In this part of the world there is the misconception by many that because we are located thousands of miles from Russia and the Ukraine, we will be unaffected by events unfolding. This is far from the truth given the interdependence of the global economy and how unrest fueled by war and rumours of war will further disrupt supply chains and cause volatility in financial markets. Also important is how East West tensions may erase the gains achieved at détente since the Cold War period.

Whether we believe Putin is a warmonger given his paideia that the attempt by former Soviet Union States – now sovereign states – pose a threat to Mother Russia because of potential membership in NATO, fear of growing democracies on Russia’s border or how it may influence the totalitarian system practiced by Russia – these are not exhaustive concerns, these are legitimate concerns.

What we know if Newton’s third law is loosely applied – “for every action in nature there is an equal and opposite reaction”. We have awakened to the news of EU and US in discussions to apply unprecedented sanctions on Russia. Russia is no stranger to suffering sanctions from the West. The annexation of Crimea by Russia is well documented. It is being reported Russia has accumulated 600 billions in reserves to mitigate economic sanctions. This will be a long fight with potential significant fallout for the global economy at the current rate of escalation.

So far the other other major economic power in the world has been reluctant to throw the bear to the wolves. Pundits have been opining that China has formed an alliance with Russia which maybe the comfort President of Russia Vladimir Putin needed to pursue his objectives by invading Ukraine. 

What is amusing to the blogmaster is to listen to commentators using the sovereignty argument to criticize Putin. Others have invoked violation of UN Charters. Where were the same commentators when the USA and friendlies invaded Iraq on the pretext Saddam Hussein had amassed weapons of mass destruction (WMD)? The blogmaster is not intending to endorse policies of either side in the conflict only to respond to positions being taken based on ignorance.

In this part of the world we have to be concerned if military conflict continues to ramp up. In recent days Minister Kerri Symmonds alluded to an urgency for Barbados to increase local production of crude to 200 a barrels by ‘milking’ old wells. Bare in mind we continue to negotiate a pandemic and Barbados along with other economies in the region – defined as open economies – will buffet with the potential to capsize in a global economic storm. 

In the world of geopolitics small islands in the Caribbean have no real voice or influence in the sphere of geopolitics. With the UN Security Council polarized the region must be very careful how we shape a position on the conflict. There is the saying when elephants fight, it is the grass that suffers.

347 responses to “Russia/Ukraine Conflict”

1. Mottley you show some serious ingratitude towards China with those loose lips utterances towards Russia
    China’s best friend
    Nope Nope you are not entitled to throw shade at your friends friend
    Nope ..Nope you are not entitled to be asking China for help in the availability and accessing Barbados to COVID vaccine and then throw a missile in China way
    Nope Nope you are not entitled to statements which boomerang in China’s face after you signed agreements with China
    All you have done is giving China free access to spy on your personality traits which produced an image of two faces
    China does not forget

2. “Mottley you show some serious ingratitude towards China with those loose lips utterances towards Russia”

Should the Prime Minister of the Republic ask the DLP opposition for permission on what she should say or should she dick them

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

3. Donna its a feel good thing, everyone will pat themselves on the back and say we tried to help but lets face it if the US wanted to take over Canada today who would care and it wouldnt be like 1812. May as well , we are almost american anyways, our largest trading partner, our prime minister is black …well a lot of the pictures I have seen him in are ……I must say at least the puffed up toad from france reminded putin they all have nuclear weapons .
    Who would think you can go to jail for setting up a bouncy castle, have a street dance and barbeque, feed the homeless etc and end up in jail…only in canada.

4. Dr Kristina Hinds is once again stabbing our Supreme Leader in the back. This time on the Ukraine issue. Russia is now even threatening to crash the international space station into the United States. And what does Hinds do? She demands that we remain totally neutral, in other words, that our Supreme Leader keep her mouth shut and grovel before the enemy.

So I have the following questions publicly for Dr Hinds:

One: Have you ever had any contact with Russians?

Second: Have you ever accepted money from Russians to influence public opinion in Barbados?

Third: Have you been hired by the Russians to destabilise our democracy?

It is time for our National Security Council to finally take Dr Hinds into protective custody and subject her to a harsh interrogation! We must finally know whether she is still on our side or has defected to the dark enemy of human mankind.

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Do you have a degree in teasing or talking in code or on TLSN? Jesus, I can’t take anymore”

these are things i have said before, but just scroll past to save your sanity because the local and foreign PERPS do not plan to stop…so it keeps going on and on until they do..

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Who would think you can go to jail for setting up a bouncy castle, have a street dance and barbeque, feed the homeless etc and end up in jail…only in canada.”

i knew you were not going to miss that one…;lol

7. Any one who believes that China .Barbados relations is not strained raise yuh hands
    There is a well known Chinese Proverb
    Don’t bite the hand that feed yuh
    Free things no good
    I dumbfounded at this blunder
    Who would think that a PM who reveals in the international spotlight would throw shade at one of her best friends China
    How could PM forget that China was first in line to save lives in Barbados during the Pandemic
    Hence millions of doses of vaccines where handed Barbados way
    SMH in disbelief

8. Read ePaper
    Home / Local News / Loan from China to get Scotland District road rehab on course

Loan from China to get Scotland District road rehab on course – by Anesta Henry February 19, 2022
    Major infrastructural works are set to begin in the Scotland District soon.

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley on Friday signed a framework agreement paving the way for a $230 million concessional loan from the EXIM Bank of China to fund the rehabilitation of 224 kilometres of road. A total of 56 roads will be improved.

During a brief signing ceremony with China’s Ambassador to Barbados Yan Xiusheng, at IIaro Court, Prime Minister Mottley said the loan will be repaid at an interest rate of two per cent which she indicated is highly concessional, because “if we went to market, we would be repaying a lot more for the money that we are borrowing”.

She said the government of China has agreed to subsidise the difference between the two per cent interest rate and the market rate which is somewhere between 4.5 and 5 per cent.

“Our calculations would tell you that when you look at that amount over the period of 20 years, you’re effectively looking at $85 million in subsidy or the equivalent of $42.5 million US dollars. And, therefore, we want, on behalf of the people of Barbados and the Government of Barbados, to thank the people and government of the People’s Republic of China for so graciously agreeing to provide that subsidy, while allowing us then to service the two per cent interest on the US$115 million which is, by far, a smaller amount when you look at the market rates,” she said.

The Prime Minister said it is critical for her administration to follow through with the Scotland District Road Rehabilitation Project, although the country remains in an International Monetary Fund (IMF) programme, is managing a COVID-19 pandemic, and some citizens are still recovering from the losses sustained from Hurricane Elsa and the freak storm last year.

Mottley said when the slippage in the Scotland District – which covers a seventh of Barbados’ landmass – started more than a decade ago, it was not contained, leading to the rate of erosion worsening. She said a major tour operator had even stopped sending buses on the East Coast because of the poor conditions of the road infrastructure.

She said the project is therefore critical to the stability of a large part of the country and to those who live in the eastern parishes, particularly St Thomas, and parts of St Lucy and St Peter.

“We continue to have to shore up a large part of that part of the island. That’s why you see the Government embarked two years ago on a gabion construction and stabilisation programme, because we know well that the gabions work and that they allow us, therefore, to be able to try to stabilise as much as we can.

“But… we believe that over the course of the next few years, over the life of this project, we will do much to stabilise the Scotland District,” she said.

The Prime Minister also reiterated the Government’s intention to, as soon as possible, get the Scotland District Authority up to and running to stabilise the lives and livelihoods of the people living in the area.

Meanwhile, Ambassador Xiusheng, who expressed China’s eagerness to continue bilateral relations with Barbados, announced that a construction contractor for the Centre for Food Security and Entrepreneurship project and the Hope Agriculture Training Institute project has been selected, and the advance group is already in Barbados for the field preparation.

The Chinese diplomat said the Implementation Plan for Agricultural Cooperation between Hunan Province and Barbados’ Ministry of Agriculture and Food and Nutritional Security has been forwarded to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade for review, adding that the Protocol on Sending Chinese Medical Teams to Barbados is on the waiting list for signing.

9. @ Donna et al
    We are destroying the dreams of young, gifted , black entrepreneurs every day. Pumping a hundred million into their businesses , will create three thousand good jobs almost overnight!
    Imagine a nearly one billion dollars on the red and not even pennies of that were spent on our own young people.
    @ WURA
    I really want to hear those who have been pushing an internationalist agenda.
    I read that editorial and could not believe that it took. Putin’s behaviour to jolt them into reality.
    We don’t live our potential because we don’t believe in it. By now we should have had about 20 varieties of cane juice on the international market. All kinds of Bajan cocktails should be in liquor stores throughout the world.
    But who cares. We can afford anything foreign.

10. PM think before throwing shade at your friend friend
    Says China

China has taken a responsible attitude and persuaded all parties not to escalate tensions or incite war…Those who follow the US’ lead in fanning up flames and then shifting the blame onto others are truly irresponsible,” she said.

11. Dub,

The one to whom it is addressed knows who he is.

But for your benefit, it is the one stuck stuck in the “first century” thinking.

Still there talking about God’s opinion as though he has the only direct line without static.

STEUPSE!

12. Lawson,

You lost me there. I’ll have to google it. Don’t lose your sense of humour! It will see you through.

The last few days I have been watching Dry Bar Comedy. Not your usual style as its a DRY bar and the comedy is sexless.

Still, there’s plenty of racial and ethnic and gender sterotyping.

So you’ll have that.

Actually, they are hilarious!

13. One of the comedians “jumped” me when he said, “If you don’t laugh, you will cry.”

Must of been hanging out with some Bajans.

14. IT’S

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“@ WURA
    I really want to hear those who have been pushing an internationalist agenda.”

let’s hope they can see and understand what’s going on right where they live or were born….first before they make themselves experts and masters of everything in a region that is largely Caucasoid.

you will notice some have a solution to deal with all that is going on in the Caucasus regions, but NONE, not even an opinion, about what to do about the racism, apartheid, disenfranchisement, oppression, discrimination, deliberate pauperization and socio-economic diminution, thefts of tax dollars and pension money, or open their mouths and bellow at the lowlife minorities with their dirty agendas…..all targeting the Black population in Barbados where they are from

…..they can’t even offer a genuine solution on any of that or show any anger through comments, i have watched them for years…while they attacked everyone, including myself, who mentioned any of it, it’s only these days they have to shut up and stop assing around/asking for evidence that was always out there, easily available for at least 20 years on sites like BFP and the Keltruth site in Miami….everyone pretended in their usual style that none of it existed then or still up for destroying now..

…in their view just allow the anti-black agendas to continue, because in their SHALLOW minds that is not human rights abuses right in line with and even worse than, given its decades old existence, what they are now BRAYING, hollering blue murder, showing so much angst and up in arms about..makes ya wonder if it’s something in the food or water, or both…lol

and that’s why no one takes BU that seriously anymore… that was not my opinion. that’s what others are saying….the BU experience.

Kiki…you will be glad to hear that the South East Asian subcontinent is well represented in the next issue of Kush Quarterly..

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…ya know they STILL CAN’T see themselves…right….🤣🤣🤣🤣

but they got all the talk in the world for me and others..

17. Steuspe

18. If yuh think it is bad
    Wait till when China plants its feet in the neck of Barbados economy
    China not going to forgive or forget
    Mia words mean a lot to who China sees as their friends
    China not going play nice when bills come due
    Mia gonna get a real.life lesson in who is in charge of Barbados economic purse
    IMF on one side and China on the other
    That 30- o not going help either

19. People are refusing to rent their homes to people on welfare
    Landlords say that therenters more often than not have to wait long periods to receive their govt checks and it is a risk too high to take when renting their homes to these recipients

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“IMF on one side and China on the other”

ya forgot the billion dollar(s) Saudi/UAE plans…

i had my laughs already…..a writer’s dream unfolding..

am sure their pretend conservative (colonial) status will see them through..

21. After Mia opened her mouth and the truth came out
    Any one party or individual vying for the top.spot of managing Barbados economy should sit back with closed mouth and watch how the response coming from China to Mia unfolds
    Chinese don’t say much
    They plan and plan
    Interesting story in the making
    Titled when friends befriend friends
    Also watch the smiles

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

but don’t mind me, am exhausted from configuring certain things, this is my play time.

23. @ David

I keep ‘saying’ BU is an amazing forum.

Leaders all over the world, including those countries that received loans or financial aid from China, have condemned Russia’s military action against Ukraine.

But, an idiot keeps coming to this forum to give people the impression that Mia Mottley committed an UNPARDONABLE SIN when she expressed similar sentiments and that Barbados will suffer dire consequences as a result.

These silly ‘political yard-fowls’ have an uncanny penchant for politicizing every issue. They are prepared to enter into the ‘realm of absurdity’ to display ‘genuine idiocy’ and criticize for the sake of criticizing.

