Based on the recent IMF visit “at the request of the Government of Barbados, an International Monetary Fund (IMF) team led by Bert van Selm conducted a staff visit via videoconferencing from February 7-11, 2022” see IMF Press Release– Barbados received a thumbs up. Here is the summary of the report card. The Prime Minister must have called an early general election to map the longest time frame to execute economic policy, unfortunately with the consecutive 30-0 shellacking of the DLP and third parties, it appears to have derailed the plan because of the retreat to the Courts to rule on the constitutionality of the composition of the Senate. Based on the case management exercise that must be gone through, the substantive hearing will probably not get on the way until March 2022. In the meantime parliament will be in abeyance, or it should be.

Barbados continues to make good progress in implementing its ambitious and comprehensive economic reform program, while expanding critical investments in social protection. All indicative targets for end-December under the EFF were met. International reserves, which reached a low of US$220 million at end-May 2018, increased to US$1.5 billion at the end of 2021. Barbados recorded a small (½ percent of GDP) primary surplus over the first three quarters of FY2021/22, which bodes well for meeting the primary balance target (minus 1 percent of GDP) for the full fiscal year. Preparation of a budget for FY2022/23 is well underway.

IMF Press Release 22/32

The economy should be the focal point of all concerned given the perilous state of affairs made worse by the pandemic. Instead the country is embroiled in another crisis whether created or caused by happenstance. A reminder of that famous James Carver quote – it’s the economy stupid.

136 responses to “It’s the Economy Stupid!”

1. @ peterlawrencethompson February 12, 2022 2:57 PM

Corona was not an aberration. We had the deep crisis around 1990, then a less severe one around 2000, then a deep crisis again from 2008, then again from 2020. In other words, our economy is on the verge of collapse every 7-8 years. We are now in the fourth IMF programme since 1966 (including the cold programme with the CS loan), a fifth one is coming. Even small children can predict that the sixth and seventh programmes are coming in the next two decades.

If we really want a rebound, we must not only diversify the economy, but also reduce labour rights and bureaucracy, and reform the currency. We have a welfare state like Norway and a bureaucracy like China, but we are paupers without any foreign cash. My prediction is that without REAL cuts, nothing will EVER change.

One or two new hotels will never improve the situation. As you all know, I only use the Hyatt for satire. Or does anyone think that I seriously believe in the Hyatt?

@John A

You are absolutely right in your observation that the naive masses on BU spend weeks lamenting over some unimportant thing like the rags in the Senate, but that they don’t give a damn about the economy.

2. @ David February 12, 2022 5:53 PM

Another option would be to promote tourism CORRECTLY. Our tourism product is tailored to retirees and to the moral Taliban.

We would have to target what the young like, namely parties, soft drugs, adult entertainment, casinos and the like. But I hardly believe that our naïve, backward population is willing to sacrifice its moral Talibanism for profit. Our low vaccination rate shows very clearly that we are intellectually at least 50 years behind modern countries.

3. Oh yeah Donna, well try having haggis as your national dish…..hooves and lips in a bladder lol

4. Well said Skinner including you defending yours pretending to be neutral with no skin in the game.I gone.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

“I can tell you very clearly how to achieve consistent exceptional growth in the local economy over the next decade.”
    And you wouldn’t share that with your buddy GPII, so he could get off the 6yo mare he has been riding.
    Has Mia listened? Or does she block you like GPII reports occurs to him.

6. @NorthernObserver February 12, 2022 6:53 PM
    “Has Mia listened?”
    +++++++++++++++++++
    I have not yet told the Government. In any case it is the responsibility of the private sector to implement so I am figuring out how to build the right private sector alliances to implement it.

7. @ Tron February 12, 2022 6:00 PM
    We would have to target what the young like, namely parties, soft drugs, adult entertainment, casinos and the like. But I hardly believe that our naïve, backward population is willing to sacrifice its moral Talibanism for profit. Our low vaccination rate shows very clearly that we are intellectually at least 50 years behind modern countries.
    (Unquote).

So Tron, do you support the miller in calling for the transformation of little England into a mini Amsterdam?

After all, it was the Dutch, way back in the 17th Century, who gave the fillip to the almost dead sugarcane industry.

Given that there is no alternative industry in the agricultural sector like the growing of ‘cut’ flowers for export to replace the IMF-certified dead sugar, why not look outside the Society of Bajan hypocrisy to transform the comatose economy by emulating the Amsterdam experiment in order to diversify the one-cylinder-tourism-dependent economy?
    At least there is a little light at the end of the hazy tunnel in the form of a night nurse called Medicinal Mary Jane.

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

@plt
    👍👍

9. With all due respect to David and Peter, what we have here, are low level crewmen on the upper deck – discussing various scenarios through which the Titanic can be ‘saved’, despite the waves already splashing over the lower decks.

In the meantime, the Captain and her executive staff are playing musical chairs with senate seats on the top deck, and John is explaining in minute detail, on the ship’s PA system (BU), the structural and design defects that led to the damage to the ship of state.

Bushie have news fuh all wunna….
    “Look for a life boat…”

10. IN OTHER WORDS THERE IS A NEED TO READ AND STUDY DANIEL CHAPTER FIVE VERY WELL FOR LIKE GREAT BABYLON THEN, SO IT IS FOR US TODAY I.E => THE WRITING IS ON THE WALL
    BUT THERE IS NO ONE AROUND TO GIVE THE INTERPRETATION…SAD

25 And this is the writing that was written, Mene, Mene, Tekel, Upharsin.

26 This is the interpretation of the thing: Mene; God hath numbered thy kingdom, and finished it.

27 Tekel; Thou art weighed in the balances, and art found wanting.

28 Peres; Thy kingdom is divided, and given to the Medes and Persians.

11. Has Mia listened?
    +++++
    Once bitten twice shy, perhaps PLT is leery of sharing his ideas with the Gov’t since his last brainchild ended up as a Gov’t program with nary an acknowledgement.

12. ” A Jamaican-based company is set to invest US$45 million in the local renewable energy market once all the requisite government approvals are granted. ”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/02/12/soleco-hoping-to-invest-us45m-in-barbados/

Are there no Barbadian companies willing to invest in Solar energy ?

13. Hants..
    Bajans invest in Chefette ,,,
    What Solar what!!?

14. @Sarge
    I don’t think so.
    He was clear, GDP growth of that magnitude must come via the private sector.
    And on that, I agree
    The Government is not here to scratch our every itch.

15. @ David,
    “That growth given how the local economy is setup can only come from a rebound in tourism given its significant direct and indirect impact on the economy.”

In today’s Nation, there is another alarming story of how Bajan taxi drivers are being unfairly untreated at Bridgetown port. David the cruise ship companies are instructing their passengers to avoid taking journeys with our taxi drivers. Is this legal?

Imagine you are a cruise ship passenger and before you debark from the ship you are solemnly advised by the ship captain to avoid taking a taxi with the locals on security grounds. It would appear such propaganda is highly effective. How is it possible for the locals to benefit directly or indirectly from tourism when the big boys are doing their maximum to keep ordinary Barbadians out of the financial loop.

Mia mentioned how she would like to promote village tourism. How will this work when cruise ship passengers are emotionally railroaded or shepherded into avoiding contact with the natives.

16. “Barbados’ future cannot be based on the construction of the Hyatt, the construction of hotels, or the rebuilding of the stadium. That’s not development. That’s project-based development that is like a match. It burns bright when you strike the match, but afterwards, it burns out. In other words, it creates employment around the project, but it also creates a bit of a crisis in relation to your foreign reserves, because we don’t produce nails, tiles, marble, flooring, or doors. We don’t do any of that. So we get what you call the overheating of the economy. That is feckless growth,” Professor Marshall.

17. Bargain harder with IMF, urges Marshall

Government needs to bargain harder with the International Monetary Fund (IMF), says economist Professor Don Marshall.
    “The Government as an immediate priority has to bargain with the Fund for revised target downwards from six per cent. Right now we are running a fiscal deficit of one per cent. I think that is too tight.
    “You can’t hamstring the country in the name of fiscal discipline simply because you want to see the fiscal books look good. The fiscal books can look good but people’s lives can be severely impacted,” Marshall said.
    Marshall, who is the director of the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies (SALISES) made those comments recently on Research Day at the Audine Wilkinson Library at the Owen Arthur CARICOM Research Complex, Cave Hill.
    During the interview, he recalled that when the Government entered the IMF programme in 2018, in hopes of reaching the six per cent surplus, thousands of public sector workers were sent home and state-owned enterprises were streamlined. Barbados was set to reach the target just before the COVID-19 pandemic.
    He suggested that attempts to reach that target again could be stressful on the country and civil servants.
    “I cannot believe that civil society has not taken up this issue as the most threatening issue facing who we are as a people. If [diversifying our economy] is the number one thing we are about, we cannot be in a relationship with an agency that tells us future financing from us will depend on you assigning the Government to consign your fiscal targets to six per cent primary surplus,” Marshall said.
    Although crash programmes such as road cleaning and beautification drives and construction projects were necessary, he said they would not be enough.
    “Too many of our people wind up unemployed or scarred by the unemployment experience, so people are working in crash programmes like cleaning and beautifying Barbados and all of that is good. But when I think of it, I realise that can only be short term and necessary.
    Crash programmes
    “If you want to promote long-term structural sustainable employment then we can’t just rely on crash programmes
    where we’re paying people $100 a day. That is going to begin to undermine other things in the economy, other understandings of wages . . . that is producing all kinds of incoherence and resentment. We don’t want that discourse in Barbados that a fellow does not have to spend time in school or doesn’t have to work hard at their vocation, [and] all they must do is know a Member of Parliament or the Government in power and get $100 a day,” he said.
    Marshall maintained not enough was being done to diversify the economy.
    “Barbados’ future cannot be based on the construction of Hyatt, hotels, or the building of the Stadium . . . that is project-based development. That, like a match, burns when you strike the match, but afterwards, it burns out. It creates employment but it creates a crisis in relation to foreign reserves because we don’t produce.
    “If we are not producing to save foreign exchange or save foreign exchange, then we find ourselves always at the mercy of shock and impacts like pandemics,” he added. ( TG)

18. Jordan on the hunt for overseas jobs

By Tony Best
    The newly re-elected Barbados Government is on the hunt overseas for hundreds, if not thousands of jobs for workers thrust onto the breadline by the ravages of the COVID-19 pandemic.
    Minister of Labour Colin Jordan said: “We are making a determined effort at home and abroad to implement a jobs initiative designed to open up employment for our people.
    “The initiative involves Government and private sector officials and executives, say in the US and the United Kingdom,” Jordan said while visiting the US.
    Last week, he was expected to meet in Washington with executives of the National Council of Agricultural Employers in face-to-face sessions, making pitches for more Bajans to be recruited to work in different areas of agriculture, especially in the planting and harvesting of food crops.
    “Employment overseas is a long standing tradition for us. It has opened opportunities for our workers who want to support their families and improve their living conditions,” Jordan said.
    “We are meeting with the National Council as well as with officials of the US State Department and other government agencies to discuss this matter. Actually, I am in Washington to speak with agricultural employers at their annual meeting hosted by the National Council. They are discussing issues affecting the farming community and themselves as employers. Countries which want their workers employed in US agriculture have requested an opportunity to speak to the gathered body and in a sense sell themselves as a (labour) supply country in agriculture. Barbados is on that list.
    Opportunities
    “We approached the Council through our consulate-general in Florida, actually through Jackie Martinez (a consular official) in 2021 and we were able to speak about our interests in generating opportunities for about two or three dozen persons getting jobs,” he explained. “The housing arrangements did not work out but we were able to get jobs for about eight workers, which represented a start of an employment programme in the agricultural sector. An invitation was extended to me as minister to speak this year and to be with employers. That’s why I am in the US.
    “The understanding is that we created a favourable impression (last year). Our intention this year is to create another favourable impression and secure more jobs for Barbadians, so that Barbados would be seen as a (labour) supply country,” he said. “We are also going to make individual connections. We will also be meeting with (US government) officials about US visa programmes that could lead to closer collaboration (with Washington) on immigration visas,” he explained.
    In addition to agriculture, jobs in the tourism industry are also earmarked and as many as 104 Barbadians are believed to be employed in the US hospitality sector, most of them in southern states.
    “We are aware of shortages in certain employment areas (in the US job market) and wish to take advantage of opportunities, some of them caused by supply
    chain issues,” said Jordan. “We know there are challenges caused by workforce participation and we believe Barbados is well-positioned to have persons come to the US to work, earn a living and support their families and acquire skills which can be used” once they are back home.
    “They are going to take their skills to the US and learn new skills in the US,” he said. “We are talking about workers being employed in food crops which include small food plants, planting and reaping them,” he said.
    The National Council is the only nationwide organisation in the US that focuses exclusively on agricultural labour issues from the employers’ viewpoint.
    “We represent the interests of agricultural employers – growers, associations and others – whose business interests revolve around labour intensive agriculture,” stated the Council.
    Noel Lynch, Barbados’ top diplomat in the US, said Barbadians have been employed in that country’s agriculture and hospitality sectors for several years.
    “What the administration is doing is paying more careful attention in a more structured way to ensure that we get more of our workers in jobs in these areas,” said Lynch.
    “The Government is seeking to expand on it. What has become apparent is that there are other areas that can be utilised to get Barbadian workers into jobs. In one area, for instance, there is a request generated by Ms Martinez for more than 30 housekeeping staff from Barbados. Barbadian workers have done well when it came to manners, social skills and ability to get the job done,” he added.
    Jordan reported that a new pilot farm workers programme in the UK was working well and might be expanded.

19. @ David,
    Ask BT and The Nation to check their video links. If you try to copy their URL link you are directed towards a Russian link.

20. Simple question. If Barbados exports its citizens to work in the fields or in agriculture who would be left to manage and work on our fields? I have said it many times, Barbadians have become surplus to requirements within their own country. Who will replace these migrants?

This is a truly appalling way to treat your own citizens. Imagine your children working in the southern states of America. Should we not be filled with alarm when we hear why Bajans are been targeted to work in the states in areas such as the hospitality industry: “Barbadian workers have done well when it came to manners, social skills and ability to get the job done,”

21. @MillerFebruary 12, 2022 7:10 PM

We finally need innovative thinking. A kind of libertarian economic regime, bedded on cannabis and adult entertainment.

In short: a kind of Augusto Pinochet with a casual cannabis cigar in his hand.

22. Hard to feel sorry for a people who settles for garbage trucks buses ..parks and food hampers and does nothing to fight for their financial.and economic security
    Meanwhile the top tier gets the best of the best fiancial.and economic basket and security in fiscal hand outs and tax waivers
    Understanding such mentality is beyond any kind of reasoning
    As to this overseas jobs program that has been ongoing it is a reminder of the slave and master mentality only this time written in legal wording and given a go ahead to trade on the open market
    It is beyond comprehension that almost 200 years when slavery was abolished small island leaders still endorsed this idea of sending their people as laborers to countries to be exploitated

23. correction: “a kind of female Augusta Pinochet with a casual cannabic cigar in her hand.”

24. Seems kinda stupid that we are sending agricultural workers overseas when there should be much to do here wrt agriculture.

Why aren’t we pushing our own agriculture?

25. @Donna

Could it be it is a precursor to the abandonment of growing sugar cane in Barbados?

26. PLT,

Do yuh ting! Doan mind de doom an’ gloomers!

Do yuh ting!

Good thing you don’t read any Bible!

27. Lawson,

We have our pudding and souse, Pig trotters and ears. Nice! Some people pickle chicken feet but I never tried them.

Is haggis not nice?

28. In the land of ” la la” 1+1 = 3!

We in the UK are all to familiar with food fraud. Aldi and Lidl ( two mega German food retailers) were selling horsemeat in their processed food for years before they were discovered.

No one on can question your value on BU when it comes to agriculture. Check out the link (part 1 & 2) below if you want to see the horrors of importing food from conglomerates. The GOB is quite happy to ditch the agriculture industry and to allow the rise of megastores such as Massy’s where at least 80% of their food produce or products are imported and are vastly overpriced.

Food security does not exist in Barbados.

https://www.aljazeera.com/program/people-power/2022/2/3/food-inglorious-food-part1

29. @TLSN
    Years ago, Vincentians would come to Barbados to cut cane and Barbadians were going ‘on contract’ to cut canes in Florida.

If we are unable to attract other Islanders, then (1) the gap between Barbados and those islands may have changed or (2) we no longer have a sugar industry.

I had a neighbor who went to Florida every year, but never cut canes in Barbados.

30. Does the Minister of labour investigate the process fully
    Xxx

They complained of unpaid hours, working under tremendous pressure, with very little water or protection, some fainting and vomiting from the exhaustion. They showed us dire housing conditions and spoke of cases of verbal, physical and even sexual abuse.

“We hear that migrants come because it’s hard to recruit, because there’s a labour shortage,” says Catherine Laurent, of the French National Institute of Agricultural Research (INRA).

“It’s worth asking ourselves: is it hard to recruit because there’s a labour shortage, or because the conditions these workers have to face are such that it’s practically impossible for locals to accept them?

31. “I had a neighbor who went to Florida every year, but never cut canes in Barbados.”.

The gentleman would get a job from the hotel when he was on the island. I do not know what was his thinking, though I have an idea.

Things are often more complicated than we think they are and at times we take very simple situations and make mountains out of them.
    ——xx—–
    I just realized that I seldom comment on economic matters… Above my paygrade

32. Yes Siree. It is a tragedy what is unfolding in Barbados to the common man. Exploitation at home and even worse exploitation abroad should he end up in certain occupations. Vigilance is required.

@ TheOGazerts

Perhaps our neighbours no longer feel the urge to return to Barbados. Their economies are doing better than ours
    Why travel to Barbados to be exploited when you can stay at home and live a more comfortable life.

https://www.voice-online.co.uk/news/2021/10/10/strawberry-slavery/

33. LorenzoFebruary 12, 2022 6:23 PM

“Well said Skinner including you defending yours pretending to be neutral with no skin in the game.I gone.”

The same Skinner February 2,2022 7;38 PM :
    ” Mottley enjoys a very stellar political career-she earned it . A remarkable politician by any measure. She has established herself on the global scene; good for the country ; she inherited a dismal economy and so on and although I am not supportive of the IMF, I understand why she did it.
    Now , @ Lorenzo, can you honestly say that I “pretend” to be neutral. I have treated our PM with more respect, than most on this blog. However I will leave it there for now.

34. We have become a glorious Republic. Yet this government, under this leader, cannot see the irony of been complicit in allowing her citizens to become exploited serfs on foreign soil. They are being encouraged to migrate and to put their well-being at risk.

Rather than forge a balanced economy which benefits all. We have a government happy to see the back of Barbados chronic unemployed and underemployed citizens relocate to foreign pastures. Long term this will open the doors to other groups.

35. Why are you on foreign soil?

36. You do realise Barbados was still a British colony until 1966? My parents who came to the UK prior to independence were not on foreign soil. They moved from little England to Big England.

What point are you trying to make?

37. Those who moved to foreign soil on there own that move was not done on the disguise as what govt is doing (now)a govt placing its citizens into hands of modern day slave masters to be exploited
    Lessons learned from the past must be teachers formulating paths for betterment
    David let that digest instead of forming insipid conclusion out a political lens
    As I have said my father went to England because of racist attitudes of that time in his homeland Barbados
    Where the powers at the top made decisions which created an environment of blacks being second class citizens

38. Where has our national pride gone?

Bussa indirectly freed the black plantation slaves because the cost of rebellious workers became too high for the British. Today we send plantation slaves overseas.

Somehow a twisted distribution of roles: in the past, African kings enslaved foreign tribes and sold them to the white slave traders; today, our population is brokered overseas to the plantation.

39. The initiative involves Government and private sector officials and executives, say in the US and the United Kingdom,” Jordan said while visiting the US.
    Last week, he was expected to meet in Washington with executives of the National Council of Agricultural Employers in face-to-face sessions, making pitches for more Bajans to be recruited to work in different areas of agriculture, especially in the planting and harvesting of food crops.
    “Employment overseas is a long standing tradition for us. It has opened opportunities for our workers who want to support their families and improve their living conditions,”

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THIS IS ONE OF THE REASONS HAVE NO RESPECT FOR THE 2 x 3 ISLAND.

HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION HAS GONE TO THE DOGS FOR MANY YEARS WHEN ONE CAN BE RECRUITED FOR SLAVE PLANTATION LABOUR ABROAD AND CALL THAT PROGESS.

THEY ARE MANY SHORTAGES IN THE US FOR HUNDREDS OF THOUSNDS IN THE FOLLOWING FIELDS PAYING MUCH MUCH MORE

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY
    NURSING
    ENGINEERS
    TEACHERS
    ACCOUNTING

HOWEVER IT SEEMS MANY LOCALS ARE HAPPY TO BE RECRUITED AND TREATED LIKE MODERN DAYSLAVES JUST TO TRAVEL ABROAD.

WHO SAID COMMON SENSE IS COMMON.

40. Don’t you think local professionals are capable of applying for the relevant Visas overseas should they prefer to emigrate? The challenge will always be for countries to find work for unskilled or locals with minimal marketability given scare opportunities.

41. Don’t you think local professionals are capable of applying for the relevant Visas overseas should they prefer to emigrate? The challenge will always be for countries to find work for unskilled or locals with minimal marketability given scare opportunities.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

DONT YOU THINK IF YOUR BLACK GOVERNMENTS ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND HAD ANY SENSE OVER THE MANY YEARS THEY WOULD HAVE FUNDED TRADE SCHOOLS PRODUCING MANY THOUSANDS OVER THE YEARS THAT COULD LEAD TO MANY OF THE SAME UNSKILLED YOU TALK ABOUT BEING DEVELOPED IN SOME OF THESE SAME AREAS..

THESE SHORTAGES YEARLY HAVE BEEN IN PLACE OVER A LONG TIME IN THE US, CANADA ETC..

INSTEAD OF TREATING MOST BLACKS ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND LIKE IDIOTS AND DISPOSABLE FOOLS UNTIL VOTING TIME.

WHY HAVE MINISTRIES OF EDUCATION AND LABOUR WHO HAVE BOTH SHOWN THEMSELVES TO BE USLESS AND WITH NO VISIONFOR THE LOCAL BLACK MASSES.

INSTEAD OF ATTEMPTING TO SHIP HUNDREDS OR EVEN THOUSANDS TO DO SLAVE WORK IN ANOTHER COUNTRY.

42. As usual you avoid the inaccuracy posted in your original comment.

Have the last word.

43. As usual you avoid the inaccuracy posted in your original comment.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

AND WHAT IS THIS INACURRACY THAT I AVOIDED.

YOU MAY FEED OTHERS BULLSHIT HOWEVER I WILL NEVER SING IN YOUR CHOIR OF NONSENSE.

44. It is appalling.that the so-called intellectuals on BU cannot decipher the connection of Black past history slaves and today’s modern day slavery under which blacks are legally provided slave labour jobs by system of govts in foreign countries
    The sad of this begs to ask what kind of mentality would befit a black govt to send it citizens back to.an era now condemned to wrongful actions

45. t is appalling.that the so-called intellectuals on BU cannot decipher the connection of Black past history slaves and today’s modern day slavery under which blacks are legally provided slave labour jobs by system of govts in foreign countries
    The sad of this begs to ask what kind of mentality would befit a black govt to send it citizens back to.an era now condemned to wrongful actions

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

TENS OF THOUSANDS OF INDIANS GO TO THE USA TO WORK IN HUGE PAYING JOBS EVERY YEAR

The H-1B visa is a temporary or nonimmigrant U.S. visa that allows U.S. companies to employ foreign nationals with theoretical or technical knowledge in a specialty occupation.

HOWEVER BLACK FOOLS ARE CONTENT TO WORK LIKE SLAVES IN ARGICULTURAL FIELDS WHERE ANY BRAIN DEAD PERSON CAN WORK SANCTIONED BY THEIR BLACK LEADERS.

WHERE THERE IS NO VISION THE PEOPLE WILL PERISH.

46. (Quote):
    “Employment overseas is a long standing tradition for us. It has opened opportunities for our workers who want to support their families and improve their living conditions,”
    (Unquote).

But Blogmaster, how does the above plan mesh with ‘his’ administration’s plan to import an additional 80,000 people to keep the Bajan economy viable and the society demographically sustainable in order to keep the NIS alive for the country’s greying dependants?

Are these ‘readymade-for-export’ unemployed hands going to be sourced from the many blocs of potential unrest across the country which currently make up that employment statistics fudge call the “Voluntary Idle”?

Who, then, would be left to work on the planned medicinal marijuana plantations to be owned and managed by the expected droves of foreign investors in the Easy & Idle Hall properties?

That Minister is now cooking with ‘gas’.
    Instead of talking about importing 80,000 to the already overcrowded and economically stunted small island he should be convincing his Cabinet colleagues of the necessity of easing the social pressures of endemic unemployment by exploring all avenues to getting more people of working age to go (work and settle) overseas as has been the trend in the island since the emancipation of the slaves and the pending collapse of its most outstanding icon called the sugar industry.

47. @MillerFebruary 13, 2022 2:30 PM

I strongly support our government’s plan to export 80,000 impoverished locals overseas as labour drones. However, it is important to strip them of their citizenship rights after departure, because we do not need poverty immigration back to Barbados.

In return, our government should invite 80000 rich “New Barbadians”. So that we can stir up our lethargic, unproductive masses a bit.

48. The plan by this govt to send labour to foreign soil
    Speaks of a govt that has no intent have a Homegrown economic playing field for the unemployed
    In govt simplistic way of thinking it is easier to get rid of that burden that create an environment by which these laborers can find and pursue economic stability at home
    Having said the above then there is no truth as to Mottley statement in unloading mass immigration on the shores of Barbados
    Yet another one of those bold face lies thrown around into the politics of lies and deception by the Supreme Leader

49. When the oil was flowing Norway invested its profits into a wealth fund. When Concorde was flying into Barbados 3 – 4 times a week and tourism revenue was at an all time high our politicians along with certain members of the business community extracted the wealth from the country.

Whilst we are now at the beck and call of the IMF. Norway’s wealth fund has just returned the second-highest recorded profit in its history. The numbers are eye boggling.

https://www.reuters.com/business/finance/norway-wealth-fund-earns-177-bln-2021-2022-01-27/

50. Never bought into the man vs woman war
    All one needs is a good partner and to support him/her.

Leave a Reply to TLSNCancel reply