Nurses defend their strike action against attacks from the government, employers and BLP aligned trade union leaders

Submitted by Tee White

On Wednesday 16 December after a meeting of the Social Partnership which brings together the government, employers and trade unions, Prime Minister Mia Mottley hosted a press conference in which she unleashed a scathing attack on the striking nurses and, in particular, Caswell Franklyn, the opposition senator who is also the leader of the Unity Workers Union (UWU) which represents the striking nurses. Prime Minister Mottley accused the nurses of prematurely initiating strike action without following the accepted procedures and accused their leader of using the strike action to further his own political ambitions. She further denounced the UWU leader for encouraging its members to abandon patients and declared that since the nurses were on strike, the government would dock their pay.

The Prime Minister’s attack on the striking nurses was, not surprisingly, fully supported by the Barbados Private Sector Association but, more surprisingly, also backed by the leaders of various trade unions including the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP), the Barbados Nurses Association (BNA), the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), the Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU) and the Congress of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados (CTUSAB). Openly violating the basic principles of working class solidarity, which as leaders of workers’ organisations they are supposed to uphold, these trade union leaders distanced themselves from the striking nurses and made common cause with the government and employers in their attacks on the nurses. The members of these unions will need to hold these leaders to account for their betrayal of basic trade union principles.

In the face of the onslaught from the government and the forces it had mobilised against them, the nurses have held their ground and more nurses are joining them in the strike action in defence of their rights. The trigger for the dispute was a botched attempt by the government to introduce its mandatory Covid 19 vaccination policy under the guise of ‘safe zones’ at the geriatric hospital. The management of this institution put up a notice at work identifying unvaccinated nurses who would have to undergo weekly PCR tests. The UWU had previously made it clear to the management that any attempt to impose the mandatory vaccination policy, without consultation with the union, would be met with strike action. Although the Ministry of Health backed down and stated that the management of the geriatric hospital had acted prematurely since the mandatory vaccination rollout had not yet been approved, this action nevertheless triggered the nurses to take a stand on a number of other issues which had remained unresolved for years. These included better pay, better working conditions, health insurance, continuous training and better nurse to patient ratios. These are issues which the nurses have been raising for years and which successive governments, including the current one, have failed to address. Therefore, any claim that the nurses initiated strike action prematurely is clearly false. In fact, the nurses have put up with unacceptable conditions for too long and it is the government who is in the dock on this issue. Speaking about her lived reality in the Barbados health care system, one nurse declared, “We are standing in solidarity with our colleagues against the authorities trying to implement safe zones without consultation with us. We also have our own grievances at Edgar Cochrane, such as not having enough resources – gloves, blood collection bottles, gauze.

Enough is enough. Imagine having to tell a patient they have to buy their own catheter bag; some of our patients can barely afford the bus fare to get to us”. Another nurse complained that nurse to patient ratios could sometimes reach 1 to 32 patients to nurse per day while the suggested ratio is 1 to 6. Directly addressing the despicable claim by the Prime Minister that the union had encouraged the nurses to abandon their patients, Kathy Ann Holder, a registered nurse of 12 years declared, “The whole entire time, never have we abandoned or left our patients for the last two years, with or without pay, with or without the testing, with or without the vaccine when there was none”. In fact, another nurse made the point that the nurses’ struggle is actually aimed to benefit the patients, when she stated, “We are not only standing up for ourselves, but for the patients too”.

In the face of the just cause of the nurses, the government has initiated extreme measures to suppress their’ struggle. On the 18 December, the UWU claimed that the government had put a freeze on some striking nurses’ bank accounts to prevent them accessing some of their money in addition to not paying them their December salary. Director of Finance, Ian Carrington denounced the claims as “total and complete foolishness and utter rubbish”. However, a recording of a nurse speaking to her bank and asking why a portion of her bank balance was unavailable has been circulating on social media. In the recording, the bank’s customer service representative explains to the nurse that her money has been frozen because the government of Barbados had placed a hold on a portion of the money in her account. In the lead up to the holiday period, the oppressive measures of the government against the nurses must be condemned and they give the lie to the Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s claim that she would not “unfair workers”.

The attack on the striking nurses by the current BLP government reflects the fundamental anti-working class nature of this government and is consistent with its attacks on the hotel workers when they were protesting to get their severance payments. While praising the working class activism of Clement Payne and the martyrs of 1937, the government is hell bent on crushing the struggle of the workers for their rights in 2021. Although they claim that it is the leader of the UWU that is using the nurses’ strike for political ends, they are actually the ones who have called on all the political parties in the country to condemn the nurses.

The cause of the nurses is just and the efforts of the government to suppress them are unjust. All out to support the nurses in their struggle!!

294 responses to “All-out Support for Striking Nurses”

1. It appears that there is a new Minster of Health and the individual with the title is a mere marionette, remember the famous letter signed by his PS that he didn’t know about? Now things are becoming clearer no wonder he is retiring from politics, if it was cricket, we would probably say he is retiring hurt.

Bajans memory short and dey heads hard, Mia said that all things flow through her and wunnah fuhget already, she has another portfolio, stop working de woman so hard.

2. @Sargeant

It is nothing new serious IR matters are seldom resolved by the Labour Department and Labour minister. Always the prime minister is the arbiter of last resort.

3. @David
    So why the charade of Caswell meeting with the Min. of Health? Caswell should insist on meeting with the PM but she would probably decline.

BTW your statement about “aged old convention” doesn’t hold water as the Minister met with the BNA not with representatives of the striking workers, how can they go back to work if they are not party to any agreement and only know what they read in the Press.

4. There is no aged old convention of strikers abandoning a strike before an agreement has been reached. How would that even make sense? You have a problem at work which causes the workers to strike and to discuss it with the management the strikers have to go back into the situation that made them strike in the first place with no agreement that the problems will be resolved. Makes no sense. The agreement is meant to lead to the end of the strike because the problem has been resolved. Secondly, how can the government dock nurses’ pay for days they already worked?

5. @Sargeant

Those familiar with IR tactics in Barbados know there is a process that must be danced through – that same old convention again.

Unfortunately Caswell is not a dominant union neither does he control the unionized membership. The government will exhaust all avenues to break this matter.

6. The more I read these comments , the more I realise why we are in such a quagmire at all levels.
    I said a few days ago that some of us will pretend we are for Caswell but at the end of the day will drive a knife into his heart to protect their leader , party and government.
    In the meantime they can’t wait for the nurses to return to their horrible working conditions; and Caswell to be mortally wounded , so that they can come here on BU and elsewhere and declare victory.
    Call it an “ emotional” response if you so wish but it is the blasted truth.
    I want a victory for the workers and the Unity union to keep up the fight on behalf of all their workers but I am here just wondering : who the Duopoly will attempt to destroy next.
    First they came for Caswell; then they came for……………,,,,

7. @ William Skinner December 26, 2021 12:55 PM

“to protect their leader, party and government”.

Without any doubt, our government must now show all-size toughness and retaliate brutally. I hope our Supreme Leader is as successful as Thatcher in crushing the totally illegal miners’ strike of 1984/85. We must turn back the wheel of history to crush any germ of rebellion. 1937 must remain a glitch in the system.

8. @Wiliam

You are spouting an emotional response per usual. Almost all Bajans if asked will support nurses being paid better blah blah. Is that the issue on the table when you add the political advantage being fought for?

9. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar
    African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved

Now this is a man who spent his whole life fighting human rights abuses and apartheid and all the EVIL thrown at Afrikan people, now we are fighting it coming from those who look like us, everyone with your skin is NOT YOUR KIN..

never mind all the crap talk about “this is not who we are”…it’s all a scam coming from human rights abusers

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/a-man-of-words-and-action-tributes-paid-to-desmond-tutu-following-death/ar-AAS9qh4?ocid=msedgntp

10. @ David
    Apparently when I submit anything with which you don’t agree I am emotional. It’s a tool used by white people to silence blacks. It’s from the Massa’s playbook. So, it means nothing to me. Just letting you know that.

11. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

“Apartheid was contemptible – as anyone without a malfunctioning moral compass knew in their soul”

and IS STILL IN Barbados aka RoB…over half century later.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/archbishop-desmond-tutu-s-death-should-remind-us-to-stand-up-to-oppressors-even-when-they-re-on-our-side/ar-AAS9R17?ocid=msedgntp

The blighted, cursed plight of the wannabe dictators/slave masters:

“It was scary to see how the new ministers so quickly donned the old clothes of their predecessors, he said as hopes of profound change were extinguished amid a tide of complacency and corruption.”

the dumb will NEVER LEARN:

“When we oppress others, we end up oppressing ourselves. All of our humanity is dependent upon recognising the humanity in others.”

12. William…..we are being sent messages

13. Steuspe

14. @ WURA
    Nothing new here, they do it all the time. That’s why I call them: Propagandists, apologists and obstructionists. What amazes me to no end, is the belief they have that no one sees through their dastardly intentions.
    As recently as Friday, Caswell publicly stated that a settlement was around the corner and then he’s told that the “ Prime Minister” moved the goal posts .
    So we have a frigging apologist coming here trying to lecture people on industrial relations , when it is obvious that the government was bent on negotiating in bad faith.

15. Politics will kill them…

the design was superb, true artistry..

16. My position remains the same. The last few years have shown me how susceptible people are to baseless conspiracy theories pushed by the internet. The more ridiculous, the better.

My hope too remains with the youth but we need more rational discourse. We have a few writers who are capable but we used to have more.

We have to find a way to reach those who have tuned out to it.

Many are rightly untrusting of government but have become prone to believe anything anybody else says against government, whether it makes sense or not.

17. @ Donna
    I read to day that Granville’s father has an autobiography out; Sir Richard Cheltenham has a bio coming: a guy Clarke ( former ambassador to China has his out; Sir Charles published his, so there seems to be some light at the end of the tunnel where the youth may have some books to read.
    However, I agree you that the large volume of junk on the internet cannot be easily navigated and our young people should have exposure to more rational writers.

18. Correction – prone to believing.

But wait – wasn’t Desmond Tutu an ANGLICAN ARCHBISHOP??????

Wunnah too funny, doah!

Oh dear me!

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, there is surely a lot to learn (possibly) from these bios of which u speak… fact is though that for every wonderful ‘inside story’ there is quite a bit NOT said.

But at least Bajan elite are now keen on penning their memoirs … 1) some people do that to settle scores (the lawyer tome was such); 2) some obviously to make money; 3) others to enhance their legacy or remodel a historical narrative and 4) then there are the ones who go for the jugular to lay bare what was really behind the scenes!

Of those you mentioned above I can imagine 2 and 3 full stop.

Our recollectuons of the past need some 1’s leading to 4’s, too … not necessarily to destroy anyone’s reputation but just to set some records straight.

All that said it would be quite interesting to read a REAL ‘accounting’ from the original GP on how he bestrode the Bajan financial circles in his role as a Liquidator etc and too the legal eagle Cheltenham.

20. Caswell’s militant politics isn’t going to achieve resolution for any nurses situations
    but will help him set up his stall for an election

21. Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu, acclaimed FREEDOM FIGHTER AND ANGLICAN CHIEF!

I would hate to think that he taught the children “the wrong things” like a slave -minded, unintelligent Sunday School teacher from Barbados!

Murdaaah!

And that is why I am on the blog! To catch your stupid ass out with your shite talk!

To balance extremist poop with reasonableness.

And that is why you could cuss me all day long, every damn day but you could NEVER shut me up!

TOO FAR EAST IS WEST.

SOMEBODY must stick around to save the youth from your crazy ass.

22. Some people are incapable of compartmentalizing…TUTU WAS A HUMAN RIGHTS ACTIVIST…he did not force the anglican CRAP on himself…..it was FORCED ON THE WORLD..

you did not live in the times when false religion was FORCED down their throats, and should do some research.

young people need saving from the DUMB and BACKWARD…even on BU….

young people are now fighting for their lives, and survival and have a wannabe dictator forcing a pre 1966 SLAVERY CONSTITUTION into their lives to keep another generation trapped, to drive them deeper into poverty and OPPRESSION….and thefts of their opportunities and future, think about that you ignorant ass… am not the one doing it…..and YOU CONTINUE TO HIGHTLIGHT the description of yourself…

ignorance will destroy you..

bad mind and jealousy got you TWISTED….while am here MINDING MY BUSINESS….ah got more than enuff to mind….and you CANNOT STOP ME.

23. I miss Pacha…hope you are back soon, ya finding fewer and fewer intelligent people to discourse with on BU…

24. btw…am the one educating the young Afrikan minds to their REAL IDENTITY…information they never even knew existed before,…..you can’t even do that, information you don’t even know exist, so sit your KNOW NOTHING ASS DOWN…..laughing stock.

https://african-online-publishing.webflow.io

and i got RECEIPTS..

25. gotta go into writing mode soon…Pacha…if ya watching, got a brand new title

and BU needs to take control of its AIRHEADS, they are an embarrassment..

or not, they are the ones looking dumber every day…not me, i actually contribute something positive here, there and everywhere..

26. The next edition of my Kush Quarterly will be out some time next month, it will remain free of charge, the irrelevant airheads might learn something new for once, READ instead of attacking, it’s ugly being THAT UNEDUCATED…

https://african-online-publishing.com/books-2/

27. It was the right decision shutting down the blog option on my websites, as much as i would like to have some people from BU on it, because of their abilities to rationally analyze and critically think through various subjects….they know who they are…

but….that also comes with those who are DUMB AS ROCKS…and some feel they need all types of opinions to make it work, but i could never do such a disservice to the young to have the same bunch of old ass people in their 50s, 60s and 70s day after day, being that uneducated and backward spouting shit to mislead the young to CAUSE THEIR DEATHS, DESTRUCTION and 21ST CENTURY ENSLAVEMENT..

…i could never live with myself…

28. How many comments is that addressing De Irrelevant Cuntry Cunt?

Your rebuttal makes no sense whatsoever but it was fun to watch you twist yourself into a pretzel from which you cannot extricate yourself.

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

I don’t expect any of your cheerleadering clique to point that out. They only love to come at me. A perfect display of what ails our society. They pick sides and run with it, no matter how ridiculous. Pray tell, how is that different from the dishonesty of the yardfowls?

You want back The Royal Wee? Yuh tink I frighten fuh he frequent flier folly?

When he gets back from saving the world from EMPIRE please inform him that the Barbados Revolutionary Coffers are under attack from the newly installed massas known as the Executive of one Credit Union Movement!

Animal Farm again!

Just like De Cuntry Cunt knew it would be.

And around and around they go…and where they will stop, NOBODY KNOWS!

BECAUSE THEY WILL NEVER STOP!

There will never be a revolution to end all revolutions! Human nature simply will never allow it!

So….I will enjoy my life, content to push for gradual reform.

Takes more time but is easier to maintain.

Put De Cuntry Cunt name pon dat!

29. Since ya too dumb to feel shame…it LEAVES ME STILL ON TOP…

just try not to tief any content…ya too dumb to do otherwise…

no one cares about your simple UNINFORMED soon ending life..

we care about the YOUNG AFRIKAN MEN AND WOMEN losing theirs, losing their freedom, being set up for a life of enslavement….and FAILURE….

you are useless….and on ya way out…..ya can’t even show what ya have achieved, but trying to atttack ME WHO HAVE ACHIEVES SO MUCH IN 9 YEARS…

they just got here….and confronted with the EVIL OF SLAVERY coming from black trash….that is who we have to care about, not some old woman trying to become relevant on a blog and don’t have the tools to succeed.

30. you, you, you, not every comment is for or about you, i was planning to put at least 3 of those comments out there anyway….but since ya were pimping attention, had to tell ya about yaself….public nuisance..

31. @ DPD
    The fascinating thing about reading bios and auto bios, is what isn’t written. So any great bio/auto carries the alert reader to the “ what if” place.
    You are absolutely correct.

32. I understand cow’s bio only served to underscore what a nasty piece of work he was…..no great loss, the earth breathed a sigh of relief…i won’t waste the time or money reading bios of racists thieves and frauds..

plenty of bios of decent people out there to read…no need to go slumming ..

33. It is clear that people do not have a full understanding of human rights, human rights violations and human rights activists or they would have a much better understanding of what Tutu, Mandela and others were subjected to under the dirty boer apartheid rule, hell, they don’t even understand the half century of human rights violations in Barbados….so it’s a stretch that they would understand much else…part of the reason you get so many undereducated clowns jumping out to show up themselves….

.BU is not a human rights blog….it’s geared more toward the narrow politics and religion….all colonial created and manufactured… and that can never get anyone far, especially if it’s the only platform ya troll all day, every week, every month and every year……

unless you have access to the information to get a better handle on what is required……ya just spinning top in mud, and am not sharing, yall are too dumb…and i have shared more than enuff on BU without being asked…hence, there are other platforms created for those who lean more toward human rights rather than the go nowhere politics and religion….ya can search and find them yaself..

Desmond Tutu worked with what he had, he has a noble peace prize…where is yours…, he taught people who still sing his praises, no one ever heard about you, and i never heard he molested anyone’s child, if that is what ya were hinting with ya sick, muddled, confused seesawing brain self.

34. Did Mottley call election just now

35. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Yes, she did for January 19th and she better make the nurses right before the end of this week or all the nasty, unfair practices they subjecting the nurses to will come to light.

36. More comments aimed at De Irrelevant, none of which served to untwist you from the pretzel position.

You repeat your UNPROVEN lie that nobody believes about stolen content and declare yourself the victor, boasting of such magnificent feats as defeating De Irrelevant!

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Yuh tink yuh name Captain Pichard of
    “Make it so” fame. Dis is not science fiction.

But… enough fun for the day! Like The Terminator, “I’ll be back!”

Yuh too funny doah!

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

37. PICARD not Pichard

38. I trust that the BU people all had a great Christmas.

@TheOGazerts December 24, 2021 6:17 AM “Hey, any ideas?”

I saw this late, but for Christmas ’22 try art and or books…for the good woman who already has everything

39. Dear David:

We need an election thread on the blog.

PLEASE!!!

Thanks.

40. human rights are just basic fundamental rights for all humans

white cunts from hell classified non-whites as sub humans in their legal loophole justification to feel morally better

no true activist would forgive the swine

41. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Well…there will be tons of material to publish and write about…

.Pacha …come out….lol

42. Jesus said the The Holy Sound of AUM (OM) aka the Sound of the Universe aka the Cosmic sound was the Great Comforter

Aum (the “Word” of the Bible) is God the Holy Ghost, Invisible Vibratory Power, the direct creator and activator of all creation.
    Tat (“That”) is God the Son, the Christ or Kutastha Cosmic Intelligence actively present in all creation.
    Sat (“Being, Truth”) is God the Father, beyond creation, existing in vibrationless unchangeability.

The Unmanifested, The Infinite, the Changeless Spirit is called Para-Brahman: the One Absolute. But during the cycles of manifestation, the Nameless and Formless is described as Aum-Tat-Sat (or, of Sat-Tat-Aum)—so designated by the ancient sages. In the Christian Bible Sat-Tat-Aum is spoken of as the Father, Son, and Holy Ghost.

“Aum-Tat-Sat” is considered to be the triple designation of Brahman (God). By this power were created, in the beginning, the Brahmins (knowers of Brahman), the Vedas, and the sacrificial rites. — The Bhagavad Gita XVII:23

He who knows Aum (Om) knows God

43. We need an election thread on the blog.

Dim mak aka the touch of death refers to any martial arts technique reputed to kill using seemingly less than lethal force targeted at specific areas of the body.

It is a one horse race

Mia is a master of the arts like DLP and Barbados Solutions are still slaves to the game.