The countdown to January 19, 2021 and so far Barbadians have been treated to a lackluster campaign. The biggest issue so far has been the lack of opportunity for Covid 19 infected patients to vote, that is until the strategic revelations from former Senator Lucille Moe last weekend. 

For those who didn’t understand Moe’s prolong absences from the Senate, now we know. There was a plot to be hatched. The blogmaster deems her behaviour to be dishonest and unethical. She had a difference of opinion with the prime minister- or so it seems- and refused to take the honourable decision to resign. Mia Mottley is not blameless, ministers and senators serve at the pleasure of the prime minister, Moe should have been fired. The blogmaster gives no credence to feeble rebuttals that she submitted excuses to the President to the Senate. Citizens must continue to find ways to hold elected officials accountable. The struggle is real.

While the Moe plot appears to have fully delivered 2 days before the general elections, former minister of finance Chris Sinckler decided to enter the political space for the first time since the last general election in May, 2018. The stars have aligned and the winner is…?

At a time educated and sensible Barbadians should be consumed with exacting intelligible utterances from prospective representatives in parliament, instead we have been treated to the same old dog and pony show. 

• Have we has good explanations why six decades after independence we have been unable to enact and operationalize transparency and integrity legislation in Barbados?
  • Have we had good explanation why the NIS Scheme has been mismanaged by successive governments to the point where taxpayers will be asked to suffer more sacrifice to ensure its viability?
  • Have we had a good explanation why after the long talk about establishing a Creative Cultural Industries framework this sector remains uninspired and rudderless?
  • Have we had a good explanation why decades of Auditor General reports have been ignored by successive governments?
  • Have we had a good explanation why a small island developing state located in the idyllic tropical Caribbean has been unable to aggressively retrofit and integrate renewable energy by utilizing the natural resources of sun and wind?
  • Have we had an intelligent national debate about pensions for members of parliament and in particular the public service which is unfunded?
  • What about the urgent need for a comprehensive waste management strategy to align with the utterances about a commitment to the environment?

The point of this submission is to remind fellow Barbadians that we benefit from making smart decisions. If we continue to be mesmerized and entertained by the dog and pony shows performing to the same scripts, there will be no apotheoses.

262 responses to “Whatup Bajans?”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Was Caswell not castigated, targeted and verbally abused right here on BU for bringing this Moe issue to the public’s attention, now everyone is “shocked” that it was just a game being played between close friends..

2. Lucille “Betrayal Bitch” “Brutus” Moe is the epitome of bad politics as told in Julius Caesar by Will I Am Shake Spear

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I would not cuss Moe either…it’s the whole ROTTEN, DIRTY colonial system, abused and MISUED to continue the destruction of Black/Afrikan lives is the whole problem, she is only doing what they have ALL DONE FOR HALF CENTURY…..learned behavior.

4. CAESAR
    I could be well moved if I were as you.
    If I could pray to move, prayers would move me.
    But I am constant as the northern star,
    Of whose true-fixed and resting quality
    There is no fellow in the firmament.
    The skies are painted with unnumbered sparks.
    They are all fire and every one doth shine,
    But there’s but one in all doth hold his place.
    So in the world. ‘Tis furnished well with men,
    And men are flesh and blood, and apprehensive,
    Yet in the number I do know but one
    That unassailable holds on his rank,
    Unshaked of motion. And that I am he
    Let me a little show it even in this:
    That I was constant Cimber should be banished,
    And constant do remain to keep him so.

Modern text

CAESAR
    I could be convinced if I were like you. If I could beg others to change their minds, begging would convince me, too. But I’m as immovable as the northern star, whose stable and stationary quality has no equal in the sky. The sky shows countless stars. They’re all made of fire, and each one shines. But only one among all of them remains in a fixed position. So it is on earth. The world is full of men, and men are flesh and blood, and they are capable of reason. Yet out of all of them, I know only one who is unassailable, who never moves from his position. To show you that that’s me, let me prove it a little even in this case. I was firm in ordering that Cimber be banished, and I remain firm in that decision.

5. Backstabbers need to be stabbed in their face

Smiling Faces Sometimes / The Undisputed Truth
    Smiling faces sometimes
    Pretend to be your friend
    Smiling faces show no traces
    Of the evil that lurks within (can you dig it?)
    Smiling faces, smiling faces, sometimes
    They don’t tell the truth
    Smiling faces, smiling faces tell lies and I got proof
    Oh, oh, yeah

Let me tell you
    The truth is in the eyes ’cause the eyes don’t lie, amen
    Remember, a smile is just a frown turned upside down my friend
    So, hear me when I’m saying
    Smiling faces, smiling faces, sometimes, yeah
    (Beware) beware of the handshake
    That hides the snake (can you dig it, can you dig it?)

I’m a-tellin’ you beware of the pat on the back
    It just might hold you back
    Jealousy, (jealousy) misery (misery) envy (envy)
    I tell you you can’t see behind
    Hey, they don’t tell the truth
    Hey, your enemy won’t do you no harm
    (Rap on) ’cause you’ll know where he’s comin’ from
    Don’t let the handshake and the smile fool ya
    Take my advice, I’m only tryin’ to school ya
    Smiling faces, smiling faces sometimes

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Backstabbers need to be stabbed in their face”

then you would be stabbing ALL OF THEM in the face, they are all of traitor bloodlines, it’s easier to remove yourself COMPLETELY OUT OF THEIR ORBIT….and get rid of them permanently OUT OF YOURS…

we have to be cold in our analysis so the people will survive, there is so much more going on.

7. David BU

PM Mottley appointed Lucille Moe to the Senate…..why didn’t PM Mottley not REMOVE…..her from the Senate & replace her ?
    The PM removed Toni Moore from the Senate and replaced her !

There is mor(e) in the mortar than the pestle !

You are correct …..Moe is not to be blamed …..alone !

8. @Fractured BLP

You have two days for your platform to bare its soul.

#birdsofafeather

9. Ok.so.Moe exposed Mottley
    So what is new
    Many before Moe has said similar words and were also cussed
    How about them sixteen or.seventeen who were ready to pull the covers off
    Liz Thompson said this morning that OSA was one of Mias biggest rivals and Mia forgive him
    Time longer than twine wouldn’t be far fetched if PM returns a similar favour to Moe
    One thing for sure Mia red bag contains a medical procedure to heal broken wounds with her enemies

10. The PM removed Toni Moore from the Senate and replaced her !

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxc

(Independent Senator )Moore was not appointed to the senate by PM but by the GG. She RESIGNED to run in SGN. The GG replaced her with another independent senator

11. William Skinner Avatar

“ The point of this submission is to remind fellow Barbadians that we benefit from making smart decisions. If we continue to be mesmerized and entertained by the dog and pony shows performing to the same scripts, there will be no apotheoses.”

Oh dear, a good thing I have tissues. That’s why I never go near swamps.

12. @Skinner

Your script is also old.

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu
    Nothing is up. Same old! Same old.! I warned you that the electorate and now the candidates are battle(Politics) weary/fatigue. We could have spent this money more effectively.

14. @Vincent

Sadly so.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

If BU commenters are fatigued, and i know the feeling very well, imagine those in the WILLFULLY DEPRESSED and OPPRESSED areas WHO HAVE NOTHING TO EAT, no water, NO ACCESS to clean water and cannot pay their bills….we really need to give some serious thought to them also….they are the MAJORITY and look just like us.

16. anuary 17, 2022 10:12 AM

If BU commenters are fatigued, and i know the feeling very well, imagine those in the WILLFULLY DEPRESSED and OPPRESSED areas WHO HAVE NOTHING TO EAT, no water, NO ACCESS to clean water and cannot pay their bills….we really need to give some serious thought to them also….they are the MAJORITY and look just like us.
    Xxcc
    True
    Xxxx
    Yet we have a PM who rubbed shoulders for ten years with the most vulnerable
    As yet to.implented a stringent and straightforward policy to help the most elderly who Har work and paying of taxes contributed to building Barbados
    When one reads of an elderly man billed twelve thousand dollars for a water bill with no.other source of income but that which is provided monthly by govt
    The question of why these people are left to swim high tide alone begs for answers

17. anuary 17, 2022 10:12 AM

Xxcc
    True
    Xxxx
    Yet we have a PM who rubbed shoulders for ten years with the most vulnerable
    As yet to.implented a stringent and straightforward policy to help the most elderly who Har work and paying of taxes contributed to building Barbados
    When one reads of an elderly man billed twelve thousand dollars for a water bill with no.other source of income but that which is provided monthly by govt
    The question of why these people are left to swim high tide alone begs for answers

18. One man’s view
    I have graded this post as 0/50 for the first half and 65/50 for the questions. I award bonus marks.

For a second time, I read the great of exposé of LM and for the second time I came up short.

It is obvious that the peanut gallery is hoping to find some beef and are wishfully eating this nutty plant based meat as it was truly beef. The acronym NTSH should easily be replaced by NTST(here).

Chris Sinckler ensuring that bread is continuously on the table for his family is to be admired. I do not know his financial position or the level of desperation that forced him to push his snout so unashamedly into his neighbor’s trough.

When one trough closes another trough opens. ‘A man gotta do, what a man gotta do’.

Summary: System is operating well within the safety operating limits.

19. @ TheOGazerts,

You have any friends from school days at HC ?

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Another big concern….how come the Minister of Finance…claims not to know about some other alleged shenanigans involving multimillions/offshore company, this and that person, although “no big works cahn happen widdout me.”

the people are really tired/exhausted…something has to give..

I really don’t want to say this is a disappointment, but better was expected…

21. WILLIAM SKINNER CONTINUES TO BAT SENSIBLY, SOUNDLY AND SOLIDLY PRESENTING SOUND DOCTINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

THEO
    ONE IS AMAZED THAT WHEN YOU ARE ON THAT SO MUCH WISDOM CAN COME OUT OF ST LUCY LOL
    BUT THEN ONE SUPPOSES YOU DID RUN AROUND IN YOUR YOUTH IN CLOSE TO THAT SANDBOX TREE THAT IS NOW DEAD
    THANKFULLY YOU ARE NOT

22. @Hants
    I am basically a loner..
    The kind of guy that if something happens you will hear a neighbor say… “I knew he was up to no good. He was here for years but never mixed. I was afraid whenever I passed by his home, I knew it”

Moneybrain ..

If Moneybrain does something wrong like smuggling a ton of drugs.. I will be his (good) character witness..

I suspect I missed your point, but I had fun with it.

23. What’s app bajans
    Sealy stated that evidence of 50dollar food vouchers were being handed out
    He cautioned the public it was bribery
    As yet to hear any of the other political parties to dispute Sealy account of that story

24. Theo
    All elementary my boy all elementary

25. @GP
    Your name is getting shorter and shorter with each post.

Do you still stand with drinking tonic water? I still drink a can every now and then but it makes me think of drinking gin.

26. @ TheOGazerts,

Most of the political incest exhibited by Bajan politicians ( BLP and DLP ) started at school.

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Most of the political incest exhibited by Bajan politicians ( BLP and DLP ) started at school.”

FINALLY …someone tells the truth…most of the degradation we are seeing, STARTED IN THE SCHOOLS…..always trace the source of the problems to the VERY BEGINNING….the root cause..learned behaviors.

28. @David ask a series of questions which I would dub as rhetorical and as I recently wrote something to the affect that an Election campaign is not the arena in which serious subjects are discussed.

“David” called it the “whatsup” campaign in a play of words similar to “whatsapp” because part of the campaign has been battled through that media from Estwick barking; a discussion on the merits of Mia vs Moe and several other excerpts from speeches at meetings; David Thompson also appeared live and in colour.

Here’s my take if Mia is headed for 30- love why do so many people appear to be unhappy? Why would two Senators (female) flee the beehive but not a single drone?

29. Go to the front of the class Sargeant.

30. The answer to the thread’s queries….we like it so.

31. “Here’s my take if Mia is headed for 30- love why do so many people appear to be unhappy? Why would two Senators (female) flee the beehive but not a single drone?”

Perhaps it is just all about entertainment to dumb down the people and keep them subdued in fear.
    This election contains several nightmarish sections, all vividly rendered.

What else is on the telly

Scarface
    “All I have in this world is my balls and my word”

Roots
    When Kunte Kinte run away and was caught they made him choose between having his penis or foot cut off.
    He decided to keep his manhood.
    So they tied his foot to a tree trunk and cut off the front half of his right foot.

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, oh dear … u reached into your book of words today, yes… apotheoses you say!

Man, I saw that word first time eons ago in some English lit review text like Brodies … and don’t recall seeing it again until today. So definitely you aiming to plow ‘anew, refreshed old ground’ 😊👍🏿 Propa!

But to the substance … Dem is fighting words re “The blogmaster deems her behaviour to be dishonest and unethical. She had a difference of opinion with the prime minister- or so it seems- and refused to take the honourable decision to resign.” LOL.

Tell me bro, after we put aside the altruistic idealism as we walk out of the theory room and step into the kitchen or home library/den (likely, in her home) to pay our mortgage bills online how difficult is it to take ‘sick leave’ and continue to draw our hefty salary or allowances or whatever perks we enjoy RATHER than resign!!! 🤦🏾‍♂️🙈

And again you ‘shoting’ to say that “Mia Mottley is not blameless […] Moe should have been fired.”

But fah trute … in de real world of strategy politicking it WOULD NEVER HAPPEN … because of course Moe might have let her tongue wag too early. AND then ALL de shenanigans we saw (Rhianna absurdity, Maloney lunacy, labor dispute meetings cancelled by edict, rumors of dissent etc) would have more clearly been discernible aspects of as a weak, compromised leader … Do YOU see MAM allowing that!!!

But back to that Lit thing tho, you and many others here who quote regularly “full of sound and fury…” surely then recall that sweet buildup in Macbeth about ‘no man of woman born’ could harm the main man … everything sweetly developed and voilà the slayer was revealed in most unexpected terms.

Well, this election process may yet give much more significant unexpected outcomes and revelations … we await that “apotheosis” of yours!

Peace out!

And @Vincent re … “I warned you that the electorate and now the candidates are battle (Politics) weary/fatigue. We could have spent this money more effectively.”

Indeed, maybe so … but we do have to get to ‘Dunsinane Hill’ … regardless of burn out, misdirected spending or otherwise.

Our main woman may too think that she is the impenetrable mountain against which not a group of ‘woodless’ MP can move successfully… she could be proved wrong in many different ways… as you often remind us: it’s what people do that provides the supposed ‘fated outcome’!

Lata. I gone.

33. The average IQ of our Aborigines is just about 90 points. No wonder Chris Sinckler is the big star of our DLP voters.

34. @Dee Word

Perhaps we are searching for that political leader to be Prince Henry like, who flings off frolicking ways and in the process surprise us all. We must not surrender hope.

#keephopealive

35. Political meetings as they stand are a waste. They remind me of what transpired yesterday when for once my tv was tuned to Windies cricket.

Six Irish wickets fell without my knowledge and I was just a few metres away on my couch. I was not asleep but the events failed to penetrate my brain. When you are celebrating howzats against Ireland yuh dun los’ de plot!

Surely all “players” both on field and in boardroom must finally be able to see their irrelevence to formerly fervent cricket fans.

This platform polluticking is pitifully passe.

Like Windies cricket cricket, it needs to have its plug pulled.

36. “Sealy stated that evidence of 50dollar food vouchers were being handed out. He cautioned the public it was bribery.”

Okay.

If true, then, that is indeed “bribery.”

However, your political views are incredibly naive and parochial. And, I ‘say’ this because the only information from the DLP’s election campaign platform you always eagerly present to BU, is gossip, rhetorical political diatribe and innuendo.

Rather than ‘telling’ us Sealy talked about $50 food vouchers, when it is a known fact both BLP and DLP are involved in ‘political bribery,’ perhaps it would have been better, for example, if you ‘told’ us he articulated alternative tourism policies for both the current and post COVID-19 economic environments, including diversifying the economy.

Instead, you feel proud coming to us with shiite about Moe ‘exposing’ Mottley or Dawn Armstrong cussing her, which you seem to believe is comprehensive political strategy to solicit votes to win the upcoming general election.

37. If I was to apply for a try-out for the West Indies squad and was turned down, then I would have a good case for age discrimination or something of that sort.

Looks – I dey
    Talent – I cannot play as good as any of them

I saw a short clip of the WI team playing. Village cricket is more entertaining.

38. WHATUP CANBAJANS?

Snowmageddon in Toronto. Can’t even go for a walk today.

39. Artax,

Wuh I swear I saw a man in de paper saying how he voting fuh Sealy because he gih he a lil $50 to buy some seedlings.

$50 votes! Going real cheap.

Tings real brown, fuh true!

40. Artax
    However, your political views are incredibly naive and parochial. And, I ‘say’ this because the only information from the DLP’s election campaign platform you always eagerly present to BU, is gossip, rhetorical political diatribe and innuendo.

Xxx
    Wait only a few days ago u said you going retire from Bu because it was boring
    😆🤣😂😹😆
    Not boring after all u found something to gripe about

41. RE TheOGazertsJanuary 17, 2022 10:55 AM

Your name is getting shorter and shorter with each post.
    Do you still stand with drinking tonic water? I still drink a can every now and then but it makes me think of drinking gin.
    YES, SIR. THAT IS THE ONLY WATER I DRINK WE PUT IT INTO OUR DRINKS- WE DONT DRINK ALCOHOL
    I USE IT AS MY PROPHYLAXIS BECAUSE ITS CHEMICAL STRUCTURE IS AKIN TO HYDROXYCHLOROQUINONE

RE DPD
    re Our main woman may too think that she is the impenetrable mountain against which not a group of ‘woodless’ MP can move successfully… she could be proved wrong in many different ways…
    DONT COMPARE MIA MUGABE MUTTLEY TO ANY ONE IN MACBETH,COMPARE HER, HER MACHINATIONS AND END TO THAT OF ANTIOCHUS EPIPHANES IV, AND THE ONE THAT HE FIGURES AS RECORDED IN DANIEL CHAPTER 8

42. @ ONTABAJANS

43. Ok no more off topic blogging.. Back to the topic of friends or friends with benefits and more importantly betrayal.

44. BU is a habit. Every day one awakens hoping today’s offerings will be better, like it used to be.

But alas!

45. @Hants:
    WHATUP CANBAJANS?

Well, I woke to blizzard like conditions at eight. Could not see anything our my window. Went out later and shovelled off the steps. Have not touched the drive. Waiting to see if one of the neighbours with a blower will lend a hand. It is still snowing here. It started at around 2 this am. and will continue until this evening.

46. Artax

Instead, you feel proud coming to us with shiite about Moe ‘exposing’ Mottley or Dawn Armstrong cussing her, which you seem to believe is comprehensive political strategy to solicit votes to win the upcoming general election.

Xxxxx

Welcome to the blog policeman where your views cannot be shared unless the policeman says they are contributing facts
    Xxx
    Well Moe did expose Mottley character as one of being a dictator
    Also did OSA
    Well Dawn since her appareance on the campagain trail
    Everyword out of her mouth has come under attack by the blp footsoldiers
    Bro if u have problem with the truth
    Your problem not mine
    Long steupse
    Short spouse
    I don’t care what u think

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Someone just asked if they understand how they look to the people on the outside, of the island, looking in…too exhausted today to laugh…will save it for the next 48 hours.

48. Why would Barbados during Covid 19 encounter an IT issue with updating counts in realtime?

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“of friends or friends with benefits and more importantly betrayal.”

someone should write a book…that one is not my genre..sticking to more human rights topics and history…am sure BU can throw up a writer or 2….it would be titillating and light some fires..