24. FRIENDS AND FOES, IN HIS SWAN SON LETTERS PAUL WROTE SOME VERY INTERESTING THINGS TO HIS PROTEGE TIMOTHY – A MAN DESCRIBES WITH THE GREEK WORD AS SUNERGOS, (SYNERGISTIC AND CO-OPERATIVE). WE COULD DEAL WITHSOME MORE OF THESE ON BU
    PLEASE PERMIT ME TO SHARE TWO SWEET VERSES
    1 Timothy 4:10
    10 For therefore we both labour and suffer reproach, because we trust in the living God, who is the Saviour of all men, specially of those that believe. I,E HE IS SUFFICIENT FOR ALL BUT ,,,,,,,BUT EFFICIENT ONLY FOR THOSE WHO BELIEVE . AND THIS HAS ALWAYS BEEN SO, IN ALL CENTURIES

LATER HE WROTE
    2 Timothy 1:12 For the which cause I also suffer these things: nevertheless I am not ashamed: for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day.

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Too dumb to see CONTRIVED distractions…but who is surprised…

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

lawd…good thing people know they can’t depend on any of these to decipher = MISINTERPRET anything for them, or they will be relegated to the MENTALLY ENSLAVED and SHOWCASED AS SUCH…..as done on ITV London….permanently..

i feel confident that quite a few actually see what is going on and KNOW to protect themselves…it’s instinctual ancestral in nature, for those still connected, and does not require any contrived paper degrees…..

27. David

It isn’t surprising that irrelevant and insignificant comments, come from contributors who post the most contributions to every thread.

Unfortunately, we have scroll pass to much shiite.

But, what else could be expected when one person posts 45 comments to a thread with a total of 70 contributions.

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

However, there is always a silver lining, am sure Pacha has now seen first hand how he wasted all his precious time and useful knowledge for more years than i have been on here, and has now intelligently redirected it to other areas more perceptive, where positive output is assured.

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

btw…i never said anything about the war itself and the immediate players directly one way or the other….that is not being neutral for the english language experts, i keep quiet counsel on all things local or geo political…

30. “South East Asian subcontinent is well represented in the next issue of Kush Quarterly..”

google search says \

a quarter of weed is 7 grams

The origins of Kush Cannabis are from landrace plants mainly in Afghanistan, Northern Pakistan and North-Western India with the name coming from the Hindu Kush mountain range.

31. @Artax

If Mia said nothing you would anticipate the comments. It is called criticizing for the sake of it.

32. ” It is called criticizing for the sake of it.”

there is a fine line between
    criticising
    nagging
    trolling
    mental health issues

Bu posters are on the borderline of insanity

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedFebruary 26, 2022 9:48 AM

However, there is always a silver lining, am sure Pacha has now seen first hand how he wasted all his precious time and useful knowledge for more years than i have been on here, and has now intelligently redirected it to other areas more perceptive, where positive output is assured.

If you know that, why you still coming here to nag and criticise people instead of going where you are assured of positive output?

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha..does local and geo politics…i don’t…he is the expert…i avoid politics as much as possible..

moved on to OTHER THINGS….that’s more than enuff space…

commonsense dictates that he knew to hold his peace in this arena…

when you get your OWN website…you know who will NEVER enter that cesspit of not knowing much of anything…..

has it occurred to some, as AOP is actually a publishing company, there is information i WILL NOT share…

maybe it’s time to get out of the trapped insularity and breathe,…it helps..

too many people are followers, spineless wusses unable to think for themselves, need others to tell them what to think about and agree on…….

btw…with all the claims, counterclaims, falsehoods and outright lies now invading cyberspace by the forces now engaged, i would try not to look like the fool in the end..

35. We have a white American telling it like it is ripping into American for invading other countries, non-white, of course and leaving devastation in their wake in many aspects of life, with nations unable to recover, physically, socially and politically.

Now, he says, now thatEuropeans have to wake up to their own insecurity for the first time since the Cold War, it becomes the biggest deal.

My concern is the effects on my people. I no longer shed tears for those who would shed no tears for me and mine

My concern is escalation that brings us all into the line of fire.

The only consolation would be that we would all go down together.

Still, I doubt they are ready to commit suicide just yet.

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

yall don’t like when the shoe is on the other foot…right….too bad, so sad…

nagged and criticized me for 9 straight years, heightened it in the last two years and got absolutely NOTHING out of it, and cant take it yaselves …….difference is,,, i knew how to reap success..

this is …..do so don’t like so…

just be thankful that am too busy and enlightened to be that petty..

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Yall may want to listen to Donna..on this particular issue, because i don’t think ya understand the definition of SURVIVAL and SELF-PRESERVATION..

.ya too busy listening to ya local bottomfeeding, attention grabbing politicians…

38. The one true thing Donald Trump ever said was that America is not innocent either. They have no right to moral outrage. Not before they fully acknowledge and do penance for similar sins. They never have fully atoned for these sins. And as China said they need to look at how they treat non-white Americans before they tell them about the Moslems in China’s midst.

It is only recently that the #metoo movement managed to force them to call out and address sexual abuse by the powerful.

Since I was a child, I wondered why America was allowed to portray itself as a “beacon of light on a hill”. This is nothing more than the eternal choice between the lesser of two evils.

We are all just collateral damage to the powers that be.

39. What America and the Europeans have to understand is that there is death by gunshot and death by strangulation.

The economic and financial rules they make serve to strangle the economies of the SIDS.

Of course, I still believe that better leaders in our midst could have mitigated the effects in many ways.

I am with William on this one, for sure!

40. Came across this and could only smile.

https://faceswaponline.com/ras-putin

41. DavidFebruary 26, 2022 9:55 AM

@Artax

If Mia said nothing you would anticipate the comments. It is called criticizing for the sake of it.
    Xxxx
    She is being criticized because her hypocrisy flies in the face of human rights violations in China of which she has never criticized but finds China as economic convenience
    Furthermore her utterances can put Barbados at economic risk when having to deal with China especially her knowing which side China stands
    Also she should have respected the collective voices of the Caricom statement on this issue

42. Ha! I was waiting for some American to bring it up – the way that Europe is opening its arms to Ukranian refugees as opposed to…..North African refugees of a couple of years ago. Refugees from wars in which the Europeans were participants!

Dear, dear!

43. @Theo

I was smarter in 2014

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They tend to forget previous blogs on certain/most topics…

Pacha ran himself ragged explaining everything……yet some would act like all of this was not made available before….first time they are hearing or seeing any of it…

..if it was something about me they would be diving into the archives and pissing themselves with glee…lol

45. @angela cox February 25, 2022 6:23 PM “How could PM forget that China was first in line to save lives in Barbados during the Pandemic. Hence millions of doses of vaccines where handed Barbados way.”

The truth is it was India in February of 2021 which first donated tens of thousands of Covid19 vaccines to Barbados. I got one of those vaccines myself in February 2021.

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Yeah Theo…it’s informative who commented on those posts, normally i would make a comment or two because politics is never attractive to me and i duck any direct involvement, but the blogs have been here for years, Pacha wrote extensively on those topics.

but here you have people not even remembering them and ready to jump on any bandwagon to nowhere…as long as they can follow the crowd…which i have no problem with, just do not try to DRAG me into any of it or reduce me to their unknowing, even to them, expectations…i aggressively resist any such foolishness..

47. I find it interesting that China abstained on the vote on the Russia/Ukraine war.

There will always be instability as long as ethnic Russians in the Ukraine bear some allegiance to Russia. And they will always bear some allegiance to Russia.

Russia is afraid of NATO

NATO is afraid of Russia.

Both Russia and Ukraine are rich in natural resources. If only wealth and power made for peace, stability and happiness. Instead it appears as though the opposite is true.

Ukraine has a standing army the size of Barbados’ population.

I am sorry for all of the people who don’t want war.

I am sorry for all of the children whose lives are being disrupted by this war.

I wonder if we will see further spread of Covid since uncounted numbers of refugees whose Covid status and whose vaccination status is unknown are crossing borders

What is it with the male desire to do violence to others, especially to those who are weaker?

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Hope yall enjoyed the reading, and some of you can feel free to involve yaselves in and enjoy the chess game….i like chess, but not with politics attached..

49. I am not getting this preoccupation withvRussia/Ukraine.

The play has already been written. The major actors are acting according to the script. We had a run-through when Trump was president. Now we are having a next run-through. We may have a next when Kamla assumes office.

Sorry guys, no WW3.
    No invasion of Taiwan
    Possibly a redo of Afghanistan where a major power leaves after a few wasted years.
    Put aside your Bible
    Put aside conspiracy theories
    Put aside your Thesaurus
    Unlike covid-19, this is not complicated.

Leave a Reply to angela coxCancel reply