Outside of a war zone, a construction site is perhaps the most hazardous work environment. In the UK, it is the leading cause of workplace death [1]. To protect workers and the public, an Engineer has the authority to shut down a construction site for safety reasons – and I have.

I accept that I am more at risk from dying on a construction site than from natural causes. An Engineer who dies of old age has figuratively dodged many bullets. Engineer Paul Clifford’s death on a construction site in Barbados in 2019, was a tragic reminder of that fact. I honour his memory.

The recent death of Engineer Hugh Sealy was shocking, but no less tragic. He did not die of old age, or on a construction site, or from an accident. I understand that he died suddenly and unexpectedly while at play. He was only one year older than I.

UNPACK YOUR BAG.

I believe that each person was born with a bag – a full bag. Our purpose on earth is to empty our bag. Our bag cannot be emptied by dumping. Rather, we must take things out one by one and give them away. Given the uncertainties of life, especially during a pandemic, we should be prepared to leave at anytime – by having our bag unpacked.

We unpack our bag by being kind and helpful to others. Every day presents a new opportunity to demonstrate our love of others, by meaningfully improving the life of someone else.

THEIR BUSINESS.

The responses of others are not our responsibility. If people take what we give them and squander it, then that is their business – not ours. If people repay our kindness by cursing us, then that is their business – not ours. If others question our motives, and ridicule our efforts, then that is their business – not ours. However, our motives are important.

What should be our motivation for helping others? Is it to allow them to be self-sufficient and independent, or to keep them dependent on hand-outs that trap them in a hand-to-mouth poverty? Do we share enough knowledge so that others may improve, or just enough to keep them entertained? Are we helping others to advance their career, or are retarding their career to maintain our superior position?

BEING HELPFUL.

Recording someone doing a good performance at a public event, including in a church, and then posting it on social media, may be helpful. Sharing it and encouraging others to view it may also be helpful. However, criticizing them publicly, to discourage them from performing, is not helpful.

There is a vast difference between personal criticism, to discourage them and others from trying, and an honest critique of their work to encourage them and others to do better. Our motives are important, especially to our future.

REWARDS.

Jesus made it clear that He will judge us all at the end of the age. He also described why we were on this earth, and what He expects us to do while we are here. Hear Jesus.

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his glorious throne. All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.

THE RIGHT.

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

THE LEFT.

“Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

“They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’ He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’ “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.” (Matthew 25: 31-46)

Start unpacking that bag peoples. Every day we live has new opportunities to distribute its contents – the good things that we are supposed to do to others.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

[1] Health and Safety Executive. Workplace fatal injuries in Great Britain, 2021

22 responses to “Unpack Your Bag and Get Ready to Leave”

1. Jesus made it clear that He will judge us all at the end of the age.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WHO IS THIS JESUS A WHITE MAN?

2. The stress that comes along with these high demanding jobs can killed the most healthy person
    An.individual should recognize those signs that become gurelling to the mind soul and body whereby the unpacking mechanism kicks in showing the tell tale signs of enough is enough
    Stress kills

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The indoctrination is very real and very serious…too many are too lost for retrieval…thankfully they are in the numbers that shrank significantly in the last 10 years and are now the minority…..

4. Here is how a functioning opposition can work in a Parliamentary Democracy of which it is the fundamental pillar.

Grenville, keep pushing.

5. .. even now in this our darkest hour.

6. WHAT HAS THE MAN SAID THAT IS WRONG? NOTHING?
    YOU CAN NOT REFUTE WHAT HE HAS SAID BEFORE HE CITED THE WORDS ATTRIBUTED TO THE LORD JESUS CHRIST.

THE MAN HAS THE RIGHT TO READ AND CITE ANY TREATISE THAT HE HAS READ, AND THE TENETS IN ANY ONE OF THEM THAT INFORMS AND DIRECTS HIS LIFE, THAT MIGHT CAUSE HIM TO RELATE TO OTHERS AND IMPACT ON THIER BLIVES FOR GOOD. ………….AND THAT INCLUDES GOD’S HOLY WORD.

HE HAS NOT BEEN OFFENSIVE IN ANYTHING THAT HE HAS SAID, SO WHY ARE YOU JOKERS SO NARROW MINDED.

RE WHO IS THIS JESUS A WHITE MAN?
    DOES THIS MATTER? WHY? HOW? WOULD THE INTENT, CONTENT OR EXTENT OF JESUSWORDS DIFFER IF HE WAS BLACK?
    HOW DO YOU KNOW THAT HE IS A WHITE MAN?
    ARE WHITE MEN MORE SINFUL OR EVIL THAN MEN OF ANY HUE?
    ARE ALL MORONS WHITE? OR ARE THERE SOME BLACK ONES TOO?

GRENVILLE TRY TO CONTINUE TO GROW IN GRACE AND IN THE KNOWLEDGE OF OUR LORD AND SAVIOUR JESUS CHRIST AS TAUGHT IN 2 PETER3;18, AND IN THE CONFIDENCE DERIVED FROM PHILIPPIANS 1:6

7. DOES THIS MATTER? WHY? HOW? WOULD THE INTENT, CONTENT OR EXTENT OF JESUSWORDS DIFFER IF HE WAS BLACK?

Xxxxxx

DOES IT MATTER THAT YOU STILL LIVE IN PERPETUAL MENTAL SLAVERY TIED TO A BOOK OF MANY FABLES?

8. ACTUALLY I HAVE NEVER BEEN A SLAVE IN ANY WAY OR AT ANY TIME
    I HAVE READ SHERIDAN SHELLY SHAAESPEARE AND ALSO SCRIPTURE
    IF THE BIBLE IS FABLES WHY IS IT INFERIOR TO THE OTHER READING MATTER WHICH IS ACTUALLY REALLY FABLES. ARE THEY ANY GOOD PRINCIPLES TO BE GLEANED FROM THE BIBLE?
    WERE THE THINGS YOU LEARNED AT HOME AND SCHOOL ALSO FABLES?
    SOME OF THE GREATEST MEN WHO HAVE LIVED HAVE ORDERED THEIR LIVES ON THE TENETS OF THE WORD OF GOD.
    WHAT HAVE YOU USED BESIDES PLAY BOY MGAZINE AND OTHER FILTH.
    IT IS SO EASY TO DEAL WITH FOLK LIKE YOU.
    NOW DO YOU HAVE ANYTHING OF SUBSTANCE TO ADD THAT ANYONE CAN BE GUIDED OR LEARN FROM.?

9. NOW DO YOU HAVE ANYTHING OF SUBSTANCE TO ADD THAT ANYONE CAN BE GUIDED OR LEARN FROM

Xxxxx

I HAVE TAUGHT AT UWI CAVE HILL AND A COLLEGE IN MIAMI.

CURRENTLY HAVE A BUSINESS WHERE I EMPLOY OTHERS.

NOT INDULGING IN WALLOWING AND TALKING SHITE DAILY.

10. re I HAVE TAUGHT AT UWI CAVE HILL AND A COLLEGE IN MIAMI.

AND I HAVE PHARMACOLOGY AT BCC, AND NEARLY ALL THE BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES AT A NUMBER OF MEDICAL SCHOOLS

RE CURRENTLY HAVE A BUSINESS WHERE I EMPLOY OTHERS.

AND I HAVE A NUMBER OF APARTMENT BUILDINGS IN BARBADOS
    IT SEEMS THAT THE MOST HIGH GOD HAS BLESSED US WITH HIS BOUNTY
    SO WE OUGHT TO THANK HIM SHOULD WE NOT, NOT ATTACK THE TENETS AND SOLID PROMISES IN HIS HOLY WORD
    SO SING WID ME THEN
    New every morning is the love Our wakening and uprising prove;
    Through sleep and darkness safely brought, Restored to life, and power, and thought.

New mercies, each returning day, Hover around us while we pray;
    New perils past, new sins forgiven New thoughts of God, new hopes of heaven.

If on our daily course our mind Be set to hallow all we find,
    New treasures still, of countless price, God will provide for sacrifice.

The trivial round, the common task, Would furnish all we ought to ask,
    Room to deny ourselves, a road To bring us daily nearer God.

Only, O Lord, in thy dear love Fit us for perfect rest above;
    And help us this and every day To live more nearly as we pray.

OR

11. AND I HAVE A NUMBER OF APARTMENT BUILDINGS IN BARBADOS
    SO WE OUGHT TO THANK HIM SHOULD WE NOT, NOT ATTACK THE TENETS AND SOLID PROMISES IN HIS HOLY WORD
    SO SING WID ME THEN

Xxxxxxx

HAPPY FOR YOU.

HOWEVER WOULD NEVER BELIEVE A FABLE BOOK WHERE WATER TURNED TO WINE AND A WHOLE MAN SWALLOWED BY A WHALE STILL LIVED.

66 BOOKS WITH MANY MORE OMITTED AND WRITTEN BY WHITE MEN.

A BOOK THAT KEPT BLACK PEOPLE IN PHYSICAL SLAVERY FOR 400 YEARS USED BY THE WHITE MANN AND MUCH MORE YEARS IN MENTAL SLAVERY.

12. RE HOWEVER WOULD NEVER BELIEVE A FABLE BOOK WHERE WATER TURNED TO WINE

BUT WATER IS TURNED INTO WINE STILL DUMMY THAT IS A FAIRLY SIMPLE STANDARD BIOCHEMICAL REACTION THAT OCCURS DAILY IN VINEYARDS AND WINERIES ALL OVER THE WORLD ——ONLY JESUS DID IT FASTER THAN USUAL

RE AND A WHOLE MAN SWALLOWED BY A WHALE STILL LIVED.
    THE BIBLE DOES NOT SAY THAT A WHALE SWALLOWED JONAH, IT SAID A GREAT FISH, AND THERE IS ON RECORD AN INSTANCE WHERE A MAN HAS SURVIVED SUCH AN ORDEAL OFF MASACHUSETTS

HOWEVER, SERIOUS EXPOSITORS OF THE BIBLE THINKS THAT JONAH DIED AND WAS REVIVED AS A TYPE OF THE RESURECTION OF CHRIST. AND IN MATHEW 12 JESUS ENDORSES THIS VIEW BY GIVING THIS AS THE SIGN OF JONAH, WHEN HE WAS ASKED FOR A SIGN

THESE INCIDENTS ABOUT JONAH OR JESUS ARE MUCH MORE LIKELY TO HAVE OCCURRED THAN BIDEN WINNING THE 2020 ELECTION WITH 81 MILLION VOTES.

SLAVERY WAS IN VOGUE AND CARRIED OUT FOR EONS BEFORE THE 66 BOOKS OF THE CANON OF SCRIPTURES WERE COLLECTED. AND PRESERVED, SO THE BIBLE IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR SLAVERY.

YOU DONT BELIEVE THE BIBLE AND YOU ARE FREE TO DO SO, YET YOU ARE STILL IN SLAVERY TO SIN AND IGNORANCE.

THE WORD SAYS THAT THE FOOL HAS SAID IN HIS HEART THAT THERE IS NO GOD. SEEMS THAT YOU ARE INDEED A FOOL.
    NEXT!

13. THE WORD SAYS THAT THE FOOL HAS SAID IN HIS HEART THAT THERE IS NO GOD. SEEMS THAT YOU ARE INDEED A FOOL.
    NEXT!

Xxxxxxxx

LOOK IN THE MIRROR AND STARING BACK AT YOU IS THE FOOL THAT YOU ARE MAKING REFERENCE TO

14. Do some of you read what you write before posting?

15. April 5, 2022 6:24 PM
    (Quote).
    re I HAVE TAUGHT AT UWI CAVE HILL AND A COLLEGE IN MIAMI.

AND I HAVE PHARMACOLOGY AT BCC, AND NEARLY ALL THE BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES AT A NUMBER OF MEDICAL SCHOOLS

RE CURRENTLY HAVE A BUSINESS WHERE I EMPLOY OTHERS.

AND I HAVE A NUMBER OF APARTMENT BUILDINGS IN BARBADOS
    (Unquote).

What a roll of self-adulation!

Since you are so bright and wealthy why then can’t you decipher what your Jesus is saying when @ GP 2 above he, Isa, intends to return to judge people like you “at the end of the AGE”:

Please pray tell us here on BU what is this AGE and when will it end?

Are the current upheavals the mere death throes of the fast fading old Age of the fisherman and the birth pangs of a New Age of knowledge for the ‘Son of Man’ and for the return of Ezekiel?

Maybe- in one of your many moments of materialistic madness- you will heed the following advice given, not in the Complete Works of Shakespeare but in the concocted and manipulated ‘Word ‘of your Jew-invented idol called Yahweh.

(Quote).
    Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.

But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.
    (Unquote).

16. i am always amused when qualified BU Bible illiterates seek to challenge or denigrate.
    CLEARLY THE IDIOT HERE IN HIS SUPERFICIAL SCRIPTURE READING DID NOT READ OF ABRAHAM, OR MELCHIDEK OR SOLOMON IN THE OT OR GAIUS, LYDIA, OR PHOEBE IN THE NT. ACQUISITION OF WEALTH COMES OFTEN BY PRUDENCE RATHER THAN A DESIRE TO STORE UP TREASURE ON EARTH.

IT IS GOOD THAT YOU COULD FIND A PASSAGE IN THE BIBLE ON WEALTH, BUT PERHAPS YOU WOULD BE BETTER OFF IF BEFORE YOU COME HERE TO DISPLAY YOUR IGNORANCE, YOU CONSULT A TOPICAL TEXT BOOK OR A SYSTEMATIC THEOLOGY IF YOU WOULD DISCUSS THE BIBLE TEACHING ON WEALTH. YOU MIGHT BENEFIT ALSO FROM READING THE WORD AND STUDYING IT AS ENJOINED IN NEHEMIAH 8:8 AND 2 TIMOTHY 2:15

RE Since you are so bright and wealthy why then can’t you decipher what your Jesus is saying when @ GP 2 above he, Isa, intends to return to judge people like you “at the end of the AGE”:

THAT IS QUITE EASY ALSO
    YOU CAN START IF YOU WILL IN DANIEL 7, WHERE WE ARE TOLD THREE TIMES THAT AFTER THE SON OF MAN – THE NAME THAT JESUS CALLED HIM SELF 80 TIMES- IS GIVEN THE EVERLASTING KINGDOM, IN THE MILLENNIUM THAT HE WILL SHARE ADMINISTRATION WITH THE SAINTS (HAIGIOS) OR SEPARATED ONES OR BELIEVERS.
    THIS CONCEPT IS ALSO TAUGHT BY JESUS IN THE OLIVET DISCOURSE IN MATHEW 25 INTER ALIA.

Please pray tell us here on BU what is this AGE and when will it end?
    WE ARE OBVIOUSLY LIVING IN THIS AGE OR DISPENSATION CALLED THE AGE OR DISPENSATION OF GRACE.OR THE CHURCH AGE,, THE BIBLE TEACHES VERY CLEARLY THAT THE AGE OF GRACE ENDS AT THE RAPTURE OF THE CHURCH.

17. Education and mental health
    Thank you, Professor of Counsellor Education at Pennsylvania State University College of Education, Dr Julia Green Bryan. The United Statesbased Barbadian made it plain that Government’s plans to reform the educational system will be hard to accomplish if enough attention is not paid to the social, emotional and mental health of students.
    This is such a critical point to make and one that not just schools but the entire nation needs to hear and embrace. Now.
    Education reform is not simply about getting rid of the 11-Plus exam. It is not simply about training students in skills that serve the job market. It is not simply about emphasising science and technology subjects for the changing world. All of these are necessary and vital, but they will be a house built on sand if the social, psychological and, I would add, cultural foundation is weak. Deep down inside we know this, but to take it seriously is difficult given our historical path and contemporary position.
    Our historical path runs through the most inhumane, extended situation in recorded human history. It is a situation where for centuries we were not seen as human but as beasts of burden. In the same way that we do not deeply consider the mental health and socio-cultural wellbeing of cattle, the mental health and socio-cultural well-being of Africans is often overlooked. Often, even by Africans themselves.
    Our contemporary position, often marked by economic instability, precarious financial status and perpetual cycles of belt tightening, makes us hyper- focused on material accumulation and security. Authorities, policymakers and the people alike have been moulded by this culture which creates a mindset that the only thing which matters is the bottom line. And for sure, the bottom line matters. If you cannot, in some measure, secure the basics of Maslow’s pyramid, then little else will matter.
    The problem comes when we get stuck moving in circles at the base of the pyramid and can never
    step up seriously to the higher levels, even when those basic needs are relatively well met. Because dat is we culture. It is our culture to incessantly talk about the economy to the neglect of all other factors that make a strong and stable society.
    It is our culture to tell children to get a good education so you can get a good job and eat well, and never say a word about self-actualisation and life balance. You do not worry about the social, mental and cultural health of beasts of burden or of a faceless mass of labour.
    Narrow-mindedness
    This is probably the case to varying extents in every group of people who have been forged in slavery and colonialism. The unwritten motto of the kind of capitalism formed in this situation is, “Seek ye first the economic kingdom and all else will be added onto you”. The truth is that this kind of narrow-mindedness feeds mental illness and rarely leads to economic salvation. Maybe for a privileged few, but at the expense of the underprivileged many.
    But our educators and teachers know this, I think. It’s just that knowing the direction to head in is only a part of it. You then have to tug and pull that stiff steering wheel of a culture stuck in place for so long in the new direction. You will have to be able to bear being off course often as you find your bearings.
    As creatures of habit, convenience and the security of the familiar, heading in a new direction can be scary and uncomfortable. But, more than only educational reform, this is the necessary work of national transformation. It is a transformation of our entire mindset.
    Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email: Adriangreen14 @gmail.com

18. Somebody offer this minister some help.

Regrettably, the timely completion of this project has been affected by unforeseen circumstances which have resulted in delays.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/05/08/statement-by-housing-minister-on-the-construction-of-steel-framed-houses-from-china/

19. @Hants

What we are hearing about the prefabricated house from China is disappointing.

20. If we cannot erect 150 prefabricated houses in one year, what does that mean for the thousands that were promised in a few years?

Was it 3000 in five years? I was so confident thr promise would be kept or even surpassed that I did not keep any notes.

21. I Hants believe that the problem is about money.

There are enough BAJAN Engineers, Architects and construction workers to construct the chinese steel houses.

The minister is not a good spinner.

22. THE OLD FOLKS WARNING YUH COULD HIDE AND BUY LAND BUT YUH CANT HIDE AND WORK IT

A TEXT BOOK MESSAGE FOR THIS GOVT

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply