Submitted by Observing

The dust has settled, the people have spoken, and we now prepare for at least 3 ½ years of BLP governance. There are many issues and factors which impacted the result, including campaigns and candidates but I have chosen to highlight those that were considered fringe but were still collectively significant.

Chris
31 months of silence only to emerge to “counter program” our Sunday Sun with a narrative on the Prime Minister’s great traits and Mrs. Depeiza’s negative one. Definitely blunted anything Lucille Moe said (not that she had much of an impact anyhow) and reminded a large enough percentage that it should have been him after David. They speak about a woman scorned but it seems a Chris scorned is even worse and more bitter.

Timing
With 18 months to go and a full majority in hand the dice were rolled knowing that the other players weren’t ready. Politically sound and brilliant. The result speaks for itself. We can debate constitutional changes to a PM’s power for snap elections but the gamble paid off, politically at least. Otherwise I am not so sure. The Omicron spread will be an entirely different beast. The return to school is the first casualty. There will be more. As TheoGazerts said in another thread, the government would do well not to view this a as a sweeping/clear mandate.

Covid and Turnout
A large amount of persons still remain in their curtilages up to this day even without Covid. Many of these are older persons. I am certain that many did not venture out to vote. Also, 4000-5000 persons were not facilitated to vote. A turnout of 43-44% in a modern democracy is the inevitable result and should be cause for concern. Effectively the ruling party has received the support of 28% of the voting population. Let that sink in for a bit.

Guy Hewitt
The contest for President of the DLP over the last tow cycles took some nasty turns. It is reminiscent of the primary battles of United States politics. Guy Hewitt’s pronouncements on Mrs. Depeiza and the ensuing brutal battle however left lasting damage. First, because the statements were perceived to be true. Second, because they occurred close to the election and before she had any chance to recover, consolidate and groom her young team. The rapid disappearance of the said Guy rather than a kumbyah moment also lent to the view that the DLP wasn’t ready and the leadership battle is far from over.

Freundel
Glorious years? Seriously? Stupse. Won’t bother to waste any more words on this one.

BLP Solidarity
It is a known secret that there was trouble in the BLP camp. The “pick up stumps and go home” move forced the hands of those that may have wanted to be eager. True to form though, this was NEVER spoken about on the BLP’s side. No one denied it, no one hinted at it, no one even acknowledged it. This is the existential difference between the two parties. One airs its laundry in public. One pretends it has no laundry. One bludgeons itself with barbs pointed inside rather than outside. The other is polite and vague even in criticism. One looks for ways to divide itself hoping for spoils that will lead to victory. One focuses on victory first, spoils after. I think all Bajans know which is which.

Mia Mottley’s stature
Perceived personal flaws aside Mia is a lifetime shrewd politician whose 2018 insurmountable margins made it near impossible for the DLP to make inroads. Couple this with recent international acclaim and it was always going to be difficult. The DLP erred in focusing on Mia again too much, but then again what do you expect with Steve Blackett as your campaign manager. Hopefully they finally listen, learn and allow the new candidates to grow in their positions and focus on ISSUES rather than the INDIVIDUAL. There is still room for them even against Mia but they have to take heed. It is an indisputable fact that she is not as popular locally as she would lead us to believe and she is definitely not at her 2018 levels and still falling.

Special mention: The Biggest Losers
• ALL of the Old Guard
• DLP strongholds of St. John and St. Lucy
• Joseph Atherley
• Voices of opposition in the country
• Trade Unionism

248 responses to “Barbados Elections 2022: Factors and Losers”

1. Verla Depeiza has resigned.

2. Nightwatchman got yoked?

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

I keep reminding you, telling the people they are blind or stupid is NOT the way to go.
    “Even as barbadians continues to be blinded by the smoke and mirrors policies”
    This constant reminder low voter turnout somehow makes this election any less valid, is another ‘muted’ shot at the people. The voters are people.

4. @NO
    Roger that and agreed. A day in politics is a long time

@DAvid
    Casualty No 2. Let’s see if an old guard, new guard or outside guard tries to take the position!

5. @ No
    I get your intent
    But I will not be moved
    Xxxccc
    As for insult the blp wrote the book most likely and in all probability I stole the smoke and mirror comment out of the blp book
    Don’t forget the most infamous one out of the blp book is calling cricketers idiots and speaking of pedigree
    Shrugging my shoulders

6. Following the resignation of Verla Depieza , David BU, finally gets his life long dream of leading & rebranding the DLP !

Kudos David

7. You are welcome Fractured!

8. Take note!!

9. Someone sent me this assessment of the numbers.

I have not checked it for accuracy.

But if it is right, we are in deep deep doo doo!!

“What is interesting about the election is that only 41 % of the eligible population voted. 59 % kept their X. What was startling to me is that only 29% of those eligible to vote cast their vote for the BLP, which in essence meant even though they won 30 love. 71 % of the eligible population did not vote for them. This is an interesting statistic. Makes you wonder how popular the government really is. Politics in Barbados at the crossroads. ALL parties should take notice of this stat”

10. PMMIA is in a glorious position to distribute gifts to her favourite elected MPs and consultants.

I would offer myself to be consultant to de minister in de ministry of Housing but I prefer log cabins to steel frame houses and de Chinese would get lef out in favour of my home and native’s land.

11. My assessment of the past “elections”

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

John..everyone is sharing that and the Ronald Sanders video about the upcoming austerity he predicted which puts yall in even deeper DOO DOO…

good thing it’s only those who were not paying attention will be the ones most impacted.

many saw this coming down the turnpike a way back and made forward thinking preparations…Sanders said it will likely start in a few months.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Am not sorry at all to say that i can never put my life and that of my family and future generations in the hands of politicians/opportunists for them to destroy, hide information and use slick tricks to not face reality… It is a disservice and insult to our origins.

14. @🐇/🐰
    👍👍
    When does this moment of sanity end?
    I find myself in agreement with you.
    In 2025, alert me in advance and I will join you as you pay your $250.00

15. @ Observing
    A very good post.

To those who are awed by Mia remember this…
    Gulliver was not a giant in his homeland.. in Lilliputia ….

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

@ No
    I get your intent
    But I will not be moved
    xxxxxxx
    Unsurprised.
    Why FJS & Co got into so much trouble. They could not be moved.
    A house divided cannot stand [Lincoln]

17. Thanks Verla for keeping the party intact

https://fb.watch/aGPbCa8LGq/

18. Verla should not have led the DLP into a general election. She is not perceived nationally as fit for the job. It is what it is, nothing will change the perception.

19. Will Guy Hewitt appear?

If so he can bring a reality to the political scene Ms. Mockley cannot match!!

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

that is unusually disingenuous of you.
    Perceptions aside, she stepped up, into what was a very difficult situation, and won all the required internal races.
    If she didn’t lead them into the snap call election, who would have?
    It was hers.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

What ‘reality’? Greetings from NY or Florida or wherever he lives?

22. @NO

Anymore disingenuous than when she said the blogmaster of BU committed treason for leaking those damming CAHILL documents?

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

Ahhh..retribution for events before my time here…lol.
    My apologies.

24. @David
    “Verla should not have led the DLP into a general election.

If not her then who??? Politically speaking one statement cannot be made without the answer to the following question.

25. @observing

She could have given way to Guy. There is no internal or external poll that would have supported it.

26. @David
    Understood. But the last time an active political leader stepped aside because the other option was better than them was 30 years ago. Unfortunately reason doesn’t always seem to hold in George Street.

Also, as new as Guy is, he was being pushed and promoted by the same Old Guard that was roundly refuted. His newness and inexperience is a disadvantage adn the Old Guard was coming right behind him!

27. @Observing

The old guard is still a cog in the George Street machinery. He need that support to get on the stage. His energy and freshness would have blunted some of what we witnessed in the campaign. The public perception of a rebuild would have been real. Today where is the DLP?

28. Barbados is being ruled by a one party govt absent of an opposition and yard fowls worrying about George Street
    Wunna too love scratch grain

29. With your mindset there is a 90 love beckoning.

30. Here is some scratch grain for wunna

https://fb.watch/aGTNrhuETR/

31. Guy Hewitt is reported in the news as willing to serve the DLP in its darkest time.

32. @David
    Get your reasoning. But, my history shows that “old guards” don’t let go even if fresh faces are positioned on stage. Jan 19 shows how the public feels about them fully.

33. @Observing

We are left to speculate how Guy would have negotiated that challenge.

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Is Froon still hanging out in Ottawa…those 10 years were certainly glorious for him….but not for those he IGNORED in the depressed areas..

35. Until now I thought C. Sinckler was the dumbest blue grandee. Now I am happy to correct myself and apologise. He is obviously the smartest of them all.

He has realised that in future there will be no more careers against the leader’s will. Either you’re for our Supreme Leader or you’re going down.

Time for our BU crew to acknowledge that a new age has begun in May 2018.

Tron, year 4 SL

36. Looking to the future Avatar
    Looking to the future

The DLP has the golden opportunity to do a genuine rebuild. In the special conference due in three months elect Dr Ronnie Yearwood to the presidency. He is young and can attract some of the social conscious females of Barbados to join him. The DLP need to field about fifteen female candidates in the next election. Guy Hewitt seems to be opportunist and no serious party members should support him because he is not a team player.

37. @David
    Verla should not have led the DLP into a general election.
    +++++++
    That’s a bit harsh as others have pointed out, if not her who. Guy Hewitt seems to be the flavour of the day, but did he stick around to assist the Party after leveling broadsides at Ms. DePeiza? The result would be much the same if Hewitt was leader because the calling of the Election was the PM’s and hers alone, what could Hewitt have done in the few months that he would have been at the helm?

38. Looking to the future Avatar
    Looking to the future

Chris Sinckler did a hatchet on Verla Depeiza the week before the election and so would now be considered like Mascoll

39. Did anyone see Hewitt supporting the party during the campaign
    He simply disappeared
    His reemergence would not heal but cause more friction

40. Angela has exposed herself as a BLP plant in the DLP. Anyone suggesting that Chris be resurrected and positioned to lead the DLP with the possibility of being the PM has to be not only a BLP plant, but also someone who cares so little about Barbados that she is willing to propose that one of the architects of the destruction of Barbados as we knew it, should be given a second chance to complete the job. Shame on you.

41. I thought people should commiserating the death of the DLP
    but, it seems people seem attached to that political institution

42. “Verla should not have led the DLP into a general election. She is not perceived nationally as fit for the job. It is what it is, nothing will change the perception”

DLP were expected to lose
    and she wore it well

a coalition of opposition may have saved their face and rep
    which would have allowed a DLP launch next time around

43. angela cox January 21, 2022 11:04 AM #: “My question to u is what is a difference between Mottley with all her character flaws yet able to have two wins with old hands like Forde Hinkson and a Symmonds.”

My friend,

If you accept BLP and DLP candidates for the 2018 general elections comprised of the ‘old guard,’ then, you must also accept both political parties contested the elections on a ‘level playing field.’

But, the BLP won 30-0, which therefore meant, the electorate rejected the DLP’s ‘old and new guard.’

The difference in 2022 is, while the BLP ‘ran’ “old hands like Forde, Hinkson and Symmonds,” who were SUCCESSFUL in 2018, the DLP ‘ran’ “old hands like” Estwick, Lashley, Lowe and Sealy, who were previously REJECTED by the electorate.

It’s similar to the West Indies cricket team, comprising the “old hands,” being ‘knocked out’ early in the 2019 T20 World Cup.

And, although the evidence over the past 3 or 4 years clearly indicated the “old hands” were UNFIT and ‘OUT OF FORM,’ the selectors still chose them for the 2021 T20 World Cup, led by the same unsuccessful captain, even issuing two players with medical exemptions to justify their selection…. believing the ‘best’ players were selected.

And, yuh know, WI’s performance was beyond mediocre.

44. FearPlayJanuary 21, 2022 6:30 PM

Angela has exposed herself as a BLP plant in the DLP. Anyone suggesting that Chris be resurrected and positioned to lead the DLP with the possibility of being the PM has to be not only a BLP plant, but also someone who cares so little about Barbados that she is willing to propose that one of the architects of the destruction of Barbados as we knew it, should be given a second chance to complete the job. Shame on you
    Xxx
    I was not the person who told the people that Sinckler was the worst Minister of Finance then hired and gave him a job on the committee of finance
    Your shame should be leveled against that person
    BTW no one in the blp camp is expected to vote for Sinckler or for that matter any candidate of the dlp
    So what business is it of yours who I or anyone submit to lead the dlp.party
    In other words Mind Your Own Business

45. Did not OSA Red wash Mia backside with plenty licks
    Jac.a.ss it is the base that matters not what people belive the base must take
    Wanna blp yardfowls are notorious for giving advice.as if wanna sh.it never.stink

46. DavidJanuary 21, 2022 4:33 PM

Verla should not have led the DLP into a general election. She is not perceived nationally as fit for the job. It is what it is, nothing will change the perception.

How do you know it was not to allow the BLP to fully expose itself, which it has?

So who would have done that?

Can’t be too much question about what the BLP is up to!!

So the question is now who will step up?

If it only able to attract 29% of the electorate what would have happened if it had held a referendum on the republic.

The BLP has more problems than the DLP as far as I can see.

47. The game’s definitely afoot!!

48. That 29% exposes everything the BLP does as a pretense which people have recognised.

Will they do anything about it?

49. 29%

not sure if 29% is kosher as the data source is a nutter
    but, if 29% = 30-0 in a winner take all parliamentary system
    then blp run barbados like the shower posse

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply