Freundel Stuart was the prime minister of Barbados in the period 2010 to 2018 after assuming the caretaker role from David Thompson who became sick on the job soon after the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was voted to office in 2008. The legacy of Stuart’s stewardship is still being written although some pundits at this early stage are happy to label it worse than the Sandiford administration. The tactic engineered by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) – the other member of the duopoly – has enjoyed success with branding of the Glorious Years as The Lost Decade.

The failure of a third party movement to gain traction in Barbados means the health of our democracy is nexus to well managed DLP and BLP political parties. A strident dissenting voice is a feature of the Westminster system we try to model – the lacuna created by the recent general election and ensuing legal challenge regarding how the Senate is constituted is a case in point. A good argument can therefore be made that the business of political parties is the public’s business although classified private entities. In fact the unwillingness of quality citizens to offer themselves to join political parties who aspire to selflessly serve the public is at the heart of the type of governments we are saddled.

Some of us who comment on political matters are not surprised at the dysfunctional state of the DLP. It was not difficult to forecast. Barbadians except for the rabidly partisan are turned off by the quality of politics and governments we have been getting since the Tom Adams era which ended in the mid 80s. The blogmaster opines both DLP and BLP political parties have been rotated to govern the country based on the level of voter apathy and lack of credible alternatives and little to do with substance. The unprecedented 30-0 victories at the polls by the BLP in 2018 and 2022 should give Barbadians reason to pause. The BLP despite making several mistakes in a brief tenure of just over three years the political opposition was unable to gain the public’s trust.   The quality of our system of government whether we like it or not is tied to the quality of individuals attracted to serve in political parties. There is that symbiotic relationship only a fool would deny.

Today makes 32 days since the last general election and except for a public position in response to a contentious offer from Prime Minister Mottley to participate in a discussion about accepting two Senate seats, the DLP has been silent and irrelevant in the public space. Sensible observers appreciate it will take the DLP time to assess, reorganize and mobilize BUT there is a reality to be considered by the DLP and onlookers. The silence coming out of George Street is consistent with the ‘glorious years’ of the Stuart administration and the longer it persists, the more difficult it will be for that party to be perceived as a credible alternative. The blogmaster is aware the DLP has skin in the game based on the matter that is before the court brought by AG Brathwaite – who we know is acting de facto for the DLP. Some of us are not so stupid to believe otherwise.

This is a cry for a different type of citizen with a passion and body of work for serving the public to join the two main political parties. An organization assumes the character of its members. If we want our governments to change how business is done, it must begin with the quality of personnel attracted to political parties. Today it is the DLP in crisis, it is not inconceivable the BLP may find itself in a similar position when Mia Mottley demits office whether for a forced or unforced reason. If that happens all of us will be adversely impacted.

The type of government we get starts with YOU!

366 responses to “Sound of Silence”

1. @Miller

It may not be worth the fuss but it is the right of a citizen to challenge any situation in court.

2. And then there is this!!

74(3) The office of Leader of the Opposition shall become
    vacant-
    (a) if, after an election of members of the House of Assembly
    following any dissolution of Parliament and before that
    House first meets thereafter, he is informed by the
    Governor-General that the Governor-General is about
    to appoint another person as Leader of the Opposition;
    (b) if he ceases to be a member of the House of Assembly
    for any reason other than a dissolution of Parliament; or
    (c) if his appointment is revoked under the provisions of
    subsection (4).

None of the above have happened.

74(3) (b) is the qualification part referred to in 75.

During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and …….

If the person holding the office of Leader of the opposition vacates his seat and no one is willing to step into the office he held to which he was appointed by the GG/President but which has become vacant, the GG/President can use her discretion in appointing 2 senators..

That has not happened!!

3. 74 logically and chronologically comes before 75.

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John we have gone over this repeatedly and yet u continue to dismiss the most fundamental aspect of “qualified”: the electorate ‘qualified’ NO ONE.

What is so hard to understand about that basic fact.

SMH

5. “The pertinent point however is that we know as a party they are vested given its public position on the matter of accepting two positions in the upper House.”

“[V]ested given its public position”?

Really, blogmaster?

Wherefore this” public position” of which thou speakest?

The voting public couldn’t be half-assed to give them a single fucking seat in Parliament. Yet you come in here opining that the DLP should just shut up and take the tidbits from the Messiah and be contented, or else fade into irrelevancy.

As far as I can see, they are already irrelevant. Strange you haven’t picked up that yet – as sharp and observant as you are!

The people who didn’t vote for the party still expect that same party to be a token, meaningless gesture of opposition (in the Senate!) while 30 BLP members will be paid monthly for the next five years, at the highest levels of salary, to represent their interests.

To many this scenario is perfectly satisfactory and, once again, the DLP is to blame. Arrogant bastards!

Let the BLP run this country for the next 30 – no – 100 years!, I say.

The BLP will be the party for the ages – they are so good at every single thing, that one would have to be batshit crazy not to elect them to power again and again and again and again and again and again.

The DLP shouldn’t even contest any future elections, by or general – at all. Just pack up and go.

There’s no hope for the Dems, Solutions, APP, PdP or any others. Bajans only have eyes for Mia Messiah.

So, again I wonder: why bother to represent a people who don’t want you to represent them, not even in the opposition?

They spoke twice.

And according to the “pundits” no other political party in the world will be able to defeat the BLP once it carries the banner of Mia Messiah before it.

Furthermore, didn’t someone recently say on a public platform that at this point in history, the country really didn’t need an opposition?

Anyone had concerns about “democracy” then?

Didn’t one of the new Senate hopefuls almost have a conniption over Franklyn’s opposition to the Presidential nomination process (among other issues) and, in a very “democratic” vein, call for his ouster?

Nothing concerning there, oh no sir! That’s Democracy In Action!

So if better can’t be done; let the “l0vings” continue.

The voice of the people = voice of God, correct?

And Mia Messiah is the Very Elect of God, is she not?

Notwithstanding, the BLP has done so so much for average Barbadians over the years! You fairly need a Bible to catalogue all their achievements.

So, please, spare us this concern trolling on the DLP, or about any other party for that matter. It’s a bad look altogether – but it’s especially sickening in a blogmaster.

Even so, I believe they are as much seeking your good opinion, as you are sincere in bestowing it.

So, carry on smartly, blogmaster!

Have a great day!

6. Well put Elon

7. de pedantic DribblerFebruary 21, 2022 1:43 PM

@John we have gone over this repeatedly and yet u continue to dismiss the most fundamental aspect of “qualified”: the electorate ‘qualified’ NO ONE.

What is so hard to understand about that basic fact.

SMH

Go back to the electorate and get them to elect a group that will sit in opposition to the Government and let that group select the member who it supports as its leader.

The GG will then appoint that member of the House to fill the post of the leader of the opposition.

In so doing, the post will come into existence.

Until then, anything appearing to happen under the guise of a Parliament and Government is null, void and of no effect if any of the 10’s of thousands of the electorate who did vote for a group to sit in opposition choses to test it.

That is an untenable position to be in and totally irresponsible for any group claiming to form a Parliament with no group to sit in opposition.

It is amazing the BLP is prepared to go down this road and act in so unconstitutional a manner.

Simple, simple fact of life.

8. … in fact, the more the BLP tests the waters in which swim sharks, the more it exposes itself to be eaten alive.

Build a strong boat and cross them.

9. The blogmaster is concerned about the quality of the governance landscape, that is all. We will have different opinions on the path we should follow to achieve. You know what they say, the democracy we practice has its flaws but is there an improved alternative?

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

well…am sure everyone has heard by now that cousin Boris has decided that ““living with Covid” in UK commences on February 24, ….3 days from now,…. “moving from government restrictions to personal responsibility.”

tek dah……..🤣🤣🤣

all the little tyrants now have to haul and pull back….their dictator tendencies surfaced unnecessarily…especially the backward vaccine bullies…

11. DavidFebruary 21, 2022 2:46 PM

The blogmaster is concerned about the quality of the governance landscape, that is all.
    Xxxxc
    No you are not
    Stop.telling that bold faced lie
    In same manner and tone yuh call on the dlp to speak out
    Why are you not doing the same in respective of a govt which has now convened absent of an opposition
    Certainly you have read the Constitution and it’s directives on such matters
    However most already understand and have taken note on your opinion towards this govt

12. @ David
    You KNOW that Bushie admires your nationalistic outlook, and is OVER AWED by your contribution to public education through your calling with BU.
    But you also know that Bushie calls a spade a spade…

Your tendency to blame the DLP for their failure to properly represent the best interest of Bajans has gone overboard.

Boss…ac typifies the DLP. The poor people probably did as well as they could in the circumstances, AND NO MATTER HOW YOU TRY TO PAN IT OUT, THE FINAL BLAME LIES WITH BAJAN BB’S.

We have a huge resource of lazy, cowardly, mendicant people who prefer to hide in a corner and HOPE that some politician will come to the fore, take his/her lashes, and then work assiduously to ENSURE our happiness, security and wealth….
    WELL DUH!!!
    Those ‘fairy tale’ shiite stories are only valid up to age 5.
    That goes CONTRARY to the laws of nature where survival of the fittest RULES.

Don’t try and work out wunna OWN salvation in FEAR and TREMBLING….and we will see the results…

So if we are prepared to hide under our rocks and hope for prince /princess charming to come and save us, DON’T BE shocked when the BIG BAD WOLF comes knocking…

In the final analysis, We CANNOT vote for the BLP ….and then get vexed with the DLP for not ‘protecting us’…(Not that they could, would, or DID when THEY had the chance).

MORE IMPORTANTLY, (as Grenville has been trying to say..) we cannot go after the greedy, selfish, albino-centric things of life … and then expect that GOD owe’s us the kind of protection that is reserved for loving, community-centric and loving peoples….

Wunna mind the ‘Petra Wickies’ of this world and see how it will turn out….

13. @Bush Tea

Wickham is getting out of hand on the airwaves but the blogmaster will be labeled a prude and conservative.

14. Mind the Gap
    There is a massive gulf between
    0 seats
    1 seat

what could DLP wish for
    they are wholly pathetic

15. David bu why you sllow this parrot John to pollute the blog with the same bullshit everyday.He is even more annoying than the in my view Waru.As for AC bitching every day on BU ain, t going to cut it.Mr Brathwaite is as far as i know still a member of the dems so to claim his action has nothing to do with the dems is in my view bullshit.As i stated Ms Mottley should withdraw the offer to the dems forthwith let Mr Blackett and the dems look on from the outside for their arrogance.I gone.

16. Wickham is getting out of hand on the airwaves..
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Yuh think..!!!
    No wonder he could not stay on BU….

A caller today tried to explain the SIMPLE concept that in a COHESIVE society (indeed in ANY cohesive organisation) it is IMPORTANT to develop, maintain and teach to new generations, A COMMON SOCIETAL PHILOSOPHICAL UNDERSTANDING which would guide the operations of the collective group, and that OTHERWISE, the society suffers….

Any exposure to basic organizational behavioral theory confirms this fact….but as usual, he probably assumed that the caller wanted to attack his ‘marriage’ and general lifestyle… talking about the rights to individual choice

Steupssss..
    If the caller had said that everyone in the BLP had to follow MIA’s rules …or get treated like the dentist lady, Ms Moe, Johnny ma Boy etc …he would have got the point…

Had to turn it off….

You can’t get Petra back on BU…? – could use a pen name… LOL

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“than the in my view Waru”

told you already that fowl views don’t count…

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“MORE IMPORTANTLY, (as Grenville has been trying to say..)”

saw quite an article from Grenville today, surprised it’s not on BU yet.

19. @Bush Tea

For Wickham to agree with the caller would have challenged his very cultural relativistic world view. The caller to use an expression had his short and curly in a vice grip.

20. Day runs until night catches it.

21. So what did that farce of a Parliament have to say today?
    When I tuned into listen to the debate
    The mockery was over and all the Ministers were voting yea
    I lol. thinking that Barbados had a one state govt

22. DavidFebruary 21, 2022 5:22 PM

Day runs until night catches it.

Other way around makes more sense.

Light overcomes darkness, always!!

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, true dat: day runs until night catches up…. the problem tho is that in some climes there can be endless nights and days !

We have slipped into some type of tropical political ‘solstice’ where we have the start of an endless period of night (or day depending on your party bias) … so the one may not catch the other for a while yet!😇

And remarkably endless periods of day/night are designated by Barrow….

Yep, Barrow, Alaska that is!…. That coincidence is surely an omen right. 😇🤣

So n’Ight’ may not catch up to the ‘day’ for a while yet,, because as @Northern highlighted the fact that this person @AC continues to so dismissively disparage the electorate with remarks like “what did that farce of a Parliament have to say today?” shows clearly that they are still badly ‘divorced’ from reality and are hoping (and praying) that their former partner becomes disenchanted with the new suitor !…. They truly have NOTHING to offer to get the partner back… so this gine tek a long time!

