David;  Attached are the charts for the week ending 24th December 2021. The cases and positivity charts are showing slight upticks, perhaps presaging a possible Omicron upsurge in the coming weeks. The vaccination charts are continuing to show the slow growth in vaccine uptake.  The Worldometer charts show a declining trend in deaths.  Reports on Omicron suggest that it aggressively outcompetes the other existing variants and that its effects are relatively mild thereby offering a small ray of hope for the future containment of the epidemic.

Source: Lyall Small

173 responses to “BU Covid Dash – Is Omicron Here?”

1. Grasshopper

It isn’t that complicated.

For example, just as BC’s COVID cases are rising after floods, you will see any country that has serious floods experiences a rise in COVID cases.

Nothing complicated about that.

After a six month letup in flooding in Brazil, starting a few weeks ago we see floods starting back.

Brazil should soon have cases which are rising, January.

Here is one of the more recent floods, from hours ago.

2. @ WURA-War-on-U December 27, 2021 11:56 AM

Why the excitement? The tourists are 90 per cent vaccinated. It is solely the dumb local masses’ own problem that they are unvaccinated.

The virus has already saved us millions in pension payments and welfare for unvaccinated natives. Those who do not want to be vaccinated must know that this is voluntary suicide. Condolences to crying relatives are not appropriate. On the contrary, our government should charge the heirs for the cost of medical treatment.

3. Here’s what Brazil’s cases look like.

It doesn’t take a genius to figure out COVID cases will rise.

Nothing at all complicated about that.

https://imgur.com/sXTKYGB

In fact, it’s easy like Sunday Morning.

If the floods are anything like last year, COVID cases will be worser regardless of the variant the experts come up with!

4. “What is even more frightening is that some who would tell you of every conspiracy theory and warn you against getting vaccinated are getting the vaccine for themselves.”

As my daughter said recently, some are evil enuff to just want to see people die and push a lot of bad info out there, i told someone recently that 75% of the info out there is false….

5. @rabbit
    I have repeatedly cited the phrase “correlation is not causation”. From what is seen so far and with breakthrough infection we can expect an increase and decrease of infection over time.

We are now in the winter season in the US, I would not blame an increase in infections on the cold weather.

In many of the cases that you cited, you failed to provide proof of flooding and we just have to take your word for it.

In your reference to Gibraltar, you mentioned its drinking water and linked it to flooding in Spain. On several occasions, it has been pointed out to you that drinking water is not floodwater, sewage or wastewater; a point that you refused to admit.

I have exited this rabbit hole as your product is well past its “used by” date.

6. Gibraltar is just stone’s throw from Spain which I predicted would see a rise in COVID and did after the flooding.

Gibraltar also uses 100% desal water.

BC is seeing a rise in COVID as I predicted, following the floods it experienced.

Florida is seeing a rise in COVID following floods.

Italy, Spain I predicted they would see rises following their floods.

Countries in Europe I got right … bang on.

We’ll see Brazil in January and Israel as I predicted is on the rise.

The Virus causes COVID, not the floods.

The floods are just a vector the virus uses to spread directly to people and indirectly through infection of the municipal drinking supply.

… just as the air is a vector and not a cause.

7. Second day of first Test match in South Africa got rained out.

South Africa is on its way down.

It is likely if the flooding last night/yesterday was extensive enough the curve will turrn and go up.

The flooding did not cause the COVID, it just provided a vector for its spread.

Here are South Africa and Zimbabwe side by side.

Identical shape more or less.

https://imgur.com/a4QbICh

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

Ontario is reaching 10,000/day and that number is low, because the people are accepting they have it and/or testing using a rapid test, so public health has no way to include them. One son went to a dinner for 10, all ten got it, but only 2 had formal PCR tests.
    But the lakes and some rivers are frozen, (went skating on Xmas day), no floods, so it must be the tap water. Unless it is outgassing from the ice.

9. John Let It Be
    The definitive flood theory was by somebody else
    Down to earth

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M75-k7TK6mA

10. There are people who will get their way regardless of where we are heading. Simple research will expose who owns/ manages and frequents the high end restaurants/ bars on the West Coast.
    Well, some of us will pull out the $2500 price tag at such venues on Old Years Night.
    Sometimes we laugh so as not to cry.

11. @ NorthernObserver,

The rivers are not frozen so I will probably go fishing for rainbow trout later this week.

Getting a booster shot on wednesday .

12. John; You said above The flooding did not cause the COVID, it just provided a vector for its spread.

Yuh know dat a vector is a living thing like a horse or a cat or a dog or some other pet or an alligator or a fish or some other marine organism or a rat or a mosquito or..or…? So did you really mean vector or pathway?
    My googling last year did not identify any specific vector for Covid-19, afair(emember). So chances are the vector that you think rides in or on floods does not exist.

But you could search for a list of organisms in which Covid-19 has been found and which has been shown to be able to transmit that virus to man. I suspect you will not find any scientifically verified ones either.

If you were thinking that floods might be a pathway for Covid-19, like stagnant water is for Dengue, with specific mosquito genera being the vectors. It isn’t.

Covid-19 is a pandemic occurring in all Seasons in practically all countries on Earth over the past 2 years or so. Submitting numerous graphs of Covid-19 outbreaks / spikes and inferring that floods caused these outbreaks or provided conditions for vectors to cause the outbreaks while omitting any data which shows that many outbreaks occurred in the total absence of flooding is disingenuous.

Get the scientific data. Do the correlations. Do the regressions and then come back.

13. John stop sounding like a vectors ass. You know very well there is an increase in covid every time they give the varient a greek letter name, all they have to do is stop naming the damn things.

14. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“The number of viruses present swamp the vaccine and cause breakthrough infections .[…] Cases are at their height after vaccines because of water and deaths in the USA in 2021 way exceed those of 2020 under Trump.”

But clearly there were no major flooding in 2020 under Trump right … so definitely the virus was no big problem then … all of these deaths caused by Biden and his foolish policies fah sure!

Swamped by his folly, clearly!

SMH!

15. Look what’s happening in London at the moment.

https://www.bing.com/search?q=duluth+north+pier+light&cvid=1ec2baa91373400ea26b735d8a788e89&aqs=edge.4.69i59i450l7.1096609149j0j4&FORM=ANAB01&PC=W069

The water supply is the problem.

The water is carrying the virus straight into the homes of the afflicted.

16. OOPS, wrong link

Londoners complain of a mystery illness going around that’s ‘worst ever’
    It’s characterised by vomiting and diarrhoea

https://www.mylondon.news/news/uk-world-news/londoners-complain-mystery-illness-going-22583584

17. de pedantic DribblerDecember 27, 2021 4:34 PM

“The number of viruses present swamp the vaccine and cause breakthrough infections .[…] Cases are at their height after vaccines because of water and deaths in the USA in 2021 way exceed those of 2020 under Trump.”

But clearly there were no major flooding in 2020 under Trump right … so definitely the virus was no big problem then … all of these deaths caused by Biden and his foolish policies fah sure!

Swamped by his folly, clearly!

SMH!

All you have to do is to look at the states in 2020 where there were surges and you will find the floods.

However, the weather cycle which caused the floods is much deeper now.

Don’t worry, it will abate and droughts will become the norm.

Look at Taiwan.

Worst drought in 56 years in 2020, floods in 2021.

18. NO

It doesn’t matter if rivers and lakes have frozen.

The municipalities still deliver water to customers.

And the colder it is the LONGER the virus survives.

So you got an all winter problem up your side!!

19. Take Colorado for instance.

By September 2021, it had broken its flood records and the flooding had started at the end of 2020..

So Biden got the rise in cases in this state, not Trump.

Not in the least bit complicated, it’s all there in the numbers.

https://www.denverpost.com/2021/09/04/colorado-flood-warnings/

https://imgur.com/ePGLCvE

20. This thing real easy to understand, even the intelligensia on BU could get it figure out!!

21. lyallsmallDecember 27, 2021 4:16 PM

Yuh know dat a vector is a living thing like a horse or a cat or a dog or some other pet or an alligator or a fish or some other marine organism or a rat or a mosquito or..or…? So did you really mean vector or pathway?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You are confusing waterborne (which I have routinely described the virus as) and vector-borne diseases.

