The Prime Minister of Barbados, Mia Amor Mottley has called on Ghanaians to mark 7th September as Africa-Caricom Day.

Joyonline.com

Prime Minister of Barbados Mia Mottley was invited to participate in Ghana’s 65th Independence anniversary. To be expected she delivered a speech that has provoked discussion.

Prime Minister Mottley at Ghana’s 65th anniversary of Independence celebrations

Related Links:

244 responses to “Prime Minister Mottley Delivers in Ghana”

1. What I see happening in this situation with the nurses
    Reminds me of Reagean and Thatcher
    Two of the most vicious yearlings that tried to destroy Union’s
    As long as Mia keeps bringing in foreign nurses
    This issue would remain in the forefront of the many ears and eyes
    Indirectly by doing so she is keeping the nurses plight alive

2. The issues of the nurses will be addressed, just that it will not happen to give credit to Caswell or life to his union. You just don’t get it.

3. DavidMarch 12, 2022 4:14 PM

The issues of the nurses will be addressed, just that it will not happen to give credit to Caswell or life to his union. You just don’t get it.

I can only speak to ongoing situation at hand
    Unlike u having your knowledge of what govt does in the future

“getting it : means govt has to be transparent

4. David

The ones ones still on strike can March. Others can March on their days off. They don’t have to March ever day or every week. But not a thing since elections?

Uwu was hijacked by some political operative

5. The optics of a few marching will do nothing to advance the cause.

6. William Skinner Avatar

The question remains: Is it good for countries / regions such as ours. You note, I hope , that there are more checks and balances on US Presidents , than on any regional PM.
    Let me just state ,that I am not endorsing the US political system. But once we introduce “ global “ realities we should observe and highlight the differences.
    But then even in fast food establishments there are great differences in the service and quality of food offered.
    It’s only a matter of time before the maximum leader thing collapses.

7. It’s really perplexing how a so-called educationally advanced country like Barbados can take pride in poaching nurses from a so-called Third-World developing country like Ghana.

Why Barbados- a country once rated as the No.1 ‘Developing’ country and which at No.20 competed with Israel on the United Nations Human Development (UNHD) index- would want to ‘rape’ an African country of its scarce health personnel resources?

Isn’t that same country called Ghana sitting somewhere at position No. 138 on the same UNHD ladder?

Why would highly qualified, well-trained and experienced nurses leave Ghana to work in Barbados when they could easily look to far greener pastures in the UK, USA and other well-paying jurisdictions thereby following in the footsteps of their Jamaican counterparts?

Why ‘exploit’ Ghana and not the thousands of unemployed young Bajans in whom the very Bajan taxpayers have invested millions of dollars over the last 20 to 25 years by providing both free education and health care from birth to secondary school graduation?

8. @ Miller March 12, 2022 7:01 PM

The answer is very simple:

All key management positions are held by foreigners, and only foreigners perform hard physical labor. Meanwhile, our Aborigines are getting fatter and lazier by the day.

9. @William

Agreed

10. In Bushie’s humble opinion, the drivers just can’t drive! …but they have free insurance called “TAXES and Foreign LOANS” so they are learning on the job…
    We will be paying for the damages…

11. David

It doesn’t have to be a few marching
    It just take a little more planning to get both groups to do it on the same day

I repeat it don’t have to be every day or even ever week.

One woman picketed parliament for her rights.

12. How often does we see scenes of such happening in Jamaica
    Many on this island continue to live in denial
    Many here have become desensitized to the realities that poverty is having on the lives of many people
    Crime seems to becoming part a normal existence
    No longer does one hear the loud cries for criminal activity to be taken control
    Govt have found messages to control the way people see think or believe
    Barbados is slowly heading in a direction of the point of no return

13. Budget Day is tomorrow
    The private Sector has already handed their long list of goodies
    Not one word from the Ministers in charge of the many Ministries that are charged to protect the interest of people and country
    Makes for wonder how much more heavy lifting the people would have to do
    Gasoline on the rise is no joke such a continuance would weigh down heavily on the bajan quality of life as they struggle to keep head above water
    Meanwhile govt continues to boast about billions in reserves
    Money borrowed which must be payback by the bajan household
    Can’t imagine barbadians having to.pay govt debt and household debt
    Without seeing an increase at the poverty line

14. William Skinner Avatar

” A peculiar pattern of governance seems to be emerging in Barbados where categorical decisions are made and then public consultation is started knowing full well that the decision will stand.
    This is so because firstly the government has enormous Executive power . Secondly, Barbados is a highly conformist society , thirdly the so-called intelligentsia will keep its mouth shut and finally the mass of the population is either too apathetic or too gullible to really care.”
    Ralph Jemmott, Sunday Sun, 3/13/22
    Comment:
    Nobody knows this and exploits more than PM. Mia Mottley

15. Several months ago, I commented how black Bajans who reside in Barbados were effectively third class citizens. Lady Donna cussed me out real bad for this comment.

