In this part of the world there is the misconception by many that because we are located thousands of miles from Russia and the Ukraine, we will be unaffected by events unfolding. This is far from the truth given the interdependence of the global economy and how unrest fueled by war and rumours of war will further disrupt supply chains and cause volatility in financial markets. Also important is how East West tensions may erase the gains achieved at détente since the Cold War period.

Whether we believe Putin is a warmonger given his paideia that the attempt by former Soviet Union States – now sovereign states – pose a threat to Mother Russia because of potential membership in NATO, fear of growing democracies on Russia’s border or how it may influence the totalitarian system practiced by Russia – these are not exhaustive concerns, these are legitimate concerns.

What we know if Newton’s third law is loosely applied – “for every action in nature there is an equal and opposite reaction”. We have awakened to the news of EU and US in discussions to apply unprecedented sanctions on Russia. Russia is no stranger to suffering sanctions from the West. The annexation of Crimea by Russia is well documented. It is being reported Russia has accumulated 600 billions in reserves to mitigate economic sanctions. This will be a long fight with potential significant fallout for the global economy at the current rate of escalation.

So far the other other major economic power in the world has been reluctant to throw the bear to the wolves. Pundits have been opining that China has formed an alliance with Russia which maybe the comfort President of Russia Vladimir Putin needed to pursue his objectives by invading Ukraine. 

What is amusing to the blogmaster is to listen to commentators using the sovereignty argument to criticize Putin. Others have invoked violation of UN Charters. Where were the same commentators when the USA and friendlies invaded Iraq on the pretext Saddam Hussein had amassed weapons of mass destruction (WMD)? The blogmaster is not intending to endorse policies of either side in the conflict only to respond to positions being taken based on ignorance.

In this part of the world we have to be concerned if military conflict continues to ramp up. In recent days Minister Kerri Symmonds alluded to an urgency for Barbados to increase local production of crude to 200 a barrels by ‘milking’ old wells. Bare in mind we continue to negotiate a pandemic and Barbados along with other economies in the region – defined as open economies – will buffet with the potential to capsize in a global economic storm. 

In the world of geopolitics small islands in the Caribbean have no real voice or influence in the sphere of geopolitics. With the UN Security Council polarized the region must be very careful how we shape a position on the conflict. There is the saying when elephants fight, it is the grass that suffers.

347 responses to “Russia/Ukraine Conflict”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Leave them Angela….they always have to learn the hard way and still never learn…don’t know why some of them don’t take a trip to Ukraine, they will certainly get a thorough neo-Nazi welcome…..and the accompanying full treatment.

2. “….lawd…if only the pretensive misleaders had to gift, skills and ANCESTRAL abilities to see more than 24 hours ahead”

have you never seen or heard of chiney black
    blacks come in all shades from pink to dark roast coffee
    and are mix up with all races and faces in places
    and other sunshine races have many black browns
    the distinguishing attribute is nappy hear

3. nappy hair*

4. The questions being

Does Barbados need China
    The answer is Yes
    After fifty years on Indrpendence sad but true Barbados still loiters on the steps of these one armed bandits
    Our PM and Minister of housing made such known recently that our people are worthless can’t build houses or fix buses and country cannot support the financial development of building roads
    Hence over to China we go
    The next question to be asked what happens when Barbados cannot repay those loans
    Global factors are weighing in heavily pointing in that direction

5. Blacks come in all ethic groups
    Whites also
    When last have you heard the Ukranians govt speaking out about racism in the west or supporting the Palestinian causes
    But leave it to.blacks to out other people’s fires but hardly want to bring a hose to help fight their own

6. “Does Barbados need China
    The answer is Yes
    After fifty years on Indrpendence sad but true Barbados still loiters on the steps of these one armed bandits”

DLP lost 30-0 for the second time in a row because of this crap

it has not got into some shallow brainwashed minds that China can treat poor developing nations better than white supremacist anglo-american slave masters ever have, becuase babylon released the chains but use them brains

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“pachamama is pachamama
    bush tea is bush tea

you should never mix up a cult of personalities with crossovers”

so now you want to tell me WHO i should address and WHAT i should address them with….way out of line, been addressing these same commenters FOR YEARS ON END…find something else to occupy your mind..

8. Is it possible for some of you to stop squabbling over non points? This war is not about how blacks or treated or personal positions held by anonymous commenters about anonymous comments. It is about how militarily conflict between powers will impact our way of lives. Some of you are so petty.

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“nappy hair* = the best, strongest most powerful hair…that’s why it’s so hated.

if you were trying to denigrate our wonderful hair that’s still found in sarcophagi built by our ancestors in KEMET THOUSANDS OF YEARS ago, especially those much hated locks that can still be found intact…

……massive fail..

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

This is the perfect time to ask the question..

how will BUs superpowers stop REAL superpowers from moving forward with a war that was blueprinted more than likely over 2 decades ago…

can’t wait to see the weapons ya will use on them……to reverse the inevitable..

silly comments, promoting NONSENSE, that have NO POWER…is a nonstarter….

don’t you realize that is why many things are being left UNSAID..

11. “so now you want to tell me WHO i should address and WHAT i should address them with….way out of line, been addressing these same commenters FOR YEARS ON END…find something else to occupy your mind..”

that part of the comment was not addressed or referring to you

it was to everyone
    as Bushman was attempting to channel Pachamama
    I was stating Bushamn’s take is not Pachamama’s
    and crowd is waiting for him.her (Pacha Mama) to appear

12. DavidFebruary 27, 2022 8:12 AM

Is it possible for some of you to stop squabbling over non points? This war is not about how blacks or treated or personal positions held by anonymous commenters about anonymous comments. It is about how militarily conflict between powers will impact our way of lives. Some of you are so petty.
    Xxxx
    David the war involves lives and a multiciplicty if issues
    It is obvious that u would rather control the narrative taking it in a path u see fit
    Xccc
    Hypocrisy would show up in.the most unseen and heard places
    Question how long did it take the PM to issue a statement on the issues the BLM organization had brought to world wide attention about blacks lives in America
    How long did it take for the PM to get on international stage via media to issue a statement about the ongoing war between Russia and the Ukraine

13. David
    “The other side of the issue is to consider the question- does China need the USA?
    Some will say yes because the greenback despite best effort continues to be the world’s reserve currency.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    You may need to update your database.
    China ’needs’ the USA to buy its products…PERIOD!! …much like the West ’need’ us “third world” countries.

The WHOLE point is that this ‘war’ is about “the world’s reserve currency”. It is actually happening PRINCIPALLY to protect the $US dollar’s claim to that status, and against a SIGNIFICANT Russian thrust towards “de-dolarization” in (reluctant?) collaboration with the Chinese AND THE EURO. (The Russians may not yet realize that China’s eventual objectives are NOT multi-lateral in intent.)
    On current trends, the US dollar was “up shit street” by year-end, and so ‘urgent action was needed to slow or stop the progress…

Therefore…. Ukraine….!!

SMH…
    Imagine a BEAUTIFUL world with GLORIOUS potential….
    and this is the kind of ‘thinking’ that ‘runs things’….
    Brassbowlery DEFINED…

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

not even REAL snakes would venture out at this time without looking both LEFT and RIGHT…lol

but BUs superpowers believe they got this…….yall are TRAPPED and have been since the day ya misleaders made an informed decision to keep you as the mentally ENSLAVED…..because it serves their degenerate agendas…but don’t worry, ya in good company, because of their idiocy, they are TRAPPED TOO….yall should get along quite well together…

15. @Bush Tea

Not only to buy product but to invest excess capital.

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Ya doing well Bushman….be economical with those responses..

17. Cuhdear Bajan,

They write us out of every shite is right!

Word is that the Holy Spirit started out as female in the original language and switched to neutral in the Greek. Probably switched to male in the English.

Of course, God has no gender as we define it and so I paid it no mind.

But lo and behold, I was amazed to discover only last weekend that the men also wrote us out of rock ‘n roll!

How is it that I only recently became aware of Sister Rosetta Tharpe??????

Chuck Berry is touted all over the place but he apparently cited her as an influence! Musicians are surprisingly honest about their influences but the media, until recently told a different tale.

Black people and women, written out of almost every heroic tale but written in to the bad! IN CAPITAL LETTERS AND HIGHLIGHTED!

The Bible is NO EXCEPTION! In fact, it is one of the CHIEF OFFENDERS, from Eve to Delilah. And do not forget Jezebel!

Well, they gave us the LITTLE KNOWN Deborah and THE PROSTITUTE, Rahab.

A little crumb to keep us from total rebellion, I bet.

Racism and sexism. I recognised them BOTH since childhood. I never bought their narratives.

18. Eazy Duz It

USA is more obsessed about China’s control of African Rare Earth Resources required for technology.
    This sideshow is just a warm up act distraction from the main event and a way for USA to get it foot in the door of all regions.

Bushie is an end worlder while Pacha is a bible burner
    we need the pagan opinion rapper to drop some underground style lyrics

19. David
    “Not only to buy product but to invest excess capital.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    Same difference….extraction of resources from the target countries.

What we have here is ‘One Smart arriving at ‘Two Smart’s door…. We know the result of this encounter.
    The REAL moral of the story is that there will always be a ‘Three Smart’ waiting somewhere in the wings….

Where will it end…?
    As Bob Marley reiterated … ONLY LOVE CAN CONQUER,
    and we will ALL soon see that God IS Love.

20. The two USA and China are tied at the hip although they will not admit to it publicly.

21. “The two USA and China are tied at the hip although they will not admit to it publicly.”

the west want be your friend so they can fuck you up on the sly and you won’t even notice

when usa wars china helps poor

developing nations developing

now usa are pretending they care

when it is their worst nightmare

when they say they give a fuck it means they don’t give a fuck about you

22. Cuhdear Bajan,

I am here eating some beets I grew and wondering what those imported things were that I bought in the supermarket.

Just threw the seeds in the soil with some sheep dung and BOOM the biggest, sweetest, perfect things shot up without the use of pesticides.

The plum tomatoes took a little more tending and they are not quite as big but they too taste better than the imported ones. Got so many I have to make a paste!

And, I’m thinking, if this AGRICULTURAL ILLITERATE can eat so sweet, what the hell is Barbados’ food insecurity about????!!!!!

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The REAL moral of the story is that there will always be a ‘Three Smart’ waiting somewhere in the wings….”

that’s why am comfortable with them and their agendas which are THOUSANDS OF YEARS OLD….you know what to expect from them, if ya know ya ANCESTRAL HISTORY, you can predict the next moves, they don’t deviate, especially with the last 5 hundred year experience..

…if ya don’t know them and what to expect, it’s because ya were too busy being CRABS to each other…too distracted with shit politics…and all the other distractions that misleaders throw in Black Afrikan faces..

it’s the black “back stabbas”, who don’t think they are Afrikan ya can’t turn your back on not even for a second…..

now they are free to tell me how many white husbands i have……lol

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“they stab you in the back and claim you weren’t looking

they stab you in the back, just to see what’s cooking”

Israel Vibration

25. @ Donna,

I respectfully suggest that because you ” only recently became aware of Sister Rosetta Tharpe ” means ou can now get to know more about her.

https://www.rockhall.com/sister-rosetta-tharpe

26. US/Russia Nuclear Alert

https://cnn.it/3spVFKR

27. Lee Scratch Perry Live Avatar
    Lee Scratch Perry Live

“US on Russia Nuclear Alert”
    meh
    {expressing a lack of interest or enthusiasm.}
    {uninspiring; unexceptional.}

Intel needs to be inside information
    not outside disinformation

Lee Scratch Perry says Boo for Evil Spewers

28. @Hants
    Many women sang the blues, but you only hear of the men.
    There was also a time when some songs were slightly risque and reminded me of early calypsos.
    https://youtu.be/_PhOWpdt6xg

29. Not wunnuh God. Seems to me he got plenty o’ hatred.

Hants,

Been there and done that. If Sister Tharpe had been touted as LOUDLY and as OFTEN as Chuck Berry and the GUYS, there is NO WAY I would not have heard about her until now.

NO WAY!

When I heard about guitar players and the development of certain playing styles, I never saw her mentioned.

NEVER!

30. Seems as if Putin has played, rather early in the game, an ACE by putting his special defence force aka Nuclear Weapons operators on Special Alert.

We shall see if Biden will call him bluff or sell the resisting Ukrainians down the river as an alibi to save the world from the madness of Georgie Porgie’s Anti-Christ as the small boys show off their big toys.

31. African American Life
    Ma ‘Rainey’s Black Bottom
    1927 Blues legend singer and song performed as a play in 1984
    made into a 2020 Netflix Film by Branford Marsalis

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4z30RLIgD5A

32. Though I do not believe that Biden intentionally provoked this war, I do believe that the expansion of NATO could count, from Putin’s perspective, as provocation

The peoples of the world fear each other for good reason.

One of the things the world should fear most of all is ONE SUPER POWER AND ONE HUMUNGOUS ALLIANCE THAT COULD RULE ALL WITH THE GREATEST OF EASE.

So…. Putin and Xi may be viewed as necessary evils.

This stuff is tricky. Hurts my poor little brain.

Time for Dry Bar Comedy!

And for watching my thirty types of seedlings and plants enjoy the rain and sheep shit cocktail.

I hear rabbit shit works even better. Don’t want any from TheO’s pet 🐰/🐇, though!

I leave that for the Chinese.

33. I don’t look at Missy Elliot or her music as a Woman
    I look at her as on another level higher than next level
    like a wicked bass line that sounds heavier on a soundsystem
    normal words cannot express thoughts feelings emotions like poetry

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=na7lIb09898

34. ““nappy hair* = the best, strongest most powerful hair…that’s why it’s so hated.”

my response got got

here is some random shit

Just a word in your ears to alleviate any concerns that you may have regarding this website
    and ourselves.
    We are not any of the following:Bigots / Zealots / Fanatics / Weirdoes / Homophobics /
    Terrorists / Misogamists / False Prophets / Criminals / Subversives / Deviants or
    Disciples of The Anti-Christ.
    Neither are we trying to foster a Psuedo Religious cult / A Political Party or amassing an
    army to overthrow the elected governments of any country.
    ‘We are just people, and we believe in justice for all the people’.

What does ‘Falasha’ mean?

At what frequency does the body resonate?

Do you know where you are going?
    Do you know where you have come from?
    Do you know where you are today?

What is the ‘Dawning of the age of Aquarius’ and when will it happen?
    Has it happened before?

Western aid for starving countries contain a large percentage of arms,Why?

The western governments regularly stockpile good food for destruction,Why?

Judges award longer sentences for stealing then they do for the taking of life,Why?

Has the opening of the ‘Seven Seals’ started?
    If so how many are left to open?

Do you trust those entrusted with your well being?

What is a Rasta?
    What is a dread?
    What is the difference between them?

‘Each One,Teach One!’

35. @ 555 dubstreet February 27, 2022 10:46 AM
    “What is the ‘Dawning of the age of Aquarius’ and when will it happen?
    Has it happened before?”

Very insightful there, Kiki!

And Every Age of the Sun must have a (re) start, a new set of false gods and an inevitable (temporary) End.

Maybe you can teach your spiritually naive friend Georgie Porgie a thing about the Ages so he can seek to find the key to addressing the query posed to him involving Jesus foretelling his 12 disciples of his coming (again) and the Main sign to look for:

“And they said unto him, Where wilt thou that we prepare?

And he said unto them, Behold, when ye are entered into the city, there shall a man meet you, bearing a pitcher of water; follow him into the house where he entereth in.”

Maybe, dubstreet, the Days of the Two Fishes and the Fisherman are closing in and in the calamitous throes of its death the bearer of that pitcher with spiritual water (knowledge) is at the gate waiting on you and others to enter.

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Kiki…got a long way to go, still searching..

.i have reached that plateau…thanks to ancestral guidance, a very long time ago…

37. “.i have reached that plateau…thanks to ancestral guidance, a very long time ago…”

you do like to blow your trumpet but you ain’t all that
    information you claim enlightened you is available for all
    people are people all are equal in the sequel

38. @ Donna and @ TheoGazerts,

39. RE Well, they gave us the LITTLE KNOWN Deborah and THE PROSTITUTE, Rahab
    DEBORAH IS CELEBRATED FROM HER DAY UNTIL NOW BY SERIOUS SCHOLARS OF THE SCRIPTURE

THE PROSTIUTE RAHAB HAS MORE SCRIPTEURES ASCRIBED TO HERE THAN EVEN EVE- THE MOTHER OF ALL LIVING
    NOT ONLY IS SHE EXTOLLED IN JAMES AS A GREAT EXAMPLE OF FAITH, RAHAB (and her daughter in law, and son) IS ONE OF ONLY FIVE WOMEN IN MATTHEW’S GENEALOGY OF THE LORD

THIS IS CONSIDERED AND OUTSTANDING FEAT IN ITSELF AS WOMEN DID NOT TRADITIONALLY APPEAR IN JEWISH GENEALOGIES

THIS POST WILL GET TEK DOWN CAUSE PEOPLE HERE ARE NOT INTERESTED IN HEARING TRUTH, BUT YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO SPEAK THE TRUTH WHEN CLIQUE MEMBERS ERR

BUT AS A SERIOUS SCHOLAR WHO USES THE BIOGRAPHICAL METHOD OF BIBLE STUDY I CAN SPEAK ON THESE MATTERS WITH OUT FEAR OF CONTRADICTION.

A GOOD TEXT TO READ IS ” ALL THE WOMEN OF THE BIBLE”

STEUPS

40. RAHAB and her daughter in law, and son ARE ALL IN MATTHEW’S GENEALOGY OF THE LORD—THAT TO ME IS MOST EXCITING
    RAHAB IS ONE OF ONLY FIVE WOMEN IN MATTHEW’S GENEALOGY OF THE LORD
    THE PROMINENCE OF RAHAB IN SCRIPTURE REVEALS THE IMPORTANCE THAT GOD HAS BESTOWED ON BOTH WOMEN AND SINNERS OF ALL TYPES
    IN JOHN 4 WE READ OF A WOMAN THAT JESUS WENT OUT OF THE WAY TO MEET AND BRING TO FAITH . THIS WOMAN IS SAID TO HAVE HAD FIVE FAILED MARRIAGES

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“you do like to blow your trumpet ”

and you don’t blow yours, broke back wuss…always claiming this and that…

42. for those who want to read a few details about some Boible reading one should read
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2020/05/10/sweet-sunday-sermon-mothers-day/

43. At first I thought the African students were silly for getting stuck there, but on NPR (National Public Radio) I heard that some had just two or three months left to graduate after spending up to 5 years there.

A complicated benefit/risk calculation.

44. “and you don’t blow yours”

I am an intellectual and a writer who is enlightened and think I am wonderful

you are not an intellectual or a writer and are unenlightened and not wonderful

arguing and saying opposite to everything is as easy as 123 you damn plagiariser

I am a heavyweight champion and you are a bum and a lightweight

45. Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro criticized Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky Sunday, adding that Brazil would “adopt a neutral stance on Ukraine” and will not impose sanctions on Russia.

Speaking at a news conference while on vacation, Bolsonaro said Ukrainians had “trusted a comedian with the fate of a nation” — referring to Zelensky’s former career as an actor and comedian.
    He also pointed out that Brazil is dependent on Russian fertilizer, and that action against Moscow “could bring serious harm to agriculture in Brazil.” He added that he was in support of peace — “but we don’t want to bring more problems to Brazil.”

When questioned about a possible massacre in Ukraine, Bolsonaro said it was “an exaggeration to speak of massacre,” and defended Russia’s move to recognize the pro-Moscow separatist regions of Luhansk and Donetsk in eastern Ukraine as independent.

Bolsonaro met with Russian President Vladimir Putin on a visit to Moscow on Feb. 16.

The Brazilian President’s comments Sunday came after the United Nations Security Council voted by majority to hold an emergency meeting today to discuss Russia’s invasion. Brazil voted in favor of holding the meeting while Russia voted against it. India, China and the UAE abstained

46. Zelenskyy grew up in Kryvyi Rih, a Russian-speaking region in southeastern Ukraine.[3] Prior to his acting career, Zelenskyy obtained a degree in law from the Kyiv National Economic University. He then pursued comedy and created the production company Kvartal 95, which produces films, cartoons, and TV shows including Servant of the People, in which Zelenskyy played the role of president of Ukraine. The series aired from 2015 to 2019 and was immensely popular. A political party bearing the same name as the television show was created in March 2018 by employees of Kvartal 95.

Zelenskyy announced his candidacy for the 2019 Ukrainian presidential election on the evening of 31 December 2018, alongside the New Year’s Eve address of President Petro Poroshenko on 1+1 TV Channel. A political outsider, he had already become one of the frontrunners in opinion polls for the election. He won the election with 73.2 per cent of the vote in the second round, defeating Poroshenko. Identifying as a populist, he has positioned himself as an anti-establishment, anti-corruption figure.

As president, Zelenskyy has been a proponent of e-government and unity between the Ukrainian-speaking and Russian-speaking parts of the country’s population.[4] His communication style heavily utilises social media, particularly Instagram.[5] His party won a landslide victory in a snap legislative election held shortly after his inauguration as president. During his administration, Zelenskyy oversaw the lifting of legal immunity for members of the Verkhovna Rada, Ukraine’s parliament,[6] the country’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic and subsequent economic recession, and some progress in tackling corruption.[7][8] Critics of Zelenskyy claim that in taking power away from the Ukrainian oligarchs, he has sought to centralise authority and strengthen his personal position.[9]

Zelenskyy promised to end Ukraine’s protracted conflict with Russia as part of his presidential campaign, and attempted to engage in dialogue with Russian President Vladimir Putin.[10] Zelenskyy’s administration faced an escalation of tensions with Russia in 2021, culminating in the launch of an ongoing full-scale Russian invasion in February 2022. Zelenskyy’s strategy during the Russian military buildup was to calm the Ukrainian populace and assure the international community that Ukraine was not seeking to retaliate.[11] He initially distanced himself from warnings of an imminent war, while also calling for security guarantees and military support from NATO to “withstand” the threat.[3] After the commencement of the invasion, Zelenskyy declared martial law across Ukraine and general mobilisation.