oistins

30. This was something I wrote on FB April 30, 2015.

“When I work from home I parked my TV on one of those salacious TV channels (Jerry/Maury).

Was minding my business when I heard a man say the phrase “She was a prostitute from hell”

I can only conclude “Since she was from hell, she was unable to take him to heaven”..

31. Amazing when whites want to reclaim ungainly possessions they resort to History whilst blacks have to bow and beg for recognition and ownership of what is rightfully theirs

32. A beauty waiting to be unclothed

Another breathtaking view can be seen from a promontory just behind Edgecliff.
    By Peter Laurie Barbados has one of the hidden natural wonders of the Caribbean.
    Right now, if you visit the site you will catch only glimpses of its enchanting possibilities. Nature and humans have conspired to conceal the startling beauty of this geological phenomenon.
    What am I talking about? The majestic Hackleton’s Cliff, which rises to almost 1 000 feet above sea level, and straddles the parishes of St John and St Joseph. The most accessible part of it runs for just over a mile from St John’s Church to Cotton Tower Hill.
    From the cliff top, which is overgrown with bush, you get glimpses, at two or three points, of the Atlantic coast. If the bush were cleared you would enjoy a spectacular panorama of that rugged, windswept east coast from Ragged Point lighthouse to Pico Tenerife; a view so breathtakingly scenic that it would be unequalled anywhere else in the Caribbean.
    In the silent dense forest below you can find the site of an early settlement of the Irish and Scottish indentured servants and political prisoners deported to Barbados during the English Civil War.
    The most popular viewing site is behind Malvern Great House, on top of the burial vaults dating back to the 17th century. The access road next to Malvern is sign-posted.
    Local resident, Roger Moore, has dedicated himself to beautifying the area with the help of his wife, Nikita Boyce. With their love, care, and sweat of their brow, they have created a beautiful community mini-park. This is what Barbados is all about.
    Another breathtaking view can be seen from a promontory just behind Edgecliff.
    Heritage park
    The top of Hackleton’s Cliff would make a fantastic ecological and heritage park within the much more extensive East Coast National Park. A park, imaginatively designed and landscaped to complement the natural environment, in which, along the cliff edge, there might be walking and cycling paths with several designated look-out points and one rustic restaurant/rum shop.
    Since there is a drop of some 500 feet to the forest below you would have to erect a tasteful natural protective barrier. There might also be facilities provided for vendors of arts and crafts and locally grown fruit and vegetables. And what about a mini-museum and memorial to our indentured ancestors? There might even be an entertainment venue.
    The park might include a toll-based drivethrough with parking spaces set well back unobtrusively from the cliff. There might be picnic spots with shade trees with rustic tables and benches, and portable toilets.
    Hiking tours might be organised along the existing five trails down the cliff to the extensive forest below. Imagine all the possibilities.
    Three essentials: it must have minimal negative impact on the natural environment; it should provide employment and entrepreneurial opportunities for the surrounding communities; and it should be financially sustainable.
    It requires little imagination to see all the spin-offs for making enough money to support its sustainability.
    Result – a beautiful park around an exquisite natural wonder that would be a tourist attraction, a place for enjoyment and relaxation for Barbadians, and a commercial success, integrating rural development with community-based tourism.
    How would we go about doing this?
    The land along (and in some cases below) the cliff is privately owned by three major landowners and five small ones. It might be appropriate therefore for a public-private sector partnership, involving the landowners and the government, with the project being undertaken by a not-forprofit social enterprise that would develop the park in manageable phases.Think big; start small.
    But, please, the Government should facilitate, not design or manage the park.

Peter Laurie is a former head of the Barbados Foreign Service and author of several books.

33. angela cox April 30, 2022 10:29 AM #: “Stalls yeah that is what the small black business person must settle for.
    As for the Gap it goes through periods of recession but the Gap has never been allowed to become an eye sore like Baxter road.”

Come on, my friend. The comparison is silly.

I’ve told you on several occasions that you don’t think, but keyboard the first thing that goes into your head

St. Lawrence Gap is lined with hotels, guest houses, apartments, resturants, entertainment venues ‘a handful’ of private residences and one or two derelict buildings.

‘Government,’ developed the infrastructure of
    Baxter’s Road and ‘The Gap.’
    The owners of businesses in both areas were responsible for maintaining their properties.

Who’s at fault if the owners of businesses in Baxter’s Road allowed their properties to become derelict?

Are you suggesting ‘government’ should have rebuilt or refurbished the shops in Baxter’s Road and built elaborate restaurants for the fish vendors?

34. What some want to see and done for the black community is apparently different social financial historical and cultural wise
    The push back against my voiced opinion is expected
    As some one recently stated on another social platform which I acknowledge and agreed
    Words to such effect
    Barbadians blacks don’t like themselves
    The fact that anyone would want to tell me that the Gap is more deserving than Baxters Rd
    Tells the truthfulness and mentality of such a person ignorance of their History
    I gone speak about the issue all by self
    Better yet speak to the 👏

35. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

Kanye West performs in Houston jail with his Sunday Service choir

36. angels cox May 1, 2022 6:10 AM

Last/last

RE: “The fact that anyone would want to tell me that the Gap is more deserving than Baxters Rd….”

YOU ARE A LIAR!!!!,

So far, during this ongoing back and forth about St. Lawrence Gap and Baxter’s Road, NO ONE MENTIONED ANYTHING about “The Gap is more deserving than Baxters Rd.”

RE: “Tells the truthfulness and mentality of such a person ignorance of their History….”

There isn’t anyone on BU who displays more ignorance on any issue other than YOU.

You DON’T KNOW ANYTHING about Baxter’s Road including its HISTORY, yet, you continue PRETENDING that you do, while SPEWING SHIITE in the process.

But, we all know what you really want to ‘say.’

That ‘government,’ which to you means the BLP, neglected Baxter’s Road in favour of St. Lawrence Gap.

Remember, further infrastructural development of The Gap, was announced in 2013 by former Tourism Minister, Richard Sealy….. and occurred under your administration.

37. Key word =infrastructure

Not the buildings / private owned properties

38. PEG farm got the jump on PL article
    They have from just below hackeltons cliff right down to cotton tower

39. The view from Hackleton’s Cliff was spectacular when I was a kid. There were woods and people lived below the cliff, but it was not a forest then. At end of term (St. Elizabeth) we got out early and we would walk up through the woods through the opening (called “the cliff mout”) and up onto the cliff and look around for miles to the South and North. You used your imagination as you had never visited the places you could see. We used to go with two mates, Amy and Cynthia, two sisters who lived under the ‘cliff mout’. And the view of the ocean from up there, took your breath away. They were fishing boats with sails then and they looked like specks on the water. When you are a kid, things are large, or as Bajans say, big, big, big. I think St. Joseph is the most beautiful parish.

40. (Quote):
    No wonder we take the fish out of Oistins; no wonder a german marketing Barbados .
    My brother , respectfully: we don’t have a clue about how to really sell the island as a tourist product. That’s why the tourists numbers increase but the spending never does.
    (Unquote).

Speaking of name-changing of festivals, when is the new CEO of the Bajan tourism business going change the name of “Crop Over” in the BTMI promotional strategy?

After all, there is nothing left to really market about the End of the Sugar Crop.

What is the ‘current’ relevance of the sugar crop to that national festival?

Why not call it The Bajan Wuk-up & Drink-up Bacchanal?

We can always elect our Canadian white-boy Lawson as the first high priest.

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

lol…and want people to take medical information about our ancestors and religious advice from him, and he don’t know anything about our origins….or where the religious crap he spouts on the blog comes from…better learn to embrace all ancestors, wuh if he could fall over himself licking slave master ass, he could embrace the small people in his DNA..

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“We can always elect our Canadian white-boy Lawson as the first high priest.”

with a guaranteed salary of 1/4 million or more and perks, am sure Lawson is already packing..

43. Edward Oistine got a good deal on his 1,000 acres.

He only paid 100 pounds.

You all can work out what that 100 pounds is worth today.

44. DavidMay 1, 2022 4:52 AM

A beauty waiting to be unclothed

The most popular viewing site is behind Malvern Great House, on top of the burial vaults dating back to the 17th century. The access road next to Malvern is sign-posted.
    Local resident, Roger Moore, has dedicated himself to beautifying the area with the help of his wife, Nikita Boyce. With their love, care, and sweat of their brow, they have created a beautiful community mini-park. This is what Barbados is all about.

Did you know that those Burial Vaults contain the remains of Quakers?

Foster of Foster Hall is in one.

There are several other names.

When they were broken open in the late 80’s when I started hiking, I saw the name John Thorpe Foster, 1794 on one lead coffin.

I am told by a St. John Resident from under the Cliff at Newcastle that the guy who broke into them ended up going foolishy foolishy and turning a paipsy colour.

Next time I see him I must remember to ask if he is still alive.

There is another vault closer to Cotton Tower belonging to Colonel Byam it is said. He died in Antigua so was never interred there.

Close to Edgecliff on Malvern Estate is what appears to be a large burying ground with a high wall built along the Cliff probably to avoid children and horses from going over when people assembled to bury their dead.

The story goes that Hackleton rode his horse over the cliff because his wife was unfaithful but it might have been his horse bolted when he was at a funeral and carried him to his death.

The guy who went into the grave of Henry Peter Simmons at Vaucluse to move the remains to accommodate the development of land in the area is said to have died within a year.

Have to speak with Anthony Hunte about the Holder coffins and remains removed from Holders Hill and relocated to Castle Grant when development was undertaken.

Holder was another Quaker family.

These Quaker burials tell us where slaves and other Quakers were buried in the 17th,18th and 19th centuries.

Those Quakers buried in marked graves are there fore two reasons, firstly to avoid going in the Anglican Church yard and secondly to mark the locations of the 100’s of unmarked graves buried around them to tell succeeding generations where other Quakers and their slaves are buried.

The burials appear all over the island, Fields at Penny Hole, Rice at Rices in St. Philip, Skeete at Mangrove St. Peter, Greaves at Hope in St. Lucy, Collins at Searles, Frere at Coverly, Trotman at Ridge etc etc etc..

There was no refrigeration so people are buried close to where they died.

45. … except for Nelson, his body was preserved in a cask of spirits for the voyage back home to England where he asked to be buried..

“Legend has it that Pusser’s Rum is sometimes referred to as ‘Nelson’s Blood’, because after the great Admiral Nelson’s death at the Battle of Trafalgar in 1805, in which his body was preserved in a cask of spirits, holes were drilled into the sides and the liquid drained.”