Submitted by Observing

So far for the year we have had a general election, back to school discussions and a few others in the thought space. Over the years from following BU and local print media it became obvious that certain topics generate an abundance of discussion, while others don’t.

Don’t get me wrong, to each his/her/their own, but, if we truly say we want to be a part of the discussion and debate, why is it that on matters of national importance (e.g. Food security or tertiary education) we get crickets…while on others like Rihanna’s belly or a Minister’s outside child or woman or man we have a spike in interest?

The ole Rum Shops were famous for men and women being willing to talk openly about anything even if they knew nothing about it. Distilled in those spirits and conversations were sparks of ideas and thoughts that could easily hold their own in any Parliament. But where has our national discourse gone?

We have a detached generation coming up, who, for the most part don’t care about civics, politics or politricks. They have enthusiasm and skills, but the environment doesn’t develop them.

Are we afraid to speak out? Are we being filtered? Is the media overly selective in what it covers or projects? Have we become apathetic and disengaged as has been suggested here?

Oh for the days of the figurative rum shop, where we could speak, argue, debate, learn, be wrong and strong and still return home as one family or community.

So, my question to the BU family is this. What matters most to you right now? What’s your opinion? What should we as a nation be discussing and debating? Let’s agree to disagree, let the comments flow and let’s rebuild the strength of conversation and communication on all things Bajan and Bajan developmental.

Hopefully those that have ears to hear will hear, and those that are worried about taking the lead will be empowered to hold the reins and ride. If they don’t…oh well. We can still drink Bush Tea, be Critical Analysers without being Johnnies until we have had Enuff of the Pedantic Dribbling and, whether our neighbours are Donnas, Walters, Williams, Angelas or Trons, we can put our Hants to the plough and enjoy a cold Miller beer afterwards while saying Cuhdear Bajans, leh we do better nuh.

Thank God (or the Creator) for this BU space.

Walk good ya hear!

198 responses to “What Matters to You???”

1. You are gracious William.

2. @TheOGazerts February 19, 2022 4:35 PM “A small island like ours cannot always export it brains and wait for remittances. Having the best brains fill vacancies should be the national policy. We need to figure out how to keep and reward some of our talented folks. Nepotism, cronyism and favoritism is not the answer to the brain drain.”

So true.

3. re here WILL BE circumstances likes those of @Doc GP where interpersonal conflicts cause emigration
    PLEASE KINDLY I LEFT BARBADOS BECAUSE I GOT AN OPPORTUNITY TO DO WHAT I REALLY WENT TO MEDICAL SCHOOL TO DO—THAT IS TO TEACH MEDICAL STUDENTS NOT BECAUSE OF ANY INTERPERSONAL CONFLICT

4. “Why didn’t that surprised me?”

Hahaaaa, me neither!

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Noted @Doc GP … so noted!

Based, however, on your various previous posts I would have to suspect those of your inferior superiors would embrace the conflict concept. … Although u left for valid other reasons.

6. @ Cuhdear Bajan
    Thank you. From the time I was a little boy, I was taught that you can’t be wrong and strong.
    I was wrong.
    I Appreciate your compliment.

7. “not surprise”, like you know something about me and why i was there…”

“find myself scrolling..if i see something interesting, i ask permission to use it…”

It’s a good thing you “find yourself SCROLLING,” but still RESPOND to EVERYTHING.

8. Mr. Skinner

Apology accepted.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think you ‘said’ you attended the Modern High School.

Although Modern was a private school, based on its history and that of Louis Lynch, I’m surprised you ‘said’ it “was considered inferior to the public schools.”

I understand MHS produced some very outstanding students who were proud to have attended there.

I find Barbadians seem not too keen on preserving our history. I can’t remember ever reading a comprehensive historical review of private schools in Barbados, public transportation and the private concessionaires or even the manufacturing industry.

I was reading the St. Michael Vestry hearings before then Chief Justice Sir Allan Collymore relative to a review of taxes ‘laid on’ the National, Progressive and Yonkers Bus Companies in August 1952.
    The Advocate’s reporter gave such a detailed description of the proceedings, I felt I was actually present in the Court room. The reporting in those days, especially on murder trials, was much better than what I read these days.

9. @ Artax
    Thanks very much for accepting my apology. I know you and I occasionally, go in the ring but I have never sensed that you are not a genuine person. Thanks once again.
    Yes, I did attend the MHS and Louis Lynch, was almost impossible to describe. He was a genius of a leader and all Modernites wherever, we are consider him a legend.
    The MHS, was not only a school but a very exciting and engaging social experiment that succeeded in a multiplicity of ways,
    Can you imagine , a boy from town, having a boy from St.George , as a great friend. Can you imagine. , the boy from St. George, leaving all his books home , I imagine , and bringing his school bag , loaded with the best sugar cane from
    St.George for the town boy. I was the “ town” boy. The friendship endures to this day. That encapsulates what the MHS was to us.
    But I had to digress. I meant to show the students that our system of education was very progressive for those times. The modern was an educational institution par excellence but I did not pass part 2, ; in other words, while I attended a private school ,it was not on par with what we consider the public star grammar schools , such as Harrison College Combermere etc.
    I wanted to get over to those students that whereas in America, private schools were considerably better than public schools, it was not so in Bim.
    I must confess that I spent my last year at St. Anthony’s High it’s Headmaster, Mr,Kenneth Gall, had a profound effect on me in that short period. He was also an exceptional and legendary educator. To have been exposed to Louis and then Gall ,is really platinum standard.
    I agree with you 100% , that what we are really not true guardians of our fate.
    We have gone from Little England to Little Brooklyn. The country is in the Vice grip of a pervasive cultural penetration that is tearing down the Barbados, that we once knew.
    This destruction permeates all levels and classes . Our institutions and governance,have been rapidly deteriorating for the last forty years but the last twenty five have been nothing more than social and economic terrorism.
    We ignore it at our own peril.
    Louis Lynch really instilled in us: you didn’t have to pass part 2 to rival and surpass those who did.
    It’s all about leadership , and to be brutally Frank with you, the current fiasco about giving the DLP, unearned Senate seats, represents a serious decline in governance.
    We need leaders; we need hundreds of Louis Lynches and Kenneth Galls.
    The best way to know if a fish is bad is to smell its head.
    I hope the combination of the new Senior Education Officer and the new Minister of Education, continues to demonstrate the leadership, we were exposed to during the last week.
    They represent hope and they seem
    very capable; I hope politics doesn’t get in the way
    I agree with your post totally. We are slipping , but we refuse to admit it.It’s the old Denial Syndrome.
    Once again , thanks for accepting my apology; it means a lot to me.
    ✌🏿

10. Critical Barbados, Guyana alliance
    The Prime Minister’s visit to Guyana was an important event in the grand scheme of developments in the region.
    We hope it will bear fruit in more ways than one. Guyana has become a major player in the international energy arena. Its large finds of deposits of fossil fuel ingredient have brightened its prospects for accelerated economic growth in the very near future.
    Barbados has not yet reached that exalted status but the prospects are promising that some future finds, properly explored, may be of direct benefit to the people of our nation.
    Hence it is important that, apart from Guyana being a CARICOM partner, the interests and experience of that country as an oil producer exploring these finds may be of benefit to us as we similarly assess the data available to us, suggests that it is economically feasible to drill in the appropriate blocks already identified.
    But this conference was much more than just discussing the fossil fuel scenarios. The important issue of climate change must now be on the agenda of any energy conference. So this country as a small island developing state has a clear and present interest whenever these matters are discussed at international conferences.
    Economic and practical reality dictates there can be no surgically drastic change in which we drop all aspects of fossil fuel use overnight and adopt renewable energy use at the following daybreak.
    Rather, the change which is under way must be gradual. Hence we have a foot in either camp. We are obviously a consumer of fossil fuels, and as such concerned about global warming. But we are a world leader in the use of renewal energy to heat water This prior position in solar panels must be protected as a national achievement and marketed to global audiences.
    We are also acutely interested in the photovoltaic panels, which we have been using to generate renewable electrical energy and we therefore have to be present at the table when, as in Guyana, the policy is either being shaped or modified.
    These broad parameters of our energy interests on both sides of the debating table, so to speak, demand our highprofile presence at these meetings Yet there are other immediately regional and national reasons why the Guyana visit is so important to us.
    Barbados and Guyana have a long history of family linkages. The sugar cane industry has contributed in a major way to exchanges of skilled pan boilers between our two countries. Strong family connections between families in either country now exist.
    These historical connections may have conduced to useful discussions on the issue of food security, resulting in the joint interests of Barbados with its relatively small land space contributing to food security by growing food in land-plentiful Guyana.
    We hope that the linkages between Guyana and our country and also with Suriname speak volumes for our tripartite cooperation, which can deliver benefits to the people of the three partner nations.
    Rapid global developments taking place at all levels compel small countries to seek such alliances, which may benefit all partners.
    In keeping with the motto that we should be friends of all and satellites of none, we support our leaders seeking to give real economic meaning to those friendships from which our people and country, and our friends and their people, can similarly derive economic benefit.

Source: Nation Editorial

11. @ Artax:

“The Advocate’s reporter gave such a detailed description of the proceedings, I felt I was actually present in the Court room. The reporting in those days, especially on murder trials, was much better than what I read these days.”

It’s the same with those who cover cricket theses days-piss poor. They cannot transport us anywhere.
    I think a lot of people in journalism
    and broadcasting in particular , do not read widely.
    I admire the time and care you take with your submissions, far superior to mine.
    Perhaps it’s the decline in primary school education or the lack of interest in institutions such as the public library. Somehow, we have to find the correct blend of technology, culture and education, Cricket should be a subject on our primary school curricula and calypso should also be there.
    Ed have plenty work to do …..plenty work,

12. Should be we hit plenty work to do not Ed

13. William the lack of quality of education and the need for reform has been your concern for years, why are you surprised at the systems? You are familiar with the term GIGO?

14. @ David
    Yes. I am familiar. I am now putting the finishing touches on my recommendations . I will share them with the BU family later today.
    I had to revisit the recommendations I made to the Task Force On Employment back in 1987.
    I was pleasantly surprised by the new MOE, handling of getting the children back into school.
    Usually impeccable sources told me that her approach is completely different from her failed predecessor.
    We cannot allow this opportunity to be heard on the reform of education
    to pass.
    This is a matter that should involve ALL citizens.
    What is the possibility of putting together a Zoom brainstorming session for the BU family? I am very serious.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“What is the possibility of putting together a Zoom brainstorming session for the BU family? I am very serious.”

brilliant idea…that’s the route taken by most platforms these days, those who don’t already have a video link set up for group chats….

saw a barbadostoday piece on the Saudis being allowed to move in because the limited in intellect cannot see other options…wrote a piece on that immediately for other platforms….gotta get with the new program of disseminating ideas and opinions..

“The MHS, was not only a school but a very exciting and engaging social experiment that succeeded in a multiplicity of ways,”

had some neighbors attend, school produced some sound minds, given the conditions back in the 60s and 70s

“To have been exposed to Louis and then Gall ,is really platinum standard.”

Kenneth Gall, a giant of a man, educated briefly two of my sons..

ya just morphed into little saudi arabia….lol…they just cannot find where they belong, because they do not want to belong to their original origins and sinking into everyone else’s, that alone should be an eye opener for Afrikan descents, who should know what they have to do to ESCAPE these evil traps set by minority demons…….am through spoonfeeding people.

16. @ WURA
    I used to assist with teaching the very young ones from time to time.Maybe your two children passed my way.
    Great to know somebody on here who knew the “K” . Made my day ,actually ;he was just brilliant.
    Thanks for sharing that info.

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…don’t blink, ya don’t want to miss anything.

“and let the former diplomat take his or her lashes in the jurisdiction in which he or she was serving, or maybe I should say self serving.”

not sure about the real circumstances yet and why the recall happened..ya know they are going to cover up…ya know they are going TO LIE, and US usually observes those protocols..

“Hahaaaa, me neither!”

oh, me neither….ya rejoined the “simples” again….wannabe heavy weight….coming back down to earth…trust you to join the idiot who wants to tell me when i should scroll and when i should read, and knows without knowing why i was in Guyana……idiots of feather…

“But there was a wide open election on January 19th. Plenty of time for “others [to] get a shot at genuinely maintaining and managing the island better.”

And yet YOUR others did not step forward.

Can you please explain why?”

and yall still perpetrating that delusion even with evidence of a BUY ELECTION….sensible people don’t do KNOWN buy elections…….what’s the point, look at where everything is right now and tell me again how well it went….it’s best to let them show up themselves, no hurry, they will all die off and the young will take over…the next generation is ALWAYS THERE..they will know from viewing these jokers…what NOT TO DO..

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Great to know somebody on here who knew the “K” . Made my day ,actually ;he was just brilliant.”

that would have been in the 90s, he had a nephew who taught also, prior to St. Anthony’s closing, another brilliant mind..

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

brilliant idea…that’s the route taken by most platforms these days, those who don’t already have a video link set up for group chats….

and no, i won’t get involved, am already on several…..plus, it’s better for me to hold quiet counsel going forward where BU is concerned..

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…don’t blink, ya don’t want to miss anything.

don’t know if you remember some weeks ago, not even 4, a comment i made about some people looking out of place on the island….those are who i saw….they got too close, out of curiosity….and i picked up on them right away….

21. Somebody calls interpretation of another response to a comment as ” nonsense”
    Then in review the comment was found to be incorrect
    Out of respect an apology is made on behalf of correction noted
    However one should.expect a similar response of an apology out of the person who made a derogatory statement one which branded the respondent comment as nonsense
    Foot note
    Sometimes individuals are too quick to hand over power to individual whose intent is that which serves self purpose (yes apologies can invoked power of transfer )
    Gladly i say with all due respect be careful how one use their resources of knowledge be it apology or otherwise to uplift others
    All well and good to wear the right fitting shoe but be careful who u regulate who should help u wear those shoes
    Been on BU long enough to see how insults are dished out without an even a word of sorry some by David included
    I know we all are different
    However we all should not be treated as fools and be expected to be gracious to fit in with any one expectations
    Self respect for self should not be seen as a grab bag of gaining the respect of others
    Oops the above was created by a thought of mindfulness for self

22. angela cox February 20, 2022 8:10 AM

Somebody calls interpretation of another response to a comment as ” nonsense”
    However one should.expect a similar response of an apology out of the person who made a derogatory statement one which branded the respondent comment as nonsense
    Foot note
    Sometimes individuals are too quick to hand over power to individual whose intent is that which serves self purpose (yes apologies can invoked power of transfer )
    Gladly i say with all due respect be careful how one use their resources of knowledge be it apology or otherwise to uplift others
    All well and good to wear the right fitting shoe but be careful who u regulate who should help u wear those shoes
    Been on BU long enough to see how insults are dished out without an even a word of sorry some by David included
    However we all should not be treated as fools and be expected to be gracious to fit in with any one expectations
    Self respect for self should not be seen as a grab bag of gaining the respect of others

++++++++++++++++++++++++ +++++

What the F**K???????

angela cox, I read your comment bout 15 times and still can’t understand what it is you trying to say. I had to ask myself the same question your partner used to ask David BU, that if English language is still taught in our schools.

And somebody say that your writing improving or duh like duh got more than one angela cox?

23. @Frank “…that if English language is still taught in our schools.”

English is still taught. Angela evidently didn’t get it. but it may be a learning disability so we should not be too hard on her. it is likely not her fault, nor the fault of her teachers.

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…hope these appreciate your EXCELLENT idea…

25. @William Skinner February 20, 2022 4:34 AM
    2 of my my sisters and 1 brother, born between 1936 and 1947 attended the Modern High School. None of them wrote the dreaded 11+ because it was not yet in Barbados between 1946 and 1958. They all spoke highly of Louis Lynch. If I am not wrong Mr. Gall may have taught at the Modern at some point in his career. All of the siblings are/were very smart people who EARNED opportunities her and in 3 other countries. Did well. All raised smart successful children. My parents never had to go to the MHS to correct misbehavior. Louis Lynch dealt effectively with any misbehavior. Never had to go to a police station either nor a lawyer. My siblings have never had to go to a police station either, never had to hire a lawyer to defend bad behavior in their kids. My parents were old time country people who believed in the virtues of education and of hard work. These values were passed on to their children, grandchildren and great grandchildren.

This may be apocryphal but long ago a little Modern country girl dared to buy a golden apple “in town”. When her parents discovered this they made her empty her school bag and the next day to take it to school full of golden apples. The family maybe owned half a dozen golden trees. What may have been a bit uncomfortable for her was a delightful day for the MHS kids. And a lesson in agricultural economics for everybody.

Nowadays it seems our children snack mostly on imported junk from little foil sacks. I wonder what they are learning from this?

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

ya don’t want to learn Swahili…start learning arabic…..lol

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Correction:

the right name is Kiswahili..

28. dpd
    re Based, however, on your various previous posts I would have to suspect those of your inferior superiors would embrace the conflict concept. … Although u left for valid other reasons.
    I HOEVER , NEVER ENTERED INTO THE CONFLICT ITH MORONS SIR, I JUST LOOKED OVER MY GLASSES, SMILED AND MOCKED THEM

29. What the F**K???????

angela cox, I read your comment bout 15 times and still can’t understand what it is you trying to say. I had to ask myself the same question your partner used to ask David BU, that if English language is still taught in our schools.

And somebody say that your writing improving or duh like duh got more than one angela cox
    Xxxccc
    Fool.
    It was written in coded language for idumpy minds like yours not to understand
    What I do understand however is that many bajans once closing a text book havnt got the ability to think for themselves but leaves open doors for people to tell them how to act and behave
    Hence apologies of all sort can be handed out even to those who shows no respect towards them
    Who was it that said that bajans learned by rot
    Frankly speaking Frank I don’t give a dam if u can read with understanding or not
    The message was not intended to u

30. @William Skinner February 20, 2022 5:23 AM “the lack of interest in institutions such as the public library.”

So when are we going to get a new modern public library? I know for certain that plans for a new library were completed long ago. I believe before the beginning of what is now called “the lost decade” I have seen the plans myself. It would be a great, great shame if Bridgetown does not get a spanking brand new public library before 2027. With a superb Barbados/Caribbean collection, with all modern technology, with a wonderful children’s floor [not some lil squeeze up corner]

I would respectfully suggest that the building on Coleridge Street be retained for meetings, evening concerts, exhibitions, writer’s workshops, etc. and that a new multi-storey building be thrown up over the old building, and that the buildings and parking spaces formerly occupied by the courts be given to the library.

Libraries are not yet unfashionable. People still need to read, to be exposed to more reading than the average person can afford to buy from online book sellers. Human beings will still be reading thousands of years from now.

And being self serving now: I can ask Little Johnnie to work on a new design. For a nice fee of course.

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Frankly speaking Frank I don’t give a dam if u can read with understanding or not
    The message was not intended to u”✔

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

32. angela cox February 20, 2022 9:54 AM

What the F**K???????

And somebody say that your writing improving or duh like duh got more than one angela cox
    Xxxccc
    Fool.
    It was written in coded language for idumpy minds like yours not to understand
    What I do understand however is that many bajans once closing a text book havnt got the ability to think for themselves but leaves open doors for people to tell them how to act and behave
    Hence apologies of all sort can be handed out even to those who shows no respect towards them
    Who was it that said that bajans learned by rot
    Frankly speaking Frank I don’t give a dam if u can read with understanding or not
    The message was not intended to u

What the hell is idumpy?

Yuh could see um is you that learned by ROT fuh trute. Wuhloss, what a ting.

You talking bout apologies but still called me, fool, and like to call people ass and jackass.

You should be woman enough to say what you have to say and tell people what you have to tell them, instead of talking a whole bunch uh shyte that I doubt you even understand what yuh say.

If yuh talking bout Skinner, he admit he made a mistake and apologized. What wrong with that?

Who disrespected him?

33. What the hell is idumpy?

Yuh could see um is you that learned by ROT fuh trute. Wuhloss, what a ting.

You talking bout apologies but still called me, fool, and like to call people ass and jackass.

You should be woman enough to say what you have to say and tell people what you have to tell them, instead of talking a whole bunch uh shyte that I doubt you even understand what yuh say.

If yuh talking bout Skinner, he admit he made a mistake and apologized. What wrong with that?

Who disrespected him
    Xxxxx
    Frankly get it through your thick skull
    I don’t give a dam what u think
    Respect is earned and goes both ways
    Not dished out like candy
    Go away fool.i have no respect for you
    No apologies given

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved February 20, 2022 10:19 AM

Man, um is a good thing you ain’t got time to waste, but still got time to be at every cock fight on BU.

Out of 100 posts, 65 does be yours, yet yuh ain’t got nuh time to waste on BU.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

35. angela cox, you ain’t even got no respect for YOURSELF, so um is obvious you ain’t going to respect other people.

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

lack of understanding is a hell of a thing….some people need a whip to understand fully, and even then…….it may never happen….lol

37. Out of 100 posts, 65 does be yours, yet yuh ain’t got nuh time to waste on BU.

🤣🤣🤣🤣

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Laugh at yourself….everyone understood what i meant. everyone EXCEPT YOU.,,,you should ASK SOMEONE WHO DOES…….keep laughing, love when ya make yaselves look foolish, because of lack of understanding….and it blows back on ya…

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Not one intelligent blogger would tell ya shit…let that be your SWANSONG…lol

40. lack of understanding is a hell of a thing….some people need a whip to understand fully, and even then…….it may never happen….lol

41. FrankFebruary 20, 2022 10:44 AM

angela cox, you ain’t even got no respect for YOURSELF, so um is obvious you ain’t going to respect other people.
    Xxxxxx
    My time is not allocated to fools like u
    Go find someone of your limited intelligence to brow beat

42. @William

She is a serious lady, no BS kind of person in the mold of her minister.

43. @Simple Simon

Is this Mr. Gall who headed St. Anthony’s?

44. angela cox February 20, 2022 8:10 AM

Somebody calls interpretation of another response to a comment as ” nonsense”
    Foot note

😄 🤣

Somebody like you who could post crap that show us you don’t even understand the English language or write it properly, could tell me my intelligence limited?

Man, you ain’t only got no self respect, you ain’t got no shame too.