A short three years ago in 2018 then Prime Minister Freundel Stuart remained in office for 90 days beyond the five year anniversary of the first sitting of parliament permitted under the Barbados Constitution. Three years later incumbent Prime Minister Mia Mottley has called a snap general election eighteen months before it is constitutionally due. 

The early ring of the bell has caused tongues to wag with rumours and rumours of rumours rolling off the social media conveyor belt. The blogmaster reconciled a long time ago that political parties are in business to win general elections and this is the single consideration to reflect on when evaluating and commenting on political issues.

Every election cycle we hear talk about the need for the enactment of fixed term, campaign financing legislation etc. When the winner is announced on the night of the 19th January there will be further calls campaign financing laws and amendment to the electoral laws etc. To be expected, nothing will be done to address the issues raised by the politicians who raised them.

This week there were howls of protests from members of the public when it was discovered the voters list was posted online with personal information. The majority of Barbadians were oblivious to the fact the Representation of the People Act was amended in 2020 to make legal what occurred. What it has exposed is the lack of interest the majority of Barbadians have in what is debated in parliament. It should make the debate promised about the Barbados Constitution very interesting.

The blogmaster will resist the usual political punditry at predicting who will win which ‘seat’ on the 19th. Given the current hopeless economic state of affairs in the country, it seems a pointless exercise to expect B or D will make a difference. Both political parties have to bear responsibility for where we are today. Do not expect manna to fall after nearly fifteen years of famine.

The blogmaster and others have blogged many times on governance issues, however, BU dashboard shows these blogs record lower hits than the others. What does it say about our ‘intelligence’ as a people? 

The government you elect is the government you deserve.

Thomas Jefferson

Will average Barbadians be encouraged to seriously debate the merits of imposing fixed term laws to eliminate the opportunity for a prime minister to attempt to manipulate the result of an election? The blogmaster is not optimistic. Stuart tried in 2018 and supporters of the Democratic Labour Party defended the decision. Mottley three years into a five year term has done similarly and Barbados Labour Party are stridently defending the decision. Around and around we go, when it will stop nobody knows.

What will be the issues this time around?

Same old, same old – NTSH

467 responses to “Silly Season Time Again”

1. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar
    African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved

Let’s see how long they are going to continue trying to SPIN that illegal dump of people’s personal information in cyberspace, with their talking heads and mouths filled with LIES…

btw…Barbados DOES NOT HAVE 3/4 million eligible voters….it’s more in line with 120,000 tops…there are WAY TOO MANY NAMES ON THAT LIST….as i said, even at page 63 there were TOO MANY PECULIARITIES.

2. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar
    African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved

.it’s more in line with 120,000 tops…or even 150,000…am sure i saw the figure somewhere last election, but nowhere near 250K, maybe those who can remember accurately can produce the real figures.

3. It is official.

It shows there was disgruntlement between Moe and the BLP when she absented herself from the Senate all those months. It shows the excuses given were dishonest. All the while being paid by taxpayers. We need to improve the governance system. Why wasn’t she fired by her good friend the PM?

MOE IN ‘D’ CAMP

Days of speculation over which political party former Barbados Labour Party (BLP) member Lucille Moe will be affiliated with in the January 19 General Election ended last night.
    President of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Verla De Peiza, confirmed last night that Moe, who she described as a highly respected and successful regional strategist, had joined her team.
    After the BLP came to power in 2018, Moe served as a senator and as Minister of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs before she was sacked last July in a Cabinet reshuffle by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley.
    In her statement, De Peiza said: “The Democratic Labour Party is pleased to welcome Ms Moe. It demonstrates that the party is able to attract skilled patriots who recognise the importance of rescuing democracy.”
    She noted that with 21 years of regional electioneering under her belt, Moe was perceived as a ground game expert and was personal campaign strategist for the current Prime Minister in the St Michael North East constituency from her first victory in 1994 until her dismissal from the Mottley Cabinet.
    Last night just after 7:30 p.m. the Sunday Sun spotted Moe driving out of Ilaro Court, the official residence of Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley.
    She then made her way to the George Street Auditorium, the headquarters of the DLP, where by 8 p.m. she was huddled in a meeting, sitting next to De Peiza and campaign manager David Bowen. Other members of the party, including former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite and Steve Blackett and some new candidates, were also present.
    In a swift reaction to this development, political scientist Peter Wickham said he had no real issue with Moe moving to the DLP camp.
    “If you look at it as a professional service, she [Moe] is entitled to offer her services to who will pay for it. I don’t have a difficulty with that. She has roots in the DLP and has moved in a different direction of late, but she is entitled to move back,” he said.
    He believed there would be some “emotional baggage” associated with the fact that she was a sitting senator with the BLP.
    “As a political consultant and professional she is entitled to offer services to either sides,” he said.
    Wickham noted that Moe’s last two assignments in the region had not “gone well” and as such, she should be cautious of doing a “three-peat”.
    “She cannot make a difference to the outcome, not in two weeks. She will record a third defeat. I would not want to have a three-peat”, he said, commenting on her work in Cayman Islands and St Lucia.
    However, he said to her credit, she had a track record, having worked with parties that secured victories in St Lucia and Antigua. “She has a history across the region of successful work,” he said.
    On Friday shortly after the BLP candidates paid in their deposits, campaign
    manager The Most Honourable Dr Jerome Walcott told the media that the day before [Thursday] Moe had spent a significant amount of time at Ilaro court. However, he did not state the nature of the visit.
    Efforts to reach Walcott last night for a comment on the announcement, were unsuccessful.
    This newspaper also tried to reach Moe on the matter but calls went unanswered.
    (CM)

4. Two interesting races. The results in these two will lend to robust political discussion.

Return of Lashley, Estwick ‘key for Dems’

By Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey
    @nationnews.com
    The return of Democratic Labour Party (DLP) stalwarts Michael Lashley QC and Dr David Estwick to the political arena is likely to dampen the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) chances of retaining its political hold on St Philip.
    This is the view of political scientist Dr George Belle, who contended that the two seasoned campaigners, who will be contesting St Philip North and St Philip West, respectively, are in constituencies of concern for the BLP.
    However, Belle said that in the case of St Philip West, the BLP may have acted just in time by replacing John King with Kay McConney. On the other hand, he said incumbent for St Philip North, Dr Sonia Browne, had not cemented herself as the clear choice.
    He also weighed in on George Payne’s decision to pass the baton to Dr Romel Springer in the constituency of St Andrew, arguing that the move helps to put to rest rumours of disunity within the ranks of the BLP.
    Possible turnaround
    “In my view, St Philip North is a clear one as that is one of the constituencies that you would be watching for a possible turnaround in any election that is called now. I don’t get the impression that the representative there is as well-grounded in politics as might have been indicated when she first came in. Even then, I think that there were people who had some questions about her, how enthusiastic she was about being a serious politician and therefore she was a person that came in on the swing. If you have an effective campaigner like Lashley against her, the odds are not good,” Belle said.
    The former University of the West Indies lecturer said that in Estwick’s case, his road to a return to Parliament is going to be hard-fought, with McConney having a slight edge at this point.
    He told Campaign Express that based on the feedback on the ground, he got the sense that constituents were not satisfied with King’s performance, but
    it is now left to be seen if the switch to the newcomer is going to appease the voters.
    Not really ready
    “I believe that Mr Estwick would have been more problematic with the reports that things were not at ease in that constituency with Mr King. I know that there was some dissatisfaction with King, as it seems that he was not really ready for politics. He bounced into politics and he has now bounced out.
    “However, it is now for Dr Estwick to fight back, and the picture changes if the BLP finds a good candidate, which they have in McConney. So it is now left to be seen if it should be enough to hold off the challenge from Estwick, who is a fairly formidable opponent,” he said.
    Concerning Payne’s decision to step back from elective politics after serving as a Member of Parliament for 30 years, Belle said the move was highly unlikely to change the long run of success for the BLP in that constituency, even though Springer is yet to distinguish himself as a strong politician.
    He noted Payne’s decision to bow out gracefully while pledging to aid Springer’s campaign was not indicative of the rumours that a rift existed between himself and the party.
    “I think this should be fairly straightforward, even though Mr Springer has not yet shown himself to possess any outstanding features politically. He has the blessing of Payne and therefore he has the base of that constituency and it is very likely that he will

5. Above all, today is the X on the map… YOU ARE HERE.

We show up as an individual, but together we can make big moves.

Be patient.

Small gestures, make big waves.

The journey starts NOW.

Meet yourself here.

This breath and the next.

6. ” All the while being paid by taxpayers. Why wasn’t she fired by her good friend the PM?

accurate rumors abound that there is more in the LOVE DEPARTMENT mortar than the pistle… Miller might know more……..it’s no secret…but TAXPAYERS should NEVER HAVE TO PAY for it in terms of finances….nor inside the space they pay to be represented and not for unprofessional reprobates to run their bedroom rackets…

7. And it goes on and on and on…..without end. Barbados, time to take out the parliament trash. Their little imps and pimps jump out with inaccurate information, easily refuted on legal grounds. What’s the point of having more voters name thsn is necessary on a prelim list and then suppressing THOSE VOTERS WHO WE KNOW EXIST…what’s the plot and how do they expect to get away with it….NOW THE WHOLE LIST IS BEING PERUSED IN CYBERSPACE…clowns.

“IT SEEMS TO ME WE CAN ALL VOTE

It is worrisome the haste and callousness with which we seek to eliminate the voting rights of Barbadians. The work of those who fought for Universal Adult Suffrage must always be celebrated by our own vigilance in our own time even in the face of efforts to silence those who speak

The Representation of the People Act provides that “a person is entitled to vote as an elector at an election in a constituency if on polling day he is qualified to be an elector for that constituency and is on that day registered in the register of electors to be used at that election in that constituency.”

There are also disqualifications which are contained in that Act (1) If the person is of unsound mind; (2) is undergoing a sentence of imprisonment; (3) is under sentence of death; (4) and then disqualification under any law.

Under the Constitution there are several caveats to the fundamental rights and freedoms of the people, however they must be reasonable and must have the force of law.

To date the writer has not been able to find a law which prevents individuals from voting because they have tested positive for COVID-19.

Under the Emergency Management Act when a proclamation of a public health emergency is in force, the Cabinet can make any
    Orders which have been commonly call Directives. However the COVID-19 Directives issued by the Cabinet of Barbados do not disenfranchise voters. And even less so one would imagine can the statement of an individual heading the COVID-19 Unit.

It is the Chief Medical Officer who is responsible for Emergency Management under the Act. However it would be a broad untenable interpretation of the law that the CMO could by a simple statement prevent those qualified to vote from voting.

If one were to challenge the statement of the Head of the Covid-19 Unit in a Court of Law it would be difficult to show that there is any law which offends the Constitution or the Representation of the People Act – his statement having no grounding in the law.

Initial research shows that countries have found means to hold free and fair elections in the midst of a pandemic, even where people are in isolation or quarantined.

(1) Implementing physical distancing and other public health guidelines at polling places.
    (2) Providing masks and single-use pencils to electors. Giving Electors the option to bring their own mask and pen or pencil.
    (3) Changing the agency’s model of operations at the polls to facilitate physical distancing.
    (4) Expanding virtual training for election workers in order to limit the number of in-person interactions.

(5) Signage and posters about COVID-19 health and safety protocols at entrances
    (6) Hand sanitizing stations at entrances and exits of voting rooms and hand sanitizer on all service desks
    (7) Election workers supplied with plexiglass barriers, face masks, face shields, gloves and disinfecting products
    (8) Face masks distributed to voters who need them
    (9) Physical distancing measures and appropriate signage in polling places
    (10) Entry registers to assist local public health authorities with contact-tracing, if needed
    (11) Frequent disinfection of commonly touched surfaces (e.g., handrails, door handles, elevator buttons) in the voting room and washrooms

All of these measures are already known to Barbadians.

In some countries they have introduced other methods such as proxy voting. However this is a change which would have required the intervention of the Members of Parliament.

Advance Voting which was introduced in Bermuda would not seem to require this and could be facilitated by what remains of Government after elections are called.

As it stands then, a statement by an officer of a Government Unit can not disenfranchise voters. And the Electoral and Boundaries Commission should put the appropriate measures in place to allow voting by as many Barbadians as possible.

Lynette Eastmond
    Attorney-at-law
    EASTMOND & CO.”

8. Look how tongue open and truth drops out
    All along these political alley cats were blasting the old dlp hands
    Now hear this alley cat saying that there is hope for the dlp with old hands on board
    When yuh enemies give yuh advice run fast

9. One man’s opinion
    Garth Patterson – excellent
    Lynette Eastmond – excellent
    AG – irrelevant
    MR – I had to abandon the piece. I found that Calculus is an easier read.
    EA- looking for his contribution. The constitutional scholars is noticably absent.

10. Because of our small number of voters and large number of constituencies, many races are often determined by a few hundred votes.

Disenfranchising voters is tantamount to putting your hands on the scale in some constituencies and may even change the outcome of a race or two.

To be fair, I suspect that at this time, we (Mia) has no idea who benefits or loses.

11. The right to vote is critical and must be protected.

No infringement on this right should be tolerated or accepted.

We cannot allow insignificant individuals to so easily disenfranchise eligible voters.

Any election that arbitrarily removes the right of some citizens to vote must be viewed with suspicion.

12. What is being demonstrated is a PM willing to win by any means necessary
    No thought or proper planning was brought to her mind which would underscore good governance at a time when a pandemic is on the island
    PM self interest took precedence which all but exemplifies her worthlessness and disrespect to the citizens of Barbados and country
    Not to mention what she thinks of the Constitution
    Shameful and disruptive policies by a,PM who speaks of unity
    She should be removed

13. Rise Up!
    Up! Up! Up!

At a Higher Level
    Elections should be about Uniting a Country
    People should be friends and not enemies

At a Lower Level
    Elections are about Dividing a Country
    Cheap Shots Playing Dirty Name Calling

Is Barbados a Nation of Low Life Donald Trump Scum
    or Michelle Obamas Going High When They Go Low

This message was brought to you by the Collie Weed Party
    The Best Party in the Land with the Boom Weed
    In a Legal Stylee

14. The Dlp biggest mistake was listening to the noises from the mouth of the blp backers like and polical road map writers of the blpn
    Now the rubber has hit the road these ilk see good in old hands

15. Don’t know how many people have access to this list but the TOTAL number of voters are being given as 264, 940…YES THAT’S RIGHT….two hundred and sixty-four THOUSAND VOTERS… HIGHLY IMPOSSSIBLE… given the population make up of Barbados, something else is at play here….IRREGULARITIES…even if 40,000 from the diaspora who never registered are added without their knowlege, that still does not ADD UP…

so in a scenario reminscent of one smart died at two smart’s door….people, whether dead or alive were ILLEGALLY ADDED TO VOTE…whether they really exist or not is a whole nother matter, whether they even live on the island or live in the Far East, is now debateable…….but they are trying to disenfranchise those with Covid and those in quarantine… that gives us some indication of what is going on….

16. “Any election that arbitrarily removes the right of some citizens to vote must be viewed with suspicion.”

the SUSPICION RADAR must stay on HIGH ALERT…

who are these people illegally added to the VOTER’S LIST…we must ask…..there are OVER A HUNDRED THOUSAND OF THEM…

17. It seems to blow everyone’s minds that Politicians know who all of you are (as eligible voters) and people abroad can still vote.
    This information has now been shared and made public knowledge.
    Governments also know individual peoples net worth and income but all rich and poor have an equal say and one vote.

18. For the BLP Moe is less, not sure why all the commotion about Moe switching brands, Harley Henry did it and it didn’t make waves.

Have gun will travel

19. They are incredibily DUMB Enuff to think no one else would notice, they definitely can slip this past their Slaves, but no one else..

20. The voters list are interesting just informed family members of their personnel information being accessed for the world to see
    Mind-boggling to the point of govt officials exhibiting madness
    Then trying to use political talking points to prove themselves right

21. Public servants including Director Taylor manage the electoral process (list). The list is shared with political parties to facilitate canvassing and verification. The people on the list will include Barbadians living and studying overseas. The culling of the list is a work in progress.

If there was a serious problem with the list why would either or both political parties not raise concerns? All voters list will list names which have to be removed.

22. Lies ..mistakes ..coverups..misinformation.
    Half truths all accounted to this govt three year term
    Yet there are people willing to give this govt benefit of doubt
    The voters. List and govt attempt to suppress citizens right to vote ends 2021 having a govt pursuing a self-serving political path and a unified and disgruntled population
    How 😥

23. Correction disunified

24. Presidential Pearlie Avatar
    Presidential Pearlie

Morning Angela dearheart how you? Dont fret yaself sweetheart, cause somebody call me early a clock dis morning and tell me dem did driving pass Lara Court last night and dem hear a heavy baritone voice singing sad sad sad

“You picked a fine time to leave me, Lucille
    With four hungry children and a crop in the field
    I’ve had some bad times, lived through some sad times
    But this time your hurting won’t heal
    You picked a fine time to leave me, Lucille”

Murdaaaa! Not me bo. Ah gone!

25. Moe is being paid for her services by the DLP?

26. DavidJanuary 2, 2022 9:41 AM

If there was a serious problem with the list why would either or both political parties not raise concerns? All voters list will list
    names which have to be removed
    Xxxxsteupse
    This is real full.blown silly season when such a question is being asked
    The problem with the list is the access of outsiders with mischievous behavior getting their hands on people’s personnel info and doing whatever they like
    Govt has placed in danger people names birth dates addresses and NRN information to unknown parties or individuals via internet
    Yet u asking why other parties have not rang the alarm
    What kind of question is that u ought to know better

27. People should be aware of scammers every time someone telephones you sends you an email or writes you a letter.
    If you are stupid enough to be scammed then you must have deserved it. It’s a big bad world out there.
    There are no victims there are stupid mugs.

28. Looks like “we gathering” ILLEGAL VOTERS…

no wonder foul Enuff jumped out laughing “hahaaaaahaaaa”

laugh now you sleazy little MF..

29. Steuspe

30. The blogmaster puzzles me.. one minute he has a message that is suitable for all, the next minute his message is so one-sided that it is absurd.

The divergence is so great that the belief that there are several blogmaster is more credible than the belief of a single individual with a split personality.

Welcome back AC.

31. The blogmaster puzzles me.. one minute he has a message that is suitable for all, the next minute his message is so one-sided that it is absurd.

The divergence is so great that the belief that there are several blogmaster is more credible than the belief of a single individual with a split personality.

Welcome back AC.

32. Steuspe

33. Happy New Year to the blogmaster.
    I know that it may not look like it, but I am highly appreciative of the avenue that he has provided for is to comment on current topics.

Happy New Year David. Hoping you have the courage and strength to continue your good work.

34. January elections seem to be more mellow and chilled than May Summer November December elections with less bullshit and bile.

Have some pity on the “David” “Blogmaster” “Moderator” as reading Bu comments can cause psychological distress and mind rot.

35. Like

TheOGazertsJanuary 2, 2022 10:19 AM

The blogmaster puzzles me.. one minute he has a message that is suitable for all, the next minute his message is so one-sided that it is absurd.

Welcome back AC.

Xxcccc
    Absurdity is part of the silly season
    Leave David alone
    His red slip is dragging he cannot help himself from being two-faced one-sided and absurd
    The election bell had been rung
    The many faces of David the hypocrite cannot hide any longer
    Too much at stake in this whimsical polical game of moving the goal post along

36. Happy New year to all. Hoping we survive 2022.

If anybody see the name ” Hants ” on the voters list please let me know. lol

37. William Skinner Avatar

Let’s stop the “ pretty” talk.
    This is the fact;
    Whenever any group of citizens are told they cannot vote , although they have not committed any illegal act, our democracy is threatened.

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, re “If there was a serious problem with the list why would either or both political parties not raise concerns?” … not ONLY that … it is absurdly remarkable that ANY opposition politician should NOW be voicing concerns about a list that was published since Jan 2021 and of which they would have been informed (I must presume) prior to that publication. ABSURD.

A wise person is quoted ro have said that ‘all politics is local’ and every aspiring pol MUST have that ingrained on his/her brain and FOCUS energy on how best to represent their LOCAL peeps …

CAREFULLY reviewing a voting list is an effing FUNDAMENTAL that is done well in advance of proposed elections… you scour the last list, check for deaths, migrations etc in your LOCAL constituency and be prepared for any ‘strange’ changes on the new pre-election updated list.

The issue as raised most here re all the voter’s data on display should have been addressed LONG ago. Looking ago.

I become completely unimpressed (distressed actually) by the BS being spewed by pols right now. That they are unprepared is so shockingly evident that this whole shebang is bare freaking mock sport….

Yes we need change but to another bunch of folks not focused on their jobs.

Steuspe.

And that takes me back to youbrother @Skinner … upcoming.

39. Which way does your Dick hang does it lean to the left or the right or straight down the middle in the centre

“David” is BLP leaning

The DLP posse claim this is hypocritical biased and unfair

The level of political debate is not very inspiring to say the least

it seems all about emotions and moaning

40. Yet it is, it means they are being REPLACED….since EVERY VOTE COUNTS…but since there are so many QUESTIONABLE NAMES on the voters list…WHO are they being replaced with…

41. David
    January 2, 2022 6:56 AM

It is official.

Re : Lucille Moe
    To be fair to Lucille Moe during her absence from the Senate…..the President of the Senate Reginald Farley – when questioned – ALWAYS stated that Ms Moe has provided valid documentaion / reasons for her absence from the Senate.

So , David BU , stop the a$$ licking posture for Mia !

42. Repetition of what you know. Long- but with a few comments.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/01/ebc-defends-decision-to-publish-preliminary-voters-list-online/
    ” However, he charged that “ID numbers are not private” as he made reference to them being published before the introduction of the digital age in public libraries, rum shops, the electoral office and other spaces and according to him, “the lists always contained the same information”.”

You see the problem… fellows don’t know the difference between a rum-shop of earlier times and the internet (domain of BU rum shop).

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/01/chapman-covid-positive-people-not-allowed-to-vote-on-january-19/
    “Chapman also indicated that no provisions such as mail-in ballots for in-home isolation or quasi polling stations will be set-up at isolation centres to accommodate members of the electorate who are in mandatory isolation. He explained that the reason for this was because the Harrison Point isolation centre in St. Lucy along with other centres are extensions of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH).”

Some excerpts are provided below. Considered this as an example of BS and doublespeak.

BT
    “At no point in time would you want to disenfranchise someone. It is one of the fundamental rights of who we are as a democracy. However, we have to recognise, and I will repeat it, those isolation facilities are extensions of the QEH. They are not institutions in themselves and I do not remember any time in the past … where provisions were made for persons who are in the hospital to vote. And a lot of those persons who would have been in the QEH and so on, those persons were not infectious. They were probably in there recovering from heart disease, trauma or something of that sort,” Chapman said.

BT
    “What we have now is a disease that is highly infectious. We have just been told by the chief medical officer not too long ago that we have Omicron here in Barbados and we know that Omicron is even more infectious than Delta. So, we have to be able to balance those too. We have to be able to err on the side of continuity of the country as much as possible,” he said”

Below are the measured and reasoned approaches of Angela Taylor and Hal Gallop. In truth, these two are more dangerous than Mr Chapman, for after all of their sweet talk we can have exactly the same action as Mr Chapman is proposing. Interesting to note that Hal states that Mr Chapman statement is was outside of Mr Chapman’s area of expertise (know your strength)..

BT (Hal Gollop)
    “However, Queen’s Counsel Hal Gollop, who also sits as a member on the EBC, has warned that because of the Constitutional element of the decision, it would be wise to first seek a legal opinion before any concrete decisions are made.”

“I think it goes much further than passing off a definitive statement that it cannot be done because of this and because of that. I believe that is outside Mr. Chapman’s competence because it has an impact on law and I think it would be wiser to have an opinion on this so that the position of the Electoral and Boundaries Commission can be based on a solid legal opinion rather than that of Mr. Chapman. This is no aspersion on his competence. His competence is that of a health official not a lawyer and this thing has a legal element attached to it and that is my advice in this regard,” the attorney said.

Note Angela Taylor’s position. She does not draw a line in the sand. She give herself some wiggle room.
    BT (Angela Taylor)
    Supervisor of Elections, Angela Taylor, while not speaking to whether the decision not to make provisions for voters in isolation would be reconsidered, gave the assurance that the EBC was always looking for ways to improve.

“With the advent of the COVID-19, I am sure there will be a time in the short future when we do sit down and discuss this matter of voting other than in-person voting and see where we can take that,” she said.

43. Give It Up

People love moaning

But, the election will carry on regardless

a Winner will be declared

and all the moaning made fuck all of a difference

44. For last three years this was the only opposition voice in parliament:

——————————————————
    Franklyn: Still a problem with Moe’s long absence – NationNews Barbados — nationnews.com

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/12/franklyn-still-problem-moes-long-absence/

45. “You see the problem… fellows don’t know the difference between a rum-shop of earlier times and the internet (domain of BU rum shop)”

same ones who claim they are more educated than anyone else..

i won’t trust any one of them with my name let alone any other personal information…and definitely not with my life.

the silver lining…ALL THEIR PERSONAL INFORMATION IS OUT THERE TOO….and everyone knows where to find them…

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Correction … ‘looking ago’ should read: *looonng ago’.

Ok, brother Skinner, when did I say or suggest I gave “current fraudsters a pass”🙈! …. I did say I make no excuses for current leadership malaise but if you interpreted my other remark that “They learned these antics from those the essayist calls nurthurers” that’s stretching it, don’t you think!

Like sporting stars, it’s mightily difficult to compare leaders of one era to another … because of the conditions and context of the time. Yet, of course we do it all de time.

So yes there is the scholar leader like Eric Williams and the scalliwag dictatorial type like Eric Gairy … and surely we can find comparable figures of the modern set.

The issue is to wipe away what we have developed with our rose tinted glasses which the passing of time often projects…

So when you say their flaws “never stopped them from understanding the fundamentals of good governance” I smile.

Brother, Eric Williams for all his wise leadership nous, was as much a ‘petty dictator’ as the best of them. So too Barrow. I will not even touch Burnham or Lester Bird … nor the Jamaican dons, no sir!

YOU KNOW that a judicial commission said of Bajan governance that “ALL ROADS LED TO BARROW”.

@Skinner, which chapter of the good governance handbook is that a BEST PRACTICE guidance! 😇
    When you hear anecdotes that Williams would simply turn off his hearing aid so as to COMPLETELY shut out critique or dissension from opposing voices and then do whatever he intended anyhow … I presume that was the chapter on good governance right after Barrow’s, yes!! 😇

But neither am I saying that “those who learnt at the feet of the elders chose only to emulate their worst attributes” … no brother. They do the bad but definitely aim for the good also.

Alas, we are now much more aware of massive corruption. Surely you must accept that a ‘Panama Papers’ trove was always there in that era too BUT 1) no Assange Wikileaks or similar to publish them or more importantly 2) no ability to disseminate without major restrictions, libel suits etc!

The psychology of mankind and leadership has NOT changed brother…. so too economies will boom and bust, and leaders will hit highs and lows… ours today are in the main no WORST than those of yesteryear.. That’s my ONLY point…

I make absolutely no excuses for those now in charge but I surely am not going to give those maguffies of my youth any rose colored glass pass either!

So we go forward and we absolutely strive to excellence… but as I said we are full of HUMAN foilbles.

Lata. Be safe all.

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

Where is JohnA? The local purveyor of distractions.
    This election is about cash flow and the alternatives when it is scarce. But the chatter will be about ‘anything else’.
    When March comes, remember a “Spoonful of Sugar”.
    And everybody will act surprised…”Wait, none ah dat was in de Manifesto.” Meanwhile RiRi in her non-financial supporting role, will do a remake of the Milli Vanilli gem ‘Blame it pun de IMF’.

48. Of course there is the not too sexy topic of the NIS which took a 1 billion dollar haircut left outstanding. The list is long.

49. Theo…and this is why NONE OF THEM can be taken seriously at any time..ya will probably get 3 or 4 differnet versions of this before everything is done…and all spouting the same Slave shit about “who we are” and this and this…all repetitive NONSENSE coming from those they pimp for….or be out of a job if they don’t..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/02/chapman-spoke-out-of-turn-on-issue-of-persons-with-covid-19-voting/

.could never see myself after these cretins beg me for votes, i gotta pay their salaries… repeat the shite they talk and follow their go nowhere nonsense…..steuppps….bunch of wuss and wide panties men/boys..

50. Let’s stop the “ pretty” talk.
    This is the fact;
    Whenever any group of citizens are told they cannot vote , although they have not committed any illegal act, our democracy is threatened.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THE USA WITH POPULATION 320 MILLION HAD NATIONAL ELECTIONS DURING THE PANDEMIC AND NO SUCH FOOLISHNESS WAS HEARD PEOPLE VOTED WHO WANTED TO VOTE POSITIVE OR NOT.

YOU ARE SEEING SYMPTHONS OF BIG HEADED WANT TO BE IMPORTANT INDIVIDUALS OPERATING ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND AS THEY SAY PUNCHING ABOVE THEIR WEIGHT IN IGNORANCE AND STUPIDITY.

Leave a Reply to NorthernObserverCancel reply