The video was sent by Ras Jahaziel of https://rastafarivisions.com/. He is a long time contributor to Barbados Underground. The more middleclass and upwardly mobile we become as a Black people we seem to be receptive to allowing our history to fade by retreating to a eurocentric form of existence – David, BU blogmaster

170 responses to “Testimony of a Runaway Slave”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“THE WHITE MAN DID A BRILLIANT JOB IN DIVIDING AND RULING WHEN MANY ARE FAST TO SAY THEY ARE NOT AFRICAN AND FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE.”

can’t blame the white man anymore, they are doing it themselves….the only thing they are SEEN AS….from continent to continent ARE BLACK AFRIKANS….they are the only ones can’t see it or ACCEPT IT and see something else that no one else can……..it’s especially bad in Barbados, you still find many more across the Caribbean accepting who they are and where they came from originally and seeking more answers, but not these..

… although, can only speak for myself, there are still the Malian and other bloodlines from INITIAL voyages to the West, pre columbus lies, that survived the upheavals and still in existence…..we still cannot say that those ancestors did not ORIGINATE from Afrika before they sailed away from the continent to populate the world so many thousands of years ago…

some of us still carry the original Hebrew…now called Bantu etc… bloodlines…

.these people don’t want to know who they are….they are comfortable with what was created for and handed to them so they can be laughed at….they love to be on show for the amusement of others…as bred..they divide themselves without prompting, we saw it on here first hand and had to speak out against it…

“EDUCATION DOES NOT START FROM THE MIDDLE BUT FROM THE BEGINNING.”

theirs started at the middle passage and ended right there…going around and around in 1400s-1800s circles with the help of their misleaders and quasi historians…..as i said, BU has it’s uses, but NOT EVER to educate young minds…it would be a travesty to view it as a tool of education for the young, it’s just good for old fools to argue incessantly so their brains don’t get scrambled…with dementia..etc…….

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@dpD

For the record ,I have no issues with my fellow human brothers from Africa. Nor do I oppose those who want closer economic, political and cultural ties with peoples from Africa or any other continent. I mix quite easily with persons from other cultures. I respect them and they respect me.
    I have responded to Davids reason for GoB overtures to the countries on the Continent of Africa He sees it as an activity to adjust the Bajan culture to some ideal culture not fully formed nor described by him.. History is of a country. I insist that for the citizens of Barbados 1627 is its beginning. The origin of the majority of our population is Africa. Does that make African history our history. Is the Bajan culture African? There are several cultures in Africa.
    But there are commentators who like to change the definition of words to suit there narratives OR to change the topic. But I am not in that game of shifting issues to earn Brownie points. I was a Cadet Lol!!.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

btw..don’t ever believe you can change their miseducated views or outlook, they are going to their graves just like that…..tens of thousands of them already went without knowing or caring who they really are or where they came from, they will fight you to the death to keep their delusions and fantasies intact in a misguided attempt to mislead the young and keep it going…….that’s why the young, our future, are to be kept VERY FAR AWAY FROM THEM, or we will have no future, every generation for hundreds to come will just remain reveling and wallowing in a nostalgic slavery past…the only history they will ever know…

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Slaves were not citizens, they were not meant to be……and practiced the only culture they knew from memory. in secret……some of which has survived, even in Barbados, even today and very Afrikan in origin…this, holders of citizenship scam on colonial islands is a recent addition…

Vincent, why do you believe you are separate and distinct from Afrikan ancestry…in 1627 you were classified as nonhuman, via your enslaved ancestors…….your statute books still classify you as a Slave because those Slave codes and slave laws are still very active…because your dummy misleaders refuse to remove them…because they know why..

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I accept that i have a pretty good dose of European ancestry, was not thrilled at first, but it grew on me, it has its uses and not to boast bout…..i got white in me…as many love to say and that was LOOOONNNNNG before genetic testing…

…in saying that…i can NEVER DENY that my DOMINANT bloodlines are of Afrikan origin, these days you get a laundry list of countries from where you originated broken down by bloodline percentages, just like you get the percentage of European bloodlines……..

..how can anyone deny or disown that they are predominantly of Afrikan heritage is irrational, borders on the very crazy, way beyond me, and seems well above my pay grade…

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Have yall never heard certain government lawyers and even jackass ministers…. pontificating in their irrational rambling articles or speeches:

in1627…or some such date…”WE CREATED the Oistin agreement” or some such…..ya keep asking them….who the hell was this Black “we”…who were in charge of their own destiny in the 1600s….your ancestors were not seen as human and were not part of creating any such legislation or document to determine their own future…..stop already, christ….but deh in de parliament now, so dey have morphed from de descendants of enslaved and now disassociate demselves from any a dat…lol

their ancestors were shackled and chained, but they dismiss that reality and instead identify with, mimic and associate themselves completely with those who did the shackling and chaining….it’s exhausing..

7. @ David
    The challenge as William always reminds us is how to educate our people to grow a capacity to prioritize what is relevant. At the moment we define success by things acquired.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    To be quite honest, when we say one thing there is always the other side…
    Whereas Bushie likes the ‘brass bowl’ ribbing, and gets upset at our clear inabilities to realize our true strengths and resilience. The bushman is very cognizant of the FACT than NO OTHER SET OF PEOPLE in all history, – have been through what our fore parents have undergone over the last half millennia – NOT EVEN NEAR.
    Indeed, it is arguable that ANY OTHER set of peoples would have been essentially EXTERMINATED – given the life experiences of Black people over the last multiple generations and centuries….and particularly so, for those transported across the Atlantic.

From that perspective, the fact that we are even in a position to lament our relative economic disadvantages is no mean feat.

Anyone who questions the fact that we represent God’s TRUE people need only consider that we actually represent the REMNANTS of a great people who have been subjected to four continuous centuries of systemic and systematic attempts at dehumanization, and conversion to albino-centricity, and could still produce scholars like ping pong and NO, and men with balls like Caswell.
    Not too brass bowl bad yuh!!!
    Even so, Bushie still feels that we accept far too much brass bowlery though … as man!!

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    .It is the experience and survival of that 400 years that made us who we are. Resilience is our strength. We need copy no other. We are who we are. I am proud to be a Barbadian.

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Well @Vincent re “But I am not in that game of shifting issues to earn Brownie points. I was a Cadet Lol!!.”

Being a cadet that by itself gives you all the endless brownie points required, so all good. No shifting required.

Not to say ALL cadets are so exempted tho!😎

10. VINCENT
    I MAKE IT VERY CLEAR TO FOLK WHO WISH TO CLASSIFY ME AS AFRICAN AMERICAN THAT I AM NEITHER AFRICAN NOR AMERICAN THANK YOU
    I SAY LOUDLY AND CLEARLY THAT I AM A BAJAN….I WAS BORN BRED AND EDUCATED IN BARBADOS
    I KNOW WHERE I CAME FROM AND HOW I GOT WHERE I AM
    I TRY TO EXPLAIN WHAT WE EAT AND DRINK OR MUSIC AND OTHER ASPECTS OF OUR CULTURE
    I WEAVE THAT INTO MY TEACHING IN CHURCH AND IN MEDICAL SCHOOL
    I DONT NEED THAT AFRICAN OR AMERICAN OR BLACK DESIGNATION
    I AM SATISFIED WITH WHAT I WAS TAUGHT AT MY GRANDMOTHER’S KNEE, IN OUR SCHOOL SYSTEM AND IN THE CHURCHES I ATTENDED
    I LEARNED TO SING AT CH CH PARISH CH AND TO TEACH BIBLE IN THE BAPTIST CHURCH WHERE I WAS DISCIPLED FOR 6 YEARS
    I CAN STAND UP TALL ……LARGE AND IN CHARGE BECAUSE MY EXPERIENCES AND EDUCATION IN MY HOME LAND PREPARED ME TO STAND AND TO DO SO FEARLESSLY…………AS THE WORD SAYS ……”HAVING DONE ALL, TO STAND””
    E.G I CAN TRUTHFULLY SAY I KNOW THE CHIEF JUSTICE OF MY COUNTRY- PERSONALLY– HE SAT AT MY RIGHT HAND WHEN WE STARTED SECONDARY SCHOOL
    I CAN TRUTHFULLY SAY I KNOW THE PRESIDENT OF MY COUNTRY PERSONALLY.. I HAVE APPEARED BEFORE HER IN COURT AND WATCHED CRICKET WITH HER
    I CAN SAY A FEW DAYS AGO MY SON WANTED BARRIERS FOR A SHOW HE WAS INVOLVED IN ITOLD HIM GO TO POLICE HEAD QUARTERS AND TELL THE PROVOST THAT YOU ARE MY SON
    I CAN HONESTLY TELL THEM MANY SIMILAR STORIES THAT MILLIONS OF FOLK IN THIS COUNTRY CAN NOT SAY…….AND I HAVE NEVER BEEN ANYTHING MORE THAN AN ORDINARY CITIZEN OF MY COUNTRY
    SO I DONT NEED ANY MORE UNNECCESARY KNOWLEDGE
    WE HAVE NO RESPECT FOR WHO WE ARE AND HAVE BEEN
    I HAVE NEVER FELT DOWN TRODDEN OR INFERIOR IN MY COUNTRY
    AND ALL THIS WHITE PEOPLE RUBBISH
    I FOUND THAT WHITE PEOPLE IN BARBADOS RESPECT ACHIEVERS AND FOLK WITH POSITION AND RANK

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bushman…thing is, it was not only 500 YEARS…gotta include the 100 years of Portugese and Spanish criminality of enslaving Africans…AND also the previous 2500 years of Arab and other lowlife enslavement of our ancestors that built that superhuman strength in SOME, but not all of us…

.see, they don’t even know about all of that, never going to see any of that in the negro slave bible……our ancestors were the gods and goddesses that CIVILIZED our earth….without them, most would still not know what living was all about…let alone dominating….but we are doomed to self-destruct because of the inability to see what is most important..

the youth are getting their educationi on who they really are and how powerful their ancestors have always been….despite the Slave-minded believing they shouldn’t…

dah is why dey will always be beggars wit begging bowls in hand…it’s a permanent condition….and their grandchildren x any number are well on their way to becoming the enslaved once again…not mine though..

12. @Vincent

Is the discussion about nationality? The blogmaster is under the impression it is a deeper debate about how can we embrace our African lineage to flush out our identity as a people.

13. re The blogmaster is under the impression it is a deeper debate about how can we embrace our African lineage to flush out our identity as a people.

what deeper debate what? WHAT A LOAD OF BULL.

i do not need to embrace no African lineage to flush out our identity as a person or to be somebody or anybody
    since when do we need this rubbish?

I HAVE ACHIEVED SO MUCH WITH OUT THAT RUBBISH

THE NURSES THAT HAVE NOT BEEN PAID DONT NEED NO BS— THEY NEED TO BE PAID
    YUH CANT TREAT YOUR OWN PROPERLY AND YUH ALL ABOUT TALKING NUFF AND SEEKING TO HIRE FOLK WHO WILL,BREAK AND HAVE BROKEN THEIR CONTRACTS AND RUN OFF TO THE USA CAUSE THEY ARE HIRELINGS, AND THEY HAVE NO LOVE FOR THE “SHEEP ” THEY WERE BROUGHT HERE AND PAID TO TEND.

IS ALL THIS AFRICAN LINEAGE RUBBISH PRACTICED BY THEM ?

HOW CAN YOU LOVE YOUR “”BROTHER “” WHOM YOU CAN NOT SEE AND DO NOT KNOW, AND HATE AND ARE ABUSIVE TO YOUR OWN WHOM YOU KNOW AND CAN SEE?

IT IS HYPOCRISY AND CLAP TRAP.

WE NEED TO LEARN THE RIGHT AND DO SO AND TO WORK AND TO BE HONEST AND TREAT OTHERS PROPERLY AND TRY NOT TO CONTROL WHAT PEOPLE SAY OR WANT TO SAY

WE NEED TO SET ASIDE ENVY AND GREED AND ACCEPTANCE OF CORRUPTION .AND ESHEW THE DESIRE TO PULL DOWN OUR OWN

WE NEED TO WALK THE WALK AND FORGET ALL THE TALK

WE NEED TO GET RID OF ALL INFERIOR SUPERIORS WHERE EVER THEY ARE IN BARBADOS

14. BUDDHIST PRAYERS

Dr. and Master Sha- Da Bei Zhou Lineage_Chanting

Da Bei Zhou

15. @ GP
    Bushie is surprised that you can be so adamant on this matter of genealogy, understanding, as you must, the power of lineage and DNA characteristics that stores and confers hereditary characteristics.
    It is no coincidence that persons of African stock have been resilient enough to, not only survive centuries of historical dehumanization and degradation, but can now show up in the 21st Century with persons of your intellect and of David’s commitment and selflessness – dispersed across the whole world.

If you want to suggest that your present attributes are independent of your fundamental genealogical make up, and therefore not a product of your fore parents over multiple generations (and continents) all the way back, then you must know something really mystical and new.

We may indeed be unusually complex in the Caribbean because of the mixed DNA influences from very different backgrounds. But for most, the lineage is predominantly African, and will always be so.

Bushie agrees with the Bajan identity argument, and that therefore we have Bajan brothers and sisters of different DNA stock (which is why some have all the damn money) but that most of us are essentially ‘African’ must be genealogically indisputable.

16. Celia Chant Da Bei Zhou

Compassion Mantra of Guan yin
    Great Compassion Mantra: Purification, healing and protection, the Maha Karuna Dharani Sutra — benefiting all beings
    Those who recite and hold the Mantra of Great Compassion (Da Bei Zhou) will not suffer any of these 15 kinds of bad death and will obtain the following 15 kinds of good birth:

They will always meet good friends.
    They will always be born in a good country.
    They will always be born at a good time.
    Their place of birth will always have a good king.
    Their family will be kind and harmonious.
    Their heart will be pure and full in the way.
    They will not violate the prohibitive precepts.
    The organs of their body will always be complete.
    They will obtain everything they seek.
    They will always obtain the help and respect of others.
    Their riches will not be plundered.
    They will always have the necessary goods and wealth in abundance.
    In the place where they are born, they will see the Buddha and hear the Dharma.
    Dragons, gods, and good spirits will always protect them.
    They will awaken to the profound meaning of that Proper Dharma which they hear.

“Those who chant and hold the Great Compassion Mantra will obtain these 15 kinds of good birth. All people and gods should constantly chant and hold it, without carelessness.” – Great Compassion Dharani Sutra.”

17. The Maha Karuna Dharani Sutra

The source of the mantra is the Maha Karuna Dharani Sutra. Shakyamui Buddha was at Potala mountain, when Avalokiteshvara rose from his seat, joined his palms and said:

“Bhagavan, I have a mantra of Great –compassionate Heart Dharani and now wish to proclaim it, for comforting and pleasing all living beings; for healing all illness; for living beings to attain additional lifespan; for living beings to gain wealth; for extinguishing all evil karma and weighty sins; for keeping away from hindrance and disasters; for producing merits of all pure Dharmas; for maturing all virtuous roots; for overcoming all fears; for fulfilling all good wished. Bhagavan, please be merciful and allow me to speak ”

Namo great compassionate Avalokitesvara, May I quickly know all Dharmas;

Namo great compassionate Avalokitesvara, May I soon obtain the Wisdom Eye;

Namo great compassionate Avalokitesvara, May I quickly ferry all living beings (to the

shore of liberation);

Namo great compassionate Avalokitesvara, May I soon obtain virtuous skillful means (to enlighten various living beings);

Namo great compassionate Avalokitesvara, May I quickly board the Prajna (wisdom) Boat;

Namo great compassionate Avalokitesvara, May I soon transcend the ocean of suffering;

Namo great compassionate Avalokitesvara, May I quickly achieve precepts, Samadhi and the Way;

Namo great compassionate Avalokitesvara, May I soon ascend the mountain of Nirvana;

Namo great compassionate Avalokitesvara, May I quickly dwell in the house of non-action;

Namo great compassionate Avalokitesvara, May I soon unite with the Dharma-Nature Body.

If I go towards the mountain of knives, the mountain of knives of itself breaks up;

If I go towards the boiling oil, the boiling oil of itself dries up;

If I go towards the hells, the hells of themselves disappear;

If I go towards the hungry ghosts, the hungry ghosts of themselves become full.

If I go towards the demons, their evil thoughts of themselves are tamed.

If I go towards the animals, they themselves attain great wisdom.

Direct Translation of the Great Compassion Mantra

Adoration to the Almighty One.

Adoration to the noble Avalokitesvara, bodhisattva, the Great Compassionate One.

I continually adore the One who Dispels all Fears,

O noble Avalokitesvara, to You adoration, O Nilakantha.

I shall clearly sing the ‘heart’ dharani for the sake of all beings, for it is pure and serves all purposes for all beings, as it purifies the path of soul existence.

Therefore, Lord of Radiance, World-Transcending One.

Come, come, great bodhisattva, descend, descend. Bear in mind my heart-dharani.

Do, do the work in our souls.

Hold fast, oh Victor, oh Great Victorious One.

Hold on, hold on, oh Lord of the Dharani.

Move, move oh my immaculate image, come, come.

Destroy every poison.

Quick, bear in mind, quick, quick, descend, descend.

Enlightened being, O enlightened being, enlighten me, enlighten me. Oh merciful

My Lord, appear unto me. To You who sees our all, Namo. To the Great Lord, Namo. To the Great Lord in Yoga, Namo. To my Lord, Namo. To the Varaha*, Namo.

Adoration to the Triple Gem. Adoration to the noble Avalokitesvara bodhisattva, Namo.

Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva continued to say to the Buddha:

“People and gods who recite and hold the Great Compassionate Heart Dharani will obtain

fifteen kinds of good birth and will not suffer fifteen kinds of bad death. The bad deaths

are:

They will not die of starvation or poverty;
    They will not die from having been yoked, imprisoned, caned or otherwise beaten;
    They will not die at the hands of hostile enemies;
    They will not be killed in military battle;
    They will not be killed by tigers, wolves, or other fierce beasts;
    They will not die from the venom of poisonous snakes, black serpents, or scorpions;
    They will not drown or be burned to death;
    They will not be poisoned to death;
    They will not be killed by mediumistic insects;
    They will not die of madness or insanity;
    They will not be killed by landslides or falling trees;
    They will not die of nightmares sent by evil people;
    They will not be killed by deviant spirits or evil ghosts;
    They will not die of evil illnesses that bind the body;
    They will not commit suicide;

Those who recite and hold the Great Compassion Holy Mantra will not suffer any of

these fifteen kinds of bad death and will obtain the following fifteen kinds of good birth:

Their place of birth will always have a good king;
    They will always be born in a good country;
    They will always be born at a good time;
    They will always meet virtuous friends;
    The organs of their body will always be complete;
    Their hearts of Way(Bodhi) will be pure and mature;
    They will not violate the prohibitive precepts;
    All their relatives will be kind and harmonious;
    They will always have the necessary wealth and goods in abundance;
    They will always obtain the respect and help of others;
    Their possessions will not be plundered;
    They will obtain everything they seek;
    Dragons, gods, and good spirits will always protect them;
    In the place where they are born they will see the Buddha and hear the Dharma;
    They will awaken to the profound meaning of that Proper Dharma which they hear.

18. DO NOT ALL AFRICAN COUNTRIES HAVE “EUROCENTRIC” LINKS
    EVEN THE ONCE GREAT USA HAS VERY SOLID “EUROCENTRIC” LINKS, AFTER ALL DIDNT THE AMERICANS COME OVER FROM EUROPEAN COUNTRIES?

They conquered and massacred the people

They are Devils

Your Bible is Shit

You are stupid

Still a negro

19. Cuhdear Bajanc Avatar

@BAJE March 16, 2022 2:03 PM “BLACK CARIBBEAN PEOPLE ARE THE MOST BRAINWASHED AND IGNORANT PEOPLE IN THE WORLD WHILST THEY WILL ALWAYS BE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE TOTEM POLE AS A GROUP. PEOPLE RATHER IDENTIFY THEMSELVES AS BAJAN…”

You are black Caribbean too are you not? Are you therefore brainwashed and ignorant? And why do you identify yourself as Baje, rather than as for example Carib?

20. @ Bush Tea
    .It is the experience and survival of that 400 years that made us who we are. Resilience is our strength. We need copy no other. We are who we are. I am proud to be a Barbadian.

Xxxxxxxxxxx

WHAT IS A BLACK BARBADIAN OR BAJAN SOME CONSTRUCT OF ANOTHER RACE?

WHEN CARIBBEAN PEOPLE CAN’T IDENTIFY THEMSELVES FIRST AND FOREMOST AS AN AFRICAN ESPECIALLY WHEN BLACK THE SLAVE MASTERS HAVE DONE A GREAT JOB MENTALLY.

21. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

“I cannot recall the name of this song
    why why why why why why why
    woy woy woy woy woy woy woy woy”
    + (..woy) (woy)

“BU has it’s uses, but NOT EVER to educate young minds…it would be a travesty to view it as a tool of education for the young, it’s just good for old fools to argue incessantly so their brains don’t get scrambled…with dementia..etc…….”

I remember that tune now
    through the powers of the most high
    Jah Rastafari

Me And Jane, Bingy Bunny, The Morwells, Gunman Connection, Nicodemus, Roots Radics

22. “WHEN CARIBBEAN PEOPLE CAN’T IDENTIFY THEMSELVES FIRST AND FOREMOST AS AN AFRICAN ESPECIALLY WHEN BLACK THE SLAVE MASTERS HAVE DONE A GREAT JOB MENTALLY.”

Those slave masters all invented passports
    so all you Caribbean Africans would stay in your small zone

The Scientist Roots Radics Conection
    The Heavyweight Dub Champion
    Every Dub Shall Scrub
    Gunman

23. BUSHTEA
    RE Bushie is surprised that you can be so adamant on this matter of genealogy, understanding, as you must, the power of lineage and DNA characteristics that stores and confers hereditary characteristics.
    PHYSICAL CHARACTERISTICS ARE GENETICALLY TRANSMITTED BUT BEHAVIORAL TRAITS ARE LEARNED AND COPIED
    AS IS DEMONSTRATED IN STUDIES OF ANIMAL BEHAVIOR

RE It is no coincidence that persons of African stock have been resilient enough to, not only survive centuries of historical dehumanization and degradation, but can now show up in the 21st Century with persons of your intellect and of David’s commitment and selflessness – dispersed across the whole world.
    1- MY INTELLECT IS A GIFT FROM GOD, NOT AN ENDOWMENT BY HEREDITY
    I KNOW MANY BLACKS WHO ARE SEMI-ILITERATE, AND VERY DUNCY, AND MANY WHO ARE NOT ATHLETIC OR PHYISICALLY ENDOWED

2- PLEASE DONT INSULT ME BY LINKING ME WITH DAVID KING IN THE SAME SENTENCE THANK YOU

RE If you want to suggest that your present attributes are independent of your fundamental genealogical make up, and therefore not a product of your fore parents over multiple generations (and continents) all the way back, then you must know something really mystical and new.
    NOT AT ALL SIR.
    YOUR UNDERSTANDING OF HUMAN GENETICS IS FLAWED.
    ONCE UPON A TIME I WOULD HAVE A SUITABLE DETAILED GENETICS PPT FOR YOUR ENLIGHTEN MENT
    BUT FOLK HERE AND IN BIM SEEM TO ENJOY THE MEDIOCRE
    PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT MY ANCESTRY IS NOT ALL BLACK, ANYWAY ………..

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 5:36 PM

We need to embrace no African, European ,or any other lineage to flush out our identity. We are who we are. We are happy in our skins. In the interest of logic,if we do not embrace it whatever you mean by that phrase,will we have no identity?

25. @Bush Tea

Yours is one way to look at it. How a people is able to thread events/customs from the past to connect to the present adds to the identity build of any people. It nurtures a culture that is defines who we are as a people. In our case many of us are of mixed ancestry which makes the process of discovery the more important AND satisfying.

26. @Vincent

Didn’t we agree to disagree? LOL

Your comment is a contradiction. How can we be truly happy in our skin if we do not understand how beliefs that shape present day behaviour was born and transferred? Why do old eastern societies place heavy premium on oral history? Vincent we do not function in a vacuum. We are bajans with a linage. To protect our identity the journey of discovery must continue.

27. RE How a people is able to thread events/customs from the past to connect to the present adds to the identity build of any people
    EVEN LOWER ANIMALS DO THIS WELL
    ALL VERY WELL DEMONSTRATED IN ANIMAL STUDIES
    NOTHING SPECIAL HERE
    I HAVE HEARD A WHITE GIRL IN BARBADOS WITH A NON WHITE BAJAN ACCENT——WAS DUE TO HER SOCIALIZATION , NOT HEREDITY

RE How can we be truly happy in our skin if we do not understand how beliefs that shape present day behaviour was born and transferred?
    MORE BULL SHIT ——HAPPINESS IS NOT A FUNCTION OF understandING how beliefs that shape present day behaviour was born and transferred

Q. Why do old eastern societies place heavy premium on oral history?
    A BECAUSE THAT IS THEIR CULTURE AND USUALLY THE ONLY THEIR PREFFERED WAY OF COMMUNICATION FOR A VERY GOOD REASON

WHY DONT LITTLE CHILDREN IN BARBADOS PLAY THE GAMES THAT LITTLE CHILDREN IN BARBADOS PLAYED 60 YEARS AGO?
    We are bajans with a linage. AND SO ARE EVERYONE ELSE
    To protect our identity the journey of discovery must continue. HOW SO? WHY? WHAT IS OUR IDENTITY?

IF YOU WANT TO PROTECT SOMETHING YOU PRESERVE IT
    HOW WILL OUR YOUTH GO ON A JOURNEY OF DISCOVERY WHEN SO MANY PLACES CUSTOMS HAVE NOT BEEN PRESERVED? BECAUSE A FEW MOROONS BULL SHIT BOUT AFRICA?

WHAT HAPPENED TO SCHOONERS IN THE OUTER BASIN?
    HOW MANY HAVE SEEN THE CHAMBERLAIN BRIDGE SWING OR EVEN KNOW ITS TRUE NAME?
    HOW MANY 50 YEARS OLD IN BIM HAVE EVEN SEEN NEEDHAM’S POINT?
    HOW MANY OF OUR LADS HAVE PLAYED LILLIPUTIAN OR MARBLE CRICKET?
    HOW MANY BOYS ARE TO BE FOUND IN A CHURCH CHOIR THESE DAYS?

I LOVE TO READ THE BLISSFULL IGNORANCE ON BU WHEN I AM RELAXING
    WUNNAH MEKING MUCH LESS SENSE THAN JOHN KNOX HISTORY PUN THE QUAKERS OR HIS HYPOTHESES ON COVID SPREAD BY WATER

CARRY ON PROVIDING MIRTH
    WATCH THIS POST GET TEK DUNG CAUSE IT GOES AGAINST THE GRAIN AND THE FLOW

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent re “We need to embrace no African, European ,or any other lineage to flush out our identity. We are who we are. We are happy in our skins. In the interest of logic, if we do not embrace it whatever you mean by that phrase, will we have no identity?

This again threads in the same waters of earlier and based on your well stated references and commentaries to Biblical histories again one has to agree as the Blogmaster notes that your “comment is a contradiction”

All in all, it seems that the debate is going in a circular dance as both you and the Blogmaster and others appear to be saying much the same but with different perspectives. Surely, we are indeed WHO WE ARE but the mere fact that we associate our actions and preferences and dislikes with others (or to a FAITH) is a very clear indication that we harken to match and relate our identity (whatever THAT means to each of us) to something beyond ourselves!

We seek to ‘self-actualize’ that thing you called ‘our identify’ and take ourselves beyond the mere daily mundane existence, is one esoteric way of saying it!

Thus seeking that grounding has very little (nothing really) to do with our given talents or lack thereof and how smart or dumb we are.

So it’s rather strange that some see apparent grievous problems in looking to our racial ancestors (all of them, re us mixed race folks) for guidance on what makes us who we are and yet expound so vigorously on how the Bible or Koran or Buddism’s Tipitaka or the Torah makes us better men or women!

A rather confusing argumentation seems to me .. and too a rather interesting psychological point to explore!

29. Well stated Dee Word.

30. re A rather confusing argumentation seems to me .. and too a rather interesting psychological point to explore!

WHY ARE WE NOT SURPRIZED THAT YOU ARE CONFUSED?
    WHAT IS THE psychological point to explore?

THE SCIENTIFIC FACTS ARE THAT CERTAIN BEHAVORIAL ISSUES ARE LEARNED AND COPIED OR OMITTED AS IS WELL DEMONSTRATED IN ANIMALS
    ANATOMICAL AND PHYSIOLOGICAL PARAMETERS ARE TRANSMITTED GENETICALLY, AND THIS WITHIN LIMITATIONS

RE So it’s rather strange that some see apparent grievous problems in looking to our racial ancestors for guidance on what makes us who we are
    STRANGE TO WHOM? WHY DO I NEED TO BEHAVE LIKE ANCESTORS I DO NOT KNOW AND WHO HAVE NEVER INFLUENCED ME OR CONTRIBUTED TO MY DEVELOPMENT IN ANY WAY

BUT THEN I HAVE NEVER SEEN THE NECESSITY TO APPROXIMATE MY LABIAE TO THE ADIPOSE OR OTHER TISSUES THAT OVER LAY ANY ONE’S GLUTEI. ,

31. BIRDS OF A FEATHER BULL SHIT SIMILARLY
    BRING THE PUNETT SQUARE CHARTS TO SUPPORT YOUR SILLY ARGUMENTS.
    MEDIOCRITY AND ILLITERATI ABOUND IN THE RUM SHOP AND IN BARBADOS
    HILARIOUS

32. All in all, it seems that the debate is going in a circular dance as both you and the Blogmaster and others appear to be saying much the same but with different perspectives.
    WHERE HAVE I SAID THE SAME THING AS ANY SEMI ILLITERATE ?
    WORDS HAVE MEANINGS
    EDUCATED SCHOLARS USE SPECIFIC WORDS TO SAY WHAT THEY WANT TO SAY EXACTLY AND BEAUTIFULLY
    KEEP TEKING DOWN MY POSTS
    I UNDERSTAND YOU DO NOT HAVE THE INTELLECT TO EXPLAIN WHERE I AM INCORECT OR REFUTE WHAT I SAY

BUT I KNOW YOU CAN NOT BRING A PUNNETT SQUARE TO INDICATE THE GENETIC TRANSMISSION OF CERTAIN TRAITS , AND I KNOW THAT BEHAVIORAL TRAITS ARE NOT TRANSMITTED GENETICALLY
    I KNOW THAT I AM INDEPENDENT OF THOUGHT TOO
    I LAFFING LOUDLY
    CLEARLY INTELLECT IS NOT TRANSMITTED BY GENETICS VERY WELL

33. MAYBE THE WEAK BLACK MINDS THAT WARU SAY BLACK BAJANS HAVE ARE DOMINANT LOL AND THE FOLK WHO ARE BRILLIANT ARE RECESSIVE FOR WEAK BLACK MINDS ………MURDAH

34. The ongoing discussion about how Blacks of Afroheritage should identify as a people is a constructive one. There is voluminous scholarly writings on the subject. Understandably matters like race easily become embroiled in emotive and contentious arguments.

“Ultimately, Black activists of the 60s constructed a positive and reaffirming racialized identity developed out of a shared history of racialized experiences for people of African descent. It is the material conditions and lived experiences struggling against exploitative and racist conditions that shape and reshape racial/ethnic identities. People of African descent shape their racial/ ethnic identities by their continued resistance and transformative efforts. This extends to group appellation as the identifier referring to the affinity group reaffirms as well as identifies. Their peoplehood refers to shared African cultural retention, which is empowering, as well as shared experiences with racism which is oppressive. They were in search of human dignity and respect and consequently constructed identities out of that experience to reaffirm the humanity of African people and their descendants. “

https://www.aaihs.org/black-identity-and-the-power-of-self-naming/

35. Born as Africans
    Raised as Bajans
    the African part is inside
    the Bajan part is a sheath

But, you don’t know Africa
    if you went there you would feel at home

36. “Why do old eastern societies place heavy premium on oral history?”

Googly moogly

Q: when did people start writing?

A: Based on the surviving evidence of written texts, humans invented writing sometime between 3400 BCE and 3300 BCE.
    Scholars generally agree that the earliest form of writing appeared almost 5,500 years ago in Mesopotamia (present-day Iraq). Early pictorial signs were gradually substituted by a complex system of characters representing the sounds of Sumerian (the language of Sumer in Southern Mesopotamia) and other languages.
    We travel back to the ancient Middle East, to look at why, over 5,000 years ago, we first came to write. While not all human cultures have needed to develop writing, we appear to have been using signs to communicate with each other, or simply to help remember things, for tens of thousands of years.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

When they finally realize one of these centuries that they were effectively BRED, into their current behaviors, way of thinking, social acceptance to be at the very bottom of society etc…they will marvel at the ingenuity in engineering it took and still involves…like i do every day…but it;s already too late for most who still carry the hot iron branding of the CoE insignia on their backs and shoulders and don’t even know it…and are extremely proud of it..

..those are the ones that the younger generations have to avoid like the plague so that those lies, delusions, illusions, fantasies and poisons are not passed on to and embed itself in the youth..

..kill it before it grows into the psyches of the next generation and gets passed on to further destroy the Afrikan minded..

Barbados is NOT even the original name of the island nor most of the others across the region…..our indigenous Carib, Afrikan and Arawak ANCESTORS Aalready gave these islands their real names before murderous invaders appeared…

..if they would only confront their false reality as the bullshit, it is, created, customized, and regularly upgraded, JUST FOR THEM…then maybe they will get somewhere other than where they are right now…spinning around in circles for the amusement of others and can’t get out of or off the merry-go-round….

38. “Black activists of the 60s constructed a positive and reaffirming racialized identity developed out of a shared history of racialized experiences for people of African descent.
    :::::
    They were in search of human dignity and respect and consequently constructed identities out of that experience to reaffirm the humanity of African people and their descendants. “

During their medal ceremony in the Olympic Stadium in Mexico City on October 16, 1968, two African-American athletes, Tommie Smith and John Carlos, each raised a black-gloved fist during the playing of the US national anthem, “The Star-Spangled Banner”

In addition, Smith, Carlos, and Australian silver medalist Peter Norman all wore human-rights badges on their jackets.

In his autobiography, Silent Gesture, published nearly 30 years later, Smith revised his statement that the gesture was not a “Black Power” salute per se, but rather a “human rights” salute.

But the biggest takeaway is they were deemed radicals and activists for advocating human rights which are just basic rights and equal rights which is their universal spiritual birth rights .

39. “..if they would only confront their false reality as the bullshit, it is, created, customized, and regularly upgraded, JUST FOR THEM…then maybe they will get somewhere other than where they are right now…spinning around in circles for the amusement of others and can’t get out of or off the merry-go-round….”

the world is a construct
    when whites conquered territories they implemented their rules
    their cultural spread can be determined by languages used

Africa of old is not Africa of today
    although it is still a blank canvass
    less affected by western civilisation

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

We can think what we want about minorities, but they would NEVER forget their original ancestry/heritage/culture/language and HOW it originated, disown it, pretend it never existed…just to assimilate and vainly seek acceptance that will NEVER be forthcoming while stuck in an illusion created just for them, that denial of self…can only happen when you have no respect for self or ancestors, no self-confidence and no self-love…the whole package of self-diminution and demotion…..

an wunna wahn blame sumbody else fuh dah…

41. GP still likes to dress in his school uniform to feel empowered

False rumours
    Bushman said GP was a nice guy, but I think he must have been lying

42. “We can think what we want about minorities, but they would NEVER forget their original ancestry/heritage/culture/language and HOW it originated, disown it, pretend it never existed…just to assimilate and vainly seek acceptance that will NEVER be forthcoming while stuck in an illusion created just for them, that denial of self…can only happen when you have no respect for self or ancestors, no self-confidence and no self-love…the whole package of self-diminution and demotion…..”

Cultures are just ways of living

Minorities do not know their cultures, and even do not fully know the cultures they live in the same as other households.

Africans are all over the world and are a part of all cultures

43. Dance Movement Therapy DMT
    Voice Movement Therapy VMT
    Curious About Previous Lifetimes? What To Know About Past Life Regression Therapy · The concept of a “past life.” · What is past life regression …
    but if there’s one takeaway to glean from these cases, it’s that consciousness may not die …
    Past lives offer clues on the lessons left for us to learn in the present moment.

The African inside you is the part that dances, sings and expresses itself in arts

44. An African immersion
    is all about going to Africa

Africans don’t play cricket except those who dwell in British Colonies

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

My 2nd book mostly covers the above, so the WORRIERS…better start worrying now before it’s published and book 3 gets started…put on ya worrying caps, it’s going to be for the long haul..

those who read Book 1…aktully tought dah was sumting, given dey stoopid reactions….dah wown wasint nutten atall trus muh………compared…it was just the introduction….

46. I think what Ras Jahziel Tafari was saying is
    Africans are Rastas

Breakfast of Champions
    Cue Bob
    Kaya
    Africa Unite – Bob Marley & The Wailers

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Unnah cud always write to AOP and try to sabotage the publishing, ….unna got de email adress…….good luck…

48. Verona Michael Avatar

So why are you condemning white people of today who had nothing to do with the slave trade that took place over four hundred years ago?

49. When it comes to the matter of character, there can be no comparison between human beings and animals.
    While it is an extremely complex and not well understood area, lineage is an important factor in both physical and character traits. It is no coincidence that the Bible goes to such lengths to detail the genealogies of many important characters.

Even from recent history it is clear that as a general rule, the descendants of the demons of the Atlantic Slave trade have not changed one iota in the last 500 years, despite all the ‘enlightenment’ of science and legal statutes.
    How is this fact explained? but by lineage.
    If lineage truly did not matter, then should we not see a normal distribution of key traits across all different peoples and every place becoming more and more homogeneous?
    Even in Barbados it is clear that our various different peoples generally maintain their historical traits from generation to generation even while living next to each other and working together.
    Anyway, Bushie just pushed his nose in here to snoop….

BTW GP
    Your intellect is a biological GIFT…just appreciate it.
    You could easily have a brother, sister or child who is a much BETTER person than you are, and no way as smart.
    This is EXACTLY why God had to ensure that understanding his word DOES NOT REQUIRE that kind of intellect…. and why trying to win biblical arguments by debate is a waste of time….

50. “So why are you condemning white people of today who had nothing to do with the slave trade that took place over four hundred years ago?”

the white people of today should be condemning the cunting trade instead of defending it and wallowing in cunting white privilege in prejudiced land and should be fucking reparations forthwith

that’s why we call them white scum

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply