The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in a surprising result won all 30 seats again in a snap election called 18 months before constitutionally due by Mia Mottley.

In the coming weeks there will be robust debate about how our democracy optimally serves Barbadians with a muted dissenting voice. One may argue a healthy democracy requires a strident dissenting voice. Barbados is traveling an uncharted path given the 2018 and 2022 general election results and BELOW 50% turnout (anecdotal). In the coming weeks our attention will turn to government’s management of COVID 19, the economy, the health of political opposition and a few other key issues.

Whither the political opposition?

The blogmaster congratulates the BLP on the win and offers the advice – to whom much is given, much is expected.

493 responses to “BLP Win 30-0, Again”

1. Looking to the future Avatar
    Looking to the future

There was nothing the DLP could have done to stop a massive defeat. DLP candidates would have had to amass a great amount of popular support that was genuine. There are now new voters in Barbados whose thinking is that no opposition candidate in the House of Assembly an do anything for them. This came out of the St. George North by- election. Which constituency was going to stand up to be the ones not getting work or roads done? In a new constitution no government should be allow do any major work in a constituency once the election is called. Take for example roads that were in disrepair for years being scraped on Monday this week and paved on Tuesday the day before the election. The people on those roads who were vex, on election morning are now please.

2. Looking to the future Avatar
    Looking to the future

The silent elephant in the room is the enticement of money for voting by both parties. This has created a citizen that politicians know can be bought and therefore do not have any responsibilities for them after the election. These things must be looked at going forward if we are going to be a viable democratic country.

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, you are flailing into AC land with clichéd rhetoric … Of course “Members of political parties come from the people.” We have/had some wonderfully excellent able representatives from amongst us … . I played sports, camped, debated and sat next to several … some who won scholarships, were excellent teenage activists, excelled academically and athletically, and developed generally quite successful careers… in short, they matched themselves against other Bajan (and international) top talents and came out ahead!

So please stop this our cupboard is lacking or that those motived to serve are ‘puny’ rhetoric … it ISN’T and they AREN’T!

That Bajans have signaled they believe the BLP currently have ALL the talent who they want representing them is NOT a catastrophy nor a governance hindrance.

BTW, when in our history did a Bajan go to the polls
    “attuned to governance issues” as it relates to the “purpose of proper working committees of parliament and their importance to a working democratic system”???? …. We elect people to REPRESENT our interests and needs in parliament… we don’t care HOW they do it by committee assignments… NO citizen anywhere really ever does that.

Bajans (a majority of the 40% PLUS any who acquiesced with a non-vote) have elected 30 of their fellow men and women to REPRESENT them … NOT represent the BLP interests… we truly have to accept the hard reality that there is nothing crazy nor shocking about that … now the second time done.

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Not when they were KNOCKING ON PEOPLE’S DOORS…both parties, knew the people had no money to feed themselves or their children, the kids have no tablets or devices for online schooling and they BOUGHT their VOTES, easy to sell when you and your kids are hungry and desperate…..and they would know if ya did not vote…or else they would only have had a 20% or LESS VOTER TURNOUT…

…ah want any fowl to come out and tell me that did not happen let me TELL THEM WHERE IT DID…

5. A total of 559 people, 251 males and 308 females, tested positive for coronavirus (COVID-19) on Wednesday, January 19, from the 2 165 tests conducted by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory.

6. Auntie Mia’s flock are full of vigour enthusiasm. They have invested their hopes in a leader who has a questionable track record. The Four Seasons project remains an indelible stain etched in the fabric of the finances of this country. We have yet to receive a full explanation of the story of a Barbadian businessman who was given the responsibility to procure covid-19 vaccines for the country.

The “opposition” weighted down with the Ciico scandal and a history of financial mismanagement when in power, undoubtedly, negated their valiant leader’s effort to turn around their fortunes at the polls.

Mia has been very fortunate. The DLP as a brand under the stewardship of Thompson and Stuart is perceived as a failed party. The memories of Bajans are dim and short. Mia, irrespective of her past histories will never face questioning in such a banal environment where politicians are never questioned or grilled by their media.

We can question the advantages and disadvantages of a one party state and how the constitution may have to be changed to protect Barbados from becoming a dictatorship. Let’s get real Barbados has always been a sham democracy.

Unless Mia is prepared to carry out a root and branch enquiry into financial impropriety as practiced by both parties over the last 25 years than no good will come out of her reelection.

The country is broke. The taste of an election victory is meaningless when your population finds themselves as hostages to a debt mountain.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?t=3982&v=SrbwS2vdIO8&feature=youtu.be

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lorenzo
    I am known to be a gentleman. Congratulations on a formidable victory.
    BTW, the only bitters I know is Angostura.
    Cheers my brother !

8. COVID-19 has claimed the lives of three more Barbadians.

On Wednesday, January 19, a 33-year-old unvaccinated man and a 63-year-old fully vaccinated woman, both died from the virus at the Harrison’s Point Isolation Facility. Additionally, a 51-year-old man passed away today, Thursday, January 20, at Harrison’s Point. He was unvaccinated.

There have been 274 deaths from COVID-19 since March 2020.

9. @Dee Word

We know you love to debate to death.

10. William Skinner Avatar

We must congratulate the Duopoly on the strict and highly successful COVID protocols throughout the entire campaign. What was most impressive was the social distancing at the large meetings on the last night of the campaign. Once more the Duopoly demonstrated its deep commitment to keeping us safe. Those protocols, should now be shared with all countries.
    BTW, they were vastly superior to those used by Trump in the USA.
    We have nothing to worry about.

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL 🤣 … “We know you love to debate to death.”

Not at all good sir…. I just would love that we debate the REAL major issues and not the minor ones.

This has been a very consequential election … it demands that we too be consequential as we review and look forward.

That’s all bro.

Lata.

12. Cases fell as predicted and will fall till Sunday then rise on Monday.

BTW, how do you know the deaths are of Bajans?

13. How many of the 274 dead are Bajans?

14. with this group no longer in opposition for nearly 4 years…. ya did not hear anything about PAC either…

EVEN YOUR IDOL WILLIAM SKINNER KNOW THAT IS NOT TRUE.

15. DPD,

There are indeed voters who vote with the things you listed in mind. I am one of them and I have friends. Our interests are not personal but national.

16. @Dee Word

Successful companies recruit the best their budgets can afford.

Why are political parties in Barbados unable to recruit the best citizens to serve?

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Let them continue to pretend it was all hunkie dorie and the voters were with them and are not mostly REPULSED BY THEM ALL…….they are the ones gotta live with that LYING DELUSION…for the next 5 years…

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Those protocols, should now be shared with all countries.”

there was at least one superspreader event that a journalist spoke about, look out for spikes and deaths, they are the ones pretending they could put Covid on hold whenever they feel like it…when it suits their narrow agendas…

19. @ Looking to the futureJanuary 20, 2022 3:40 PM,

The reds have repeated their annilation of the opposition and are in a party mood. This is not the place and time for being objective. They will sober up soon to the reality of live in Barbados once the debt collector taps on their door sometime soon.

20. So how many peeps voted against the “next GOB” this time who will be disenfranchised by the result and have no voice in Parliament?

21. I am certain I read there would be no gatherings.

22. The silent elephant in the room is the enticement of money for voting by both parties. This has created a citizen that politicians know can be bought and therefore do not have any responsibilities for them after the election. These things must be looked at going forward if we are going to be a viable democratic country.

Xxxxxxxx

NOW YOU UNDERSTAND WHY NO THIRD PARTY IS VIABLE THE BLACK LOCALS MASSES ON THE 2 X3 ISLAND ARE TOO SMALL MINDED AND CAN BE ENTICED FOR SMALL MONEY.

THEIR WILL SUFFER CONSEQUENCES FOR SILLY PETTY GREED

23. With the predicted influx of 80,000 immigrants planned for Barbados. First discussed by the DLP, who were egged on by a certain minister who implored Bajans to start breeding more. Where does this leave the native Bajans?

Mia believes the future of Barbados economy rests on the country’s ability to attract migrants. This is hardly a ringing endorsement of the natives.

24. “@Dee Word
    We know you love to debate to death.”

This is a Bajan trait
    and I’ve got proof
    check out the Bu

Guided Meditation – Unite to Heal the Earth

I invite you to join me for this sacred guided meditation and sound healing to unite and heal the earth.

Together, we form a circle holding hands around the earth, while streaming unconditional love, unity, and peace. As we fill up and open our hearts, we pour our love into the heart of Mother Earth so that we can give back to her, as she gives so much to us.

When we unite as one to bring our healing light to the earth, she is able to heal. She is able to receive the love, nurturing, nourishment, and support that she always gives, in sacred reciprocity. Together in this meditation, we choose to give back and live in harmony with her.

Beloved, thank you for feeling called to support in the healing of our beautiful planet.

25. Successful companies recruit the best their budgets can afford
    Possibly you need to examine their budgets? And realise they are attracting what they can afford.

26. David
    I don’t get your point. 4o% during a Covid surge in an aging population. It was 60% in 2018. Is turnout to any event normal these days? Older folks are not even keen to go church.

27. This statement is inaccurate. Mottley is responding to the face Barbados has an ageing population which means pension expense is increasing at a rate to outstrip contributions in the near future.

28. @Frank

They attract funding for political campaigns in the millions?

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

Party war chests are frequently referenced here, when debating elections.
    I have to “guess” the DLP must be scrambling? 0 seats is not positive for raising funds. As noted earlier, labour were once very tight with the DLP. Forgetting their $$$, their on-the-ground work, especially in getting out the vote, is invaluable. Not surprisingly, the $$$ allotted here to getting voters to the polls on election day (and before) is high. All the advertising dollars and printed material does NOT get them to the polling booth.
    Is there “party money” in Barbados for securing seats? Here you need X seats to qualify (varies), but it is big money for the Party.

30. The problem has to be DLP are so unworthy to get nothing at all
    Blame the ACs for their nonsense mouthing

31. “Successful companies recruit the best their budgets can afford.
    Why are political parties in Barbados unable to recruit the best citizens to serve?”

The blogmaster has not fully recovered from his celebrations and so he posed a questions that is not fully thought through. It was just an election and not a cleaning of the Augean stables. The horses cronyism, favoritism, nepotism…. are an integral part of the recruiting process.

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

After all the self-promotion…they still gotta deal with THE REALITY ON THE GROUND….and….the PEOPLE are on to them in ways they can’t even imagine..

William they have no clue…

33. David
    What statement is inaccurate?

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

IMF is waiting and so are ALL the other CREDITORS…

35. @enuff

Was referring to TLSN.

36. William Skinner Avatar

@ Frank
    “ EVEN YOUR IDOL WILLIAM SKINNER KNOW THAT IS NOT TRUE.“
    You need to leave my name out when you are posting matters. I have never declared who or what you idolize.
    Stand on your feet. Defend your own shit.
    Take care of your own business .
    Always like little children trying to drag people into all yuh shit.
    I don’t need any frigging tag team. There are quite a few people on this blog who I share similar philosophical and ideological perspectives with. @ WURA happens to be one of them.
    Don’t let that be your focus.
    Thanks.

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@dub
    when parties have a poor election result, and enter a ‘re-building’ phase, funding becomes priority #1. Usually they have lost many with the ‘power’ to get donations. And regular donors, especially with the pandemic, ease back. Especially since 2022 was not an ‘election year’. Hence the “snap” call, likely caught the D’s off guard financially (despite Verla’s claims they were not, largely due to some shirts intended for Errol Barrow Day) Hard to find funds fast? Esp when the donor knows there will be no return immediately, and due to transitioning people, may not be even known of/remembered in 5 years. Did the Manifesto printer get C.O.D?

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/20/first-time-candidate-condemns-intimidation-and-vote-buying-in-elections/

William…ya should see who is jumping out with EXCUSES..

ooohhhhhh…”concerns about the virus may have kept voters from the polls”

oh really well let me tell ya what YOU ARE PRETENDING NOT TO KNOW:

THEY WOULD HAVE WALKED THROUGH FIRE and FLOODS to VOTE…if they thought they were not going to be SOLD OUT and ROBBED AGAIN…and their children oppressed, disenfranchised and REDUCED TO POVERTY……how bout dat…

excuses, excuses…..

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN….imagine the GODDAMN NERVE…after calling an election DURING A RAGING PANDEMIC….now making excuses….for why PEOPLE REFUSED TO VOTE…

40. @ NorthernObserver January 20, 2022 5:57 PM

“Elon” Maloney dropped out as a noble donor after his office building at Preconco burned down.

Pure coincidence?

41. Skinner your rambling attempt at sacasm is getting boring.Nobody ever claimed all was well in Barbados but like all countries we are struggling with covid.At least unlike some joker on brasstacks who always speaks about his beloved president was so hurt he could not even bring himself to congratulate Ms Mottley and her government but talked all kind of nonsense you congratulated the government which is good.The joker was on brasdtacks saying the dems would win 28 to 2.Unbelievable! No wonder he was so embarassed today.The so called dictator who Ms Moe claimed had changed called a snap election catching most of them unprepared and got rid of persons like Rev Atherley and his sidekick Mr Franklin along with some in her party like Mr Payne.This was a boss political move something a Mr Tom Adams would have made.IAs for Ms Moe did Ms Mottley chsnge while she appointed you as a minister or only after she fired you and you disappeared for 6 months? Congratulations to Ms Mottley and her team .I gone.

42. Mottley speaks about opposition in parliament
    Barbados today

After introducing the winning team along with Parris, Dr Walcott and political strategist Hartley Henry, the Prime Minister-elect sought to assure Barbadians that despite claims by some that her government wanted a one-party state, nothing could be further from the truth.

“I am a child of democracy. I know what it is to know every single prime minister in this nation since Errol Walton Barrow; and it is that solemn commitment in front of you the people of this nation, in front of the people of the world, and in particular in front of my parliamentary colleagues that we shall continue to keep the best precepts of democracy, transparency and accountability alive to the people of this nation,” Mottley told a cheering crowd.

She went further to say that her administration will be an “opposition for ourselves”.

“Regrettably, there were those who felt that they would form their own opposition and would do the things that would make their country almost difficult to govern. But, tonight, the people have spoken,” Mottley said

43. TheOGazerts (Consultant 2022-2025) Avatar
    TheOGazerts (Consultant 2022-2025)

BLP 2022-2025
    1. Let 2018 to 2022 be your guide.
    After the election in 2018, the DLP vanished from the battlefield leaving only ‘the little engine that could’ to fight on BU. Indeed, it is only Grenville Phillips and Donville Innis who we saw after the 2018 rout delivered by Mia..
    “Verla” needs to maintain visibility of herself and her party. This time do not retreat to the bunker (as Miller described the 2018 exit); it did not work in 2018 and it will not work now. Let the people see you toiling in the vineyard during this lean time.

Be prepared
    Verla was tinkering and releasing names in dribs and drabs when the 2022 election was called. She and the party was caught by surprised. The positive outcome is that she bnow has a slate of tested candidates to work with. I repeat, do not go to bed until 2024 or the next election is called. Be prepared from today and try to maintain the visibility of yourself and your party. Get in the vineyards, console your supporters and start gearing up for the next fight.

‘3. Be optimistic
    The only reason that an early election was called is that bad news is headed our way. Given this, it should come as no surprise if Mia could tries this stunt again. Appoint ‘shadow ministers’ who can provide a proper statement on the bad news and can point out the flaw in the government’s response. With 30-0 and less than three years in power Mia had to call for a ‘restart’. She has shown that she has the stamina for a bungled 2,5 years. Her stamina as a leader for 5 years is questionable. In December 202, let’s start talking about the fatigue factor.

Having Freundel Stuart tell Bajans of the Golden Years was probably a deciding factor in people staying away from the poll. Who wants five more of those golden years. Going forward, speeches have to be vetted and speakers must be urged to sick to the script. For the record, this 2022 election was a disaster for the DLP, do not try to spin it as a success.

44. @ Lorenzo January 20, 2022 2:49 PM
    Ms Mottley is head and shoulders above the political nightwatchman who surely should throw in the towel or be removed from the leadership.She is clearly not a political leader.As for the old guard all of them should retire.Therefore the excuses and sour grapes ain, t cutting it.
    (Unquote).

Lorenzo, the Nostradamus of BU, congratulations on your predicted red-washing of the discredited DLP.

Because of its failure to purge itself of the likes of Lowe the down-low hypocrite and Sharkmout Lashes the former mafia enforcer of housing, it allowed itself to be plagued by the spectre of Fumble who appeared after 3 years of a giant sleep to curse the chances of his abandoned deceitful lying party from even winning a single seat.

Your goddess and Tron’s Supreme Leader now have all the political resources at her fingertips to re-create Barbados in her own image.

There is absolutely NO Opposition to get in her way with her too many erstwhile unemployable hands to make for a heavier-work Cabinet with its bevy of consultants and hangers-on.

Unless there is a tsunami or a category 5 hurricane overwhelming Bim this year there is now NO excuse for not coming good on the idyllic promises made to Bajans.

So what do you think should be the first item on the agenda after recreating the 2022-23 Estimates in the IMF’s image?

Should it be the many infrastructural projects needed to create the many jobs promised to the youth- like the long overdue Hyatt Ziva godsend which has been stalled for years in the pipeline not because of the patriotic environmental manoeuvring of the muted Comissiong but the acts of the turncoat nuisance Atherley and his humbug sidekick Franklyn in association with the fallen-from-political grace Rams?

45. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Mia, the ruthless, removed every tool from her tool box to consolidate her power in order to win this election.

I have options and Barbados is not on my list. I pray for my fellow Bajans.

46. TheOGazerts (Consultant 2022-2025) Avatar

She went further to say that her administration will be an “opposition for ourselves”.

Doesn’t it sound like the definition of a one party state? Go wash your leg, that isn’t rain.

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Was this not the same little Foul Lorenza who was on here cussing Caswell for exposing the Moe issue. where she went off for 8 months AT TAXPAYER’S EXPENSE….did he not abuse Caswell in the worse way……now he is cussing Moe and still cussing Caswell…imps and pimps…

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Tron
    Noble donor to which party? lol
    I was expecting you to detail the State Funeral with full Republic honours for the DLP. A Tron touch would be placing the statue of your most disliked PM in the casket? Not that this would free up the spot, just a deserving recognition.

49. TheOGazerts (Consultant 2022-2025) Avatar

AC,
    You fought a good fight.
    You ran a good race.
    With a few hundred like you.. vocal, strong, and fighting each step of the way, the outcome could have been different.
    Congrats sister. If ever you need campaign funds ….

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply