Based on the recent IMF visit “at the request of the Government of Barbados, an International Monetary Fund (IMF) team led by Bert van Selm conducted a staff visit via videoconferencing from February 7-11, 2022” see IMF Press Release– Barbados received a thumbs up. Here is the summary of the report card. The Prime Minister must have called an early general election to map the longest time frame to execute economic policy, unfortunately with the consecutive 30-0 shellacking of the DLP and third parties, it appears to have derailed the plan because of the retreat to the Courts to rule on the constitutionality of the composition of the Senate. Based on the case management exercise that must be gone through, the substantive hearing will probably not get on the way until March 2022. In the meantime parliament will be in abeyance, or it should be.

Barbados continues to make good progress in implementing its ambitious and comprehensive economic reform program, while expanding critical investments in social protection. All indicative targets for end-December under the EFF were met. International reserves, which reached a low of US$220 million at end-May 2018, increased to US$1.5 billion at the end of 2021. Barbados recorded a small (½ percent of GDP) primary surplus over the first three quarters of FY2021/22, which bodes well for meeting the primary balance target (minus 1 percent of GDP) for the full fiscal year. Preparation of a budget for FY2022/23 is well underway.

IMF Press Release 22/32

The economy should be the focal point of all concerned given the perilous state of affairs made worse by the pandemic. Instead the country is embroiled in another crisis whether created or caused by happenstance. A reminder of that famous James Carver quote – it’s the economy stupid.

136 responses to “It’s the Economy Stupid!”

1. 7% growth a year every year to 2035 is a tall tall order! Last year we managed less than 1% and every year we slip below the 7%, it means we woulpd need to exceed 7% for the remaining Years to net out at 7% over the entire period. I think we will see some austerity and measures to reign in spending long before we see growth of 7% sadly.

2. @ Hants @ John A @ Donna @ WURA

“@ Hants Thanks for sharing : Great potential

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/02/12/guyana-and-barbados-team-up-in-joint-venture-to-develop-sector/

This is the type of initiative we should welcome and be part of. Very good move on the part of both governments.
    PS: I have noted you( The Above) because you all are of a very small number on BU , who are very positive about building a true Caribbean Nation State.

