Submitted by William Skinner

Those who support the abolition of the Common Entrance Examination (CEE), will certainly welcome the current administration’s intention to move our children, out of what is really a socioeconomic and educational gas chamber. We have not seen a determined, enlightening, or progressive effort to reform the education system, from any administration, since 1962, when free education was introduced.

Those who believe that education reform is like purchasing garbage trucks or buses are deluding themselves. It should not be the plaything of political grandstanding and excessive nonproductive press conferences. Our last Minister of Education has bequeathed nothing but presentation without content.

While this writer wholeheartedly supports progressive continuous assessment as the best method, for our children to make the transition from primary to secondary school, the awareness, that it is not the only one is constant. Any reform of the system that does not include how we are going to harness our human resources, for the next half century, will be a complete waste of time.

The current administration is failing quite miserably, in its bungling efforts, to get our children back in the classroom, after their long absence caused by the pandemic. It is difficult to have confidence in its ability to radically reform the education system, if it cannot even get this existing problem solved or at least reduced.

The frustration has now reached our incredibly young children, some under the age of five, who joined their parents in a march of disgust against being imprisoned in their homes. Amazingly, we can find ways to expose the country to COVID, via a general election, to solve a bogus division. We can create senseless super spreaders, but we cannot develop a system to rescue our children from psychological trauma because of boredom and stress due to extremely limited or no social interaction.

Our children: barely out of pampers; whose pee has not yet begun to foam; and who are still to encounter a training bra, took to the streets to remind those who have undertaken the appearance of adults, that the nonsense must cease.

As we embark, on the quest to abolish the dreaded CEE, and reform our education system, we must collectively do better because our young people, who have just abandoned their cribs are not going to stand for “any foolishness.” The message is more than clear.

241 responses to “Education Reform: Jettisoning 11+”

1. William Skinner
    February 8, 2022 2:29 AM
    RE Was it better or better dispense My position is that the system itself is no better. I think you are talking about how a colonial system was better dispensed.

INDEED THAT IS WHAT I WAS SAYING, THAT OURS IS BETTER DISPENSED BUT I WAS JUST THUS STARTING UP MY ARGUMENT,
    THAT WAS ONLY MY FIRST POINT SIR. I HAD AT THAT TIME PROMISED TO SAY MORE

RE I don’t think that we have even produced one Nobel Prize Laureate; an Eric Williams etc.
    I DON’T THINK THAT THAT IS A NECESSARY BENCH MARK, SIR. AS THE PERSONS WHO HAVE WON SUCH AWARDS ARE PROBABLY JUST OUTLIERS

RE I don’t even think we are dominating the CXC results.
    I THINK YOU ARE PROBABLY CORRECT HERE AS THERE ARE REPORTS OF SOME VERY GOOD CXC REPORTS FROM STUDENTS IN GUYANA……..BUT THESE MAY ALSO BE OUTLIERS ALSO.

RE you will note that I am not talking about dispensing the system better , I am talking about what is taught.
    I UNDERSTAND THIS, TOO SIR, AND WAS GOING TO GET TO THAT AND POINT OUT MY VIEWS FOR THE COMMON ENTRANCE EXAM, AS WELL AS THOSE AGAINST AND HOW IT CAN BE IMPROVED

PERMIT ME TO DRAW YOUR ATTENTION TO TWO GOOD ARTICLES IN TODAY’S BARBADOS TODAY, WHICH I AM SURPRISED THAT THE BLOG OWNER HAS NOT UPLOADED TO BU, WHICH OFFER MORE SUBSTANCE THAN MOST OF THE IRRATIONAL AND EMOTIONAL RUBBISH ABOVE

RE there is no empirical evidence that we have the best education system; IF YOU WANT TO COMPARE RESULTS FROM OVERSEAS EXAMS WHEN THOSE WERE IN VOGUE YOU MIGHT FIND THAT THIS WAS INDEED SO. BUT THAT MIGHT NOT NECESSARILY BE THE BEST INDEX OF SUPERIORITY EITHER.

WHEREAS I AGREE WITH YOU THAT we have an educational system that no longer serves our national interest, I DO NOT THINK THAT It is responsible for high levels of unemployment NOR DO I THINK THAT IT feeds lawlessness and a lack of pride.

YOU ARE MORE LOGICAL AND SMARTER THAN THAT SIR, AND I AM THUS SURE THAT YOU HAVE NOT THOUGHT THROUGH YOUR LAST TWO STATEMENTS, AS BEST YOU CAN, BUT THESE ARE, IN MY VIEW CONCEPTS WHICH MUST SERIOUSLY BE CONSIDERED, TO ASCERTAIN WHAT ARE ALL THE FACTORS THAT ARE INVOLVED IN THEIR CAUSATION, AND IN WHAT IS THE AETIOLOGY OF THE FLAWS IN OUR SYSTEM .

2. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Absolutely @David, re “Alma Parris is only a small part of the remediation/solution effort.”

I would have to believe that @SimpleSimon grasped that from my earlier post. The children who can’t handle the CEE cant be traumatized as they are. Rather suitable paths must be found so that they can ‘be the best they can be’ without all the societal stigma and ‘school-daze’ nonsense.

I argued with a friend recently that the leaders have failed us in this area…and being the experienced practioner that she is, she countered that based on her years teaching here and overseas that in fact we (parents) have failed the children because it is parents who have to strongly agitate and demand the required changes . I can’t fault that argument.

3. William Skinner February 8, 2022 2:29 AM #: “……….but there is no empirical evidence that we have the best education system……”

@ Mr. Skinner

RE: “……….but there is no empirical evidence that we have the best education system……”

Okay.

Perhaps you may want to provide BU with the “empirical evidence that” “the CEE has created more criminals than any other factor in our country” and “is responsible for high levels of unemployment and feeds lawlessness and a lack of pride,” for our perusal.

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…was it not the dead Cow that PUBLICLY SAID that if he had his way, and apparently he tried very, very hard….that he would REMOVE all the Black people off the island, and SCATTER THEM across the Caribbean islands, make Barbados a playground for the rich and famous ONLY and Black people could only come to work and leave for the weekend….because that is all they are worth,,,

that savage criminal….and the same parliament of DBLP frauds enabled him until HE CROAKED…good thing he left first…

now tell me, would intelligent, educated people enable and condone racism and evil plans from such A BEAST and pick up taxpayers and pensioners money by the hundreds of millions and give to his remaining family and those who work for them or any like-minded minority……

……what best education system what…useless breathers…….

the pretenders on BU will be the first to be removed from the island…..in their comfort zones of stupidity…and will not even KNOW when it happens…

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So you see there was an even better reason when the criminals set their sights on OUR continent,…..it was the right time to TELL EVERYONE ABOUT THEM….and dash away their evil plans…

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….they can sit their “best educated out of all the Caribbean” selves DOWN and believe that plan is not still in force…

told yall when Corbin CREEP went off on black hating tangent it was because of what they spoke about in their innercircle….that’s why i reminded them about what people know about them…

7. WILLIAM
    THIS IS HOW REAL SCHOLARS LEAD WHEN THEY GET A CHANCE

JUST BEFORE I LEFT THE ISLAND TO GO TEACH IN OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS I SUGGESTED TO MANY OF THE MEMBERS OF THE FIRE DEPARTMENT, WHEN THEY CAME TO VISIT ME AS I WAS MO TO THAT DEPT, THAT THEY MIGHT BEST EMPLOY THEMSELVES STUDYING ASPECTS OF FIRE PREVENTION SCIENCE ON LINE WHILE ON DUTY WAITING FOR A FIRE TO OCCUR.

I WAS AT THAT TIME SEEKING TO HAVE AN INSTRUCTOR COME TO IMPROVE THEIR FITNESS PROGRAM BY IMPLEMENTING A SERIOUS STRUCTURED AEROBICS AND WEIGHT TRAINING PROGRAME AS ONE OF THE FIRST COURSES. i THINK SOME OF THE MEN ACTUALLY FOLLOWED MY ADVICE AND TOOK THE INTENSE AEROBICS INSTRUCTOR COURSE, WHICH I ALSO TOOK LOCALLY, AND SOME HAVE DONE SOME ONLINE COURSES OFFERED IN UNIVERSITIES ABROAD

THIS IS THE SORT OF THING THAT CAN BE PROMOTED BETWEEN BCC AND MOH AND THE FIRE DEPT THAT ADDRESS THE PRIDE ELEMENT IN EDUCATION FOR SOME AS YOU MENTIONED, AND IT WOULD RESULT IN A WELL INFORMED FIRE FIGHTER

8. At my son’s primary school graduation, the principal called the names of only those who were allocated to the older secondary schools individually. The children who were allocated to the newer secondary schools were addressed as “The Rest”.

Then the skit was about a child who had to “pass for Harrison College” and starred, of course, the pupil who was going to Harrison College.

The CCE focusses only on Mathematics and English. In the two years leading up to the examination, other subject areas are often neglected so that teachers can feel successful.

Thus those children whose talents lie in other areas lose their opportunities to shine.

Those of you who were in the celebrated group and have not got the ability for empathy would never see what William sees.

But the children at my son’s graduation noticed it and promptly gave the principal a nasty nickname.

Luckily my sister-in-law class teacher had taught them from Class One until the exam and was expert in bringing out and celebrating the various talents of her students and strove tirelessly to leave no child behind.

Last time we talked she was chomping at the bit to get back into the classroom to be with HER children.

Not every teacher is my sister-in-law, so not every child is so lucky to be recognised as having something to offer even while getting only 30% in the CCE.

9. Frankly, I’m not for burning bras. Just not wearing them unless absolutely necessary. Bras are the first thing many women take off when they get home, often through their armholes or sleeves. They are somewhat restrictive and can beuncomfortable but sometimes not wearing one while engaged in certain activities can itself be uncomfortable if one is more than an “A” cup.

Men have no right to an opinion on bra burning. The symbolism escapes them.

However, based on my cup size, I say no to burning my bras but yes to female orgasms!

Call me feminist, misandrist or whatever you wish but all I really want is the opportunity to be all that I can be without some fart trying to teach me my place. It is a fight for GENDER EQUALITY, NO LESS IMPORTANT THAN RACIAL EQUALITY.

Who determines which war is worth fighting?

No man can decide that for me.

10. ATTENDING HC OR QC IS NOT EXACTLY THE BEST THING FOR EVEN SOME OF THE VERY BEST OF OUR STUDENTS
    I TOOK THE FIRST COMMON ENTRANCE IN 62, AND WAS TRANSFERRED FROM BFS, WHERE I OUGHT TO HAVE STAYED UNTIL AFTER O LEVELS. OF THE IO OF US TRANSFEERED FROM THAT CLASS I CAN THINK OF ONLY 3 WHO WOULD GO ON TO BE FAIRLY “SUCESFUL” ——-AND I USE THAT WORD GUARDEDLY. I BELIEVE THAT ALL OF US MIGHT HAVE BEEN BETTER OFF AT BFS.

WHAT IS ALSO TRUE AS GLEANED FROM EXHC BOYS OF MY DAY WHO WERE QUITE POOR, EVEN IF BRIGHT, IS THAT THE ENVIRONMENT WAS NOT A GOOD PSYCHOLOGICAL FIT BECAUSE OF ITS COMPLEX DIVERSITY, WHICH MIGHT NOT BE EASILY MANAGED AT SUCH A TENDER AGE.

THERE IS MUCH MERIT IN THIS VIEW, IN MY OPINION, AS CLEARLY SEEN IN THE BETTER LIFE LONG AND GENERAL AFTER SCHOOL DAY COHESION BETWEEN THOSE PERSONS WHO WENT TO COMBERMERE SCHOOL IN THE SAME TIME PERIOD

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Don Blackman passed away…

12. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedFebruary 8, 2022 12:01 PM
    again…look at the parliament and cry shame at what passes for 11 plus passes, look at the bar association, the judiciary.. they none of them can get anything right, they can’t relate to integrity, ethics, honesty or morality, not even when paid a salary, they are still CORRUPT, TIEF, SELLOUT and BETRAY………….it is indeed a HOAX….always has been…
    Unquote).

The Bushman made a very poignant remark when he described the deep state of foreign ownership, management and control of the Bajan economy.

Is that a direct result of the greatness of the Bajan educational system? The simple production of serfs to foreign-owned enterprises?

One only has to peruse the newspapers and see the kinds of jobs advertised to be filled by foreign nationals; the products of educational environments far inferior to Barbados, if were to accept Ms VM’s line of reasoning.

Isn’t the following a daily refrain to describe the quality of the local labour market:

Having received no suitable applications (from the Bajan-educated potential workforce; both local and in the wider Diaspora) we intend to apply for a work permit for the following position(s) which any secondary school leaver or UWI graduate can perform with the minimum of on-the-job-training from a manager.

13. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    That’s my opinion, I cannot provide any empirical evidence.
    So, there is no empirical evidence on either side.
    Your views will be most welcomed with or without empirical evidence.

14. DPD,

It is the attitude towards the CCE that creates the conditions. It becomes the be all and the end all in many schools.

And all it tests is Maths and English.

15. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedFebruary 8, 2022 5:16 AM
    “Do you know that the pyramids and the Pharaohs’ palaces were built by Jews who were enslaved by the Egyptians? ”

WRONG….do you know the ORIGINAL HEBREWS…not the European jews now SQUATTING on our ancestral lands…ARE OUR ANCESTORS…..the white man learned how to BUILD FROM OUR AFRIKAN ANCESTORS…
    (Unquote).

That ought to act as a ‘Eureka’ moment for the misguided one!

If the Jews (should be Israelites)- through forced labour- built the “pyramids and Pharaohs’ palaces” in Kemet who then built their equivalent in Cush, modern day Sudan?

The brainwashed VM is making the cardinal mistake in assuming that the Israelites in the Bible of fables were white or of European descent who were enslaved for 400 years in the land of Egypt.

How can a people of European descent toil for over 400 years, day in day out, in the hot sun and not be exterminated by the ravages of skin cancers?

All VM is doing- by introducing the Jews vs. Egyptian mythology- is confirming the fact that it was not only ‘black’ West Africans who sold their own people in slavery in the Americas.

She needs to go back to Sunday school and read the fable of Joseph who was sold into slavery by his own kith and kin.

That clearly does turn poor Joe and his brothers into real Africans!

Yes Africans who built or helped in the building of many structures in other parts of the same the Jew-god planet including the many ‘slave’ plantation great houses and Anglican churches in Barbadoes.

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

That @Doc, re : “….AS CLEARLY SEEN IN THE BETTER LIFE LONG AND GENERAL AFTER SCHOOL DAY COHESION BETWEEN THOSE PERSONS WHO WENT TO COMBERMERE
    SCHOOL IN THE SAME TIME PERIOD”

Likely most insightful. According the book by Prof Sandiford about that school there was a certain cohesiveness of the
    Cawmere boy back then and prior which indeed seemed to fill them with an esprit de corps many others even at the CP, Foundation et al lacked.. and which extended to a hearty after school bonding.

I recall seeing a newsletter with a picture of Cawmere old boys presenting a plaque or some such to their alma mater … way back circa late 1950s early 60s (the pic was; the newsletter was back in early 2000s). The point of note tho being that those old scholars were from the organization in NYC.

Even as emigrees who would gave been looking out for their developing families and careers that they started an alumni group there and reached back to their former institution is highly commendable and a clear indicator of the bonds developed.

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA

William…was it not the dead Cow that PUBLICLY SAID that if he had his way, and apparently he tried very, very hard….that he would REMOVE all the Black people off the island, and SCATTER THEM across the Caribbean islands, make Barbados a playground for the rich and famous ONLY and Black people could only come to work and leave for the weekend….because that is all they are worth,,,”

White Barbadian business moguls have a known history of insulting workers. They get away with it because they know the Black lawyers and politicians, need their money to indulge in nefarious acts against their own people.
    Both COW and Ralph “ Brugadung” Johnson, (Harris Paints),were immensely popular among Black Bajans.
    Johnson said the workers were not productive/ lazy and COW called them lazy Lazards or something similar.
    Johnson said that after the same workers had built his empire : Harrison Paints and COW after they had built his empire , often with huge government contracts.
    Never allow them to silence you. We don’t always agree but you continue to highlight uncomfortable truths.
    The struggle continues:

18. “If the Jews (should be Israelites)- through forced labour- built the “pyramids and Pharaohs’ palaces” in Kemet who then built their equivalent in Cush, modern day Sudan?”
    ~~~~~~
    Miller, yuh got Bushie in shock with your insightful utterances…. Like yuh went on some kinda pilgrimage or something Boss…

Unfortunately Bushie’s whacker get ‘tek way’ awhile ago, so de lotta ‘wild-bush and dribblers’ 🙂 doing as dey like on BU. So it is refreshing to see glimpses of hope…

Bushie riddle you this……(if you can)
    Where would you look for the modern day descendants of the old Priesthood?
    ie..Those whose role it has been to broadcast the urgent messages from on high…?

SURELY, such ‘broadcasts’ are needed now – more than EVER in all history….

19. RE
    How can a people of European descent toil for over 400 years, day in day out, in the hot sun and not be exterminated by the ravages of skin cancers?

I-WHERE IS IT SAID IN HOLY WRIT THAT THE JEWS WERE OF EUROPEAN DESCENT?

2 DID ABRAHAM NOT COME FROM UR OF THE CHALDEES.

3 IS THAT EAST OR WEST?WHAT DOES HEBREW MEAN?

4 DO YOU REALLY HAVE TO TOIL IN THE SUN TO GET SKIN CANCER?

All VM is doing- by introducing the Jews vs. Egyptian mythology- is confirming the fact that it was not only ‘black’ West Africans who sold their own people in slavery in the Americas.

She needs to go back to Sunday school and read the fable of Joseph who was sold into slavery by his own kith and kin. That clearly does turn poor Joe and his brothers into real Africans!

REALLY? IS THAT REALLY HOW YOU BECOME AN AFRICAN?

IS THAT HOW ONE CHANGES THEIR ETHNICITY?

WHY ARE THE BLACKS WHO HAVE TOILED IN THE BAJAN SUN FOR O’ER 300 YEARS NOT BECOME CAUCASIANS? OR THE WHITES BECOME AFRICANS? PLEASE USE APPROPRIATE PUNNET SQUARES TO PRESENT YOUR ANSWER.

RE Yes Africans who built or helped in the building of many structures in other parts of the same the Jew-god planet including the many ‘slave’ plantation great houses and Anglican churches in Barbadoes.

HOW DID THE PLANET BECOME JEW-GOD? JUST SEEKING KNOWLEDGE HERE, SIR.

20. @DPD
    Cawmere boy back then and prior which indeed seemed to fill them with an esprit de corps many others even at the CP, Foundation et al lacked.. and which extended to a hearty after school bonding
    ++++++++++
    Speak of what you know, how do you know what others at CP, Foundation lacked? Did you attend any of those schools?

21. I argued with a friend recently that the leaders have failed us in this area…ETC
    THE LEADERS IN SCHOOLS AND OTHER AREAS OF EDUCATION HAVE FAILED THE SYSTEM
    WHAT DO PARENTS GENERALLY KNOW ABOUT EDUCATION. MINE CERTAINLY KNEW NOTHING. THEY HAD NOT GONE PAST PRIMARY SCHOOL.
    BUT AT THE SAME TOKEN………WHO ARE THE TOP STUDENTS AT ALL LEVELS ANY WHERE IN THE WORLD?
    THOSE STUDENTS WHO ARE ABLE TO GUIDE THEIR CHILDREN BECAUSE THEY HAD BEEN ON THAT PATH BEFORE, AND THOSE PARENTS WHO WERE DUTIFUL AND DEVOTED AND ABLE TO DEMONSTRATE WHAT THE COURSE REQUIRMENTS ARE/WERE.

FAMILIES WHERE READING IS THOUGHT TO BE OF IMPORTANCE, AND WHERE PARENTS READ ARE OF GREAT IMPORTANCE

TEACHERS AT ALL LEVELS ARE ALSO VERY IMPORTANT

THE LEADERS IN SCHOOLS AND OTHER AREAS OF EDUCATION MUST CHART A CORE PATH WITH SEVERAL RABBIT HOLES OR ESCAPE ROUTES FOR WANT OF BETTER WORDS, TO CHART AREAS THAT MOST LIKELY FIT THE APTITUDE OR INTEREST OF EACH CHILD AS MUCH AS IS POSSIBLE

PERHAPS SUITABLE AFTER SCHOOL CENTERS MAY BE EMPLOYED FOR THIS….ITS A BIT INVOLVED AND COMPLEX BUT OVER TIME CAN BE ACCOMPLISHED

MY SECOND SON OBVIOUSLY HAD SOME ARTISTIC TALENT, SO HIS ART TEACHER AT ST MICHAELS HAD HIM ENTERED TO DO CXC ART IN 3RD FORM, WITH A PLAN THAT HE DO ADVANCED LEVEL ART IN 5TH . UNFORTUNATELY THIS TEACHER LEFT SOON AFTER MY SON DID THE ART EXAM IN 3RD FORM. I SENT HIM TO ART LESSONS. AND OTHER WISE PUSHED HIM IN THAT DIRECTION

THERE IS A NEED FOR MORE TEACHERS LIKE THIS.
    I HAD A BAD EXPERIENCE WITH AN EXPATRIOT TEACHER IN MATHS IN SECOND FORM AND DID NOT TAKE SPANISH SERIOUSLY,
    HOWEVER I WAS ABLE TO TEACH MY FIRST SON LOTS OF CONCEPTS IN THESE SUBJECTS VERY EASILY 20 YEARS LATER.

I SUGGEST THAT PERHAPS WE WRITE OFF CHILDREN TO SOON.

I HAVE A COUSIN THAT WAS STILL IN 3RD FORM AT HC WHEN HE MIGRATED TO NY AT AGE I6. UP THERE HE GOT THROUGH SCHOOL FIRST DEGREE AND WENT ON TO GET A DEGREE IN MEDICINE I3 YEARS LATER AND TAUGHT NURSING STUDENTS FOR THE NEXT FORTY YEARS AND MASTERED EVERY ONE OF THE BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES, WHILE ENGAGED IN NATUROPATHIC MEDICINE.

RE and being the experienced practioner that she is, she countered that based on her years teaching here and overseas that in fact we (parents) have failed the children because it is parents who have to strongly agitate and demand the required changes . I can’t fault that argument.
    YES AND NO ONLY A SMALL PERCENTAGE OF PARENTS WOULD HAVE AN IDEA ABOUT WHAT TO AGITATE ABOUT OR WHAT CHANGES TO DEMAND.

EFFECTIVE CHANGE CAN BE MADE, BUT IT WILL REQUIRE TRAINED PERSONNEL, INTERESTED OFFICIALS, WHO ARE INSIGHTFUL AND INNOVATIVE

I FIND THAT IT IS OFTEN JUST AS, OR MORE IMPORTANT, TO TELL THE STUDENT WHY THEY NEED TO KNOW A CONCEPT THAN WHAT CONCEPTS TO LEARN.

I TOLD MY MED STUDENTS, I AM TEACHING YOU TO
    PASS THIS COURSE
    TO PASS THE USMLE EXAM………BUT MOST IMPORTANTLY HOW
    TO PASS THE EXAMS YOU WILL NEED TO PASS FOR EACH PATIENT YOU WILL SEE EACH DAY WHEN YOU GO TO WORK

22. RE Speak of what you know, how do you know what others at CP, Foundation lacked? Did you attend any of those schools?

INDEED!
    I SPENT MANY SATURDAYS IN CRICKET SEASON IN A CORNER OF THE GEORGE CHALLENOR STAND WHERE EX-BFS BOYS SAT AND LAUGHED AND TALKED ABOUT SCHOOL DAYS ALL DAY WE ALSO HAD THE SON OF AN EX BFS TEACHER WHO WENT TO HC IN THAT GATHERING

THE BFS BOYS AND GFS GIRLS OF THAT ERA WERE TO A LARGE EXTENT CH CH PEOPLE, WHO ON SUNDAYS WENT TO CHURCH AND SUNDAY SCHOOL IN THEIR VILLAGES, THEY WARE THUS EXTREMELY COHESIVE THROUGHOUT THE whole WEEK AND EVEN IN SCHOOL HOLIDAYS.THEY SOCIALIZED GREATLY BECAUSE WE /THEY LIVED IN THE SAME AND ADJOINING AREAS

IN MY DAY MOST OF THE SECONDARY SCHOOL CHILDREN FROM MY AREA ALL WENT TO THE FOUNDATION SCHOOL
    WE ALL WALKED UP TO ST LAWRENCE CH TO CHURCH, OR TO THE GOSPEL HALL AT THE CHURCH
    BOTH CHURCHES WERE ALSO ATENDED BY THEIR ST LAURENCE POSSE AND SOME FROM MAXWELL. THOSE OF METHODIST PERSUASION CAME FROM THESE SAME AREAS TO HAWTHORNE METHODIST CHURCH

A SIMILAR THING HAPPENED WHEN I ATTENDED THE PARISH CHURCH MOST OF THE ATTENDEES HAD BFS OR GFS CONNECTIONS AS EITHER CURRENT OR PAST ATTENDEES

ALSO MANY EX BFS STUDENTS PLAYED CRICKET FOR DOVER AND MANTY WORKED FOR CABLE AND WIRELESS WHEN IT WAS HEADQUARTED IN DOVER WITH SOME FUNSTIONS IN BOARDED HALL

23. Improving the quality of education

Our young people should no longer be handicapped by an inability to express themselves in Standard English.
    by JOHN GODDARD
    NOW THAT THE new President’s address to Parliament has informed the public of government’s intention to abolish the Common Entrance Examination and introduce middle schools and schools of excellence (whatever these are), I consider it necessary to offer my two cents worth on the need to improve the quality of education in our island republic.
    First of all, modern Barbados requires a targeted and sustained effort to strengthen mathematics, technology and science. From primary level, children must be exposed to effective teaching in these areas with a view to fostering an interest in experimentation and creative pursuits. Our country relies too heavily on the consumption of goods and services produced by others; emphasis must now shift to getting our young people to create. For example, there is a vast market for electronic and computer games. What prevents our bright youth from being able to produce for even a small segment of that market?
    Our scholars need to be guided in the direction of robotics, alternative energy and the food industry among other areas of economic activity relevant to the 21st century. We still need doctors, civil engineers and lawyers, but not in the large numbers that we are currently producing.
    To achieve our goals, teaching in mathematics, in particular, must be improved. Too many students are turned off from that subject because of poor teaching. There is need for specialist mathematics teachers in primary schools, charged with the responsibility of developing a love for and interest in the subject. We can no longer afford to let loose on our children teachers who, themselves, hated the subject at school or, for whatever reason, failed to master it.
    Preparing youth for opportunities
    Educational authorities must demonstrate that they value technical and vocational education as well as sports and culture. The Samuel Jackman Prescod Institute of Technology should become one of our centres of excellence, with graduates being offered national scholarships and exhibitions to the same extent that sixth form and the Barbados Community College students presently enjoy.
    Provision needs to be made, as well, for vocational schools fully equipped to prepare young people for opportunities in the building industry, auto mechanics, auto body repairs and agro-industries. Such schools will take students, who have reached third form of secondary school and have shown an aptitude for and interest in vocational studies.
    Transfers will be done after consultation with parents, teachers and students. This will reduce the level of frustration of pupils who have no interest in pursuing strictly academic courses, but are, under the current system, forced to go through the motions until they reach fifth form with the resultant skipping of classes and display of deviant behaviour.
    More than 30 years ago, I designed an oral communications programme for use in secondary schools. Unfortunately, after much discussion
    about the importance of oral communication skills, no room has yet been found for this necessary area of the school curriculum in Barbados. The need becomes patently obvious whenever we listen to sportsmen being questioned by journalists on radio and television. Responses take the form of monosyllables, and poor grammar when they try to render sentences. Some of the journalists, themselves, struggle to ask intelligent questions. Nor are some of our professionals much better. I listened to one recently trying to give information on a topic in his area of expertise, and, by the end of his presentation, I was none the wiser. And my challenge had nothing to do with the technical language used. Rather, it related to structure and enunciation. When will artistes, broadcasters and others learn that the “double” in “double entendre” is not to be pronounced like double in “double century”, for example.
    I am prepared to volunteer my help in the preparation of an oral communications programme to be fully integrated into language teaching at primary and secondary schools. Perhaps, the climate is more conducive to this effort, now that CSEC (Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate) has introduced an SBA (school-based assessment) component for English A. Seriously though, our young people should no longer be handicapped by an inability to express themselves in Standard English. Former West Indies captain, Jason Holder is one whose public comments and responses to journalists could provide the benchmark for others. There is no room in the modern world for “tongue-tied” sportsmen or persons in any other field of endeavour. Let us hasten to put a programme in place in our schools to improve the speech competence of students.
    I have, on previous occasions, spoken about the need for four or five of the present sixth form schools to be turned into sixth form colleges specialising in sciences, arts, humanities, sports and culture as well as technology. I would propose The Lodge in the East, Foundation in the South, Alexandra in the North and the more central schools of Harrison College and Queen’s College. The criteria for entering would be similar to those now used for admission to sixth form. Of course, the Barbados Community College will continue its comprehensive courses of study.
    There are, of course, more changes that are needed to make education more relevant to and useful for the needs of 21st century Barbados, but we do not have to copy parts or all of the system, used in the United States of America. I will return to that matter another time.
    John Goddard is a retired educator.

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“If the Jews (should be Israelites)- through forced labour- built the “pyramids and Pharaohs’ palaces” in Kemet who then built their equivalent in Cush, modern day Sudan?”

don’t mind those LIARS and FRAUDS that come on BU with their fakeness……those gods and goddesses of the earth who built civilizations ALL AROUND OUR WORLD for thousands and thousands of years… are our ANCESTORS….many of us can FEEL THEM IN OUR BONES….and no contrived lies can STOP US FROM KNOWING WHAT WE KNOW….hence my Kush Quarterly Magazine to BURN THEIR LIES TO THE GROUND..and educate our young…

our Hebrew ancestors…..bloodlines survived….are the ORIGINAL ISRAELITES…all the identity thieves and LIARS are FRAUDS….as denoted in the negro Slave bible and spewed by the criminal churches…the indoctrination and brainwashing PERSISTS…

“No doubt, the style with which Dr Blackman espoused his position on subjects such as black power and the enfranchisement of the poor, always projected under a banner of “redressing past imbalances”,

that is why the DBLP new negros CHASED HIM OFF THE ISLAND..he would have educated the Black Afrikan population about what he found and knewm seeing as he was well placed to find information……and they could not have it….it would have INTERRUPTED them and their criminal minority parasites from SUCKING ON BLACK LIVES…now the hypocrites are pretending they liked and respected him……would not trust NOT ONE OF THEM with Black lives….

William….the 11 plus failures…

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Goddard is right, the 11 plus failures in the parliament….don’t even have the ability to think that far ahead…

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Shout it louder….the uneducated in the parliament will not hear otherwise…they LOVE TO INSULT our intelligence….am happy to see Don Blackman got to see them degrade and destroy the island and reduce the Black population to NOTHING in their bid to keep the people living stagnant lives, not knowing their history, used, abused and OPPRESSED, …so that minority criminals of every persuasion and every nationality can feed off Black lives……but wait…it’s going to get even WORSE….that’s why am no longer bothering with the older heads…..the YOUNG GENERATIONS are OURS to SAVE from all of them…

am sure before he closed his eyes, he felt VINDICATED…

“The Bushman made a very poignant remark when he described the deep state of foreign ownership, management and control of the Bajan economy.

Is that a direct result of the greatness of the Bajan educational system? The simple production of serfs to foreign-owned enterprises?”

“The brainwashed VM is making the cardinal mistake in assuming that the Israelites in the Bible of fables were white or of European descent who were enslaved for 400 years in the land of Egypt.

the good news is, the LIES spilling from Black people showing everyone that they KNOW NOTHING about themselves…and they are MISLEADING our young..with false history….wuh skin cancer levels are very high in that region TODAY….BECAUSE THEY DO NOT BELONG THERE…… and they do no toiling whatsover……and drop like flies from cancer..

Miller…they are STILL SELLING OUT our younger generations now with these FAKE NARRATIVES…outright lies, that were they still connected to their ANCIENT ANCESTORS they would KNOW they are lies….the manufactured negro…empty shells..

they are not going to like me and will like even less what i will put out going forward, but they can bring it on and see what i tell them next..

27. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    When Don Blackman was in the BLP, I asked a very close BLP friend of mine how can a man like Blackman fit in that party.
    The years rolled by ; he switched to the DLP, and I asked the same question of an equally close friend of mine in the DLP.
    He “ interfered” with COW and the writing was on the wall. No room for him in Bim.
    You will recall, I said on BU, that men of his persuasion cannot survive politically in Barbados , unless they joined the Duopoly and played its game.
    When I recently read David Comissiong praising Grantley Adams and the BLP, as some progressive party , I knew that a collective madness had taken over the Comrades. He and Comrade Prescod had a choice either fight the Duopoly or joined them. We always fool ourselves that we can change it from inside. You note how Mottley has treated Comrade Prescod.
    And honestly, I had already started to realise even without being “ in power”, the National Democratic Party, had the very same DNA.
    Comrade Don Blackman , was by far the most progressive politician, we’ve had since independence, I witnessed him transform the poorest parts of his constituency in no time at all. He lifted the Ivy in a way that no politician has lifted and improved any constituency anywhere on the island. He was a genuine voice for the Black working class.
    His constituency had a great hero and fighter. He was the only Black minister of government, since adult suffrage, to take on the white corporate elite.
    In order to survive; he had to eventually get out of Barbados .
    It’s a story that repeats itself all the time.
    May he rest well with the Ancestors .

28. @William

How did he interfere with COW? How did the Barbados Court rule in the Highway 2A matter? What are suggesting about the impartiality of the court?

29. @ GP February 8, 2022 10:52 PM
    Quote):
    HOW DID THE PLANET BECOME JEW-GOD? JUST SEEKING KNOWLEDGE HERE, SIR.
    (Unquote).

Doc GP- as the most ardent proselytizer of the Judeo-brand of mythology on BU- are you now casting aspersions on the first 12 chapters of your doctored Bible and merely confirming what a top-notch scholar in the Anglican Church just confessed to?

Is Yahweh no longer the only creator of planet Earth in six days and his only begotten Son the Light of the World?

Are the Jews, his ‘only’ chosen people, no longer destined to inherit and dominate the same Earth because they colluded in his only son’s death and, to this day, still refuse to acknowledge him as their Saviour and King?

If the Jews are not of European descent (some with even blue-blooded eyes) what justification do they have for establishing the state of Israel in 1948 to repossess what is written down in your same “Holy Writ” as the land overflowing with milk and honey?

Since in your assessment Jews are not European-and certainly not the descendants of that cursed sambo called Ham- who are they, then?

Are they from the Land of the Rising Sun or Chinese or Hindu Indians or even Eskimos who have their own Creation and Adam& Eve stories?

30. William Skinner Avatar

I said what I said. You know what I mean. Too early for games Bro’

31. The blogmaster does not understand. All of us know the philosophy of Don Blackman, we understood his focus. Your snide remark needs to be explained.

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It is now MORE EVIDENT THAN EVER before that the 11 plus exam was/IS a SETUP…

.it has served its purpose of BENEFITTING OTHERS…. for over half century and now MUST die a natural death…

been hearing talk for a while that the UK got rid of it in their jurisdiction….i know there has been an evolving and upgrade of the way Black Afrikan kids are taught don’t know if it spread through Uk, but more Afrikan history was introduced and they saw SIGNIFICANT positive changes……more confidence in the young, an interest in persuing more creativity….less interest in the streets…still a very long way to go, but as usual they are YEARS AHEAD of those in the Caribbean who claim to be the “best educated”…

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Are the Jews, his ‘only’ chosen people, no longer destined to inherit and dominate the same Earth because they colluded in his only son’s death and, to this day, still refuse to acknowledge him as their Saviour and King?”

with their racist selves…..but the TRUTH IS OUT…..they can no longer hide the Black Afrikan Jesus…

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Comrade Don Blackman , was by far the most progressive politician, we’ve had since independence, I witnessed him transform the poorest parts of his constituency in no time at all. He lifted the Ivy in a way that no politician has lifted and improved any constituency anywhere on the island. He was a genuine voice for the Black working class.”

i don’t know who they think they are fooling….they recruited him as A PROFESSOR in US, he would have had access to what was necessary to TRANSFORM Black Afrikan lives, but they could not have that, the traitors…..if i had my way, both Cow and all the negros who sell out to him and other minorities would have been in HANDCUFFS decades before, and we would not now have to FIGHT TO REVERSE the damage they ALL maliciously caused with their greed, covetousness, jealousy and envy……

glad he got out before they murdered him, to keep their status quo and circle of evil going for another 30 plus years….

heard about another minister who used to CRY…because he promised his constituents he would transform their lives and EVERY TIME he TRIED….DBLP criminals would throw up barriers so he could not succeed….see now why i have no respect for any of them, they DELIBERATELY sunk their own people to the lowest possible condition….to please, appease and enrich RACISTS…and themselves../and there is nothing they can do to hide or erase that…it will follow them to their graves…

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…with all of that….they got the NERVE to believe they could INVADE our continent with their criminality…..to tief what belongs to NONE OF THEM….while keeping the Black population TRAPPED IN Barbados…to continue their cycle of evil….they thought they could leverage Black lives, but that turned out to be WISHFUL THINKING…

they will try again……we are waiting..because we are well aware that they have RUN OUT OF OPTIONS…

36. There is a distinction between raising awareness and consciousness and expanding awareness and consciousness.
    I have been teaching Bu about spiritual yoga and prana / chi life force energy practices, but none of you have been listening.
    Instead of worrying about teaching and reaching others it is better to commit to teach yourself and improve daily progressively.

49 day Sadhana

37. Yes, we do write off our children way too early. My son and his unfortunate friends were written off as “The Rest” by the Principal. They recognised it. I recognised it. I was left with my hands poised to clap as I knew that Deighton Griffith came after The Lodge School in the order.

No applause was invited.

And that is why William said that the CCE has created more criminals (especially the violent criminals, I would add) than anything else.

The bulk of those in prison, we were told by authorities attended SEVEN of our secondary schools.

I bet you almost all were written off at CCE.

Another commonality was that they either did not have or never even knew their fathers. So Cuhdear Bajan is correct. The figure quoted by the researcher was 90% or thereabouts.

John Goddard has also made some points that we have been knocking about for ages while doing virtually nothing about them.

But….long did this brass bowl recognise that we are frustrating our young people by trying to fit the square pegs into round holes because we only value round holes.

Right now I need me a plumber. I do not want a doctor or lawyer. They are of no use to me right now.

I have had good plumbers and bad plumbers do my work.

Good plumbers are essential to life as we know it.

38. War against body mind and spirit
    or to keep it real for the Bu nuts
    There is a War against the Black Body Mind and Spirit

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X760cFK-lZA

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant and too @Doc, I made no attempt to discredit CP or Foundation brethren … I merely made a comparison based 1) on the original remark from @Doc to wit: “…MUCH MERIT IN THIS VIEW, IN MY OPINION, AS CLEARLY SEEN IN THE BETTER LIFE LONG AND GENERAL AFTER SCHOOL DAY COHESION BETWEEN THOSE PERSONS WHO WENT TO COMBERMERE SCHOOL IN THE SAME TIME PERIOD“…
    and 2) my knowledge of the above excellent spirt of old scholars from that same school.

My close relative who attended HC yet developed a deep fraternal bond with a bunch of Cawmerians years later … I was astounded by that simply because he was more prone to attend events for the institution of his buddies than those of his alma mater.

I was in NO way attempting to be pejorative of the spirt of the other places … how could it be! Was the original comment similarly pejorative!

Come now guys… as you – in your different ways – say here often: please read with understanding!

And @Sargeant … I am a proud graduate of Standpipe U … I spent more time at school during the ‘long vacation’ than otherwise… so I hung out wid fellas from all a dem places and had an outstanding girlfriend from one, too (3 really 😇, different times … no hanky panky here) !

But otherwise what de hell would I know, right!

Lata

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

RIP to Mr Blackman… he was certainly seen as described by @Skinner… his time as a minister in Bim was absolutely unprecedented as alluded to.

And @David, I believe @Skinner’s ‘interfere’ is well understood.

Factually COW won that battle resoundingly as you suggest but moreso unfortunately he also won the war …

That however does not diminish the fundamental efforts of what Don Blackman attempted to ‘realign’.

Clearly both parties were supporters of Blackman’s ‘affirmative action’ theories but the court case caused the DLP to run scared from effecting those theories.

May the bro rest peacefully with his faith.

41. @Dee Word

What is your understanding?

42. Don Blackman’s loss was Barbados’ loss. I really missed him from the landscape. He had intellect, personality and character Not to mention his good looks (and yes, I did like his face).

He taught the average Barbadian a lot because one simply could not stop listening. Never a dull moment when he opened his mouth!

Where have all the good ones gone?

43. Makukhanye
    Everything you started
    and everything you do
    and everything you try
    I wish the light could shine on you

44. @ Donna
    This debate is going to open a can of worms. I am not writing here to win no cookie points. Research by very creditable persons , have been clear of the correlation between that gas chamber we call CEE and crime in the country.
    The simple truth is that if we were to face the reality and stop this nonsense about who “got “ the best educational system. we would not have the disaster that is going to come whenever the Minister of Education begins to introduce reform.
    I can tell you that one of the greatest stunts ever pulled on the people was donkey years ago. when Louis Tull, was the MOE of education. The man got up one morning and declared , there will be some bogus thing called Vocational Centres.
    Imagine the spectacle at the primary school plants, where they put some of these “ centres”. These were children, who had not even mastered the 2 times table.
    He , in his wisdom. placed these children, in a situation, where the little infants children could pass and see them being taught what they ( the little children) were being taught in infants.
    The infant kids used to laugh at these “ big children and teachers had to ban the infants children from going near those “ big boys” because being humiliated , they became very violent.
    Louis Tull also told bold faced lies on teachers on national television . I will put that in another post.
    Education is in a mess, far worst than we believe. It has been so almost forever. Santia Bradshaw caused a lot of division. Ask her what are her achievements in the three years she was there.
    Mia Mottley completely failed as a Minister of Education as well. After you read this , go to Google and read what the agency that loaned or granted us the funds for Edutech, reported. If we had developed Edutech , the COVID effect on the school system would have not been as severe as it is.
    Jones, was loud abrasive and totally unfit for that ministry. He too was trying to prove that he was a McGuffie or whatever.
    I have written four names here. This is exactly what happened three days after one of them became MOE:
    The one in question went into the office, and summoned a Senior Education Officer. The officer was told that they wanted a party faithful to be the head of a school. The minister was told , that the decision , as to whom will fill that position was made already .and it can’t be changed .
    The brand new MOR was adamant that their party person must get the job.
    Can you imagine that the Friday evening before the new MOE left the office the last thing said to the officer was: Try and fix up that situation by the end of the next week. !!!
    The officer did not bulge and from that day onward spent the rest of that career , until retirement walking on egg shells.
    There are hundreds of stories like that.
    Just waiting to see what they are going to bring. They should be ready because the BLP has promised to abolish the gas chamber since 1981.
    I have followed your post about your son. You are more than correct. They marginalize some children on speech day.
    Our children walk out of primary school literally afraid of what coming next.
    I don’t have any “ empirical” evidence that the gas chamber is responsible of what I have accused it off.
    But the evidence I got are faces I meet wherever I travel in the US and when I am back home.
    And for those who want evidence, I part with this:
    I know a man , who was like a super star , at his primary school. He had the greatest personality that one could imagine; he often came back to school on Mondays, with his khaki a bit off because he ran about all weekend in them. His main job was to just be there with his charming self doing the little errands, like taking the attendance register from class to class A born leader . He was in the E or D class all his primary school career.
    He could barely spell his name but he was on very good terms with all his teachers. They loved him . He could not pass no exam. He barely use to go to the secondary school they said he passed for. The same man today , in North America owns six long haul trucks.
    And thee is another man…….,…I’ll save that story.
    It’s a damn gas chamber that CEE it has destroyed more of our children than any drug. If you want to destroy a child tell him he pass an exam he could not; let him loose on a society that laughs at people’s “green verbs. Make him or her feel that they weren’t good enough.
    That child in poverty; irresponsible parents; can’t write a letter; afraid to socialize; feels people laughing at he;
    And along comes a man with a high end car, brand name clothes; prettiest women a whole lot of bling. And he looks at that “ failure “ from age 11 and says:
    Man what yuh worrying ‘bout . I ain’t pass no $$@#%% exam and look at me now. Man get in the car don’t mind Dem………..come with me; we got to look out fuh one another.,…………
    Multiply that by 500 !

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…we can now work towards our respective, original goals……

46. Rumours
    Did Blacks invent Crime
    Pre-Colonial African Education
    https://goodsaria.blogspot.com/2017/11/2-examine-main-characteristics-of-pre.html

47. de pedantic DribblerFebruary 9, 2022 9:41 AM

I DID NOT IN ANY WAY SEEK TO CASTIGATE YOU, NOR DID SARGE

WE WERE I THINK MEANING TO POINT OUT THAT THE STRONG CH CH ASSOCIATION OF FOUNDATION SCHOOL ATTENDEES OF SAY THE 50’S & 60’S MAY HAVE EVEN ONE OF GREATER COHESIVENESS WHEN COMPARED TO THAT OF THE VERY HIGHLY RESPECTED COMBERMERE BRAND, BECAUSE THE COMBERMERIAN BRAND WAS NOT AS PARISHED BASED AS THE FOUNDATION BRAND.

THIS SPEAKS IN MY VIEW FOR ZONING AS HANTS SEEMED TO INDICATE IN HIS EARLIER POST

IF COHESIVENESS OF OLD SCHOOL FRIENDS WILL BE A CONSEQUENCE OF ATTENDING SECONDARY SCHOOL, PERHAPS ZONING SHOULD BE CONSIDERED AS A PARAMETER OF CHANGE TO THE SCHOOL SYSTEM, IN PREFERENCE TO IMPOSED CHOICE BY A COMMON EXAM

CLEARLY THE COLLUSION OF SUCH EX SCHOOL FRIENDS AS EXHIBITED BY EX PUPILS OF THE AFORE MENTIONED SCHOOLS IS A BENEFIT TO THE NATION.

CLEARLY THEN REFURBISHMENT OF THE SYSTEM REQUIRES A SHORT TERM, MEDIUM TERM AND LONG TERM APPROACH, AND A DIRECTIVE FOCUS ON WHAT AFTER SCHOOL DAYS EDUCATION CAN, AND MUST BE OFFERED.
    AND THIS MUST BE MORE THAN JUST UWI, BCC OR SJPP.

I SPOKE EARLIER ABOUT IN HOUSE TRAINING OF FIRE OFFICERS
    I KNOW THAT MANY OF THE EXCELLENT LABORATORY TECHNICIANS OF THE 70’S AT QEH RECIEVED A LOT OF THEIR TRAINING IN HOUSE.
    WE USED TO TRAIN THE NURSES IN HOUSE

IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THERE OUGHT TO BE A SET UP FROM PRIMARY SCHOOL LEVEL UP TO POST SECONDARY SCHOOL ….AIMED AT LEAVING NO ONE BEHIND. AGAIN I SAY MUST BE IN THE LATTER SEGMENT MORE THAN JUST UWI, BCC OR SJPP.

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller….let them stay there, Kush Quarterly has from DAY 1 been used as an educational TOOL in certain jurisdictions and can only go from strength to strength…

..they can stay behind for another 1/4 century or more….if they live that long…but the young generations will ALWAYS BE HERE….

49. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, re -“@Dee Word…What is your understanding?”_…….. Other than the long ago so named CBC TV program😎 …. to what do you refer about my ‘understanding’ of the Don/Cow/Rayside affair!

In very, very, simple terms: he donned; he attempted to ‘Move The Earth To Please’ ; he found out that ‘Everyone Didn’t Love Rayside’…. A tortured riposte of course of ‘Veni, Vidi, Vici’!

I’ll add this tho… it’s instructive that Rayside Construction has suffered the fate of many a family owned business and did not survive beyond the 2nd generation after the founder-owner moved on/passed on. That doesn’t take away from what Blackman attempted of course…. but is just very unfortunate and indicative of the importance of succession planning and utilizing trained management outsiders at crucial junctures of the business life-cycle to make some HARD decisions about family involvement.

And YES @Donna… he truly was of rock star status!

50. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William……. It’s wonderful to see how many are not revering Dr. Blackman now that he has passed on, but did ANY OF THEM speak out against the injustice done to him or JOIN him in the fight to SAVE BLACK LIVES from the Cows, the sellouts and the other criminals feeding off Black lives….

after the fact does not count…

Leave a Reply to Verona MichaelCancel reply