Mia Mottley out-strategized all comers to win the recent general election by inflicting another 30-0 drubbing on a hapless Democratic Labour Party (DLP). The win is all the more incredible because it was achieved after a 3-year period of unprecedented economic challenges caused primarily by the ongoing pandemic AND the brought forward state of a weak economy.

Besides the chatter about the capacity of the DLP to reinvent itself to be seen as a legitimate choice of a government in waiting, the more immediate expectation is the shape of the new Cabinet and appointments to the Senate expected to be communicated this week. Prime Minister Mottley has signaled among other priorities this second tenure will focused on continuing transformative pursuits to improve how the country does its business.

In 2018 Mottley appointed 26 ministers with several parliamentary secretaries and consultants bolted on. That decision continues to evoke robust discussion pertaining to the insensitivity of the decision given the weak state of the economy. Mottley’s justification was that the perilous state of the economy and the workload required to rebuild the economy justified her decision. Her explanation was summed up in the phrase – many hands make light work. The blogmaster admits the mandate delivered last week probably had little to do with a large cabinet and more to do with a favourable perception of Mottley as leader of government at this time by voters compared to the alternatives on show. 

Political pundits argue Mottley had the difficult job of managing 30 members of parliament coupled with executing government business efficiently. It explains her contentious decision to have appointed 26 members to the 2018 Cabinet. This time around it will be interesting to observe if she repeats the decision- no doubt with the Kingmaker’s blessing- to reappoint a large Cabinet.

Political morality requires Mottley to think carefully about the optics of of another bloated Cabinet to satisfy political expediency at a time many Barbadians are suffering. Mottley is aware of the hospitality sector where employees in the thousands were sent home or suffered reduced pay, middleclass and senior citizens who had to suffer deep haircuts to nest egg investments as a result of the debt restructure and generally a workforce that continues suffer because of significant contraction in the economy are the key considerations. An important trait of a good leader is to make decisions to demonstrate empathy.

758 responses to “Did Many Hands Make Light Work?”

1. Here is the reality as far as I can see through the pretense.

Whatever Constitution the OAS has for Barbados on its website is the REAL thing.

2. @John
    If you are going to use “The Great Pretender” to illustrate your point please stay true to the original, this writer accepts no substitutes or “pretenders” for that matter

The Platters – The Great Pretender (Original Footage HD) – YouTube

3. Sarge

The other version is more expressive of what is going on here!!

This one is an antique.

Ok, so here is Constitution Amendment Bill from 2021.

It doesn’t seem to say anything about No Opposition.

As you see, Grenville had something to say back then.

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/bills/details/581

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ Miller
    Don’t you know that these BLP/DLP fanatics will agree with and defend anything their party leaders do ?
    The PM wanted Mr. Kothdiwala in the Senate, and pretended that she wanted to give the “ youth “ a place at the table.
    This no damn youth appointment this is a pure BLP appointment. Simple as that .

5. William Skinner Avatar

I thought that the President has the right to appoint two extra Senators if there is no opposition in the Lower House., I don’t understand why the PM is immersing herself in this matter , when from what I understand there is really no crisis. If there is already a provision for this to be done , why all this BS.
    No opposition should be given any Senate seats unless the constitution so provides and I mean including the DLP and all the rest.
    Garth Patterson suggests this matter is already provided for .

6. William

Is there anything the pm can do that is not political ?

Or how else should’ she have gone about getting kk into thecsenate?

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

the #throwashade comments aside……
    did you notice the Medicinal Cannabis body was stripped of its CEO and a senior administrator in one swoop?
    Surprised some haven’t jumped on this….then again I do not read every post.

8. “This no damn youth appointment this is a pure BLP appointment. Simple as that .”

You are a drama queen calm down love

KK is a member of neither party and is the first choice University draft pick for both sides

as a senator he can remain neutral and does not have to toe any party line

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

@John2
    “Or how else should’ she have gone about getting kk into thecsenate?”
    By amending the constitution when she realised the residency ‘flaws’, to also have noticed the ‘age limit’ flaws. Surely it didn’t suddenly dawn upon her that ‘if one is old enough to vote, one is old enough to serve in the senate’?

10. William Skinner Avatar

@ John 2
    Everything politicians do can be considered political. However, citizens have the right to express whether they oppose or support such decisions.
    It’s no different from you and I defending political positions we take.
    However, at the very basic , we the citizens expect our leaders to be honest and clear in their intentions. In my opinion the PM certainly was not.
    I think I have made my position very clear.
    That being said I have no problem with allowing 18 year olds in the Senate or running for the House of Assembly.
    The PM must learn it is not what you do but how you do it.
    Peace

11. You claim you use your Government name but hide away from challenges made against you,
    You suspect that a young man is BLP when he has been sitting on the fence and not announced any affiliation.

Oppositions role is to convince public they can replace Government as a better option.
    All of the opposition failed to win the right to represent their constituencies in Parliament.

12. @ John2 January 25, 2022 6:04 PM
    “Or how else should’ she have gone about getting kk into thecsenate?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

By simply doing what was done for Adams and McConney to represent the BLP administration by just using the second round of its red-washing of the electoral Opposition.

Not need to dirty the all-red water by talking about the need for a voice to represent the Youth of Barbados!

How about a voice for the Young Democrats or the youth of the SB or APP?

13. David
    So one can’t be 18 and a BLP supporter/member? When Obama and Biden say they want diversity on the bench, they appoint women, blacks, asian, gay, lesbian, transgender, pacific islander, latinx, disable etc BUT ALL are democrats. The Opposition and President can follow the PM. BU is a real comedyfest eh.🤣🤣🤣

14. @William

That is the talk. He mentioned at the press conference the AG is working on drafting something. We will have to wait to see. It seems we the people are the last to find out about the people’s business.

15. So long as there is no opposition and no way of getting a senate any discussion of who gets to be a senator is irrelevant.

Ms. Mockley has to choose from the 10 so called non ministers who will fill the opposition benches.

She needs 3!! .. at least.

The Dees can’t help her, nor Solutions nor any other party with no seat in the House of Assembly.

The alternative is back to polls.

16. @NO

Her elevation could mean big things planned for that industry.

17. The same baloney that went on with Reverent Joe, Caswell and Crystal Drakes needs to go on again.

18. No many hands did not make light work
    But it made the treasury lighter

19. William Skinner Avatar

Let us hope that citizens, learn the cost of the Chief of Staff and his staff. We can’t call for more civic responsibility and intervention without asking these. questions.
    The great folly is that our PM says that she wants more active citizen participation but her supporters do not want any frigging questions asked.
    These clowns don’t understand that Mottley actually responds to such activity and people see it as one of her strengths.
    But they always jump up at the gate like a pack of poodles.’
    Mottley pulled a fast one and she knows it .

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

someone else said:

“The Barbados Constitution says that a person must be at least 21 years old to be a member of the House of Assembly. Well if people really want to give “18 year olds” a voice then why not amend that provision as well?”

So did the superspreader event that a journalist was concerned about now have casualties who are ill?

no one can suspend Covid to meet narrow agendas, without consequences, ya don’t have that kinda power that thought is a figment of your over active imagination to continue believing that you do…we await the full fallout..

21. I don’t understand all the fuss about our National Leader of the Mottley Youth. Every party branch and party office should have its representation in the Senate. I call that intra party democracy. LOL.

Hopefully K2 will start a decent course, not law, medicine or some other useless do-gooder stuff. I advise him to study finance and economics so that one day he can negotiate with the IMF about the 10th programme on an equal footing. We don’t need more foodstampers in black robes or white coats. We need a black shadow for a change.

22. NO

That when. Not how

If she at amended on may 29th 2018 and then appointed him today I would be still political ( to get him in the senate ).

23. @enuff

Of course. How did the PM pitch Khaleel’s appointment?

If she wants him in the senate because she wants to invest in the BLP’s future do it. However, don’t try to mamaguy people about representing youth. Khaleel as a government senator will have to toe the party line.

24. @William

How taxpayers money is spent should be an open book.

25. “Khaleel as a government senator will have to toe the party line.”

Is there a whip in the Senate?

26. Miller

It simple

If the blp get kicked in next election by the dlp and dlp got an 18yrs rock star they can appoint him/her to the senate

If APP become the opposition and that have a 18yrs old rock star that can appoint him

If the is apolitical 18yrs rock start out there and the president wanta appoint him to the senate then she/he can do so

The playing field is level for all 3 players that make the teams

This is not something knew.
    That howgiverments power operate

If Richie was in power and he would have dinette samething under similar situation

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…regardless what that article said…UK just CANNOT put reparations money in the hands of these crooks…They already plan to NOT GIVE AFRIKAN DESCENTS A DIME and already have a 16 year old blue print to surround the Black population with MORE RACISM, DISENFRANCHISEMENT and OPPRESSION using reparations money…

the people cannot even get money they work for, pension they paid in, or allowances and benefits owed to them…ya think if these corrupt idiots get their slimy hands on billions of dollars that the population will see a dime, every corrupt lowlfie minority both local and foreign would though…

and yes the diaspora is keeping and eye on all of them, they should, they would be shocked at what could occur if they don’t…they have to know exactly what they are doing and up to at all times,

and if UK and Europe want to do something about reparations…..just…..FIND EVERY AFRIKAN DESCENDANT AND PUT THE MONEY DIRECTLY IN THEIR HANDS….it’s easier to do so now..with technology the way it is…and they know who everyone is anyway…..they have always known.

….that is something i personally don’t want them touching..given that they did not even have the shame to say that the descents will not get a dime of the 50 billion they were planning to tief.

..the below statement about the type of government to be found in the Caribbean is telling.

“Could reparations be the strategic tool for Europe to remove China’s hold on the Caribbean, and for these islands to throw off the shackles of poor governance, underdevelopment and inequality once and for all?”

“However, in the ex-British territories of the West Indies this is not a popcorn moment. Similar scenes of state capture unfold in these islands and, to be honest, it is just not cricket. Very few politicians here play with a straight bat and even when caught out, the umpire is seemingly blind. Spectators are leaving in droves: a massive brain drain has weakened Caribbean economies significantly over the past five decades, alongside cronyism, state capture and procurement fraud. The politicians left behind to run these countries are the most unqualified and unscrupulous one can find, a state referred to as a kakistocracy.

Resources continue to be drained by corrupt infrastructure projects, while expenditure in health and education, critical to nation building, remains insufficient.”

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The politicians left behind to run these countries are the most unqualified and unscrupulous one can find, a state referred to as a kakistocracy.”

see that statement right there…it underscores the tone my book takes, and i know some when they read it got all up in their feelings….but TOO BAD, SO SAD….lol…

get vex with the Guardian for saying the same thing too…….

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

#echo

@John2
    ok you’re claiming ‘yardfowl’ status in this case.
    lol

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David re _”Did Miss Ifill construct a body of work before her appointment that she was regarded as political?”*

I really don’t know how to respond … seriously Mr Blogmaster What difference can that make!

She was APPOINTED by the DLP so don’t all the arguments being made re Kothdiwalda apply? …. Didn’t she have to toe her party line, particularly as Deputy Leader in Senate? …

As I recall the folk in the hearing, visually, and other challenged communities I knew were ECSTATIC … regardless of her party affiliation.

The arguments being made to conflate the fact that the guy is partisan and that he cannot represent the youth cohort flies in the face of everything I have seen in politics since I was old enough to understand political science!

When a Black person is appointed to a judgeship, as a CEO, as an astronaut or whatever don’t we acclaim his/her ethnicity and tout it in itself. … Even with politically sensitive appointments (as #Enuff noted) the basic element is still heralded.

Politics is always a PARTISAN game but u are still a senior with elder issues to promote or an 18 year old supporting your other youth folk..

This is a MINOR issue … very, very minor.

31. William Skinner Avatar

It is time we face what is happening and forget these “ what ifs because I would ask: what if the majority of Blacks take up weapons and slaughtered all minorities.
    And I know somebody will say: Trump or Biden will come and kill all wunnuh asses.
    We are here asking a very simple question because the PM knowingly tried to hoodwink the citizens and I am hearing all kinds of : if Richie would have done the same thing and a bundle of other pathetic ifs and being lectured about what politicians are capable of.
    I have listened to at least eighty people comment on this issue. Not one of them has any personal problems with Mr. Kothdiwala. Not one of them has any problem with the idea of putting young people in the Senate.
    But 90% of them did not agree with how the PM tried to promote it as a youth thing and had already chosen a young BLP supporter.
    But her blind supporters cannot see the problem with that.
    The first thing in involving the youth is to give them a chance of choosing how and who they want to represent them. A national newspaper poll with well defined criteria would have been better. This decision is pure political posturing and Duopoly styled BS.

32. Why don’t people ask or leave it to Mia and Khaleel to state what his party affiliation is and what his role on Senate would be, instead of second guessing and then running with their perception as the truth.

He seems neutral, although would be stupid to follow DLP in the current climate.

33. BU Shorts
    7 out 10 Buers are convinced the young man Khaleel must be a patsy as he doesn’t even know how to make coffee.
    But, it is an impressive Resume to say your first job was a Senator in the Republic of Barbados as Youth Consultant.

34. Here are the Amendments to the Constitution from last year.

Amendment of the Constitution
    The Constitution is amended by deleting
    the word “Crown” wherever it appears and substituting the
    word “State”;
    the word “Governor-General” wherever it appears and substituting
    the word “President”;
    the words “Her Majesty” wherever they appear and substituting the
    words “the State”;
    the words “Police Force” wherever they appear and substituting the
    words “Police Service”; and
    the First, Second and Third Schedules and substituting the First,
    Second and Third Schedules set out in the First, Second and Third
    Schedules to this Act.

35. This contains what changes were made to the Constitution.

No mention of no opposition for the simple reason that it remains the intention that Barbados is a Parliamentary Democracy in which case an Opposition is a basic requirement.

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/bills/details/581

36. A discussion of who gets to be a senator remains completely irrelevant because if there is no opposition there can be no senate.

This is real real simple.

Until the issue of no opposition can be overcome, it is premature to even think about a senate.

As in the Case of Reverent Joe, Caswell and Crystal Drakes, Ms. Mockley is once again constrained to fabricating an opposition in the House of Assembly from the seats held by the BLP as the opposition leader and those who elect him/her must be members and have won seats.

She did a half ass job with the Reverent because he needed another two members to propose and second him as the Leader of the Opposition.

37. Read about Southern Strategy in Amerikkka

You start out in 1954 by saying ‘nigger, nigger, nigger’. By 1968, you can’t say ‘nigger’ – that hurts you. Backfires. So you say stuff like, uh, forced bussing, states’ rights and all that stuff. You’re getting so abstract now you’re talking about cutting taxes, and all these things you’re talking about are totally economic things and a byproduct of them is blacks get hurt worse than whites. And subconsciously maybe that is part of it. I’m not saying that. But I’m saying that if it is getting that abstract, and that coded, that we are doing away with the racial problem one way or the other. You follow me – because obviously sitting around saying ‘We want to cut this’ is much more abstract than even the bussing thing, and a hell of a lot more abstract than ‘nigger, nigger’.

Now reread William Skinner to see if he is being sophisticated with racism in his heart

38. KK is the youths choice

But, not the old peoples choice, the old radicals and the old activists choice, thank God they are not PM

39. Wunna still.talking tripe up in here
    While others across other social media platforms are asking who.will bell the cat

40. I’ve been hearing discussions in which people have been presenting varying perspectives on Khaleel Kothdiwala’s proposed appointment to the Senate. A lady said a Bajan should have been appointed instead.
    Perhaps Kothdiwala’s name and ethnicity were responsible for her assuming he wasn’t a Barbadian.

He was first introduced to us on a BLP platform. And, the opinions he expressed in his subsequent articles and discussions have been supportive of that political party.

Interestingly, I’ve never heard the guy publicly express an understanding of the challenges confronting Barbadian youth, especially those from ‘the ghetto,’ as it relates to unemployment, poverty, crime, drugs, police interaction, teenage pregnancy or any other social issue…….. nor have I heard him articulate any progressive policy initiatives that would adequately address those problems.

What I’ve heard, is a young man who is articulate in his defence of the BLP.

We all know it’s a fact the Indian community is ‘close knit’ and they rarely associate with the majority population.
    How could Khaleel represent Black youth and speak on their behalf, in an environment where cultural and social differences create categories of ‘them’ and ‘us?’

If Mottley had chosen a youngster who is ‘politically neutral’ to be the voice of the youth in the Senate, then, long live transparency.

Wouldn’t appointing Kermar Saffrey to represent the homeless and be their voice in HoA, be a ‘step in the right direction?’

41. Mia is a conscious leader and no Trump and does not need opposition to do the right thing
    Opposition are needed for bad leaders and Government so they can turn the tables in elections convincing people to vote for them

42. We all know it’s a fact the Indian community is ‘close knit’ and they rarely associate with the majority population.
    How could Khaleel represent Black youth and speak on their behalf, in an environment where cultural and social differences create categories of ‘them’ and ‘us?’

He has a black mother and Indian father

Bajans have no issues with half black half white mixes

and should have no issues with black asian afroasians

but they have in abundance

43. Mia does whatever de hell.Mia wants to do
    K K would become a Senator
    There is no one in Parliament who dare will step up and go against that decision
    So stop talking tripe

44. Mia will.take full.advantage of that 30-0 minority victory
    In five years the Constitution would be less recognizable
    Amendments added even a call for five year elections might be dismissed because of one pandemic or another
    The tripe talkers on BU cannot add one iota or take away one iota from the Constitution all the long talk about Constitutional rights would mean nothing
    Mia got this

45. “There is no one in Parliament who dare will step up and go against that decision”

DLP would if they could but they can’t so they won’t

but, I heard it from they grapevine that they are killing it on social media and all the other children’s apps

46. There will.be no.opposition parties
    The Constitution will be changed for such a purpose
    Free elections would no.longer be free
    No sense in govt spending thousands of dollars making out ballot sheets for people to complain about dead names on ballot
    Then at election time only forty people show up to vote
    A one name govt ballot at election time would suffice saving govt revenue and time
    We in this together
    Mia got this

47. A major point is the constitution will again be amended. The question is”Will this amendment be a part of or before the amendment promised on becoming a Republic.

We have seen this administration move like a hare on some issues and like a dead tortoise on others.

48. “The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.”

but DLP were still sleeping..
    and were walking in their sleep
    and were talking in their sleep
    and were wetting their sheets

Leave a Reply to 555dubstreetCancel reply