3. UK company sees strong economic recovery

by SHAWN CUMBERBATCH
    shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

A FINANCIAL SERVICES company based in Barbados’ main tourism market the United Kingdom (UK) sees a strong economic recovery for this country in 2022, one it says will be built on a recovery in international travel.
    EMFI Analytics Limited, which has operations in London, England, made the prediction in its latest country report on Barbados. It expected Barbados’ economy to grow by what it deemed “a remarkable” 10.6 per cent this year.
    The report was authored by economist Rosamnis Marcano, strategist Matías Bensousan, senior quantitative analyst Gennaro D’angelo Samarin, and quantitative analyst Sheizza Nal.
    They noted that “38 032 tourists visited Barbados in December 2021, a post-COVID-19 high but still just 49 per cent of the pre-pandemic level, meaning that tourism still has plenty of room to grow in 2022”.
    “We believe that this year will be one of strong recovery, even if the number of visitors does not reach pre-pandemic levels, and we expect a GDP growth of 10.6 per cent, a major improvement after growth of just 1.4 per cent in 2021,” they said.
    “However, even such a positive performance would not be enough to offset the massive 17.9 per cent drop that the country suffered in 2020 when the tourism industry collapsed. The main downside risks are associated with new waves of COVID-19 and the outbreak of new variants, which may lead to the reimposition of containment measures and greater restrictions on tourism.”
    EMFI analysts also said that while Barbados’ 1.4 per cent economic growth in 2021 may seem disappointing, “it’s not too bad considering that tourism, which directly contributes around 18 per cent of GDP, underperformed: the country recorded 143 509 tourist arrivals in 2021 versus 195 105 in 2020”.
    They added: “Also, considering that visitor arrivals reached 49 per cent of pre-pandemic levels in December, the highest since the COVID-19 outbreak, and that tourist arrivals in Barbados have been well below the Caribbean average, we believe the sector has room to recover. Therefore, we have high expectations regarding this year’s tourism-led economic growth.”
    Travel restrictions
    The company said in its outlook for Barbados that it did not expect new travel restrictions in the main sources of visitors to Barbados, the United States, and the UK, whose tourist numbers visiting Barbados in 2021 represented just around 25 per cent of 2019 levels.
    “Since the middle of last year, tourists from the UK have increased, particularly since the British government put Barbados on the green travel list; since then, the requirements to travel have been loosened further,” they stated.
    “However, other markets such as Canada and the Caribbean barely accounted for around 13 per cent of arrivals in 2019, due to remaining restrictions, lower travel confidence, and a slow economic recovery, in the case of the Caribbean countries.
    In this sense, there are reasons to propose a conservative scenario, based on the expectation that tourist arrivals will not reach pre-pandemic levels this year.”
    EMFI estimated in its baseline scenario that “tourist visitors to Barbados will average 56 per cent of 2019 levels, with further recovery towards the end of the year closing around 70 per cent of 2019 levels, meaning tourist arrivals will increase 179 per cent compared to 2021, resulting in a remarkable GDP growth of 10.6 per cent, the highest in its modern history”.
    “This growth is tied to a significant rebound in the tourism sector and related productive
    linkages. In that sense, we expect tourism to rebound by around 179 per cent on average over 2021 and 70 per cent on December-on-December. However, this growth is subject to the evolution of the pandemic worldwide and the improvement in the vaccination process on the island,” the report said.
    It added that “higher tourism receipts will turn the current account deficit of 6.1 per cent of GDP in 2021 into a surplus of 0.8 per cent of GDP in 2022. The positive outlook will depend on the course of the pandemic and the avoidance of new travel restrictions in major markets.”
    EMFI also said that “the context of rising oil prices and supply chain disruptions put pressure on domestic prices after inflation accelerated to five per cent in 2021. These risks will remain this year, however, we expect inflationary pressures to ease as the Fed raises interest rates and tightens monetary policy”.
    “Therefore, we believe that inflation in Barbados will slow down to 3.1 per cent, converging towards its longterm rate of 2.5 per cent,” the team of experts said.
    Regarding Government’s financial management, the country report noted that Government “continues to show a strong commitment to fiscal discipline despite the economic crisis caused by the coronavirus outbreak, and we believe its primary deficit will narrow to 0.1 per cent in the 2021/2022 fiscal year, meeting the target required by the Extended Fund Facility (EFF) agreement with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) of no more than one per cent of GDP”.
    “We also adjusted our overall balance forecast to 4.3 per cent of GDP from 4.7 per cent due to better-than expected results for the first three quarters of the 2021/2022 fiscal year, which saw a deficit of just 2.4 per cent of GDP driven by a five per cent increase in tax revenues compared to the same period of the previous year and lower interest payments than those budgeted,” said Marcano, Bensousan, Samarin, and Nal.
    With Government’s IMF programme scheduled to expire at the end of September, the EMFI team said it believed the Mia Amor Mottley administration “will successfully complete the last review of the IMF agreement in May, and although hitting the targets of the programme has been much harder after the start of the pandemic, Barbados appears to be on the right path of fiscal consolidation”.
    (Taken from this week’s BARBADOS BUSINESS AUTHORITY)

4. The faith factor!

DOWN TAW nuh brush!
    These were the words that assaulted our Government as an attempt was made to withdraw US dollars from the loan to Barbados of a kindly organisation. It was an attempt to pay for some urgently needed equipment for the country – with foreign exchange.
    The reply from our Government was swift and imperious. “But this is we money.”
    “You mean we reserves.” An attempt was recently made by prominent people to spread the news that the printing press of the Central Bank had been revived and in use again. Perhaps the Government had given this impression by the seeming largesse given to the country of coming to the aid of many people and projects in distress and initiating new projects – the faith factor!
    I believe that the Government has realised that tourism receipts are not generating foreign exchange quickly enough and it has to find money from somewhere. It has taken a reluctant look at the large mass of savings in the country in the banks and credit unions, and wants to find a way of getting its hands on these savings. It will not accept the suggestion of the Wild Coot. That was too crude. (Remember the outcry – “not my savings”). The attempt to change Barbadian habits, however, into a love for Government bonds received a blow also in 2018. The question of printing or not printing now depends on the response to bonds purchasing from the Central Bank. The Central Bank cannot micromanage the commercial banks and tell them to finance projects. The assault on savings in the bank by way of bonds is already onerous to the banks (and provides a risk to the banks as seen in 2018). If only the Barbadian savers would relieve the Central Bank of the bonds issued to generate these expenditures! It is not printing money but it can have the same effect, as money released into the economy when used to purchase foreign items as will happen here.
    But all roads do not lead to Rome. We may still have friends who are prepared to lend us money. We may still have friends both local and foreign who are prepared to roll the dice and take a chance; put up a hotel or two; invest in a new project with foreign or local funds; provide jobs that plough back Barbados dollars into the economy. The faith factor.
    Meanwhile, waiting with panting breath in the wings are the bankers. Looming over their heads the accusation of insufficient risk taking, exorbitant charges, fictitious deductions and efforts to force people to do online banking and ATM use that generate more commissions, positive and negative.
    The banker is now juggling with reduced interest in defaulting mortgages where his interest factor has been reduced and where he had been up against calling in mortgages, worsening the situation
    and creating chaos in the country especially with the hotels and their workers.
    If the banker wants to lend the reduced savings ratio that the Government has left him, he cannot take chances with the lending – neither can he corisk further in collaboration with the Central Bank. So the banker begins negative earnings. These may be expressed by cutting back on service or staff. Each dollar saved can be an increased profit. Bankers sometimes are prepared to take one-eighth or onesixteenth on a transaction. But be careful how you incense the public against the banks. The banks can leave. This has already been happening right here in the Caribbean. CIBC was on the way out in Barbados, and did manage to leave in the other islands. Much inconvenience is being experienced by the closure of branches and ATMs by some banks.
    I maintain that while we can accuse Barbadians of being hesitant to invest, the measure to tap into our propensity to save can be to our advantage. However we shall always be on the brink of the precipice in our dependence on tourism (a faith factor). Tourism can be fickle as we have seen.
    If we are dependent on China to be the lender of foreign exchange for projects, we need to be aware of the track record of China in places like Uganda and Singapore (faith factor). But while being in the bosom of China our appeal to the world for help may be answered for other things such as building an industrial base (foreign exchange and employment).
    Did anyone overhear the conversation between the Chinese leader and our lady? Will Barbados be a hub for the region for manufacturing starting with steel frame housing?
    Maybe this is why an early election was called. A change in direction. The faith factor.
    Harry Russell is a banker. Email quijote70@gmail.com

5. Our Supreme Leader may soon have the solution to all our economic problems. She is currently visiting Prince Ali in Guyana for half a week. Guyana is now the richest country in the two Americas.

We should urgently take Guyana as a template: A currency devaluation to 1 USD = 200 BBD, 12 hours of work a day and mixing the lethargic local masses with Indian blood.

Of course, the rich Guyanese will invest in Barbados in the future. I therefore advise all our men to start smearing themselves with Vaseline when they work on the hotel plantation …

6. @ David

All above are valid articles. Also if you take the average growth rate for Barbados since independence in 1966 you will see it is no where near 7% as well. Tourism projects will not be forecasted in a board room either, it will all depend on Covid up until such time as a true vaccine is found. These are the facts not the fluff.

7. @John A

Is the 7% calculated based on which baseline?

8. @ David

Growth rate percentage wise reported by the central bank and ministry of finance over the period 1966 to 2021 totalled then divided by 55 to bring it to a annual average.

We also have to accept what was stated above and that is the appetite for loans now on tourism based ventures is not what it used to be.

9. @John A

The question is if the economy significantly contracted because of the pandemic now that it is fully reopening the rebound will spike growth number?

10. @John AFebruary 14, 2022 7:38 AM

As I diagnosed long ago, Barbados is totally overpopulated, like many other third world countries where, unfortunately, birth control does not work. If we had only 150,000 residents, we would not have to dump the indigenous masses in useless jobs in the administration or in state enterprises. This is nothing other than hidden mass unemployment, like behind the Iron Curtain in the Warsaw Pact.

We could significantly increase our growth permanently if we export the only resource in abundance: namely, our natives who are dependent on government transfers and are of working age. Our government could collect a recruitment fee for this and would also have to exclude return travel. After all, we don’t want poverty immigration.

There are many historical models for this. LOL.

11. David until we accept that a USD saved is a USD earned we will continue to chase the tourism market to our demise. We have learnt nothing from covid clearly.

Take our fuel import bill and food import bill and start there in a massive push to replace imports with local production. They are both obtainable goals unaffected by covid and global economic issues. They are also both tangible goals that we can control domestically and have both the land area and technology to make it a reality.

We good at talking but when it come to implementing true change we are piss poor.

12. @John A

As you know the blogmaster agrees with you in principle. We need to be more aggressive with RE implantation, government is well positioned to lead the charge by amending its procurement policy. The other challenge is managing the downside that will be caused; employment, tax revenues and status quo etc.

13. “The question is if the economy significantly contracted because of the pandemic now that it is fully reopening the rebound will spike growth number?”

A fall and rise back to same level will be shown as growth but in real context it is reverting back to the same level as before

14. William,

Saw it and smiled.

15. TheO,

You are not steeped in religion. From the very beginning the Bible has set the stage for this war.

Read Genesis and see!

Apparently because we supposedly initiated the disobedience our husbands are to rule over us.

I always found it unfair that one woman should make a mistake and every woman should pay for it.

So…. I discarded that crap long time.

If you examine the Old Testament god through a neutral lens you will see that he is the most unjust creature in all creation!

Some of us are THINKERS and don’t follow irrational religious clap trap.

The god of the Old Testament is made in the image of MEN, men who want to dominate and keep women in the box that suits THEM.

I did not start this war but I never back down from a necessary fight.

16. International travel for tourism in theory should start exceeding pre-pandemic levels as people have not been able to travel abroad on holiday for circa two years and are gagging for sunshine and easy vibes. Destinations have also changed as have peoples tastes. Barbados should cater for the tribes of new age travelers and youths who like to party like it’s 1999 in a dancehall style.

17. @Tron February 14, 2022 7:49 AM “As I diagnosed long ago, Barbados is totally overpopulated, like many other third world countries where, unfortunately, birth control does not work.”

Which first world countries Tron?

Barbados’ birth rate is 1.6 children per woman in her lifetime, the same as that of the Australia, Belgium, Chile, Estonia, Ireland, Netherlands, New Zealand UK and the USA. Significantly lower than that of Canada, France, Germany rt.?

Would you like us to kill ourselves instead so that people like you can have beautiful Barbados all to yourselves?

18. @ Cuhdear Bajan February 14, 2022 12:55 PM

Frankly, I found the Platinum Coast in February/March 2021 to be the best. I could spend hours on the beach without meeting another soul.

19. Big funding gap for Govt to fill
    By Shawn Cumberbatch
    Shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com
    Government will be relying on $466.1 million in foreign money to help fill an expected $867.6 million gap in its finances during the next financial year.
    The Mia Mottley administration is projecting in its 2022/2023 Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure that its revenue, including tax earnings, will increase by about $254 million in the 12-month period starting April 1 when compared with the current financial year.
    However, with Government budgeting to spend $339.5 million more than it did in 2021/2022, there will be a substantial funding gap to fill.
    The financing details were outlined in the 2022/2023 Estimates which were laid in Parliament ahead of the annual Estimates Debate.
    Based on the document that has to be approved by the House of Assembly and Senate before March 31, Government is anticipating earning total revenue of $2.81 billion next financial year, but it has budgeted to spend an overall $3.68 billion in the same time, leaving a deficit.
    Revenue from taxes
    Most of the revenue expected will be from taxes ($2.59 billion), including $1.07 billion from its main revenue generator value added tax (VAT). If achieved, this would be a $77.2 million increase over last year’s Estimates.
    Outside of VAT, the authorities are banking on earning $966.3 million from income and profits, $248.3 from property taxes, $244.1 million in excise taxes, $$243 million from import duties, $76.1 million from taxes on petroleum products, among others.
    The anticipated increased revenue generation in some areas will, however, be offset by increased spending in some categories.
    In this regard, Government estimates that its day-to-day expenses will be $2.43 billion in the next financial year.
    The outlay to pay its workers ($780.2 million), financing for institutions and individuals ($673.5 million), retiring benefits and allowances ($386 million), and employers congributions ($78 million), will all increase when matched against the 2021/2022 Estimates.
    In addition to these categories known as current expenditure, Government says it will be spending $501 million to service its debts, which would be an $81.7 million increase.
    And as Government seeks to increase economic activity
    this year, it has forecast that it will spend $740.1 million on public projects, a $148 million increase over the allocation for the current financial year.
    Financial hole
    With a major financial hole to fill, Government outlined that most of its funding shortfall would come from overseas – $466.1 million, and $401.5 million from local sources.
    Most of the foreign money will be via $249.2 million in non-project loans – $200 million from the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), and $49.2 million from the International Monetary Fund.
    This was in addition to $217 million in projecting financing from the EXIM Bank of China ($121 million), IDB ($42.2 million), Latin America Development Bank ($36 million), European Investment Bank ($14 million), and Caribbean Development Bank ($3.7 million).
    Regarding local funding, the domestic financing detailed included $276.5 million categorised as “Other” but which the document did not have details on, and the $125 million Treasury Note that was launched in November last year and for which the Central Bank Government Cleviston Haynes reported a slow response.
    Additionally, based on the Estimates for domestic financing, the Barbados Optional Savings Scheme for public sector workers which was launched in July last year for an 18-month period, will not be continuing after it expires.
    The BOSS programme as documented in the Estimated provided Government with $41.8 million in financing.

20. Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure laid in Parliament

Article by Barbados Today
    Published on
    February 19, 2022

Government’s Budget, setting out the Estimates of Expenditure and Revenue for the financial year 2021-2022, was yesterday (Friday, February 18) laid in Parliament, together with a projected forecast for the current financial year 2021-2022. These will form the basis of the Parliamentary Debate to ensue from February 21, on the Appropriation Bill.

Revised Fiscal Balance 2021-2022

On the cash basis current revenue of $2,625.2 million is expected, of which $2,477.3 million is tax revenue and $142.2 million is non-tax revenue and grant income. Total expenditure is projected to be $3,494.5 million, of which $2,827.7 million is current expenditure, exclusive of amortization, and $290.7 million is capital expenditure. The revised deficit of $493.2 million, on the IFI basis, represents 4.9% of GDP at market prices. The primary deficit for the financial year 2021-2022 is estimated to be $93.4 million or 1.0 % of GDP on the cash basis.

Overview 2022-2023

It is estimated that Government’s total expenditure for the financial year 2022-2023, on the accrual basis, will be $3,735.6 million. When converted to the cash basis, total expenditure is $3,680.6 million, an increase of $186.1 million or 5.3% over the revised figure for 2021-2022. Of the amount approved for the 2022-2023 financial year, $2,996.9 million represents current expenditure and $738.7 million represents capital expenditure and amortisation.

Expenditure on goods and services is expected to increase by $76.0 million over the revised figure for 2021-2022 to $522.0 million. Current transfers are projected to decrease by $63.0 million or 5.6% to $1,059.6 million.

The repayment of principal and interest on Government’s debt is expected to account for $981.5 million compared to the revised projection of $775.9 million.

On the accrual basis, current revenue for the next fiscal year is projected at $3,206.6 million. On the cash basis current revenue is projected at $2,813.3 million, an increase of 7.2% over the revised revenue of $2,625.2 million for the financial year ending March 2022.

