Submitted by William Skinner

Prominent supermarket owner, Mr. Andrew Bynoe, has said that employees in that sector, must be multi-tasked, as we navigate, the challenges emerging from COVID. He contends that cashiers must be prepared to render services that will necessitate, them moving from their stations at the cash register.

Mr. Bynoe is, suggesting that Barbadian workers, in the retail sector, perform like their counterparts, in other markets, whose job description includes cleaning the stores- including lavatories, taking the customers’ groceries to their cars, returning the carts to the store from the carpark and other more physical duties.

He is therefore promoting a change, in our working culture, which could lead to reduced staff, and more profits for the owners, but no improvement to the workers, who would work harder without the guarantee of improved benefits. A worker could be at the register one day and then be a janitor the next.

Workers unions should be quick, to point out to those who control this sector, that they should not expect, such changes to terms of employment, without long denied improvements for their members.

Mr. Bynoe should know that multi-tasking cannot be considered in isolation from multi-benefits. These workers need: safer workplaces; continuous training skills to have upward mobility; health insurance; assistance with improving their education and profit sharing in the business along with job security.

Under the guise of COVID, employers may seek to further exploit workers, who historically, have been treated as insignificant to national progress. Retail sector workers will be a prime target.

Workers unions in this sector, should remind Mr. Bynoe and others, that asking workers to multi-task without offering multi- benefits, is not an attractive proposition.

Unions beware. Workers unite.

Listen to Andrew Bynoe’s call from 3min 49 sec of the VOB audio file.

7:30 EDITION

186 responses to “Call for Supermarket Workers to Multitask”

1. William Skinner Avatar

These dishonest contributors are so bent on proving me wrong that they want to come here pretending that cashiers , baggers, front office workers do not carry groceries to your car and retrieve carts from the parking lot.
    They want to imply that I am saying a cashier will ring them up and then carry their groceries to the car. Pure BS.
    What I am saying is that cashiers at major chains also carry groceries to cars, clean lavatories and so on . Even front office clerks do it.
    You go into work and there is a schedule, although you are employed as a cashier, you can be scheduled to bag that day, carry customer groceries to their cars, retrieve carts from the car park; pack shelves; assist in the deli, assist in the bakery. In other words multi tasking literally means they can be asked to do anything.
    One can go this evening and see somebody working the register as a cashier ; toward closing time some registers would be closed and those same cashiers are off to clean the toilets,pack shelves , clean the store including the toilets retrieve carts etc
    I have seen managers at major chains doing all these chores.
    Anybody with retail working experience in America knows that what they tell you on an interview is often bull shit, especially in retail. Nobody has ever seen anybody in these chains who are actual janitors.
    Another nasty trick they play is this: you are working the register; you make a mistake with your money; you are taken off the register and placed on bagging duty , cleaning duty and toilet cleaning duties for a period , they think is needed . In the meantime, they play they retraining you.
    Sometimes we all need to use false names and try to discredit people.
    Read the damn article again. I am not casting any aspersions on Mr,Bynoe but rest assured they are going the American way.
    The same clown knows that Georgia is a right to work state . These people have no respect for workers and if you are black you are always near somewhere close to the Sharks guts.
    I am going to go further and if say that if anybody out there is involved in trade unions and fighting for retail workers rights, do not allow the employers to get away with this crap.
    It is not our working culture. Make sure that when they employ your members , the job description is tight very tight.
    And as to that clown who comes here saying that if cashiers and or non management staff at the major chains get paid for toilet duties ; he knows nothing and I mean absolutely nothing about how retail workers are treated in America.
    It’s a known fact that retail workers are generally and violently exploited in this country.
    Talk about working at those large clothing stores. Go in the stores before closing time or just stand up outside ; and you will see the same clerk who just sold you a pair of shoes pushing a blasted vacuum cleaner and dealing with trash. Bet yuh life her job description never says janitor, it probably says clerk. But she pushing a frigging vacuum cleaner and dealing with trash. The same clerk when she sell you the dress ringing you up and then cleaning the store on evenings.
    But wunnuh come here trying to discredit me , simply because I am saying to Bynoe who Black; the Cheffette group; Cave shepherd the white ones;and all of them don’t use COVID to exploit the workers. We cannot let them copy this American structure, they will work our asses off and then discard us. They do it now.
    All I am saying is simple multi task multi benefits. You want me to be Jack of all trades; I need some benefits.
    It’s WAR !!!!! No frigging peace for you shameless lot.
    And I ain’t gone and I ain’t done.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Our job going forward is to POLICE these business people, they will not use pre or post Covid movements to exploit Black people as they are accustomed……..that party is over, everyone will be on the lookout for them to expose them all..

William…they brought this constitutional crisis on all by themselves, needed no help from anyone….warned them about the republic constitution repeatedly and the fact that they cannot have an effective republic without one., but of course they had their ulterior motives, none of which are good for the majority population, or they would not now be a laughing stock…with the colonial constitution GIVING THEM LICKS…just as they deserve…lol

that is what happens when you DO NOT HAVE A FULL UNDERSTANDING of a document created by someone else….they warble on about it, but have no clue of its significance…maybe they should have read my book after all….although am still so happy they did not or we may not be here now with all this entertainment..

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“but rest assured they are going the American way.”

they will go the American way WITHOUT paying the same salaries and benefits…and keep the same colonial stinginess…they are fooling NO ONE..

AND..

as we all know, when they get caught exploiting workers in the US…they have to PAY THEM OUT…everyone takes their pound of flesh for the INFRINGEMENT of worker’s right……..which never happens in the 2×3 slave society…so yes, they MUST BE POLICED by citizens.

4. Why are u esting ur nickers all the time?

Maybe u should gi back and read carefully

I repeat i have never seen what u reported u have seen

I Can report i have seen what theo have seen with the machine to assist In moving the carts from the parking lots back to the stores

I Can report i have seen what hants have seen

I have never seen cashiers walking a customer to the car.

Here i Barbados i have seen bag pockets walking the customer to the car

Where i live In GA i do not see what You report You see

If that kind of thing happens where You live the obviously we dont live close to each others. Now keep In eating ur knickers

5. Dirt Farmer,

I thought it was “Town Man” and “Town Woman”.

6. @J2
    It is not unimaginable to have someone pressed into a task so that ‘we can get out of here’

Was leaving, but for the record.. My psychic powers have limitations.

I do not know what I have not seen.
    I do not know what happened before I got there or after I left.

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The whole thing is to break Franklyn. They don’t give a damn about the nurses.
    But that is great leadership.”

this breaking people comes directly from SLAVERY…and they refuse to let it go….last person that claimed that am a hard nut to crack and they can’t break me is UNDER THE GROUND…..

that is all they live for, while ignoring their health…and end up with strokes and heart attacks…

working overtime to break people and reduce them into thinking shallow, negative and useless like them, is another go nowhere pursuit they love to indulge in., why in the 21st century they are still FIXATED with breaking Black people…i find it disrespectful and insulting to our ancestors who were mentally and physically broken…

,…like everything else they do…they live to insult our ancestor’s torment, torture and other experience..

don’t see them trying it on anyone one else, they won’t have the nerve or balls…

.ya even get it here on BU….

8. Theo i understood u the first time

I did not go into what happen before or after i ONLY refererede to ur seeing the machine that assist ,

U saw it and I Saw it

I have never seen the other things i Said earlier

9. William Skinner Avatar

Since you’ve obviously decided to hide let me asked you this :where did I write that cashiers walk customers to the car ? I said that cashiers also : clean labs; retrieve shopping carts; carry groceries to your car etc. In other words , if Bynoe wants his cashiers to multi task that they will do as their counterparts do here in America.
    How can you interpret that to mean that a cashier who just rang you up will then just do walk you to your car? You know full well another associate will do that at that time. However that same cashier may be doing bagging duties the next day and takim folks to their car.,That is what multi tasking means
    What I am saying is clear : they also do other duties
    You also said that if they clean lavatories it is probably in their job description or they get paid for it. Wrong again. The job description often says : “and some cleaning.”Therefore believe it if not you will be asked to clean the toilet and if you go in the break room of those places you see that those who are closing will have to clean the toilets.
    You talk about going to Kroger often and not seeing women retrieving carts. Just send me the address of that Kroger.
    My piece is clear , I stand by what I say. You are either making sport or there skinning your teet believing you have me mad as hell. No. I am not mad. But for you to imply that I said that you get ring up and the cash turns around and takes you to your car is pure nonsense and you know that’s not what I said or meant.

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The good news is…..in their mad heat to BREAK Caswell like a Slave…..they BROKE THEMSELVES…like the Slaves they are….slaves to colonial politics, slaves to colonial religion, slaves to colonial education, slaves to maintaining the colonial status quo…

….kept telling them that Karma and RETRIBUTION are BOTH on the move….they did not believe that either…

but neither are done with them….

11. You go into work and there is a schedule, although you are employed as a cashier, you can be scheduled to bag that day, carry customer groceries to their cars, retrieve carts from the car park; pack shelves; assist in the deli, assist in the bakery. In other words multi tasking literally means they can be asked to do anything.
    One can go this evening and see somebody working the register as a cashier ; toward closing time some registers would be closed and those same cashiers are off to clean the toilets,pack shelves , clean the store including the toilets retrieve carts etc

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THIS MAKES SENSE, HAVE SEEN IT BEING DONE IN CALIFORNIA AND MIAMI FLORIDA.

12. @ WURA
    These “ slaves” simply do not care. And we are collectively allowing them to get away with it!
    You are going to tell me, that 28 Black MPs, in the midst of a pandemic, could not tell the PM, they could not support her with that election sham. They do not care about their own brothers and sisters catching COVID.
    Don’t you see , that they fid not even care about themselves catching COVID and at least 3 or 4 of them became infected.
    Imagine I read on BU that it was a “ beautiful “ day to vote. The sun was out and shining.
    Did you not hear our PM say that we are responsible for our own protection after she had over ten thousand of her loyal supporters and fans like sand on the beach in the esplanade. Do you really think she cares?
    That was out of the handbook of Mr. Donald Trump. He had his supporters doing the exact thing.
    The damn thing along with that one kept bu her twin the DLP in Independence Square were super spreaders.
    Don’t you see the damn numbers going up every day. Didn’t you hear the people from UWI say that the numbers are greatly misleading. Didn’t you them say that if we are told that the numbers are 500 to multiply it by 3 and that will be closer to reality.
    So this morning , when the radio said that 12000 people are in home isolation my limited arithmetic informed me that out of a population of about 300 000 we have somewhere in the vicinity of 40 000 at home.
    Now William Skinner, will wait until some brilliant person come here and tell me that 2000 000 are at home in my “ neck of the woods”
    Peace

13. I repeat
    I have seen the Bagger In Barbados walk people to their cars

Where i shop i have never seen a casheir. / Bagger take anyone to their cars

If u dont use the self check lanes u go to a casheir who usuall bag ur groceries. – sometime they May be a Bagger to do that.

The shoppers are the ones who push the carts to the car In the parking lot and pack them into the car. When they are finished with the carts there are dedicated areas In the parking lots to leave the carts- although some people leave them all over the parking lot

It is very difficult for me to remember seen a male cashier. This is usual at least one person dedicated to going through the parking lot and pick up the carts and return then to the store to be used buy incoming customers
    From my observations they are usually men and do not work In the shopping areas of the store if the have other duties beside picking up the carts
    But not even the guy pickung up the cart have i seen walking anyone / groceries to their cars

G’et this In ur head. If it happens where u shop. And if it happens where i shop – i have never seen it. And if it used to happen that often i Think i would have seen it by now

14. Some time i even see handicap people with the carts either behind or infrobt their schooter/ machine they are riding inside of the store shopping and outside unloading with no assistance for any store worker

I do believe that if they ask for help someone from the store Wood assist them as much as needed

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“You are going to tell me, that 28 Black MPs, in the midst of a pandemic, could not tell the PM,”

Bushman reinforced it this morning, right and wrong does not make up any of their equation……we know as long as it’s someone they like doing the heinous act…..they don’t care,

if it’s someone they hate, they shout it from the rooftops, that’s when they get all self-righteous and HYPOCRITICAL…until ya expose them to the world…

in the above case….these greedy MPs are sucking on taxpayers along with consultants, get to do very little, so WILL AGREE TO ANYTHING to keep the free salary flowing….opportunitic LOWLIFES..

yeah…heard a few got infected, they are lucky it was not Delta…

“Did you not hear our PM say that we are responsible for our own protection ”

yeah that was telling them, if ya dah dumb to believe and follow me, ya deserve to get real sick or die and it’s your fault too…she was right…i repeat, they are all lucky it was not Delta….then it would be a simple case of natural selection…purging the shit from among us…

i don’t know where the health dude getting his numbers….if 12,000 people are in home quarantine…..so are their ENTIRE FAMILIES…x 3 or more…which is at least 36,000 -40,00 dependent on family size, they too love to fool themselves, and the people are fool enuff to believe them..

ya done know the …must show where it’s happening elsewhere brigade… cannot help themselves…lol

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…noticed they are wearing themselves out on the interpretation of the constitution….glad to see they got that much energy to waste…directed mine elsewhere…where it would do the most good…

it’s all about conserving positive energy these days..

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

People are being warned again….across cyberspace…..about this fake metaverse…

but that is their problem if they don’t listen..

18. Miller you asked me why I come to barbados, and I have to say the pace of life, seeing people get dressed to the nines emerging from a chattel house dressed in their sunday finest to go to church harkens back to an older time. Then somehow you alluded to the size of bajan manhood for the fat northern ladies that come down and I have been trying to somehow put these two views together .. Well here goes ……what is twelve inches long and hangs between a young mans legs…….dirt farmers tie.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

basing it on personal experience….

one household may have up to 10 or 12 people, if 1-3 people are infected…the whole cricket team is in home isolation….they must be counted…..of course those numbers will vary per houseld…so some wiggle room is called for…

20. There is a covid blog, use it.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

China got a whole robot force out for the 2022 olympics, cooking cleaning, serving….the whole nine yards…the world has moved to a whole new level…..it’s very impressive…

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Am sure others are just as impressed with that robot force working their chores and if ya think that is impressive….ya have not seen yet or heard about the robot soldiers…already deployed in certain places…

23. Williams letter about supermarket management/workers is on page 9 of today’s Nation.

24. Long ago and far away I briefly [about 6 weeks] worked as a cashier in a women’s clothing store. I was not required to vaccum, mop or to clean toilets. I was required to ring up sales and to help customers choose fashionable garments. My recollection is that the store which was in a mall mall did not even have its own toilet. There were just multiple huge banks of toilets in several places in the mall that were used by everybody who used the mall, customers and staff alike and that industrial cleaning companies kept all of the common spaces including the toilets clean.

25. Why has the conversation about flexibility in job design reached cleaning toilets and Bynoe did not state this is what I’m his mind? He spoke generally to being able to create mobile jobs.

Steuspe

26. @WARU Febuary 6 at 6:27 am “William…i saw where Caswell is warning that recruiters in US are actively seeking to pick up all the nurses off the island…the nurses should leave.”

I take it that you don’t have elderly parents our other vulnerable relatives who live here.

Reminding you, the American recruiters, and Caswell that we Bajans gave birth to these nurses. We bore labour pains for them. We safely nurtured them through infancy. We taught them to safely cross the streets. We taught them to read and write. We nurtured them through secondary school and college. We fed, clothed and sheltered them. We paid for their recreations and entertainment. We spiritually nurtured them. We paid for their education from nursery to tertiary. We now nurture their children while they work shift work. We do this for little or no pay. We do this because we love them. Right now we are supervising their children’s online education. We are providing their children with hot healthy lunches. Heck oftentimes we ever grown the organic food ourselves. Where will they find a free or cheap child care provider in the great white north? How long are they prepared to be separated from their own children? Months? Years? Until their children are adults and completed alienated from them?

We are their parents.
    We are their siblings.
    We are their spouses
    We are their children.

27. William Skinner Avatar

@ Cuhdear
    I don’t know exactly how you framed your post.
    However, allow me to say that nothing you have said above justifies them being exploited, ignored and treated like sweat shop workers.
    We ought to tell our PM that it takes a leader with a remarkably kind heart to treat the nurses so well. We know for sure she cares about them.
    BTW, all of what you have written above of what we do for the nurses is absolutely correct. We did or do it for the PM too and she has been blessed with receiving a pay cheque every month/ pay period for the last 28 years . My faulty arithmetic says that amounts to 336 months. And when she retires from that august chamber her pension will not be missed a single month .
    I am certain you ,Caswell and I know that.

28. @William Skinner February 6, 2022 10:40 AM “Imagine I read on BU that it was a “ beautiful “ day to vote. The sun was out and shining.”

Yup. I wrote that.

And I repeat that it was a beautiful day. Cool and windy as is typical for this time of year.

It was windy. All windows and doors of the polling station were open.

People waited outdoors. In my case in the shade of some lovely trees.

Everybody wore masks.

I saw hands being sanitized

I was given a pencil which I had reason to believe was clean. After I used the pencil it was dropped in the dirty pencil box, sanitized and recycled. It is not that hard to sanitize a wooden pencil.

I spent less than 3 minutes inside the polling station.

There was one door for entry and another for exit in order to reduce face to face.

All staff wore masks and face shields.

I wore a mask and a face shield.

I carried my own sanitizer as I have ALWAYS done since the pandemic began. I’ve never depended on anybody to remember the condom. I have never depended on anybody to provide the sanitizer. So no unintended pregnancy. No sexually transmitted diseases. No covid [so far]

I was HERE. You were NOT. The voting was carried out safely.

I did not get involved in the partying, hugging, kissing and celebrations of the campaign. I have never been a big partier and hugger anyhow. Why would anybody in this day and age hold the hands of or hug or kiss anybody outside of their own household?

The pandemic is unlikely to end before August 17, 2023. If the PM had waited until that date the same people now complaining about the January 19, 2022 election wold be loudly complaining about the delay in elections and we would all hear talk about despots etc.

I vote D when I think it is right. I vote B when I think it is right. I am not married to any party. I am not loyal to any party. I have NEVER been loyal to any party. I will NEVER be loyal to any party.

I work. I vote. I pay my taxes. I look after my parents and my children. I’ve never asked for, been offered, nor accepted anything from any party. I expect nothing from any party. Whichever party is elected I expect them do the WORK that out labor and our taxes PAY them to do.

29. @William Skinner February 8, 2022 6:49 AM “We know for sure she cares about them.”

You may know this.

I know no such thing.

There may be people who expect love and care from politicians.

I have NEVER had any such expectations. Why would I expect a politician to love me or to care for me? because they say so? Lol!. We look around us and we see parents who do not love their children We see adult children who do not love the parents who raised them.

I expect the same from politicians as from any other worker.

An honest day’s work, for an honest day’s pay.

30. I am here to do an honest day’s work, for an honest day’s pay.

I said this once to a “boss” and she was deeply offended. It seems that she expected some kinda love or loyalty. I am prepared to work hard and to work well. That’s it. My time and my skills have for always been for sale. But not my love or loyalty. Those are not market commodities.

31. In any event the nurses are free to do do as they wish. Unlike WURU’s feelings, I don’t THIINK that the nurses are enslaved. If they wish to move to the USA or elsewhere they are free to leave today or as soon as they get the appropriate visa. But less we forget this strike began around the proposed “safe spaces” where government wanted health care professionals to be vaccinated or regularly tested. If the nurses decide to move to the USA/UK/CANADA or elsewhere they will HAVE TO BE VACCINATED, because the rich white countries don’t play. Will some people suffer if there is a mass exodus? Yes. Will I be one of the sufferers? Maybe. Might I die? Perhaps.

My Little Johnnie who lives in the great white north and does NOT work in health care has been required to be covid tested twice per week since covid test kits became available, and this continues even though the vaccination rate in that place is about 90%. I love Little Johnnie very much but I will NOT contribute to the support of ANYBODY who refuses to be vaccinated or covid tested. I will NOT do this, not even for my own flesh and blood.

As I wish my own child well, so I also wish the nurses well.

32. I don’t believe in slogans/tag lines whether the slogan/tag line is

Mia cares
    Drink Coca-Cola [haven’t drunk Coco Cola in more than 30 years}
    Just do it [never bought or wore a pair of Nikes, too expensive for my taste]
    A diamond is forever [even while a diamond may last forever at least 25% or marriages go to hell; and another 25% are from time to time at hell’s gate]

33. Protesting is an organ in a democracy to ensure dispossessed and marginalized opinions are heard. We should not demonized those voices. Educated citizens and elected leaders must listen and act in the interest of the whole.

34. Please note that I have nowhere said that the nurses should not protest.

The nurses are free to protest.

35. @ Cuhdear Bajan
    Thanks very much. Appreciated

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I don’t THIINK that the nurses are enslaved.

oh really, but you want them to go back to work WHEN THEY ARE STILL OWED, not being adequately PAID…and in inferior working conditions….ammm….that is MODERN DAY SLAVERY and you will not accept it for yourself so why wish it on them…

listen to”@Cuddear That’s it. My time and my skills have for always been for sale. But not my love or loyalty. Those are not market commodities.”