The countdown to January 19, 2021 and so far Barbadians have been treated to a lackluster campaign. The biggest issue so far has been the lack of opportunity for Covid 19 infected patients to vote, that is until the strategic revelations from former Senator Lucille Moe last weekend. 

For those who didn’t understand Moe’s prolong absences from the Senate, now we know. There was a plot to be hatched. The blogmaster deems her behaviour to be dishonest and unethical. She had a difference of opinion with the prime minister- or so it seems- and refused to take the honourable decision to resign. Mia Mottley is not blameless, ministers and senators serve at the pleasure of the prime minister, Moe should have been fired. The blogmaster gives no credence to feeble rebuttals that she submitted excuses to the President to the Senate. Citizens must continue to find ways to hold elected officials accountable. The struggle is real.

While the Moe plot appears to have fully delivered 2 days before the general elections, former minister of finance Chris Sinckler decided to enter the political space for the first time since the last general election in May, 2018. The stars have aligned and the winner is…?

At a time educated and sensible Barbadians should be consumed with exacting intelligible utterances from prospective representatives in parliament, instead we have been treated to the same old dog and pony show. 

• Have we has good explanations why six decades after independence we have been unable to enact and operationalize transparency and integrity legislation in Barbados?
  • Have we had good explanation why the NIS Scheme has been mismanaged by successive governments to the point where taxpayers will be asked to suffer more sacrifice to ensure its viability?
  • Have we had a good explanation why after the long talk about establishing a Creative Cultural Industries framework this sector remains uninspired and rudderless?
  • Have we had a good explanation why decades of Auditor General reports have been ignored by successive governments?
  • Have we had a good explanation why a small island developing state located in the idyllic tropical Caribbean has been unable to aggressively retrofit and integrate renewable energy by utilizing the natural resources of sun and wind?
  • Have we had an intelligent national debate about pensions for members of parliament and in particular the public service which is unfunded?
  • What about the urgent need for a comprehensive waste management strategy to align with the utterances about a commitment to the environment?

The point of this submission is to remind fellow Barbadians that we benefit from making smart decisions. If we continue to be mesmerized and entertained by the dog and pony shows performing to the same scripts, there will be no apotheoses.

262 responses to “Whatup Bajans?”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

But am not the one LIVING IN MISERY….and you ain’t leaving Canada to JOIN THE MISERY either…

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The day these show some empathy for what Black people like themselves are SUBJECTED TO on the island is the day i know there is some significant change occurring…until then…i will hold firm to my position and cut the most ignorant commenters out of any discourse..

I started on the blog dealing with human rights, never deviated, but all the primary school kids want to CHANGE HOW I express myself…..9-10 YEARS later…they are still trying…sorry, but i don’t carry SLAVE GENES…

3. FrankJanuary 19, 2022 3:39 PM

angela cox

I ASKED you A QUESTION and you ASK me “Is that your answer?”

Yuh mean GOD help you. Pray to Him for a LITTLE WISDOMand UNDERSTANDING, hear?

Cause you like you is another foolish bitch
    Xxxxxxx
    Balams a ss keeps braying
    One little knucklehead talking b about wisdom
    Go get a frigging life jac..a.ss

4. Cant read all de stupidness pun de blog dese days. aint nutin edifying.

5. There are certain individuals on BU who enjoys stoking the fire and expect individuals not to respond
    For all I care if anyone mentions my name using disparaging remarks I will not respond kindly

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I for one CANNOT UNDERSTAND how they all forgot what happened with the hotel workers…it only happened in 2020, was a BIG THING, Caswell was verbally abused to the point that people got angry, …just because he exposed what they did in the parliament…

it was so bad that BARJAM with Emmanuel Joseph then at the helm had to get involved because of an attempt to COVER UP what they all colluded and did to the hotel workers…..but yet BU trolls will jump out to claim that it never happened although I HAVE EVIDENCE that it did, that was posted ALL ACROSS BU and still archived….and can still be found on other forums…

that is what the blog has reached to, just to tell someone that they are lying…because that is the best they can do…

7. People may say that BU and the internet and it’s various characters are inane talk nonsense and have mental defects, but sites like this influence the thinking and ideas of the powers that be as well as media reporting etc. In fact the politicians and news reporters are as thick headed and prejudiced as BU morons. It is a negative feedback loop where the energy blockages cause symptoms and underlying conditions to aggravate each other and flare up and everyone will dumb down to the max. Short soundbites and zingers win the day as peoples powers of concentration is getting lower.

8. @555
    “There were three in the bed
    and the little one said roll over
    so they all rolled over
    and one fell out
    and there were two in the bed
    and the little one said roll over..’

Sometimes you are very good …

9. Waru War All Over

is like a drill instructor for recruits in the army or marines

cussing you weak fat ass bitches to do 100 push ups and run a 6 mile ruck carrying a back pack with 45 pounds in weight

you cannot argue back or reason with your drill sergeant major unless you want to do some extra circuits

10. @William Skinner January 19, 2022 12:20 PM “Oh BTW, thousands died in the USA.”

Sadly not thousands, nor tens of thousands, but hundreds of thousands, nearly a million, 858,000 to be precis.

11. @ Cuhdear Bajan
    Correction noted. Thanks

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…we still got work to do, making sure the people on the ground know what to do to protect themselves against whatever ugly surprises are lurking.