When amortization of $480.5 million is taken into account, a deficit of $386.6 million on the cash basis is expected, representing 3.3% of GDP.

The primary balance is projected to be a surplus of $114.3 million or 1.0% on the cash basis and $426.0 million on the accrual basis.

The Estimates for the 2022-2023 fiscal year include provision for the following activities:

(i) A current subvention of $125.0 million is being provided to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital for its operations in addition to the $7.99 million for management of Covid-19;

(ii) Invest Barbados has been allocated the sum of $7.5 million to carry out its operations;

(iii) $6.0 million has been provided for the IDB Road Rehabilitation Programme;

(iv) $2 million has been provided for the Scotland District Road and Rehabilitation Project to be funded by the Chinese;

(v) $7.6 million has been provided for the CAF Road Rehabilitation Project;

(vi) An amount of $10.0 million has been provided for Programme Management – Covid-19;

(vii) $11.7 million has been provided to carry out capital works at Secondary Schools;

(viii) $7.5 million has been provided to the Primary Education Domestic programme;

(ix) An amount of $30 million has been allocated to the Barbados Water Authority to upgrade its reservoirs and the water distribution network.

Source: Barbados Today

21. The Saudis have arrived! Saudi Arabia is a nation led by a despotic royal family. Their treatment of Africans is despicable. They have exported terrorism throughout the continent of Africa. Is the GOB cognisant of the movement called Wahhabism and its significance? The nation state called Yemen, in the hall of Africa, is being bombarded and destroyed by the UAE and Saudi Arabia.

We in London are familiar with Middle Easterners, particularly those from the Gulf states. During our summer period, a fair number of their citizens will migrate to the capital city with all their gadgets and commit mayhem in London for several weeks or months.

These wealthy pious Muslims will bring with them a lot of money. Who will benefit from their arrival? The brothels and whorehouses; and self employed prostitutes will make enough money to retire early. The middle men in the drug’s trade will profit handsomely. Our visitors have a penchant for the white powder. The real estate agents and the established business community will also benefit greatly.

When the useless and naive Minister Cummins talks about sustainability and tourism don’t be fooled. She will not reveal to you the real dangers to our young girls, young boys and the vulnerable should we see an influx of Gulf visitors. Think of Maxwell and Epstein but on a far larger scale.

It is very sad how so many BU bloggers appears to overlook these serious developments. They prefer to focus their limited attention span on Waru with their sarcasm and mean spirited mentality. The imminent arrival of Gulf visitors who would love nothing better then to spend time in a beautiful location where there are no codes of mores. Our Gulf friends like a moth to a light will be drawn to an island where they can indulge in all their fancies without any consequences. Barbados is on path to becoming the Bangkok and Amsterdam of the Caribbean. A case of history repeating itself?

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3177236/The-lavish-lifestyles-London-s-Arab-playboys.html#comments

22. If Minister Cummins is serious in promoting tourism to our Gulf “friends” she should use the Westworld trailer. LOL!!!

23. “Tabling opportunities for collaboration, Senator Cummins stated that “Barbados has considerable experience refining and perfecting our tourism and service industries while maintaining our unique qualities. We see this wealth of knowledge as an invaluable resource for KSA as they build out their tourism sector.”

Al-Khateeb affirmed Senator Cummins’ position, adding that “We will be more than happy to be your partner. We will learn from each other.” (BTMI)

24. where there is no vision
    the BBs will suffer….

If it has not been grasped by now that we are under a curse of VISIONLESS leadership, especially since the DLP clowns entertained Froon, then perhaps we deserve to become playthings AGAIN… this time of wealthy and heartless Saudis..
    Perhaps the Minister of labour can also explore exporting some of our unemployed graduates to serve the royal kingdom…

Having said that however, Bushie is fully aware that 500 years of BRUTAL slavery, (where ANY sign of ROYAL LINEAGE would have been exterminated on the gallows or worse,) MUST of necessity leave us with (what the Bible calls) REMNANTS of the true people that we should be…

But shiite man!!
    Have we learnt NOTHING?
    You mean at EVERY turn we must be seeking to return to the very WORST of the humiliating mendicancy and pitifulness?

If we have learnt NOTHING from the last 500 years, then it is no wonder the Bible says that because we insist on being so DUMB, God will cause women and children to become our leaders, and the rest will be history.

It is both frightening and inspiring, how accurate this old book has shown itself to be…

25. The visit from the Saudis is a stain to our country. We should definitely not be fraternising with these appalling monsters or be sending our graduates to serve royalty in their Kingdom.

Surely our leaders must be aware of the atrocities being committed on a daily basis against Kenyan and Ethiopian nationals employed as domestic servants. Rape, murder, entrapment, wages being withheld, the kafala system (legalised slavery), and the rest are used against these people as a form of humiliation and power.

We in the UK remember the sexual abuse and the murder of a black servant in London committed by the grandson of Saudi Arabia’s King Abdullah.

The life of a black person means nothing to these savages. Why the hell is the clueless Minister entertaining them!

https://www.thepatriot.co.zw/old_posts/brutal-treatment-of-black-africans-in-saudi-arabia/

26. The arrival of our “friends” from Saudi Arabia has yet to raise a comment apart from Bush Tea and Waru. How bizarre! Is there nobody within the BU family who takes an interest in geopolitics? Are we unaware or simply disinterested as to what is happening outside Barbados. Our largest industry is reliant on foreign visitors. Should we not inform ourselves of citizens from certain maligned countries who may bring hazards and risks to our society. Is our nature so fickle that we cannot see the moral injustice of entertaining a despotic nation such as Saudi Arabia.

Educate and inform yourselves.

27. Just for the record, Saudi Arabia, has recently divested some of it’s oil interests in order to diversify its economy. The same country amongst others in the Middle East have taken out leases on agricultural land in mother Africa in order to grow food for its own people. Why the interest in Barbados?

28. Why the interest ?

Look off Dubai and the answer lies there. We have relatively shallow water and a protected western coast.

29. TLSN,
    There is nothing worse than little upstart countries, barely able to keep a water supply to citizens and still disposing of sewage into the sea, going on the world stage talking ‘big’ and pontificating a lotta shiite …in a world chock full of heartless predators.
    This is a recipe for trouble….

Ego trips about fancy speeches and natural oratorical skills are no substitutes for modest competence and steady progress in social development.
    The ability to BORROW money is no sign of strength, indeed, it is a sign of WEAKNESS and mendicancy. STRENGTH is demonstrated by the ability to assist others, and to provide POSITIVE mentorship for those not as fortunate.

This Saudi interest is likely only the tip of the iceberg… there are hundreds of demonic billionaires out there – looking for easy targets who are willing to sell their souls, …and their people, for a few million dollars (which are probably in need of laundering anyway….)

Just the recent episode with Jamal Khashoggi would have inclined Bushie to AVOID these Saudis …PERIOD!!
    But when mendicants smell $$$$, all reason goes to the wind….. especially mendicants of the female variety….

The road to Hell is paved with ‘good’ intentions…. but when you ‘arrive’ it is a much different story.

30. TLSNFebruary 21, 2022 4:44 AM

The arrival of our “friends” from Saudi Arabia has yet to raise a comment apart from Bush Tea and Waru. How bizarre! Is there nobody within the BU family who takes an interest in geopolitics? Are we unaware or simply disinterested as to what is happening outside Barbados.

Wait, because people ain’t say nothing bout Saudi Arabia means that they ain’t interested in geopolitics or what is going on outside Barbados?
    Who give you the authority to always assume what people thinking or not thinking and then talk bout it as if you know it to be true?

You got to stop that stupidness and CONCENTRATE ON YOURSELF.

31. Saudis visit another nice photo of for Mia
    Bottom.line self interest equals a smile a chuckle and rubbing of the shoulders with billionaires nothing more nothing else
    To belive that this visit would amount to some kind of economic boost for Barbados is like expecting snow to fall in Barbados
    But then again bajans belive any sh.it Mia tells them