An interesting conversation point that will attract interest is the impact David Estwick, Michael Lashley, Denis Lowe and Richard Sealy will have on the 2022 general election. The four were members of the Freundel Stuart cabinet and the previous government soundly rejected by the electorate in 2018.

There is nothing unusual about defeated political candidates offering themselves to the public. To do so they must have successfully negotiated won the party requirements to win selection. Political parties are private entities after all and the membership free to select candidates of choice.

Notwithstanding the preamble a look at the four members of the old guard and what it means for the DLP’s chances on the 19 January 2022 AND beyond is a constructive discussion to have. Although decisions taken by political parties are private – obviously there is the national import.

The involvement of the four forces the ‘new’ DLP to defend old issues ventilated in the 2018 political campaign. Issues that arguably contributed to the DLP’s unprecedented defeat. Denis Lowe had the Cahill issue and the blogmaster expressed concerns about him being a Peter Allard stooge of Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary fame, David Estwick’s public disagreements with former minister of finance Chris Sinckler, Michael Lashley’s questionable association with Trans-Tech etc. The big question for the political pundits – is the risk reward ratio calculated in favour of the Verla De Peiza led DLP?

Onlookers must surmise that the DLP conducted private polling to test the water in the four constituencies and the DLP executive was satisfied with the results. The unknown is whether the involvement of the four will negatively impact the national swing percentage. The size of the swing margins in the majority of constituencies the 2018 general election were large and the DLP will not want to make decisions to compromise the swing pendulum away from the BLP this time around. Another unknown is the extent the pandemic will have on voter turnout as it relates to the respective bases. Disillusioned DLP members opted out from voting in 2018, some may have voted BLP. Then there are the independents many who may decide to avoid the risk of standing in gatherings for reason of health safety. A cohobblopot of issues which the usual talking heads will try to make simple for a susceptible electorate.

The reality is that Barbadians are comfortable with the 2-party system that exists as it is in many countries. It should be obviously if we want the transformative changes in the economy, education, energy and water generation, waste management and others, like minded Barbadias will have to infiltrate the two main political parties to help with accelerating change in the national interest.

The blogmaster is of the opinion returning the four to the fold is a mistake not for the reasons mentioned but the threat to De Peiza’s fragile leadership hold on the ‘new’ DLP.

127 responses to “Return of the Old Guard”

1. It was, as I imagine was the intention of many, not to vote this time around. I gave the government a cheque for five years and if they chose to cash it after only three and one half years, well so be it. This development changes that completely. The four of these pretenders should not even be allowed into the precincts of Parliament and any lossibility that either one of them has a chance to cast a shadow in the hallowed halls of that esteemed building makes me shudder. I would vote for the late Fidel Castro before I would vote for any one of them and without a doubt, the government of the day will be granted a renewal of my vote. The DLP will never in my mind be an alternative government while they are forced to offer the likes of this scourge as candidates once again.

2. But to be a ‘Fair’ player, wasn’t the same Sealy deemed a very successful minister of tourism?

Didn’t Barbados record the highest number of tourist arrivals during his tenure with the construction of Sandals the crown of achievement?

How about the number of ‘new-look’ hotels conceived during his tenure but are still in the delivery pipeline like the Hyatt erection?

Sealy- although washed in the south cost sewage- could be the next leader of the Opposition in the new Parliament and the inevitable leader of the DLP (without the scars of debt default and devaluation) to take it into the subsequent general elections of 2023 or 2024 when Bajans can’t ‘ tek na more’ the effects of the coming Devaluation as played out in Jamaica in the 1980’s.

During these general elections MAM needs to level with the people and warn them of the pending hardships and material sacrifices which must be made if her moral and political integrity is to be written ‘fairly’ on the new republic’s pages of history.

3. @Miller

He stinks of south coast feces made stinker by cabinet collective responsibility?

4. Soundclash Round 2
    I Roy Vs Roy Samuel Reid Dreadzone

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lbQUuQpECb4

5. Rootsman

6. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Thankfully I not in any of their constituencies otherwise I would be forced to change my mind against voting and risk catching COVID to come out and vote against them.

I personally like Estwick and Sealy style but as they sat idly by and went along with all the shenanigans during the DLP’s last term in office so they were just as responsible under the collectively responsible doctrine and must never again see the hallowed halls of parliament.

The only DLP candidate I would like to see get a seat is Ryan Walters.

7. A few good candidates on the DLP slate albeit they are not household names. Hopefully they have put in the ground work and the shorter coat tail of Mottley combined with an adverse national swing this time around will wash DLP candidates into parliament.

8. The timing, circumstances and covid concerns around the election makes it one of the most unpredictable in terms of turnout, voter apathy and real mood. People just ain’t checking!

These four definitely share collective responsibility for 2018, but, are liked in their constituency as representatives (except Lowe) and were chosen. We shouldn’t crucify Verla for that. There are 26 other candidates with 21 completely new ones. That should count for some measure of change.

I note your ending David about being concerned for “other reasons.” Might we have an Eager Three on our hands???

9. Was DLP given adequate warning to get ready to put up their team. Foul or Fowl in a Lil Island?!
    Dubwise
    Selector
    Roots Music

Back to my Roots
    The Rootsman way
    That’s where we play

10. @Observing

It is all speculative but politics can take a turn as you know. For the four or part there off to attempt a destabilizing of the DLP, it would not be viewed favourably by the general public. The key will be for De Peiza to win St. Lucy.

11. Polls taken gave the party the go ahead to include them in the line up

12. And that is the reason for the miraculous Big Works maneuvre with the Arawak Cement Plant.

But what does Arawak have to gain now? That is the question!

13. Miller,

Country currency devaluation is not coming. That would be idiocy.

Individual asset devaluation however….

Dear Kaiso folk,

Looking forward to yuh chune,

J Bond ( I ain’t no James Bond).

Its not what yuh country can do fuh you.

Its what yuh can do fuh yuh country.

As Gearbox would opine “Rahaaaaaaa”

14. Anyway, my voting dilemma has been solved. The PM has promised to save me two hundred and fifty dollars a year in land tax.

And my son is promised $3000 out of the people’s taxes to ensure that lawyers get paid fo petty paperwork done when he purchases his house and land.

Low hanging fruit being picked. The latter offering is sour.

Not much of a giveaway!

No sign 0f the transformative agenda yet!

15. Crusoe,

Good one! Bond, Jobby Bond.

16. Chris Sinckler was the face of the hardships during the last government. He was accused of being in bed with mark Maloney. The present Prime Minister rehabilitates him on some economic council to the displeasure of George Payne who asked her to apologize to Barbadians for that move. He was part of that collective cabinet but is now accepted, therefore all of the others have a right as Barbadians to stay involved in the short memory politics of Barbados.

17. @ David January 5, 2022 8:36 AM

He stinks of south coast feces made stinker by cabinet collective responsibility?
    (Unquote).

He might have been washed in the political shit of the bull called the SC sewage but he also has been vindicated and forgiven by the same Damascene MAM whose Red Bag of evidence has turned out to be nothing more than a mirage of naked political opportunism.

Even Malmoney, having taken his own home-made vaccine jab of a scam, might be prepared (again) to back Sealy.

If not Sealy for the LoO, then who?

Another ‘red’ Judas since Atherley has committed electoral hari-kari?

How about making the ‘purer’ Stinkliar a senator (to replace Moe) to be appointed a minister (and not a mere advisor) in the pending season of far-reaching economic adjustment?

After all, the man has the requisite credentials and experience to advise MAM on how to survive the coming storm.

Karma is indeed a real bitch called the Vengeance of God of politics!

18. William Skinner Avatar

I wrote on this blog less than 24 hours ago that we continue to make excuses for those lording over us who know better. For years the people in St.Lucy were suffering economic and health costs , associated with the cement plant. Lots of pretty talk but little or nothing was done.
    Now, on the eve of a snap election the plant will be closed and action taken.
    And we get here everyday protecting theses frauds and singing their praises. Shameless apologists, propagandists and obstructionists, professing our great love for the country while being complicit and duplicit with the shenanigans of the BLP and DLP.
    Why not have about a thousand or so snap elections and repair a problem each time.
    BS in BS out.

