Submitted by Observing

So far for the year we have had a general election, back to school discussions and a few others in the thought space. Over the years from following BU and local print media it became obvious that certain topics generate an abundance of discussion, while others don’t.

Don’t get me wrong, to each his/her/their own, but, if we truly say we want to be a part of the discussion and debate, why is it that on matters of national importance (e.g. Food security or tertiary education) we get crickets…while on others like Rihanna’s belly or a Minister’s outside child or woman or man we have a spike in interest?

The ole Rum Shops were famous for men and women being willing to talk openly about anything even if they knew nothing about it. Distilled in those spirits and conversations were sparks of ideas and thoughts that could easily hold their own in any Parliament. But where has our national discourse gone?

We have a detached generation coming up, who, for the most part don’t care about civics, politics or politricks. They have enthusiasm and skills, but the environment doesn’t develop them.

Are we afraid to speak out? Are we being filtered? Is the media overly selective in what it covers or projects? Have we become apathetic and disengaged as has been suggested here?

Oh for the days of the figurative rum shop, where we could speak, argue, debate, learn, be wrong and strong and still return home as one family or community.

So, my question to the BU family is this. What matters most to you right now? What’s your opinion? What should we as a nation be discussing and debating? Let’s agree to disagree, let the comments flow and let’s rebuild the strength of conversation and communication on all things Bajan and Bajan developmental.

Hopefully those that have ears to hear will hear, and those that are worried about taking the lead will be empowered to hold the reins and ride. If they don’t…oh well. We can still drink Bush Tea, be Critical Analysers without being Johnnies until we have had Enuff of the Pedantic Dribbling and, whether our neighbours are Donnas, Walters, Williams, Angelas or Trons, we can put our Hants to the plough and enjoy a cold Miller beer afterwards while saying Cuhdear Bajans, leh we do better nuh.

Thank God (or the Creator) for this BU space.

Walk good ya hear!

198 responses to “What Matters to You???”

1. @ Donna
    Donna February 18, 2022 10:19 AM

“BUT… William, I do bear in mind that there will always be people who are suffering for various reasons and so I do not obsess. I switch off enough to enjoy my life as much as I can, knowing full well that if our positions were reversed, they would do the same.”

I am a product of the 60s; we argued , read every second hand paper back we could afford!
    We respected the sisters to the max. I don’t care what the “ modern” woman says : cussing our women and sisters will not be a part of my existence.
    There is a line between disrespect and pretending to ignore proper manners and how to communicate fooling people that you are some kind of modern day anarchist.
    We argued ideas; not where people came from . I am not into nostalgia but intellectual dishonesty for me is up or is it down there with rape and molesting children.
    We never stopped enjoying: fishing dating, too much booze , crashing parties . But the friendships have lasted and we cried together and became god parents of our friends’ children.
    We are throwing out our Blackness and babies with the bath water.
    Your relationship with your son is beautiful and a thousand years from now; it will still will be as other generations take their places.

2. @ WURA
    It’s one of the more positive things this administration is doing. The Caribbean needs Guyana more than Guyana needs the Caribbean.
    There are many Guyanese , who now introduce themselves as being from
    South America. We have to work hard to ensure that we don’t lose Guyana.
    About three years. ago some clown came here on BU , saying that we ( Barbados ) can assist Guyana with its eco tourism. I was forced to tell him that Barbados cannot teach what we don’t have or know.
    Guyana has been the number one or two leader in eco tourism for years. And that product has not scratched the service yet!
    Sometimes we ,as Bajans ,need to take our heads out of imagined clouds.
    I can’t agree with you that this is an effort to be treated negatively. Mottley, like it or not, has rapidly developed an image sd the most prominent voice in the Caribbean.
    I daily , interact with brothers and sisters from the region and 90% of them , like her energy. Mottley should not be taken lightly. She has a formidable presence in the region.
    Should she succeed in forging progressive economic links with Guyana; we Bajans might be tempted to fool ourselves that we are doing Guyana a favor but it’s the complete opposite.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“There are many Guyanese , who now introduce themselves as being from
    South America. We have to work hard to ensure that we don’t lose Guyana.”

actually Guyana is South America….it’s one of the latinx countries Simon Bolivar was seeking republic status for….it’s the usual suspects separated it from that South American.continent, but it’s still very much a part of it, they could not erase the continental lines…..you can walk from Brazil to Guyana…it’s all one huge continent..

if there are no ulterior motives from the notorious leadership, Guyana could feed the entire region and their tourism attractions are nonparallel, they will draw a huge crowd, because they are hard to match..Kaiteur Falls on its own alone, is magnificent….think it’s designated one of the world’s wonders….

i hope they see reality and not their insular hallucinations…re Guyana…and that also go for the racist element in that large country…

4. As if we don’t have an atlas!

Oh dear!

5. An important part of the vision written into the TOC is developing our water resources, this shouldn’t mean only fossils. What about fishing, hydropower etc? These are topics so called actors who claim they care about Barbados relegate in favour of the usual political poppycock talking heads prefer to discuss.

6. @ WURA
    That was a kind of sarcastic remark. Prior to 10/15 years ago; Guyanese never presented themselves as coming from South America. We all knew that is where they are geographically and we know about the trials and tribulations with Venezuela.
    They started to do that to distance themselves from the region; it was political.
    I am deeply involved I the Diaspora and I interact with my brothers and sisters from throughout the region all day long.
    Guyana has always been seen as the only country in the region, capable of feeding itself and the entire region.
    However, we as progressives, have to welcome positive news. And what Mottley is doing is absolutely correct.
    Like I said recently: It’s the message we need to concentrate on and not the messenger. And for me that’s across the board.
    As a regionalist, I cannot and will not pour cold water on such an effort.

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The usual suspects are always in a frenzy to separate people and countries and they did it successfully to Guyana, they also did it on the Afrikan continent to 55 countries…..after centuries people don’t even remember who they are/were….or even where they came from..

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“As a regionalist, I cannot and will not pour cold water on such an effort.”

don’t think any sensible person would, it’s long overdue and i can guess the real reason there is a rush to finally get it done after so many decades of talk, other things are going on…..

“Prior to 10/15 years ago; Guyanese never presented themselves as coming from South America.”

partly because they did not know the history and partly because the 2 main groups are not wholly indigenous to the country, one has only been around this region for a couple hundred years, but both were forced migrations………..it is a recipe for disputes re the Venezuela situation…seeing as the original indigenous groups, not big in numbers, but they are still around…

9. Cannot repeat it often enough Observing, pension reform and the NIS FUND!

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…it’s not as simple as it looks or sounds, but certain actions last year, brought on other actions…..the reason it has to be done….i have to be deliberately vague in saying certain things going forward….but you might see a measure of integration manifesting…

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Just don’t get reeled in to all the rhetoric, you will see eventually, am waiting to see if it really happens…patience….

12. Steuspe

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So you would love to get trapped in this too…but ya will have to get there on ya own…

14. Dah steupse too short, David!

15. I can see you are not a believer 😀

16. Either drop it or keep it.
    My head is spinning trying to figure out what was kept and not dropped.

17. Looking at my clock 9:00
    BU lock may be a minute slow.
    Watching paint dry
    Multitasking

18. @ WURA
    The region has to reform itself and Guyana is pivotal to this reality. Quite frankly, the entire region is broke.
    Having wasted 60 years, we now find ourselves in a bind.This is going to be very difficult. We must act or we will perish economically.
    The struggle continues

19. And to your chagrin Mia Amor MOTTLEY is leading the charge after your preferred candidate went asleep at the wheel for the lost decade.

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Quite frankly, the entire region is broke.”

and they are getting the help they need, am confident you and some others will figure it out shortly..

..i have NO TOLERANCE for idiots period…but my patience is WAY UP THERE the stratosphere..

.just watch out for the LYING rhetoric and the TIEFING of the credit….’

Theo…the last time i dropped something, it turned out not so well, good thing it was only SOME dropped or it could have been an ALL OUT DISASTER…

i know well enuff how to protect MY OWN ASS…CYA..

21. #SleepMusic #DeepSleep #432HZ
    Activate 100% of Your Brain and Achieve Everything You Want | Brain Neuroplasticity | 432 hz

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

We all know that the region is in SHAMBLES from even BEFORE the virus……Barbados and Guyana are amongst the hardest hit, they have to accept help wherever and from whomever right now to rebuild….they CANNOT DO IT ALONE….

but some on here got some kinda fantasy that has no relation to reality….even though they are borrowing here there and everywhere…to plug this and that hole, which we all know, those of us with commonsense anyway….is never going to be enuff..

commonsense is NOT COMMON..

23. Cuhdeeeeeeaaarrrrrr!

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And…if some would pay attention to world affairs, regional affairs, etc…. instead of waiting to attack the next comment….they would have seen how it all started…and know what this is all about and that it was NOTHING NEW, IT WAS SOMEONE ELSE’S IDEAS………it was not that easy to miss…if ya keep up with certain news, regionally…….

so they can stretch their lips until it touches the ground, they can’t change reality….

25. How poor is poor

the magic of love

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….am sure you remember PLTs idea that he GIFTED to the people of Barbados and the ideas THIEVES refused to give him the credit…same scenario….only thing this time, they thought no one in the region saw how it all came about for GUYANA initially, and can spread throughout the region…

.so of course they are pulling the same stunt…instead of FOCUSING on the task at hand…..it is nowhere near time for credit or pretending ya created an idea that YOU DID NOT…..

27. Short Steuspe, long Steuspe, dry Steuspe

28. “….am sure you remember PLTs idea that he GIFTED to the people of Barbados and the ideas THIEVES refused to give him the credit…”

your twist is not as enlightened pragmatic or grown up and mature as Peter’s take as he was thankful his plan was implemented

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bXiu0XN25kg

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“your twist is not as enlightened pragmatic or grown up and mature as Peter’s take as he was thankful his plan was implemented”

not my fault that people KNEW ABOUT the Guyana PROJECT since LAST YEAR…and these on BU seem to have missed the memo…we understood how important it was THEN and even MORE SO now that it has reached and surpassed not only the PLANNING STAGE…but can now include Barbados and other islands…

it’s the attempt to MISLEAD how it all came about is the problem…it’s something that started quite awhile back, most people are late to the dance.

it’s more difficult to capture news items pertaining to the Caribbean from the wider diaspora…but those on BU have NO EXCUSE…..seeing that the DETAIL was in the local news…BRIEFLY, but it was there…

how can you claim to be the 4th estate and missing these types of offerings, gifts, attempt to unite and integrate the islands….then, without understanding, misinterpret the reality….

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and then try to blame me, NAH…..blame yaselves, ya focused on the wrong things…

things is, they are KNOWN SO WELL by those with ulterior motives, that they KNEW they would miss it….lol…

31. Governments are implementing plans
    and you say you see the bigger picture
    PLT is structuring his work around his plan

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Kiki…everyone is….but ya still have to be on the lookout for the ideas thieves and tiefing credit hounds….misleading the people and lying to push up their stock…

the plans were created and IMPLIMENTED ALREADY…it’s just to make it all inclusive..

..hope we don’t here any bullshit going forward that this and that cannot happen, because WE KNOW they can….and WILL….maybe if ya were dependent on the pretenders only, yes, there maybe a cockup or quite a few…but this is not the case here……

btw….heard recently that many of the welcome stampers whose year is up opted not to renew…did not get the full story, not interested either way..

33. @ WURA
    This is about the umpteenth attempt to get something going in Guyana. I attended a Caribbean trade show, at home about forty years ago. Guyana had ten times the number of products any other island showcased.
    There was a vibrant green heart trade between some Bajans and Guyanese. I know of shrimp and pineapples coming in from Guyana to Bim thirty years ago.
    Thirty years ago, we were buying fish from Guyana in our markets.
    Guyanese were selling jewelry to Bajans for a hundred years !
    There were two problems:
    1. Perpetual political problems in Guyana
    2. The failure of our governments to really back the small entrepreneurs. In other words even with the politics problems in Guyana , the small traders could not invest significantly.
    However even at that level millions of dollars floated between Bim and Guyana.
    I am wishing Mottley’s efforts all the best because I know that once we get it going. those fires from before could be reignited.
    Barbadians have a long history of successfully trading with our Guyanese brothers and sisters.
    As the elders say: There is nothing new under the sun.
    Peace

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…am 100% sure the Fowl knew none of this before he slithered unto the blog, filled with his usual shit, and insultingly called everyone “simples”….

the easiest dummies to fool are those who know not that they know not…..ask the Bushman..

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“1. Perpetual political problems in Guyana
    2. The failure of our governments to really back the small entrepreneurs. In other words even with the politics problems in Guyana , the small traders could not invest significantly.”

that’s the curse and blight of Caribbean governments…they are only interested in the rich and famous, world criminals, those are who they want everyone to see them hobnobbing with and those who think like the dead Cow will not change that plot and will attempt to uphold that legacy for decades to come……….while the useless governments will continue to neglect those who they should not…

we can hope that this one takes wings and fly….but Guyana was the initial staging site for the project a while back…we can hope it succeeds..i have more confidence because there is another influence at play…hopefully the crab mentalities etc don’t come into play also…..ya done know everybody want to be top dog with their classless, lowcrawling selves,,,,but we can give them the benefit of the doubt…unless they screw up……

36. re Barbadians have a long history of successfully trading with our Guyanese brothers and sisters.
    WHY IS THIS?
    IS IT NOT TRUE THAT MUCH OF THE BLACK GUYANESE POPULATION IS DESCENDED FROM BAJANS WHO RESITED THERE AFTER WORKING ON THE PANAMA CANAL AND ARE IN A SENSE THEN VIRTUAL BAJANS?

37. @ WURA
    These political cultists do not even realise that what is passing for new policy today can be traced back to fifty or sixth years.
    One has to unfortunately ignore some of them , who only see as far as a party leader or a political party.
    That approach is killing productive national discourse.
    As have said , and I will repeat it whenever I get the chance on BU: I was beyond shock by the brazen politically
    psychotic behavior displayed , in the discussion , regarding giving unearned seats to the DLP . It was scary! I drew a line then and it shall remain.
    The road is long with many’ a winding turn…..,,,

38. @ GP February 19, 2022 12:46 PM

“re Barbadians have a long history of successfully trading with our Guyanese brothers and sisters.
    WHY IS THIS?
    IS IT NOT TRUE THAT MUCH OF THE BLACK GUYANESE POPULATION IS DESCENDED FROM BAJANS WHO RESITED THERE AFTER WORKING ON THE PANAMA CANAL AND ARE IN A SENSE THEN VIRTUAL BAJANS?”
    You are absolutely correct!

39. “many of the welcome stampers whose year is up opted not to renew”

PLT may be the best to answer these questions…
    Is the welcome stamp (WS) model applicable to a post-covid world?
    IF the above statement is true, shat would prompt stampers to leave Barbados?
    What can we do to keep them?
    Do you still see the WS product as being superior to our notion of pre-covid tourism

40. Guyana is a country mired in racial and ethnic conflict. This has severely impacted how Guyana developed its resources in recent history. In fact it was responsible for aggressive emigration known as ‘brain drain’. We love to romanticize some issues.

41. There was a period as recent as the late 90’s and early 2000,s traveling to and from the airport was dangerous. It has improved now, but it is a work in progress.

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“One has to unfortunately ignore some of them , who only see as far as a party leader or a political party.
    That approach is killing productive national discourse.”

that’s why i stay far away from political discussions…it will never go anywhere, all we need to do is look around and SEE THE MESS…of course only those who have eyes will…

” I was beyond shock by the brazen politically
    psychotic behavior displayed ,”

lots of psychosis but they can’t see themselves and no one got the time, they need to get mental health help…or stay in that condition, no one cares…

“Do you still see the WS product as being superior to our notion of pre-covid tourism”

it definitely served its purpose during Covid, helped the island out of a massive hole…but that was then, whether it will still be applicable post-Covid without massive upgrades….only PLT wo created it in the first place can answer that…they may have to refer to him eventually…or muddle through their usual spate of cockups…

43. What matters to me is hearing a minister speaks verbal garbage about building ten thousand houses in ten years
    Makes for wonder how many bottles of rum he drank before making that statement
    But then he must have a crystal ball to see the future
    As of now three months and counting there is no occupancy or known completion of any of the Chinese houses which as was said would fast racked the necessity for those who lost their homes in the hurricane

44. @ David
    “In fact it was responsible for aggressive emigration known as ‘brain drain’. We love to romanticize some issues.”
    Stop the nonsense! Please, The brain drain did not originate in Guyana. You need to go and do some research. Historically my brother , the brain drain had been around for over 200 years.
    We also had internal brain drain , where skilled citizens opted to migrate to countries within the region.
    For example there were Bajans who went to other islands where their skills were needed.
    I remember as a boy skilled Bajan electricians going to St.Kitts etc
    Anyway. just don’t buy into nonsense. Barbados has suffered just as much as Guyana or any other country in the region as a result of investing a third of our GDP in education only to see it head elsewhere.
    Please don’t take what you said above about Guyana outside of the corridors of BU.
    On this you can most certainly have the last word. You are dead wrong !
    Peace

45. WILLIAM YOU ARE QUITE CORRECT ABOUT THE BRAIN DRAIN
    THIS IS PARTICULARLY TRUE ABOUT TEACHERS –FROM BERMUDA, AND BAHAMAS, AND ALL DOWN THE ISLAND CHAIN..SAME THING WITH PRIESTS

46. Is this what all the long talk and high expectations are about
    Xxx

Guyana and Barbados have agreed to intensify meaningful cooperation in the areas of gold jewellery, tourism marketing, hospitality training and agriculture, President Irfaan Ali announced on Friday.

He said the two sister Caribbean Community (CARICOM)-member nations have agreed to establish a “gold market hub” for the sale of jewellery mainly to tourists. “Barbados is a major cruise destination and we are working on the possibility of adding value to Guyana’s gold and creating a gold marketing hub concept in Barbados,” he said. He said the governments would set the policies, including incentives and tax incentives, while the private sector would be the “key drivers.” “In Barbados, for example, you have some capacity in the craft of jewellery making. In Guyana, we have capacity so we have to now expand that capacity because we have to create a win-win situation,” he said.

The Guyanese leader said he and Barbados’ Prime Minister Mia Mottley also discussed the possibility of selling local wood in that Caribbean island nation as well as having exchange counterpart representatives in each other’s Ministry of Agriculture to facilitate easier approval and trade in agricultural produce, as well as addressing sanitary concerns. The two regional leaders also discussed how an initial total of 6,000 Guyanese could be trained in various aspects of the hospitality industry at Barbados’ premier specialised institution. “Why we have to move aggressively with the 6,000 Guyanese now is because we have a lot of investment in the hospitality sector that is coming and we need to have the technical capacity, the human resources to manage and to work in those hotels and so on that are coming so the need for training is immediate,” he said.

Guyana and Barbados have already reached agreement on the weekly allocation of 45 minutes airtime on each other’s broadcasting station to market their tourism products as part of the twinning of the two destinations for the joint marketing in traditional and non-traditional markets.

Also down on the agenda of the governments of the two nations is the likelihood of a Guyana-Barbados food terminal as well as the allocation of specific port space to reduce the cost of transportation, increase efficiency and reduce the cost of items.

“Prime Minister Mottley and I committed to a time-frame through which the results of this enhanced partnership will be felt by the population of both countries,” Dr. Ali said.

47. 🎶You could build a factory
    And make misery! 🎵

Soul Asylum

Meanwhile…..

48. Salemite
    “William…am 100% sure the Fowl knew none of this before he slithered unto the blog, filled with his usual shit, and insultingly called everyone “simples”….”

You’re an intellectual, not light, but none-weight. Why do you think it is the umpteenth time it is being tried? Because there’s never been a formalised structure. Maybe you should try reading another William–William Demas; or dig in the BU archives for some of my comments, especially around the global recession 2008/09. Of note, the CARICOM Secretariat is and always has been in Guyana. By the way I said the blog is dominated by hogwash. Predominance does not mean all, it means most. Since you have the unenviable title of Most Posts on BU, your predominance may very well be responsible most for the hoghwash. Who the cap fit….

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“or dig in the BU archives for some of my comments,”

blah, blah, blah….BU already got diggers….i don’t stoop that low…why would i got scavenging for your comments…

you only knew how many times it was tried because William SAID SO…you do not keep up on these things….or would have corrected those who INCORRECTLY thought it was a Mia idea or that it was original, but ya didn’t did ya? let the misleading continue, fowl pschology……………wannabe heavyweight

Leave a Reply to Cuhdear BajanCancel reply