Two items of news reported in traditional media in the last 48 hours attracted the attention of the blogmaster. The first report in the Nation newspaper with the title – ‘Strong Concerns’ about BL&P call – highlighted a concern by lawyer Tricia Watson about the BL&P asking for a rate increase and accused them of hiding information from the public according to the news report.

The blogmaster has no issue with Watson and her recent prosecution of the BL&P on the airwaves about the request for a rate increase. In fact we need more public spirited citizens getting involved to advocate on the many issues that affect us. It is after all a key element to ensuring a healthy democracy.

However, of interest after listening to Tricia Watson on VOB’s Brasstacks and reading the newspaper report, a question came to mind. Why did Watson think it necessary to come to the public to air concerns? The law governing a rate review hearing must be a public affair and all sides will have an opportunity to present positions under the oversight of the Fair Trading Commission (FTC), the regulator. Notwithstanding there is always the opportunity to educate a public about a highly technical matter – the blogmaster’s concern stands.

An explanation of the role of the FTC posted to the website mandates the Financial Services Commission Act (2010) assures John public the FTC has a duty to fairly weigh positions presented by the company (BL&P) and intervenors (Tricia Watson is an intervenor) with the support of subject matter of experts. The verbal darts being exchanged in public raises the unsubstantiated view held by the blogmaster that there is an element of distrust in the system by those representing the people.

The other news item of interest addressed declining car sales on the island. The official in the Barbados Today article titled – Car sales continue to be a struggle says senior executive – lamented car sales were beginning to pick up until the Russia/Ukraine conflict intervened to forestall.

Barbados is a country struggling with a bad economy that has not recovered from the 2008 global financial crisis. In recent years it has been hammered by Hurricane Elsa, volcanic ash from Mount Soufriere, Covid 19 to name the ‘biggies’. Why in heavens name is the leadership of the country doing nothing to restructure and make the transportation system more efficient? Is the blogmaster wrong in thinking what exists is unsustainable?

The importation of food and fuel are responsible for soaking up significant amount of scarce foreign exchange. Citizens continue to be afflicted with excuses from government regarding the pace at which electric vehicles are being introduced to the market. Daily NEW fossil burning vehicles bearing ML plates (government owned vehicles) are seen bouncing around the island. Why are we letting another crisis to go to waste? 

Where there is No Vision, There is no Hope

George Washington Carver

In summary, we need to ensure agencies responsible for representing citizens do so in a matter that nurtures trust between all actors in civil society. The blogmaster is reminded of the sudden resignation without explanation to the people of former minister Ronald Toppin. With well over 130,000 vehicles on the roads, where they hell are we going?

86 responses to “Sunday Musings – Where We Going?”

1. David

Somebody in Barbados was once called NATO. And that’s a good nickname for Mugube.

No Action Talk Only.

But you should tell the unvarnished truth. And in relation to rate setting the FTC’s only role is the pretense that some deliberative process will be gone through when in truth and in fact the Commission serves the political purposes for which it was set up. Economy is determined by the Company. And the Company alone.

Tell deh trute!

2. @Pacha

Did you read the sentence that referred to the sudden resignation of Ronald Toppin.

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@John A
    Thanks John A for helping me to search for where we are.
    @ David Bu
    Is the FTC fit for purpose?
    What is its purpose? Is it simply following precedents OR has it recognised the new reality in which it has to operate? Its approach appears to be? legalistic. John A has clarified a more relevant approach.

4. @ Vincent

The blogmaster no problem with John A’s approach in theory. What is clear is how it can be accomplished without taking into consideration calculations known only to BL&P.

5. Interesting.

6. Sorry for above video which I posted on the retirement blog.

7. Where we are going.

8. @ Vincent

Thing is too that the information I am steering them towards is available for every major power company globally. All power companies can be asked to present their production cost per kw. It is a basic formula that is used globally to arrive at the data. All the long talk and financials they bring to support a hike if the above approach is not used, comes to nothing. As we would say it us only fluff and window dressing if we dont compare their cost of production to an average benchmark rate.

For instance Florida Power has one of the lowest rates of kw production in the USA. Florida has a similar climate to ours so the association can start there. Florida Power also has very diverse generation sources as well.

Wunna stop swallowing what paper people shove in front you to read and do little research instead.

9. @John A

What if the local power company is not equipped to achieve the best global standard for whatever reason?

10. Then let them come to the consumers and tell us why not when they already are being paid a dam high Kw charge!

11. @John A

Isn’t it up to the intervenors to raised alternatives for consideration at the public hearings? Has the recommendation you mentioned been raised by them and if no why not?

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…. Musk, just snatched twitter..

13. Another disastrous day for the Royal family.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-61221706

14. ” She also announced that the BTMI’s office for cruise operations would be set up in an already available section of the Barbados Consulate in Miami and would initially be headed by a senior business development officer from the BTMI’s Barbados office while a recruitment drive was carried out for a director of cruise to ultimately manage that area of the BTMI’s operations.”

recruitment drive ?

merrily we roll along

15. I don’t want an apology. I want MONEY.

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…don’t know what they are getting out of prolonging the facade, it’s not amusing, and our grandchildren/future generations deserve an explanation. The resistance can only grow..

17. “We too like to make sport at poor Black People. Wunnuh worse than in the good colonial days”.

You onstand! Then they talk about voter apathy.

18. Waru

Elon Musk is a globalist. We know where they get their money and the role to be played by them. Serving the most wicked ideas ordinary people must struggle against.

Mugabe is another chosen one as well, at a lower level nonetheless. Nothing that she has done will do is happenstance.

The irony is that public opinion is so twisted by propaganda that some colleagues elsewhere have been so debased that they now look to an ‘idiot’ like Musk to save us. And we use this description of him applying it’s former meaning.

19. @ Pacha
    Have you considered a trip to Syria….?

It just came to Bushie…. as clear as day.
    You are the exact personification of a fella called ‘Saul’, who some time ago who had an ‘incident’ on the road to Damascus.

The result would be a wonder to behold….

20. re Elon Musk is a globalist.
    re The irony is that public opinion is so twisted by propaganda that some colleagues elsewhere have been so debased that they now look to an ‘idiot’ like Musk to save us. And we use this description of him applying it’s former meaning.
    VERY INTERESTING?
    IS HE JEWISH?
    THEN HE COULD BE ANTICHRIST WAITING TO BE REVEALED
    WATCH THE BIBLE ILLITERATES BARK AND BRAY NOW IN THIER IGNORANCE.
    MUGABE MUTTLEY IS A MERE SARGEANT MAJOR ANTTIOCHUS IV EPIMANES. SHE ONLY HAS LOCAL CLOUT. HERE ONLY GRAVITAS IS IN HER INCREASING AVOIR DU POIS.

21. Vacancies in Canada for Room Attendants and Stewards. Barbados appears to be an international holding pen for cheap labour. We boast about our education system. India has no problem in exporting her skilled IT and educated workforce. Do we really want our young people to be exiled abroad employed as Room Attendants in cold Canada? Has the GOB been paid a commission?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/25/job-opportunities-for-room-attendants-stewards-in-canada/

22. End Times. Millennialism, Premillenialism, Dispensationalism. Stained glass window inside a church Churches believe that God has a divine plan ©.

Daily Warm Up

Warm up exercises prepare your body and mind for Dahn Yoga classes. They comprise of Dan-jon tapping, Intestine exercises and upper body opening exercises. You can practice the warm up anytime but it is recommended to practice it always before starting Dahn Yoga classes.

23. Funny that they are never able to find locals for jobs above a certain level, but they come looking for us when lower level jobs are available.

Fifty to sixty years in the tourist business..

24. Hope we are not saying that unskilled or semi skilled workers should not get the opportunity to better themselves. It is impossible given the structure of the local economy to create job opportunities for everyone. Immigrant labour is nothing new.The tourism business is not going away any time soon, what we must do is created other avenues for opportunity.Let us wish those who will find work well and that they use the opportunity as a spring board to improve themselves.

25. People with professional qualifications are usually able to seek jobs to meet their expectations. It is the unskilled and semiskilled who need help.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The irony is that public opinion is so twisted by propaganda that some colleagues elsewhere have been so debased that they now look to an ‘idiot’ like Musk to save us.”

a boer clown from South Afrika….but an accumulation of paper impresses the weak willed…

TLSN….the slave trade as redefined in the 1800s…..slavery tourism…

27. What interim rates what??!!
    Lotta shiite.
    So why would the FTC be holding a ‘rate relief consideration’ while a substantive rate case is ongoing?
    Since refunds will be given to customers if the full rate case does not grant the requested rates how does this make sense?

Shiite man!!! Who exactly comprises this ‘Commission”? School children?

Why not just complete the damn Rate Case.
    They have talking about this shiite now for eons….
    Then again, we have shiite lawyers involved, so the SIMPLEST of matters will take forever, cost a fortune…. and probably end up with the usual stupid outcome.

What a damned place….

28. @Bush Tea

From reading what is in the public FTC rules provision for an interim consideration?

29. What rules what!!?
    This is Brassbados Boss…. anything goes…

You have a company bragging that they have not applied for increases in 12 years, and now that they HAVE applied, they are claiming unprecedented urgency… they NEED money from LAST YEAR??!!

If Bushie was suspicious the Bushman would think that they have ‘Rate Case Phobia’..

As to the FTC..
    Who is this Body anyway? what is their expertise? How are they appointed?
    …and what ever happened to the last Director…?

30. @Bush Tea

You are aware how these public companies operate, the job description of the CEO demands predetermined returns are achieved. By any rh means necessary.

31. predetermined returns are achieved. By any rh means necessary.
    ~~~~~~~
    Just so you understand why Brassbados is a ‘preferred business jurisdiction’.

32. Managing Expectations..
    Rates will be going up
    UP! UP! UP!
    ⬆ Up 😀😂👌❤️😍

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…boer clown extraordinaire is at it again……

never drank garbage sodas anyway, so no one can spike my drink without my knowledge…he was joking about twitter too…lol

“Elon Musk says he’ll put the ‘COKE’ back into Coca-Cola

Tesla CEO Elon Musk has joked that he will buy up the Coca-Cola Company after his high-profile purchase of Twitter, vowing to bring back an infamous – and now highly illegal – ingredient once contained in the drink.

“Next I’m buying Coca-Cola to put the cocaine back in,” he said, playing on an increasingly popular meme instigated by his $44-billion purchase of Twitter earlier this week.

While the soft drink has long been one of America’s most globally recognized cultural exports, its original formula contained some questionable ingredients, chief among them cocaine.”

34. Wrong time for rate increase

On a recent episode of Brass Tacks which aired on April 22nd, Barry Wilkinson explored the application by the Barbados Light & Power Company (BL& P) to the Fair Trading Commission for a rate increase. This is apparently the first increase the company has requested since circa 2009. If granted, the BL& P estimates that “the typical electricity bill will increase between five to 20 per cent depending on the customer’s tariff class”.
    Ms Tricia Watson, attorney at law, appeared as a guest on the show and delivered what I considered to be an excellent explanation of the application for a rate increase and the objections of the interveners.
    Mr Ralph “Bizzy” Williams also commented on the application. He expressed support for the increase on several grounds, including that the utility company provides one of the most reliable services within the region (which comes at a cost) and has not had an increase since circa 2009.
    He asserted that from a business and operational standpoint the increase was understandable.
    While I appreciate the argument put forward by Mr Williams, I believe it may be short-sighted and expressed from a position of privilege. Had there been no pandemic, I might be inclined to agree. But we cannot ignore the harsh financial impact the pandemic has had on many individuals and businesses, many of whom have not recovered.
    There is no question that the pandemic disproportionately affected those within the working class and lowerincome brackets. As an employment attorney, I witnessed this first-hand.
    Most workers within the professional and upper classes were fortunate to maintain their jobs and salaries. In the few instances of pay cuts, the decrease was temporary and mainly affected discretionary spending but not the ability to meet recurring household expenses. Many of the larger businesses still reported profits in both 2020 and 2021 despite the pandemic, and in some instances at the expense of laying off workers.
    Mass layoffs
    The working class and lower-income households were hardest hit as they worked in the industries (such as the hospitality and tourism industries) where there were mass layoffs.
    Those who were not laid off suffered pay cuts as high as 51 per cent (otherwise known as short time). Although many of
    these workers have now been rehired, they are still reeling from the debts accumulated during the lengthy periods of unemployment or underemployment during the pandemic and from often delayed and inadequate unemployment benefits or severance. Some still juggle which bills to pay and how much to allot to each utility bill.
    In February, Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs, Kirk Humphrey, revealed that the two years of the pandemic increased the number of people requiring welfare assistance from about 3 500 to 6 500. If this isn’t evidence of the negative financial effects caused by the pandemic, then I don’t know what is. Additionally, in a recent press conference the Central Bank Governor advised that during the first quarter of 2022 food prices rose by four per cent. He also anticipated further increases if the conflict with Russia and Ukraine is prolonged.
    Given the foregoing, I ask, is now the right time for a rate increase to an essential service like electricity when many people and businesses have not yet recovered from the pandemic? Can the increase be delayed for another year to allow people to catch themselves? Where does the balance of convenience lie? Will more harm be caused to the average Barbadian household if the increase is applied than may be caused to the BL& P if the increase is delayed? Can the average Barbadian household (and not just those within the professional or middle and upper classes) bear another price increase along with the current and projected food and fuel increases when there is no simultaneous increase in salaries?
    I believe these are the pertinent questions the public must ask the regulator to address when it considers the BL& P’s application for the rate increase.

Michelle M. Russell is an attorney with a passion for employment law and labour matters, and also a social activist. Email mrussell. ja@gmail.com.

35. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan

We going with Dr. Ronnie recently elected President of the DLP.

Leave a Reply to de pedantic DribblerCancel reply