Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, president of Solutions Barbados

Dear Barbadian Voters:

First, let me state the obvious. The chances of a third-party candidate getting elected in Barbados at this time, is somewhere between extremely unlikely and non-existent. We are fully aware of this. Yet, we persist.

After each election, we receive the same three types of responses. They are: (i) encouragement from those who support our message, (ii) disappointment from supporters of the established parties, and (iii) ridicule from the media and political consultants, and those whom they influence.

WHY KEEP GOING?

Have you ever asked yourselves why? What would cause persons with over 20 years of professional experience, and who are at the peak of their careers, to risk it all with an impossible mission? Why do we expose our personal and professional reputations to the scrutiny of a General Election campaign? What can we possibly hope to gain through this stubborn persistence?

Do you really want to know the answers to those questions? I have yet to hear any person ask them during the seven years of Solutions Barbados’ existence. I have given the answer several times, but unless people are curious enough to ask the ‘why’ question, they are less inclined to be receptive to our answer.

DO YOU REALLY WANT TO KNOW?

Each time we throw ourselves against this impenetrable wall during an Election campaign, we leave a bit of ourselves there. Is it worth it? No. It is not worth the disappointment in the eyes of our families, friends, clients, or employers. It is not worth the public ridicule, the baseless accusations of political operatives, or the derision of the media and social commentators.

So, if it is not worth it, then why continue to do it? If you genuinely want to know, then with all of the sincerity in my heart, l write, ‘thank you’. I cannot speak for the other so-called third parties. I can only speak for Solutions Barbados. We do it because we must. Perhaps a parable may help me explain that response better.

THE PARABLE OF THE TERMITES AND PAINTER.

There was once a termite infested house that sheltered several families. Every five years, the families elected a painter to maintain the house. But the painter only did what he knew, which was to paint over the rotten timbers.

One day, a Structural Engineer visited the house, and warned the families that the timbers were severely and extensively rotten. He then provided a solution of replacing rotten timbers, and strengthening the building to prevent its collapse, and offered to do so free of cost.

On hearing this warning, the painter quickly painted the rotten timbers with another coat of paint, and then declared the structure to be sound. The occupants unquestioningly trusted the painter, and never believed the Engineer’s warnings – until the building collapsed shortly thereafter.

THE PARABLE EXPLAINED.

The timber structure is the economy of Barbados – which shelters us all. The termites are inflated no-bid contracts that are given to political donors. The damage is the high debt created by borrowing to pay for these inflated contracts. We are taxed much more than we should, to repay debts we should never have been in, to pay for inflated costs we should never have been charged.

The building’s occupants are Barbadian voters. The painters are successive BLP and the DLP administrations, who allowed their donors to corrupt our national economy, so that it is no longer sustainable. The Structural Engineer is Solutions Barbados, who keeps warning Barbadians about the foreseen collapse of the economy.

THE FORESEEN COLLAPSE.

Based on the amount of damage political donors have done to our national economy, it can no longer take a major financial shock. However, major shocks are expected this year. The IMF are insisting that the rot in the economy must cease, but with the just concluded General Election, the political donors will insist on their right to feed.

A worse shock is that by removing God’s providential care in the new Charter of Barbados, we are, for the first time since our Independence, unprotected from major hurricanes. We are all terribly exposed.

AN OBLIGATION TO WARN.

Tragically, it is also foreseen that you will only believe us once you experience the unbearable austerity – that could have been avoided by addressing the corruption. The Government’s many public relations departments, that persuaded you that the economy was sound, will likely claim that the collapse was an Act of God. The foreseen collapse is due to corruption by political donors.

You have a right to be warned, and we have a moral obligation to warn you. Solutions Barbados mainly runs highly qualified and experienced persons for two reasons. The first is they are credible voices whom you know that you will ignore at your peril. The second is that they are capable of properly managing the economy if elected.

Grenville Phillips II is the President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

76 responses to “An Open Letter to Barbadian Voters”

1. Wait! Just realised that the 10 point plan read like something Grenville would have written.

2. We all.in this together
    Put that in yuh pipe and smoke it
    If yuh don’t like things here go else where
    Barbados system of governance is in shambles
    Mia got this

3. Greenville carrots work

4. A bit late
    “The strategy was for three parties to form a coalition and run 10 Candidates each.”

This is in line with the grand coalition that I was thinking of and of having 30 vs 30. Then I realized that besides having to decide who will run in each constituency, the egos of men, women and parties would get in the way.

Can you imagine the DLP settling for less than 30 places. They would decide to be a ‘national party’s and run a whole dead dog, than be a part of any coalition.

5. I admire any man/woman who breaks from the herd and tries to make a different.

I realized that if he/she was my mirror image, then the comfort of remaining at home would be too seductive and would trump trying to make a difference. Also, he/she being perfect is no longer a requirement.

Hoping GP2 get the strength, courage and encouragement to keep on fighting.

6. Preamble
    Grenville is not getting on board on the Republic train
    and is seeking legal advice and representing himself in Courts of Laws

Current Situation in the Mind of Solutions Barbados
    Not swearing allegiance to Massa Crown and white God is bad Juju Voodoo

7. Grenville is a typical Conservative {False} Preacher who blames the raggedy unwashed Plebs for not buying into his doctrines
    In the 2020 Local Election he offered St George North residents full employment and then claimed they denied his job offer.
    https://barbadosunderground.net/tag/grenville-phillips-ii/

8. @ David
    While time IS longer than twine, they BOTH come to an end at some point….
    “Why would BBE co-opt a vessel that he knew would have been ineffective?” you ask…

Boss…
    “effectiveness” is a function of intent.
    If YOU do not grasp the INTENT, then YOUR measure of ‘effectiveness’ cannot be relevant – no matter how committed YOU are to that ‘measure’.
    There is a way that seems ‘right’ to humans, but the end thereof is the path to death.

For example…
    Why do you think that Reggae Music is so UNIVERSALLY popular?
    Do you REALLY think it is a result of the marketing effectiveness of the Jamaican Rastas?
    Have you ever REALLY listened to Big Youth, Luciano or Bush man?
    There is a particular MESSAGE being spread across the WHOLE WORLD – a message which is taken to be nonsense by 99.9% of the ‘bright’ people among us – such as Donna…. and apparently by yourself.
    But if fishermen, Jonah, Luciano, and Bush Man (The artist, NOT Bushie), can be used to promote the most important message ever brought to mankind … WHY NOT Grenville….?
    …is it because he is not promising free food for us and all our family – while reducing taxes?
    …or because he is a ordinary black fellow from among us?

Remember that “BBE chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise, the weak things to shame the strong….”

9. @Bush Tea

As one of the foundation members of BU you know full well the blogmaster struggles with parabolic and the allegorical. If BBE is all powerful; omnipotent, omnipresent and omniscient as you suggest – let this power remove the stress from people’s life man.

10. “… WHY NOT Grenville….?”

it may be a red herring
    Grenville doesn’t know about reggae already
    and does not sit down and reason with rasta brethren
    passing the chalice in a Buckingham Palace to dash away the malice
    but I say what about Keith Hudson, Prince Far I, Daddy U Roy, Super Cat, Little Johnny Wonder, Billy Boyo Boyo Billy, Sugar Minott, Fred Locks, I Kong, Lee Scratch, Peter Tosh, Bunny Wailer, Burning Spear, Jah Shaka, Keithy Roots, and some more

11. LOL @ David
    “As one of the foundation members of BU you know full well the blogmaster struggles with parabolic and the allegorical. If BBE is all powerful; omnipotent, omnipresent and omniscient as you suggest – let this power remove the stress from people’s life man”
    ~~~~
    Ha ha …. we ALL struggle with the ‘parabolic and the allegorical.’ Perhaps you may recall Bushie explaining that such language was used by Jesus to ENSURE that his BASIC message eluded the brilliant among us….

Again you err by ASSUMING that the INTENT of life is for us to enjoy a “long, happy, and stress-free existence…”
    It is NOT… in fact, the OPPOSITE is the case.
    Diamonds are NOT created by enjoyable stress-free processes, but by extensive heat, pressure and stress.

Bushie sees that you have not quite grasped the FACT that life on Earth is really just a transient CRUCIBLE to facilitate a spiritual DIAMOND-CREATION process whose value is WAYYYY beyond our puny comprehension.
    Perhaps a quiet word with the original David may be in order…. LOL

12. @Bush Tea

Some of us are familiar with your hypothesis. “Time will tell, time alone will tell…”. If you are a winner good for you.

13. Gotta be a winner…

Enjoy your day Boss….

https://youtu.be/M6OQe89HG84

14. Hello.Bush Tea
    Glad to see u finally got up and moving around
    Some even.said u were buried six feet under
    So u back and having the last laugh
    Anyhow yuh weed Wacker needs sharpening

15. You were the one who said.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Mr Phillips presentation style has improved. Significantly.
    Being agnostic, I tend to ‘turn off’ whenever any speaker goes down that road. But appreciate it has appeal and relevance to many.
    Those ‘older proposals’ and accompanying story lines need a serious make over. They were not tractable then (results), and are less so now. Although the basic tenets are well directed.
    The financial while ultra important, is not tractable. One need only review BU to appreciate this? After many failed promises in this area, the electorate are ‘gun shy’. Plus, several have benefited from the largesse which have contributed to these failures, whether direct or indirect.
    And the analogies? Mr.Phillips you know as well as I do, the first thing you need is land?
    Your continued passion is appreciated, though I don’t always share the topics you elect to focus on.

17. angela coxJanuary 26, 2022 12:07 PM

Hello.Bush Tea
    Glad to see u finally got up and moving around
    Some even.said u were buried six feet under
    Xxx
    DavidJanuary 26, 2022 12:35 PM

You were the one who said
    Xxxxx
    Steupse
    Mind yuh own business
    Who asked for your comment anyway

18. Your hignorance knows no bounds. No wonder you have been relegated to posting nonsense to the blog

19. What took me so long
    I just realised my Stumbling Blocks
    Were Stepping Stones
    Now I realise what took me so long

20. DavidJanuary 26, 2022 2:50 PM

Your hignorance knows no bounds. No wonder you have been relegated to posting nonsense to the blog
    Xxxxxx
    Another distraction
    Carry on smartly
    I sense frustration is attacking yuh brain

21. @ NorthernObserver
    It must take a special effort to be as intelligent as you obviously are, AND to be agnostic.
    Perhaps you meant to say that you are ‘ambivalent’ or ‘disinterested’ about BBE?
    But then again you seem to have been heavily influences by the ‘North’….so perhaps….

Now angela c is definitely a possible candidate for ‘agnostic’. LOL
    Stay strong Angela, ..and try to loosen the braids.

22. Leadership ?

” Duguid was quoted in the Midweek Nation saying he was returning to practise as a dentist, but Prime Minister Mia Mottley said the adjustment was made earlier that day and communicated to the President, The Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason.”

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/01/26/duguid-also-named-senior-minster-cabinet-sworn/

23. @ Bushtea,

Glad to see you back on BU.

24. @Hants

An interesting one. Then there was the talk about Duguid making a last minute decision to run after another candidate was canvassing the constituency.

25. @David,

Duguid may just want to serve but he may also be afraid to say no to the most powerful woman in Barbados.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BT
    I haven’t a clue exactly what BBE is. When I first discovered BU circa 2016, you used the term with great frequency. Memory says Big Boss Engineer.
    You may call it ambivalence, ignorance, or any other term. Note I postfaced my comment, appreciating its value to what elsewhere you refer to as sheep or brass bowls. Followers.
    And yes, in the north, surrounded by many faiths, and in abundance, this strategy of invoking a common third party is used by many. Especially when agreement or concensus is desired. And they too, can quote ‘sound bites’ from the relevant ‘written word’.
    And no, it takes no special effort. Turning off is automatic, the challenge is, when to ‘tune back in’. 😉