Submitted by Observing

Labour marched with capital to bring a government to its knees.

Labour accepted 18% less of a salary increase after a government changed.

Labour sat with a Government to publicly criticise a sister union.

Labour sat by while rights were trampled, employees went to the great beyond and disadvantageous policies continued to be rammed down the throats of the masses.

Labour sits silent, while injustices are meted out even amidst the voices and cries of others.

A whole press conference with backup to save face for ANOTHER badly rolled out policy and justified concerns of nurses.

When labour, capital and the government become one and the same, the people have no choice but to suffer.

God’s blessings on the Davids, Caswells and Douglas Trotmans of this world.

Will the real leaders please stand up?

Prime Minister’s Press Conference (Dec. 15, 2021)

252 responses to “Another Dark Day for Labour – NTSH”

1. @Observing

Things get curiouser and curiouser.

2. This attack on the striking nurses by the government and employers association is not surprising. It shows once again that for all its pretty talk, this BLP government is fundamentally anti-working class. When the hotel workers had to take matters into their own hands to try to get their severance pay, they were lectured by the government that fighting for their rights is “not who we are”. So no surprises there. What, however, is really disgusting is the actions of the other union leaders who made common cause with the government and the employers and joined in attacking the nurses. They have obviously forgotten the basics of trade unionism that workers support each other, not stab each other in the back to please the government and the employers. No doubt some of them are eyeing a political career in the BLP. The mebers of these unions really need to raise their voice and get rid of these treacherous leaders.

3. The other trade unions were getting a public tongue licking from franklyn from the time they accepted the 5%

U can’t plant corn and reap tomatoes

4. @ David
    You are the one who has pushed accountability and transparency. Did you accurately read what William Skinner, a citizen of Barbados wrote on the issues ?
    When the name of my country has reached local and international press, I expect some kind of official position as to how the matter was resolved. This can easily be done on five minutes without disclosing any national security secrets. I as a citizen should not have to depend on : BU, Nationnews or Barbados Today.
    Why can’t you comprehend such a simple point.
    You were in the forefront of calling for Freedom of information legislation, I have dozens of comments made by you on the question of transparency and accountability. I am doing the same.

5. I always thought this Dr Walcott was an asshole. He calls upon POLITICIANS to ask whether this is political or not? What the france does he think they will reply? An accounting opinion? A religious opinion?
    If he wishes a response of merit why doesn’t he call on someone whose specialises in labour relations?
    Without saying much, at least publicly, Sen Franklyn has them running ragged.
    Let um run. He has there where he wants them.
    Now if only the other medical staff would show sympathy support, we have a conundrum.
    Did those former landowners who got Bonds have some choice? Did they vote for that? Was that in some manifesto? Was that convention?
    Fuck em. The only way you get change is to force issues.
    Let the people pick…an increase in pay for the nurses or another month of White Oak retainers?

6. @William

The blogmaster read what you write and stands by the comment.

7. “Today I read that a worker with 20 years experience with the security firm has been fired”

they always find a fall guy for something they allowed to happen daily for decades, as long as they know the person, whom they deem somebody while everyone else who pay their salaries are a nobody, they are free to do as they like including boarding a plane with a loaded gun..

.don’t hold ya breath for any report, ya can guarantee it will end up like the last one where an international agency did an investigation…one government claimed they left the report on the PMs. desk, the other government SWORE they never saw it and of course none of them thought of CONTACTING the investigating agency to get a copy and present to the public who PAY THEIR SALARIE, that little never once entered their corroded minds or the equation…..

“That’s why on this BU when I read the back and forth between the Dees and the Bees, I call it the pot calling the kettle black. Propagandists, Obstructionists, Apologists Hypocrites.”

grown people making themselves look like immature fools, 3/4 of the time they have no clue what they are talking about..because they hardly ever read anything worthwhile and know nothing about what happens in other jurisdictions…….stuck on their 2×3..and want to haul everyone into their lack of knowledge world with them…no wonder they are being called 14 and 15 year olds…

8. WS

After that that outright lie and then the attack on David after he corrected you , if I were you I would stop calling people hypocrite and talk about the kettle and pot

Just saying

9. “When the hotel workers had to take matters into their own hands to try to get their severance pay, they were lectured by the government that fighting for their rights is “not who we are”.

as long as the people remember that WICKED COMMENT next election…workers are ENTITLED to fight for workers rights…..these want to keep them RESTRAINED IN EMANCIPATION MODE – financial and social CAPTIVITY…..the workers have to BREAK FREE from these wannbe slave masters and their NASTY AGENDAS…..and it’s time to investigate WHO THEY ARE TAKING MONEY FROM TO CONTINUE these anti-Black Afrikan crimes…

telling workers..”don’t say nutten, it will make the island look bad” WHILE THEY AND THEIR CHILDREN STARVE….and debt collectors run them down for payment of debts…and the hoteliers who ROBBED THEM of their salaries and benefits boast about being millionaires while ya people suffer for food and basics…IS CRIMINAL……workers in Barbados have to put an end to this form of SLAVERY, OPPRESSION and DISCRIMINATION…only they can do it, because it’s obvious that while they beg these same people for votes: as long as they make it into the parliament…the same people are NO LONGER THEIR PRIORTY.. but the thieves and racists are….this is a NEW beginning, time to put AN END TO ALL OF THAT..

btw…all of this is heavily outlined in my book.

10. The screening/security at GAIA is outsourced to G4S. A private company.

11. I can give ya stories about what transpired at the airport before any dirty slave driver security companies became a thing on the island….of course they would not have cleaned it up but DOUBLED DOWN……they have not cleaned up anything else…

12. @ John 2
    Please reference the “ out right lie”
    For your information , I have been called a RH, JA and many other things.
    FYI , Nobody prescribes or proscribes what I write.
    I have never refused to retract any inaccuracies. Prove the lie and I will retract it.

13. “Lives are literally being put at risk, and putting the lives of ordinary Barbadians citizens who depend on all of us to maintain a stable and well-functioned healthcare system, on a platform of personal and political idolism, is utterly unacceptable, and distinctly un-Barbadian,” Dr Walcott said”.

see that shite talk, these are the same ones who remained silent when the hoteliers ROBBED the workers…they did not defend the workers, cared NOTHING about their wellbeing, but sucking a salary every month, did not say a word but expected them to suffer in silence while having families to feed, and no food to give them and no money to pay bills because these frauds got the thieves as first class citizens…..their lives were put at risk, the women were put at risk of being raped because they had no way to feed themselves and their families…..

…..DO NOT ELECT THESE TYPES OF FRAUDS…throw them out of the parliament…that’s the best gift the people can give themselves come 2023…

14. @ John 2
    I guess you did not read the basted lie when I was accused of being “ complicit” with some group of “ overseas” Bajans, who painted Barbados as the “ worst “ country on earth.
    But you choose to come here telling me what to write. Like I said prove or produce the lie and I will immediately retract it.

15. AND…i noticed they are now showcasing the younger minorities who are taking over from the older gneration of minority thieves….that’s another generation who is fully expecting to LIVE OFF BLACK LIVES for another 3 or 4 generations, there is no telling what level of CRIMES they will commit against the people and island, since the island’s laws do not apply to these criminals;………the people need to PUT AN END TO THAT….don’t mind the shite talk….the Black population is being SET UP again, by those they elected…

16. “Prove the lie and I will retract it.”

ya actually paying attention to these imps, let them go digging in the archives….some of their own best LIES CAN BE FOUND THERE….the last clowns who went digging for my lies while i was busy building SOMETHING POSITIVE………..still look like FOOLS and i ain’t retracting shit, give them some work to do since they are so DAMN IDLE……🤣🤣

17. Frank,

True dat! That is all I have been saying. All we the people need to do is challenge and demand our due. We must make these people uncomfortable but…..

….we don’t need any guillotine!

Reform not revolution is all we need!

18. @ WURA
    Comedians! Now that the shit hitting the fan, they want to castigate people for telling the truth.
    They never put Barbados first. They put their parties and political leaders interests above everybody else. They were warned time and time again that the Duopoly will systematically undermine national development. They were warned since the late 60s to hold these parties to their word. They decided to prop them up at all costs. Now they want independent thinkers to look the other way and give them a pass.
    The people are waking up. And they can’t handle it.
    The political cannibals will eventually eat each other.
    Never encourage your dog to suck your Neighbour’s eggs. When your neighbor no longer has eggs; your own dog will suck yours.
    You can’t fight corruption and good governance half way.
    A pack of : Propagandists Apologists, Obstructionists, hypocrites.

19. Note that we were told that the country will get a full report on what transpired with the breakdown at the airport when a passenger went through with a loaded gun.
    Today I read that a worker with 20 years experience with the security firm has been fired and Miami has dropped charges against the gentleman. However, the public has not been given any official report as promised.

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxccccccxccxxx

Who told or promised us a full report?
    Where / when?

Provide ur prove and i will withdraw my LIE Statement

20. “The people are waking up. And they can’t handle it.”

we can take photos and make videos of their new misery…they thought they had it all covered, take bribes to undermine the population while their thieving fraud bribers do as they like and pretend to give the people who are deliberately marginalized charity…they are subhuman…and all of them should be in jail…

it is very clear that neither governmnet want to see the Black population RISING out of this emanicipation, oppression and discrimination mode….the people have to CLAP BACK AT THEM IN A BIG and MEANINGFUL WAY…..it was made more evident when they disrespectfully sent their fraud minorities to our continent while ignoring the calls from the Afrikan Presidents that it’s the DESCENDANTS OF THE ENSLAVED should be the ones going, those who are interested…..problem for these small island jokers…they HAVE NO CLUE what they are doing and think disrespecting and insulting Afrikan descents will get them somewhere….WRONG…all they are intent to do is position the population into a corner so minorities can live of them and their children….that’s their only goal because there is something in it for them…

21. John 2,

William and I may clash but I don’t think he deliberately lies. If found to be mistaken, he would correct it.

Now is the time for a reset in Barbados. It is high time for power to be seized by the people.

It is going to be messy and costly but it is necessary. We cannot continue with the BDLP dance. It is past its expiry date.

Politicians must be made to understand from whom their power derives.

Forward into the new republic!

22. Funny Enuff….now the continent knows exactly who they are….because of what they tried to pull…they did that themselves, they JUST CANNOT HELP THEMSELVES they just had to show up their wicked anti-black ways….give them half a chance and not only will they wrap up Afrika and hand it over to these minority criminals, but they will make sure the Afrikan population on the island get NOTHING OUT OF IT….except the crumbs from their inheritance……but they ran into a BRICK WALL. that they NEVER EVEN KNEW EXISTED…so they either fly straight now or that wall is NOT MOVING…

they wasted endless time with the republic foolishness, believing that as long as there is a half way republic, everyone will just fall in line…..and the shite talk will start…….well you know you have to be a patriot and do as i say, because i gave ya a republic,.i did something for you, you owe me…….

a republic which is not even real……….SHITE TALK…..sleight of hand BACKFIRED…

23. The people are wide awake and are taking NO MORE of the small island small minded, self absorbed, selfish crap from political jokes…and they have every right not to and they are LOUD about it…they have had enuff. They realize that they are being set up so that criminals can live off them while they and their children are criminalized, robbed daily and treated as 2nd class citizens. It was bound to reach this point after half century. RoB. Won’t hold my breath but let’s see if they pull back from this minorites come first shite AKA their bribes come first.

“THE REPUBLIC OF BARBADOS Is NOT About FAIRNESS, INTEGRITY HONOUR AND PRINCIPLE

THE REPUBLIC OF BARBADOS Is About COMPLIANCE, ABSOLUTE OBEDIENCE, SUBMISSION And BLIND LOYALTY

OTHERWISE YOU ARE CONDEMNED AS AN ENEMY OF THE REPUBLIC OF BARBADOS REGARDLESS TOO WHETHER YOU ARE RIGHT,
    REGARDLESS TOO WHETHER YOU ARE TRUTHFUL
    And
    REGARDLESS TOO WHETHER YOU ARE HONEST
    MEANS NOTHING TO THESE DEMENTED THESE DIABOLICAL
    AND
    THESE DEMONICALLY POSSESSED
    CRIMINALS
    TERRORISTS
    AND
    TYRANTS”

24. William…how many YEARS have i been telling the people TO MOVE AWAY from this toxic system and the politicians THAT CANNOT BE TRUSTED, who are more than happy to see the Black population TRAPPED and in permanent CAPTIVITY as long as there are bribes involved…………they are now seeing for themselves what we, you, Pacha, Miller, Bushman etc and many others for DECADES have been warning them about……what ya are reading above is tame compared to how the people really feel and posting it everywhere..

this cannot continue…

25. She requested a full report on the incident.

26. @ John 2 @David
    The matter was going to be investigated. That was the promise made. Now, in all seriousness is it unreasonable for a citizen to expect the findings of a promised investigation to be reported to the public. Where is the “lie” ?
    Has the public been given any report on the promised investigation. Yet the public is reading in the press that action has been taken. I said: ” ” However the public has not been given any official report as promised.
    Was an investigation promised? Have you seen a report from any official source?
    Perhaps I should have written : the public has not been given any report on the investigation that was promised and yet we are reading about a worker being held accountable .
    Now to the substance of the matter: You can correctly argue that I should have used the word investigation instead of report. and I am prepared to accept that. There is no evidence that I deliberately or intentionally attempted an “outright lie”. I simply used a word in the wrong place .An investigation was promised and there is no official report but a worker has been dismissed. The full findings of the promised investigation should be made public rather than the public depending on BU, Barbados today or the Nation newspaper.
    Now, I pride myself on integrity when it comes to public debate. I am therefore accepting that both you and @David are correct when you said no “report” was promised. However I will not accept or admit to promoting any “outright” lie since no ” official” report has been given on the investigation.
    Conclusion; As promised, i have politely accepted both you and @David position. I admit that I should have said investigation was promised and not report.
    Finally I do enjoy mature discussion. Thank you for drawing that error to my attention.

27. I am surprised that you spent so much time explaining yourself.

28. @ Theo
    It’s one thing to be accused of making an error. It’s quite another when you’re accused of telling an “ outright” lie.
    A lie and an error are not synonymous.

29. That’s why i told him ignore the IMP….all of us knew this..

i would give them all the lies they want….let them go DIGGING in the archives cause they got nothing better to do..let the lies CHOKE THEM..all investigations COME WITH REPORTS…so it was a public matter why would the people who pay their salaries not get a report…steupps…

now ya see why i take NONE OF THEM SERIOUSLY…especially the LIARS ON BU who love to call others liars…

30. William…they would know it’s an error and still call it a lie…they are STUPID LIKE THAT…acting like 7 year olds…apparently my lies have now bored them or…….they showed up themselves so much…especially when they thought they had a good piece of meat and were posting shite from the archives EVERY DAY…….but since i launched….they lost interest OR have finally come to terms with HOW DUMB THEY ARE…..🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

31. @William

You are aware this breach maybe an issue shrouded in the need for national security and other protocols to be observed?

32. @ David
    I said in my post that a report can be given without making any security concerns public. This is done every day.

33. William,

Not a good feeling, is it William, being accused of lying on the blog?

Not a good feeling being accused of stealing content on the blog either!

Perhaps you have a better understanding now.

34. @William

And why do your presume a report will not be given?

35. Lives are at risk because the nurses have ALWAYS BEEN MISTREATED…ya remember the one who fell in the hospital nearly 40 years ago, remember how they made HER SUFFER until now she is totally disabled…they had this woman crawling around instead of making sure THAT SHE WAS COMPENSATED adequately so her life of pain could be made comfortable…they made sure she did not get the surgery until it was TOO LATE…

lives are at risk, because the nurses don not get paid on time, many had to RUN FROM THE ISLAND….just to survive…

lives are at risk….BECAUSE OF 2 DESTRUCTIVE UNCARING GOVERNMENTS…

36. @William

Let us give you another view of the matter from someone who maybe familiar how these matters are treated.

The GAIA requested G4S to submit a report on the security breach – read how a traveler was able to embark a plane with a gun.

G4S investigated the matter and it resulted in the G4S employee who manned the scanner being terminated. There maybe other changes not made public and may not because of the need to keep private.

At the same time G4S has or will submit a report to government as requested which will have implications for if G4S’ contract is terminated and or not renewed.

Once the ducks are lined up where the PM can speak to the matter without prejudicing the exercise, the prime minister will probably address the matter.

37. The problem with many of you who comment is that you have lost the ability to be dispassionate.

38. @ David
    My contention is that as a citizen, I would prefer an official report from the government rather than other sources. If you’re are saying one will come. We can only wait and see.

39. …they made sure she did not get the surgery until it was TOO LATE……and may i add….that they grudgingly paid the money for the surgery about 38 YEARS LATER….when they knew it would be useless and the lady will be crippled…. i remembered how Adriel the AG acted like she was not human…..that’s the dangerous and wicked minds ya dealing with…..so she fell in the 70s on the hospital floor, that’s Barrow, Adams, Sandiford, and all the acting and other PMs, like St. John, Greaves, and the recent ones like Owen and Fruendel……none of them cared about this lady, she had to EXPOSE IT IN THE PAPERS…then the fraud lawyer she had kept acting like she was begging for something..no one cared about her and am sure she took care of their relatives as a nurse and/or delivered their children…..and that is only one story of mistreatment by the wicked..

the nurses have to care for themselves because it’s obvious they will not get any care from government..

40. @ Hants December 17, 2021 3:09 PM
    Let us be real. The only person who can pull this back is Caswell Franklin. For there is no action that the Government has taken. He is reacting to an action that was not taken by the Government! If ever there was a case about jumping the gun, this is it! (Unquote).

Don’t understand what is meant by the above statement extracted from the BT newspaper.

What about the ‘striking’ nurses themselves? Are they mere automatons?

Is Mr. Franklyn, the ‘elected’ dictator of unionism, holding a gun to their heads and forcing them to go on strike?

Has Caswell politically brainwashed the striking nurses to such an extent that they are behaving, and strikingly so, like Pavlov’s bitches?

Why not meet with the nurses sans Caswell, the ‘anointed’ maverick dog for a mafia bully, and hear what are their grievances even if ‘there are’ the same as those held by the other members registered with the NUPW, BWU or BRNA?

41. And yes, TheO! Sometimes I use capitals. I write as hear it in my head. I also use ellipses.

Don’t think I missed it!

42. @William

Again you must take the time to read the comment. The government has no control over how/when info is released from G4S or in this case the employee who contracted Michael Lashley to submit a wrongful dismissal case to the ERT.

43. I gine tek further recommendations from certain people over in away with a grain of salt.

Anyway, if it wasn’t obvious before it certainly is now. Mia seh she fire a Senator and Joe cud fire one too. After all the lotta long talk, dat iz de main ingredient.

You dun seh de nurses ain’t gine get one blind cent for the time dat dem wuz off de job. At dis time uh de year, when people gots tuh buy ham and tings fuh duh children; you gine pull dah kinda stunt?
    Wuh you really expect tuh happen after dat?
    How many nurses on strike again?
    Stop playing to the gallery do!

Mia clearly believes she’s the smartest person on the island and plebs like me so, can’t sus she out.

44. To dock the nurses pay is heavy handed. A caution could have been issued. An opportunity to give Caswell an out. Such a measure would not have been taken with the other unions. This is an opportunity to break Unity Workers Union.

45. “What about the ‘striking’ nurses themselves? Are they mere automatons?”

nigas with colonial titles have never considered them human and have treated them accordingly…..very badly, i would not take that type of treatment from anyone…

none of this can be put on Caswell or the opposition…these nurses have had grievances for DECADES and BOTH cruel governments have POINTEDLY IGNORED THEM…..because they have always been so TAKEN UP with SELLING OUT…they have no time to deal with the mess that they are so expert at creating.

now trying to put the blame on others, they planted the seed that they watered and grew to become a monster……..YA REAP WHAT YA SOW…..and they may want to stop trying to fine tune the narrative, it’s not going anywhere.

46. And despite all that I can state that of all the comments made concerning this strike issue, the most telling blow was struck by the person who pointed out that our governments, including this one, do not play by the rules.

They cannot pull out the rules book when it suits them.

Time for Mia to put down her big stick and reason with grown up people.

Long past time for self-examination!

47. @ Donna
    I welcome and appreciate your comment on this matter. I have never accused you of being a liar. Far from; as you said we “ clash” from time to time but I can’t recall questioning your integrity. Neither can I recall supporting any such views regarding anything negative regarding your integrity.
    On the other hand, I am very quick to admit when I make an error because at the end of the day, it’s only a debate.
    This is not the first time, I was called a liar on BU.
    However, I thank you for your comments regarding why you don’t think I will lie just like that.
    BTW, I am as concerned now as I was when Stuart and company were running things. However, I have concluded that there seems to be a concerted effort to hold this administration far less accountable. The standard has been lowered and I suspect a very high price will be paid.
    I have also noted that you are making some very strong statements with your concerns
    As you wrote sometime ago, my ultimate mission is to get rid of both the Barbados and Democratic Labour Party. That will not change . However whenever I err , I will always admit it.
    BTW # 2. Believe it or not , I consider all the women on BU as sisters. It’s an old school thing fro back in the day.

48. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David December 17, 2021 4:26 PM

How heavy handed can it be when some of them was not getting paid cash but getting paid in promises before their pay got docked.

Investigate how many nurses caught COVID and died or nearly died because of the nonsense they were and still getting for PPE.

What these unions need to do whenever they strike is to take out an official notice in the paper stating all the grievances they are striking for.

49. @CA

The big problem with the unions in Barbados is the level of infiltration by political operatives and the extent they follow political agendas. EXXEPT Caswell.

Leave a Reply to John2Cancel reply