The ongoing saga of Barbadian nurses being mistreated and abused has become folklore. Imagine you have toiled for one month in a stressful occupation intermingling with cantankerous members of the public. You have survived the month physically however you realise your salary has not been paid into your account. I don’t believe our MP’S share this problem.

Black Bajans in Barbados have always been mistreated and scorned by their leaders and are now viewed as being surplus to requirements. They have valid reasons for taking out industrial action. That no progress has been made is indicative as to the mindset of Mia and the political class. They have read from the same script as Barrow and all those who followed him: Bajan blacks should never be allowed to feel truly comfortable in Barbados and must be kept down.

Mia would like to see a new Barbados. The nurses can return to their jobs and endure the same conditions or they can seek employment abroad as inferred by Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland. The Ghanaian nurses have unwittingly become the adversaries of Barbadian nurses.

By the way, go back to some of the comments made by the UK journalist concerning west African nurses and their attitudes towards Caribbean patients in London.

16. But there comes a time when society changes and a new thought process takes a foot hold one that calls govt to account
    The silence which is seen on this small country comes from a generation of people taught that silence is golden in that peace is preferable over war
    But I submit that when that silence is broken the floodgates of chaos comes rolling through and govt has much to pay from years of closed anger and disgust

17. It appears that the solution to the importation of nurses is to have one nurse picket Parliament.

I pray that the blogger is not representative of the Bajan intelligentsia.

18. And yuh know what
    No West Indian nurse fully qualified from within their country can show up just like that and apply for a job in the health profession and get it
    International rules are stringent these nurses have to be requalified and be in accordance with the state requirements to work in the health care profession including country dominant language

19. TheO

The one hr lost affecting ur brain ?

There is no need for a solution to importing nurses . Go back to sleep and try again in an hr

20. I will bet that if such nurses plight had occured under past administration
    Mia then party in opposition would have raised a stink
    But bajans seems to have short memories as not to remember the midday sun marches that occured organized by herself the blp.party and private sector and Unions when govt workers needed an increase in pay
    After all when said and done the pittance the govt workers got wasn’t even enough to buy a roll.of toilet paper
    Now the same Private sector and Unions have not one word to say
    The injustice done to these workers spells of hypocrisy of the highest order placed on a bed of political wrong doing

21. re No West Indian nurse fully qualified from within their country can show up just like that and apply for a job in the health profession and get it
    NOT TRUE
    ALL DEM GOT TO DO IN THE USA THESE DAYS IS PASS WHAT IS CALLED THE STATE BOARD EXAMS OR NETFLEX
    THEY DONT NEED TO START AND TRAIN ALL OVER FROM SCRATCH AS IN THE PAST

EXPLAINS WHY IN RECENT TIMES WE SEE SO MANY AFRICAN GIRLS VISITING OUR CHURCH FOR A FEW WEEKS BEFORETHEY GO TO THE PLACES WHERE THEY THEY ARE GOING TO WORK UH LIE?

BY THE WAY WHAT YOU SHOULD BE ASKING IN YOUR OBVIOUS DEEP IGNORANCE IS

HAS THE GHANIAN AND CUBAN NURSE PASSED THE WEST INDIAN NURSES EXAM THAT EVEN OUR NURSES MUST PASS AFTER QUALIFYING LOCALLY

HAVE YOU YOURSELF PASSED ANY EXAMS—-INCLUDING COMMON SENSE 101?

International rules are stringent these nurses
    PLEASE KINDLY TELL US WHAT THESE STRINGENT INTERNATIONAL NEWS ARE MISS NURSE RECRUITER

have to be requalified and be in accordance with the state requirements to work in the health care profession including country dominant language

ALL DEM GOT TO DO IS TEK NETFLEX OR THE STATE BOARDS
    IN THE USA EVEN THE LOCAL NURSES MUST TAKE THE EXACT STATE BOARD EXAMS

22. AC

Did the nurses plight not occured under the DLP? Man take off your blindfolds !

The importation of nurses is to address the shortage of nurses on island. It is also address one of the demands of the striking nurses – reducing the number of patients to nurses load on the overworked nurses

23. I am not understanding this narrative about shortage of nurses on the island
    Yuh mean to say that Barbados University or colleges cannot turn out 200 hundred qualified nurses yearly
    Also within the Caricom region

24. ALL DEM GOT TO DO IS TEK NETFLEX OR THE STATE BOARDS
    Xxx
    So what is your point
    They have to take state exams
    Unlike what this govt sets out to do

25. @ William and David
    Caswell is FULLY accustomed to the kind of treatment that he has received from this Government.
    Bushie has FROM THE START (even before Caswell was known on BU) pointed him out as a NATIONAL RESOURCE for his ability to stand up for RIGHTEOUSNESS in the face of personal abuse and victimisation.

NO ONE has been fired as many times as Caswell.
    No one has been CUSSED as many times as Caswell..
    No one has been victimized or insulted as much…
    This SAME PM made insulting references to a small ‘gift’ that was given to him by her party at some point…
    …and yet tomorrow, Caswell will stand up for what is RIGHT all over again.

As is said in Isaiah 1, God has SELECTED a few outliers to REPRESENT truth and rightness amidst the plethora of brass bowl lackies and shiitehounds that constitute this place called buhbadus – (the land owned by foreigners.)
    ….Otherwise we would be NO BETTER than Sodom and Gomorrah.
    Let us just COUNT our blessings in this regard at least…

26. RE ALL DEM GOT TO DO IS TEK NETFLEX OR THE STATE BOARDS

THIS IS THE POINT YOU IGNORAMUS

NURSES ARE BEING RECRUITED FROM HERE THERE AND EVERYWHERE TODAY BY PASSING CERTAIN EXAMS
    IF A GAHANIAN NURSE OR BAJAN TRAINED NURSE CAN PAST THE WEST INDIES NURSING EXAM, THEY ARE ELIGIBLE TO PRACTICE THAT PROFESSION IN BARBADOS

UNTIL YOU CAN PROVE THAT THE SELECTED NURSES FROM GHANA CAN NOT OR HAVE NOT PASSED THIS EXAM——YOU ARE EFLLUXING FROM YOUR SHELVES OF HOUSTON

1- IN OUR DAY BECAUSE WOMEN HAVE OPPORTUNITIES TO DO MORE THINGS THAN TEACH SCHOOL AND NURSING THEY DO SO
    SO THE BRIGHTEST GIRLS DO MOREEXCITING THINGS….SO FEWER GIRLS TO BE COME NURSES
    2 THE VERY DUMB GIRLS CANT EVEN QUALIFY TO GET INTO NURSING SCHOOL OR STRUGLE TO PASS THE EXAMS
    3THOSE THAT QUALIFY GET RECRUITED TO GO TO THE USA, BECAUSE THEY ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM NOTED ABOVE
    4 SEEMS THAT IT IS NOW BEING CORRECTED… BUT WAS IT NOT YOUR DLP GOVERNTMENT THAT THOUGHT THAT NURSES IN TRAINING SHOULD NOT BE PAID AS WAS ALWAYS THE CASE
    THIS FURTHER REDUCED THE POOL

WHEREAS YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO OPPOSE GOVERNMENT POLICY YOU NEED A BRAIN TRANSPLANT TO ENABLE YOU TO CHOSE YOUR BATTLES BETTER, AND TO HAVE THE CAPACITY TO RESEARCH AND BE FULLY COGNIZANT OF THE ISSUES FOR WHICH YOU SEEK TO ADVOCATE

YOU KNOW NOTHING ABOUT THE CAUSE OF THE NURSING SHORTAGE, AND YOU HAVE NO SOLUTIONS TO OFFER EXCEPT YOUR INNATELY INEPT IGNORANT RANTS

YOU ARE RUNNING AND BOWLING FAST BUT YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHERE THE STUMPS ARE—–AND SO YOUR AIM IS EXTREMELY POOR.
    THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

27. @William

Wide public consultation is preferred BUT the blogmaster has attended many town hall meetings with the usual attendees numbering 30 or 40 people. There is a general lack of interest by a wide cross-section of the Barbados public in governance issues.

28. @TLSN

In the countries where you and others that constantly criticize Barbados, Black People cannot breath or there is a rush of wind that acts as a reminder. So what is your rh point? All countries of the world struggling to aspire to be a utopian state. It will never be perfect but we must try. Barbados is no different than any other country in this regard.

#blm

29. Correction: POOR black people are third class citizens in Barbados. I have never had a major problem that I could not get fixed. I have never been denied my rights anywhere in Barbados.

Life has been very good to me in Barbados. My concern is for others and not myself.

I can speak of my experience, having lived here. Never have I been made to feel third classp

30. When a decision was taken to manage the QEH by a Board from under the wing of the public service a couple hundred nurses didn’t sign on. Also BCC for different reasons has been unable to supple enough local nurses. The consequence is that Barbados has struggled with adequate nurse complement. The recent strike and before that covid 19 escalated the problem.

31. You obviously don’t read with comprehension. Many blogs were posted to BU that highlighted challenges with BCC nursing program under the previous administration.

32. @Bush Tea

Be that as it may, there comes a time when to flex is a prerequisite to achieve a solution even if it falls short of the ideal. The blogmaster has long enough to know that it often boils down to a zero sum game.

33. Sometimes the blogmaster finds a phrase that elicits a smile 😁
    “You obviously don’t read with comprehension.”

That would have driven me crazy…. The most polite of fighting talk.

34. Well I also read cases where the nurses were not able to meet the required testing standards which resulted in failures
    Maybe what u should do is take a look at the quality of those teaching the nursing program
    Cause no matter how much money is funneled into the program and the level of teaching is not up to standard large failures would result in shortages

35. The blogmaster just accessed the video from another device and the audio is working fine.

36. The health minister’s comments came as he said the major reason for the shortage over the years had been the regional nursing exam. Minister Bostic explained that the percentage of passes among the graduates from the Barbados Community College (BCC) taking the exam was not at the level it needed to be. But, he said since 2019, the number of persons passing that exam has been on the increase. He indicated that in April 2019 when concrete action was taken to address the problem, the pass rate was 55 per cent. It increased to 62 per cent in October 2019; 73 per cent in July 2020 and 75 per cent in November 2020. With that pass rate increasing, he stated, it is helping to build out the complement of nurses required.

“That has happened because we’ve been able to rationalise the offerings at the Barbados Community College with what is required by the nurses to pass the regional exam, and after a series of meetings involving all stakeholders, we were able to provide a programme to rectify this and obviously, we are seeing the results of our efforts,” he stated.

37. RE Well I also read cases where the nurses were not able to meet the required testing standards which resulted in failures
    Maybe what u should do is take a look at the quality of those teaching the nursing program
    MAYBE YOU NEED TO LOOK AT THE CANDIDATES WHO ARE PRESENTING

THERE IS A POINT AT WHICH TEACHERS CAN NOT HELP——AS EVIDENTLY IN YOUR CASE
    THE GIRLS AT BCC COULD NOT PASS THE REGIONAL EXAM BECAUSE THEY WERE DUMB– JUST LIKE YOU

I TAUGHT NURSES FROM BCC IN THE CLINICS FROM 1985- 1995
    AND I STILL TEACH NURSING STUDENTS ONLINE

UNLIKE YOU AND BOSTIC I KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT
    GO BACK TO YOUR MARK
    AND RUN IN AGAIN AC

38. The great population exchange has begun. The first hundred African nurses are coming, the first hundred Barbadian nurses will hopefully soon be loaned to Saudi Arabia for labour service. That leaves another 79,900 rebellious locals to deport.

39. OOPS
    LOOKS LIKE I STEP ON SOMEBODY CORNS
    😄 🤣 😂 😆 😄 🤣 😂

40. Budget day today and there are bills to be paid

https://youtu.be/BT_iQ1Lbfm8

41. @ angela cox March 14, 2022 8:00 AM
    Budget day today and there are bills to be paid
    (Unquote).

Guess you, Madame “ac”, can call today ‘V-Day’ (and not “B-Day”).

Not Victory for you but Vindication for being vilified by some bloggers like Enuff and John No.2.

You were told incessantly chastised for calling for a budget only to be told that the Estimates of Revenue & Expenditure were the only budget in Bridgetown.

Just to be safe in protecting yourself from the coming onslaught simply refer to the upcoming pappy-show as ‘the financial statement on the necessary fiscal measures required to help close the very wide gap between the projected revenues and the committed expenditures for the Government’s Financial Year 2022-23.

So which would you choose between the following two tax-revenue raising measures:

Increase VAT to a ‘flat’ 20% with a reduction in the number of items on the exempt and zero –rated lists?

Or a specific (additional) Tax on the chain of Fast Food Outlets to make the lazy NCD-ridden Bajans pay for their inevitable high health costs upfront; just like how motorists have to pay for the use of the roads?

42. Putting some flat footed inspectors on the ground to catch the big belly business super markets operators who takes price gouging to an extreme level would be some way of giving savings to the people
    Also slapping them with heavy fines which can generate revenue for govt
    VAT should also be lowered as. temporary measure to help the people cope

43. Miller

In ur attempt to Get ac crown on ur head. Get ur facts straight or just leave Out my name

I alway stated that we will Get a budget when it was due this year .