As we draw closer to the time Barbadians will be encouraged to participate in a national debate about a NEW Constitution, one suggestion is to allow Barbadians- who for different reasons- have settled overseas to be able to vote to elect a Barbados government. Especially Bajans who although the primary address is foreign, they have family, property and other interest still in the land of birth.

The suggestion to create a Diaspora Constituency is a controversial one for obvious reasons but we should discuss it.

The following comment posted by William Skinner to the Did the Many Hands Make Light Work blog, a Barbadian living in the USA in instructive.

The truth is the truth. As I told you recently , I am not a paragon of any virtue known to mankind. But, I value intellectual honesty. As you have said we have our differences but we are heading the same place. One of the great pillars of intellectual honesty is to admit that you’re are not infallible and to quickly acknowledge when you are wrong or even half wrong.

Quite frankly, among overseas Bajans, I am considered a baby. And they tell me that almost every day. I know Bajans who have been away from home fifty years and over. There is a lot of success and a lot of pain. By the time they have achieved success , they have lost family, friends and even visits are a bit depressing because they are seeing the children of their family and friends and don’t know them. It’s a vicious cycle, when one , on the quest for some improvement , has to give up almost anything that is worthwhile at the end.

There is also a cultural dimension. I have a friend, who has lived more of his life in Brooklyn than than Bim. About ten years ago, he brought home his children to the rock for Crop Over. His daughter, a born and bred American, fell in love with Lil Rick. I am informed that she has not listened to any American rapper since! She is into pure kaiso.
Children need roots. A Canadian lady now in her fifties told me that on a visit home, around the age of seven or so, her uncle taught her how to catch a lizard. She has never forgotten that!

I can write a thousand stories. I have advised friends and family , to not give up a job or anything to come chasing the American dream. The price is high…..very high.

The Caribbean Diaspora must be seen as a part of our new horizon in a different way. And for many different reasons. Indians born and live on the rock then they go back to India to find spouses for their children; Jews , Irish and all other groups are in their Diaspora ensuring that their countries and culture are fully and properly defended. When progressive voices talk about the Diaspora , they are talking about he big picture and not only about barrels or who is Dee or Bee.

However, the mere fact that Caribbean people throughout the Diaspora want to be more involved in their countries is testimony that when all is said and done, home is where the heart is. And after mingling with those who call me a baby, I say they got on a plane but they never left Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana or any other island and if they tell you they really left, dey lie !

274 responses to “Should Bajans Living in the Diaspora Vote in —–> Barbados”

1. “She has acted as Deputy Prime Minister but to hear her talk , one would imagine that she just entered Parliament in 2018.
    She pretends that she was totally unaware of all the shit that the country was going through .”

She will probably stop Diaspora voting now due to their bad attitude. Good riddance to Bad Rubbish.

2. @William Skinner January 31, 2022 6:52 PM “@ Cuhdear Bajan. Sometimes , I’m left to wonder how we can so easily declare a right a benefit. However, I heard Mascoll talk about the millions collected by the sewage taxes, he doesn’t call them taxes but I forget the other word used. Maybe levy.”

I am “average Bajan” and I don’t mind sharing stories at all. A schoolmate of mine who retired as a PS tried to persuade me that a levy was not a tax. I was NOT fooled. If it has gone from my pocket to that of central government or a state agency, IT IS A TAX. I may “not understand” economics or finance, but I do understand language far better than most.

I heard Mascoll too. I did not attend UWI, nor the London School of Economics, but I did attended my village school, the same village school as the erstwhile PS, lol!, learnt well enough to “pass the 11+ for a good school” and I know that 83,000 households multiplied by the past 24 months, multiplied by $465.00 per year for garbage pickup is in excess of 77 million dollars. And that the sewage money is more than 15.5 million. And that water at $500 to $600 per household year, per 83,000 households will generate between 83 to 100 million and we are not talking about commercial entities yet. Just about the money that moves from the pockets of ordinary Bajans to government entities.

I hope that nobody tells me that “I don’t understand” that these entities have expenses.

3. @William Skinner January 31, 2022 6:52 PM “I heard on the radio a woman saying how “ grateful “ she was for having water “ for three straight days “ during Christmas.”

I expect that the good woman was being ironic. Any householder is pissed when clean water does not flow out of the pipes.

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan
    “ I hope that nobody tells me that “I don’t understand” that these entities have expenses.”
    Mascoll tried to infer that the bulk of the money was going to pay the workers.
    So, proportionately have the highest paid Sanitation workers in the Western Hemisphere.
    I don’t recall when the NUPW and BWU managed to negotiate such salaries.
    Did not even make the front page. What a ting !

5. You and your stupid ass shocked friends could buzz to rh off.

My “antipathy” is directed to all idiots who cannot understand a simple principle but instead chose to take it personally like emotional idiots and label it “antipathy”.

Assholes!

6. Good post, Cuhdear Bajan!

I made that point since before the election. There is a reason why we are supposed to vote where we live.

So locals must vote in the constituencies where they live.

BUT …Bajans abroad may vote where they do not live .

I cry DISCRIMINATION!

7. True story
    My wife asked me if I will finish painting before the year ends.
    My reply” Michelangelo painted the Sistine Chapel lying on his back, I am lying on my sofa”
    Think I bit off more than I can chew. Even my mother and sister are getting in on the joke.
    —-xx—
    Working on an argument for ‘voting’.

8. I hired a Filipino named Noel to do my painting, he would sing and paint all day. I just used to bring him the beers.

9. Funny
    You cry discrimination
    I cry discrimination as having to vote in a single pseudo constitution is dilution of the vote of those in the diaspora.
    Will agree to differ

10. Noel was a superstar he put down my wooden flooring, assembled bookshelves, tiled bathrooms, put in curtain rails and light fittings, landscaped my garden with paving and plants. I used to get everything from the shops.

11. @TheOGazerts January 31, 2022 8:28 PM ” Michelangelo painted the Sistine Chapel lying on his back”

I have a strong feeling that you are not the reincarnation of Michelangelo, maybe that is why your female kin are beginning to ask the difficult questions.

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

I have no clue what type of legacy people are trying to leave for the young TO JUDGE…but personally, there is not one PRETENDER on this or any other blog….can coerce me to LIE TO and MISLEAD the younger generations, to keep an evil, anti-black status quo in place to financially benefit hateful greedy racist minorities and corrupt governments, just because that is all they know……NEVER GOING TO HAPPEN….

at some point in time we have to take a good LONG look at ourselves and ask what kind of legacy we plan to leave…spent years watching what they believe is most important and none of it benefits the Black population….

“How can any self respecting citizen not cringe when we hear , our own people are in glee , at having water they are paying through their noses for.?
    It shows how low the bar is . It shows why politicians can turn up every five years and fool us.”

it’s gone from the ridiculous to the EXTREMELY DANGEROUS, those who tolerate. condone accept. and enable it are a danger to those who don’t…..and none can see the bigger picture….

“I have never seen poverty marketed so well: ”
    “She pretends that she was totally unaware of all the shit that the country was going through ”

right along with all the little followers, pimps and supporters.who deserve to SUFFER THE MOST…for their deceitful ways…

“Can we honestly say that either the BLP or DLP has done justice to the confidence that we have placed in them since 1966 ?”

no you can’t…they have ALL BEEN and ARE colossal FAILURES….in the lives of the Black majority who put them there….that is all you will ever get…..the destruction runs very deep and can be traced to the very beginning.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…a lot more is going on, a LOT MORE WENT ON…but they can only fool who they can and who BEG FOR IT…some like being fooeds, so they can pass on the foolery to others…who won’t smack them down..

others who have found out exactly what they have done and KNOW MUCH BETTER…know exactly what to do with the information.

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Long journey, but we GOT THERE, we finally made it…i love sharing good, positive news,.

some will ask where, because they wasted SO MUCH TIME…..but if they never knew from the beginning because they REFUSED to pay attention, too petty to stay focused, the notorious shit pickers, they certainly don’t need to know now…

it’s their DEAD END to live with, no one else’s…

but they will see the results that others spent YEARS selflessly WORKING ON….while they are asleep..

i love success and positive, hard-earned results..

15. Steupse!

16. TheO,

I live in St. Philip North. I vote in St. PhilipNorth. Do you live in the diaspora? Why should you not vote in the diaspora constituency?

You are being totally unreasonable wanting to decide who shall govern me and not you.

I find you are just being stubborn. I have presented a principle and given reasons which I KNOW are valid.

And you cannot even present your navel string. It dyn rot and may very well have been scattered by the winds.

17. @William Skinner January 31, 2022 8:06 PM “What a ting !”

What a ting indeed!!!

I am retired so I have the time to say a hello to the sanitation workers when they come by, I haven’t seen any big smiles, nor heard any talk ’bout no big, big raises. I just see some very hard working young men.

18. It’s really confusing how there can be so much objection against members in the Diaspora (Overseas Bajans with their open pocketbooks) making an electoral input into the governance of the country in which their navel strings are buried but the same objectors are only to willing to honour with open arms our Bajan Queen Rihanna as their first National Hero of the new republic of Barbados.

Isn’t Her Excellency RR also a well-known member of the same denigrated Diaspora in which she made her fame and fortune?

Isn’t the still unmarried queen (in the eyes of frauds for Christians) setting an example to the young Bajan princesses to help solve the national crisis of a baby shortage?

If Her Excellency RRF can step up to the plate to save her land of birth from a demographic implosion, why can’t ordinary members of the same Bajan Diaspora make their mark in the local electoral race similar to what members in some of the other enclaves of the Caricom Diaspora are entitled to do?

19. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/02/01/electoral-department-reopens-on-wednesday/

Dah is a gud job. You read the obi-chew-aries and strike a name out of the book if it in the chewaRies. Wait five years and tell people they can’t vote and check to see if a dead man come through the door.

20. @Miller February 1, 2022 6:11 PM “It’s really confusing how there can be so much objection against members in the Diaspora (Overseas Bajans with their open pocketbooks) making an electoral input into the governance of the country in which their navel strings are buried but the same objectors are only to willing to honour with open arms our Bajan Queen Rihanna as their first National Hero of the new republic of Barbados.”

Nobody, not even Mia the so-called despot can impose national hero status on anybody. Rihanna has a tongue in her mouth. She like all of us has the right to say “yes” or to say “no”. She STILL has that right. Nobody has taken it away from her. Nobody can. If she should change her mind and say “I no longer want to be a national hero” tell me again who has the power to stop her?

21. In 2003 my father was older than 90. He said that he was going to die soon. And indeed he did. During that 2003 election period multiple parties, multiple people came to his home to take him to the polls, even though he had multiple adult children willing and able to take him to the polls, but it had been his custom as it is mine to walk to the polling station, to not accept lifts from any party, because he did not want to feel obligated to any party. He had voted in every election since he became enfranchised in 1951. He refused ALL offers of lifts to the polling station. He refused to vote, because as he reasoned he knew that he would not have to live with the result of his vote, so he ethically abstained from voting.

That is ethics.

That is integrity.

It is unethical, immoral, just plain wrong to vote in any election when you do not have to live with the result of your vote. So again I say, a kidney? “yes please” a vote “no.”

If we think that we can legislate integrity we are so wrong.

That old man did not spend a day in a classroom since the age of 11. Did not spend much time in any church either. Spent no time at all in the lodge.

22. @ Cuhdear Bajan February 1, 2022 6:22 PM

Who is against H E Rihanna accepting the status of National Hero?

That national status was recommended during the debates over the demolition of the Horatio Nelson statue and a possible Bajan-bred icon for its replacement.

But why shouldn’t she also- just like any other hot-blooded adult Bajan living overseas -be entitled to make a mark at the electoral level?

She is also entitled to reproduce in her own image as much as she sees fit to enlarge the ‘small’ Fenty clan just like how you did with yours many moons ago.

23. @Miller “…setting an example to the young Bajan princesses to help solve the national crisis of a baby shortage?:

No.

Because Rihanna is only barely still a young Bajan princess. A year from now she will be officially a beautiful middle aged Bajan woman. None of us would have a problem if every healthy 34 year old Bajan woman gave birth this year.

But if teen boys and girls who never wuk nowhere give birth this year we would have a problem with that.

So to teen boys and girls no babies for you. Wunna int ready yet.

To healthy men and women, have as many children as you can lovingly care for.

24. @MillerFebruary 1, 2022 6:11 PM

Personally, I do not mind overseas Barbadians.

As long as they support our Supreme Leader and her movement.