Submitted by Steve Prescott LLB (Hon)

Having considered the background I must stand with all those who support the Nurses and offer my 2
cents. There’s a legal and a moral dimension to all this.

It’s not in dispute that any employee who experiences poor working conditions and no pay has a
legitimate right to raise those concerns before a competent employer. A look back in history will put
this strike into context. It spans several years during which the nursing profession has been raising
grievances about pay & working conditions.

As far as I can tell these grievances are not vexatious, frivolous or manifestly unfounded. Mr Bostic
appears to believe they are legitimate. But what is an employee to do if those grievances go
unresolved over any length of time? Any right-thinking employer would know, there will appear a
bright line in the sand – the point at which employees say ‘thus far and no more’. In legal parlance it
would be cited as the straw that breaks the camel’s back.

The point of a grievance process is to act on and resolve the issues it raises in a timely manner.
Hence, I come to this “crisis” with some expertise in labour law. Well drafted employment law should
create balance in the relationship between employer and employee. Any detrimental action against
an employee must be considered objectively against the back drop of reasonableness. It is trite to say
that an employee’s right to strike is a lawful and essential part of developing an organisation’s mind
around the concepts of justice and fairness.

I take my starting point at s2 & s40A of the Trade Unions Act 1964. Since this is available to be read;
I paraphrase it;

Section2, “For the purposes of this Act, the expression “employer” means “the Crown”, with respect
to any person employed in a civil capacity thereunder. The title to section 40A; Adversely affecting
employee or employer on account of trade union activities. s40A. An employer who – (a) adversely
affects the employment or alters the position of a workman to his prejudice because that workman –
ss(ii) being a member of a trade union, which is seeking better labour conditions, is dissatisfied with
his conditions; is guilty of an offence”.

It’s clear their complaints have gone unresolved over several years. The extent to which this inaction
has adversely affected the nurse’s employment is a question of fact and degree. Assuming resolution
of the grievances in favour of the nurses is objectively necessary, then failure to resolve them has
prejudiced the Nurses to the extent that it hastens strike action – which then causes the PM to adopt
a legal footing.

Is it reasonable to reduce the pay of a worker who does not turn up to work? Objectively? Yes. The
bargain struck between employer and employee must be a fair bargain. I doubt any employer
anywhere in the world would pay a person to deliberately not turn up for work. But, that’s only one
side of the employment coin. A fair question to ask is; is it reasonable or even lawful for employees
to suffer hazardous working conditions that may adversely affect their safety and health? Is it
reasonable or even lawful to pay employees sporadically? Objectively, the answer must be no.

Part of the problem here is, this legislation is at odds with the Public Service Act 2007 – the section
the government relies on, s20. This presents a conundrum that needs to be resolved in the courts –
since withholding pay adversely affects employees.

Moreover, if the reports about freezing bank accounts are true then, ladies and gentlemen of the
Republic of Barbados, you don’t need me to tell you that is an absolute violation of the Constitution,
and action within the gift only of lawful authority in pursuit of the proceeds of a crime.
The action taken by the Government toward nurses appears high handed and politically charged.
Why? Because there is still the moral dimension in which it’s worth asking the question; within a
landscape which shows some years of under pay, sometimes no or late pay, poor working conditions,
long hours, increased risk to personal health, and no sign from any Government of positive action to
remedy these matters, is it reasonable to dock their pay and freeze banks accounts?

Now that things have got this far, it seems somewhat churlish that opponents of the strike besmirch
the nurse’s professional integrity for the position they take. The Government appears to have made
their moral responsibility toward their employees subservient to the moral responsibility of Nurses
toward their patients and thereby make State action far less unconscionable; this is wholly unjust and
manifestly unfair. To be clear; a striking nurse does not, by their strike action, say, imply or infer that
they care less about their patients or the State. That is a step to far. No one asked for this pandemic
and nurses have been on the front line fighting it for months – in less than favourable working
conditions. Had their grievances been properly resolved, pre-pandemic, perhaps this action would
never have arisen.

Contractual performance cuts both ways. But for any Government’s inactivity to remedy the Nurse’s
grievances, this action would not have happened. It is neither just nor fair to hold nurses over the
moral ‘barrel’ whilst deliberately, or otherwise, failing to act upon their own legal and moral
obligations.

Correct me if I’m wrong.

88 responses to “A Just and Fair Society – according to the Charter!”

1. “I hope wunna listening to Brasstacks. There is a nurse telling a story which if true, is disgusting.”

believe them, you will note when it comes to people of Afrikan descent some of the apologists could care less what happens to them…

anything coming from government and their pimps can safely be attributed TO LYING..

2. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David December 29, 2021 6:39 AM

The point has been made many times a convention often observed between parties in the IR world is if mediation talks open parties return to work to show good faith. That was the out Caswell needed to agree to in order to save face.

the
    Going back to work would have only been the out for the PM. The nurses decided they were not going back until their grievances are addressed.

If the nurses return to work without any resolution timeline commitments, it will be a return to the exact same suffering situation they have been getting for years.

The modus operandi being used on the nurses for years for all their issues is to give them lip service by repeatedly running this playbook over and over.
    1) Management acknowledge the problem and say they are working on it as fast as they can and to give them time.
    2) The nurses give them another month before asking a question.
    3) Management makes some excuse to get the nurses to go away they they go back to step 1 and repeat

3. @CA

We know from Caswell the nurses under his charge agreed to strike, however, Caswell is the head of the union isn’t he? He has to guide the ship.

4. The government cannot be allowed to get away with this neglect and arrogance for another 40 years….that’s the bottomline…now they are going to approach the nurses themselves their families and friends BEGGING FOR VOTES to return to the parliament with their BULLYING wannabe slave master, wannabe dictator act of swollen headed stupidity and selloutism….

5. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hants December 29, 2021 1:18 PM

I hope wunna listening to Brasstacks. There is a nurse telling a story which if true, is disgusting.

I too vex and cowardly to say what I think.

I was listening and that story is completely true and she is not even telling everything cause things are much worse than that. I don’t know her but I have a nurse friend in that exact or worse situation.

They were not one of the ones striking but still got no pay in December, November, October, etc. I think the last time they say any money was back in July or August, it was so long ago I can’t remember. When they finally get all the pay they are owed, they will probably get somewhere between 10 and 20 thousand dollars if not more.

As I said before on this blog, the only wrong move Caswell has made thus far was not doing a proper press release detailing the true gravity of the situation of the nurses. Using generalities like sporadic pay is not enough, he needed to be more detailed and state the number of cases of non-payment of salary and for how many months they are owed.

I could tell you happenings that would make your blood turn to steam.

6. @CA

Does it have to do with the QEH transforming to an SOE from under the umbrella of central government? A case of case flow issues at the QEH or inefficiencies in HR?

What is it.

7. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David December 29, 2021 2:57 PM

From what I gather based on news articles, he would have meet with the nurses on the pay issues and they opted to continue the strike.

Nurses are no stranger to suffering so if they have to strike and suffer without pay for a month or two, they will do it because they have been working for months without pay so staying home and striking without pay is easier that trying to get to work without the same pay.

8. Maybe the flow issues were money. The decision was to stick it to an opponent. Via their membership.

9. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David December 29, 2021 3:09 PM
    It is not a QEH problem. It is an all public heath care facilities problem.

The main problem is at the BNA. That association has no teeth and accepts whatever promises they are given. I bet doctors get paid on time and have most of their grievances addressed in a timely manner otherwise BAMP would be calling a strike.

The second problem is the nurses refuse to band together to form a united front to get everything dealt with because they don’t want to disadvantage patients and are scared of victimization.

All their major issues except for staff shortages can be dealt with in less than a week if governments (both B and D) were serious. Nursing shortages is a worldwide problem so that one will take time but all others can be fixed within a week if there is a will.

The government prefer to clap for nurses and mint limited edition blue dollars and all manner of political gimmicks instead of addressing the nurses’ concerns.

If the PM was not paid for 1 month, somebody would be going home, appointed or not. Time somebody head to roll for our nurses.

10. Thanks CA.

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David this is off topic somewhat… what is this I am reading of a Chinese medical facility for Chinese citizens only to be built on the compound of the former Princess Margaret school???

What the badword!

Several bloggers have spoken of the new colonization of Bdos from that part of the world and this type story asserts that undeniably.

I find no true Bajan upside in such an arrangement sans the upfront construction dollars for land purchase and a few menial jobs… is this fah real??

Why no discussion in media???

Am I missing something …. this is NOT copacetic atall !

12. I want to some foolish questions

How many nurses working in Barbados?
    How many nurses on strike again?
    So the union with the least among of members was able to manoeuvre all of them into strategic position and then crash the vaccination drive?
    So no other nurses could be redeployed to the vaccination centres?

13. If the issue is truly based in lack of payment of wages, then the nurses have an urgent grievance, that needs to be addressed.

On a tangential point, this would inform on the state of government finances and the macroeconomic state and possibly even, give an inkling as to one reason for the impending election.

There is no doubt that the macroeconomic state is perilous.

Such is not a fault of the current administration, but an inherited mess, coupled with a brutal global crisis.

PM Mottley has done the right thing by seeking a global solution, for lesser developed countries.

There is really no option, but such an approach.

Debt levels of lesser developed countries, at a time of supply line crisis and excessive inflationary pressures, are simply unsustainable.

14. @Dee Word

First hearing about it.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ok so maybe that’s a lark then… no problem.

Likely is…. too outlandish to be true.

Thanks.

16. Medical tourism for Chinese ?

17. All the underhanded sleight of hand things will happen while yall are all excited and pumped for a shite election that they can lose….it’s afterward ya will hear what anti-black crimes they got in store for overexcited idiots WHO WILL NEVER LEARN…….am staying well away from it…

18. That rumor of the medical facility has been around for a couple days, guess ya just gotta wait and see…however it goes, true or not, it’s too late anyway, yall got punked, since now totally distracted…

19. Northern,

I have not heard of any third party candidate in my constituency. GP2 says he will conjure up thirty but I cannot take anybody seriously who has GP2 as their leader.

Between a rock and a hard place. Between the devil and the deep blue sea.

Don’t know if I can drag myself for the five minute walk to the polls!

But back to my approach – I said they should immediately commit to resolving a couple of the issues – appointments and regular paydays are easily fixed.

Then they should set a firm schedule to tackle the other agreed upon issues one by one.

That is not platitudinal. That is action. Most of the demands are reasonable but they all cannot be fixed at once.

I learned from a former civil servant that the delays in payment are often caused by lackadaisical civil servants who are late in passing on the necessary authorisations for temporary staff and the requests for the necessary supplemental funds when additional workers are brought on after budgets have been allocated. The system also seems to be somewhat cumbersome.

Administrative issues.

Oh, and adequate PPE is also fixable. A few ministers’ salaries should do it. Hopefully she will lose some in the election.

20. I know teachers and pupils ay yhst school. They have not been reassigned and the new school term is around the corner.

Too many students to be easily absorbed elsewhere. I will believe it when it is announced.

21. WHAT CASWELL NEEDS TO DO IS TO WRITE NURSING AGENMCIES ABROAD AND OBTAIN OFFERS FOR WORK FOR AS MANY NURSES AS POSSIBLE OVERSEAS

SOME OF THE NURSES IN BRNA AND REPRESENTED BY OTHER UNIONS WILL JOIN IN.

THIS IS THE WAY SQUEEZE MIA’S BALLS, AND TEACH HER WHO IS MAN.

I WONT SAY A WORD.

I WOULD JUST ACT.

OF COURSE AS THE NUMBER TRAINED OF BAJAN NURSES DWINDLE THEY WILL BE REPACED BY SOME TALKING IN TONGUES——AS IS THE COURSE THAT THE DICTATOR MUGABE MUTTLEY WILL TAKE.

THE WORD OF THE PROPHET PUDYYR IS BEING FILLED

HAIL MIA MUGABE MUTTLEY–THE DICTATOR TO , AND OF BARBADOS. inter alia

22. William…i don’t get these, after spending 9 years on the blog complaining about this personal injury case, years before i registered as an activist, i figured the best thing to do was to share that i got the judgement and eventual payout and was done posting certain things to the blog, unless it’s human rights related and they STILL DID NOT GET WHAT I WAS SAYING……now if i had told a lie, they would be all over it…….instead of ALL OVER THE LIES THE GOVERNMENT IS TELLING THEM…

unless there is a direct threat to me and my family and others close to me, i will not put any info i have out there about certain people, that chapter is closed, just as i promise…

they are now on their own…sink or swim, they made their beds, want to believe lying politicians, go right ahead….

23. Anything Anti_Chinese must be originating from White Warmongers
    Innocuous Youtube Videos about Tai Chi now have warnings
    CGTN is funded in whole or in part by the Chinese government

#ChinaKungfu
    Chinese Martial Arts: Qingcheng Tai Chi

Tai Chi Wu Style Short Form – Sensei Makio Nishida

24. Actually, Northern, who is always quick on the uptake, he got it…..especially when they rolled out the J-Bonds series…lol

25. Showing results for when did black people get the right to vote in barbados
    Search instead for when did black people get the right to vote in barbabdos
    General elections were held in Barbados on 13 December 1951, the first held under universal suffrage. The result was a victory for the Barbados Labour Party, which won 15 of the 24 seats. Voter turnout was 64.6%.

26. When people do not get paid they should stop working this is a no brainer

work is a mugs game and people need to be freed of their shackles and chains

27. DONNA, “dont know if I can drag myself for the short walk to the polls”.

Stupse. I am hearing this crap from too many of you otherwise intelligent people.

And when yuh left with idiots running the country and xhite flowing on the streets again, then what?

Remember the DLP built an eight bed isolation facility for a potential pandemic?

Eight beds…morons had no clue.

If they were still there, nuff bajans woulda dead and top joker would still be sitting on his hands.

Stupse.

28. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Crusoe December 30, 2021 1:48 AM

Many of the so called intelligent people not voters like me are extremely displeased with the PM’s latest blunder of calling an early election as the latest in a long line of blunders our sweet talking dictator-like PM has made this year.

Under normal circumstances, a snap election would have been a brilliant move. But this is her worst move yet with Omicron, the rapidly spreading variant that has blown through all COVID protocols including the prettycols of mask wearing and hand washing, she chooses to play a political game with people when she has no idea how the variant will behave in Barbados.

This election was only called now to avoid the embarrassment of the mistreatment of our treasured nurses and to remove the non-lawyer Caswell, the only thorn in her side who keeps reminding her, an extremely experienced lawyer and parliamentarian, every time she flaunted a pesky thing call the Laws and Constitution of Barbados.

All political parties in Barbados need to be sent a message. COVID has opened our eyes to the depths the political elite will go to maintain contrrol and kill the dissenting discourse a healthy democracy needs to have and right now our democracy is very sick and staying away from the polls is the only way we have left to send that message.

29. I too am thinking that boycotting the polls is the only way I can show my displeasure.

I cannot get past this offer of Jobby Bonds to settle debt to ordinary citizens. I cannot get past how quickly the nurses have gone “from heroes to zeros” in Ms. Mottley’s eyes for asking for regular pay days and adequate PPE.

I don’t give a damn about some stupid protocol. I care about justice and fairness.

You cannot be wrong and strong.

Mia has squandered a wonderful opportunity to say to workers,

“WE HEAR YOU! We understand that you have been patient. We will work through your lists starting from today. I know that you will understand that we cannot fix everything at once but your most egregious grievances will not be allowed to torment you any further under my watch.

And I wish to say to all other workers with legitimate grievances that we commit to addressing them and only ask your patience as we do so.

Together we can work it out! Forward into the New Republic!

This was an opportune time to show respect for citizens as equal partners in this endeavour!

But hell no! Bring out the big stick and sing a song of protocols!

When “temporary” workers are told they should beg their families for bus fare to get to work, when families struggle to find that busfare, you speak to me about PROTOCOLS??????

HOW MANY MONTHS WOULD POLITICIANS WORK WITHOUT PAY?

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    I cannot fault many of your comments. Unaware of the true priorities, your approach is simply one of respect, which is rarely, if ever, a bad strategy.

I was pushing your ‘vote’ button, largely because of the idea of a no show = displeasure. Sadly, the pols only care who gets the most votes…1589 – 1437, 825-776, all the same to them. They need one more.

It is a vexing choice.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@CA
    Canada pulled a similar mid pandemic election call, a few months back, after a shorter stint in power, albeit a minority parliament seeking majority.

While many voiced being upset at the call, it faded, and the results didn’t indicate much punishment.

The flip side to your comments, is she cannot wait until Omicron is in full gear, or that will possibly blow 3 months. The numbers are staggering, though the virulence is much better.

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Critical… life experience is a blessing and a bane …

The blessing tells me that your thrust of activism by ‘removal of patronage’ (a la civil rights bus boycots) can be very effective.

But the bane of the same life experiences clearly shows that to do that in an election is absolutely ineffective … madness really.

No lotta long time on this. I believe you and @Donna and others are intellectually wise to have garnered your life experiences in similar context.

All I would say is that 1) your sentiments play directly into MAM’s hand and 2) I do hope those others who have said to me that they WILL NOW vote – after considering sitting out before this headsnapper – are significantly more than your crew!

As much as I think Phillips is an absolute mad-hatter I would give his model of community activist parliamentarians under his Solutions framework serious consideration …ie for every really solid candidate he has she/he would be supported 100% to victory.

That would DEFINITELY put an arrow across Mia’s bonnet… but of course such a program requires a depth of effort the likes of which Solutions would be unable to muster in two weeks … so support ‘fresh’ DLP candidates and give them some seasoning for the next rodeo.

But to paraphrase the Borg: Non Participation is futily non productive!

33. Donna,

I agree with your position on both debt settlement and nurses conditions.

But the better alternative to a non vote, I agree with NO, is to vote for Grenville.

Not the DLP who squandered tgeir eight years. But new blood.

To Grenville, get a full slate of 30 candidates.

You have a rare opportunity to become the Opposition.

You need to run in St.James or Christ Church, if anywhere, those will provide you the most votes.

Best of Luck

Vote Solutions, Vote Grenville!

34. @DIW
    That was my strategy last time. But the man is a mad Hatter, and have no idea who will be mustered on ballots this time around. Eastmond is far more capable, but…..

35. @Crusoe

Latest report is Grenville has confirmed 10 candidates. He has put out a public call for candidates with an election 19 days away. Do you understand why the blogmaster sides with a pragmatic approach?

36. NO,

Yes indeed! A MOST VEXING choice.

So vexing that I have taken to listening all day for the last three days to the sounds of Prince’s guitar gently weeping George Harrison’s masterpiece.

I appreciate your input and will take it under advisement.

Crusoe,

There is much I like about Grenville’s hands, on grass roots, practical approach to governing but there is also too much that scares me about him. He is indeed a nutter. And a religious nutter, the worst kind! Way too often, I read his articles and cringe. I could not take seriously any person who accepted him as leader. Really unfortunate because I don’t think he would engage in corruption. I believe he is well-intentioned.

The thud you just heard is Grenville Phillips II hitting the floor. Donna has never been a hater. What is there about Grenville to hate? Plenty to disagree with, plenty to annoy, but nothing to hate whatsoever!

Anyway, I will take your advice into consideration also.

DPD,

Same goes for you.

37. GPII gets an A+ for effort. Being agnostic, his persistent Biblical references shuts me off. His biggest pluses, he is honest. And will try. He is ‘of us’ but not ‘one of us’. And I suspect is an issue in attracting candidates. He needs a solid finance candidate. Unlike the other current leader, spreading oneself across all portfolios is neither easy, nor preferred. Three solid deputies would enhance the overall appeal

38. How can Grenville not be running and his the spokesman for the party? His approach has been rejected toi many times for it to make sense repeating.