For the first time in his life the blogmaster is overwhelmed by a feeling of melancholy after following the opening salvo of the January 19, 2022 general election campaign. A general election called eighteen months before it is constitutionally due because Prime Minister Mia Mottley in her infinite wisdom wants a mandate from the electorate to validate important decisions she says have to be made given the perilous state of the local economy. Many if not all Barbadians agree the current state of the economy is perilous, not all agree the early ringing of the bell was necessary given the unprecedented mandate the BLP received in 2018. Time will soon tell if Barbadians agree with Mottley in our first past the post system.

In the electioneering of the 70’s, 80’s and early 90’s the blogmaster felt excited at the prospect of hopping from meeting to meeting listening to BLP and DLP platforms add Eric Fly and a few independents to balance things out. While the messages from the various platforms were filled with the usual comedic relief, there was enough grist to inform healthy debate between loyal party supporters and independents. 

Last night the blogmaster wasted precious time to view the opening platforms of the two campaigns and a saying growing in popularity on BU – Nothing to See Here (NTSH) was fresh in the mind. The apologists will remind everyone that it is early days yet, however, the blogmaster subscribes to the view that usually one does not get a second chance to make a good first impression. Predictably overused narratives populated the speeches by the candidates last night. The tired messages contradicted the urgency of the call for early elections by the prime minister BUT the blogmaster maybe jumping the gun on the early pronouncement.

What the blogmaster and some others are hoping to hear is a creative strategy/vision supported with ground tactics to steer Barbados from the economic rocks we are headed. Barbadians have been living high on the hog up until about 20 years ago given the nature of the global economy- easy forex inflows from tourism and high powered money to the West Coast with the international business sector supporting the economic model that has served us well up until now. North south capital flow is drying up given the complexity of moving money across borders post 911 and deepening, polarizing geopolitics. The exotic destination of the Caribbean is now competing with UAE, Mediterranean, Central America other non traditional markets. The rise of WTO rules has meant protective tariff had to be removed with large countries in the market maintaining an advantage.

The message to Mia is simple. Let us forget the extreme politics this time around and position the national needs first. Yes you are admired as a political leader who strides the globe like a colossus. Yes you are head and shoulder above the next on the local scene. Yes you have done a lot to remind locals and other afar of the forgotten Barbados brand. Yes you are an improvement on Stuart who apparently didn’t have use for an internet connection. What the people need however is to believe that there is a leadership with the ability to find a pathway that leads from the present path to nowhere. We need to efficiently execute our plans because we have no more margin for error.

119 responses to “Message to Mama Mia”

1. What you are saying is the old model of Barbados is obsolete
    and a new model is required

throw away old beat up boots
    and buy some new boots

2. It is good to know that the editor of this platform is singing the praises of our Supreme Leader.

However, he should know that the purpose of these elections is not to let the dull masses vote on anything substantial. Rather, according to the motto of “bread and games,” the purpose is to anesthetize the masses for the coming cuts. They have lived like little children at the expense of their rich relatives in the north since 1966. Now it’s payday.

3. Money is choices
    it is not true Barbados has no money
    it just has to spend money wisely
    and stop wasting money
    a little goes a long way

4. A harsh critic would say Mia has reached the limit of her potential
    and she will need to explain her vision for the future

Politicians say they do not wish to reveal their secrets
    when they have nothing

It is too late for me to run
    but I could run the country better

A Rasta Nation
    Arts and Crafts
    Denouncing Capitalism
    and all ism and schism

5. @Tron

Our BLOGMASTER removed his RED undies quickly after MM showed her inept management style SHORTLY after the 30-0 . My question is he now going BAREBACK?

6. “My question is he now going BAREBACK?”

I think you have used the wrong metaphor

Bareback is gay/anal sex without a condom

Going Commando is taking your knickers off

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu
    Blessed is he that does not expect too much for he shall not be disappointed. I hope your sensible pundits revise their predictive models before Election Day. It is a nice feeling that you have experienced my prognosis.

8. I showed up at the Nomination Centre yesterday at high noon.

Nobody came to add their names to the assent, proposal or seconding.

Explained to the Presiding Officer that people did not want to be in the limelight but he very kindly held on for a while.

He told me he would let them use the back door and their names didn’t have to be published.

That’s not how I wanted to proceed.

So after a while I left with my three supporters.

We have a major problem in Barbados when people are wary of taking part in the election process for fear of victimisation..

9. So, I lost my deposit!!

10. Even Independents need a large campaign team willing to get their hands dirty

11. Any candidate, independent or not needs four persons to start the election process, that’s all.

After that, any number can play!!

12. @blogmaster

Sometimes we have to use our critical thinking skills to pick sense from nonsense. As you point out, the current BLP administration received an unprecedented 30-0 victory in the last elections. It’s impossible for them to receive a greater victory. If the election has been called 18 months early because Mia wants a new “mandate from the electorate to validate important decisions she says have to be made given the perilous state of the local economy”, wouldn’t she cearly outline these important decisions to the electorate so that they would know what they are voting for?

13. @ Wily Coyote January 4, 2022 9:32 AM

The mental deficit of the so-called intellectuals in Barbados is the delusion that they can pray for prosperity or economic growth by what they call “education”, singing, clapping hands, voting or whatever.

Let me put it bluntly: the IMF, our international creditors and the hotel plantation managers don’t give a damn about elections or local “education”.

All we have is sun, sand and rum. Since the maximum productivity has already been reached here, there is no possibility whatsoever to achieve any economic growth. 20 years ago, we were among the top 30 countries in terms of HDI, income and other indicators. Now, many African countries have even overtaken us.

The only sensible reform I can think of at the moment is to reduce the number of students at UWI. We don’t need phonies, we need more workers for the hotel plantations. In the civil service, on the other hand, there is no hope at all. It is unreformable.

14. “Any candidate, independent or not needs four persons to start the election process, that’s all.”

you can ignore the point made if you want if it makes you feel better

that is low quality reasoning thinking and debating son

15. @ Tee White January 4, 2022 10:14 AM

Why should our Supreme Leader reveal in advance what austerity measures or compulsory vaccination are coming? The butcher does not tell the cow in advance that it will be slaughtered.

16. “to validate important decisions she says have to be made given the perilous state of the local economy“

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxccxcxxxxxxxx

When did Mia indicate that the local economy was in a perilous state ?

17. We must pray what NO has been hinting at re bail-in does not happen in this country. Would a passive Bajan massive riot in response to an attack on the 9 billion in the banking system.

18. “The mental deficit of the so-called intellectuals in Barbados is the delusion that they can pray for prosperity or economic growth by what they call “education”, singing, clapping hands, voting or whatever.”

politic is a spectator sport to subdue the masses like football

people like marching down the street wearing team shirts singing and starting fights like football hooligans

your team winning is like the best orgasm you will ever have

19. Page 3 of today’s Nation@John2

20. “re bail-in”

Barbados is in a debt management plan paying it’s creditors on renegotiated terms keeping them happyish / well satisfied

if it cannot maintain the long term pain the next stage is declaring bankruptcy/insolvency defaulting terms and dropping out of the game

21. Don’t have access

@david

22. @John

A pity that you couldn’t contest the Election, I’m sure that some people could have used your water theories as a sleeping aid and I already had a slew of names ready for your campaign and you venturing down so many Rabbit Holes how about ; Water Ship Down-The sequel; Water Ship Crashed; Water Ship Evaporate; Water Ship Mired in sewage; Water Ship Flooded; Water Ship on the Reef; Water Ship Lost; Water Sship Mek um up as I go along; Water Ship- Corona on the rise…….

23. @ David January 4, 2022 10:28 AM

Of course, we are bankrupt once again. Didn’t I predict that the IMF programme in 2018 and the sovereign default would be followed by more collapses? We already had 3 official and 1 inofficial IMF programmes. MANY MORE will follow.

Barbados is simply not viable as a state. The British set a trap for Barrow in 1966 and he fell into it. The financially illiterate Barrow simply could not see that the British only wanted to get rid of us because we were running a notorious deficit.

However, however …

As long as there is enough champagne to buy and fresh water flowing into the swimming pool, we should not care about the local currency, the NIS or the like.

24. “Yes you are admired as a political leader who strides the globe like a colossus.”
    Do you really believe that line?
    Does she have a globe in her office?

25. Boss lady is reported to have said:

““We expect the Royalton Hotel in Holetown where the old Discovery Bay was to break ground within the first two months of 2022. We expect Hyatt finally to break ground as well. We expect the Pierhead project within the first six months in Bridgetown to break ground. We expect a new townhouse project next year at Porters in St James. We expect a very large Cineplex and commercial centre at Welches in St James and you see the work digging out there for it. We expect a green energy park at Vaucluse, subject now only to the tariffs that will be applicable to get that project off the ground and going.”

“This is not Mia Mottley saying this for political gain…So believe you me, I am not worried about the economic revival as we go into 2022, that is not my major concern going into next year.”

26. I am willing to end my retirement and return.lol

27. Apologies to the blogmaster for interrupting the flow.

28. @kiki
    Bareback is to Commando as dropping out is to restarting.

29. Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley warned there could be no delaying of elections due to the pandemic, of which the highly contagious strain Omicron was detected here last month.
    “We can’t delay anymore because the issues that the country has to grapple with have to be dealt with now because we can’t wait another 18 months,” she said, warning that to wait would mean the country and the people would pay the price.

30. warning that to wait would mean the country and the people would pay the price……
    Correction
    warning that to wait would mean her re-election would be far more difficult.

31. William Skinner Avatar

A crocodile could not have done better writing this piece. Pretend Tears.

32. Steuspe, the blogmaster does not write to please you. He writes what his conscience bids him to do and is so entitled.

33. “Bareback is to Commando as dropping out is to restarting.”

in order to skillfully swing the discussion thread in the right direction back to the matter in hand instead of swerving off road into bushes and the rough I will say…

the Kinky BLP Party election platform man date proposal is like hardcore BDSM
    (… abbreviation for bondage, discipline (or domination), sadism (or submission), masochism: sexual activity …)
    (… sex slavery and pain has come back again..)

34. David

Listen to the video u posted at 506pm yesterday and u will get an idea

For her to say at this time the economy is in a perilous state would be like saying all she/ her team has done has failed.
    She is not that foolish to give that to the opposition

35. It is implied, she doesn’t have to spell it out.

36. Wow
    David BU

Finally experienced a ‘ Damascus moment ‘last night as PM Mottley launched the BLP general election campaign.

Imagine PM Mottley called the ge and said …. ” there are perillous days ahead of Barbados”

So last night….
    Not a word about these perillous – times / things !

Not a word about the nurses plight !

Yet Mrs Suderland – Bynoe at the QEH….is in the press , today , saying the last weekend was bad due to the shortage of nurses at the QEH !

Not a word about taking up taxpayers money and paying police officers who have lost their case – twice – in the Law Courts !

Not a word about the Radical Investments – vaccine scam -……when court documents in Florida , USA…..show that RI was at all material times was acting as – the agent of the Government of Barbados !

(source page 4A and back page Sunday Sun December 2 2022)

But I leave it all to David BU…….to get the details from PM Mottley !

Good luck !!!@

37. @DAvid
    “The message to Mia is simple. Let us forget the extreme politics this time around and position the national needs first. ”

Mia cannot forget extreme politics. She and it are kith and kin

@Frank
    “warning that to wait would mean her re-election would be far more difficult.”

CORRECT! One would think that with a 29-1 majority on could make all the tough decisions in teh best interests of the country and LEAD! Instead, one decided to pull up stumps and throw us in disarray in the midst of the SAME omicron that one blames for one’s snap call.

38. Correction
    Sunday Sun January 2, 2022

Not

December

39. @Fractures BLP

Give us your predictions. How will big man Sealy do against Caddle?

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Observing
    She maybe many things, but she isn’t stupid.

41. The message to Mia is simple. Let us forget the extreme politics this time around and position the national needs first. Yes you are admired as a political leader who strides the globe like a colossus

Xxxxxxxxxx

BY WHOM.

SOME PEOPLE NOT LIVING IN THE REAL WORLD.

COLOSSUS LEADERS FIRST CHANCE DO NOT GO STRAIGHT IN THE HANDS OF THE INTERNATIONAL MONETARY FUND (IMF) WHICH IS LAST RESORT FOR MAJOR COUNTRY FAILURES.

ALSO TRAVELING AROUND GLOBALLY BEGGING AND BORROWING WHILST MOANING AND GROANING IS A SURE SIGN OF COLOSSUL FAILURE AS A LEADER

42. expect the Pierhead project within the first six months in Bridgetown to break ground

Xxxxxxxxx

SOUNDS LIKE THE 6 MONTHS MINIMUM WAGE HIKE FOR POOR WORKING CLASS BAJANS THAT TOOK 3 YEARS TO DO.

SOUNDS LIKE THE INTEGRITY LEGISLATION THAT WAS PROMISED IN 6 MONTHS 3 1/2 YEARS LATER STILL NOT IN PLACE.

SOUNDS LIKE LOCKING UP DLP MINISTERS UPON GETTING ELECTED AND GOING AFTER MARK MALONEY INCLUDING FOR THE DEATH OF THE 12 YEAR OLD BLACK SCHOOL BOY.

BAJANS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND MUST BE AMONG THE MOST STUPIDEST IN THE WORLD TO BE MADE FALSE OVER AND OVER AGAIN PROMISES AND CONTINUE TO VOTE LIKE BLIND SHEEP TO THE SLAUGHTER.

43. David BU

My honest prediction – I just want a larger opposition ,( i.e numbers) in Parliament.

With regards to Richard Sealy vs Ms Caddle

Sealy’s chances are good

If one is to take into account his association with the constituency from around 2003

But it is a general election …..all things are possible

44. Just as the results of the last election was used by the ruling party to justify having been given a mandate by the people to declare Barbados a Republic, even though that was not stated in the campaigning, we are now being told that tough time lie ahead and a vote for the BLP is a mandate to take whatever steps are necessary in order to come to grips with the challenges. And just as a Republic has been declared without the rules of engagement being declared in advance, we are again being asked to give a mandate to face unknown challenges and to take unknown steps to do so. How fu**ing stupid do they think we are?

45. @FearPlay

We will know on 20 January 2022?

46. @ Reality

“The message to Mia is simple. Let us forget the extreme politics this time around and position the national needs first. Yes you are admired as a political leader who strides the globe like a colossus. Yes you are head and shoulder above the next on the local scene. Yes you have done a lot to remind locals and other afar of the forgotten Barbados brand. Yes you are an improvement on Stuart who apparently didn’t have use for an internet connection. What the people need however is to believe that there is a leadership with the ability to find a pathway that leads from the present path” ………To somewhere exciting with fulfillment.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

As de Flogmaster would say “Spot On Davie, Spot On.”

47. That short clip that the Blogmaster posted, of the PM speaking, said a lot.

From that, I expect significant socioeconomic structural changes.

No doubt, much will be met with resistance and it may confirm the “why”, now.

But I think it is not what many are thinking, or not just that.

I expect some jaws to drop come the President’s speech on, what, January 21st, 22nd?

Or even, symbolically, in Errol Barrow Day?

Maybe I am wrong, maybe not. In any case, some major measures are coming.

48. David et al,

The nature of the structural adjustments that I am speculating about would indicate that the intent could not be released now.

If it is as I suspect, I can understand the reasoning for such adjustment.

Believe you me, the whole may not be possible without being whole.

Sorry, could not resist the first part and the riddle is quite simple.

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

Before @MTA jumps on it…
    Five Star Publishers has announced its taking pre-release orders for the new book ( seems like everyone is writing books?) “The Republic’s New Clothes” by Mia A Mottley. The release date is Jan 22, 2022. (I believe there is some latent significance to all the 2’s)

Leave a Reply to FrankCancel reply