BTW long endless nights cause lots of divorces, depression, alcoholism and other deep psychological problems … the DLP will suffer SEVERELY during their years long NIGHT.

24. 61-0 gine kill some ah wunna.🤣🤣

25. Despite its flaws, the DLP holds the cards.

The DLP can run in the upcoming elections on ratifying the change to a Republic only after holding a referendum and getting a 2/3 vote in favour of the change, the BLP dare not.

The DLP can also run on its record that it has scrupulously observed the constitution, the BLP dare not.

The BLP looks like crap just by its actions since 2018 designed to bluff and pretend and force an unconstitutional Parliament down citizens’ throats.

One wonders how a BLP could even survive such an onslaught.

Citizens unfortunately are faced by both a BLP and a DLP they can’t trust.

Never was a greater need for alternatives.

26. Hope I live to see the day when light will overcome the darkness that has enveloped Barbados

27. 61 -0 X whatever would never give me any concern
    As I said the blp was in a 10year wilderness and they came out
    Unfortunately on the wrong side of reality
    Having a govtthat doesn’t make sense
    Reconvening aParliament that doesn’t make sense
    Fuh Christ sake blp govt and supporters make it mek sense

28. @Elon MuskFebruary 21, 2022 1:55 PM

Welcome to the Mia Mottley whisperers club!

You have become a great admirer of our Supreme Leader. It is always said that converts are particularly radical or submissive.

Unconditional allegiance and the willingness to sacrifice oneself for the Supreme Leader are the basic principles of the New Order in Barbados. Westminster was yesterday, harmony, order and security in the one-party state are today.

Tron, year 1 New Republic, year 4 Supreme Leader

29. The AG statements reads like this
    The senate would not meet pending outcome of the court case
    He goes on to say that some senators might not feel comfortable attending senate and would not be force to do so
    Here this duffus saying that because of the discomfort senators might have pending the outcome there would be No senate meetings held
    However when the matter of the Constitution is laid out before him he defends such a right of convening Parliament without a full House
    No wonder Barbados is in such a hot mess with everything having clowns run things that they have no business being around

30. Habit
    abit
    bit
    it

Kick Bu
    if you had enough of the John and AC claptrap

31. meetings delayed to avoid discomfort to some senators – by Kareem Smith February 22, 2022
    The Mia Mottley administration has delayed all business in the Senate pending a decision from the High Court on whether the Upper Chamber may sit with three vacancies still to be filled.

Attorney General Dale Marshall on Monday declared that to continue operating as normal under the circumstances, would “cast a pall” over the work of the hallowed institution.

He said although the Government is confident that the business of the Senate could be legally conducted, the unresolved court matter could place some independent senators in an uncomfortable position.

“We have decided that at least until the case is heard, to have the Senate continue to meet would first of all put some senators in an uncomfortable position, because lacking the certainty of a decision, some senators might have their own personal discomforts about participating,” Marshall told Barbados TODAY.

“Secondly, the work of the Senate is of extreme importance. It is very significant and it would be unwise to proceed and to pass legislation in circumstances where there is a matter challenging the validity, that would cast a pall over the work of that very August body.

“So on the assumption that we will be able to get this case done quickly, we have taken a decision to delay,” the AG added.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

@dpd
    It is a lost cause.
    @John has decided that for a parliamentary democracy to operate there MUST BE an opposition.
    That voters are free to vote for whomever they feel like, ONCE when totalled, all the elected are not of the ‘same mind’
    “Go back to the electorate and get them to elect a group that will sit in opposition”
    Oblivious, the “democratic” is the result of the free will of the people.
    And unsure where this comes from, but an office cannot be vacant until it has been filled?
    Not that the office exists in perpetuity, but nobody is currently qualified, ipso facto, the President is required to exercise their discretion an appoint two senators, in lieu of the LoO.
    But the PM went and muddied the waters with Koochie Koo and some offer she was not entitled to make.
    Look and see what is occurring elsewhere, for this is nothing more than an unnecessary distraction.
    There is no reason why 21 duly appointed Senators cannot grace the upper house in 48 hours.

