An interesting conversation point that will attract interest is the impact David Estwick, Michael Lashley, Denis Lowe and Richard Sealy will have on the 2022 general election. The four were members of the Freundel Stuart cabinet and the previous government soundly rejected by the electorate in 2018.

There is nothing unusual about defeated political candidates offering themselves to the public. To do so they must have successfully negotiated won the party requirements to win selection. Political parties are private entities after all and the membership free to select candidates of choice.

Notwithstanding the preamble a look at the four members of the old guard and what it means for the DLP’s chances on the 19 January 2022 AND beyond is a constructive discussion to have. Although decisions taken by political parties are private – obviously there is the national import.

The involvement of the four forces the ‘new’ DLP to defend old issues ventilated in the 2018 political campaign. Issues that arguably contributed to the DLP’s unprecedented defeat. Denis Lowe had the Cahill issue and the blogmaster expressed concerns about him being a Peter Allard stooge of Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary fame, David Estwick’s public disagreements with former minister of finance Chris Sinckler, Michael Lashley’s questionable association with Trans-Tech etc. The big question for the political pundits – is the risk reward ratio calculated in favour of the Verla De Peiza led DLP?

Onlookers must surmise that the DLP conducted private polling to test the water in the four constituencies and the DLP executive was satisfied with the results. The unknown is whether the involvement of the four will negatively impact the national swing percentage. The size of the swing margins in the majority of constituencies the 2018 general election were large and the DLP will not want to make decisions to compromise the swing pendulum away from the BLP this time around. Another unknown is the extent the pandemic will have on voter turnout as it relates to the respective bases. Disillusioned DLP members opted out from voting in 2018, some may have voted BLP. Then there are the independents many who may decide to avoid the risk of standing in gatherings for reason of health safety. A cohobblopot of issues which the usual talking heads will try to make simple for a susceptible electorate.

The reality is that Barbadians are comfortable with the 2-party system that exists as it is in many countries. It should be obviously if we want the transformative changes in the economy, education, energy and water generation, waste management and others, like minded Barbadias will have to infiltrate the two main political parties to help with accelerating change in the national interest.

The blogmaster is of the opinion returning the four to the fold is a mistake not for the reasons mentioned but the threat to De Peiza’s fragile leadership hold on the ‘new’ DLP.

127 responses to “Return of the Old Guard”

1. DO BLACK PEOPLE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND THINK FOR THEMSELVES?

Read ePaper
    Home / Features / Speaking Out / #BTSpeakingOut – You the people are to blame

by Hyacinth Greenidge

Recently in North Korea, autocratic leader Kim Jong-Un, to mark the 10th anniversary of his father Kim Jong-il’s death, declared 10 days of events for the occasion.

However, for those ten days he decreed that North Koreans could not laugh in public or shop. No, this is not fake news. No laughter in public.

North Koreans have lived in an environment of suppression and oppression for so long that there is perhaps a young generation that is unaware of what oppression and suppression are.

Thus, Kim’s edict is maybe being adhered to as though it is the most natural thing to do. The administrative Government is less than one per cent of the 26 million population.

Yet, tyranny prevails. North Koreans have themselves – not their government – to blame for their situation. But who knows, they perhaps know nothing else.

The Government knows the people it governs. It knows the lengths to which it can go and are confident that such is the state’s control that edicts such as not laughing in public is completely natural.

In Barbados, politicians also know the people over whom they lord. They are quite aware of how far they can push the button. They act in a manner where irrespective of their deeds, well-placed allies will spread their narratives, make sense out of nonsense and even convince Barbadians that the island is favoured by God.

In most democratic nations, take for example the USA, if the attempt to bring vaccines into Barbados through the backdoor as occurred recently had been unearthed, those complicit in the deed would have been held accountable. But in Barbados, such will not occur because Barbadians allow it and politicians know what they can get away with.

While Government is docking the pay of hard-working, long-suffering nurses, it has agreed to pay thousands, perhaps millions, to more than a dozen policemen who lost a lawsuit against the state. And Government is making a political payment not even a court-ordered one.

Government is doing this because it knows it can get away with it because it knows the people it is governing.

Government sat with an organisation with whom it had no industrial relations dispute, made decisions with an association with whom it had not been at public loggerheads but failed to sit and come to an agreement with the union representing the nurses with whom there is an ongoing dispute. But Government did this because it knows the people it is ruling – not serving.

It knew that it could get away with such a slap in the face of the Unity membership.
    One cannot blame the Barbados Nurses Association, the National Union of Public Workers or the Barbados Worker’s Union when they appear to sit on the fence or nestle in the arms of Government in labour disputes.

The leaders of these organisations make up less than one per cent of the membership. Thus, if the membership of a labour union truly understood what trade unionism meant, members would be exiting these trade union shells with their emasculated leadership en masse.
    But leaders make these type of anti-labour decisions because they know the subjects they ‘represent’.

Last year, Jamaican investment firm Victoria Mutual Wealth Management which incurred losses in the Barbados Government’s debt restructuring programme, said that because of the pandemic our government would have difficulty paying bond holders.

It advised that rather than buy high-risk bonds, investors should be looking to sell them.
    This came after Government’s 2018 decision not to honour payments due at that time, but to defer payment in many instances for another decade.

This scuppered the immediate plans of thousands of bond holders, forcing some retirees back on the job market.

Yet in 2021, Government is looking to legislate bond payments as a replacement for cash it might owe to Barbadian citizens.

Again, if Government did not know the Bajans over whom it lords, it would not even think of enacting this legislation, notwithstanding any financial constraints it might have. But

Government’s spending over the past two years suggests there are no constraints.
    These are but a few examples of what Barbadians allow less than one per cent of the population to inflict upon them.

So, the next time you seek to blame the Government for any travails that you might be enduring, for any glaring missteps, for any anti-citizen policy, for any seemingly high-handed endeavour, for any egregious act, for any wastage or gifting of your tax dollars, please do not.

Instead, look in the mirror, point at the person staring back at you – you are doing this. Not the Government. But at least you can laugh at yourself in public.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/04/btspeakingout-you-the-people-are-to-blame/

2. DO BLACK PEOPLE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND THINK FOR THEMSELVES?

Not when they imitate the White Man and adopt his racist propaganda and cut and paste nonsense from internet

I Foo China (Alternative Dub)

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Crusoe
    Sherlockie call them nuh?
    Remember….no amount of financial reforms….without accountability…will solve anything.
    While in a financial hole, that hole was dug and enabled by circumventing, avoiding or outright refusal to comply with the rules, regulations or laws.
    Hence I hope the 1-2-3-4-5 include some Parliamentary reforms. Ya think the omission of summuch from the Republic thingie was an oversight…..or a plan?

4. Okay I have booked for a month for cropover,,,,,,get your act together

5. Lawson enjoy October.

6. Lol Frank October I booked may …now that you are a republic have you changed the holiday from the last cutting of the cane, to the first shearing of the winter tourist.

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Lawson…saw your friend yesterday…

8. David BU
    Check out the DLP Mega campaign launch @ Checker Hall, St. Lucy

Happening now…..

9. Watching it at this time. The young lady is a powerful speaker.

10. Climate change, the ash fall, have pushed harvest back to August

11. Another member of the OLD GUARD spotted.

Ince blasts Chinese housing deal
    GOVERNMENT’S DECISION to import houses from China to replace some of the housing stock destroyed by Hurricane Elsa last year has come in for heavy criticism by former Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Senator Jepter Ince.
    The former economic advisor under the Freundel Stuart administration slammed the move as a snub to local artisans.
    Ince, who fired the opening salvo at a spot meeting held by DLP candidate for St Philip North, Michael Lashley, at Lynches on Tuesday night, charged that Barbados was essentially being caught up in an effort by the Chinese Government to bail out some manufacturers there.
    “William Duguid [Minister of Housing] had the nerve to tell Barbadians that the reason why we import the houses from China is because our artisans were building too slow. Now come on, people! A minister is going to stand up and tell the people of Barbados that the reason why we are importing houses is because we are building them too slow.
    “That is an insult to every artisan, every carpenter, every mason, every painter, every electrician in this country,” said Ince.
    “It is not because of a shortage of materials, not because of shortage of money, instead it is because you all are building too slow.
    “Let me tell you something about this project. China had a collapse of some of their major construction firms and as a result of that collapse, the government is exporting what you call a financial crisis.
    “So to bail out the companies in China, they are exporting the houses so that you would have to pay in US dollars and in so doing pay those companies to keep them afloat. They found Barbados that they could send 140 40-feet
    containers in housing.”
    He also queried the length of time that the houses were taking to be erected, given that Government promised that the process would begin two weeks after arrival. He also called on Duguid to state whether reports that some of the houses do not meet the ordered specification are true.
    “I want Duguid to come and tell me that I am a liar. Stand up, say: ‘Jepter you are a liar.’ “I said it at Lynches: the houses have wrong specifications. It means that they have to go and get the right specifications to start the foundation work; nothing can be started in Six Roads.
    “In addition to that, they have to be paying between $10 000 to $12 000 per month in security,” he said.
    (CLM)

12. Game Over

DLP gone fucked up
    G A M E
    O V E R

Fuck Ince
    Fuck DLP
    Fuck Ugly Black Chinese Haters

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cpBVJXWS1mg

13. Game Over (Flip) / Lil’ Flip
    Game over
    Flip, Flip, Flip, Flip
    Flip, Flip, Flip, Flip (game over)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hbe3afyU018
    Ah shit, y’all done fucked up
    And let me in this bitch
    I’m just your average hood nigga
    With dreams of gettin’ rich (but you don’t hear me)
    My crib big like a football field
    You might fuck around and think
    I signed a football deal (but you don’t hear me)
    I take 15 minutes to drop a track (yeah)
    I take half a minute to load my gats (but you don’t hear me)
    I make em bounce all across the globe
    I’m a pimp, I got your ho
    Takin’ off her clothes (but you don’t hear me)
    A franchise like a Houston Rocket (Houston Rocket)
    Every eight months is
    When I usually drop it (but you don’t hear me)
    I got the streets on lock, I like my beats with knock
    You know my heat stay cocked, nigga

Flip, Flip, Flip, Flip
    (Game over) Flip, Flip, Flip, Flip (now who they want?)

Look, I’m a Cristal nigga and you a red-winer
    You just an opening act
    But I’m the headliner (But you don’t hear me)
    I’m about to ship 3 mil off top
    You got your deal off your man
    I got my deal off props (But you don’t hear me)
    I’m “Connected” like Dub and Mack 10
    With Ice Cubes in my watch
    And Dubs on the black Benz (But you don’t hear me)
    I’m getting paid ’cause I do all the work
    It’s rainy days if we don’t move
    All our work, we go berzerk (But you don’t hear me)
    I’m on the block fam, in the cream drop Lam
    Most of y’all cats with deals, y’all ain’t hot man (But you don’t hear me)
    I’m ’bout to do it again, you ’bout to lose it again
    It’s show and tell motherfucker, I’m a prove it again

Flip, Flip, Flip, Flip

The game over, cause shit about to change over
    It’s ’bout time cause hip-hop
    Need a make over (But you don’t hear me)
    If most producers want to charge too much
    But around my way that’s how
    You get fucked up (But you don’t hear me)
    You might think we all beats and rhymes
    But way before this rap shit, nigga
    The streets was mine (But you don’t hear me)
    I got that hot shit, that “Thug Life” ‘Pac shit
    That get hot shit, that B.I.G. “Ready to Die” shit

Flip, Flip, Flip, Flip

14. Everybody knows that this govt has lied it’s way with fancy talk and hidden PR messages
    The Chinese and big business has been the biggest beneficiaries of this govt

15. “The Chinese and big business has been the biggest beneficiaries of this govt”

Americans and Brits (the slavers of black folks industry) (warmongers against Muslims for Israel and War Industries) are now against China as they are growing

Stupid ugly fuckling negros follow white massas

16. @Fractured BLP

Your candidate for St. George South is being heavily criticized on other social media platforms.

https://twitter.com/lukeyism/status/1478901777470832640

17. TCM Traditional Chinese Medicine
    DLP Deserve another good kicking
    Bring Chinese Martial Arts Schools
    & Build up Cosmic Energy Training

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avarWDFZfZw

18. Dawn Armstrong speech hit the PM govt policies hard bulls eye statements which was needed and absolutely necessary to open the eyes of the kool-aid drinkers on govt incompetence and govt neglect for the most vulnerable
    On top.of all her statements was a crown studded sophisticated performance of confidence
    U go girl

19. Polling Pearlie Avatar

Wuhloss but ent it a ting neh, campaign now start and Mia Mockley get huff by both Verla and Afferly early a clock.

She thought she coulda pull a fast one pon de Dems calling de snap election in the middle a de covid. Hear de lovely Verla in Sin Lucy last night:

“I was receiving messages up to today saying sit out the election, don’t put de people in danger. That is what they wanted us to do. There will be no government by default once the Democratic Labour Party is alive and fighting and kicking on behalf of the people of Barbados. It is not going to happen.”

Next ting too, Afferly. All de big lotta money de Bees was spending dong in Sin Michael West to mek sure Afferly don’t get back in dong there, well now that Afferly switch to Central de Bees gotta go up in Central and spend big money again fresh. Joe gih Mia de cold sweats wid da big foot move man. She din see dah one coming.

All de big political maguffy and guru that Mia Monkey is she get outfox early a clock by Verla and Afferly. Tek it light, dis whole election gine backfire pon she! Mark my words.

This is Polling Pearlie reporting fa BU from wah part I is.

Murda! Ah gone!

20. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

MY GUESS to the general question of why these 4 are returning is that the DLP 1) could not find anybody else to run that 2) had a better hope of winning back their seats in the short term. The Freundal Stuart administration was so spectacularly bad it had a halo effect over all their individual candidates regardless of if those candidates were in the Cabinet. I suspect that just after 3 and a half years that halo effect hasn’t totally worn off. My prediction is that the even though (with the exception of Denis Lowe) these are the stronger DLP candidates the electorate in these constituencies will tell DEM to take a rest at least for the next 5 years. I think that these 3 are strong enough to withstand that halo effect and could win in future elections (as long as the DLP do not name Mr. Stuart as a possible future candidate anywhere!!!!)

21. Watched the candidate from SGN and was very impressed. Was unpleasantly surprised at the number of BLP trolls making comments.

BLP-ites on BU want to pick the DLP candidates and BLP trolls attending DLP meetings and making nasty comments.

22. The other reason DL&P is the four continue to command support in the respective constituencies.

23. BC Before Christ
    AD After Christ
    If you want to become a prophet
    Practice Kriya Yoga like Jesus did when he was 18-30

Kriyayoga – Discover Your True Self | Realize God is All in All

24. @DAvid
    The other reason DL&P is the four continue to command support in the respective constituencies.

Three of them were some of the least margins of loss based on 2018. Lowe is the outlier. Lashley is respected and loved in SPN. Sealy did a decent job as Tourism Minister and Estwick has always spoken about economic matters and went against his party more than once. They stand a decent chance. The stink of 2018 hasn’t washed off completely but a day is a long time in politics.

Just observing

25. I hardly comment on the old guards
    However I always had my suspicions that the blp strategist would have preferred to see them gone
    Not because they had any great concern of reasoning or support for the dlp President
    But because they understood that the old guards still had plenty support in their constituencies which would make the winning
    Strategy a little harder for the blp to fight
    Not at all surprise on how the blp cackling geese are responding
    They see the dlp Strategy to bring home some of the old guard as being unexpected
    Hence they are running around like chickens with heads cut off squawking and trying to sh.iit on the dlp campagain platforms

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

The slates are now fixed. The D’s pun 🔥. At least Estwick en call the NIS name causing dey brek dem already.
    Gimme a seat prediction nuh?

27. Dawn Marie brought to heel after last night.

https://www.instagram.com/tv/CYZluaihIo7/

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, whaloss LOLLLL re this Dawn Armstrong brouhaha….

I tuned in after I saw her apology so had to go search for what was so offensive … thus the LOLL.

But she called both women ‘dogs’ … that one was a more elegant breed than the other is a PROBLEM! 🤦🏾‍♂️🙉

Looka, platforms bring out ‘de dog’ in politicians and as much as the language was a tad salty I really didn’t see it as gravely offensive …

Geezus, do you recall when our very refined Dame Billie stood on a platform and allegedly ‘skin up she clothes’ with some salty verbiage to match.

(I was NOT there that night so I can only say alleged … I didn’t see nutting)

Anyhow, in the dawn of a new day the lovely fawn that is Ms Armstrong thought it prudent to apologize … although she had said she would be ‘unapologetic’ bout her Great Danes and Bulldogs.

A smart move I presume .. but you do NOT attack a bulldog like dat so she better be ready for the big bites the PM gine put in she!

Talk wha yah like but these platform performances are the folklore of local politics … to me this is quite mild as far as historical lore goes!

29. @Dee Word

She is a rookie.

Her behaviour was reminiscent of the DLP’s meeting at the Stadium last election. The party must have been advised it was the wrong tone for her to set if De Peiza wants to differentiate her women folk as less aggressive compared to the PM? What else might it be?

30. Noticed the ‘UNDERCOVER DEMS,’ especially the one who often accuse others of leaning to one side, are SLOWLY ‘coming out of the closet,’ and CLEARLY DISPLAYING their POLITICAL BIAS in the process.

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, your suggestion re “… [maybe] De Peiza wants to differentiate her women folk as less aggressive compared to the PM” id as good as any I can offer.

It’s a style option she could choose.

But frankly not sure why tho … MAM has been a ‘strong’ woman for her entire political life and she has achieved the highest position … I am unfamiliar with any particularly very ‘femme’ female who has achieved any ascendent political roles locally… nor regionally.

So just saying … that as much as that ‘bulldog’ imagery caused murmurs in the crowd and apparently flutter on social media … there is not one damn thing wrong with an aggressive female bulldog politician.

We do (mostly) love our females soft and cuddly but that’s ‘after hours’ … I don’t want a cuddly female in my legal case nor in my politics.

May the young lady retain her strong snarl throughout her political career … bite hard … bite without remorse and thus ensure she is biting effectively!

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    how you could mention the words MAM and biting (and nuff times) in the same post?

33. @DPD
    No apology necessary! Differentiation between two breeds! Defense of her FEMALE party leader.

The stink of 2018 is still alive and well. It is what it is.

34. I wish she did not apologize. She will gain nothing from BLP-ites. Now that she apologized they will bring this up at every opportunity.

Craft your script and stick to it.

35. @David January 6, 2022 5:14 PM ” if De Peiza wants to differentiate her women folk as less aggressive compared to the PM.”

What’s wrong with women being aggressive David?

Men are very, very aggressive and it has led them to the ownership of 90% of the world’s “marbles” that is stuff, land, property, company directorships, cabinet positions, Presidencies and Prime Ministerships. priesthoods, papacies etc.

Women need a lot more aggression so that they can own 52% of the world’s marbles, stuff, land, property, company directorships, cabinet positions, Presidencies and Prime Ministerships, priesthoods, papacies etc.

Not a thing wrong with female aggression.

36. @NorthernObserver January 6, 2022 7:29 PM “@DIW. how you could mention the words MAM and biting (and nuff times) in the same post?”

Likely because he is a very very naughty boy.

37. I would like to see every pope from now until 4042 be female.

But cuddlyness won’t cut it.

38. The blp have nothing to talk about
    The last two nights after prays the campagain went down hill
    Dawn comments was a straw grabber for the blp
    Sinckler gone
    Stuart gone
    Now poor Armstrong is all they can pounce on
    The blp all long talk for three years has met its match that of themselves
    In three years their highlight was buses and garbage trucks
    Oh fixing roads that when the rain drizzle became sink holes
    Let that sink in

39. She apologized because DLP management instructed her to do so. A check of Instagram and Twitter after she delivered was swamped with negative feedback, from young people!

This is about winning votes, not alienating the party from voters. It already starts at a disadvantage.

40. After watching both that DLP Armstrong addressing the crowd and Sealy’s comment in his address, it confirms that the DLP deserve……a long term in purgatory.

Armstrong was singularly unimpressive. Could only talk about being feminine and nothing constructive about policy and economic management.

Sealy ruined any perception of being balanced when he said that the DLP had done a good job in running the country.

Did he think that he was on Comedy Central?

No. Just no. Do not vote just to make an opposition.

Vote for people who actually can offer something.

The DLP candidates continue to be unimpressive.

Worrying that they actually think that their statements made sense.

Keep them far, far away from the Treasury.

You want opposition, vote for Grenville.

At least he makes good points amid the head scratchers.

41. Upgrades won’t stop Arawak rolling

There will be no stopping of cement production or supplying of it at the Arawak Cement Plant next month.
    In clarifying a report in which Attorney General Dale Marshall was quoted as stating the plant “is to be closed so that special filters to reduce the amount of dust affecting residents can be installed”, the St Lucy-based company stated yesterday that in February, upgrades and the annual major maintenance to the kiln will be carried out, but will not cause operations to stop.
    It was responding to the Midweek Nation’s Back Page story headlined Clearing The Air where Marshall was reporting on a meeting with company officials, and a representative of residents living near the plant affected by the dust.
    No stoppage
    The company stated: “It is confirmed that in February, upgrades and programmed major maintenance to our kiln will be carried out on the plant, as is done annually. Like in the past, this will not result in stoppage to the production of cement or our cement
    supply to our customers. During this time, we will continue to distribute our product and be available to customers on a regular basis.”
    For years, Checker Hall residents have complained about the dust particles that cover their homes, appliances, furniture and vehicles. People with respiratory issues have also made complaints. The issues resurfaced late last month when residents threatened to protest. (PR)

42. No curfew election night

There will be no curfew on election night.
    In a statement yesterday, Attorney General Dale Marshall explained that this was to accommodate the exigencies associated with Election Day, January 19.
    “At midnight tonight [Thursday] upon the expiration of the current COVID directive, a new . . . directive will be put in place and will last until January 31. This new directive will be very much the same as the previous recent directive, in that there will be a curfew from midnight each night until 5 a.m the following morning,” said Marshall in a statement.
    He added there will be one exception to that rule.
    “On election night there will be no curfew at all. The rationale behind it really draws from the history of our last experience on election night [in 2018] where voting was considerably delayed until well into the hours of
    the next morning. In addition to that, with our COVID numbers rising, it will be difficult to predict what will happen on election night, in relation to the slowing down of the various processes.
    “Therefore, we feel it best having considered all of the scenarios to leave the way clear for the Electoral and Boundaries Commission to do their work properly and unrushed, taking as much time as is necessary without running afoul of the directives,” Marshall said. (MB)

43. This election is treading on slippery ice
    Constitutional lawyer Garth Patterson states that a challenged to halt the elections can be rightfully presented to the court for Covid patients to vote
    Xccxcc
    This would be indeed another black eye against a govt who has skillfully used the emergency powers acts in some cases to trampled on the Constitution to suppress the Constitutional rights of citizens during COVID

44. What prevents your party (DLP) taking up the challenge? There is Ronnie Yearwood, Verla De Peiza et al qualified to do so? Could it be you prefer Caswell to do it?

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, this AC consortium are simply jokers…

As a voice of their party they offer nothing but slanderous gossip … your question shows just how ridiculous they are.

Their party have representatives on the ECB where this policy was discussed and the party leaders did NOTHING about it … NOTHING.

Yet this toady has the gall to come on a social media platform and pretend to be addressing a problem for Bajans .

Steeupse. Pure cowdung….
    “This election is treading on slippery ice […] This would be indeed another black eye against a govt who has skillfully used the emergency powers acts in some cases to trampled on the Constitution …”

It is impossible to take these jokers seriously….
    And that is really very, very painful for people like me who grew up with a strong admiration for the DLP as a party and its very smart representatives.

The party needs to get this hack far, far away from its social media feeds. They make the once powerful Rottweiler DLP look like a rabid Chihuahua: small, noisily unhinged and quite insignificant.

46. @Dee Word

You and others will note the blogmaster has not been as vocal in this forum and other platforms this time around. We are not learning from mistakes which is a sign of stupidity.

47. So……business as usual, then?

Pompesetting and pissparading on de political platform!

Everybody talking loud and saying nothing.

I heard the usual LOUD HOWLS OF APPROVAL from an enthusiastic crowd.

And yes, Artax, I too see the BU “closet” Dems coming out of the woodwork. (The closet door was always ajar, doah)

Also spotted, a few BU “closet” Bees who were better at hiding.

And poor Donna here crying that a pastor (not an Anglican priest) has been offered as her third party option.

Pastors are known for their stubbornly dogmatic religious positions designed to deprive a certain segment of Barbadians of their human rights as citizens of a NON-THEOCRACY!

Haven’t heard him yet but I betcha that poor Donna will not be able to vote for that!

But really, doah, wunnuh actually analysing and recommending campaign strategy???

Wunnuh still caught up in de crap??????

48. “This election is treading on slippery ice […] This would be indeed another black eye against a govt who has skillfully used the emergency powers acts in some cases to trampled on the Constitution …”

Well put. The disenfranchising of a segment of the population is a serious concern. No amount of fine words can paper over the denial of the vote to some.

This action more than any other has troubled me for days. We should not take actions at face value and should pry to see what motivates the action…
    Is it for public safety or is it politically motivated?
    Is this the only solution?
    Is it the best solution? – No
    Who is more likely to have covid? Could it be an older generation that favors one party?

Members of the ECB have hinted that the decision was not a final one, but to the best of my knowledge not alternative has been provided.

“This election is treading on slippery ice […] This would be indeed another black eye against a govt who has skillfully used the emergency powers acts in some cases to trampled on the Constitution …”

Leave a Reply to angela coxCancel reply