In 2018 the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) won all 30 seats in parliament. It created what pundits described as a political dilemma for the government because the Barbados Constitution recognizes the role of the Leader of the Opposition.

At the eleventh hour Reverend Joseph Atherley who was elected to the House of Assembly on a BLP ticket decided to cross the floor and like magic the constitutional crisis was averted. Before Atherley saved the day there was a move afoot to amend the Constitution to provision for two senators to be appointed by the Governor General from the losing political party winning the most votes. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) would have been the beneficiary of the amendment. However, we recall campaign manager Robert ‘Bobby’ Morris criticized the move to manufacturer an opposition presence in the Upper House. His reason – a political opposition should earn its place in parliament.

…Robert “Bobby” Morris, said they would rightfully reclaim their seats in the legislature in time and there was no need to take up the offer.

However, George Connolly, one of the new candidates who ran in St James Central and who lost his deposit, took an opposing view. I’ve heard the comments of ‘Bobby’ Morris and I have a lot of respect for him, but I disagree vehemently with the position that he took on that. I think we need a voice, and a senatorial voice is as good a voice as any. You can’t effect any major changes, but certainly you can have a voice. So I am in total agreement if the offer is made that it should be accepted, he told Starcom Network yesterday.

Nationnews.com

In hindsight given the outcome of last week’s general election the government should have amended the Barbados Constitution to address the lacuna in the improbable event a political party again won all the seats. A discussion being had across Barbados is whether there will be another convenient crossing of the floor by a ‘disgruntled’ BLP member days after campaigning successfully on a BLP ticket in the mold of Atherley or if the shelved 2018 amendment to the Constitution will be dusted off.

Whether there is the convenient crossing of the floor by a member of parliament to create a leader of the opposition in the Lower House or amendment to the Barbados Constitution to create same in the Upper House, it is unfortunate a dissenting voice has to be created arising from the first past the post system we practice. In this regard the blogmaster does not agree with Morris that the DLP should refuse to participate in the Upper House if the opportunity is created to do so. There are commentators like Dr.Kristina Hinds who posit a view there are avenues outside of parliament to make ones voice heard. 

The blogmaster’s view is that parliament provides a prominent space for an opposition voice in our system of government. It gives the opposition earned exposure that helps to create a national profile for the political party given the credibility it adds through participation from in the bowels of the parliamentary system. The country witnessed how former Senator Caswell Franklyn did it with good effect. We should not trivialize the optics of opposition participation in parliament by the public.

There is concern two unprecedented 30 to 0 mandates pave the opportunity for the Mottley led government to run roughshod over the views of members in civil society. Especially given her rambunctious leadership style. Decisions taken by the government of Barbados in the coming days have deep implications for our way of life to come. 

God Bless Bim!

130 responses to “Another Abracadabra Moment”

1. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Cannibalism and blood letting. Let them eat one another or throw back the bs they write in defense of their parties in their faces.
    Can’t believe everybody now throwing their hands in the air complaining about democracy.
    We just had free and fair elections. The voice of the people is the voice of God.
    I gone

2. @ David January 23, 2022 2:29 PM
    Those politicians were encouraged to leave to permit the BLP to inject new blood with an eye to the next general election. This is what positions Mottley ahead of the rest.
    (Quote).

Wasn’t that ‘new blood’ injected when OSA resign from the party claiming it had lost its soul and was morphing into some kind of political vampire?

Maybe people like Johnny King (still a cadet to electoral politics) consulted Owen in a séance and saw the future which the likes of Georgie and Lucille are warning you guys about; with the ‘resigned’ Uncle Jeff playing the part of the ghost of Banquo.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

“We just had free and fair elections. The voice of the people is the voice of God.”

lol…it’s going to be a nice piece of theatre….am documenting everything..ya should see me, not a thing out of place..

Miller ….some of us actually have a functioning brain, when we get WARNINGS we take them in the spirit that they were intended and LISTEN…

4. John King

Clifford Bostic

Ronald Toppin

Did Duguid eventually go?

Duguid and Toppin will be receiving pensions.

Bostic and King?

Lucille Moe

Seems like they may have had an inkling.

5. Looks like only John King will lose out on a pension.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/17/john-king-not-seeking-second-term/

6. New Year Intention Immersion

People don’t appreciate how lucky they are to have a Mia
    as opposed to a Donald or a Boris
    or living in a parallel universe with Grenville or a John

Long Live the Republic
    #BlackLivesMatter

7. And around and around they go and where they’ll stop, nobody knows!

8. COURAGE
    The more we are able to recognize and move within what is,
    the more courageous we become
    by aligning with a flow state that serves us,
    that allows us to shine.

Without courage we cannot practice any other virtue with consistency.
    We can’t be kind, true, merciful, generous, or honest.

Queen MAYA ANGELOU

9. @Miller

You know Arthur had a hard time as exPM transitioning to the post PM role.

10. @ 555 dubstreet January 23, 2022 4:02 PM

Kiki, in an earlier post you indicated that your man Yahweh approved and even arranged the red 30- ‘blue’ love drubbing Mia dished out to the DLP goons who failed to heed any lessons from their 2018 Waterloo.

But, 555, as a knowledgeable student of Eastern philosophies, why should there be No Opposition when your omniscient and omnipotent Jewish god himself saw the need to create His own Opposition in the form of a Shaitan and knowing full well there can never be any ‘balance’ in the world without your yin and my yang.

Unless you want to go back to pre-adult suffrage eras of slavery and colonialism do you know of any period, even during that time of the 3 blind mice scenario, when the Opposition voters were devoid of a voice in the Parliament of Barbados; and, “too besides”, not even during that contrived Judas-like period of June 2018 to December 2021 of a total betrayal of love and loyalty?

You keep forgetting that the political class in Bim- made up mainly of Twiddle Bee and Twiddle Dem- have their own set of rules which precludes the telling of the Truth to the masses which excludes you and me.

11. @ David January 23, 2022 4:35 PM
    “You know Arthur had a hard time as exPM transitioning to the post PM role.”

Quite so, indeed!

That is a major symptom of the disease called the curse of power.

He also said he would not go more than two terms with that burden of a monkey called PM on his back which is the same mantra the current post holder is preaching.

At least she has made history and has outlived, politically speaking, King David with his many warts.

Since she would never be like her childhood idol Uncle Errol, would the ‘mercurial’ Tom be her role model to emulate; if you get the moe-transmitted message the miller intends to convey?

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

lawd..it can’t get any better….or worse, depend to whom you speak..

saw some kinda D v B taking place on election night and everyone getting all up in theiir D v B feelings, Bobby Morris and some female were about to explode on each other….i can’t believe people are still so INDOCTRINATED that they STILL BELIEVE all of this is real….lol

are they in for a well placed SHOCK..

13. I like the first word in the title of the post, for it seems to me as if we are always starting ‘another’ circle. We have our elections, some celebrate the outcome, administrations make promises but never pick the low hanging and easy fruit; we see great speeches and editorials, but we know they will be dusted off, tweaked and used a few years later. Nothing really changes.

Will 2022 to 2025 be different from 2018-2021?

I hope the circle is broken whilst I am alive

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Some of us already broke the circle, BROKE ITS BACK…

do not look for a collective effort on a mass scale…to get that, everyone will have to be on the same page…and ya done know how that goes…lol..

15. “But, 555, as a knowledgeable student of Eastern philosophies, why should there be No Opposition when your omniscient and omnipotent Jewish god himself saw the need to create His own Opposition in the form of a Shaitan and knowing full well there can never be any ‘balance’ in the world without your yin and my yang.”

Parliament is a joke show to give the impression to the masses that their is robust debate pondering of matters due process of checks and balances by opposition and then senate

Barbados may as well close the Parliament theater or use the building to grow ganja instead

16. @ William Skinner,
    Those Trini boys have produced some serious conscious radical black brothers over the years.

How ironic that one of Barbados ten national heroes, Clement Osbourne Payne,
    was born and raised in Trinidad of Barbadian heritage.

Take a look at all the great names mentioned in the link below not one of them is a Bajan.

Barbados is a notoriously conservative country. It is a tragedy that our decision to become a Republic is entirely wasted on a people who have no concept of the word. The term “Little England ” was bestowed on Barbados for good reason.

https://www.thenation.com/article/society/eric-williams-capitalism-slavery/

17. DLP Solutions and some others had their fun pretending to be politicians running in the Olympics, but team losers flopped and won no gold medals in the rap battle competition. They can now watch BLP serve people daily like McDonalds for 5 more years.

18. Steupse!

Bajan beating all day long!

Steupse!

19. And how’s Trinidad doing today?

20. @TLSN January 23, 2022 6:55 PM “Take a look at all the great names mentioned in the link below not one of them is a Bajan.”

So why isn’t YOUR name there. Or are you just good for talking loud and saying nothing.

Stupssseee!!!!

21. @ TLSN
    Barbados had some radicals such as Winter Crawford and Clennel Wickham. Wickham had to go into exile and Crawford was sidelined by the Barrows and others. Throughout, the seventies we also had some radical thinkers, who impressed people like Comrade Austin and myself tremendously.
    As a very young man, I was exposed to several radical thinkers from throughout the region, Barbados included.
    Then came the 1974 PublicOrder Act and many had to either join the established political order or find Seawell Airport, now Grantley Adams international.
    Don’t worry the truth will be revealed in the fullness of time.

Peace

22. The most politically influential man in Barbados, Dominica and possibly the Caribbean.

DLP King maker now BLP Queen maker.

23. An address to Frau Mia Mottley:

Another day; another beach access blocked.

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/01/24/beach-access-blocked/

24. Another instance where silence is golden.

Dems ‘not waiting on PM’ for Senate offer

THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY (DLP) will not be milling around waiting on any invitations from the Mia Amor Mottley administration, says interim president Steve Blackett.
    He was responding to a query from the DAILY NATION yesterday on whether Prime Minister Mottley had extended an invitation to the party to have two senators in Parliament.
    He had disclosed last Friday that the DLP was giving thought to the 2018 offer by Mottley, which would have allowed the party to have two Opposition senators despite not having any seats in the House of Assembly.
    The DLP suffered its second 30-0 defeat at the polls last Wednesday, after a similar “redwash” in 2018.
    “We’re not exactly sitting around waiting for any offer from the Prime Minister. We’re busy working on shoring up the internal structures of the party. When and if it comes, the organs of the party, the Executive Council and the General Council, will meet and we will consider if any offer is made.
    “But we’re not exactly sitting and waiting in anticipation or any anxiety for this offer. But if it comes, it will be considered by the organs and the decision will be made by those same organs,” Blackett said yesterday.
    Party president Verla De Peiza tendered her resignation last Friday, and Blackett, the Dems’ first vice-president, has taken up the mantle as leader until a special conference is held in April to elect a new president. (RA)

25. As long as the DLP does not distance itself from adult entertainment, money laundering and corruption, decent citizens will not vote for this party. The DLP grandees and the DLP party members unfortunately confirm all possible prejudices of their former colonial masters.

What do we expect from DLP grandees in the Senate??? To agree to an anti-corruption law that may retroactively punish criminal acts from 2008 to 2018? Certainly not.

The opposition will again behave as undignified in the Senate as the rebellious senator did at the inauguration of our New Republic. Yes, shameless and without any dignity.

26. “THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY (DLP) will not be milling around waiting on any invitations from the Mia Amor Mottley administration”

But, they will still be playing a waiting game for 5 years

DLP dogs will have to keep barking away for attention in their kennels

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Then came the 1974 PublicOrder Act and many had to either join the established political order or find Seawell Airport, now Grantley Adams international.
    Don’t worry the truth will be revealed in the fullness of time.”

the truth is bound to come out.

before turning 18 years old, i knew that none of it was real or healthy, now well into my 60s and watching old people still believe it’s real, still fooling themselves…and passing that crime scene on to their children and grandchildren to get lost in…

they got a lot of catching up to do and no one is waiting for anyone…desole.

28. “555, as a knowledgeable student of Eastern philosophies”

Universal Vs Division

Are there Eastern philosophies or are they just philosophies

I differ with Western propaganda ascribing good and bad to West Vs East philosophies in order to justify wicked people’s crimes

maybe there is no good and bad pleasure and pain no division in life aka the universe presence of God which encompasses all

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

This is recent…are they going to clamp down on anonymous websites on the dark web? good thing that harebrain scheme did not succeed..

“According to the United States Attorney’s Office for the Middle District of Florida, DeAnna Marie Stinson, 50, reportedly paid more than $12,000 to an anonymous website in a Bitcoin-for-blood scheme.”