Submitted by Nathan Green

St Vincent and the Grenadines

With the Russian invasion of Ukraine, we have to instruct our Government that we want nothing more to do with Russia. But unfortunately, for many years, the state of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines has been voting with Russia and for Russia at the UN. That has to stop right now.

Due to the Gonsalves Vincentian regime being in bed with Cuba and Venezuela, we support Russia. Ralph Gonsalves [the Comrade] would describe it as solidarity with his allies. Remember those words “his allies”. Because they really should not be regarded as friends or allies of the Vincentian people, they are his communist allies, not ours. SVG is not quite communist yet, but it could be with a bit of extra push from the Gonsalves regime and his dynastical backers.

I have warned the people of SVG on many occasions of the creeping peasantisation of SVG. More people have been reduced to peasant status during the last twenty years than before in Vincentian history.

Russia is clearly in the wrong and has been making veiled threats of using nuclear weapons against any country that intervenes.

This is the second phase of the rebuilding of the Soviet Union.

We must do our part as a nation and ban Russian vessels from our Ports, all their boats and aircraft. We should make that a public statement.

If we have students in Russia, they should be recalled. We must break all ties with Russia.

Also, if the Chinese want to back Putin’s actions, we must ban them; besides, we should stop buying everything Chinese. Hit them in the pocket, along with Russia; they are a grave threat to the World.

We must not vote at the UN in any way that supports or gives Russia comfort, which includes abstention from a vote because that is another form of support.

You will remember how SVG voted at the UN when Russia invaded Crimea. https://www.ieyenews.com/opinion-bought-by-the-chinese-taiwanese-japanese-and-now-the-russianese/

https://www.curacaochronicle.com/post/opinion/rambo-putin-pupitizes-maduro-and-the-caribbean-marxist-leaders/

and this article may be more relevant than ever:-

https://www.mnialive.com/articles/is-a-nation-or-a-man-responsible-for-unleashing-a-biological-war-on-the-world

We should be looking for a statement from Gonsalves that he is sanctioning Russia and any Russian investors in SVG; unless he can tell us he is doing that, it is time for him to pack up and go.

He can now choose to move to Cuba, Venezuela, or Russia.

Once again, it is time for the World to condemn Russia. At the last election, Ralph Gonsalves gave himself the World Boss title. But that is a title that Vladimir Putin wants for himself.

Let us have your input, Comrade, and see what you are made of. Are you World Class or Stinker Class?

19 responses to “Should We Ban the Russians or Ban the Comrade?”

1. University lecturer says de-escalation calls should be made without finger-pointing
    Article by Kareem Smith
    Published on
    February 25, 2022

Prime Minister Mia Mottley and her Caribbean Community (CARICOM) counterparts have been admonished to leave no stone unturned in their calls for a swift de-escalation of the conflict between Russia and Ukraine.

International relations specialist at the University of the West Indies (UWI) Dr Kristina Hinds warned that the first world war in nearly a century could be triggered if the situation is mishandled with devastating socioeconomic consequences for small states.

At the same time, the outspoken academic has cautioned regional governments against “overtly” taking sides.

“Our position, I believe, should be in support of de-escalation and a way to diplomatically resolve this conflict in the soonest possible time,” Hinds told Barbados TODAY on Thursday.

“Generally in the region, we are not supportive of these kinds of conflicts that disturb international peace and security and that end up in severe loss of life, dislocation of populations and general harm to people who are caught in the middle of these kinds of aggressive actions.

“The other response, which I think we’ve seen already is to consider how this conflict will affect the cost of living in Barbados and the region and what measures we will be putting in place to ensure we have adequate access to energy and the products that we need, bearing in mind that we are likely to see price increases from this conflict,” the lecturer added.

Earlier in the day, PM Mottley and CARICOM issued separate statements essentially calling on Russia to cease hostilities, respect Ukraine’s territorial sovereignty and withdraw its forces.

According to Dr Hinds, the local and regional calls ought to be made “without pointing a finger”.

“I think there is support for the safety and security of the people of Ukraine but I don’t know that it is especially productive in a situation like this to overtly appear to be taking one side or another when you are seeking a diplomatic solution,” said Dr Hinds.

“Violation of sovereignty is something that is very serious in international affairs, we see it in this conflict and it is not acceptable. However, getting all parties to cool this situation down and resolve this is a priority, rather than affixing blame to one side or another,” she added.

Dr Hinds believes the regional response should also be targeted at those influential super powers who could be critical in either fanning or extinguishing the flames of war.

“I don’t want to say that another world war is inevitable, but it is certainly not impossible. I think it is still possible to have a de-escalation of this situation, but it will take a little bit of time because we have already reached the point of a military invasion and military aggression,” said Hinds.

“It really is important for the countries that can exercise some influence over Russia to do so. China for instance and countries that have friendships both ways; India, for instance, and other countries and there definitely is a role for the United Nations as well. Once a conflict of this nature has begun, I believe it could go in either direction, depending on the way in which the international community responds.

“We have relationships in this region with Russia. There are countries that have received the Sputnik vaccine for instance, St Vincent and the Grenadines. So we clearly do have ties with Russia and we have to be very aware of what is happening and I do think that there is a space for us to have our voices heard and seek a diplomatic solution. Even though we may not be affected by the invasion itself, we will face significant consequences to the cost of living, cost of doing business and accessing goods that we need to import to the country and also potential exports out of the country,” Hinds added.

In a separate statement, Stefan Newton, who specialises in International Human Rights law explained that the complex unfolding conflict is occurring at a time when populations have very little appetite for disastrous events as they recover from the pandemic.

This, he believes, could lay the foundation for Russian president Vladimir Putin to expand the scope of his geopolitical ambitions.

“Taking into account domestic political calculations, leaders may be somewhat more amenable to making concessions in negotiations over Ukraine,” said Newton, an international legal consultant with Rommel St Hill Attorneys & International Law Consultancy.

“Peaceful solutions that may be thrown around include a power-sharing agreement or sort of bringing back [Ukraine] into the Russian empire”…but with a separate governance structure,” he added. kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb

Source: Barbados Today

2. Search Results for: ukraine

Chernobyl used to be in USSR aka Russia

Is Bu like MSM chatting about Ukraine just for war

I remember it was a hot Bu topic back in 2013

https://barbadosunderground.net/page/2/?s=ukraine

3. Search Results for: russia

BU needs Pachamama to paint a bigger picture in broad brush strokes albeit with a arguable contentious take

https://barbadosunderground.net/page/3/?s=russia

4. This is all very confusing because Russia is not even communist anymore.

I hate war and so I hate this invasion but I don’t see one side of this issue to be wrong and the other right. World geopolitics are very complicated.

Both “military super powers” believe that they are acting in their own interest of self-preservation. Neither give a fig about us beyond what little we can contribute to that.

Egg should not go to big rock dance. Let the big rocks dance by themselves, I say!

5. “Both “military super powers” believe that they are acting in their own interest of self-preservation. Neither give a fig about us beyond what little we can contribute to that.”

perhaps you should take Ukraine out of the equation to view the situation and look at as Russia vs USA + poodle allies and/or West vs East

It was said the Cold War between Eagle and the Bear was to enable both sides to build nuclear arsenals

Western Intelligence says Putin does not wish to use bigger booms but Trump was a clear and present danger to go nuclear

According to the Federation of American Scientists, Russia leads the world with 6,200 nuclear weapons. The U.S. has 5,600. The weapons of mass destruction can kill hundreds of thousands of people at once.

6. Sound and much needed advice once stated by the rght Hon.Errol Barrow
    Friends of All
    Satellites of None
    I belive that message was intended for Mia and Ralphie
    One day instead of a rock planted on his head he might have the unfortunate sight of seeing missiles heading towards his back door

7. Dub,

That’s what I was doing. Ukraine is not a military super power.

8. ( う-´)づ︻╦̵̵̿╤── \(˚☐˚”)/ Gun Violence Avatar
    ( う-´)づ︻╦̵̵̿╤── \(˚☐˚”)/ Gun Violence

“That’s what I was doing. Ukraine is not a military super power”
    ( う-´)づ︻╦̵̵̿╤── (˚☐˚”)/ Gun Violence
    (凸ಠ益ಠ)凸 Middle Fingers

¯_(ツ)_/¯
    (◕‿◕✿)
    (⁄ ⁄•⁄ω⁄•⁄ ⁄)
    ( ་ − ་ )ུ
    ( ^◡^)っ✂╰⋃╯ Misandry
    ( ༎ຶ ۝ ༎ຶ )

and sometimes people agree theories on social media advancing and expounding not arguing at all

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“If your enemy is secure at all points, be prepared for him. If he is in superior strength, evade him. If your opponent is temperamental, seek to irritate him.[…] If sovereign and subject are in accord, put division between them. Attack him where he is unprepared, appear where you are not expected.” Sun Tzu

@David, the academics and international politicians are offering a lot of “sweet talk’. It is exactly the reason that millions of Americans and others across the globe embrace the bold faced lying and in-your-face adversarial personas and hoist them on high in so called ‘populist’ movements! We cannot act with such middling verbiage when our opponents are aggressively dismantling ALL peaceful methods with deliberate, fatally effective action…. such is an act of madness or cowardice. The danger is NOT in pointing fingers; it is in not being POINTEDLY direct in labelling Putin as what he is!

Being pacifists is to accept death without a fight; that is but one option. To defend oneself and die boldly is another!

Dr. Hinds words as the regular double-speak required of her status and our broken world politics. Why is it NOT productive to directly and specifically say that ALL TENETS of international law forbids the invasion of a sovereign nation by another UNLESS and ONLY if the invader is DEFENDING an attack itself! ….. If sovereignty is very serious why would it be an “overtly” bad act to condemn Putin and to directly take sides to say that it’s illegal and breaks all UN conventions to which Russia is a veto-power waging security council original signatory! Why??? Diplomacy means you can tell your ally or enemy that they are WRONG when they are wrong!

In 2017 we heard this: “But he’s a killer,” O’Reilly said to Trump. There are a lot of killers. You think our country’s so innocent? Trump replied.” So yes, if we are going to play the ‘well the US did it too game’ then of course we will remain in this warped sense of illogical, yo-yo existence where strong-men/women personalities can wield their nuclear triggered nations as their personal toys and twirl the world on their fingers like malleable charms.

This is a nonsense in any warfare battle perspective. Bombs should be raining down on Moscow or IEDs re-decorating their vistas therein. “Attack him where he is unprepared, appear where you are not expected.

How can an aggressor who uses radioactive poisons to kill dissidents, political opponents or vocal critics be trusted with diplomatic niceties; a man who bullies his neighbor into submission with bombs and bullets while claiming his right to act because of the MERE TALK of a NATO security alliance be considered as contemplative or reasonable???

Viva Vlad Putin as surely his 20 plus years leading Russia has established him as the undisputed world boss who can get away with whatever he so desires. The ineffectual President of the US nor the fawning Euro leaders who all need some of his energy to survive can ever stop this man!

10. Show your hand (reveal your cards).
    Americans want to act tough and stand up to Putin but don’t want to go to War with him.
    RoW are followers of USA and not leaders.
    Arming Ukraine will make some bread but is not going to solve anything.

11. @Dee Word

Only a few chiefs and a multitude of Indians.

12. Our Supreme Leader has once again shown decency, character, dignity and foresight. She has explicitly condoned the criminal war of aggression against a peace-loving people. And what is Dr Kristina Hinds doing? She is stabbing our government in the back by calling for strict neutrality. Is this a taxpayer-funded employee or a mouthpiece of the Kremlin? Just a question.

It is time for our security forces to silence Dr Hinds.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Yes @David, one big chief Putin and multiple Indian accomplishes basically.

One writer in the Economist offered that :” Accommodating Mr Putin in the hope that he will start to behave nicely would be more dangerous still. Even China should see that a man who rampages across frontiers is a threat to the stability it seeks. The freer Mr Putin is to advance today, the more determined he will be to impose his vision tomorrow. And the more blood will be spilled in finally getting him to stop.’

Another comment that caught my attention from a former diplomat for that part of the world was: “Putin certainly has an endgame in mind: It’s recreating the Russian Empire with himself as tsar. After more than two decades of iron rule and with no competitors to worry about, he seems to think he is a genius. He also scorns the leaders in the West, notably the U.S. president. However, even before the attack on Ukraine, the Russian public was becoming less muted about growing concern of bloodshed in both countries. That could bring Putin down.”

Really not clear, however, why Putin would lose face and major support at home UNLESS Russians are made to hurt badly from his ambitions of being a resurgent Czar… he will not have the many body bags of young men and women coming home as seen in the US affairs for Iraq or Afghanistan to dampen home support so that calculus of bringing him down is a less compelling argument, I believe.

14. I do not agree with Putin but I try not to see things through the eyes of the West. Nato is forever invading sovereign nations in what they determine to be their own interest.

Yuh cyan call out one without calling out the other!

And in all other matters the “super powers” combine to shut us out of prosperity.

I say let them sort out their differences. As usual, we will be left to pick up the pieces they break for us. We had better concern ourselves with that.

15. Not a Russell Brand fan but he breaks down the new war scams well

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=595Esg6Mz0U

16. Cops crack gun smuggling scheme to Barbados
    The arrest of a Barbadian in United States in 2020 uncovered a sophisticated scheme of gun smugglings into Barbados.
    It involved the purchasing of several firearms from legitimate gun suppliers, scratching off the serial numbers, packing the guns inside boxes with false bottoms and shipping them to Barbados through carriers such as Fed-ex, UPS and DHL.
    Barbadian Rashad Sargeant, who lives in Atlanta, and David Johnson pleaded guilty last year to a number of charges involving the shipping of 30 guns to Barbados between 2018-2020. They are to be sentenced later this year. Shunquez Stephens, the recruited “straw purchaser” also admitted his part.
    US Special Agent Jonathan P. Gray, a Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) agent who was involved in the investigation, described straw purchase as the acquisition of firearms from a federally licensed firearms dealer by an individual (straw), to conceal the identity of the true receiver of the firearms.
    Recently, Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce revealed a number of high-powered weapons seized during the last six months. However, there was no response from him in relation to Sargeant’s admission or the role of local police in the investigations.
    Police here seized a number of the imported firearms from a DHL shipping facility in 2019 and also from Fedex, Sheraton, also in 2019.
    US officials revealed how Sargeant and his “straw purchasers” paid cash for the weapons from different dealers, mainly in Georgia, signing documentation that the firearms were for personal use. Sargeant then made several trips to Barbados.
    On April 22, 2019, some of the firearms were intercepted in a box with a false bottom at the FedEx facility in Puerto Rico shipped from Atlanta, Georgia,
    two days prior and en route to Barbados.
    Sargeant’s fingerprints were on packing material inside the false bottom of the package shipped the day after Sargeant purchased a Glock pistol on April 18, 2019.
    On August 27, 2019, firearms bought by both Sargeant and Stephens were discovered at a DHL shipping facility located on Pilgrim Road, Christ Church, Barbados. The package was mailed from College Park, Georgia, on August 22, 2019 with another name listed as the sender. The firearms were seized and traced by local police. On July 10, 2019, four of the 9mm pistols which Sargeant bought were recovered at Fed Ex Sheraton Centre in a package shipped from Fairview Heights, Illinois, on July 9 Special Agent Gray testified that in the span of five months, Sargeant purchased 23 firearms, 17 of which are 9mm pistols and 13 of which are specifically Taurus 9mm pistols. He noted that except for two transactions in which the payment could not be verified, Sargeant paid cash for the guns.
    “In my training and experience, the purchase of a large number of firearms of the same manufacturer or calibre in a short time-frame, coupled with the fact that the buyer paid cash, indicates that the firearms are being trafficked,” he said.
    He also noted that “a few of the firearms left Sargeant’s possession one day after he bought them, bound for Barbados, where he is from”.
    He added: “Sargeant is not the sender on both packages containing his guns, nor did the sender declare to the shipper that there were guns in the package, as required by law.”
    The Special Agent further pointed out that ATF firearm trace records indicate that Georgia is a primary source state for firearms illegally trafficked to the Caribbean.
    It was also revealed that on December 5, 2020, agents were notified that Sargeant had booked a flight with American Airlines, to fly on December 7, 2020 from Atlanta, Georgia to Miami, Florida and on to Barbados.
    The Special Agents noted that “based on Sargeant’s previous travel history, he tends to travel to Barbados close in time to either the buying of firearms or shipping of firearms in this conspiracy”. They pointed out that on March 17, 2019, he flew to Barbados, returning on March 22, 2019. He then bought firearms on March 25 and 27, 2019. Some of those firearms were shipped to Barbados in April 2019.
    Also in August 2019,
    Shunquez Stephens bought multiple firearms and these were also shipped to Barbados. Sargeant travelled to Barbados on September 11, 2019, returning in October 2019. Stephens also bought a firearm on November 2, 2019, which was shipped to Barbados on November 19, 2019 and Sargeant flew to Barbados on November 23 2019, returning in March 2020.
    Sargeant, 27, of College Park, Georgia, pleaded guilty on September 2, 2021 to unlawfully exporting firearms to Barbados. David Johnson, 31, of Belleville, Illinois, pleaded guilty on July 22, 2021 while Stephens, 28, of Flowery Branch, Georgia, pleaded guilty for his role in the scheme on June 21, 2021.

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

So @David, was there a local rollup to this story? The story noted that “Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce revealed a number of high-powered weapons [were] seized during the last six months. However, there was no response from him in relation to Sargeant’s admission or the role of local police in the investigations.

Has there been any further roll-up to suggest whether the US case is related to the weapons seized locally; or has there been any arrests of locals that would have been linked to Sergeant’s many trips back home??

The number of weapons noted above suggest a very well armed local ‘militia’ of the criminally minded … based simply on the fact that if those were discovered then several others likely got in undetected.

This is obviously a badly overlooked problem and has been allowed to fester like a gangrenous wound … amputation (major loss) is inevitable and so too the finger-pointing recriminations of how the problem started, who allowed it and all that … But UNLESS we are truly aiming to save other limbs and obviously the life of the host … then that chatter is meaningless.

I deeply wonder if our nation is intended to save itself because we have the ability to shut out this level of gun imports and we obviously are NOT!

Lata.

18. @Dee Word

Yours is a rhetorical question.

Leave a Reply to 555dubstreetCancel reply