Submitted by Paula Sealy

The current administration has invested in the media and media personnel has invested in the Mottley administration. Some media practitioners were forced out of CBC and landed at Starcom. But some of the others are riding the fatted calf for all it is worth. (David Thompson spoke of the fatted calf being shared among the DLP members after the elections in 2008. Fourteen years later we are still there.)

They may be professionals but how many of their statements in the print media, behind a microphone or in front of a TV camera were motivated by a political agenda or professional integrity.

The Market Vendor aka Vic Fernandes has been used to influence the public with comedy and encourage John Public to rail against individuals and groups with views against the government of the day. Don’t forget when the vendor lambasted the DLP government.

Corey Layne was said to be an objective moderator on the airwaves. Any person who is a critical thinker must question that thinking by now.

We must be more aware of what is being put out by the media, who is the source and why news items are considered newsworthy or not.

Pay attention to where these people have turned up…

1. David Ellis, Starcom (Station Manager, Retired) – COVID-19 Public Advisor (Sep. 2021-present)

2. Sanka Price, Starcom/NATION (News Editor) – CEO, Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (2020.06.15-present)

3. Roy Morris, Barbados Today (Editor-In-Chief) – Press Secretary to the Prime Minister

4. Vic Fernandes, Capital Media (Chairman)

• Chairman, Grantley Adams International Airport (2018-2021)
  • Chairman, Barbados National Oil Company Limited (2021.07.01-present)
  • Member, National Cruise Development
  • Commission (2018.08.16-2019.02.15)

5. Carol Roberts-Reifer, Starcom (Radio Personality)

• CEO, National Cultural Foundation (2018-present)
  • Deputy Chairperson, Board of Management, Christ Church Foundation School (2018-present)

6. Corey Layne, Starcom (Radio Personality) – BLP Candidate, City of Bridgetown, 2022

215 responses to “BLP and DLP Governments Use Media Practitioners for Propaganda”

1. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Still trying to figure out what’s the difference. Just the usual B and D crap.
    I don’t need to promote it; it drives itself.
    Just a bunch of jokers on both sides.

2. Donna January 7, 2022 12:47 PM

No, Donna.

I have so many thing going that I barely have time to persist. I’m either too tired or too busy to do anything else.

William Skinner January 7, 2022 1:03 PM

Was the article you referred to on BU?

Nevertherless, I understand the point you’ve made. And, it was exactly a similar point I was trying to make as well.

3. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Yes. It was published on BU just a few days ago.

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

“What absolutely fascinates me is that both the Bees and Dees feel they can fool everybody.
    Shameless.”

They KNOW who they can fool, additionally SHAMELESS are the fools now pretending to be experts and going down the rabbit hole….we may never see them again..which may not be such a good thing..

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

correction:

which may not be such a BAD thing..

6. @ Frank

?

“ There is another one that uses tuh work at the Advocate, can’t remember the name now, but he was a tall fella dat uses to give Arthur nuff licks.”

++++++++

Your missing link is “Tony Vanderpool”. Journalists/Musician.

7. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

Fractured BLPJanuary 7, 2022 12:30 PM
    @Fractured DLP

Chris Sinckler – calling June Fowler a bald pouched cat

Dennis Lowe – his bullers and wickers rant on a DLP platform.

Kerrie Symmonds – attacking Liz Thompson while he was a DEM

Pitbull :- brandishing a gun on parliament grounds

A former speaker :- found guilty of misappropriating an octogenarian money but still allowed to hold that office

It cuts both ways. Mind you, I am not naive that there wont be some of that Low(e) talk to keep people awake at political meetings but I think most of the electorate has evolved to the point that they can understand and be engaged to the issues once you bring it down to their level of understanding. The best public speakers understand that, some of the more seasoned politicians do it. This is part reason why the electorate are not attracted to MOST MPs or to debates in parliament.
    I have been alive long enough that once a party doesn’t have a current record to stand by or do not have as much current controversial issues they can use as ammunition they will resort to this “trash talk.” It gets tired and disengaging when it is overdone

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

For those interested in the information circulating that would show the trap being set, a video can be found on my Afrikan Newsreel….that’s the best i can do. Brian Williams retired from Night News and tried to leave a message…..am done doing anything unless it’s posted to a website that the masses can traffic, read for themselves and make their own informed decisions..

9. Duck Duck. Sling Shots Coming. Duck..

Timothy Slinger running for office in de upcoming January 19, 2022 Elections as per “Masey Green”

Wha yah get these tings from Girlie?

That party going back to de DEAD!!!

NATION JOURNALIST Timothy McDonald Slinger has been charged with burglary in the District “A” Criminal Court.

Slinger, 62, an associate managing editor of the Nation Publishing Co. Limited, appeared yesterday before Acting Magistrate Alliston Seale and pleaded not guilty to entering the building known as De Diva Hype Bar on Baxters Road, The City, as a trespasser between March 10 and April 15, and stealing 139 beers, 15 bottles of brandy, 12 bottles of whiskey, four bottles of vodka, two bottles of Irish whiskey and 13 bottles of wine, together valued at $2 361, belonging to Jacqueline Proverbs.

There was no objection to bail from prosecutor Sergeant Neville Reid; and Slinger, represented by three attorneys – Ralph Thorne QC, Andrew Pilgrim QC, and Ezra Alleyne – was granted $5 000 bail with a surety.

Masey said “his boy AL/B was de surety…Political Friends..

10. We need to change the narratives. It has brought us here. Tit for tat does nothing to improve the situation. Most important we don’t want young bright politicians going with the flow. Credit to Verla for directing the budding politician to pull back. It shows she is willing to resist DLP rabidly partisan supporters.

11. On my FARM. I only dig 2 percent of me DIRT. De 98 cents is donated by you n Masey…

Thank you abundantly people’s…

Davie loves you too…

Who 📞 who calling??? Is that you LP. ??You want to RUN too???
    Ok, Let AL/G know you crossing de aisle…Lordie lordie…
    Murderhhhhhhhhhh🎼

12. William, you saw the headline and read the blog and this is wheee your comprehension of the matter took you?

13. @ Davie

“the dialogue and the narrative suffer from awkward syntax”

++++
    By Pac-Man/Miriam..
    As per

14. June Fowler does not give a rh about Chris Sinckler. Her son was featured in the Sunday Sun this week, breaking through the barriers at Microsoft and yet finding time to bring some Bajan youngsters in with him. A credit to his nation wherever he goes!

She raised her son well. Her parents raised her well. Would that Chris Sinckler’s had been as successful!

That is how these lowlifes behave on a political platform????

15. People are copycats with poor intellect who like to be given scripts on how to think and discriminate and that is how propaganda propagates

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fwDQ_1WX2yI

16. The media is now the mouthpiece of failed leaders…. That means we are doomed

17. Frank

ac uh gine jog yuh memory uh bit.

Xxxxx
    ac not an advocate of two wrongs making a right
    If it was wrong then it is wrong now

18. @ Bishop Joseph Atherley,

You are leading a joint collation party to contest de upcoming Elections January 19, 2022.

How So???

You and your collation can’t even get our National Colors right. Running around like geckos 🦎 wearing a combination of Ukrainian & Bahamian colors. How do you plan to lead de people’s???

Fix:
    A vertical triband of ultramarine (hoist-side and fly-sides) and gold with the black trident-head centred on the gold band.

19. @ Natalie

Dominant Color in de Barbados Coat of Arms is “RED”.

Smoke some WEED “B”.

Who Calling 📞 ?

20. @ 555dubstreet January 7, 2022 4:37 PM

“People are copycats with poor intellect who like to be given scripts on how to think and discriminate and that is how propaganda propagates”

++++

De world estimated to have exceeded 7.9 billion people …

They all have them…

21. The early election call managed to circumvent 1.5 years of propaganda building up, and some people feel bewildered without it.

22. Propaganda can raise the temperature build up tension and send people into a frenzy, like the mass hysteria in USA last year and the 5 years before that with the Trumpers and the 8 years before when a black man turned the White House into a Chocolate City and the white majority felt emasculated. Brexit was a shit show too on hype bullshit and old school racism. White Supremacy come back again.

23. @555

Point taken..

Check out de new process weed from de Goat. They say “it blows your Fucking Mind”.

Feed de goat on wild grass and fresh green weed plants 🪴.

Mash de marbles flat and dry in de SUN…

24. In the larger countries self serving media is a big part of the election build up and is responsible for a big part of the bullshit and hype.
    Barbados politicians can campaign by word of mouth, face to face meetings and party rallies instead.

25. @
    555dubstreet January 7, 2022 8:13 PM

As de Flogmaster would say “Spot On”

26. I haven’t listened to the Market Vendor in years, maybe decades.

Perhaps because he is NOT an authentic working class Bajan, and his views do not truly represent us.

27. As my late auntie used to say “I’ve lost all respect” for many, perhaps most of these folks.

28. Maureen was on Brass Tacks today saying that she is not a member of any clique.

Lolllll!!!!!!!!!

29. Is Paula Sealy like Maureen not a member of any clique Lolll!!! or is she like Maureen a well know “D” supporter???

30. @Artax January 7, 2022 10:23 AM ” let’s assume you were teacher and among the topics listed on a CXC English Language examination paper for discussion for 20 marks, was “BLP and DLP Governments Use Media Practitioners for Propaganda,” and a student submitted this article as his/her answer. How many marks would award him/her?”

ZERO.

31. @John2 January 7, 2022 11:57 AM “And the DEM promised to rempve UR sewage tax. Hiw much is that worth for UR vote?”

$7.50 BDS per month X 12 months = $90 BDS per year.

Not sure that I want to sell my vote for 90 dollars or $450 over a 5 year period.

The betta give me a flat screen TV instead, or an I-phone.

32. The blubber comment was not too far off. The mentioned women are still too damn FAT.

I must admit that i am biased against fat people, male or female.

33. That is another national division.

The skinny on one side, and the fat occupying 9 sides.

Lol!

34. Marie Armstrong shows very clearly that the DLP has been the party of the sub-literate, the lower class and the low-IQers since Barrow’s time. Her hate speech against the great Mia Mottley was racist, sexist, stupid and evil.

If Ms Armstrong wants morality in politics, she’d better worry about her party colleague in the orange jumpsuit in Texas confirming all the justified prejudices against criminal blacks from the Deep South. Or about the shit on the South Coast, which the DLP has ignored for many years, probably because many DLP grandees love the stench of shit after they grew up in a pigsty.

If the DLP comes back to power, I would not be surprised if the US denies visas to Barbadians in the future on ethnic, hygienic and criminological grounds.

35. Obviously the politricians would n
    use professionals to polish their game.
    They need to, if not you get tge silly ramblings and fiascos of what occurred with Armstrong.

Good for voters though, it showed what she cannot bring to Parliament.

36. President Cort @ 5:32 A.M

While you hamner away at Ms Armstrong
    How does her comments compare those of:
    William Duguid ‘ haul yuh muddah C#nt ‘ out burst on the floor of Parliament ?

Kerrie Symmonds ‘ Rat Botsie ‘ comments towards PM Stuart ?

Didn’t those 2 men just sat in our Parliament….4 weeks , ago ?

Dawn , one day, will make it to Parliament , too .

37. Cuddear Maureen is a known Dem .She along with the Trini dem now claiming they are not members of any party.Really? They believe bajans got short memories? The pair of them with Ms Holder as moderator and the trini as a caller used to piss parade on Ms Mottley on talk ya talk on CBC almost every tuesday and wednesday while shutting down blp callers.Now the trini on brasstacks calling for balance and being allowed to campaign by the moderators on the same programme led by Mr Blackman and Dr Hinds both of whom seemed to be with 5he dems in my view.Hrard one lady a ms Norris yesterday trying to defend Ms Armstrong, s behaviour saying she was not offended by the comments.Well that is your opinion only remember that.I was surprised to hear Mr Wilkinson actually agreeing with her saying he hoped Ms Armstrong continues to be aggresive.I hope Ms Armstrong has learned her lesson.She should remember what hsppened to the dems after the waterford fiasco in 2018.She should pick sense from that and stick to issues.I gone.

38. But while the blp foot soldiers are out in force attacking Armstrong
    How come the voices are silent when the PM throws out insulting barbs to bajans within one instance as calling some illiterate and speaks on Covid issues Yet unable to spell or pronounce medical terminology
    Where was the outrage when a well known political supporter got on a blp campagain platform and called Floyd Refeir an idiot because he was a professional cricketer
    Blp foot soldiers where was the outrage when the PM added insult to injury in her condemnation and mocking of Refeir reading his statements on platform during the St. George election
    Need I remind the footsoldiers
    People in glass houses should not throw stones
    Armstrong statements met a threshold of an indictment
    against present govt for not addressing woman problems and for that the blp foot soldiers grab a straw to knock her down
    Still awaiting the PM apologies

39. Those who follow cricket know that there is a difference between sledging and banter.

Banter is permissable on political platforms and even in the HOA.

As a teenager I enjoyed the witty banter between Tom and Dipper.

I repeat WITTY.

There is a line that should not be crossed.

When one has wit one need not cross that line in an effort to keep the listeners listening.

40. Jamaican Ting
    Jux Soundsystem Business
    Junior Delgado
    Tition = Politician

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The mess is escalating, one constitutional lawyer says there are grounds to possibly suspend the elections…for more than one reason..

42. It appears that some eligible voters will not be allowed to vote.

In the movies, American Indians used to say ‘White man speaks with forked tongue’. Was it George Orwell who invented the term ‘doublespeak’. We in Barbados do it differently.

First, an insignificant fellow announces the plan.
    Then higher-ups rush out and say. ‘ He not de man. He don’t know wuh he talking bout. We studying it and will get back to you’.
    A few days later the higher-ups say ‘De law stopped us from doing anything. We gotta obey de law, but we will get it right the next time.’

Screwed again. And the apologists say ‘Stop complaining, dey using Vaseline.’

43. 五步拳 · Wu Bu Quan (5 Stances Beginner Form / 1. Section)

This is an introduction and follow-along training session of 五步拳 · Wu Bu Quan, which can be translated as the 5 Stances Form / Practice. It is well known in the field of Shaolin Martial Arts as a beginners form which is often taught in the very initial states of Kung Fu practice❗️Continuous training of 五步拳 · Wu Bu Quan will strengthen the legs, improves rooting abilities and increase the sense of posture balancing❗️

44. Hard Time Stylee
    DLP-ites have the opportunity to speak out against BLP during the election campaign
    but will have to get in line behind Government if/when BLP win and suck it up when they buck up on a Hard Times
    14 days to go which by my calculations means Saturday fortnight

Discipline
    Check out Sun Ra Discipline Songs & Tunes and various versions
    Discipline 2
    Discipline 8
    Discipline 11
    Discipline 15
    Discipline 27
    Discipline 33
    Discipline 99

My favourite in Discipline 27 and I Roam the Cosmos on the Discipline 27 rhythm
    Discipline 27-II Parts 1-4 – YouTube

SHAOLIN MASTER SHI HENG YI | WHY DISCIPLINE IS THE WAY TO TRUE FREEDOM

45. If the winning majority is greater than the Covid non-voters then the argument is a non-issue non-argument

46. “If the winning majority is greater than the Covid non-voters then the argument is a non-issue non-argument”

Now we will wait till after the election is held and the outcome is known to decide if people should have been allowed to vote.

And if by chance, the difference is smaller than the number of non-voters in a constituency, then it is too late…

Win or lose, I want to vote for the candidate of my choice.

47. “Win or lose, I want to vote for the candidate of my choice.”

Can and / or will you vote

or is that another hypothetical theory and not a real thing

48. 1/1
    Whether it is an actuality or hypothetical, it is better than mathematical nonsense supporting disfranchising voters.

49. I’m taking a wild guess stab in the dark shoot from the hips using my imagination in the statement below

Miller, TheO, AC will be voting for the D to the LP
    Me, Myself and I will be voting for the B to the LP
    Which would make it 3-3
    But, I suspect Miller, TheO, AC and Me Myself and I cannot vote as we dwell in foreign or some such which nets out to 0-0

Leave a Reply to Fractured BLPCancel reply