33. @ NorthernObserver February 22, 2022 2:30 PM

Our Supreme Leader cannot act unlawfully because her every action has the force of law, even constitutional force. Her will as leader is our constitution and our law.

If the unpatriotic opposition does not accept the generous offer of two Senate seats, the entire opposition will have forfeited its rights in the Senate. Our Supreme Leader will then have the right to fill the two seats according to her leader’s will, independently of her subordinate President and independently of all courts.

I propose Enuff and Lorenzo for this task. Both have proven themselves as loyal followers for years and have often, though not always sufficiently, defended our Supreme Leader against the attacks of the unaptriotic opposition.

I stay behind on BU to organise resistance to the despotism of the opposition and to explain our Supreme Leader´s will to the common people.

34. SOUND OF NOISE

SHUT IT TO WRASSE WHOLE DOWN!!!!

35. @ Tron February 22, 2022 4:01 PM
    I propose Enuff and Lorenzo for this task. Both have proven themselves as loyal followers for years and have often, though not always sufficiently, defended our Supreme Leader against the attacks of the unaptriotic opposition.
    I stay behind on BU to organise resistance to the despotism of the opposition and to explain our Supreme Leader´s will to the common people.
    (Unquote).

Good omen of fore-thinking there, Rasputin!

You are more than just the Tsar of deal-making to end the make-believe deadlock of all deadlocks simply contrived to put taxpayers’ blood money in the pockets of parasitic red livery lawyers who helped financed the last three-footed-one-horse electoral race with the jockey Fumble Stuart in the saddle.

We second that (e)motion!

A clear case of two red-painted men from Roebuck Street shouting: ‘Two for all 30’.

What a parody of a mockery of parliamentary democracy for all to sing in the choir of unison:
    ‘All Hail Your Supreme Leader & Empress of Bim!’

Your Empress is holding the banana to feed the monkeys in your fledgling republic.

36. Oh dear, rent free in your head!

37. I’ve been giving this constitutional matter some thought from the point of view of a software engineer implementing an algorithm and I can suggest possibly the only solution.

The bug in the software resides entirely with the GG and her decision in 2018.

She exercised bad judgment in appointing Reverent Joe as leader of the opposition when he came knocking at her door to inform her he had been selected by the group in the House that would sit in opposition to the Government.

Five days earlier she had sworn in 29 ministers so by 1st June 2018 she would have known Revernt Joe was lying to her.

She should resign now and go along!!

The Court should declare the 2018 Parliament unconstitutional and everything done was null, void and of no effect.

Can’t be Cicely Chase as I think she was appointed after 2018, kind of amusing to think she may not even have been constitutionally appointed.

That would mean HRH was still Head of State and could appoint a new GG.

The New GG would issue a Writ and elections would be called.

… and continue to be so called until there is an opposition.

If everything is rendered null and void from 2018, it means we do not have a Chief Justice to replace the GG, and of course, there is no President of the Senate.

https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/seven-new-judges-sworn-in-by-governor-general/

38. @ John February 22, 2022 7:28 PM
    (Quote).
    She exercised bad judgment in appointing Reverent Joe as leader of the opposition when he came knocking at her door to inform her he had been selected by the group in the House that would sit in opposition to the Government.
    (Unquote).

Not Constitutionally correct there, our dear Sir Johnny!

Judas Joe was a duly elected member to the HoA just as his template was chosen by your sweet Jesus to play that very part in the Passion Play to hold Jews guilty for the crucifixion of your sweet innocent Lord Jesus.

Rev. Joe had every Constitutionally-enshrined right to go straight to being the LoO as expected by a Bishop on the board game of chess to protect the interests and integrity of the State.

The challenge this unexpected time around is that there is no real Knight around to cover for the missing Bishop on the board game.

39. @ Enuff February 22, 2022 7:23 PM
    “Oh dear, rent free in your head!”

No Master Enuff, can’t you see the miller is paying homage to your good self?

After all, you do, indeed, pay rent seeing that you have been in receipt of millions of greenbacks from your astute management of those billion dollar contract projects executed from the precincts of Roebuck Street but with your white servants taking home peanuts to their families in St. John.

We are sure your dear “friend” BAJE or even the BU witch Abigail will, without hesitation, vouch for you as a man of complete composite consummate integrity.

40. Reverent Joe needed a group of other members sitting in opposition with him to elect him their leader!!

41. I see AC continues to punch well above her weight. It is amazing to see the tag team trio taking turns at jumping in the ring. But the little train that can, the warrior, the last DLPite standing battles on.

The ballad of AC Jones
    https://youtu.be/eoCKROUadd0

42. Today the Upper House would meet to debate the Estimates
    The question is being asked
    Who would be involved in the debate outside themselves
    Who on govt side would bring to the table an opposing view on any of the estimates proposed
    Another first in the democratic process under the leadership.of Mottley
    Well.well. well

43. The blogmaster anticipated this would have occurred.

Some UWU-led striking nurses return to posts
    Article byAnesta Henry
    Published on
    February 23, 2022

General Secretary of the Unity Workers’ Union (UWU) Caswell Franklyn says some of the nurses who were on strike for weeks have returned to work.

He told Barbados TODAY that even though the nurses are dissatisfied that their grievances and concerns have not been resolved, they made the decision to return to work after experiencing financial difficulties from having their pay docked. Though he could not say how many of the 80 nurses who initially went on strike in late November last year have returned to work, he noted that nurses are still off the job and are insisting that the authorities look into resolving their longstanding concerns.

“Some of them came to me and said, ‘Mr Franklyn we can’t hold out any longer and we would go back to work’. Not that they are happy about it, but they got to do it because of their financial situation. On the other hand, there are some nurses who say that they would rather leave the nursing profession than to continue under these conditions.

“The Government wants to have a union that they could negotiate with that are their friends. Everything that we have asked for they are now giving to the other nurses, but we really don’t care as long as the nurses get the benefit,” he said.

The nurses began strike action last December to press Government to deliver better working conditions and increased pay, health insurance, improved nurse-to-patient ratios, remuneration for degrees and continuous training.

In January, scores of nurses marched through The City to pressure the Mia Amor Mottley administration to address their longstanding grievances.

“The nurses in Unity Workers’ Union, they mandate actions and they have said to me that they are not looking to give up. I can only give that message,” Franklyn said.

Last weekend, Minister of Health and Wellness Ian Gooding-Edghill announced that Government would reintroduce the payment of a stipend to student nurses after it was stopped nearly eight years ago.

The minister said the move will benefit 273 student nurses to the tune of approximately $2 million per year and will not only act as an incentive to attract persons to the profession, but will also make it possible for students not having to work and study at the same time. He said it also offers some compensation to students for the services provided to healthcare facilities as a component of their clinical training.

First-year nursing students will be paid a stipend of $458.98 per month; second year $578.53; third year $698.16 and fourth-year $798.16.

Franklyn said that while the reintroduction of the stipend is one of the initiatives the nurses on strike have been fighting for, he said it is merely enough for bus fare and should be seen as a “joke”.

“Our position is that it should be at least $1 000 because it is supposed to prevent them from going and looking for work while they are studying. But you cannot give a fellow $400 and expect him or her not to go and find income somewhere else.

“They are studying full time and you are telling me now that you will only give them $400. It should be across the board that if you are a nursing student you should get a stipend of $1000,” Franklyn said.
    anestahenry@barbadostoday.bb

44. Better late than never.

Modified electoral laws being drafted

Article by Emmanuel Joseph
    Published on
    February 23, 2022

Recommendations for new laws governing the island’s electoral process are now before the Chief Parliamentary Counsel for drafting.

However, Chairman of the Electoral and Boundaries Commission (EBC) Leslie Haynes, QC revealed on Tuesday that none of those recommendations relate to any of the issues arising from the January 19, 2022 general elections.

On the eve of the election, the Barbados Sovereign Party’s Philip Nathanial Catlyn filed an application for an injunction to stop the polls from going ahead on the grounds that more than 5,000 COVID-19 patients were being denied their constitutional right to vote.

Catlyn claimed that the exclusion of COVID-19 positive citizens from the election was in breach of Section 6 of the Representation of the People Act which enshrines the right of eligible residents and citizens to vote.

Justice Cicely Chase had ruled that the court had no jurisdiction to hear an injunction to stop the general election, pointing out that the application was incorrectly filed as it ought to have been brought before an election court.

“In respect of the recent elections . . . this COVID thing . . . I only received the box-by-box results last week Thursday. So we will soon start meetings again and we will look at the election and we will look and see how we can do things better and improve in certain areas,” Haynes told Barbados TODAY on Tuesday.

“We have been working on the laws for a long time and . . . what we have been working on does not yet include any review of these elections, but we will do so within the coming months.

“We make changes to the laws all the time. We have a number of changes coming. You would have heard of the Barbados Identity Authority and Management, and then we are going to have a centre to get things in order. In terms of laws and bringing them up-to-date and amending them, we have been working on that process for the last three years. It is now out of our hands. Those laws are now with the Chief Parliamentary Counsel,” he added.

Haynes said he expects the Identity Management Authority to be up and running in another two to three years.

He pointed out that the responsibility of death certificates and birth certificates would be removed from the Registry of the Supreme Court of Barbados and placed under the jurisdiction of the Authority.

“We at the Electoral Commission, if we have an Identity Management Authority, that Authority would be responsible for birth certificates, death certificates, marriage certificates, that type of thing so that it would be easier for the EBC to keep track of who is born or when they reach 16 or 18, you write them a letter and tell them come in and get their ID card or whatever. It would be easier for us to track if we move those things out of the Supreme Court and have an Identity Authority. So, that’s coming,” the senior counsel explained.

Haynes disclosed that changes are also in the works to address the issue of Commonwealth residents in Barbados voting.

“We have also recommended that CARICOM [Caribbean Community] nationals . . . . Remember, not all CARICOM nationals are Commonwealth citizens; for instance, Suriname belong to the CARICOM but Surinamese are not Commonwealth citizens. So we have recommended that CARICOM citizens be put on the same level as Commonwealth citizens,” he said.

“The CARICOM community, as far as I am concerned, should come before Commonwealth citizens; but we have put them on the same level. So, that’s where we are, that’s another change that’s going to come,” the EBC chief said.

Back in February 2018, at least 14 Commonwealth nationals resident in Barbados went to court in a last-ditch effort to have their names included in the voters’ list to be used in the May 24 general elections here.

The details of the court action had not been made public at the time but the attorneys representing the Commonwealth citizens resident in Barbados had called for Chief Electoral Officer Angela Taylor to have their clients registered ahead of the polls, in keeping with a ruling by the Trinidad-headquartered Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).

In their May 16, 2018 letter to Taylor, the attorneys asserted that they were in possession of the CCJ ruling that endorsed the ruling of the Barbados Chief Justice “that your longstanding policy was ultra vires and unlawful, but also pronounced that you have an obligation, once an applicant satisfies the criteria for registration under section 7 and the formal requirements under the Act and Regulations, to register that applicant”.

The CCJ ruled that St Lucian-born Eddy Ventose, a professor of law at The Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies (UWI), should be registered as an elector to cast a ballot in the May 24 general elections. emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

45. The bug in the software lives at Government House.

Costs us $872K per year.

46. Urgent oil drilling mission to help cushion economic blow from escalating Russia-Ukraine conflict – by Kareem Smith February 23, 2022
    A team of oil and gas specialists have been summoned from the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago to assist Barbados with an urgent oil drilling mission, as the country looks long-term at cushioning any likely economic blow from the escalating conflict
    between Russia and Ukraine

Barbados today

47. A team of oil and gas specialists have been summoned from the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago to assist Barbados with an urgent oil drilling mission,
    ~~~~~~
    Well, we can add that ‘new oil business’ to the BNB, Nation, BS&T etc …of new Trinidad ASSETS…
    IF….
    A fool and his money are soon parted.
    Can you imagine politicians with OUR money…?

48. ” The country’s two major utility companies were caught in a back-and-forth over what led to a water outage during the wee hours of yesterday.”

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/02/23/bwa-blames-water-outage-glitch/

49. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Ac
    The Senate has no power to veto financial matters coming from the House of Assembly. Please review the law ,practice and conventions of our system of Governance.
    Commenters tend to pontificate before reviewing the basis of their interventions.

50. Vincent CodringtonFebruary 23, 2022 11:41 AM

Ac
    The Senate has no power to veto financial matters coming from the House of Assembly. Please review the law ,practice and conventions of our system of Governance.
    Commenters tend to pontificate before reviewing the basis of their interventions
    Xxxxxx
    Understood
    However I do belive they have a voice on such matters sufficient and enough to give another perspective when necessary
    I belive that much is owed to the taxpayers of Barbados

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply