Voter turnout by constituency extracted from caribbeansignal.com compliments of blogmaster Amit. In the euphoria of a BLP victory the government should be concerned at the diminishing interest by Barbadians to vote in elections since the 70s when the turnout hovered at mid-70s.

134 responses to “39% Overall Voter Turnout a Concern”

1. @ John January 23, 2022 3:59 AM
    Two different systems.
    One is a Republic with an elected Congress and an elected Senate as checks and balances, the other a Parliamentary Democracy.
    Didn’t you know that?
    Somebody please explain these elementary principles to Frankie!!
    (Unquote).

Well said, Sir John! The man is totally blind even when wearing all-red blinkers.

The Opposition in the Barbados parliamentary system is deemed to represent the necessary initial checks and balances on the mistakes and excesses of the Executive.

That is why the Bajan Constitution-fashioned after the Westminster system based mainly on democratic principles and conventions- was written to provide such brakes, if required, to the potential abuse of Executive power.

That is why it was styled as ‘Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition’ to keep a sharp eye on the acts of Her Executive.

Without an eagle-eyed Opposition who else would have spotted the illegal act of appointing two deputies to the CoP?

Without a duly appointed Leader of the Opposition by the People’s President- having replaced Her (soon to be His) Majesty- has no such Watchman to guard the Treasury and report to the people on any Executive misdeeds and illegal acts.

2. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2022_Barbadian_general_election

This page has some data for St Joseph. Only incomplete because it doesn’t have data for one of the minor candidates. As is though 3445 total votes casted vs 7929 registered voters gives a 43% turnout for St Joseph

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

@MTA
    Between you and Skinner, I am going to beg Chumpers to add Sarcasm Soup to the post election menu. I think it maybe popular. I know @dpd wouldn’t be against it either. 😉

4. Dear BU et al,

I never noticed it before, but the EBC published Reports on General Elections for 2013 and 2018 (PDF format) on their website. Personally speaking, these reports are a nice treasure trove of data!

https://www.electoral.barbados.gov.bb/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/Report-on-the-Barbados-General-Election-2018.pdf

https://www.electoral.barbados.gov.bb/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/Report-on-the-Barbados-General-Election-2013.pdf

Kind regards,
    Amit Uttamchandani
    http://www.caribbeansignal.com

5. William Skinner Avatar

@ NO
    Sometimes the only way to get the message across is to show people how ignorant the nonsense they write sounds when somebody else writes it.
    Eg:
    Why the hell overseas Bajans should be allowed to say anything about the elections in Barbados. Just look at that one Rihanna. She mek all she money overseas and could not even add a wing to the hospital or send a tablet to give poor Bajan children who couldn’t afford any and then she would come here taking ignorance.
    Dem don’t even come ‘ bout here and at Crop Over and rent cars or help the entertainers to get some money. But they want to come on BU talking BS.
    David should ban all dem so. A pack of disgruntled Dems.
    I gone

6. Northern,

No. It means I am used to interacting with younger people. It comes naturally.

TheO,

Ask Miller. He says it’s common.

7. Working on results

THE NATION HAS RECEIVED numerous requests from readers for publication of the full Election Scorecard documenting the box by box count in last Wednesday’s General Election.
    We are hoping to have those results ready for publication during this week, but this is subject to the information being supplied and verified by the Electoral & Boundaries Commission, which would have the breakdown at its disposal.
    When that process is completed, we will be in a position to bring the accurate, official results constituency by constituency. (BW)

8. “which would have the breakdown at its disposal.”

from afar the election seems like a national breakdown
    but, the Bu prism seems to be an old age people forum
    where the regular posters eventually lose their minds in real time but carry on

9. “The Opposition in the Barbados parliamentary system is deemed to represent the necessary initial checks and balances on the mistakes and excesses of the Executive.”

what do you call a political party that has no seats and is not part of any official parliamentary opposition

there should be a word to describe these groups of entities as they are common in Barbados

10. William,

But when you do so, you need to keep it in context or you are guilty of distorting the meaning.

Otherwise you are the one who appears ridiculous…. or worse dishonest.

11. Hello David et al,

Post updated to show St. Joseph numbers. No data for St. Thomas (based on what I saw when I last checked The Nation’s website).

https://www.caribbeansignal.com/2022/01/21/barbados-elections-2022-results-by-constituency/

Over-all turnout for 29/30 constituencies – minus St. Thomas – is at: 41%

Kind regards,
    Amit Uttamchandani

12. @ Donna
    Nothing I have written is out of context or near anything called dishonesty. However, I have no problem with being told it’s ridiculous.
    The damn truth hurts. There is widespread intellectual dishonesty on this blog that I refuse to be critical of because I literally enjoy those who come here disguising the truth pretending that they are purer and more honest than anybody else. I bluntly refuse to challenge them.
    I am ready to defend anything I have written on this blog. Occasionally, I enjoy light heartedness but when I see attempts, some already successful, to marginalize people while others are daily attacked and vilified for their views and called all kind of names . Others are allowed yo write what ever they want to write and I just laugh.
    I am open to attacks like anybody else.
    I take as I give. I ain’t no paragon of any virtue known to mankind.
    But I know hypocrisy especially the political kind.
    I sincerely hope that the Duopoly and its apologists, detractors , and propagandists burn in the political hell.
    And I hope that all Barbadians wherever they live continue to let their voices be heard here and elsewhere. I hope they continue to criticize and love their country like all the ones there .
    And I want them to know that no Bajan living on the island loves their country more than any one of us living any here else.

13. If the figure of 266,000 eligible voters out of a population of 288,000 is correct the Demographers should be worried as less 10% of the population is under 18. No wonder the powers that have expressed a desire for an additional 80,000 immigrants as it appears that birth control is working only too well, or the young men are following the path of Onan.

From what I’ve read a representative mix should be at least 20% of those under 18 but perhaps someone that understands population mix could set the record straight.

14. The voters list is bloated. Especially because we have not had an enumeration exercise for many years. The blogmaster agrees with Wickham it makes sense to use percentage changes election over election because the state of the list is constant.

15. Hi David et al,

Nation has published numbers for St. Thomas, so I’ve updated my blog. That’s 30/30 constituencies complete. However, I am still looking forward to EBC published data.

https://www.caribbeansignal.com/2022/01/21/barbados-elections-2022-results-by-constituency/

Over-all Turnout as a % = 43%.

Kind regards,
    Amit Uttamchandani

16. @Sarge
    Population estimated in 2021 at 301K
    0-14 years: 17.49% (male 25,762/female 25,764)
    15-24 years: 12.34% (male 18,024/female 18,330)

80K no longer needed.. 67K needed now

__xx—
    ‘Scorecard documenting the box by box count in last Wednesday’s General Election.”.

Why would anyone want a box by box count?
    Is there suspicion of fraud?
    Will there be guessing of who voted for who in each box? We are not talking of hundred of votes on some boxes.

Constituency level should suffice

–$—
    Pat self on back at guesstimate of 42.6%.

17. You check boxes to understand voting behaviour within the constituency .

18. @TheoG
    Thanks for the update

19. @David
    (J2, Lorenzo, Enuff, X)
    Some of these boxes are very small. Shouldn’t there be a fear that there could be some guessing of who voted for who and those voting ‘incorrectly’ being penalized.

“50 of wunna did not vote for me and I have a good idea of who you are?”

Area A in a constituency flourishes and. Area B gets the kiss of death? Is this a real concern?

20. How would the voters be identified? This can only be done under a court order in very rare circumstances.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TheO
    Yuh mean like one candidate announced
    “Wait. Dah box could only had in 85 people, effin all did vote. Now I hearing only 38 voted, and only 5 fah me. But I done pay to have 12 ah dem vote fuh me. Wha de (bad word) gine on hey?”

22. David
    I mentioned “guessing” in both posts.

23. Guessing and predicting is all part of the electioneering activity.

24. @NO

Then one would have to say, serve yuh right!

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David re “You check boxes to understand voting behaviour within the constituency .” LOL

Come on bro, take @Theo’s comment with a pound of salt, fah real.

The brother lives in a US state where he surely can search on his Govenor’s last election by county and down to the granular level by district of votes made – which would basically be our box- district detail.

Similarly your boy @Miller in merry ole England or Sargeant, Hants and Northern in Canada can get voter data down to the district too… that is nothing new and surely as you say every politician needs to understand the lay of his voter representation.

The phrase ‘all politics is LOCAL’ is grounded in that simple context… you gotta know your constituents where they are living … that’s basic as you clearly know. And he does too, surely.

26. @NorthernObserver January 24, 2022 5:09 PM ““Wait. Dah box could only had in 85 people, effin all did vote. Now I hearing only 38 voted, and only 5 fah me. But I done pay to have 12 ah dem vote fuh me. Wha de (bad word) gine on hey?”

Maybe somebody paid more. If you treat your constitutes like whores, why then do you expect them to behave like honourable people?

Stupssseee!!!

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

how harsh? At least 7 persons owe the candidate money.
    You ever see anybody in Barbados get lock up for helping a few on election day?
    Steupse
    Is the candidate’s checks and balances any better than the elected?
    Wait…there is supposed to be 3 houses here, but all I could see is pasture. You feel they get move? I feel we got the wrong address.

28. constituents

29. Voters had to leave cellphones at the door before voting, it would have been a lottery for them to find out who vote for who. Remember the proof historically has been to capture the vote with cell and for purchasers to watch them.

30. One of my old friends told me this Eric Fly joke many years ago:

In one election he received six votes, but his household consisted of seven people
    When he returned home he said “Some RH body in hay didn’t vote fuh me”

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    in a sporting mood…tumuuch snow and it is cold as rambam.
    BTW
    since, unlike me, your spelling is usually impeccable, was “constitutes” meant to be constituents or prostitutes, or was that a Freudian slip…lol

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

Shite…corrected that slip already….took me too long to change into snow gear!!!!

33. “The brother lives in a US state where he surely can search on his Govenor’s last election by county and down to the granular level by district of votes made – which would basically be our box- district detail.”

@DPD
    Comparing apple and oranges.
    How do you compare looking at one of the two or three boxes in ST Lucy with a few hundred votes with looking at the numerous boxes . St Lucy has just about 8,00 votes

Let us compare the great state of ST Lucy (8,000) votes with the great State of New Jersey
    New Jersey governor results
    Philip Murphy 1,339,471
    Jack Ciattarell 1,255,185

** Do we have the total B and total D votes yet. I want to use them.
    ** Also looking for the Wickham article on the election results.
    Think I might have to start making notes.

34. Would suggest updating the table to fill in the 3 missing constituencies and update the percentages.