Concern has been perennially expressed about the distress members of the legal fraternity visit on the lives of citizens of Barbados. Although the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) and the Disciplinary Committee have grounding in law to discipline the profession, there is little evidence lawyers who run afoul of the laws are satisfactorily sanctioned.

We are a nation of laws enacted to protect the rights of citizens from those willing to abuse said laws. It therefore goes without saying we need lawyers to represent us to ensure equity based system design. What we need to get right is to implement a framework where actors in the legal system can be held accountable.

The following paints another sad tale of a man, WREN HERBERT, from West Terrace who took advantage of a situation and to date despite the best effort of the person abused (AV), WREN HERBERT has gone unpunished. This is despite communications to the BBA. From the blogmaster’s research Wren Herbert appears not to be a practicing attorney at this time, he was. He is the brother of the infamous Caroline Herbert.

See report received via COMPLAINTS ——> LAWYERS.

Submitted by AV

Unethical and Dishonest Conduct-Wren Herbert Attorney-at-Law

I am aware that nothing will result from the following which I am outlining, concerning Wren Herbert. However, for the record, I still wish to detail an issue of integrity which should remain extremely concerning for any country when significant numbers of its lawyers fail to act with integrity and trustworthiness. These lawyers elude accountability because of the structures which fail to recognize that it is essential and important for lawyers to be honest and behave lawfully.

It is possible that Wren Herbert may already have been removed from the Bar Association. I was unable to gain information on this because it is extremely painful on soliciting information from any governmental or official body in Barbados when overseas, even emails go unanswered; one encounters a ‘brick wall experience.’

This ‘brick wall’ is all constructed on the basis of, the ‘judging’ of the individual who is seeking the information; drawing conclusions about the individual’s perceived circumstances and actions, a very ‘subjective’ stance is adopted. This ‘judging’ is then evident in non-responses or lack of desired actions from the governmental body the information is being solicited from. Rather than acting as a professional public body should, the actions of governmental and public bodies’ non-responding and non-action, are personally rooted and can inadvertently support the unlawful conduct of lawyers, totally concealing their actions or lack thereof.

Concomitant to this, the country’s development in terms of justice, is hindered and in the eyes of the world, it comes to be seen as corrupt; all engineered by systems that are links in the chain which strengthen unfair and underhanded practices by lawyers.

Outline of Issue

1. On emigrating from Barbados, I left as a vulnerable, broken divorcee in search of a new life. I had a NEW Green Toyota Tercel, acquired through a vehicle loan from a Government Ministry. The vehicle was just under one year old.
  2. As a lawyer, and a named friend, I asked Wren Herbert to act on my behalf, to return the vehicle to the Ministry as when I left, I was unsure as to whether I would indeed stay in the new position which I was offered; hence not returning it immediately upon my departure, in the event, that I returned.
  3. When I was confident that I was not returning, less than a month later, Wren Herbert stated that rather than return the vehicle, that he wanted to acquire it and he would therefore take possession of the vehicle and repay the outstanding loan amount to the Ministry.
  4. Wren Herbert, did indeed collect the car from my then home.
  5. A friend, who was staying there at the time, handed Wren Herbert the keys and all the particulars of the vehicle and its loan documentation; undoubtedly, Wren Herbert took the car and rang me to confirm that he did have the vehicle.
  6. The witness is willing to provide a statement to verify that Wren Herbert did indeed take the vehicle from my home and many people, I am sure would have seen him with the green Toyota Tercel, car.
  7. Subsequently, I made several attempts to ascertain the status of Wren Herbert’s undertaking i.e., payments to the Ministry; no response ever came back to me from the Ministry, I was being ignored. Overseas telephone calls were a waste of time and money as I was put on hold, disconnected, passed to unhelpful individuals and overall I was placed on a GNVQ course of, ‘going nowhere very quickly.’
  8. I sought confirmation from Wren Herbert and indeed several more times from the Ministry of Education but got no response from either party. This went on for some time, until I finally gave up since although I felt uneasy about the situation, I still did not believe that as a lawyer who was then working for the Hewitt Law firm, that he would be that dishonest.
  9. During 2021, and as it is the entitlement of the governmental bodies in Barbados to disregard enquiries, after an entire year of battling to receive my Barbados work pension, I was forced to enlist the services of a solicitor to secure responses to my requests for information on my pension application from the Ministry concerned. I was told that some people have to wait years not just one year; is this what is to be expected and accepted?
  10. However, after this year long battle and scars of paying a solicitor to indeed receive my pension from the Barbados Ministry, I was startled to learn that on receipt of my pension award from the Barbados government, that Wren Herbert had kept the vehicle or sold it and had NOT repaid the vehicle loan; therefore, the outstanding amount had been taken from my retirement pension.
  11. That outstanding amount which has been taken is $29,166.62, which Wren Herbert owes to me; this clearly is not the way a lawyer should act.
  12. I engaged a Barbados Law firm which has written to Wren Herbert in respect to this and Wren Herbert has ignored the correspondence but I shall not give in.

Summary
• Finally, as stated in the above description of this issue, public office holders and other official bodies in Barbados, more often than not, fail to respond to any issues or complaints; this supports the unscrupulous lawyers.

• Throughout this scenario, judging people and situations, cause public office holders to renege on carrying out their duties effectively i.e., never responding to letters or calls concerning providing information which you are entitled to.

• Consequently, situations escalate unnecessarily, victims are further damaged and lawyer misconduct grows, casting a dark shadow on the overall ethical position of the country.

• I should like to mention that Dale Marshall did respond to my letter, stating that this was more a ‘personal matter;’ I however beg to differ.

• As a lawyer, Wren Herbert cannot separate his personal ethics or lack thereof, from his professional ethics and conduct.

• Wren Herbert was acting professionally when he undertook the agreement to either return the vehicle or repay the loan.

• Who else has been damaged by Wren Herbert as lawyer?

71 responses to “Wren Herbert – Lawyers Continue to Abuse the Public with Abandon”

1. Forgive me, is she a person or a recording? Bar president gives us the same story over and over. Read the story carefully and notice she mentions every thing except crooked lawyers… a piece full of excuses/explanations. An apologist masterpiece.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/05/21/bar-president-agrees-with-pm-on-need-for-reform-of-judicial-system/

2. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/05/25/lawyer-accused-of-stealing-clients-money-says-he-intends-to-pay-up/

From BT
    1)
    ‘Jackman is accused of stealing $678 414.75 from HEJ Limited between June 23, 2006 and March 5, 2007, as well as allegedly engaging in money laundering by disposing of the sum between June 23, 2006, and October 18, 2011’

****2006-2022 a long time to have a next person’s money in your pocket. I can imagine this lawyer looking through the obituaries to monitor deaths resulting from covid.

2)
    ‘The embattled attorney, who turned up on Tuesday without any legal counsel, said efforts had also been made for an alternative method of payment to Huggins in order to settle the matter.’

***I believe that payments made to other lawyers in this type of case is money laundering/washing. No legal representation, probably means funds are exhausted.

3. From BT
    Mr Huggins said he wanted . . . $800 000-plus . . . . Documents were prepared to that effect but they were not signed off by Mr Huggins. One final effort was made to try and have the balance of the $325 000 [paid] by offering Mr Huggings other land that was free and cleared but he chose . . . to decline that.

Huggins would be an idiot to take land from this lawyer. Tricks can’t done.

4. Someone mentioned Jackman yesterday. Appears he has been mentioned on BU before…
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/10/03/ernest-jackman-who-are-you/

5. Things will change when some aggrieved client takes the law into their own hands, when you are out hundreds of thousands of dollars with no recourse but the slow as molasses Court system to try to bring some semblance of justice and still no restitution some will be inclined to dispatch the lawyer from this earth.

6. Critical Analyzer Avatar

It will only stop when a law is passed requiring all monies from payouts and sales can only be paid via a cheque in the client’s name or transferred/deposited into an account owned the client.

That law can pass now.

7. @ CA
    “That law can pass now.”
    ~~~~~~~
    Sometimes you disappoint. As Bushie explained above….
    IT CAN NOT PASS….
    Brassbados would immediately come to an end….

8. How about creating a clearing house where buyer and sell based on payment terms meet to consummate the deal, cheques or electronic transfer validated by authorized third party.

9. Attorney to give address today
    Money laundering accused attorney Ernest Winston Jackman yesterday begged for more time to prepare his closing address, saying he was unable to do so because there was “confusion” with clients in his office.
    He will now address the jury today.
    The attorney of Wiltshire Plantation House, St Philip, is on trial for stealing $678 414.75 belonging to HEJ Ltd, between June 23, 2006, and March 5, 2007.
    He is also accused of engaging in money laundering in that he disposed of sums totalling $678 414.75 being the proceeds of crime.
    Conducting own defence
    Principal State counsel Krystal Delaney is prosecuting, while Jackman is conducting his own defence.
    Jackman was scheduled to address the jury in the No. 5 Supreme Court yesterday.
    However, when the matter was called, Jackman told the court: “I thought it would be easy to prepare something but there was a lot of confusion in the office with clients.”
    As a result, he asked for “a little more time” to prepare his closing.
    Justice Pamela Beckles then granted him an adjournment until today.
    A jury of six women and three women has been hearing the evidence.

10. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David May 27, 2022 8:17 AM

Waste of time and introduces an unnecessary third party charging fees into the mix. The money belong to the client, pay them and let the lawyer send their bill to the client.

Client don’t pay the bill, put the client in court. That case would get called fast.

11. @CA

The third party is important to validate/authorized the transaction. Who determines if a payment is good?

12. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/05/27/accused-lawyer-to-deliver-address-on-friday/
    From BT
    “However when the matter was called before Madam Justice Pamela Beckles, in the No.5 Supreme Court this morning Jackman told the judge that he would need a little more time to prepare his address.”

Prepare what? His address is very short
    “HMP Dodds
    St. Philip
    Barbados, W.I.”

13. Look at the date of the crime
    Look at the value of the crime
    Go small and you go to jail

Barbados small crime courts
    From BT
    Darius Romain Blackett, of no fixed place of abode, was sent to the St Philip facility until June 8 after he pleaded guilty to three criminal charges.

He admitted to dishonestly obtaining from JG’s Wholesale Discount Centre Limited, on May 13, liquor worth $750 via a forged cheque with intent to permanently deprive the company. Blackett repeated the offence the following day when he again obtained alcohol worth $800 from the same company, via the same method. Three days later, on May 17, he did the same thing and this time got $850 worth of brandy.”

June 8
    He will know his fate.
    Of course he should be punished. However, the court moves with the speed of light when it catches a petty criminal

14. If a crooked lawyer in Barbados steals your money and the offer to pay interest or repay on an installment plan ignore him/her. All he/she is trying to do is to claim that it as not theft as the two of you are in negotiations. Smart..

From BT (Ernest Jackman)
    “ . . . . Because that was done, because that money was supposed to pay interest on, it cannot be stolen,” he further submitted.

15. I would like to think EJ came up with this plan himself, but I suspect that this trick is embedded in a first year law course at Cave Hill

16. TheO,

Ha ha! Good one that short address one! Your jokes are improving.

C/ A,

In personal injury cases that is already happening.

Of course it can pass.

17. These simple sentences could save you thousand of dollars if any Bajan lawyer has your money.

1) I want what ALL that the court said is due to me.
    2) Nope. No interest. No payment plan. No partial payments. I want ALL that is owed to me.
    3) Where is my FULL check?
    4) I need ALl of my money now.
    5) Gimme my money

18. @ TheO
    Nah lotta long talk…
    Walk with a big plantain in yuh pocket, a collins wrap-up in newspaper… and a screw face.
    Then ask nicely for a bankers cheque – and wait for it….

Matter Fixed.

This particular lawyer however, is actually retarded…
    He probably DOES think that he is on solid ground.

19. @Bush Tea

You know it is not always that straightforward.

20. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/05/31/lawyer-guilty-of-stealing-client-funds/

I do not know the man, but I find that to be pleasant news.

Let’s hope that the judge does not sentence him to a two-week, all expense paid vacation at a local hotel. That would be worse than pissing on our leg and telling us it is raining.

21. How do you know a system is useless…. when the court case is 10 times as long as the sentence
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/11/23/attorney-at-law-ernest-jackman-sentenced-to-seven-years-in-prison/

Did the victim get back his money?