Consequent upon the suspension and charging of two teachers for contesting the January 19, 2022 elections, there has been much comment about the matter, most of which was misinformed. I would therefore like to share the results of my research, in the hope that it would bring about some level of understanding in the public domain.

Those two teachers have been charged as having committed misconduct of a serious nature between January 3 and 19, 2022, when as public officers participated in the 2022 General Elections as Democratic Labour Party parliamentary candidates contrary to General Orders 3.18.1 and in contravention of paragraph 2 (h) of the Code of Discipline.

Even though made in 1970 the General Orders for the Public Service had no legislative basis until 2007 when subsections 33.(1), (2) & (3) of the Public Service Act corrected that long outstanding oversight. They state:

33. (1) The Minister may make administrative orders to give effect to any provisions of the Codes or any other provisions of this Act.

(2) Subject to subsection (3), the General Orders are from the 31st December, 2007 deemed to have been made under subsection (1) and shall remain in force until revoked by an instrument in writing by the Minister under this Act.

(3) Where any provision of the the General Orders is inconsistent or in conflict with a Code or any regulation made under this Act, the Code or regulation shall prevail and the General Order shall to the extent of the inconsistency, be invalid.

The General Orders are merely administrative rules made by the Minister with responsibility for the Public Service and because they have finally been incorporated into Public Service Act, public officers can now be legally charged for breaching those orders. Bear in mind that the General Orders are subsidiary legislation and must therefore conform to the parent legislation and that neither the subsidiary nor the parent legislation can conflict with the Constitution.

Prior to November 30, 1966 there was an absolute prohibition against all public officers and employees contesting elections for the House of Assembly. That changed at Independence when the Constitution (the supreme law of the land) removed that restriction on all but three categories of public servant. The 1966 Constitution at section 44 provided that no person shall be qualified to be elected as a member of the House of Assembly who holds or is acting in the office of a Judge, the Director of Public Prosecution or the Auditor-General. It is remarkable that even with the lifting of those restrictions by the Constitution, public officers and public service managers continue to be misguided by the former rules to this day.

In 1974 Government, mindful of section 44 of the Constitution, saw the need to restrict other public workers from contesting parliamentary elections and made an amendment to the Constitution to achieve such. That amendment was inserted as section 44. (2) which states, among other things:

Without prejudice to the provisions of subsection (1) (b), Parliament may provide that subject to such exceptions and limitations as Parliament may prescribe, a person shall not be qualified to be elected as a member of the House of Assembly if

(a) he holds or is acting in any office and or appointment prescribed by Parliament either individually or by reference to a class of office or appointment.

The original section 44 of the Constitution has been re-numbered section 44. (1).

Effective January 1, 1975, the date of the commencement of the 1974 Constitution (Amendment) Act, Parliament took the power onto itself to set out, by ordinary legislation, which other public servants could not participate in parliamentary elections. To date Parliament has not passed any such law. So as far as the Constitution of Barbados is concerned, there are only three holders of public office that cannot contest parliamentary elections, namely: Judge, Director of Public Prosecutions and Auditor-General.

The General Orders were first made in 1970 by the Rt. Excellent Errol Barrow and revised in 1997 by Prime Minister Owen Arthur. I think that we all can agree that neither Errol Barrow nor Owen Arthur was Parliament and therefore could not make any rules to override a provision of the Constitution. It is therefore my view that the teachers, who contested the elections, did nothing more than exercise their constitutional rights.

See Relevant Link inserted by Blogmaster: General Orders (Public Service)

98 responses to “Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Teachers Charged for Obeying the Law”

1. Chris Sinckler going to the World Bank ?

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I hinted at that recently, but the post was removed, although i did not call any names…

3. BT
    YOU ASK Are you saying that any jackass can be an effective leader?
    Q. IS THAT NOT WHAT IS ATTEMPTED HERE ON BU?

ONE OF THE THINGS I LEARNED EARLY IN LIFE IS THAT WE LIVE IN A WORLD OF DUMMIES AND THAT THE MEDIOCRE REIGNS AND TRIES TO REIN IN ALL WHOSE ABILITIES AND INTELLECT IS SUPERIOR TO THEIRS

ONE WAY TO COUNTER SUCH IS LOOK OVER YOUR GLASSES AND SMILE AS YOU MOCK AND IGNORE

4. RE William SkinnerApril 13, 2022 8:52 AM
    The rejection of the BLP is imminent as well. Quite frankly both parties are in a state of nothingness but they are being propped up by the same slave master but in another form . INDEED

they don’t know what’s coming at them. ITS THE ONE WORLD WIDE GOVERNMENT THAT HAS BEE SOUGHT BY SOME ELITES FOR YEARS NOW
    BUT THEY ARE NOT GOING TO LIKE WHO WILL BE IN CHARGE
    ITS GOING TO BE ANTICHRIST
    IT HAS BEEN IN PROCESS OF BEING SET UP VERY GRADUALLY AND SECRETLY AND SUBTILY BUT YUH CAN HIDE AND BUY LAND BUT YUH CAHN HIDE AND WUK UM

5. @Bush TeaApril 12, 2022 10:50 PM

“The aim of the election was to wipe out the rebel senator.”

Indeed. At least someone here can think clearly.

Long live our Supreme Leader. Let us joyfully walk the path to leader democracy!

6. Critical Analyzer Avatar

If the rebel senator had run for a seat, he would have won it and we would have an Opposition.

Imagine him on a campaign platform tearing holes in the government’s folly.

7. Critcal you clearly do not live here.There is a huge difference between grandstanding and winning a seat in Barbados.I cannot think of any constituency Mr Franklyn could have possibly won any seat for any of the third parties and i believe that knowing this he opted not to run.This is my view.I gone.

8. @LorenzoApril 13, 2022 7:02 PM

The rebel senator is a massive obstacle to investment by foreign financiers and is approximately as unpopular with our people as Putin is in Ukraine.

9. Mia lies are resurfacing in that the World Bank thinking about Sinckler is different to the lies MiA told about Sinckler during the 1o years the blp was in the wilderness
    No and Mia influence did not help Chris get the job which is another glorious lie being told by the blp foot soldiers
    Truth no matter how many times it is crushed to the ground rises from the ashes

10. Constitutionally, the elections were null void and of no effect.

The two of them participated in a sham like the other 112 or whatever.

All 112 should be locked up.

11. Lorenzo, if I were interested in contesting a seat in the House of Assembly, I would have accepted the offers to run for St. Thomas that I received from both BLP & DLP.

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL, u shifting de posts to better score ur goals @Bush Tea!

I am saying very CLEARLY that your argument that good and efrective leaders MUST be ‘headhunted’ and all that is wrong.

Asking if “any jackass can be an effective leader” is absurdly nonsensical.

Just as asserting that “effective leadership is a highly specialized and sought-after quality” is absurdly OBVIOUS.

What I know is that neither of those had anything much to do with what u posted earlier … so as I said if u now want to actually move the ‘goals’ to accommodate your earlier stuff that’s all good… as u clearly are not trying to be serious.

I was crystal clear this morning.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David re “You misrepresented the blogmaster.”

I think not senor. I did discuss you and @BushTea in one post and mixed you two together re arguments you both had separately made but I also identified ur argument and in what way I disagreed .

So I plead innocent to any misrepresentation.

14. Ugly People’s Boring Chat
    Information Age raised peoples consciousnesses worldwide but Bajan bloggers believe Barbados is behind
    It’s people will have to go against their nature to overthrow Government which will never happen conundrum

15. Dribbler
    What Bushie ACTUALLY said was that ..
    “EFFECTIVE Leaders are HEAD HUNTED, SPECIALLY prepared, Refined, Exposed and Tested…. BEFORE being handed the damn keys…
    What YOU said …that Bushie said… was …
    “that good and effective leaders MUST be ‘headhunted’
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    See if you can figure out the subtle difference. If you can’t, lets just call it a day….

For your guidance, “head hunting, leadership training, refinement and exposure” has been the tried and proven methodologies for identifying and preparing effective leaders. Perhaps YOU can outline YOUR alternative approach, since we agree that there are ALWAYS exceptions to such rules.
    Perhaps the lukewarm approach would be to run a popularity contest among known shiite-talkers and hope for the best…..
    Oh wait!!! that is what we do now…!!!

16. @ Caswell
    Boss
    Wuh you could as well come back to BU and tek some lashes (as is your wont).
    Yuh senate days are behind you so yuh could even lose the three-piece suit.

BTW
    What run in what St Thomas what??!
    The amount of people dat you cuss over the years, even Bushie would win a seat before you.
    Mind you…
    Your role is to cuss brass bowls and expose their hypocrisy – not to win any shiite seats… To do what? Make Bushie need to wash you in bad words now..?

17. Bushie, I refused both invitations

18. CASWELL SIR
    YOU DID AN ADMIRABLE JOB
    KEEP ON KEEPING ON SIR
    REMEMBER PHILIPPIANS 1:6 & 2 CHRONICLES 17:20

19. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Lorenzo @Tron

You seem to think candidates can only win a seat being totally partisan and such a slave to the party that they sleep in a blanket made from party colors. Maybe I live in another Barbados but in the Barbados I live, genuinely principled people will get support to win seats.

I have two better and much more important positions for Caswell. Head of Constitution Rewrite Panel followed by CEO of Obsolete Laws Ministry responsible for repealing or amending old laws to bring them inline with the new lean mean constitution created by the panel.

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hants
    “Allegedly about 25 young girls working in an establishment and having to clean toilets on a daily basis.”

A few weeks ago, I warned that employers will use this period to exploit cashiers and other workers, especially those in the retail industry by making them execute tasks that do not fall under their work description.
    I was referring specifically , to one of our major retailers ,( Bynoe of Emerald City) implying that cashiers will be asked to multiply task.
    The employers realise that with the major trade union being a bit off key these days, they can do as they like. They are following a trend in the USA of employing workers under the guise they would be doing one thing and then making them do three and four people work.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The company names of these creeps should be made public, exploitation and discrimination are crimes…that garner INTERNATIONAL ATTENTION…btw,…i had something to say about Bynoe some time back, only to learn later that it’s the WHOLE FAMILY that is notorious….they learned those tactics well from their masters….

22. @Critical AnalyzerApril 14, 2022 2:27 AM

The rebel senator scares off foreign investors and should therefore not hold any position at all, apart from the post of ambassador in Moscow.

On the question of loyalty, I disagree here. Loyalty to the Supreme Leader is rewarded by the people in elections because the people and our Supreme Leader are one. Anyone who deviates from the official party line has no integrity, but is disloyal.

23. Lorenzo, if I were interested in contesting a seat in the House of Assembly, I would have accepted the offers to run for St. Thomas that I received from both BLP & DLP.

Xxxxxxxxxxxxx

IT SHOWS HOW STUPID OVER 90 PERCENT OF THE VOTERS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND ARE.

THEY WILL CONTINUE TO BE USED AS INSIGNIFICANT PAWNS FOR THEIR VOTES WHILST CATCHING HELL DAY TO DAY AND THEN CRYING ABOUT IT.

24. Mr Franklyn i was speaking about now in your psrty under Bishop Atherley in response to Critical.Your point about winning in St Thomas under the bees or dees might very well be true.Therefore it is obvious that you have to be with the bees or dees to have a chance of winning a seat at the moment.As for Baje the only braindead jackass is you.Bajans are generally politically sstute and know who they want to lead them without input from you .I gone.

25. .As for Baje the only braindead jackass is you.Bajans are generally politically sstute and know who they want to lead them without input from you .I gone.

Xxxxxxxxx

DON’T WORRY ABOUT ME FAR FROM THE ACTION ON THE 2 X3 ISLAND.

YOUR BLP WHO REFUSED TO HELP THE STRIKING NURSES MADE A BLATANT ATTEMPT TO BRIBE CASWELL WITH A PICK IN ST THOMAS.

WHAT DOES IT SAY ABOUT YOUR PARTY WHO CONTINUE TO TREAT THE MASSES AS FOOLS.

HAPPY NEVER VOTED AND NO PARTY TO ANYONE POLITICAL TRICKERY.

26. @ BAJE April 14, 2022 5:23 PM

Who cares about the chatter from before the election??? The fact is that our Supreme Leader won the election without the rebel senator and can now dispose of him on the rubbish heap.

As for the work-shy nurses, they have already been replaced by hard-working, righteous African nurses. I therefore strongly support our Supreme Leader’s programme to replace 80000 work-shy locals with foreigners.

You should have no illusions. People, leader and party are one.

27. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Tron April 14, 2022 6:23 PM

Keep the nurses names out your mouth. You would never keep going to work if you were not paid for months and had to beg people for money like a dog to pay rent, bills, bus fare and food every day.

What do you have to say to the nurses that never went on strike but still were not being paid?

Why did your Supreme Leader who pick up she foot and run fast to the Belle Pumping Station with the press in a purely PR move not do the same at the hospital to support the nurses too? Your Supreme Leader does not care.

Let me hear you Tron.

28. @Critical AnalyzerApril 15, 2022 8:40 AM

The difference is quite simple: pumping stations are not organised in unions on our island, but nurses are.

Therefore, our Supreme Leader had very good reasons to take care of the pumping stations first.

29. @CA

Hear, hear.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Nice photo Pat.

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

This EXPLAINS so much…lol

“A high court judge is quoted in today’s Nation , while sentencing an accused man who beat up another man with a club that was dealing with his woman. Justice Carlise Greaves told the man “If every man in Barbados was beaten for dealing with another man’s woman, a lot of men would be walking around limping.”

32. Apply discipline fairly
    Recently this newspaper reported that Pedro Shepherd and Alwyn Babb were charged and suspended for allegedly breaching certain sections of the Code of Conduct and Ethics of the Public Service Act by running as candidates in the January General Election.
    Section 9(2) of the Code of Conduct and Ethics found in the Second Schedule of the Public Service Act (the “Code of Conduct”) states: “Officers shall comply with restrictions on their political activities in accordance with this Act or Regulations.”
    Pursuant to Regulation 3.18.1 of the General Orders of the Public Service, officers and employees are forbidden from participating actively in politics, including: “(a) being adopted as a parliamentary candidate; (b) canvassing on behalf of any party or candidate for election to the House of Assembly .
    . . . (e) speaking at political meetings.”
    However, an exception is made in Regulation 3.18.2 which allows casual employees to participate in politics once they comply with certain conditions. Section 24 (e) of the Code of Conduct also prohibits civil servants from giving broadcasts on subjects “that may properly be regarded as of a political nature”, unless they obtain the prior permission of the minister concerned.
    General prohibition
    On the one hand, there is a general prohibition preventing all public service employees (except casual employees) from engaging in any kind of active politics. On the other hand, public servants may participate in political broadcasts or discussions if they obtain the prior permission of the minister concerned. Should it be implied (based on Section 24 (e)) that the prior permission of the minister can also be obtained to engage in the other forms of political activity mentioned in Regulation 3.18.1 of the General Orders?
    And since an exception is made for casual employees to participate in politics, is this a discriminatory provision, as was recently proposed by Dennis De Peiza, general secretary of the Congress of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados, while appearing on a recent Nation Facebook live with Colville Mounsey to discuss the issue. Does the provision breach the employee’s fundamental right of freedom of association provided by the Constitution, as was also suggested on the broadcast?
    My primary concern is the fairness of the charges against these two individuals.
    This newspaper reported that they were charged
    with misconduct of a serious nature which, pursuant to Section 2 of the Code of Discipline, means conduct that warrants dismissal.
    Result in dismissal
    However, Section 26 (b) of the Code prescribes which breaches of the Public Service Act constitute misconduct of a serious nature. The breach of Section 9 (participating in political activities) is not mentioned. How could these employees have reasonably known that the offence could result in their dismissal, and would it be fair to dismiss them in these circumstances when sufficient case law exist that suggests otherwise?
    Were the charges subsumed under the very general wording of Section 2 (h) of the Code of Discipline which deems any breach of the Public Service laws, rules or regulations serious misconduct? Furthermore, Section 2(h) appears to run contrary to Section 1(b) of the Code of Discipline, which requires each case to be decided on its own merits and circumstances, so that a charge under Section 2(h) cannot automatically be held to be serious or to warrant dismissal.
    Additionally, the recent decision of the High Court in the case of Wilbert Lynch et al vs the Attorney General et al established that public servants cannot be automatically dismissed for committing misconduct of a serious nature. Rather, the elements of natural justice must be applied to each case, including giving the employees the opportunity to be heard before any decision is made.
    Finally, it has been suggested that other civil servants participated in the recent elections by canvassing on behalf of candidates, yet they have not been charged. If this is accurate, then there is glaring inequity in how disciplinary measures were applied against only Mr Babb and Mr Shepherd, which in my mind makes the charges inherently unfair.
    Interestingly, if either of them was employed prior to December 2007, they may fall outside the application of the Code of Conduct.

Michelle M. Russell is an attorney with a passion for employment law and labour matters, and also a social activist. Email mrussell. ja@gmail.com.

33. Why punish the two teachers?

I READ WITH GREAT disdain that two of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) candidates in the January General Election will be facing disciplinary charges.
    To add insult to injury, the powers that be are sending them on six months’ leave with only half of their salary.
    First it was nurses opposing the current regime’s handling of their plight that got their pay docked, now it’s teachers who hold opposing political views and seeking to represent their country at the national level.
    People are fooling themselves that we are not in an oppressive or dictatorial time. Whenever the word dictatorial is used people think of the era of Hitler, Stalin, et al, but there are varying degrees of dictatorship. There are varying degrees of oppression. Things can be done overtly or covertly. Mind games or the silencing of critics are also tools of oppression.
    Democracy is not alive and well in Barbados. In Bim, “who the cat likes he licks, who he dislikes he kicks”.
    As reported by your newspaper, the charges against the two goodly teachers, Alwyn Babb, who ran in St Peter, and former Barbados Union of Teachers president Pedro Shepherd, who ran in St Michael South East, are apparently rooted in General Order 3.18.1 for the Public Service 1970, which states that officers and employees are expressly forbidden to participate actively in politics, including the following: a. Being adopted as a parliamentary candidate; b. Canvassing on behalf of any party or candidate for election to the House of Assembly; c. Acting as agents or subagents for any candidate for election; d. Holding office in party political organisations; and e. Speaking at political meetings.
    A few silly questions I have to ask: Were there no public servants speaking on the platform of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP)? Were there no public servants canvassing for the BLP? Were there no public officers whose voices were used in ads or on the platform? Were there no public servants who were not on their respective jobs but working day in and day out for the BLP? The public needs answers.
    There is a video clip making the rounds that shows a woman speaking on the BLP platform during the January General Election comparing the two political parties to homes. She reportedly worked in the Public Service then and continues to do so now. Is it that one can be a public servant and take part in a General Election but one must belong to the party that wins to avoid sanction?
    As cantankerous and distasteful as the woman sounds, that is not the argument. Are charges being laid against her? Are charges being laid against the many public servants who did the BLP’s bidding publicly? I understand there is one school teacher who was an election agent for a current Government minister. Is she immune to the rules?
    I will be the first to admit that the law which prohibits a large portion of the population – public workers – from being involved in General Elections is archaic and must be revisited. But what is good for the goose must be good for the gander. This constant show of two Barbadoses is disturbing and no administration has perpetuated this more than the current lot.
    Both Babb and Shepherd lost, and by thousands of votes. Their party has no seat in or out of Parliament. Neither pose a political threat to anyone. But someone somewhere believes that they must be punished while others go unpunished.

– RODERICK P. HARRIS

34. ” Chairman of HOPE Barbados Tony Hoyos, during his address, says the HOPE team is now expanding to townhouses.

“There are a number of people here who have qualified for loans and we’ve invited them to come and have a sneak peek. From here on out every Saturday we will have show units open to the public. This is about 155 houses we want to build here although we are actually in the design phase now of bringing in some townhouses because those will allow us to increase the density of the area and also allow us to expand the offering,” he said.

35. Now how many bajans living on next to.nothing salaries can qualify for those homes starting at 300hundred thousand and up
    As usual govt does a good PR job until the poor soul shows up at the bank to have their HOPE dashed away
    The some and mirror shows are over
    Time fuh govt to plant something new

36. You are so quick to criticize. The project highlighted is targeting teachers, policemen, nurses and public workers in a salary range. You didn’t listen to the clip did you.

37. Not criticisng explaining the realities in the business world
    Getting a mortgage is not easy especially after COVID
    Out of two thousand nine hundred applicants the number given that qualified is twenty nine
    There are additional out of pocket cost related to qualification
    Teachers wages are not that great anyhow two thousand doesn’t go far when all the other household cost are attached
    A recent report that household debt is exceptionally high

38. @ David
    Have you seen any analysis that verifies the practicality of this HOPE project? … beyond the flowery political rhetoric to which we have become accustomed.
    It certainly must have been done BEFORE committing such significant resources of time, money and hope into such a project.
    Have you any idea why such analyses would NOT be in the public domain?
    Bushie is particularly interested in the financing of the scheme. Based on previous mouthing at the highest levels, and on the general failure to perform then, it is AMAZING that we (well you…) can be so trusting and optimistic…
    But hey … that is your strength.

39. I remember Kerrie Symonds being openly vocal about govt cost in building housing projects
    One now must remember that any thing related to numbers coming from this govt on projects would be hushed
    Govt is now a govt unto itself as Mia said should be the case
    The media yesterday relied on govt to present glowing pictures and not one asked how much it cost to build the houses
    The next four years would pictures and smiles

40. @Bush Tea

Have not seen the business plan except what is publicly available. The plan to use RE to offset cost so that middle income can afford.

41. “The plan to use RE to offset cost so that middle income can afford.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    That is NOT a plan David. That is an idea…. mostly emotional, instinctive, wishful thinking …driven by good intent.
    You know of course how the road to Hell is paved…

It would need coherent analysis and to be put in sensible framework to become a PLAN.

After becoming a plan, there is the matter of proper implementation….. which is of course our Achilles Heel.

42. Conspiracy theory alert..
    The dots are there but I cannot connect them. Can you? It seems to me there is a limited cast of characters for business stories.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/25/reslifes-resolution/

43. Mia continues to fill up the people heads with nuff bull
    Today stating that rent would become a thing of the past while advocating people necessitate to become home owners
    When rubber hits road owning a home is not easy
    Also maintaining a home is not easy especially when income levels are dangerously low and other household commitments are involved
    Mia continues to roll out smoke and mirrors political rhetoric
    Enough evidence is there that shows foreclosures are on the rise
    The kind of HOPE which she advocates is dangerous and misleading
    Facts first

44. Poor you.

45. DavidApril 24, 2022 9:16 AM

Poor you.

Xxcccc
    Poor or rich
    Truth must be told
    Let that sink in

46. No further action taken in case against teachers who ran in elections

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/Alywn-and-Pedro-730×456.png

Article by Anesta Henry
    Published on
    May 17, 2022

Just over a month after two teachers were sent on leave for contesting the January 19 general elections, they say they are still awaiting word from the Ministry of Public Service on what will happen next, and when.

Teachers Alwyn Babb and Pedro Shepherd, who are away from work on half pay for six months, both responded to the charges laid against them on April 4, within 14 days of receipt of the correspondence as required.

Babb, who ran on a Democratic Labour Party (DLP) ticket in St Peter, and Shepherd, who flew the DLP flag in the St Michael South East constituency, face disciplinary charges arising out of their participation in the polls as public servants.

Caswell Franklyn, General Secretary of the Unity Workers Union (UWU) who is representing Babb, told Barbados TODAY he received acknowledgment of his written response from the Ministry of Public Service.

He said in that response, he outlined that Babb did nothing wrong by contesting the polls and requested that his client’s full salary be reinstated.

Shepherd said while it has been weeks since he responded to the charges, he only received correspondence from the Ministry acknowledging receipt.

“I thought that once we responded in 14 days as the letter said, they would then convene a meeting with the three-man committee as set up by the President [Dame Sandra Mason] to hear whatever it is. I believe that the Ministry of Public Service will just sit on this matter for the six months or even longer,” he said.

“Maybe after the six months they decide that they may terminate. I don’t know what is the plan. I am just eagerly awaiting the convening of that meeting so that I can hear what their plan is. I know what my plan is. My plan is to return to work either at the end of the six months or before.”

Meanwhile, Franklyn said he has an attorney-at-law on standby to challenge the actions being taken against Babb, charging that the educators were being punished although they had not been found guilty of anything.

“I would expect that Mr Babb and Shepherd would have their salaries reinstated post-haste. People have been [barely] surviving on full salaries and it is not easy to survive on half. This nonsense about putting people on half pay while the investigations are going on is really a punishment. I don’t care what they say, it is a punishment and you are inflicting punishment on people before you find them guilty,” the trade unionist contended.

“You put a man at risk of not paying his mortgage or paying his car loan or whatever during his period. And if you find that he is not guilty, you would have just damaged that man’s credit, you would have just caused problems for him and he would have effectively been punished, and this nonsense has to stop,” Franklyn told Barbados TODAY.

Babb and Shepherd face several charges including committing misconduct of a serious nature between January 3 and January 19, when they participated in the 2022 General Election, contrary to General Order 3.18.1 of the General Orders for the Public Service 1970 and in contravention of Paragraph 2 (h) of the Code of Discipline in the Public Service, Third Schedule, Public Service Act, Cap. 29; and being absent from the performance of his duties as a teacher without leave or approval.

However, the UWU boss remained adamant that the two teachers have been wrongfully accused, insisting that the Constitution states that the only public officers prohibited from taking part in elective politics are judges, the Director of Public Prosecutions, and the Auditor General.

“What is being done to them is contrary to law,” Franklyn said. “The unfortunate thing is that the people who administer the public service don’t read the rules because this rule existed since November 30, 1966 and they continue enforcing rules that went out of force prior to Independence in 1966.

“Civil servants not running existed up until Independence. The Constitution made provisions that said that only [certain] people can’t contest a general election,” he insisted.
    anestahenry@barbadostoday.bb

47. Back to school
    Shepherd returns to class, but Babb still in limbo

by BARRY ALLEYNE barryalleyne@nationnews.com

ONE TEACHER is happy to be back at work.
    The other, he’s still at home and in limbo.
    It’s been two very different tales for Pedro Shepherd and Alwyn Babb.
    After being away for six months from the job, he’s been doing for more than 34 years, Shepherd said he is glad to be back in the classroom again. The former president of the Barbados Union of Teachers re-entered Wilkie Cumberbatch Primary School in The Pine, St Michael, when the Trinity term started last Monday.
    Shepherd had been placed on halfpay last year, after participating as a candidate in the January 19, 2022 General Election on a Democratic Labour Party (DLP) ticket. He and fellow teacher Babb, also a losing DLP candidate in that poll, were both interdicted.
    All smiles
    Shepherd was charged with breaching General Orders 3.18.1 and Paragraph 2 (H) of the Public Service’s Code of Discipline. He ran in St Michael South East and Babb in St Peter.
    Shepherd was all smiles entering the school gates yesterday.
    “I’m here. It’s good to be back in the environment with the children, doing what I only know how to do. This has been my thing all my life. This is my 35th year, 34th spent here (at Wilkie Cumberbatch) so I’m back home and just glad to be here,” he told the MIDWEEK NATION.
    “I have not yet received the six months half-pay, but I suspect that is a work in progress. I’m assuming the case is over, but I can’t definitely say it’s over. The letter I received was from the President of Barbados (The Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason) saying that I should be reinstated. But I’m expecting correspondence from the Ministry of Education giving me a definite position, to say that I will be reinstated and will receive my half pay.
    “I’m on the job but still unsure about where I am,
    as to my employer. No one from the Ministry of Education has spoken to me as yet.”
    Shepherd said his students were happy he was back on the compound daily.
    “They would have been seeing me in and out once or twice doing stuff at the school. Those in Reception I’m new to, but the others I would have taught before. I’m getting familiar with the school again, with the students and one or two teachers I would have to familiarise myself with. The feeling is good,” he said.
    However, when contacted yesterday, Babb, a physical education teacher at The Lester Vaughan School, said he had heard nothing from the Ministry of Education relating to when he could resume duties.
    “I am still waiting on official notification, like Pedro, on my return to school,” he said. “I am talking to lawyers and they will inform me what steps are to be taken.”
    He has been off the job for more than a year after being interdicted on April 6, 2022, and found guilty at a hearing in October. His time was extended to last December 21.
    Letter sent
    A letter was sent to the Ministry of Education on March 8 requesting information on the status of both teachers.
    “The ministry is aware of the decision of the then Justice Westmin James in relation to Natalie Murray versus the Attorney General. Kindly note that your clients will receive further correspondence in light of the said decision as soon as is practicable,” was the response Babb received on March 23.
    Shepherd had previously claimed that the charges against him were for speaking at a political meeting at Haggatt Hall, St Michael, and for being absent from Wilkie Cumberbatch on January 12 and 13 without reasonable excuse.
    However, the High Court judge ruled on February 29 that the General Order 3.18:1 banning all public officers from actively participating in politics was unconstitutional.
    Justice James also ordered that all disciplinary proceedings against the public officers who spoke on any political platforms during the 2022 General
    Election should be permanently stayed.
    Shepherd revealed yesterday that a week before the Easter vacation ended, he was called in by Ministry of Education officials, and collected correspondence which stated that he should be reinstated and refunded his six months’ half-pay.

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply