Submitted by Observing

On December 27, 2021 a snap election was called. Previous threads speak clearly to this author’s view of the soundness of that decision. But, to say that we are in unprecedented time is to put it mildly.

First, we have never had a 30-0 wipeout. It is therefore inevitable that the DLP will receive opposing votes. The amount is still left to be seen but based on the apathy, frustration and recent criticisms of the sitting PM the opposition may actually be larger than expected.

Secondly, we have a very short election. Discounting Old Year’s night and the weekend campaigns there was essentially only 2 ½ weeks. To their credit the DLP seem to have been “almost” ready when others thought they weren’t. To their detriment though they still have a bit more to do to convince the electorate that they are a government in waiting. Criticism of the present government does not automatically get the support of the electorate.

Thirdly, there are divisions. Divisions in both parties, divisions among the labour unions, divisions in the civil service, divisions in the Electoral and Boundaries Commission, division in the communities. There is absolutely no way that a heated election with a popular but not as popular Prime Minister faced with a new opposition in Parliament will help those divisions. The spin about a need for a united country being the reason for calling elections was BS and we all know it. The PM should know better than to take us for idiots.

Lastly, Covid. The news that Covid positive people cannot vote was a shocker. For a government to make this call and not consider this eventuality is almost criminal and, yes, I believe should be punished with the relevant vote. Based on the current rate there are 3880 persons in isolation with an average of 300 being added each day over the last 7 days. We were told that it will get worse. This means that around 5000+ persons will not be able to exercise their right to vote.

In 2013, 20 seats were decided by less than 200 votes. Other elections in some constituencies over the years reflect this margin as a norm. Have we decided to gamble with our elections and votes?

This is a critical time in our history for many reasons but it seems that regrettably, a rash unnecessary political decision was made for a hopeful political outcome that has rendered the genuine national good as secondary to a selfish motive. In 2022 we should be better than this.

Whoever wins, whatever comes, we will have tough times ahead in all aspects and areas. Will the real leaders and thinkers please stand up???

180 responses to “Unnecessary Unpredictably”

1. “Covid positive people are not permitted to go to supermarkets, village shops, churches, pharmacies, or to visit their dying mothers, so why are people shocked that thy are not permitted to go to polling stations?”

Covid does not care about peoples circumstances when it sees an opportunity to multiply
    it just follows it’s basic instinct to go viral

2. @Observing January 13, 2022 8:18 PM “Really not sure if this is a rhetorical question.”

It is NOT a rhetorical question.

Please explain to us why voting in an election is more important than buying food or medicine.

I have been triple vaccinated, but if I become covid positive by January 19th I will not go to the polls, and I will not feel disadvantaged.

I know that this is a political blog, but the truth is that there tens of thousands of Bajans who do not care about voting. And this is based on fact, not on my say so. The percentage of people who turn out to vote has declined from 81.6% in 1971 to lows of 56.8% in 2003 and 59.5% in 2018. The last time 2/3 or more of the population voted was during the period 1966 to 1986. A lot of those dedicated voters are long dead. No party, nor their multiple highly paid advisors contesting this election knows how to get the electorate out to vote.

By the way it is the same thing with the Covid vaccines, about 1/3 of the eligible population has refused to turn out for their vaccinations and nobody understands what needs to be done to get them out.

I don’t understand either.

Do any of us?

Do you?

3. angela cox January 13, 2022 5:38 PM #: “Artax can u please explain how not having a program of any kind one geared to building the skills and development of the youth is beneficial to the overall development of the youth?”

My friend….

You should ask the politicians from BOTH mainstream political parties that question, NOT me.

I’ve already ‘told’ you, “the problem is, successive BLP and DLP administrations have not done anything of significance for the youth.”

YOUR problem is you always attempt to discuss issues as though you’re an expert. And, when pressed to elaborate, your “asinine, nonsensical and silly” responses clearly indicate you don’t have any knowledge of the topic.

The gist of your ORIGINAL argument was that the ‘David Thompson Memorial Constituency Council Football Classic’ was essentially conceptualized to “keep the youth off the street and getting involved in gang related crime.”

Only an IDIOT would want to argue that a politically motivated 12 week football tournament could play a significant role in achieving that objective, while IGNORING the fact there wasn’t ANYTHING to ENGAGE the youth for the remaining FORTY (40) WEEKS in any given year the tournament was held.

You’ve now gone on to talk’ about “child development and social programs,” which are totally irrelevant to your original discussion.
    Education, health care, services provided by NAB, RDC, UDC, Child Care Board, and Welfare Department are examples of “social programs.”

A football tournament is NOT.

Your ignorance is not only appalling, it does not have any boundaries as well.

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ Observing
    “@William SKinner
    Can’t seem to find that manifesto anywhere at all.”
    If you know anybody from that NDP, they may have a copy. 1991 is a long time ago.

5. Oh David, you have your fingers on the pulse of the blog. Thanks for that link.

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David @Skinner et @Observing …SERIOUSLY we are citing an NDP manifesto of as @Skinner said “1991 […] a long time ago”.

In various words all of you have said that such manifesto documents are essentially comfort for fools!

So Really guys!

And to you brother @Skinner … would your party have been able to implement 50% of the plans outlined for the youth in that doc … ok, sorry wrong question…clearly your answer will be yes!

So let me pose it this way: why has no party since then been able to implement the most important aspects of those plans considering that as you noted several of the stars and young activists of that party went on to be involved with other parties over the years?

And please let me hasten to add … the above is not an ad hominem critique … rather I am simply trying to understand how we can dismiss the duopoly manifesto verbiage as ineffectual but reach back for a 30 year old document

To prove what exactly is this foray!

Btw @David, excellent research gathering skills.👍🏿

7. @Dee Word

What about integrity in public life legislation?

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@SimpleSimon, SHUT DOWN Internet feeds or ban ALL cov19 negative news re your query: “…about 1/3 of the eligible population has refused to turn out for their vaccinations and nobody understands what needs to be done to get them out.[…] Do any of us?”

Simply … impossible.

Well maybe a tax on unvax like the Quebecois may push more forward !

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Apologies @David but I didn’t refresh my 30 year NDP knowledge… so if they called for that too almost a full generation ago then @Skinner’s party mates who slotted into other parties have even more to answer for den 😇😂!

10. Alas DPD taxing people many of whom do not have a po to piss in nor a window to throw it thru does not work.

Or to put it more politely, you cannot get blood out of a stone.

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Yea I think so too … but wha de hell… we ain’t voting in any serious numbers for the politicians that running we lives into de ground but yet we complaining real loud that we ain’t get the opportunity to vote for a rather innocuous switch from the happy partying monarchy up north…

So maybe we SHOULD get tax on we poes and when and how we piss!

That would definitely get a few ah we really ‘pissed off” yah think!

De diabetes is got me pissing – verbally and otherwise – too often, fah real!

12. @ BMcDonald January 13, 2022 8:24 PM

I am almost sympathetic to the DLP’s plan. A fresh cranking up of the printing press would lead to currency devaluation in no time at all. Foreign investors could then buy up all local real estate for next to nothing. That would turn back the clock. And not just to 1966, but to 1937 and 1834.

Those who vote for DLP should not be surprised if they soon feel the lash of foreign financial investors on their backs!

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Observing
    A fair range.
    Many places have held elections during the pandemic, with the expected mixed reactions. Especially initially. The stance of disallowing COVID+ to vote, is something I haven’t experienced. Whomever is in charge, it seems given the relatively small number of voters, more may be done to be more inclusive.