19. @Miller

Good question, put the names in a hat?

20. I wrote on this blog less than 24 hours ago that we continue to make excuses for those lording over us who know better. For years the people in St.Lucy were suffering economic and health costs , associated with the cement plant. Lots of pretty talk but little or nothing was done.
    Now, on the eve of a snap election the plant will be closed and action taken.
    And we get here everyday protecting theses frauds and singing their praises. Shameless apologists, propagandists and obstructionists, professing our great love for the country while being complicit and duplicit with the shenanigans of the BLP and DLP.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

HIGHLIGHTS THE REAL IDIOCY ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND WHERE COMMON SENSE TO MANY LOCALS BLACKS ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND IT SEEMS IS NOT COMMON.

I PUT THEM ON THE SAME LEVEL AS THE TRUMP VOTERS.

21. @ David re ” cabinet collective responsibility? “Does this apply to the current BLP Government ?

22. @WS, Would the closing of the cement plant have anything to do by chance, with repaying the millions lost by a scammer and lost through a vaccine purchase gone bad rather than because of the health of people? If the plant is closed, guess who will get to supply the tons and tons of cement required for building.

23. When it comes to single issue voting the Spliff Agenda has the best melodies

24. @Hants

Why should it not include the BLP?

25. Sahalé – Nlreb Mra Alrrih (Playing With The Wind)

26. @FearPlay

It is a temporary halt scheduled for February through August to replace filters and other repairs. It is not permanent.

The question is why has it taken so long to respond? There is a BU blog highlighting this problem by Birchmoore Griffith in 2014.

27. William Skinner Avatar

@ Fearplay
    I can’t answer that but when I sit here and read the pathetic excuses being made for these people who lord over us, I realise how close we are to some megalomaniac rising up from among us and turning our country into some playground for a few while the vast majority of people, who are black, become nothing more than modern day economic slaves.
    But, why the hell should we worry, they are megalomaniacs all over the world.

28. @ Crusoe January 5, 2022 9:53 AM

So what can be of such earth-shattering importance as to force a very popular (and parliamentary-safe PM) to call, during a serious public health pandemic, for such early elections not Constitutionally due for 18 months?

Another debt default to pay White Oaks more money?

Or the dismissal of 5,000 public sector workers along with the divestment of all commercially-run SOE’s like the BWA?

How else can the IMF impose a massive curb on the propensity of Bajans to live
    in a cocoon of conspicuous consumption based not on measurable foreign currency earnings but on borrowing foreign money?

How can Barbados, giving the hard economic times, continue to have its Mickey mouse dollar fixed at a peg of 2:1 vis-à-vis the Greenback while the currency exchange values of its major shareholder countries, T&T & Jca, are way lower than that?

29. Is it too much to ask for opposition parties and incumbent to debate the 16th Actuarial report addressing the important NIS fund?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/05/actuarial-report-calls-for-urgent-reforms-to-keep-scheme-going/

30. Use your breath and the vocabulary we have created thus far to fall into your flow state today.

The more we are able to recognize and move in our flow state, the more capable we are of aligning our attention and energy with the best parts of ourselves, and the person that we aspire to be.

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@FearPlay that’s a serious allegation of corrupt action … sounds quite nice of a ‘nasty tricks’ political money scam but 1) even if it’s valid then 2) who benefits if not both main political groups … as the alleged beneficiary monetarily supports them both (when in power).

This do you actually perceive that there would be ‘real’ hue and cry! 🙈🤦🏾‍♂️

@David re “[t]he question is why has it taken so long to respond? There is a BU blog highlighting this problem by Birchmoore Griffith in 2014”

You say 2014 but I had my sojourns to Maycock’s Bay eons before the 2000s and the plant was there then … and the dust issues were a problem then … so to your point this ‘fix’ must be part of their supposedly ‘regular’ cleaning process – just expedited by political whims- … because it certainly can’t be any definitive FIX re the cement residual dust that’s been a problem since the opening of that plant!

And @Skinner, you are as funny as @Tron with his satirical rants … yours just strip the satire for a hard-core facetiouness 🤣

Wha your mean “, I realise how close we are to some megalomaniac rising up from among us and turning our country into some playground for a few …”

Hasn’t that been the case for many a year now … Fah damn sure the second part has been re “while the vast majority of people, who are black, become nothing more than modern day economic slaves.”

When we read about working to get “our pensions” and when you endlessly write about the ‘efficacy’ of the duopoly on a seemingly pliant peeps is there ANY DOUBT that we are all just *”modern day slaves.” tied to our economic survival!

Peace out.

32. So last night Mia mounted her horse called A Promise is a Comfort to a fool
    Made a promised to the youth of land tax breaks and subsides when they buy their first home
    How many youth can afford to buy a home is these poor economic times when unemployment is high
    Mia teks bajans for fools

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, re “Is it too much to ask for opposition parties and incumbent to debate the 16th Actuarial report addressing the important NIS fund?”

No it isn’t, but when u told me to get real some days ago when there was talk of merged parties being successful I accepted the slap down !

You should here too 😇

Which part of NIS and actuarial calculations seems ‘real sexy’ political debate to you in a 2 week campaign rush to voting day!!!!

Of course it may be mentioned and exposed by a candidate or two but you REALLY expect that granny bloomer pants matter to be an attention grabber like all the g-string under yoga pants issues in full view!

Time for you to get real, bro!

34. @Dee Word

Why would the APP at minimum not have this as an issue? What can excuse the two main parties because they are complicit in the misuse and abuse of the NIS fund.

35. William Skinner Avatar

@ dPd
    Your are in fine form 👍🏿👍🏿

36. @ Miller January 5, 2022 10:36 AM

Of course, a currency devaluation would be a godsend and, economically speaking, absolutely necessary. Our Supreme Leader could sell this to the naive masses as the “New Republican Dollar” (NRD).

Nevertheless, it won’t happen because it would open up an income gap between the lazy, fat civil servants and the industrious workers in the tourism sector. The former would get their salary in worthless NRD, the latter in USD.

Or we introduce the USD as official currency. The civil servants would then have to prostitute themselves to buy basic goods. The changeover would not be great, since they sleep on the job anyway, i.e. work lying down in Caribbean style.

37. Old politicians never die, they don’t even fade away in Barbados (with a nod to the folks behind the stanza and Gen D MacArthur). You can find them in the Senate on any quasi political/Gov’t run boards or the fringes of anything that reeks of politics.

@David, I had you pegged as an honest broker but this column could have been written (with a few changes) on the eve of the last Election with the spotlight on the BLP. Speaking of “Old Guard” they even had a clique that voted out the then leader in favour of the former leader and one candidate called another a thief. Politicians are forgiven for the mistakes they make (at least by their Parties) how else can one comprehend that Marshall has held the AG job longer than any other person and still makes elementary mistakes? Didn’t Payne undertake a vow of silence after being fired by Arthur only to be revived by Mottley and fired again (BTW is that some sort of record a Minister being fired twice by different PM’s)

Anyway, my point is that Parties choose their candidates, and it is up to the Electorate to accept or reject them, instead of the “Old Guard” above the DLP could have fielded some unknowns and the headline would be different, perhaps the “Old Guard” above would say that age and experience trumps youth and inexperience.

BTW the last time the DLP changed a leader mid stream it led to Electoral success

38. It is all about the spirit Jah know
    All people have an energy that you feel when they enter a room
    and also have an energy when they leave the room and pass away and their Spirit rises
    I call on all the Spirits of all Living and Dead Barbadians to rise up and fight in this election
    I Do Voodoo (Ethernal Dub)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KP_TlEDspxQ&list=OLAK5uy_nFZ97F56JBltR_5K3LrYryhBAVeBF9-KI

39. @Sargeant

How many blogs posted by the blogmaster about the issues you raised and others? Good that BU Archives is always present to dispel silly season dementia.

40. I would have liked to see Donville Inniss run for office. Or better, he should run for the Democrats in the USA. Given the facts that a significant proportion of so-called minorities there have been in jail at least once in their lives, his biography would fit in well there.

41. @ Donna
    Arawak cement plant have to get above board if not the supreme leader will order them to close. With the so called projects coming, all for mac money cement

42. I Concur

“But to be a ‘Fair’ player, wasn’t the same Sealy deemed a very successful minister of tourism?”

+++++++

Sealy did his job during his reign.

2017 a Record Year for Barbados Tourism.

Barbados Tourism: Air Arrivals Up 5%, Cruise Arrivals Up 12.9% For 2017

International Transport has announced that Barbados enjoyed a record 5% increase in stay-over arrivals last year, an all-time high for the destination.

Over the course of 2017, de Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA) welcomed 663,441 visitor arrivals – 31,308 more than 2016. The Bridgetown Port Inc. (BPI) also observed tremendous growth, recording 818,752 cruise arrivals over the previous year’s 725,020, for a total increase of 12.9%. Of these 818,752 cruise arrivals, some 137,541 passengers stayed over in Barbados, above 2016’s total of 130,924.

“I am delighted by this news and what it says about Barbados’ tourism product,” said Sealy. “It is never easy as a mature tourism destination to maintain growth at these levels in the competitive business landscape in which we operate, but I am pleased that through strategic marketing efforts we have once again proven Barbados’ value as shown by the record number of arrivals at both the air and sea ports throughout 2017.”

The United Kingdom was once again the top producer of arrivals to Barbados with a 33.5% market share. Arrivals from this market were flat compared to 2016, totaling 222,322. The United States followed, contributing 28.4% of business with 188,970 arrivals for the year. Canada contributed 12.8% of the business, and recorded an increase of 7.9% or 85,209 arrivals.

Sealy did an outstanding JOB during his Reign as Minister of Tourism. It’s also fair to say the world 🌎 weren’t at war with a Covid Pandemic either.

SPADE ♠️

43. @ Tron
    January 5, 2022 12:19 PM

Devaluation ?

Lordie lordie !!!

That won’t be an easy Sell. Bajans like to walk around de world and tell people dem dollar is attached to de US 💴.

Wee 2 Proud 🥲

44. @Miller, Significant structural changes methinks.

@Donna, Of course no sign of the transformative changes. Yuh want de peoples wid nuff money to run to certain oppositions with bags of election cream cash? And de rest tuh turn to White rum by the gallon.

Mark my words…transformation is coming.

How do I know? I dont. But as de Bajan Sherlockie Holmes, I does deduct it.

And I agree wid Lord Miller. Sumting big on the way.

Just be that he an I may have alternative views on content.

Makes sense, Dear Watson?

As the seer used to say…”Raaahhaaaaa”.

45. Tuh be clear… I can see logical things, depending on your outlook.

Significant things that could go a long way to push positive change.

But there will be a price. And many will not be happy. But it may also make her very popular.

But I wull not list them, because I could be wrong.

And it would send too many a wunna to de rumshop, when yuh should be relaxing wunna self at home.

And to reiterate, no way would I implenent without extending the parliamentary term either.

Too significant.

46. @ Dirt Farmer January 5, 2022 1:14 PM

Of course, against all reason, our government will not devalue. Our masses are financially illiterate, just like megalomaniac Barrow. No wonder, the leap from plantation labour to a service society happened too fast. A plantation worker in a suit is not a financial manager, but still a plantation worker.

That is why we will not achieve any economic growth in the long run, because we are no longer competitive.

47. @ Crusoe January 5, 2022 1:22 PM

“But I wull not list them, because I could be wrong.”

++++

List them. BU Community Ruffled .

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

At least, kudos to the frequently hibernating Fourth Estate for raising the NIS in Silly Season.
    Not a topic which will get any traction. Your blogs confirm that.
    I propose the PM cease this cm by cm tinkering which has been ongoing for the last decade, pull the plug and begin again.
    I gone

49. @NO

It was refreshing to see the reasonably lengthy article on the NIS.

50. @Tron,

Doan worry, we gine be real competitive, at least fuh food, soon enough.

Lol.

Sumbuddy buy Tron a flask or two of white rum and a pet bottle of coke.

But when tings done and the four major changes are disclosed (Sherlockie guess at lease three, maybe four), he may drink de rum straight, not even pun de rocks.

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply