Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

Portvale sugar factory continues to be closed at this most critical time of our crop season. Shockingly, the factory is still undergoing repairs after a two-week shutdown. Normally repairs happen during the planting and growing seasons, to avoid any shut-downs for repairs during the crop reaping time. Evidently, something has gone terribly wrong.

When CBC-TV finally broke the story that Portvale had already been closed for one week for repairs, the news reporter attempted to give comforting assurance and hope, by stating that: “the engineers are hard at work.” If engineers are seen to be hard at work on a problem that the public is aware of, then the situation must be very dire indeed.

THANKLESS WORK.

Experienced Engineers normally foresee problems and quietly solve them with permanent solutions – without any fanfare. Therefore, an Engineer’s work is normally thankless, because the public has no opportunity to complain about problems they avoided experiencing. The public are generally unaware that there was anything to give thanks for, when Engineers do their jobs well.

The Barbados media’s decision to treat the closure of the Portvale factory as a national secret, that the public had no right to know, is very troubling. The planters’ decision to spill the proverbial bean, by publicly complaining about the risk of canes rotting, may have forced their hand.

The Barbados media must resist the temptation to be the public relations arm and attack hounds of their political party, and start serving the public with integrity.

WHERE ARE THE ENGINEERS?

The more important issue is: Are there any Chartered Mechanical Engineers employed at Portvale factory to avoid these types of delays? If not, then are there any Chartered Mechanical Engineers working in the Ministry of Agriculture? If not, then is there a single Chartered Mechanical Engineer working in the entire public service of Barbados? Is there a single journalist in Barbados who can ask these questions?

If the Government of Barbados has decided to stop hiring Chartered Mechanical Engineers, then the public must prepare for a wave of: rapidly deteriorating infrastructure, more frequent breakdowns and closures, and unnecessarily higher taxes to prematurely replace poorly maintained infrastructure.

WHO WE ARE.

The effective solution is obvious. But we do not seem to want effective solutions in Barbados, because it robs us of an opportunity to show who we really are. We much prefer to let things deteriorate, because that gives the public the opportunity to complain.

The more loudly people complain, the more likely the problem will be temporarily addressed – at an unnecessarily high cost. These short-term solutions give the public many opportunities to show who we really are – a grateful people. We long to express our gratitude. But Engineers’ competence keeps frustrating that cultural attribute.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

116 responses to “Engineers Getting In The Way”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

John…you are the same one saying new age equipment is available, requring less not more human labor…….to what was around in 1940 and 50s….the sector remains backward and think they are going to revive it with Black labor..

….all young people should be deterred from going anywhere near these parasites…

2. None of the youngsters have the skill set or imagination to keep old equipment working.

3. What you call new age equipment still needs an internal combustion engine to run it!!!

But you know that, right?

4. About two Sundays ago the ocean in Carlisle Bay made a giant flow of rushing waters settling on the land which was occupied by Ram Merchandise and the soon and expected development of the Hyatt Coastal Management are trying to find the reason and are suspecting that the ocean might be reclaiming the land
    Social media has been abuzz with the story and the pictures showing a massive overtake of the land
    Here is what some on social media have said

Hyatt Ziva is going to make a nice coral reef.Thats where it will end up.In the bottom of Carlisle Bay.

5. Video capturing sea overtaking land two weeks ago on site for the Hyatt

https://youtu.be/CDHVwv-VWdI

6. @ angela cox,
    Ms Ram may have dodged a bullet and would have received financial compensation.

For those like me who have visited the beautiful capital city of Lisbon in Portugal, we have seen the evidence of the devastation and the after effects of what was the most disastrous tsunami in Europe.

“The tsunami affected waves as far away as Carlisle Bay, Barbados, where waves were said to rise by 1.5 m”. The year was 1755.

I have argued for many years on BU of the rapid erosion of Barbados west and south coastal lands. We are all aware of rising sea levels. This is why it is imperative that our coastal lands should remain undeveloped.

https://www.australiangeographic.com.au/topics/science-environment/2011/03/the-10-most-destructive-tsunamis-in-history/

7. Conspiracy theory
    Wondering if an assessment of possible coastal flooding was done and Miss Ram was paid out early.

Crazy? Or were we given a smoke and mirrors show?

8. ‘Sweet benefits’ for Bajans

More is being done to ensure average Barbadians benefit from the sugar cane industry, says Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir.
    “For the first time in the history of this well-known story on Barbadian sugar, the average Barbadian will be able to tangibly benefit from the investment in the industry. This industry saw many Barbadians toil but they were not recipients of the large profits, and that is going to change. The time has come for all who laboured tirelessly on plantations, factories and sugar mills across this nation to reap the rewards,” Weir said yesterday during the commissioning of the Harper Sugar Cane Mill at Groves, St George.
    He added that as the export of branded speciality sugars and production of molasses continued, that would have greater impact for the workers. Weir said the transitioning of the sector would see the industry producing reduced quantities of raw sugar to satisfy domestic needs, while targeting overseas markets with branded speciality sugars.
    “The local rum industry also stands to benefit from premium quality molasses, the process has already begun. However it does not end here, we’ll be maximising the full value chain associated with the sugar cane plant by manufacturing several by-products, including fertilisers and biodegradable items,” he added.
    The mill is a joint project between the Barbados Sugar Cane Research Team and West Indies Rum Distillery (WIRD). It was named after Ivan Harper, a Barbadian of African heritage, who discovered the fertility of the sugar cane in 19th century.
    “There is no doubt whatsoever that this partnership will result in the manufacturing of quality rum varieties based on empirical research on cocktail varieties of sugar cane. The sugar cane mill has potential to be a tourist attraction, it can provide education opportunities for locals and visitors,” he added.
    Director at WIRD, Andrew Hassell, said the partnership would be a win-win as the research team needed a mill for its purpose and the distillery needed a mill for rum research.
    Master blender and owner of WIRD, Alexandre Gabriel, said they intended to share the story of rum.
    “People should know about the excellency of Barbados’ rum and this is what we are about and this is what we are dedicating our research to,” he said. ( TG)
    493 positive for virus
    There were 493 new COVID-19 cases, 204 males and 289 females, from the 1 418 tests carried out on Thursday by the Bestdos Santos Public Health Laboratory.
    The cases consisted of 89 people under the age of 18, and 404 who were 18 years and older.
    There were 72 people in isolation facilities, while 2 926 were in home isolation.
    Two men, aged 88 and 99, died from the viral illness on Thursday. They were both fully vaccinated. As at April 21, a total of 388 COVID-19-related deaths were recorded.
    The public health laboratory has conducted 638 650 tests since February 2020, and recorded 66 810 COVID-19 cases (30 758 males and 36 052 females). ( BGIS)

9. TheOGazertsApril 23, 2022 8:21 AM

Conspiracy theory
    Wondering if an assessment of possible coastal flooding was done and Miss Ram was paid out early

Xxxxx
    Is then why would Mia state that the resumption of the Hyatt would have began early
    Noted however the site remains in sleepy mode
    When these pictures hit social media can’t see Hyatt continuing the process
    In my opinion the excavation project might have done damage to underground pipes leading under the site which might have eroded and cause that massive flow of water
    Interesting that this story have been keep.well.under cover

10. This matter was highlighted in the Nation newspaper this week. The matter is being investigated by authorities.

11. Would be interesting to hear what outside investigators say and if the Hyatt project should be continued
    Climate change can contribute to beach erosion
    The west coast is evidence of the ocean reclaiming land
    Can’t envision the Hyatt taking such a chance with the lives of people

Angela Cox When it comes to Mother Nature we can never be too sure of what she will do when tested.That was probably happening all along but as you alluded to the area was occupied so it didnt show itself till now. I think its for the best it show itself now than later having a multi storey hotel there collapsing full of people.I think the project should be abandoned but the arrogance and ego of man might not permit.

12. DavidApril 23, 2022 9:36 AM

This matter was highlighted in the Nation newspaper this week. The matter is being investigated by authorities
    Xcccc
    One story one story and BU never had any intention to pay attention to the story article showing the damages
    Shame
    Shame

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

Master blender and owner of WIRD, Alexandre Gabriel,…. isn’t this the same person competitors claim blocks the designation of Barbados Rum.

14. BU pleads guilty.

15. @NO

His name was mentioned regarding challenges with rum and geofencing.

———-

https://barbadosunderground.net/2021/08/27/turning-bajan-rum-into-what/comment-page-1/

16. Hard ears yuh won’t hear latter yuh feel
    Nature reclaims

https://youtu.be/YsoOPrfEFeE

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, this comment is related to the land erosion and a possible inside deal for Ms Ram to move?: “This matter was highlighted in the Nation newspaper this week. The matter is being investigated by authorities.” That’s an amazing story on several fronts.

First up I don’t see how ANY investigation could or would be ALLOWED to validate such an inside deal because frankly that would be the BIIGGEST corruption/conflict of interest matter in Barbados’ history since HARP, Pele and Stokes combined because SEVERAL lawyers, consultants and civil servants would have had to know of such an undertaking. So that’s a WOW, WTF! Anyhow this is my lovely Bim and anything goes at times!

Further anyhow tho, several years ago (almost another lifetime now it seems) I recall serious reclamation and coastal erosion protection being undertaken some few hundred yards north in the area of the Carlisle House and Car park/ BS&T HQ with COW Construction doing the then interesting looking ‘groynes’ to defend against the on rushing wave erosion… so whatever has become of that? Did that stand the test of time and 2) with folks in China, Japan and Mid East creating entire manmade island communities and otherwise pushing back the sea on some coastal areas is it to be understood that there is no ability to ‘artificially’ halt mother nature’s erosion there?

18. @Dee Word

The investigation has to do with the source of the water on the property.

19. @ Angela Cox,
    No sandy beaches; no tourism.

Don’t worry the man said the sand will return. LOL!

If you look at the topography of Barbados, it would not be an exaggeration to make a claim that Barbados will lose thirty percent of its territory within the next thirty years. The west coast is as flat as a pancake and vulnerable to be rising sea levels. The west coast should never have been developed. As for Mia’s boast that she would like to see a corridor of hotels built on the west coast with an influx of 80,0000 aliens. These are pipe dreams of a deranged thinker.

20. TLSNApril 23, 2022 10:35 AM As for Mia’s boast that she would like to see a corridor of hotels built on the west coast with an influx of 80,0000 aliens. These are pipe dreams of a deranged thinker
    Lol

Xxxxxx
    DavidApril 23, 2022 10:33 AM

@Dee Word

The investigation has to do with the source of the water on the property

Where would all that massive water come from have you taken a serious look at the video and the massive water that turn that area into a lake
    Seriously bro what are you drinking

21. And up from the ground came a bubbling stream….shit that is, raw sewage.

22. These people need an Engineer.

Residents in Coverley, Christ Church, on the section along Pilgrim Road, are planning to send out an SOS in the neighbourhood as a mysterious underground flow of water threatens to undermine some properties.
    At least four properties so far which were under construction at Boeing Avenue have been affected, with a section of one being submerged in water.
    A couple whose well has collapsed said they have had water around their land pumped off repeatedly but “in a matter of minutes” it fills up again.
    The land was once owned by the National Housing Corporation.”

23. FrankApril 23, 2022 11:34 AM

And up from the ground came a bubbling stream….shit that is, raw sewage.
    Xxx
    Bet Mother nature took.with it some of the shit pumped into.the sea right at the underdeveloped Hyatt site

24. More than likely sewage from the densely packed housing development.

I’ll look at contour maps in the area but seem to remember doing that exercise when they were making the entry to The Villages and they were just digging and digging to get to rock.

That area I seem to remember thinking was riddled in underground caves..

Probably raised it on here too..

Developer looks like he got greedy.

25. Reminders of Arch Cot in Brittons Hill
    Govt gives permission to build homes on top of caves
    Those homes should be condemn and govt reimburse the homeowners for all financial spent during the building and permit process
    Obviously that land was not properly surveyed and check.out for any weakness
    The Hyatt likewise might be in danger of being involved in system of goverance that can caused potential failure and damage to its project because of lack of due diligence
    Most of the time headless incompetent chickens are in charge of these projects

26. The cave in the photo is just above the airport in Gemswick/Penny Hole at about 160 feet above sea level around the Arch Cot Level.

Would not surprise me if that was how Penny Hole got its name.

… like Buzzard Hole up by Aunt Esther in St. Thomas.

My guess is the Airport is built on filled caves.

This cave occurred when sea level stopped falling (geologic time) for a while and rainwater which is slightly acidic (HCO3) making its way to the sea underground pooled on at sea level underground and ate away the calcium carbonate.

I’ve seen other examples at Mapps and Golden Grove and all around Barbados.

Indian Castle at Mile & a Quarter is a fantastic example.

Animal Flower cave is another example as is Spout Hole just to the west of North Point..

https://imgur.com/BzJhqtK

27. Arch cot is a story that deals with corruption at the highest levels
    Money being passed from hand to hand
    Lives gone and people in charge of issuing the permits to build on insecure landv are still in govt positions some might even be in Parliament
    Some thing of that sort happened to my family govt of Barbados would have hell to pay

28. It is a shame when the party you support was in office it didn’t bring anybody to justice seeing that you are certain there was corruption.

#ntsh

29. DavidApril 23, 2022 2:33 PM

It is a shame when the party you support was in office it didn’t bring anybody to justice seeing that you are certain there was corruption
    Xxx
    Doesn’t have to dig long far and wide to understand the roots of all this problem
    Obviously the occupants didn’t build the apt complex
    Then who gave the permits and the final authority to build
    If the exploration was done with due diligence the problems and weakness of the land would have been found out
    If so was done then the final decision lays in the hands of govt officials
    The decisions of weakness must have been overlooked replace by favours in order for the complex to be built
    Hard to understand a building place on soil that is evident having weakness for fatal failures when officials say a through investigation of the land was done
    The story in it selves show failures incompetence and shades of corruption

30. @🐇/🐰
    Hoping that you can give a more detailed explanation/description of this water issue.

On this matter, your expertise is valued.

31. Check this book.

GEOLOGY OF BARBADOS. A brief account of the island’s origin and its major geological features. Softcover – 1 January 1999
    by Hans G. Machel (Author)

32. The sad demise of Barbados infrastructure continues at high speed. Is there anyone surprised or concerned?

https://youtu.be/fE0_hLSoDDY?list=PLf0Sp7jJwZzuel11j_f7OceoqlpFIi6-n

33. Bridges in the Scotland Bridge are a perennial problem, the new thing is the quantity that have deteriorated.

Heavy traffic is an issue but the unstable land and rains determine whether any repairs will hold.

The sand pit is the foundation of the construction industry and there was never any control of heavy trucks into and out of St. Andrew.

When I used to ride a motor cycle around the island the bridge at Bawdens was knocked out and to get around it the route was past Belleplaine Plantation through Babylon and out to the junction with Walkers to River/Rock Hall road.

The Bridge at Springvale was also out of commission for ages until major works with gabion structures to deal with heavy water flow were put in.

The situation with bridges is as old as the hills.

Last year was a heavy rainfall year and it is looking like this year will see lots of rain, maybe God forbid, hurricanes too.

34. Just look at this google earth photo of the area and you will see where the sewage is being generated — The Villages.

It travels underground to the sea.

…. just like the sewage from the areas around the desal plant travels to the sea … underground.

Kind of like falling off a horse having to find the cause.

The solution is obvious!!

Isn’t it?

https://imgur.com/i8AMuzO

35. The development at Coverly, (lots of politicians involved) was there first and the GOB through the TCPO gave the developer permission to divide the agricultural lands into lots for sale to the public.

Certain requirements would be present and once the homeowner met those requirement he/she would receive a Certificate of Compliance.

Later on, the developer of “The Villages” was given permission to subdivide agricultural lands for sale to the general Public.

Certain requirements as to sewage, drainage etc. would have been made mandatory but once those requirements were met, a Certificate of Compliance would be issued.

At the time of the arrival of “The Villages”, the ABC highway determined the boundary between the Agricultural belt and the Urban Corridor.

Clearly it got special dispensation from Government …. more politicians involved.

It was as I understand it financed by a man from Florida now deceased who got himself in trouble with the IRS.

This looks to me like the development was undertaken with an Environmental Impact Assessment which was flawed or worse, did not exist.

The question is, who gets to fix the problem?

My first guess would be the GOB because it gave permissions to develop the agricultural lands into residential lots and the requirements it imposed, once they were met, leaves it exposed.

36. Let’s say the GOB decided to tap into the wastewater and sewage from the Villages at Coverly and treat/desal the water appearing in Boeing Avenue, like is being done at Spring Garden.

It could pay out the house owners and put down a desal plant.

However, if anyone in the Villages had COVID, the virus would appear in the water the new desal plant would be processing.

Since no water treatment plant removes all of the impurities present at its input, it follows that which ever district the water was supplied would see a rise in COVID cases because as we all have seen over time, COVID is also waterborne like almost 90% of contagious diseases.

I see Hepatitis is an issue worldwide, also in Barbados.

Did you know that some types are also waterborne?

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/06/30/the-a-b-and-c-of-hepatitishe-pa-ti-tis/

“Hepatitis A is a viral disease of the liver that is usually transmitted via the consumption of food and water which has been contaminated by the faeces of an HAV infected person. This disease is most common in countries where people lack access to safe clean drinking water and good sanitisation practices.

Hepatitis E (HEV)

This fifth type of viral hepatitis is most prevalent in South Asia and East Asia, even though cases of HEV can be found worldwide. Transmission is usually faecal-oral when water that has been contaminated by the faeces of an infected person is consumed.”

37. @John April 24, 2022 2:43 PM “The question is, who gets to fix the problem? My first guess would be the GOB.”

By the GOB do you mean we the over burdened taxpayers?

But why?

We did not/do not enjoy any of the profits from the “development.”

Can’t you get to get the dead Florida man to pay up? We know that he did not take any money to heaven with him where the streets are paved with gold and earthly money is completely unnecessary, so where on earth is the money?

Don’t you agree?

38. @Grenville Phillips “Normally repairs happen during the planting and growing seasons, to avoid any shut-downs for repairs during the crop reaping time. Evidently, something has gone terribly wrong.”

I won’t attempt to argue engineering with an engineer.

But I was born and raised in “the middle of a can piece” that is in a rural community with sugar cane plantations and small sugar cane farmers all around. My parents frew sugar cane un until the beginning of the 21st century, my dad worked in a sugar factory for decades [not as an engineer] and I can’t tell you the numbers of time the factory “brek” putting the other workers out of work for a week or more while the engineers fixed. I also can’t tell you the number of times their cut canes remained on the ground losing weight, losing sweetness, and losing value while the engineers attempted fixes. Especially at this time of year when it is so dry prolonged breaks at the factory could cause small farmers to lose their profits for the year.

It has been a perennial and costly problem

39. @Bush Tea “Imagine that there are NO ENGINEERS even employed in this industry.”

I wonder what would happen if the restaurant industry decided not to employ any chefs or cooks?

40. Cuhdear, you should really revert to your original pseudonym. It was much simpler, and much more appropriate.

With 270,000 other BBs of your ilk who rationalize matters with such simple mindedness, it is little wonder that Tom Dick and Harriette beat a path to Brassbados to make their fortune….

Some crook turns up with a highfaluting plot that clearly violates the Laws of Barbados (AS THEY APPLY TO LOCALS).
    Somehow, government (which ever shiite party is in power) finds a way to get into bed with the crook, while bull-shitting Simple Simons about how good the bovine stuff is for us all.
    Then when the shit hits the fan – with the crook gone on to greener pastures and the politicians quietly enjoying the spoils of the ‘deals’, we complain about who should ‘pay’ for our sheeplike ignorance.

How about an independent investigation by EXTERNAL authorities leading to prosecution of EVERYONE who have broken ANY law in the course of their official duties?
    How about an IN DEPTH exposé of the ANNUAL findings by the Auditor General – that leads to prosecution of EVERYONE who is in ANY way connected to violations of the Law?
    How about someone actually DOCUMENTING promises made by these political demons, and then continuously COMPARING results with the shiite promises that they keep comforting wunna BBs with?

Steupsss…
    Problem is that almost all of the lotta simple minded BBs are EXACTLY like the crooked politicians. Given the opportunity, they would do the SAME shiite, so we find it hard to condemn them. .. but not stinking Bushie…
    In addition, Bajans are much too focused on grabbing at a few of the scraps that fall off the political table from the ill-gotten pieces of silver, … to be honestly concerned about RIGHTEOUSNESS (doing the RIGHT things) and justice.

So our asses are destined to land EXACTLY where we deserve to be……

41. @William Skinner April 20, 2022 8:06 AM “After all we suddenly saw the COVID deaths jump by 43 just so.”

When Covid is done, and none of us know yet when that will be, there will be a massive worldwide jump in the numbers. Understand that not everybody in Barbados or the world reported their illness or the cause of their family deaths to the “authorities” although the fact of death was reported. Surely you know that very few people are traumatized when their 80 something or 90 something grandma or grandma dies. So the old man or the old lady dies, the doctors note the fact of death. Post mortems are rarely done in such circumstances. The assumption is that they died of that always fatal disease O-L-D. Grandma or grandpa is buried. End of. The only way to get the true numbers will be to compare deaths in 2018 and 2019 with deaths in 2020 and 2021 and 2022 and 202??? I heard a report recently that India is doing just that, and that the deaths may be 5 times the currently reported numbers. India has about 20% of the world’s population. Imagine the explosion in the number of Covid deaths when all of the reports are done. Covid is likely as bad as the 1918 ‘flu.

42. @Bush Tea “How about an independent investigation by EXTERNAL authorities leading to prosecution of EVERYONE who have broken ANY law? How about an IN DEPTH exposé of the ANNUAL findings by the Auditor General – that leads to prosecution of EVERYONE who is in ANY way connected to violations of the Law?”

I agree with this. Doesn’t everybody?

Do you think that I enjoy being overtaxed in order to enrich local or foreign crooks?

Stupsssee. No.

I’d much rather use the saved tax money to take my boyfriend for a skiing holiday in Switzerland.

43. @David April 20, 2022 11:32 AM “David Ellis was retired when he accepted the offer from government?”

Maybe so.

But it is not not clear to me Why he was hired or What he is doing for our tax dollars or When his contract will end?