Submitted by Heather Cole

Back to the Budget of a few weeks ago. Many may have missed it, many would have wondered why they were included in a Budget Speech and many are still wondering what is the real story behind black belly sheep making up a budget speech delivery when truth be told they had nothing to do with government revenue or expenditure.

Fenty is Rihanna’s brand and black belly sheep is one of the components of the Barbados brand. Rihanna would never consider devaluing the Fenty brand so everyone should be quite concerned and question why the Government of Barbados wants to devalue the black belly sheep brand.

In a part of her speech, the Prime Minister mentioned quite a few things in relation to black belly sheep that leads to the devaluation of the brand.

1. She stated that the sheep were to be raised in Guyana and then shipped to Barbados for slaughter. This may not be a good idea as there is no evidence provided that black belly sheep can thrive under the conditions that exist in Guyana.
  2. She mentioned that the black belly sheep will be cross bred with another type of sheep in Guyana. This means that there is some knowledge that the black belly sheep cannot thrive in Guyana. If they could indeed thrive, there would be no need to cross breed to create a hybrid.
  3. One can only presume that this cross breed would be more suited to the environment in Guyana. A cross between a horse and a donkey creates a mule. What will the cross bred be? The soil and vegetation are not the same so therefore, the meat and fat content will not be the same and the quality of the hide will not be the same.
  4. She also mentioned the sale of two types of meat. One of the pure black belly sheep and the other of the cross breed. The pure black belly will be for export and the diluted cross breed for local consumption. Will they be packaged accordingly? How will a consumer know that they are consuming the diluted version and not the authentic brand? Will the taste and texture of the meat be the same?
  5. Have 400 years of slavery damaged us so psychologically that it is still acceptable to be offered food that is less than the best or can we still be forced to eat what the ruling class would never eat?
  6. She mentioned that there would be a price differential. How will Barbadians feel knowing that they may not be able to afford an authentic brand that was created right in their own backyard centuries ago? How will they feel knowing that they are forced to settle for a substitute? Is the meat of the authentic black belly sheep which will be exported for a premium price be too good for Barbadians to consume?
  7. It was not stated that government of itself would be farming the black belly sheep so why was it so quick to come up with the price differentials between the meat of the authentic brand and the diluted product, given that the production cost will be the same?

Two burning questions that remain, are which of the local farmers can afford to start a sheep farm in Guyana and if this venture is only for the select few. One will only know both literally and figuratively if the project gets off the ground and the meat comes to market.

A brand is a unique identity. The government of Barbados should get some help from Rihanna on how to market this authentic brand. Rihanna would never collaborate with anyone to dilute her brand and sell her merchandise at a cheaper price. If that were the case, she would not be a billionaire today. So why is the Government of Barbados destroying the identity of the black belly sheep to promote a cross bred hybrid? Who will be enriched through this venture?

I am all for the creation of an enhanced product but not for a dilution and devaluation of the black belly sheep brand of Barbados. Governments action to alter the breed of the sheep does not offer increased value since it has stated that the cross breed will be sold at a cheaper price.

Livestock rearing is not new to Barbados. Some of the land that will no longer be used to produce sugar cane can be used to rear sheep. Incentives can be offered to small farmers and all of Barbados to raise and produce this product for local consumption and for export while maintaining the authenticity of the brand. Government can also ensure that the real black belly sheep meat is available to all Barbadians by fixing its price per pound on the domestic market.

311 responses to “Would Rihanna Devalue the Fenty Brand?”

1. Bajan will be fools for selling anything outside of Barbados, the government will force them-SELF into the business and the farmers will only make on what they would sell to Guyana “ONLY”and will be out of business back at home. They want you to believe that the Sheep Will Have More Sex in Guyana than in Barbados? Must be in the water ? That will be their first and last sale, The sheep will come under cut the Bajan Farmers, once out of business the TAX, VAT, Duties, Fuel prices will drive up the prices and the farmer will have to sell their land to the Homebuilders for the white running from WHITE WAR 4, White WAR was from 1945-2022 running down and killing off all Black around the World, WAR this and that funded by the USA and other white Nations on Indigenous People around the World : Let the Business stay in Barbados support it and export to who wants the sheep parts! Another crooks ass deal made by greedy Minister and lawyers they better get a lawyer from Guynan to guide them , Bajan lawyers is very dirty packed with great and loopholes to keep them busy in courts!

2. @ John @Hants,

If the Government of Barbados has so much land available and is or was engaged in the breeding and rearing of sheep why not expand the operation in Barbados? Based on what the President of Guyana stated he is building out Agriculture in Guyana not Barbados.

3. There is also an initiative to increase the black belly population in Barbados

4. @Bush Tea

Did you read the link posted to the earlier blog re: The St. Barnabas Accord? There are initiatives on the move, we have to hope they serve to spur local activity.

5. DAVID@Heather

What you are suggesting would be not only unethical but contravene various trade laws.

@ David how would one know? Not long ago there was an attempt to purchase vaccines off the black market.

6. @Heather

Your question was asked and answered. We have to see one initiative as mutually exclusive. In theory.

7. @Heather

You question is rhetorical?

8. The point Heather, the blogmaster is not prepared to associate with comments that infer two countries which include Barbados will knowingly conspire to deceive health inspectors and the public. This is not who we are.

9. @ Heather Cole.
    Local meat in general ,chicken,pork ,lamb have all become expensive. Barbadians prefer local fresh meat, So NO. The BBS has not been devalued . It has been revalued over the past 15 years. AND it is still worth the price. For the most part it is grass fed and organic.

@ Vincent BBS has not been devalued. When the hybrid is created and sold as bbs it will be. Do we know what the hybrid will be called?

10. @ Bushy, you are absolutely correct in your 12:19 pm post. The resurgence of Agriculture and its build out must start in Barbados first. When we have cornered the market then we can form partnerships to expand.

11. @ David if a boat load of BBS and hbbs arrive on the island where does the separation begin? Only the butchers will know what they killed but after that no one can be sure.

12. @Heather

The blogmaster’s position is clear, the respective countries should have systems in place to inspect and verify. It is not for the blogmaster to share chapter and verse how the process is implemented and monitored.

13. DavidApril 10, 2022 9:31 AM

Is there a project conceived by a BLP government you have supported?

The journey from the bottom read junk status will be long and arduous.

Xccxx Are thes projects bought and owned by blp or dlp govt
    Isn’t it the right of those invested those being the taxpayers have a differing point of opinion
    Sometime your partisan slip hangs so low almost about ready to break yuh neck

14. Your answer is no.

15. As enuff correctly stated above, there are several projects on the go, the BBS is one of them.

16. BTea
    You have me confused. Isn’t Guyana being used simply because of its land and water resources? When Wholefoods in Amurka, Waitrose in the UK and Loblaws in Canada want the big order we 5 sheep can supply the orders? What about when Bloomingdales or Selfridges ask Patsy down in Pelican Village for 100 black belly sheep leather belts? Or like WS you feel we should eat all at home and buy Patsy belts, then can’t buy meds? Countries are doing this with hydropower and simple animal husbandry we here complicating. Tek de wheel Jesus!

17. @ Heather,
    We’ve not heard from you in sometime. You remain as sharp as ever.

Whilst reading through your post, I fell back on one of my favourite acronyms: KISS – Keep it simple stupid. Why has this government gone out of its way to create an opaque ” Black Belly” Industry which simply does not add up. If we really care for our livestock industry and developing a domestic industry which supports employment and learning opportunities for the masses, than how is this achievable if Barbados is willing to export en-masse this industry to Guyana?

Why would any respectable company dilute its own brand? The only valid reason for this government to go down this route can be for one reason and one reason only: corruption dear girl – corruption!

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Heatfer at 1 :pm

It certainly will not be a BBS. The environment determines what the BBS is, Its feed stuff and its lineage.. That is why we claim it. It evolved from the Barbados experience. Just like the black pig with very little fat.

19. @ Enuff as Vincent said, it is the environment and lineage that determines we black belly sheep. What will be reared in Guyana will no longer be BBBS. It is will hgbs( hybrid Guyana Barbados sheep).

20. I commented on the Barbados/Guyana accord re Black Belly sheep when it was first announced but the issue didn’t attract much traction at the time. My issue is not the agreement but what happens when Guyana decides to develop its own program for the commercialisation of Black belly sheep products.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, your comment re “The blogmaster’s position is clear, the respective countries should have systems in place to inspect and verify. It is not for the blogmaster to share chapter and verse how the process is implemented and monitored” begs the question of what EXACTLY is to be inspected and verified!!!

Like many here I too raised a few black belly sheep and I mention that only to add that I truly can’t say I developed a taste awareness of the mutton from the Black Belly sheep and that from the ever present imported NZ lamb. So I am asking the experts here to give some clarification on if there is a marked culinary differentiation between the different type of mutton (or lamb, for that matter)!

If @Enuff’s position is valid then there are big plans to excite more people to this succulent BB meat but as the author is asking how does that work if the plan is to explore this cross-breeding. Is the intent to increase meat yield per sheep; create hardy types for better leather or what???

I understand well the issue of branding and how an ‘organic’ BB product could be segmented and marketed to maximum effect but one aspect of the discussion here appears to be concerns of the BB brand being diluted with this so called ‘hybrid’ sheep and in the absence of any info on the current Black Belly sheep branding consumer penetration it’s really impossible to understand exactly what can or will be lost with the cross breeding.

Can you or the author offer some clarity!

22. @Sargeant

How is Barbados able to prevent it at this moment?

23. @TheOGazerts April 10, 2022 9:04 AM ” Reminds of a Christian girl claiming secondary virginity in her new no sex before marriage relationship.”

There is a Bajan saying “the stricter the master, the wilder the beast”

And not only Christian females, but females of every faith and of no faith at all. hate to disillusion the boys of BU, but secondary virginity is not at all uncommon. In societies where men, even middle aged and old men demand virginal wives, as sure as the sun will rise tomorrow an entrepreneurial class arises there or abroad to ensure a supply of virginal wives. Re-virgination, creating a new hymen is a fairly simple surgical procedure, and what the prospective husband desires he gets in his re-virginated wife. Since he can’t tell the difference, does it make a difference? Heather is wondering if the consumer will know the difference between genuine black belly sheep meat and a hybrid black belly sheep meat. The answer is the same. If the consumer [whether of sheep meat or female virginity] can’t tell the difference, does it matter?

Some OB/GYN’s get rich by supplying recycled virgins.

Some sheep farmers will also get rich unless we have the capacity to DNA test every piece of meat which hits the market. Does any country anywhere have that capacity?

We humans are very, very creative.

I read somewhere that human beings by age 2 have already learned to engage in deceptive behavior. “Did you take the cookie?” “No mummy” yet cookie crumbs are all over the face.

Deceptiveness is in our DNA.

In the DNA of every single human being on this planet. We all have the capacity and the ingenuity to deceive.

Raise yah hand if you have never attempted to deceive.

24. https://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2013/02/21/172589997/one-in-three-fish-sold-at-restaurants-and-grocery-stores-is-mislabeled
    One In Three Fish Sold At Restaurants And Grocery Stores Is Mislabeled
    “Between 2010 and 2012, Oceana took 1,215 seafood samples from 674 retail outlets in 21 states. When they tested the DNA, they found that 33 percent were mislabeled”

This article is fairly old. Maybe we human beings have improved in the last 10 years, or maybe we have not.

25. @ John April 10, 2022 10:24 AM “we should also consider milk. In this day and age with all the race talk it may be necessary to change the colour of milk as people have stopped drinking it and it maybe because it comes white.”

Cha John. You need to get out some more. You mean to tell me that you have never had a red Ju-C and milk mixed? Pink, like a new born “white” baby. On the market right now at any supermarket or corner store, white milk, chocolate colored milk, peach colored milk. I don’t know why our dairy doesn’t put out blue milk and yellow milk for Independence; and red milk and green milk for Christmas.

You read it here first.

26. FEAR NOT.

THE 2 x 3 ISLAND IS NOT THE ONLY IDIOTS IN THE CARIBBEAN.

DURING THE MIDDLE OF THE EXISTING PANDEMIC I OPENED 2 BUSINESSES IN A CARIBBEAN ISLAND WITH LARGEST POPULATION IN THE ENGLISH SPEAKING CARIBBEAN AND A SHORT FLIGHT TO MIAMI.

IMAGINE I WENT TO ONE OF THEIR LOCAL SUPERMARKETS TODAY AND THEIR LOCAL GOAT MEAT WAS 30% MORE THAN THE IMPORTED.

WONDER WHICH ONE SELLS THE FASTER.

EITHER THE FARMER IS A FOOL OR THE SUPERMARKET FOR EXTORTION.

I BOUGHT THE FOREIGN GOAT MEAT.

SAME SHIT HAPPENING REGIONALLY.

27. @Vincent Codrington April 10, 2022 2:07 PM “It certainly will not be a BBS. The environment determines what the BBS is”

I have been wondering. if apart from the DNA whether the flavor of the black belly sheep meat is not also determined by what the sheep eats. Once farming has become commercial won’t the farmers have to corrall the sheep? And won’t that affect the diversity of what the sheep eats, and therefore the flavor of the meat?

People who love food [even more than we love money] know that flavor is crucial. For example my littlest susie has been able to tell from about age 7 or so whether the cakes I sometime make are made from yard fowl/free range eggs or from eggs laid by hens which are corralled. The flavor of the free range eggs is deeper, more intense, richer. I prefer to use yard fowl eggs when baking for special occasions.

My father who worked in a sugar factory was able to tell from the taste, the aroma and the texture at which factory a batch of sugar had been made. I never learned how to do it. And indeed most people can’t. For me sugar was sugar.

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The fake scholars seem not to be wrapped too tight, regardless of the color of the milk, many people cannot drink it..

no one is going to buy meat at exorbitant prices just because it’s local or regionally grown, just like sugar no one needs meat to survive, folks have survived without it and lived long long lives….

29. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4564506/
    Surgical revirgination: Four vaginal mucosal flaps for reconstruction of a hymen by
    Hemant A. Saraiya

30. And they lived happily ever after.

THE END

31. re just like sugar no one needs meat to survive, folks have survived without it and lived long long lives….

BARE BULL SHIT!
    THE METABOLISM OF ALL LIVING ORGANISMS HOWEVER, SMALL, WHETHER PLANT OR ANIMAL DEPENDS ON AND REVOLVES AROUND THE GLUCOSE MOLECULE
    AND THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CANNOT BE REFUTED

RE My father who worked in a sugar factory was able to tell from the taste, the aroma and the texture at which factory a batch of sugar had been made.
    THIS IS PROBABABLY, BECAUSE AS I LEARNED FROM THE LATE COLIN HUDSON ON THE WALKS, MANY SUGAR FACTORIES IN YOUR FATHERS DAY MADE THEIR “SUGAR” FOR SPECIFIC MARKETS. ONE FACTOR SENT ITS PRODUCT TO THE UK TO GO ON BISCUITS, ANOTHER DID NOT EVEN MAKE SUGAR, BUT ALL THEIR CRACK LICQUOR TO CANADA TO GO ON PANCAKES.
    IT IS QUITE POSSIBLE THAT A DIFFERENT PAN BOILER MAY HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN DIFFERENT BATCHES
    YOUR FATHER OBVIOUSLY HAD A MOST DISCERNING SENSE OF BOTH TASTE & SMELL

32. @April 10, 2022 3:16 PM “IMAGINE I WENT TO ONE OF THEIR LOCAL SUPERMARKETS TODAY AND THEIR LOCAL GOAT MEAT WAS 30% MORE THAN THE IMPORTED…EITHER THE FARMER IS A FOOL OR THE SUPERMARKET FOR EXTORTION. I BOUGHT THE FOREIGN GOAT MEAT.”

That is because you are not a connoisseur/an expert judge in matters of taste.

Some people will eat anything, will eat the cheapest thing which is thrown in front of them. Some people will demand the best, and some as rich as you are, are willing and able to pay for it.

Some foods and drinks are mass produced.

Some food and drink is carefully produced in small batches. This takes more time and care, and people who know better, or who can afford to pay more are happy to do so.

If you doubt me ask the boys of BU who are rum connoisseurs.

It matters of tasty food and drink we are not willing to join you in the race to the bottom.

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Dr. Fake Scholar….are there no protein substitutes, recommended by doctors…

34. @ Dribbler of greater importance, you should be seeking to find out the real reason behind creating a hybrid. The black belly sheep is not on the verge of extinction. Expansion of the BBS is a good idea not the creation of a hybrid that competes with it and devalues the brand it on the market. Perhaps the price on the market is artificial. If more BBS are raised, the price has to fall as supply now will meet demand. The creation of a hybrid also has the same effect as imports on the local BBS, price competition. The answer is to produce more authentic BBS since there is a demand for mutton.

35. GP I had a colleague from Newfoundland who was raised with Barbados molasses [or syryp, but she said molasses] on her pancakes. Apparently one or more of our factories shipped that product to Eastern Canada. She knew nothing else about Barbados, but the Barbados product on her childhood pancakes was a happy, happy memory.

I wonder if we can rejuvenate that market.

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Looks like John Fake Scholar will have to add you to this list…now that it is being publicly said and not just at round tables and in back rooms anymore…

“” relocate 80,000 low IQ Bajans there and make space for 80,000 “other” people who not only will raise the IQ of the country,””

37. I mean, what is the point of being a successful businessman and having lots of money if you are not willing to spend some of that money on excellent food and drink?

38. I love my Caribbean people so no name, no lock up. But once a Caribbean neighbor offered my dad a shot of rum from a refinery in his country. My dad politely accepted, and politely drank it. After the visitor had departed someone asked dad “so how was the rum then”

Without missing a blink dad replied “it just fit to bade de dead”

I gone, before I get lock up.

39. @April 10, 2022 3:16 PM “IMAGINE I WENT TO ONE OF THEIR LOCAL SUPERMARKETS TODAY AND THEIR LOCAL GOAT MEAT WAS 30% MORE THAN THE IMPORTED…EITHER THE FARMER IS A FOOL OR THE SUPERMARKET FOR EXTORTION. I BOUGHT THE FOREIGN GOAT MEAT.”

That is because you are not a connoisseur/an expert judge in matters of taste.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WHAT A SILLY IDIOT.

SOMEONE LOCAL ON THE ISLAND COOKED THE SAME IMPORTED GOAT MEAT CURRIED TODAY AND ADMIT TASTES NO DIFFERENT TO LOCALCURRIED GOAT MEAT.

STICK TO YOUR PLANTS THEY SPEAK THE SAME BRAIN DEAD LANGUAGE AS YOU.

40. Clearly you are not a connoisseur either.

That’s ok though.

Most people are not.

How else do you think the merchants of fried grease have become so fabulously wealthy?

Ga long do.

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And since they got less than 10,000, at least 9,625 more or less by now, local and foreign whites on the island, never mind the liars have pretended to be the majority on the island for decades and calling the 91% Afrikan population the minorities………guess who he talkin bout…everybody else is “other.”

“The population of Barbados is predominantly black (91%) or mixed (4%).[1] 3.5% of the population is white and 1% South Asian. The remaining 0.5% of the population includes East Asians (0.1%).”

besides, the demographics are shifting manually, yes, information is coming out, but ya won’t hear it in the news…i was going to broach the subject after more is revealed but John Fake Scholar beat me to it..

42. “WOULD RIHANNA DEVALUE THE FENTY BRAND?”

Initially, Fenty beauty was exclusively retailed in store at Sephora in the US, which is owned by LVMH (Louis Vuitton Moet Henessy) Fenty’s parent company and Harvey Nichols in the UK. Both upmarket. Fenty is now in Boots and at Ulta Beauty online. Why wunna think Ri expanded to these stores? Certainly not to devalue Fenty!

43. Going to side with cuhdear on the connoisseur remark. Good marketing can create a market.

The Japanese has done something special with beef (Kobe, waygu) and the prices are outrageous.

You wouldn’t believe the price of a good watch.
    “The most expensive wristwatch is said to be worth $55 million and is called The Hallucination. Designed and made by Graff Diamonds, it features 110 carats of diamonds in a variety of colours, all set into a platinum bracelet.”

44. To haul in the bucks.

It is a fact that there are more middle class and poor people in the world, that there are uber rich people.

Middle class and poor people like to smell nice too.

Like to eat a really good meal from time to time.

Like to fire a really good rum when the occasion arises.

If we become so posh that we only want to sell to Rihanna and Ophah and Bill Gates where would that lead us?

Bill Gates and Amazon and Rihanna and the people who make champagne int too proud to sell to this Caribbean pensioner, even though I may only drink champagne once every ten years, when I want to buy, they ready to sell.

45. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan at 4:07 PM
    You are quite correct. I had a similar reaction to a famous rum of a sister CARICOM country. It was what we bajans referred to as raw rum.It had neither flavour nor aroma. The same with 5 year old lamb from New Zealand…flavoured tissue paper. Local lamb has flavour and aroma.

46. Just went to the extreme to prove a point. They are niche markets.

47. @TheOGazerts April 10, 2022 4:36 PM ““The most expensive wristwatch is said to be worth $55 million and is called The Hallucination. Designed and made by Graff Diamonds, it features 110 carats of diamonds in a variety of colours, all set into a platinum bracelet.”

Sounds sweet.

When next I am marrying [after my little surgery of course] I’ll demand one of those from my intended.

48. @ Enuff re your 4:29 pm. Post. I don’t know what nonsense you are writing. Increasing suppliers is not devaluing a brand.

49. When it comes to money, you won’t get to take ANY of it with you.

So either you should enjoy some of the sweet things that money can buy while you are alive.

Or other people will enjoy your money after you are dead.

This cannot be refuted.

Not that I am not suggesting that middle class and poor people drink champagne every day, but if you are celebrating the birth of a long awaited first child, if Little Johnnie who sometimes drove you crazy has finally earned his first class honors, if you or your parents are celebrating a 50th anniversary or a 100th birthday.

Splurge for the champagne do.

Live a little. Enjoy some of your hard earned [or inherited] money.

Leave a Reply to African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedCancel reply