Submitted by Don James (MASTER MEDIA STRATEGIES, INC)
The Gooding Family – Matriarch Shirley Gooding (left front) April (centre) back row left to right Omar, Cuba Sr, Cuba Jr and Thomas

In honor of my late husband, Cuba Gooding Sr. – who was a dual citizen of America and Barbados – I,
Shirley Gooding and family, send this congratulatory message to the country and people of Barbados for
becoming the world’s newest Republic. My husband passed in 2017. However, there’s no doubt that if
he were living, he would have attended the recent regal ceremony to witness Barbados’ removal of the
British monarch as its Head of State after almost 400 years.

As the matriarch of the Gooding family, which includes sons and actors Cuba Gooding Jr. and Omar
Gooding, daughter and actress April Gooding, and stepson and musician Thomas Ware Gooding, we
share in your joy and vision of becoming a prosperous Republic.

The Gooding family has a long history in Barbados. My husband’s ancestors were brought to the country
as slaves in the late 1700s into the early 1800s. His father, Dudley MacDonald Gooding, was born in
Bridgetown in the late 1800s. Dudley’s parents, William Gooding and Edith Augusta Walcott Gooding,
had and raised many children in Barbados. Dudley ultimately lived in Cuba before migrating to Harlem,
New York but always had a true love for his home country of Barbados.

Gooding Sr

Cuba Sr. and I first visited the lovely country of Barbados in 1998. My husband, who was the lead singer
of the legendary R&B-soul group The Main Ingredient for 47 years, was humbled and mesmerized to
walk on the same soil that his father and ancestors once walked. The visit inspired my husband to seek
Barbados citizenship, which was granted in 2001. It was perhaps his proudest honor. Over the years, he
often visited Barbados to meet relatives or perform with The Main Ingredient or as a solo artist.

As Barbados begins a new and exciting chapter as a new Republic and with a new Head of State, my
family congratulates President Sandra Mason, the country’s first-ever president, who has now replaced
Queen Elizabeth II as the country’s Head of State. We commend Prime Minister Mia Mottley and her
role in Barbados’ forward movements. In addition, we congratulate R&B and pop icon Rihanna for
Barbados honoring her as its “National Hero.” My husband greatly admired Rihanna for her unwavering
love for Barbados and saw her as a gifted and phenomenal singing star, recording artist, and performer.

In addition, we send our love to all the people of Barbados. May God bless you in your new era as a
thriving Republic. Please know that our family is proud to have deep Barbadian roots and rich Bajan
blood in our proud lineage. You will always be in our prayers and an intricate part of our future. We
look forward to visiting again.

Sincerely,
Mrs. Shirley Gooding and Family

29 responses to “Gooding Family of Southern California Extends Best Wishes to the People of Barbados, World’s Newest Republic”

1. William Skinner Avatar

A delightful post.

2. @William

Yes, you feel the love.

3. Goose pimple

4. I don’t know what to say! Quite moving!

5. Goose pimples

6. QUITE MOVING INDEED AS THOUGH ONE JUST HAD A LAXATIVE
    EMOTIONAL CLAPTRAP

NOTHING HAS CHANGED IN BARBADOS SINCE NOVEMBER 3OTH AND WILL NOT OCCUR BY READING AND POSTING RUBBISH

THIS IS SCIATICA INDUCING
    A delightful post. INDEED SUCH AS EXPERIENCED FOLLOWING CATHERISATION THAT RELIEVES SEVERE URINARY RETENTION IN PROSTATISM

7. REMINISCENT ALSO OF THE LOOK ON THE FACES OF RELATIVES IN THE DAYS WHEN YOU USED TO GIVE 500 MG AMINOPHYPHILINE AND IOO MG HYDROCORTISONE SLOW IV PUSH IN STATUS ASTHMATICUS

8. Our Paramount Leader of the Caribbean did everything right. The proclamation of the New Barbadian Republic is the most significant historical since the end of slavery, perhaps even since the French Revolution or the American Declaration of Independence.

Thank you very much, Mia Mottley, for your stellar record!

9. Plenty has changed since November 30th.

10. INDEED
    A FEW FOLK DIED OF COVID BECAUSE THE PROTOCOLS AND VACCINES NOT DOING THE TRICK
    THE GARBAGE WAS COLLECTED
    BULL SHIT WAS EFFLUXED ON BU AND IN OTHER RUM SHOPS
    THE SUN ROSE AND SET AS IT USUALLY DOES
    PEOPLE ARE ABOUT DOING THEIR USUAL THING
    SAME OLE SAME OLE
    ALL THE ELATION AND ENTHUSIASM HAS STARTED TO WANE FOLLOWING THE PAGEANT, AS FOLK GET PREPARED FOR CHRISTMAS CELEBRATIONS.
    NEXT EVENT IS WHAT HAPPENS IN THE PARK CHRISTMAS MORNING, OR FOR THOSE WHO STILL GO, 5 O CLOCK SERVICE ON CHRISTMAS MORNING

11. Dr GP, Sir
    Is there any Bajan who measures up to your high standards? Excluding John, as course as he earned 2 Barbados Scholarships many years ago. Indeed, is there anyone on Earth who measures up to those standards?

12. PROFESSOR GAO ALLEYNE
    PROFESSOR ER WALROND
    DR TIMOTHY ROACH
    THESE ARE THREE BAJANS BUT THERE ARE OTHERS
    BUT THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE PRICE OF FLYING FISH OR THE SCORE AT LUNCH IN THE TEST MATCH AT THE GABBA
    YOUR QUESTION DOES NOT MAKE SENSE TO ME AS I HAVE ONLY EXPRESSED MY OPINION OF WHAT I THINK OF AN EMOTIONAL STUPID POST, IN THE SAME WAY THAT OTHERS COME HERE DAILY AND EXPRESS THEIR OPINION
    I DONT HAVE TO FOLLOW THE HERD DO I ? AM I NOT AS ENTITLED?.

13. Dr GP, Sir

Thanks for a reasonably measured reply.

I only asked as It seemed to me that the Goodings’ letter was essentially one that celebrated the Independence Season while highlighting the family’s connection to Barbados. It did not in any way deserve the standard intemperate response which characterizes the majority of your posts. Good to know that there are some Bajan Doctors that you think highly of.

14. RE It did not in any way deserve the standard intemperate response which characterizes the majority of your posts

SIR YOU ARE ENTITLED TO YOUR OPINION, RIGHT? BUT IT SEEMS THAT I AM NOT ALSO ENTITLED TO MINE.ON BU

I COULD SAY THAT YOUR RESPONSE IS INTEMPERATE ALSO, AS ARE THE SEVERAL AD HOMINEMS LEVELLED AT ME HERE SINCE 2008. I FIND THAT FOLK HERE LIKE TO ATTACK ME BUT WHEN I RESPOND, IN KIND, I AM THE WORSE MAN OUT. I RESPOND ON BU IN PROPORTION TO HOW I HAVE BEEN TREATED. I HAVE A SIMPLE METHOD.

RE Good to know that there are some Bajan Doctors that you think highly of.
    I ALSO RESPECT E O DOUGHLIN VERY HIGHLY .

ENGLAND ALL OUT AT TEA ON THE FIRST DAY OF THE TEST AT THE GABA FOR 147

15. @The Goodings

On behalf of the BU household thank you for your warm sentiments. We are a little island on a big planet working to make the best for our people.

16. You forgot to mention that I have defeated the Hoad shite of 1976.

My rebellion was started in 1976 and has come to fruition before my demise.

The dreams of a young girl have been realised.

Bye, bye Lizzie and FAMILY!

David would understand what I mean by FAMILY.

What’s in a [sur]name?

Plenty of history!

17. Heads up, Shoulders back!

Forward ri-ight!

18. Forward march!

Forward ever, backwards NEVER!

19. Can someone who has got the time perform a deep dive on the Gooding Family listing their names and achievements, for example the actors and actresses movies ànd the singers and players of instruments discographies. I would like to know the Main Ingredient full story.
    Many thanks

20. Some Bajans are quite joyless, even in the Christian season of peace, love and joy.

21. THAT IS SO VERY SAD NEH

THEM AINT GOT NUH CHRISTMAS ACTIVITIES TO PARTICIPATE IN THE HOME OR ELSEWHERE.
    YUH MEAN DEM DONT PLAY CHRISTMAS MUSIC PUN DE RADIO NUH MORE? WID DE RECORDINGS OF THE SCHOOL CHILDREN?

IM SURE MANY CAN GO PUN U TUBE, AND LISTEN TO GOOD CHRISTMAS MUSIC FROM HEY DEY AND EVA WEY

LAST YEAR I FOUND SOME GREAT CHOIRS SINGING THE SOUNDS OF the Christian season of peace, love and joy. INCLUDING AND ESPECIALLY, AN ALL MALE CHOIR IN NIGERIA, JUST LIKE ST MARY’S OF OLD, JUST BETTER.

I CANT WAIT TO SEE WHAT WILL BE OFFERED THIS YEAR.
    GOOD CHORAL MUSIC ALWAYS BRINGS the Christian season of peace, love and joy ALL YEAR ROUND.

22. My Mum watches Christmas movies throughout the year, they are quite soppy and seem to have same stories, flights cancelled, people stranded,love develops, and the woman is a secret princess.

23. what is very clear on BU is that I am not allowed to share the things that gives me “comfort and joy” even in the Christian season of peace, love and joy.

24. I have moved from the stage
    “it is just a next note”
    to ”
    what a fine thing to do”

Wishing the Gooding family, the very best through the coming years.

——xx—–

I have found that my immediate response and my delayed response can be quite different. Would suggest leaving some things on the burner for a period of time.

25. As a former British journalist who did many training assignments in Barbados and the Caribbean some years ago, I was intrigued by the “Journalism is Dead” comments that followed the decision to replace a great Queen, Elizabeth II, with a politician.
    It also saddened me to read here in UK that Barbados is yet another Commonwealth country that seems to be falling under the influence of the totalitarian, genocidal leaders of Communist China. Those who put wealth before freedom end up losing both. Will Barbados’s future political and military leaders be going to Beijing for training, ie indoctrination in totalitarian methods, as a dozen other Commonwealth countries are doing?
    China’s Communist leaders have been condemned in the UK Parliament for committing genocide of millions of its Uyghur religious community. Premier Xi Xinping is being hailed as a more worthy individual to be worshipped at Christmas than Jesus Christ .
    China is actively threatening freedom and democracy in HongKong, and in Taiwan, on which the Western world depends for most its microchip supplies. No chips means no computers, no iPhones, no functioning of anything electronic, including your power and water supplies.
    China has built a necklace of military bases around India, the world’s biggest airport in Tibet capable of handling massive troop transports for its 4million-strong PLA army. It is intent on building a Silk Road railway into the heart of Europe. It owns ports in the Mediterranean, on the West Coast of Africa and in South America.
    Every child in China undergoes military training, as I witnessed in Beijing when I helped save its fledgling English-language newspaper China Daily from bankruptcy in 1982.
    Bajans should be aware of where China’s military and political strategy is heading: to destroy democracies. Thousands of Chinese are spying on Western universities, and stealing companies’ intellectual property/ They are “pickpocketing us,” as one British former Chairman of a great US business described it to me.
    Is that the kind of future Barbadians want? Neither our Queen nor any Royal likely to sit on the Throne would sell any Commonwealth nation down the river. Under Queen Elizabeth, we fought a war to save the Falkland Islands at a cost of 256 British lives.
    One of those who risked their lives in that conflict was Prince Andrew, who flew regularly his helicopter into danger as a target for ship-killing French Exocet missiles. How many of those who condemn our Royal Family would have done that?

26. Fucking Chinese haters.. must be a cunting white boy white cunt propagandist.. all whites are fucking racists… it’s what they are

27. Would suggest you smoke and then post music..Free up the mind.
    In the absence of evidence of smoking the music just sucks – big time.

28. What’s my favourite word
    Biiitch
    Afro Electro for all the barbados bitches
    Tshetsha Boys — Nwampfundla

WTF (Where They From)

29. Afro House
    for Afros
    in the House