14. @ David
    My ref. was to the NDP manifesto 1991. That’s the one I signed my name to and campaigned on.
    @ DpD
    We did not win , so I cant say whether we would have fulfilled any or all of the promises. As for the “several” stars, you must realise that they had to fall in line with their new parties’ agendas.
    The BLPDLP are political burial grounds for progressives. Many opine that the NDP would have become the same. The major problem at this time, is the lack of any real ideological or philosophical moorings of the candidates on all sides.

15. William was the 94 manifesto so different to 91? Here is what we know- Richie Haynes recanted.

16. Time running out to sue EBC

By Antoinette Connell
    antoinetteconnell@nationnews.com

There’s a lawyer at the ready to sue authorities on behalf of those stuck in isolation and unable to vote.
    But time is running out for the affected individuals to step forward so that the lawsuit can be filed.
    Attorney-at-law Michelle Russell, who was one of those who sued the Electoral & Boundaries Commission in 2018 in order to be allowed to vote as a CARICOM citizen, said she had been in discussion with another lawyer who was willing to mount a defence to the EBC’s insistence that its hands were tied on the matter and the isolated could not vote.
    The issue of isolated COVID-19 patients being unable to attend voting stations to mark their “X” next Wednesday has been a roaring debate ever since it came to light following the election announcement on December 26 by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley.
    “First thing is that I think we’re failing to understand is that about 10 000 persons might be disenfranchised by the move because it’s just not those who are COVID positive but there might be contacts as well and oftentimes the contacts are wider than the people who are positive.
    “COVID doesn’t discriminate so it is not that COVID is only going to go for Barbados Labour Party supporters or for Democratic Labour Party supporters. So that in calling the elections within three weeks the Government has to be reasonably sure that it was worth the risk, especially where such a significant portion of the electorate might not be able to vote and where some of them may be staunch BLP supporters, who wanted to cast their vote. So it is almost like shooting yourself in the foot because you really don’t know who’s going to get infected,” she noted.
    Russell said she was aware of a number of people in isolation and believed that action should be taken but by someone “who believes their rights” were being infringed, and knew one attorney willing to take on the action but I wouldn’t name names at this point.”
    It is a position shared by Queen’s Counsel Garth Patterson, who earlier this week on the Nation Publishing’s State of the Nation online discussion said he believed the Government could be sued for depriving some voters of that right.
    “No Government can freely ignore the law and because the right to vote is enshrined in the Representation of the People’s Act which The Constitution mandates must make provision for every qualified voter to have a reasonable opportunity of voting in an election, then it means the actions of the Government are certainly amenable to judicial review,” Patterson said.
    He explained that the President, on the advice of the Prime Minister, dissolved Parliament at a time when thousands of voters were in isolation and it was reasonably foreseeable by the Government that thousands more would become infected.
    “To my mind it is arguable that in the absence of any overriding national interest or some other compelling reason for doing it, the action of the President, on the advice of the Prime Minister, could be challenged on the basis that it was neither rational or reasonable, neither was it fair to the thousands who will likely be deprived,” he said.
    On the issue of the late hour, she said in 2018 when they were fighting to vote, up until the day of elections, a further suit was filed at the time. “It is the drafting of the documents do take time and you still have to get it approved at an urgent hearing. Ideally you prefer to do it with at least a few days to spare but there’s nothing stopping the action happening on election day itself, if there’re dire circumstances that merit it,” she explained.
    Russell said that St Lucia, Jamaica and The Bahamas had elections during COVID-19 and found a way to allow those who were positive to vote.
    “So if our Prime Minister was confident enough to call elections with a three-week gap, why not make provisions in the directives to allow voting. For instance in St Louis in the United States, they allowed drive-through voting for those who were COVID-positive. We can’t now use the early voting thing that some countries used because early voting was yesterday (Wednesday) and we can’t use mail-in ballots because that would have required an amendment to the legislation. The legislation says inperson voting.
    “But it looks like it wasn’t considered and I dear say, it would have a negative effect, because you already have those set of voters who wouldn’t vote anyway because they are disillusioned or they never vote. So that’s a part of the electorate that’s not going to vote; then you have the ones who normally vote but are afraid of COVID, especially older people who don’t feel comfortable standing in long lines during COVID. So that’s again a big section out of the electorate that’s not voting,” she said. As of Wednesday, there were 100 people in isolation facilities and 4 181 were in home isolation.

17. Eastmond puts case for APP
    Deputy political leader of the Alliance Party for Progress (APP), Lynette Eastmond, is calling on Barbadians to make the right decision when they go to the polls on January 19.
    Furthermore, Eastmond has promised development of the creative, cultural and technology industries should she be elected to represent the people of St Philip West.
    “In 2018 we became so disgusted that we felt we had to put an end to that Government. At this point in time, we need to ensure that in Parliament we have representatives of not just the traditional parties, but the newer parties that have emerged, such as the Alliance,” she said via the party’s online presentation of candidates on Tuesday.
    The APP was formed following a merger between the People’s Party for Democracy and Development and the United Progressive Party, with former Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley leading the group. They have a slate of 20 candidates contesting the upcoming General Election.
    Eastmond said that through the experience she and Atherley had gained in the Owen Arthur Cabinet, they were schooled in how a Government should be properly run and how a Cabinet should function. She said as a member of Arthur’s Cabinet, the chair ensured every voice around the table was heard and not just the experts.
    She said that seemed to be missing now and would be done away with under the APP.
    “The Alliance will bring us back to that position where we consult amongst ourselves, but also consult with stakeholders, as well as the wider public because of our inability, or shall I say the Government’s past inability, to deal with corruption,” she said.
    Moreover, the former Minister of International Business said Barbados faced the prospect of only a small clique seeing wealth, thereby creating a superclass of wealthy people and an underclass.
    “This is happening because opportunities are being hidden from Barbadians. They’re not being allowed to take advantage of the opportunities that come up from day to day because corruption is not simply about stealing money. In my view, corruption is also about preventing our people from accessing the opportunities that countries like Barbados can develop,” she said.
    Two such sectors are the creative cultural and technology industries which Eastmond, founding member and vice-president of the Barbados Film & Video Association, said held great potential.
    “We can develop programmes and products that can be sold to the entire world. We’re only about 300 000 people, and there are millions of people to sell to. If we were elected to office, we would invest in the creative, cultural and technology industries.
    “If our Government took one per cent of what is now allocated to tourism to start these industries, we would see a massive difference. The individuals who engage in these industries come from every sector in Barbados, from every demographic, from every social background. Imagine what would happen if we were able to empower those people through the creative industries, through culture and through technology. It would make a vast difference for the people of St Philip West,” she said.
    (RA)

18. Two Sir Grantleys and an Errol Barrow

Comedic calypsonian Contone’s refrain “two Sir Grantleys and an Errol Barrow” has been stuck in my head as I reflected on local political campaigning.
    This song references the $100 bill, featuring the image of The Right Excellent Sir Grantley Adams and the $50 bill that features the image of The Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow.
    Adams and Barrow are important founders of the two principal political parties in Barbados, the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) respectively.
    They are invoked as key to building the foundations of Barbados as a country with a strong system of social provisioning that has contributed to the improved living standards during the 20th century. So, what of the use of Grantleys and Barrows to finance political campaigns?
    $10 per voter
    In Barbados, the
    Representation of the People Act, CAP 12
    allows each candidate to spend ten dollars per registered elector in their constituency.
    This one (The Right Excellent) Charles Duncan O’Neal (tendollar bill) per elector is quite a modest limit that has its uses. Importantly, it should militate against uncontrollable spending determining electoral outcomes. Still, ten dollars per elector adds up.
    Appendix D of the Report On The Barbados General Election 2018 reveals that candidates were permitted to spend between $70 000 and just over $100 000 that year. Although none of the candidates in the last three general elections reported expenses that reached the spending ceilings, perusing the differences in reported expenses within and across constituencies makes for fascinating reading.
    Outspent others
    In these three elections, BLP and DLP candidates far outspent newer parties and/or independents in almost every case.
    There are some interesting exceptions.
    For instance, in St Michael South East the DLP’s candidate, Rodney Grant, reported spending $17 723.75, just $673.75 more than the United Progressive Party’s candidate, Veronica Price in 2018.
    Interesting, too, is that in 2013 Taan Abed, an independent candidate who had previously run on a DLP ticket, reported expenses of $24 394.32, which surpassed that of several BLP and DLP candidates.
    All the same, Abed was significantly outspent by both BLP and DLP contenders in that riding (Maria Agard – $54 470.54 – and Verla De Peiza – $44 899.74).
    The report from the 2008 General Election shows that BLP candidates spent more than DLP candidates in 19 constituencies while DLP candidates reported higher expenses in 11.
    Similarly, the BLP outspent the DLP in 18 constituencies in 2013. However, the somewhat anomalous 2018 election, which saw the BLP win all seats, reveals that the BLP handsomely outspent the DLP in all but six constituencies: St James Central, St Lucy, St Michael North West, St Michael North, St Philip South and St Philip West. Of the 30 constituencies, there were only three contests in which BLP and DLP candidates spent comparably (less than a $3 000 difference) in 2018: St Michael Central, St James South and St Philip South.
    Some might also be interested in the fact that the single largest spender in any constituency in the 2008, 2013 and 2018 general elections was BLP candidate for St Michael North East, Mia Amor Mottley, who reported expenses of $71 864.00 in 2018. Without getting into further minutiae about reported candidate expenses, and without
    delving into whether ever more expenses result in ever more votes, the main point I wish to make is that fundraising is important for Barbadian political campaigns.
    Linked to this point is that newer political parties and independents will need to find ways to raise funds to run competitive campaigns.
    Larger concerns
    In all this examination of Grantleys and Barrows, there are larger concerns about political money. To begin with, although candidates are required to report their spending within seven weeks of the election result, information about the sources of these funds is not available in the reports on General Elections.
    Further, one may be left wondering about the connection between the funding of political parties and their abilities to run successful election platforms that are cleanly produced and stage-managed, complete with entertainers and live online streaming.
    I understand that requiring full disclosure of the sources of party and candidate financing may reduce the ability of political aspirants to raise money since contributors may be reluctant to be exposed and, thus, may choose not to contribute to campaigns.
    However, in a country in which there are suspicions and rumours about improprieties in the award of public contracts, in hiring practices and in the selection of consultants, providing greater transparency on party and campaign financing can help to combat some corrupt practices that may seep into our system of governance and, by extension, can strengthen public trust.
    Dr Kristina Hinds is a senior lecturer in political science and head of department of Government, Sociology, Psychology and Social Work at UWI Cave Hill. She is also a moderator of VOB’s Down To Brass Tacks.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Cuddear…be prepared to take a 4th 5th, 6th and maybe 7th to 10th shot…ya just started.

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

These new political parties should show much more MATURITY and ADMIT that CRIMES have been maliciously, deliberately and gleefully COMMITTED against the Black/Afrikan population for over half century by DBLP CRIMINALS…and stop trying to GLOSS IT OVER…call it what it is, let the people understand what has and STILL IS being done to them by these frauds with fake titles..THEIR LIVES and that of their children and grandchildren are UNDER DIRECT THREAT……before we get a poverty derived BLACK GENOCIDE on our hands from these wannabe slave master and dictator BULLIES…..who erroneously believe they are world stage rock stars..

21. Money in Politics is more about Returns on Investments in the Local Power Game
    Winners and friends get richer
    Losers and friends are on the wrong side

Mia seems to be less corrupt and greedy
    and can implement changes successfully

22. Who’s gonna take the weight
    Barbados is alleged to have money worries which will require firm action
    the best target will be the Big Money Men / Women movers and shakers

23. David Bu’s politics seem to be an obsession with money
    In the Capitalist Zero Sum Game of Winners and Losers
    Rich get Richer and Poor get Poorer

A better equitable solution would be
    Rich get Poorer and Poor get Richer

24. Government Philanthropy Socialism
    Poor get Richer
    Rich get Poorer

25. William Skinner Avatar

Why are you always looking for an argument ? I was making reference specifically to the youth section of the 1991 NDP manifesto in response to something posted by @Artax.
    Thank you !

26. “I am almost sympathetic to the DLP’s plan. A fresh cranking up of the printing press would lead to currency devaluation in no time at all.”

DLPs manifesto is to go green and save trees and not write any commitments down on paper saving paper to wipe bottoms from it’s poo

27. @William

The youth manifesto is a branch on the tree of overarching party promise. That is all it was anyway. You do not like to be questioned.

28. “I was making reference specifically to the youth section of the 1991 NDP manifesto”

who are these youths 30 years on
    are they the 50 year old grown ups
    or the next generation of 20 year old

29. For the record the blogmaster likes the idea of improving sports facilities at the parochial/district level. It does not mean the proposed 150 million dollar stadium the DLP drew up plans before leaving office is not needed. We have to focus on developing at the grass roots as well.

30. The African descended youth have NEVER BEEN A PRIORTY of the two vote begging governments. Their parents, and grandparents were taken for granted, never again.

31. The electorate must use this power to show the useless of parliament..that THE BLACK YOUTH MUST COME FIRST…at all times, not minority business people..

32. Africans are Rasta
    that’s why this Go Back to Africa thing is so slow
    Bajans drink rum and are baldheads not dreads
    but there will be change when they drink the herb

Time Will Tell / Bob Marley and the Wailers
    Jah would never give the power to a baldhead
    Run come crucify the dread

Time alone, oh, time will tell
    Think you’re in heaven but you’re living in hell
    You think you’re in heaven but you’re living in hell

Back them up, oh not the brothers
    But the ones, who set them up

You think you’re in heaven but you’re living in hell

Sold my ticket, run and go
    Sold man to the ground
    Sold man, take a man pride
    Oh children weep no more
    Oh my sycamore tree, saw the freedom tree
    Saw you settle the score
    Oh children weep no more
    Weep no more, children weep no more

Jah would never give the power to a baldhead
    Run come crucify the dread

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Better GO DOWN FIGHTING….but make sure the TRAITORS fall the hardest..

34. Cool Meditations for the Spirit

35. @ David

Recently, an acquaintance of mine sent me a Whatsapp message and a voice note that I found very interesting.

The message was headlined ‘Breaking News,’ in which it was written Mia Mottley ‘is under investigation for serious money laundering THREW Caribbean and the us information is also coming that she facilitated and aided CURRUPTED governments to bribe and win THERE elections including Dominica…….”

Note the words in uppercase letters….. and the US is lowercase.

As it relates to the voice note, the narrator, who sounded a lot like Steve Blackett, opening preamble was as follows:

“Good morning Barbados and by extension good morning to all our people in the Caribbean. I would just like to offer a word of warning and also an appeal to all of those who are hearing this message…… and this is a regional alert…… I can say a regional alert as well as an alert for the people of Barbados….. more importantly the people of Barbados.
    We’ve received the manifesto for the Barbados Labour Party elections. I have read through this 52 page document and, in my mind, I can only determine that this document is not only written for Barbados, this is a document that is the blueprint for a totalitarian dictatorship for the entire Caribbean region.”

All I could say was……… “aaaannnddd they’re off and running…”

36. Undermining her regional and international reputation would bring her to heel.

37. Somebody could get sooed effin de accusation is FALSE !!!

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Fictitious reality = Metaverse, crimes have already started and victims are being told, “it’s the Metaverse, i can do as i like”..a violent incident occurs every 7 MINUTES in this virutal reality fake world….and they CANNOT guarantee anyone’s safety.

Meta Executive Andrew Bosworth said after this question – Can the Metaverse be regulated?

“Policing user behavior at any meaningful scale is practically impossible” he said..

so in essence ya will be going from a real world where NO ONE IS HELD ACCOUNTABLE for crimes against the Black population to a fictitious world where NO ONE CAN BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE for any crimes period….and it’s VERY DANGEROUS FOR CHILDREN….crimes against children are already happening and according to the people who put the news out there “practically impossible to stop”

told yall stop listening to these fly by night small time frauds…ya will end up in EVEN MORE trouble..especially since all the tech giants are hopping on to this clear virtual escape from criminal responsibility..

personally, i don’t need to fake reality, my real one will do just fine thank you very much..

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The presenter put it best…”the Metaverse CANNOT become a second life, it can only at best become an IMPRISONED REALITY.”

yall on ya own with that too, i got my own opinions…everyone gotta know for themselves.

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…ya see how easily they SPRING TRAPS to evade criminal responsibility.

41. @Cuhdear
    I can’t fully respond to your oversimplification since one man’s “importance” is another man’s “don’t care at all.” Your turnout statistics support that.

The question is, should a government who calls an election in the middle of a pandemic armed with knowledge of rapidly increasing cases which would disenfranchise thousands of voters some of whom want to vote…shouldn’t that government have thought ahead and put processes in place to allow those who want to vote to do so?

Further, should a government or Prime Minister which claims to be focused on health and the good of the people, call an election right after relaxing curfews, celebrating December knowing that omicron is on the doorstep and that their own forecast was upwards of 1000 cases per day?

Lastly, should political decisions override those that may impact national or public health??

Thanks for the manifesto. I am often amazed that the depth of your vault

Just observing

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

“put processes in place to allow those who want to vote to do so?”
    I think they were simple enough, and if accompanied by advanced polls, that once deemed important, could have been enacted. In my country this would have been the job of the Governing electoral body, not the Government of the day nor any other entity.

43. It is the job of the EBC in Barbados to rule on this matter.

44. @ David
    Agreed and accepted.
    But isn’t it the government that declare we are under a “state of emergency”?

Layman’s question from an observing guy

45. @Observing

Barbados is a small incestuous island. In law we know the EBC can lead on this matter. However, we know how decisions are made in smoked filled rooms and patios.

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

I wasn’t aware Barbados was under a ‘state of emergency’?
    I “thought” it had expired in Oct/Nov last year.

47. If Mia wanted to put proceess in place for all to vote she would have
    She is not a fool but a self-serving demagogue who believes it is her way or the high way
    #####miacares

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Northern,@David and @Observing, gentlemen … hang on there…whooaaa!

@Northern when you say “[i]n my country this would have been the job of the Governing electoral body, not the Government of the day nor any other entity” I see a bit of a conniption re the point from @David that “It is the job of the EBC in Barbados to rule on this matter”.

You are both saying the SAME thing but with some KEY background omitted.

In Canada as in Bim the electoral commission can ONLY implement ALREADY legislated rules governing elections.

And as I read the details locally the EBC were legally restricted by prevailing statue related to how ‘hospitalized’ persons can or cannot vote.

Again as I read the law and news (particular from Ms Michelle Russell), in both countries OTHER ’emergency measures’ by the govt WOULD be the only way to supercede that legislation.

So @David our EBC ruled according to the current law … it does NOT appear to me that they had ANY authority to do anything different… that was left to the cabinet in emergency measure or a legal injunction brought by an aggrieved citizen in isolation left unable to vote!

Now that said on the possible technicalities … to your point @Observing re the PM’s crass, callous election call … in a normal world she would have been PUNISHED at the polls for her indifference.

Punished badly too if there was a viable and strong oppo !

Lata.

49. @Dee Word

The EBC could stop the election?

Leave a Reply to NorthernObserverCancel reply