Water effectively vectors the virus straight on to the target host without using mosquitoes, rats, ticks etc.

Only a brainwashed person would believe this virus is only airborne!!

Even the powers that be speak of its transmission by droplets, clearly implicating the need for water in its transmission.

22. Airborne
    Waterborne
    Vectorborne

Vector
    Scalar!!

23. It is pretty clear that COVID case surges are very much weather driven.

Look at South Africa and Zimbabwe, very similar in shape, driven by floods/weather.

https://imgur.com/a4QbICh

24. John

Is the GoB paying you in J Bonds for your mummy’s plantation lands

25. I hear Ms. Mockley’s Government is calling elections!!

3rd Jan is nomination day and 19th is elections.

26. … and it ain’t presidential elections if the rumour is right

Hope Grenville ready.

27. Is Omicron in Bim ?

Oh yes…..she just left the CBC tv screen after announcing General Election Day in Barbados for January 19, 2022 !

Voters…..wear yuh masks and stay clear of…..Omi ron !

28. @ Fractured BLP December 27, 2021 7:45 PM

Who tells you that unvaccinated DLP voters are allowed to vote at all???

According to my assessment of the electoral law, no persons who could spread serious diseases are allowed to enter the polling station.

29. 3.5 years, 2 of them COVID.

Wonder if the CCOVID would have made much of a difference?

Anyway, we got the naked red woman as a national hero, a president and a republic without a constitution!!

30. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

To the original posted question…if it isn’t here now, it will eventually be. The next question is does it really matter or make any difference? In MY view, after 2 years of the pandemic we have learned the following

1) This virus and it variants continues to be highly contagious and continues to spread. The Delta variant was the “game charger”. It totally smashed any serious consideration that this virus could be eliminated in the short term if at all.

2)The fatality rate continues to be approx 1% world wide. This is the most important statistic in my opinion. Hopefully no variants will pop up to significantly increase this number in the long term. As long as mankind continue to be exposed to the virus the fatality rate will be whittled down due to the cumulative effects of vaccine and natural immunity, the use antiviral drugs being develop and the secondary virus spread prevention measures.

3)So far, variants of concern have popped up every 6-12 months. The immediate concern is how these new variants will by pass immunity to the previous variant. Simply put, this virus (like most other endemic respiratory viruses known to man). have the ability to rapidly multiply and find an evolutionary solution to bypass acquired immunity and improve its transmissibility Our immune systems however have correspondingly evolved to acquire natural immunity in a relatively quick time to these viruses(as seen with the over 90% recovery rate)
    What has been instructive has been the countries that had a rapid uptake of the vaccines but still saw the significant spread of Covid-19. It indicates that vaccines or even drugs will NOT be a panacea to “end” the pandemic. Most of these countries depended on high vaccine uptake and at the same time abandoned the secondary disease prevention measures. This has shown to be the wrong approach. This pandemic will not be suddenly brought to an end but has to be PROPERLY mediated and mitigated.

31. Worst Covid blow so far

Trinidad records 610 deaths for month
    PORT OF SPAIN– Trinidad and Tobago has registered 610 deaths so far this month from the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, making it so far the worst month since the first case was registered in the twin-island republic in March last year.
    Last month, Trinidad and Tobago registered 425 deaths and the Ministry of Health in its latest bulletin on Sunday, noted that 30 people died from the virus pushing the death toll to 2 768.
    In addition, Trinidad and Tobago registered 465 new confirmed positive cases from samples taken during December 22 to 25 and so far this month, a total of 18 468 people have tested positive for the virus. The country has registered 89 829 infections and 70 220 recoveries since March last year.
    In November, the country registered 14 032 infections. The authorities said 473 patients are hospitalised.
    The ministry said that 659 477 people have received the first dose of a two-dose vaccine regime and 47 921 have received a shot of a single-dose vaccine. It said 66 979 people have received an additional primary dose or booster shot. A total of 664 699 people are now fully vaccinated.
    Meanwhile, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has acknowledged that in this pandemic, all citizens, both vaccinated and unvaccinated, hold rights and responsibilities for the care and safety of each other in this country.
    “Even as we do this, let us spare a moment of reflection to remember all those families and communities who have experienced the loss of loved ones along the way and for whom the pandemic is more than the daily news but the source of the pain that
    they would continue to suffer.”
    Rowley reminded citizens that human civilisation was built on the basic values of love, compassion, decency, morality and that the Christmas season “is that moment we can renew those values and reveal further our true strengths, within”.
    The government has said that it intends to go ahead with the plan to require all government workers to be fully vaccinated if they want to continue being paid will go ahead despite calls from trade unions to have it scrapped. (CMC)

32. Unless they did anything about it over the years, the Trini water supply has been the pits for a long time.

It also gets alot of the weather and rain we never get.

Been watching their cases shoot skywards..

33. That flood was August.

This one was September.

34. @Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TVDecember 28, 2021 1:33 AM

We must finally come to terms with the fact that in the 2020s we will have a higher death rate among the elderly, the chronically ill and people with obesity. All the measures away from vaccination that we currently have (curfew, masks, hand disinfection) will not drive the virus out of the world, but only prevent natural immunisation.

Looking at the low mortality in many African countries, I conclude that there is a clear link between obesity and COVID19. The main focus of our government should therefore be to ensure that our population consistently has a maximum BMI of 25.

35. Trinidad cases look like this.

https://imgur.com/qZoSRCw

Deaths are still rising while we have a falling death rate with the ground drying out.

https://imgur.com/8ebZ6Oo

We are just one flood away from emulating Trinidad.

36. Trinidad is a joke when it come to following protocol. That goes from the man of the street to the law of the land.
    When there was a shutdown and people were stranded in Barbados, some were still getting permission to enter.

Their water and electric supply and roads are not to be envied. It appears that some of their internet providers suck.

The country has a lot of energy and enthusiasm. Most of it is directed or wasted.

37. Not quite clear, but not worth editing.

38. TheOGazertsDecember 28, 2021 10:42 AM

Trinidad is a joke when it come to following protocol. That goes from the man of the street to the law of the land.

Q. Why was the curve flat and close to zero for 2020???!!!

A. No serious floods.

2021 is the year of the flood … worldwide!!

Vaccines won’t work and even those with strong immune systems get infected once the public water supply is infected.

39. Re: BAMP’s statement on travel protocols

Our government should certainly not listen to xenophobes like Dr Adanna Grandison. Why doesn’t the so-called doctor talk about the low vaccination rate of only about 50 percent??? Because these are all BLACK locals and not 90 per cent fully vaccinated WHITE tourists??? Just asking …

Before our government hands out the doctorate to medics in the future, an IQ test should automatically be associated with it. I would not be surprised if our so-called doctors recommend the consumption of garlic and hot showers instead of vaccination – just like Barbadian doctors did against HIV/AIDS in the 1980s.

How about trying to increase vaccination rate, eg through a mandate, or fighting obesity as the number one risk factor for COVID19??? Why is the BAMP silent on these matters?

40. Brazil can expect further surges in the new year.

Another flood today.

Already had one which would portend a January surge.

This one will increase the rate at which the surge grows.

Hope I am wrong but looking at the empirical evidence from around the world this is what is most likely to happen

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/brazil-suffers-severe-flooding-leading-to-state-of-emergency-in-several-states/ar-AASdvc3?ocid=msedgdhp

41. Be prepared to resist Omicron – and survive in 2022

by DR COLIN V. ALERT

FROM REPORTS OF what is happening internationally, we can safely assume that it is only a matter of when, rather than if, the Omicron coronavirus will visit our newly designated republic. It has already reached into some of our Caribbean neighbours.
    Reports also suggest that, based on current evidence, a booster shot of a COVID vaccine – a third dose if your first doses were the AstraZeneca or the Pfizer vaccines, or a second dose if your first dose was the Johnson and Johnson vaccine – offers your best protection against becoming seriously ill, requiring hospitalisation, or even dying from COVID-19.
    But reports also state that some people who got their first two vaccines, or some persons who were previously infected, survived, and presumably had developed some “natural immunity”, are still coming down with the Omicron variant, such is the high rate of transmission of this new strain.
    These are “breakthrough infections”. In our case, we need to reinforce the mitigation strategies, even in those fully vaccinated, and especially in those partially or totally unvaccinated.
    As a reminder, these are the three Ws – wash (sanitise) your hands, watch your (social) distance (it’s the most socially distanced time of the year) and wear your mask. Even Rudolph is now the face-masked reindeer.
    As the highly contagious Omicron coronavirus variant continues to spread, it may be time to upgrade your face mask – especially if you’re still only wearing a cloth mask.
    Cloth masks are little more than facial decorations. You need to be wearing at least a medical-grade surgical mask, which can be found at some drugs stores, groceries or hardware stores. You can wear a cloth mask on top of the surgical mask, but do not wear a cloth mask alone, especially indoors in crowded spaces. Cloth masks do not offer sufficient protection against Omicron.
    Ideally, in crowded places, you should be wearing a medical grade mask, such as a surgical mask. Surgical masks offer a better fit and certain materials – such as polypropylene fibres – act as both mechanical and electrostatic barriers. These barriers better prevent tiny particles from getting into your nose or mouth and can be fitted to your face, especially snugly over your nose, to fit tightly. This increases the effectiveness.
    Cloth masks – encouraged earlier in the pandemic – can filter large droplets, while more effective masks, such as the surgical masks, can filter both large and smaller aerosols and particles potentially laden with the airborne virus if infected people are present.
    A cloth face covering can have as much as 75 per cent inward and outward leakage. Properly fitted surgical masks can filter
    up to 95 per cent of particles in the air.
    Why the Omicron variant has been so successful at quickly infecting many people is unknown at the moment, but face masks with limited effectiveness may be one issue. If it is fewer viruses needed to cause an infection, or if it is a person who’s infected is putting out more viruses, then the role of a mask in this is to slow down the amount that you’re actually breathing in.
    If you need 1 000 viral particles to infect you and you’re wearing something that cuts 50 per cent of things down, it’s now going to take twice as long to get to that 1 000. If you’re wearing one that is 90 per cent efficient, it’s going to take at least ten times as long before you get infected when you’re around somebody who is spreading the virus.
    If all you have is a cloth mask, it’s still better than nothing. In studies of various face masks, cloth masks with multiple layers and higher thread counts have demonstrated superior performance when compared to single layers of cloth with lower thread counts, but are still less effective than medical-grade masks. Wearing a cloth mask over a medical-grade mask can better protect you and others by improving fit and therefore filtration capacity.
    Commercially there are two types of the recommended surgical masks available, the N95 masks and the KN95 masks. They differ in the country that certifies them: the N95 is a US certifying standard, while the KN 95 is a Chinese standard. As in everything else, beware of “fake masks”.
    It seems that COVID-19 and its many relatives will continue to arrive uninvited to our islands. If we hope to survive 2021, and thrive in 2022 and beyond, avoid “12 days of isolation” and the local cemetery. Keep up to date with your vaccines, wash your hands, watch your social distancing, and always wear your fully protective face mask(s).
    Dr Colin V. Alert is a family physician. This article was submitted as a letter to the Editor.

42. re Go and read what your hero had to say about covid 19 vaccine.

Trump Tells Candace Owens That Covid-19 Vaccines Work: ‘One Of The Greatest Achievements Of Mankind’

WHEN YOU WANT TO LAUGH LONG AND HARD YOU COME TO THE BU RUM SHOP
    WHERE DID TRUMP GET THE IDEA THAT VACCINES ARE THE BEST THERA PEUTICS? NOT FROM DR FALSY?

IF THE ELECTION WAS NOT STOLEN TRUMP WOULD TODAY BE MERCIFULLY CRITICIZED . FOR PROMOTING THE RAPID CREATING OF THE VACCINES.

BRANDON AND CACALA INITIALLY SAID THAT THEY WOULD TAKE OR ENDORSE THE USE OF VACCINES BECAUSE TRUMP PROPOSED “WARP SPEED” (WHICH I THOUGHT WAS RUBBISH.

ON GETTING INTO OFFICE BRANDON AND CACALA INSTITUTED VACCINE MANDATES BECAUSE THEY THOUGHT (WHAT WITH I DONT KNOW) THAT THEY WERE GOING TO DEFEAT THE VIRUS.

BUT THERE HAVE BEEN MORE CASES OF THE VIRUS UNDER THEIR WATCH IN 2021 THAN UNDER TRUMP IN 2020.
    NOT TO MENTION THE LARGE NUMBERS OF SEVERE ADVERSE EFFECTS THAT WERE LARGELY UNREPORTED BY THE MSM.

THE VIRUS HAVE DEFEATED THESE TWO BU-ESQUE MORONS THAT NOW BRANDON HAS DIVESTED THE RESPONSIBILITY FROM THEIR FAILED FEDERAL AUTHORITY TO THE STATES.

THE FAKE NEWS IS NOT REP[ORTING THAT , ARE THEY?

HOW IS JOHN’S HERO IN ANY WAY INFERIOR TO BRANDON? OR MIA, WHOSE ADMINISTRATION HAS ALSO BEEN DEFEATED BY THE VIRUS TOO. AS WELL AS ALL THE KINGS HORSE AND THE KINGS MEN WHO HAVE POSTED ALL YEAR WITH THROATS ADVOCATING THE USE OF VACCINE AS THERAPY.

THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

WATCH NOW WATCH

43. RE Why doesn’t the so-called doctor talk about the low vaccination rate of only about 50 percent???
    WHY? HAS THERE NOT BE ENOUGH PROPAGANDA ON THIS ALREADY/

RE Because these are all BLACK locals and not 90 per cent fully vaccinated WHITE tourists??? Just asking
    IS IT NOT TRUE THAT THAT IT IS THE FULLY VACCINATED WHO ARE SPREADING THE VIRUS, HERE THERE AND EVERYWHERE?…

Before our government hands out the doctorate to medics in the future, an IQ test should automatically be associated with it.
    WHY SHOULD THIS BE REQUIRMENT, SIR?
    WHAT I Q TEST WAS TAKEN BY THE BLOG MASTER AND REGULAR BU POSTERS BEFORE ALLOWING THEM TO COME HERE DAILY AND SPEW RUBBISH?

I would not be surprised if our so-called doctors recommend the consumption of garlic and hot showers instead of vaccination – just like Barbadian doctors did against HIV/AIDS in the 1980s.
    WHO KNOWS? THAT MIGHT WORK AS WELL AS THE PROTOCOLS IN USE FOR TWO YEARS KNOWN TO BE ESSENTIALLY INEFFECTIVE. AS FOLK ARE STILL COMING WITH THE VIRUS THEIR USE.

How about trying to increase vaccination rate, eg through a mandate, or fighting obesity as the number one risk factor for COVID19???
    WHY SIR? EVEN BRANDON IS GIVING UP ON HIS SILLY MANDATES.

Why is the BAMP silent on these matters?
    WHY SHOULD THEY SPEAK OUT SIR. MIA AND THE CMO AT AL GOT THIS. ISNT THAT SO.
    HOW MANY MORE COOKS DO YOU NOW WANT TO SPOIL THE BROTH FURTHER?

THANKS FOR THIS PIECE OF MIRTH, SIR

44. The number of covid cases on the increase.

Barbados records a sharp increase of COVID-19 cases, 227 new cases recorded:

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/12/29/barbados-records-a-sharp-increase-of-covid-19-cases-227-new-cases-recorded/

45. Omnicron is less harmful but is still spreading and people are still dying mainly unvaccinated
    There are discrepancies in PCR and lateral testing not identifying positive cases as well as delays in virus showing
    It is killing flights

46. @Tron “I would not be surprised if our so-called doctors recommend the consumption of garlic and hot showers instead of vaccination – just like Barbadian doctors did against HIV/AIDS in the 1980s.”

You are LYING, and we ALL know it.

Leave a Reply to GreenMonkeyCancel reply