Submitted by Nathan Green

Dubai is one of the seven emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and has become a regional business hub in the Middle East.

Behind the facade of respectability that Dubai has carefully cultivated over the years, the flow of illicit funds “has helped to fuel the emirate’s booming real estate market; enrich its bankers, moneychangers, and business elites; and turn the city into a major gold trading hub,” the authors of the Carnegie report added.

Dubai, in particular, has become the piggybank for corrupt politicians from around the world. Those who secretly plunder their countries finances hide their money there. It used to be Switzerland and Lichtenstein, but they have become so unsafe and transparent putting the stolen cash in their banks is a risk.

The Russians, South Americans, Caribbean leaders, and those who can still plunder their countries go there for holidays and visits. For many, the real reason to go there is to count their ill-gotten cash.

Some will remember the exposures that showed countries such as Saint Vincent and the Caribbean had millions tucked away in Switzerland. But, unfortunately, no one has got to the bottom yet who deposited that money, and it has not become public knowledge if they have.

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines are a money-laundering country. The U.S. State Department identified St. Vincent and the Grenadines as a significant money laundering jurisdiction. The small set of islands remains vulnerable to money laundering and other financial crimes due to drug trafficking and its active offshore financial sector.

The Americans say Dubai is a ‘haven for money laundering.’ The UAE’s unwillingness to tackle corruption and money laundering is a global challenge that must be addressed, says the U.S. think tank. The Gulf city of Dubai has been slammed as a “money laundering paradise” by the leading anti-corruption group ‘Transparency International.’ One of the seven emirates that make up the UAE, Dubai has built a reputation as the pre-eminent business hub in the Middle East, with an open economy that welcomes companies and individuals worldwide.

A new report from the U.S. ‘Carnegie Endowment’ has found that the wealth underpinning “Dubai’s prosperity is a steady stream of illicit proceeds borne from corruption and crime.

The report from the US-based think-tank will likely further cast a long shadow on its much-vaunted projected image as a haven for respectable investment.

Dubai is one of the seven emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and has become a regional business hub in the Middle East.

Many politician thieves have adopted cryptocurrencies to move money without the paperwork and accountability. Banking watchdogs across the globe are making AML/CFT norms stricter for their subjects, forcing banks to upgrade their scanners for fear of massive fines. Having spent billions of dollars on new systems and personnel, they have reduced money laundering activities to a certain extent. However, criminals have also grown smarter. They employ professional money laundering cells that do not operate within the confines of static, predefined, overly-broad transactional actions. As a result, they can circumvent many regulatory norms, which were thought to be perfect, with the sophistication involved in the latest financial technologies. At the same time, some of the technological advances like cryptocurrencies helped them avoid the formal financial systems for value transfers while paying for and receiving goods and services and buying villas and property in the UAE.

Perhaps the public should ask questions about why their politicians are visiting Dubai? If your politicians or any close relative of theirs is involved in cryptocurrency, then I suppose extra scrutiny should be made.

But keep in mind it is not illegal to save your money in an overseas bank anywhere. The illegality comes into play when the money is illegally and improperly obtained. It is also not unlawful or unduly suspicious to visit Dubai because many do that without depositing or investing stolen money there.

If there is any information that the reader can give Transparency International, it will be gratefully received, and whistleblowers will be respected. ti@transparency.org

87 responses to “More Money than Sand”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and no…i don’t have to post anything to satisfy the backward and ignorant……who knows knows….

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“He is typical of the mindset that exists on the island. Fortunately we still have Bush Tea.”

we have Bushman, Miller, William, you, and a few others, there are also those who watch but don’t comment…we still have good people around who understand how this will end…..and know to make preparations…the others who know everything about everything are good buffers….make good sacrifices….that’s the only use for them…

3. Frank you really are a funny guy. You spotted a misspelt word but consistently fail to see the genuine dangers facing your country.
    I do not expect anything more from you.

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

These are a special breed…after they went into the archives digging up everything i wrote, instead of digging into THEIR ANCESTRY…..saw something they liked, tried to pass it off as theirs, when i said something about it, not only let me know how many lies i tell, acted like if i did something to THEM… and had the goddamn gall and a ton of nerves.. to tell me if they took any of my content, i could not do anything about it anyway, because i can’t find out who they are, ya done know that out of everything else is what pissed me off, because i would have let it go otherwise……….of course all of that was BEFORE the voter’s list hit cyberspace…which cannot be recalled either…so they were in effect using the anonymity of BU to attempt to fcuk with me, not knowing WHO they are playing with…

the conversation and all the comments are still there…

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…then the special breed got it in their heads that they could sabotage me, they went all out as much as the limited in intellect can….had no clue what i was doing, but did that stop them, nah….they went on and on until they EXHAUSTED THEMSELVES, because how are you going to sabotage something you know nothing about, am spread out, what are they going to do, grow wings and fly….and don’t know the direction to fly in…

…….am sure they are still trying to dream up some backward shit…that is who they are…they do NOT KNOW WHO THEY ARE, only HOW to be destructive to those who look like them…

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Am sure they will be THRILLED and even happier to hear that the websites are still seeing traffic, book is still marketed and selling…..all is good on African Online Publishing….they pushed more traffic to my websites with their antics…hope they keep it up….

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

AND….I hope they are ready for what is coming at them as they THOUGHT they were ready to deal with me…better get a different game plan…one that can actually work..

count post counter count…

8. On and on and on and on.

9. Total amount of posts = 58

WARU THE BELLY WARMER = 38 or 65.52% of ALL the posts.

38 posts that pulling down bloggers and promoting herself.

10. TLSN February 22, 2022 5:00 PM

Frank you really are a funny guy. You spotted a misspelt word but consistently fail to see the genuine dangers facing your country.
    I do not expect anything more from you.

ALL YOU DOING IS TELLING LIES and up till now WOULD NOT ANSWER MY QUESTION.

HOW DO YOU KNOW THAT I FAIL TO SEE THE GENUINE DANGERS FACING BARBADOS?

Your partner WARU THE BELLY WARMER say that “there are also those who watch but don’t comment.”

So, you going to TELL HER that PEOPLE WHO WATCHING AND NOT COMMENTING FAIL TO SEE THE DANGERS FACING BARBADOS 🇧🇧 TOO?

IF YOU THINK that because somebody AIN’T SAY SOMETHING about SOMETHING means that they FAIL TO SEE it, then you are MORE OF A FOOLISH BITCH THAN I FIRST THOUGHT.

AND YUH BEHAVING JUST LIKE ONE TOO.

11. (Quote):
    IF YOU THINK that because somebody AIN’T SAY SOMETHING about SOMETHING means that they FAIL TO SEE it, then you are MORE OF A FOOLISH BITCH THAN I FIRST THOUGHT.
    AND YUH BEHAVING JUST LIKE ONE TOO.
    (Unquote).

Ok Frankie the red ass-licker, please feel free to do your BANKING of jobby for the year!

If Mr. TLSN IS A “FOOLISH BITCH” what does that make you other than a similar Dam(e)?

Don’t you lambaste the English in a similar ‘vain’ for withholding Republican status from your ‘pow-ful’ hungry Bajan politicians since 2013?

Imagine that, you ungrateful Mother F!

Attacking and slagging off the very people who put breadcrumbs on your tourism and real estate sales table!

PS: Can you please stop using your counting device to record the number of postings by bloggers but instead use your ‘limited’ grey matter to improve the quality (and not quantity) of your own rebuttals?

small brains attack people instead of Ideas!

12. Miller, the only thing I got to say to you is that you always READY TO JUMP ON PEOPLE’S BAND WAGON and PICK UP THEIR FIRE RAGE
    AND YOU ALWAYS ACCUSING somebody of being RED this or RED THAT.

REAL MEN DON’T BEHAVE LIKE THAT. You must be one uh dem type uh fellows that duz dress up I women’s clothes.

Why is it that you believe people can’t say anything without YOU LABELING THEM AS BLP MEMBERS?

Don’t care what Enuff say, you duz be on pun de man like white pun rice, CRITICIZING EVERYTHING he say and telling he same nonsense over and over again.
    That means YOUR BRAINS HAVE TO BE REAL SMALL TOO.

I leave you to him.

13. @ Frank February 22, 2022 8:07 PM

Enuff is a LIAR!
    There is absolutely NO need to tell lies about himself or to himself.
    He deserves his lot.

BTW, I like the genuine loyalty of Lorenzo which reminds me of that shown by your opposite number “ac” the dye-in-the-wool blue and yellow yard-bird; just like you but only of the red variety unable to see the difference between Tweedle Bee and Tweedle Dem.

14. Miller February 22, 2022 8:22 PM

BTW, I like the genuine loyalty of Lorenzo which reminds me of that shown by your opposite number “ac” the dye-in-the-wool blue and yellow yard-bird; just like you but only of the red variety unable to see the difference between Tweedle Bee and Tweedle Dem.

Miller, you have to be a LIAR TOO.

WHEN HAVE YOU EVER SEE DEFEND MIA MOTTLEY AND THE BLP?

I WILL BET YOU ANYTHING THAT YOU CAN’T BRING ANYTHING I EVER POST TO BU THAT I DEFEND THE BLP.

WUNNUH GOT A VERY BAD HABIT.

15. Here it is that I was gone for a couple of days, resting my brain from your mad ass, miserable, lying self and as usual I come back to find you still stuck on me.

No-one here, not even your blog buddies believe that I reworded your posts and tried to pass them off as mine. They know that I have very strong opinions of my own. They know that I think for myself. They know that I march to the beat of my own drum. And they bloody well know that I am quite capable of writing whatever the rasshole I want to write for myself.

Post what you say you have saved, yuh lying bitch!

You are sick as shite! All day long on a blasted blog trying to prove yourself better than everybody else talking about some book that nobody here has bought or read! Think about THAT! You posted NUMEROUS EXTRACTS! NOBODY was curious enough to purchase your book. No-one was inspired by your “brilliance” to spend a few dollars on your book! And none of them hand-to-mout and unable to afford it.

Gawblummah, soooo many brilliant writers for me to plagiarise and I would choose YOU?????

Get some help for chrissake!

16. David,

You are your own for a few more days in this damn madhouse you have built.

Some days I just cannot stomach it.

You get accused of so much dishonesty here and yet you persist!

Kudos to you, sir! I don’t know how you do this.

17. Frank,

I was thinking the same thing myself. Your last words on the BLP, as I recall, were in criticism of, I think it was the handling of the nurses issues.

I really do not know where the Miller gets his opinions from. He called ME an admitted racist. NEVER have I admitted to being a racist.

Some serious shit is also wrong there!

18. I’m outta heh! There’s more to life than this daily lying mad ass misery!

19. Millar, I got a question for you and I hope yuh ANSWER it HONESTLY.

Did you BUY or even READ a copy of WARU’S book?

20. @Miller “banning of the consumption of pork (pudding & souse) and the refining of rum?”

Int gine happen.

Islam like Christianity, Judaism and Rastafari does not forbid the consumption of alcohol. However like all these Middle Eastern derived religions Islam does prohibit drunkenness. However in Saudi Arabia alcohol is forbidden not because the Koran says so but because some years ago one of the old kings was an embarrassing drunk. So de rum dun. Fah everybody. But human beings are human beings and ALWAYS create a work around. Sorrell imported from Ethiopia [the same sorrell that we drink at Christmas and which we also import from Ethiopa] a l’il sugar and yeast from any supermarket, tap water. Mix it all together and in a few weeks yah have a nice tasty home brew. Only thing is don’t let the ubiquitous religious police catch you.

All of the ingredients are perfectly legal and readily available. Saudi Arabia is not going to stop importing sorrell because it is used there as a traditional hot non alcoholic tea. And where is the world is it forbidden to sell sugar or yeast?

Human beings have been drinking alcohol for thousands of years or maybe tens of thousands of years. No government on earth has the power to stop alcohol consumption.

No sorrell? Orange peels, or any kind of fruit. But sorrell wine tastes nice, nice.

21. @Miller “Would this export of the surplus to requirements idling hands involve the thousand of boys on the blocs and would these unproductive males have to be castrated, in accord with John Knox’s thesis, as a minimum requirement to meet the import regulations of foreign slaves to the UAE?”

Nah.

If there is one thing Bajans like more than sex it is money.

Notice that the Barbados government is now paying for nursing students to go to nursing school. If the Bajan boys on the block [and the girls too] have any sense they will jump on this training opportunity, take the training. Serve 2 years in Barbados as required Work 5 to 10 years in the middle east. Repatriate up to $50,000 USD per year back to Barbados. Return to Barbados in their early 30’s marry their sweet man or woman, raise a family and live happily aver after.

The Saudis know what they want. We Bajans also have to know what we want.

Our grandparents extracted plenty of money from the wealthy Americans while working on the Panama Canal. No reason why our grandchildren can’t extract millions from the equally wealthy Saudis and other Middle Easterners.

22. @Tron “All in all, a boring environment in which any decent Wahhabit can be happy.”

Maybe I am bad minded but I doubt very much that when a Saudi man goes abroad on holiday [without his madam(s)] I doubt very much that he is looking for boring.

When a Bajan man [or an Englishman] goes abroad for a holiday without his wife or girlfriend does he go looking for boring?

Man is man.

Stupssseee!!!

23. Great idea for Gabby
    Home is where your navel string buried
    https://youtu.be/kkoT1nZOexY

24. I’ll try to sleep. But I will play this.. and if by chance she wakes or God forbid ifail to wake …
    https://youtu.be/6M5HE5q11oY

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Ok Frankie the red ass-licker, please feel free to do your BANKING of jobby for the year!”

all of them are, i slept damn well, they had to stay up, could not sleep….i see they went on and on while i slept….what they should be focusing on AS USUAL they are not….that is why they have NO CLUE what is going on around them…..and CANNOT be trusted with the information that’s floating ALL AROUND THEM…….even if it could save them…they are determined to self-sacrifice….so no one should waste their time..

Miller…stay economical with your responses, they want everyone to sink to their level…..spent years trying and failing with most bloggers………while others determine their future…..that’s the special breed for ya…

..worrying themselves to death about who is buying my book and who is not AND CANNOT STOP IT FROM SELLING…..have no clue what am doing…..would not know WHERE to start…….know nothing about anything, but bending themselves in half trying to stop me…and FAILED…..only succeeded in showing everyone exactly….WHO THEY ARE…..

if i had the time i could pity them…but too busy even for that..

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

the post counter is being let off the hook today, am too preoccupied….maybe tomorrow or another day…take the day off, no pay as usual…

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

English is not even their indigenous language, they don’t know what their ancestral language is….and are useless at what was forced on them anyway….misinterpret most things..

TLSN…mathematical calculations = 10 years, it’s not an overnight thing, let me see the special breed on BU sabotage that…they better start practicing now because they were big failures trying to sabotage me, these new players introduced on the scene, play for keeps…lol

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…am sure you saw this lady throttle back on several thousand pounds of thrust and land this dreamliner….

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/kenyan-pilot-soars-to-fame-after-smooth-landing-at-heathrow-in-storm-eunice/ar-AAUciLA?ocid=msedgntp

29. This may be too deep for you
    ✅ Best of Pravrajika Divyanandaprana🔻
    Pravrajika Divyanandaprana | Fundamentals of Yoga Psychology

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Ah guess the BU english language experts will just have to multiply these 5 posts by 70 to come up with a daily quota for post counting…..they are not as interesting to me as they thought, now they know..

31. Hants,

Why did you bring me back to this blog?

Now I don’t know whether to laugh or cry!

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Meanwhile, Good Vibrations Entertainment LLC has filed a countersuit against Radical Investments, to which the Maloney company now has to respond. The Stein Law Group’s motion is to quash service of summons and dismiss the complaint over lack of personal jurisdiction. In its motion, Stein claims Radical repeats vague allegations, without supporting evidence.

When contacted Thursday afternoon, all Maloney would say was “who knows and who cares”

lawd…isn’t life grand…🤣🤣🤣

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

i hope St. Lucia got back their 7 million dollars from those PERPS…

34. I suspect Maloney will me made whole regardless of any outcome.

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Some say Mrs. Maloney may be able to provide further confirmation, but given the above response, all “who cares”, and the info that has floated around for months, what you espoused can be taken in the affirmative and not far-fetched at all…

hope the other Caribbean islands learned their lesson….fool me once, shame on you…..fool me twice……etc…