Submitted by Observing

Barbados has always had a trend for celebrating a “maximum leader.”

We loved Errol Barrow and his accolades. We revered Grantley Adams and then his son Tom. Now we adore Mia Amor. Over and away we have other examples such as Dominica, Grenada and St. Vincent. But, is this trend healthy for a small island democracy?

A look at how events play out under such leaders show that support is consolidated, popularity is increased and machinations are employed to retain power. Decision making goes unopposed or unfettered. Allegations of infelicities disappear into the night. Opposition voices are stifled, or stifle themselves for lack of a persona equal in stature to he/she who leads from on high.

In Barbados, we have seen this leadership reap benefits in some instances. But we have also seen it bring a sense of arrogance, entitlement and a “I can do what I want” mentality. Tinkering with the constitution is now a norm. Double standards are now more open and blatant. Ignoring the “silent majority” is now also a trend, especially when tourist dollars or the macro economic picture is at play.

Similarly and negatively, the Freundel administration also practiced this, albeit, with foolish and arrogant abandon, disregarding the public it served. They ignored advice, plodded along with errant decisions and took the approach that “I am in charge.” 2018 speaks for itself.

But what really does this “maximum leader” bring?
After Tom died Bree took over and the rest is history.
After Barrow died Sandiford took over and the rest is history
After Thompson died Freundel took over and the rest is still an ongoing history

The maximum leader philosophy, rooted in a personality rather than collective progress can be dangerous. Without organs for continuity it gives a temporary illusion of success followed by a period of decline. Without sufficient controls and dissenting voices it gives rise to the Animal Farm mindset. Without an efficient fourth estate, it leads to a false perception of democracy and inclusion, which is really driven by public relations, marketing, psychological manipulation and popularity mining.

Think about it…
Is it truly a functional democracy when a leader can call an election whenever he or she feels like no matter the circumstances?
Is it truly a functional democracy when information is not free, integrity is not legislated and our elected leaders cannot be held to account other than at the ballot box?
Is it truly a democracy when those who control government, also fully control every aspect that regulates oversight and control of that government?
Is it truly a democracy when two-thirds of an electorate stay home leading to a 30-0?

A good democracy demands that government, civil society, labour and capital work together for the good of the people. Recent events have shown that at least three of these organs work together for the good of politics. The partisan divide, the whispers on the street and the frustration and despondency of many are the inevitable result.

We have always asked in this space, will the real leaders please stand up?
If ever there was a time for them, it is now.

318 responses to “Maximum Leaders, Absolute Power and Democracy”

1. Ms. Mockley got 29% of the electorate.

Biden’s approval is at 38%.

Even Biden is more popular than Ms. Mockley.

The difference is everybody, including the 80 million who are supposed to have voted for him have adopted the saying, “Let’s go Brandon”.

Ms. Mockley is largely ignored, maybe feared, but largely ignored.

As Biden’s approval approaches Ms. Mockley’s, you may find he too is ignored, if not impeached.

2. @ David

Although the CIRCUMSTANCES were DIFFERENT, former PM called a snap election in 1994, two years before they were constitutionally due in 1996.

Another thing, I’ve read some contributors’ opinions on unions and political parties. An example often given is when the unions accepted an increase in public sector salaries and wages much less than the 23% they were originally negotiating.

Do you remember prior to the 1986 general elections, the unions were asking for increases for civil servants of 25% at the bottom, 15% in the middle and 10% at the topic, which were rejected by then PM ‘Bree’ St. John, who said the economy couldn’t support such increases at the time?

Do you also remember after the DLP won the elections, Barrow gave the unions a similar excuse and proposed ‘5% across the board,’ which they immediately accepted?

I recall people saying ‘Bree’ was the ‘most honest prime minister Barbados every had.’

Interestingly at that time, DLP candidates Evelyn Greaves (St. Lucy); Robert Morris (Christ Church East Central); Leroy Trotman (St Michael Central) were members of the BWU and became members of the Cabinet,
    And the NUPW’s hierarchy was also biased towards the DLP.

3. Sorry his music was on grown-ish but that was a different rapper in the story line

a$ap rocky was in the movie Monster though

4. @555dubstreet February 1, 2022 7:08 AM “Women were considered weaker and more innocent”

Weak what? Is this “weak woman” a white privilege thing?

Nobody considered my grandmothers, born in 1879 and 1886 to be weak. They had to get their asses out in the sugar can fields working in the 30 degree heat and near 100% humidity from the time they were children. It was that or starve to death. And yes during that period a lot of Bajan children DID STARVE TO DEATH. I don’t know what weak you talking ’bout.

Weak what. Nobody considers black women to be weak, not then, not now.

5. SmH
    This post is being infiltrated by Rhianna lovers and bashers
    No wonder govt can served up.daily dishes to disrespect and suppress citizens rights
    In the name of the creator what is so special or of importance that the lady having a baby can drag the old BU crew to exhibit this kind of response
    Phew

6. @Critical Analyzer February 1, 2022 6:36 AM “It has to start with the constitution with the addition of Freedom of medical choice to the list of freedoms.”

Tell the truth now. Has any doctor, nurse, pharmacist, medical lab technician ever forced anything on you? Don’t you know that in Barbados and the rest of the world people die because they refuse the best quality medical advice, and nobody stops them from choosing to die. I had a cousin, dead at 23 who refused medical treatment on religious grounds. Nobody stopped her. Her widower, sensible man remarried a few months later, lived until he was in his 70’s. She is still dead, Her religious organization is still alive.

In Barbados and the rest of the world people are free to choose to become disabled or to die. NOBODY stops them.

7. The Victorian British mindset thing is a real thing whether you understand it or not or even believe it exists.
    Related to British hang ups to sex that are still present today in some aspects.
    Such as being ashamed to be naked with clothing fashions covering up body legs etc.
    Race was part of this mindset and blacks were deemed primitive and primal to white.
    Whites would choose to marry whites and not mix with other races.

8. If you watch how AOC was manufactured you will realise how politics work and how it is possible to manufacture a product.

Rhianna’s links to politics and political leaders is pretty plain!!

Part of prolonging the lifecycle of a product – same principle.

9. primordial

10. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Cuhdear Bajan February 1, 2022 9:38 AM

@Critical Analyzer February 1, 2022 5:00 AM “It should be unconstitutional for a government to repeatedly renew states of emergency with curfews for two years without being forced to compensate individuals and businesses for losses due to said state of emergency.”

Tell me please where de money gine from from to do this.

Oh yes. Tax the over burdened tax payers some more?

You don’t think that we are taxed hard enough? You wanna put some more taxes pun we?

If I have a business that was forcibly shut down for months and years due to a state of emergency they declared, they have a right to either compensate me fully while the state of emergency or allow me to operate my business.

11. SmH
    This post is being infiltrated by Rhianna lovers and bashers

not like you to moderate comments as off topic
    to bring it back on topic
    Mia is changing BB values and bringing it up to date

12. “If you watch how AOC was manufactured you will realise how politics work and how it is possible to manufacture a product.”

If you want to know about AOC don’t listen to right wing cunts like a cunt as they deserve bitch slaps

13. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan February 1, 2022 9:47 AM

@Critical Analyzer February 1, 2022 4:44 AM “The next Election date should be automatically set 5 years after the last one.”

You understand right, that this means that if we are ever stuck with a really, really bad government that we will be stuck with the rascals for a full 5 years.

You really, really want that?

You forget already how the Stuart administration stretched out their term to the bitter, bitter end [or glorious] depending on your point of view]

There is nothing stopping an election from being called if a government collapses due to a no confidence motions or other similar situation but this PM being the one to call elections must stop.

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

“Nobody considers black women to be weak, not then, not now.”

well it is true, we have to be strong even when we don’t feel like it..

15. @Artax

The blogmaster doesn’t get bogged down in political rhetoric. It is good for political talking points political not good argumentation.

16. Down the rabbit holes we go, where they end their furrow who knows. It is no wonder politicians can do as they please:

17. To respect the submission from Observing who took the time to collect thoughts and submit. Commenters should revert to the substantive issue .

18. Some of you seem incapable of making a point and to move on. Over and over and over the same point to respond to a couple fringe comments.

#jesus

19. Hello Donna

“inspiring little black girls, not only Barbadians to BELIEVE!”

Believe what exactly. Rihanna is the one in a billion person (she is an anomaly). Believing in an anomaly is for fools and people living in a welfare state like Barbados. Those little black girls are likely going to end up working in retail if they are lucky, but they will very likely end up just like Rihanna, bearing children out of wedlock, Believe that!!

Putting you aside, this brings up the point of believing in possibilities vs analysing probabilities. One based on emotions and what feels good vs logic reasoning and reality

Is it possible Mia can save Barbados, sure, but it is probable she won’t
    Was it possible Butch would accept new terms for Sandals, sure, but it was probable he would say go fly a kite, and stop work.
    It is possible they fix the NIS after crippling it but it is probable they won’t
    It is possible tourism will deliver on its promises but it is more probable it will keep sucking the country dry

Barbados has always suffered from anecdotal policy and decision making but it has accelerated under Ms. Mottley. The belief now is government can make anything possible.

The possibilities are endless but the probability is obvious

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

If we operate within the four walls of our constitution there will be no maximum leaders nor absolute powers. That is the main reason we should choose our representatives very carefully. They must reflect what the majority of us want for our country. Any attempt at removing the checks and balances in our constitution must be dealt with frontally. Democracy is not popularism. It aims to protect the basic human rights of all citizens. We need the leaders to enforce the constitution not tinker with it . That is the purpose of taking an oath to the State of Barbados. Republicanism reinforces the need for each and every citizen to be responsible for building a fair and just society.

21. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Cuhdear Bajan February 1, 2022 10:18 AM

@Critical Analyzer February 1, 2022 6:36 AM “It has to start with the constitution with the addition of Freedom of medical choice to the list of freedoms.”

Tell the truth now. Has any doctor, nurse, pharmacist, medical lab technician ever forced anything on you? Don’t you know that in Barbados and the rest of the world people die because they refuse the best quality medical advice, and nobody stops them from choosing to die. I had a cousin, dead at 23 who refused medical treatment on religious grounds. Nobody stopped her. Her widower, sensible man remarried a few months later, lived until he was in his 70’s. She is still dead, Her religious organization is still alive.

In Barbados and the rest of the world people are free to choose to become disabled or to die. NOBODY stops them.

We get denied access to try various new and alternative medical options all the time because doctors are afraid to go outside their known forms of treatment. Try going to doctors with an unorthodox treatment you want to try for your chronic ailment and just need their help monitoring your progress and see how fast they rush you out the door instead of allowing you to sign a disclaimer authorisation.

22. Correction:

Although the CIRCUMSTANCES were DIFFERENT, former PM Erskine Sandiford called a snap election in 1994, two years before they were constitutionally due in 1996.

23. @Vincent

At sone point there is overlap between what the citizen wants as reflected in the vote and what the constitution looks like?

24. @555dubstreet February 1, 2022 7:26 AM “people had 10 children because only 3 of them would live to be adults”

Only partly true.

People also had 10 children, I know of at least 2 women who had 20 and 21. People had a dozen or more children because they engaged in regular sex. Young adult human beings [and many middle aged and old ones too] both men and women engage in sex because sex is deeply pleasurable.

People then and now can/could choose to engage in a celibate life. But tell me how many people have ever voluntarily chosen celibacy?

Have you?

Has anybody on this blog?

If not, why not, since it is a choice open to ALL of us.

25. Critical AnalyzerFebruary 1, 2022 10:30 AM

There is nothing stopping an election from being called if a government collapses due to a no confidence motions or other similar situation but this PM being the one to call elections must stop.

What happens if there is no Parliament to prorogue and no Government to call elections because the current ones have produced the same farcical result, 30 – 0, as last time?

Who calls new elections??

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Believing in an anomaly is for fools and people living in a welfare state like Barbados.”

🤣🤣🤣

a DELIBERATE welfare state…..that is just how the CORRUPT want it…so the population remain NUMBERS unable to progress, sitting ducks waiting to have the life, money, opportunities and everything else SUCKED OUT OF THEM, their children and grandchildren…….just as it was done for over 60 YEARS…

they can either accept or reject it…they now have options…

27. @John February 1, 2022 9:58 AM “I don’t run around naked. Maybe as I get older I may, but for now, I don’t.”

I beg you please, don’t ever run around naked in my Barbados. You are no Rihanna. If I ever see you naked, or even half naked in a public place I will call the police for you.

28. Looks like the Election Case is headed to the Court of Appeal!!

Whoever is empowered under the Constitution to do so now should call new elections!!

29. @555dubstreet February 1, 2022 10:19 AM “The Victorian British mindset thing is a real thing whether you understand it or not or even believe it exists. Related to British hang ups to sex that are still present today in some aspects. Such as being ashamed to be naked with clothing fashions covering up body legs etc.”

If I was outdoors today in London 14C, New York -1C, Paris 10C, Moscow -1C, Toronto -1C or any of the “great” northern cities I would be “ashamed” to be outdoors naked too. I might even be dead.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

There is a much better way to handle these things, heard people saying in the last few days that Lizard got into an accident but had no clue who they meant….until now..

“A man has been charged with assaulting former ambassador and Barbados Labour Party spokesperson Liz Thompson following an accident on Friday.

31. @Redguard February 1, 2022 10:39 AM “Believe what exactly. Rihanna is the one in a billion person (she is an anomaly). Believing in an anomaly is for fools and people living in a welfare state like Barbados. Those little black girls are likely going to end up working in retail if they are lucky, but they will very likely end up just like Rihanna, bearing children out of wedlock.”

So where are the strong black men who refuse to nurture their children? If black children are not nurtured, not loved, not supported, not cared for, not encouraged it is ALWAYS the fault of the black men whose action brought them into this world.

I hope that you are not one of the runaway, doan carish, indifferent, wufless, selfish, bad behaved black men.

I trust that you are one of the many good black men.

32. (1) After every dissolution of Parliament the Governor – General shall issue writs for a general election of members of appointment the House of Assembly returnable within ninety days from that dissolution.

(2) As soon as may be after every general election the Governor-General shall proceed under section 36 to the
    appointment of Senators.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Right now the GG can’t appoint 21 senators!!

Looks like she should issue a new writ.

Still has some time!!

…. till the end of March.

The DLP should be electing a leader by then!!

They said April, right?

The BLP may very well have been out thought!!

33. Those little black girls are likely going to end up working in retail if they are lucky

black girls are changing their roles as they don’t want to do retail and are entering office work, legal work, politics, one is PM

==

“people had 10 children because only 3 of them would live to be adults”
    Only partly true.
    People also had 10 children, I know of at least 2 women who had 20 and 21.

Those figures are average figures for childbirth and life expectancy
    from my first lesson in 1st year High School History Class
    Richer had less children and a better life expectancy

34. The GG stands real shaky.

Who exactly elects the President in case she should resign?

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights ReservedFebruary 1, 2022 11:16 AM

“A man has been charged with assaulting former ambassador and Barbados Labour Party spokesperson Liz Thompson following an accident on Friday.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Pretty sure it was Lowdown gave her that nickname way back at the time of Greenland.

The BLP organised a presentation at the Alleyne School re Greenland.

Richard Goddard organised a hike from Greenland the same Sunday evening.

Afterwards who ever remained decided to walk across to the Alleyne School to see what was going on.

The Police advised the politicians to get out of Belleplaine as there was a crowd approaching.

So the politicians ran out of St. Andrew, up the hill and disappeared.

Lowdown was playing on Sparrow’s song.

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John Fellow your statement quoted below is the absolute epitome of using data to mislead … when the poorly trained do it the ‘monkey handling gun’ pejorative aptly captures how the disinformation can backfire… but when expert mathematicians like u show their lack of professional integrity with that level of BS it’s absolutely disturbing (to put it nicely) … SMH

U said: “Ms. Mockley got 29% of the electorate… Biden’s approval is at 38%…. Even Biden is more popular than Ms. Mockley.”

In which fantasy world is the vote % turnout a proper indicative value of popularity WHEN u contrast it specifically to an actual poll of popularity!

I KNOW that u are aware that the same Biden despite his horrendous poll numbers is STILL beating any presumptive republican candidate … just as here in Bim the PM wallops ANY possible opposing leader/party… Just wallops them!

Quoting numbers as you do is generally DISINGENUOUS … for a man of ur background it is evil and puerile.

Why should we believe your other theses or see the other stuff u wrote on that post as anything but BS … when u can’t offer credulity on such rudimentary, basic stuff.

Tut, tut.

37. @ Artax :Correction:

“Although the CIRCUMSTANCES were DIFFERENT, former PM Erskine Sandiford called a snap election in 1994, two years before they were constitutionally due in 1996.”

“On 7 June 1994, the administration of Prime Minister Erskine Sandiford (Democratic Labour Party – DLP) was defeated in a parliamentary vote of no confidence when several DLP dissidents “crossed the floor” and sided with the opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in criticising a particular governmental appointment. As a consequence, Mr. Sandiford (in power since 1987) announced premature elections for September (16 months early) and Parliament was dissolved. Mr. David Thompson became the new DLP leader.”
    I would suggest that these circumstances were far from being just “different”. The elections were called because of a no confidence motion and the fact that several DLP members sided with the then Opposition. It is a well known fact a successful vote of no Confidence is the most severe indictment of any sitting government under the West Minister system of government.

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Glad they are taking violation of voter’s rights seriously and further….the worst possible thing anyone can do is give the government or who ever dumb idea it was a pass … for disenfranchising voters because of the virus…when elections were held in jurisdictions with MILLIONS of people and the unvaccinated, isolated and infected had NO PROBLEMS VOTING….

…but allow thousands and thousands of tourists to be maskless at the oval and running around everywhere spreading Omicron still…assbackward as usual……

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Pretty sure it was Lowdown gave her that nickname way back at the time of Greenland.”

lol

40. In the picture series, our Supreme Leader has left behind all DLP magnates except her mentor Barrow, a mole of the BLP among the DLP sheep.

Very good. I hope she will soon slim down the welfare state like the legendary Augusto Pinochet once did. She has already weakened the trade unions. Excellent.

In any case, the age of the corrupt welfare state is over. If it weren’t for the maladjusted Professor Don Marshall again. He should stick to serious research instead of bashing our government. Like yesterday when he was interviewed about fiscal discipline. He is behaving like the little brother of that other tormentor from Canada called Hinds.

I strongly advise our government to do quality control at UWI. Parts of the current teaching staff are obviously incompetent.

41. John February 1, 2022 11:18 AM

The DLP should be electing a leader by then!!

They said April, right?

The BLP may very well have been out thought!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, are you trying to convince the forum that the DLP decided to ‘put plans in place’ to elect the party’s new president in April, because they had prior knowledge of the ‘snap elections,’ anticipated the BLP would’ve won all 30 seats, resulting in Verla resigning as a result, and all the other scenarios you’ve been repeating on BU, ad nauseam, ad infinitum?

42. Redguard,

One does not have to make billions or to be a successful business person.

As Tron always says, we need a new mindset that sees us as capable of generating enough wealth for us to live comfortably without relying on politicians and government jobs.

It is already happening. The young folk are into business.

While aiming for the stars, the moon is often reached.

43. Delete “or”

Sorry, David! Back to the topic. But we woman cannot let men talk so much shite without setting them straight. And some uh wunnuh head hard hard hard.

44. @Cuhdear Bajan January 31, 2022 9:22 PM “Adult human beings are entitled to a sex life. And they need permission from nobody, except the person they are having sex with.”

However, and there is ALWAYS a however. If you have a husband/wife, live-wid, steady boyfriend/girlfriend you would be wise to seek their consent before you start playing around. And please note that that consent is very likely to be withheld. If you should go ahead and do what you want to do, don’t call me if you get into trouble. It would be best to call your doctor/lawyer/undertaker.

45. William Skinner February 1, 2022 11:36 AM

There wasn’t any need for your explanation, because I’m FULLY AWARE the 1994 general elections were held as a RESULT of a NO CONFIDENCE MOTION, of which some DLP parliamentarians voted in favour.

I’ve discussed that issue in this forum on several occasions.

I anticipated such a response, hence the REASON why the words ‘CIRCUMSTANCES’ and ‘DIFFERENT’ were in upper case letters and to emphasize the fact I knew.

46. “black girls are changing their roles as they don’t want to do retail and are entering office work, legal work, politics, one is PM”

Taking anecdotes and trying to apply it generally is lazy thinking sir
    The PM is an anomaly, who has had loads of help. This does not change the fact that the average black girl will work in retail (cashier, merchandiser, sales rep etc). Go in Bridgetown or Sheraton. Numbers don’t like, your feelings lie though.

“So where are the strong black men who refuse to nurture their children? If black children are not nurtured, not loved, not supported, not cared for, not encouraged it is ALWAYS the fault of the black men whose action brought them into this world.”

@Cuhdear
    I am stating what the numbers say, don’t get emotional and bring a disingenuous argument and try to make this personal.

47. “If I was outdoors today in London 14C, New York -1C, Paris 10C, Moscow -1C, Toronto -1C or any of the “great” northern cities I would be “ashamed” to be outdoors naked too. I might even be dead.”

African culture has skin as clothing

In Southern Africa their annual Zulu Reed Dance for the King is sometimes considered X Rated Porn by Western sensibilities

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

We get there eventually…..from two mumphs ago

“NorthernObserverDecember 1, 2021 1:35 PM

As mentioned earlier….the various story angles were numerous.
    One daughter informs me, the ‘biggest’ (her take from whatever social media feeds she consumes) story is whether Rihanna is pregnant or not. Apparently, the focus of many in her burnt orange outfit, was not the missing support from one of the Savage line’s best sellers, but the way the outfit addressed a potential ‘baby bump’.

49. Taking anecdotes and trying to apply it generally is lazy thinking sir
    The PM is an anomaly, who has had loads of help. This does not change the fact that the average black girl will work in retail (cashier, merchandiser, sales rep etc). Go in Bridgetown or Sheraton. Numbers don’t like, your feelings lie though.

My point of reference ain’t Bridgetown it is a Global World Culture

Women are better at office work than men and taking over the area

50. Nuh lotta long talk! Observing makes some good points worthy of consideration. We have the opportunity to submit them to the authorities as we look towards the new constitution.

Some others cannot be fixed by any constitution but only by citizens’ counteraction.

My one question is –

What kind of leaders is Observing looking for?

Leave a Reply to William SkinnerCancel reply