Submitted by Steven Kaszab

Human Beings are not all great thinkers . Don’t want to insult anyone but think about it.

Building a house or community along river banks or water ways that will in time flood. Notice how many communities are located in flood plains? Also, noticed how the community continues to live there knowing that disaster will cometh once again.

Watch people tie all sorts of things onto their vehicles roof believing that they will be able to travel safely with their load secure? 

Leave high school incomplete only to regret it in your midlife. 

The temperature out side is warming, the ice below you is thinning and yet you go ice fishing , often way out along the water flow with your new snowmobile.

You have a fire arm, a pistol. Thinking about hiding it, you place it in a shoe box under your bed. You have young children at home too.

You purchase a fixer up building, with every intention of fixing it over time, with a limited budget. Have to own something like the folks did before you. You did not spend the money on a forensic engineer, someone who could have told you the building is a death trap to your health and pocket book.

You were given the opportunity to experience higher learning. Your parents though you’d learn useful things, but you choose to study seemingly useless subjects that interested you. Hey, its not your money right?

Your late for a date in a urban center. The night club is just the other side of this city block. Maybe you should go through that darken alley down yonder. It may save you some time.

Bought a used motor bike. Your friends challenge you to do things you know are danger for you and others. You accept their challenge bravely.

There are many people out there who are uneducated. Yes I said it. There are uneducated people out there, often it is not their fault. They may not have had the opportunity. You do what you must, often for your family and yourself. While you may not be well educated, you can be extremely wise. Knowing what is right and wrong has always been something we learn as children and young folk. They call it Common Sense, Astuteness, resourcefulness, levelheadedness, mother wit , enterprising or  some one with horse sense. The Virtue of Wisdom is what we all need, something we need to acquire or strive for as we move along in our worldly journey. How do you acquire wisdom? We look to Aristotle for some points that matter. You must learn to contemplate. Don’t freak out folks. That only means you need to learn how to think. Simply look, observe, contemplate and then act.

Always think before you do something. So many of our neighbor’s react without contemplating the question, situation, event they are living. 

It is useless having knowledge, without applying that knowledge. Martin Luther King was a knowledgeable and wise man. Mr. King became a legend, a name with power because he took a stand against Inequality, racism and hatred. He Acted upon his principals. Wisdom and knowledge have no worth unless they are acted upon. “If a good man see’s evil, and walks away without stopping this evil, is he a good man”? “It is the failure of good men, that allows evil to continue spreading in this world”. May have been said by W.Churchill, but non the less its meaning says every person you know, every neighbor you have can be a Martin Luther King. Every one of them. All they need to do is see, observe, contemplate and then act upon your principals. Lift up your family, neighbors and others using something poor, wealthy, uneducated or different people have… The Power of WISDOM. Wisdom will help you survive and prosper on your lives journey.

126 responses to “Knowledge is Useless …”

1. Some people love to hear lies coming from fork tongued leaders so they never disappoint them……hope they don’t complain when they get the real mother lode of lies headed their way……..already drafting a response for those slave minded individuals if they believe someone cares about their crocodile tears…

2. @John2

Thought the main issue some have is the denial by the PM she was not aware until last week.

3. Politicians lie. Some lies are more important than others.

4. Well the PM lying to the public who elected her about WHEN she found out about the breach…..does not engender LOCAL or INTERNATIONAL confidence in her… and shows how she is not taking any of it seriously AH WONDER WHY……

bottomline ….it was an UNNECESSARY LIE….

5. Good one John…

6. David

You have. Topic to write on tomorrow+
    DEM got something to make as much political footage out of

7. Wait! Flights still flying from Barbados to the US?

Yuh still getting search AS USUAL?

8. So i take it the attempt to cover up and pretend the incident in Miami happened only last week was because of some bullshit award from UN tied to some nonsense about the islands….was it worth it, no, cause people are saying it’s not even worth reading, i did not read it either….too busy writing…..and since other islanders realize they have to be extra wary, vigilant, and on constant guard against PRETENDERS……….they are not interested….epic fail..

9. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar
    African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved

William…a laugh and a half….😂😂🤣🤣

10. We know Caswell is looking at the disrespect, but he really did not miss a thing.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/12/07/government-says-sorry-for-omitting-some-senators-from-official-function/

11. December 6, 2021 4:06 AM #: “bullshit..the media in Miami had the INFO in the PUBLIC DOMAIN RIGHT AWAY…..”

December 6, 2021 7:20 PM #:”So i take it the attempt to cover up and pretend the incident in Miami happened only last week was because of some bullshit AWARD from UN tied to some nonsense about the islands…..”
    ++++++++++++++++

I’m thinking if the circumstances surrounding the incident was in the US “public domain right away,” wouldn’t it be a futile attempt ‘covering it up’ for reasons given above, since news from the USA usually attract world-wide attention, especially one involving someone being able to enter that country with a loaded firearm?

12. Sometimes ya really don’t want to answer blog idiots…..but since they love nothing better than to SHOW UP THEMSELVES…it’s best to do them a solid and help them along…

SO WHEN DID YOU FIND OUT ABOUT THE MAN CARRYING A FULLY LOADED GUN ON A FLIGHT TO MIAMI….apparently you are the only person in Barbados who knew about it OVER A MONTH AGO…

13. Re: Oath is Allegiance’
    It is good that an apology was offered.

It would be best if those in charge learn the difference between a red and yellow (national) event and a party event.

14. KNOWLEDGE IS USELESS ONLY IF IT IS NOT APPLIED CORRECTLY…….OR IF IT IS NOT ALLOWED TO BE APPLIED

15. RE: “Sometimes ya really don’t want to answer blog idiots…..but since they love nothing better than to SHOW UP THEMSELVES…it’s best to do them a solid and help them along…”

Hmmmm……

My friend, I agree with you 100%. And, it was for those reasons given, I decided to “answer and help you along.”

First, let me REMIND you, there is a SIGNIFICANT DIFFERENCE between ASKING a QUESTION, which is usually denoted by a QUESTION MARK (?), …….and MAKING a DEFINITIVE STATEMENT.

If you DID NOT UNDERSTAND the question and were UNABLE to PROVIDE an APPROPRIATE ANSWER, then, surely common sense would have DICTATED you to REMAIN SILENT.
    INSTEAD, you decided to ‘jump the gun’ and responded with your ‘trade mark’ personal abuse, thereby DEMONSTRATING to the forum, YOU’RE the INDIVIDUAL who “loves nothing better than to SHOW UP YOURSELF” as the “blog idiot” you are.

However, allow me to pose the question DIFFERENTLY……… prefaced with a brief explanation.

Obviously, the news story of such importance, would’ve NOT been CONFINED to Miami ONLY, but, ‘carried’ throughout America by the several other ‘main and secondary media houses.’
    Additionally, since news from the USA usually ATTRACTS WORLD-WIDE ATTENTION, especially an incident involving someone being able to enter that country with a loaded firearm…….. international media companies that MONITOR American news, would’ve reported it in their respective print and electronic fora.
    And, on-line news makes information more immediately and readily available to the public, since news sites are constantly updated to reflect current events as they ‘unfold.’

Remember, YOU ‘said,’ “….the ATTEMPT to COVER UP and PRETEND the incident in Miami happened only last week was because of some bullshit AWARD from UN tied to some nonsense about the islands…..”

Taking all the above facts into consideration, ALL I’M ASKING IS…

If, as YOU mentioned, “the media in Miami had the INFO in the PUBLIC DOMAIN RIGHT AWAY,” is TRUE……..

…….. then, wouldn’t it be FAIR and REASONABLE to ASK if the ‘government’ of Barbados did NOT ENGAGED in a FUTILE ATTEMPT to ‘COVER UP’ an incident of such importance, from an INTERNATIONAL ORGANISATION, involving the USA, which is one of the UN’s main financial contributors and regarded as a ‘world super power?’

Or, are you suggesting Mia Mottley has become ‘so POWERFUL,’ she could impose ‘gag orders’ on Miami media companies, preventing them from publishing or discussing the issue, until Barbados accepted the “bullshit award from the UN?”

16. ARTAX
    IT SEEMS THAT FOLK WHO COME HERE ARE WILLING TO LIE AND SLANDER, BECAUSE NO ONE CALLS THEM OUT.
    TRUTH OR LOGIC OR REASON OR STRAIGHT THINKING IS NOT PRACTISED, AND FOLK SEEM TO JUST PINCH RELATIVELY INSIGNIFICANT POINTS ON WHICH TO OPINE. THEY MAJOR ON MINORS
    THEY SEEM TO HAVE IN SOME WAY EXTRACTED ONLY THE CROOKED THINKING ASPECTS OF THOULES’ TEXT. (FORGIVE ME FOR NOT KNOWING THE EDITOR OR PUBLISHER OF THIS BOOK)

17. RE: “SO WHEN DID YOU FIND OUT ABOUT THE MAN CARRYING A FULLY LOADED GUN ON A FLIGHT TO MIAMI….”

Similarly to several people in Barbados, I only became aware of the incident after it was reported in the local media last week.

However, if the “media in Miami had the INFO in the PUBLIC DOMAIN RIGHT AWAY,” is TRUE, then, are you suggesting, ‘government’ was ABLE to COERCE local and international media companies and journalists into suppressing the information, until AFTER Barbados received the “bullshit AWARD from UN?”

But, remember, Barbados is often described by you and other contributors, as a ‘shit hole, 2 x 3 banana republic’ that is unable to pay its debts and still believed by some people to be located somewhere in Jamaica.

RE: “apparently you are the only person in Barbados who knew about it OVER A MONTH AGO..”

Never mentioned anything that would suggest I did.

However, knowing your ‘modus operandi,’ you’ll let us know you knew about it the SAME DAY it occurred, because your cousin, sister, brother, aunt or uncle was a security official involved or a member of the justice system that conducted the investigation.

18. Andrew Pilgrim would call that a WUPAX!

And De Mighty Carew wudda seh, “Wax palax, bruggadung brax!”

Murdaaaaaaah!

Yuh gun kill she, Artax?????

19. @ Dr. GP December 7, 2021 4:28 PM

RE: “IT SEEMS THAT FOLK WHO COME HERE ARE WILLING TO LIE AND SLANDER, BECAUSE NO ONE CALLS THEM OUT. TRUTH OR LOGIC OR REASON OR STRAIGHT THINKING IS NOT PRACTISED, AND FOLK SEEM TO JUST PINCH.”

I cannot do anything else, except to wholeheartedly agree with your comments.

As Donna often ‘says,’ there are so many things occurring in Barbados and with the present BLP administration, that we don’t have to rely on fabricated information, misrepresentations of the truth or slander just to criticize for the sake of being critical.

I don’t believe everything I read or see on social media. I prefer to discuss issues based on FACTS or using information from credible sources.

What I’ve found is, some of us are a bit too anxious in posting information to BU as TRUTH, without first VERIFYING its accuracy or credibility of the source, simply because we may interpret such information as being consistent with our existing beliefs.

A few months ago, for example, a certain ‘regular contributor’ posted a video to this forum, in which a gentleman was heard saying, the Auditor General expressed concerns about the new Fairchild Street market project in his report for the financial year ended, March 31, 2020.
    That project commenced in September 2020……… six (6) months AFTER the financial year then under review ended.

A clear example where “truth, logic, reason or straight thinking was not practiced,” simply because the individual believed the information reflected negatively on ‘government.’

20. ARTAX
    the present BLP administration, IS NOT PERFECT
    NO REASONABLE PERSON EXPECTS THEM TO BE
    BUT THE PERSISTENT PARANOIA BY A CERTAIN IDIOT IS A BIT TO MUCH, ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY TELL BLATANT LIES
    SIMILARLY I FIND THE BLASPHEMY BY ANOTHER PERSON MOST NAUSEATING. THERE IS A NEED FOR BALANCE

21. RE: “AND FOLK SEEM TO JUST PINCH RELATIVELY INSIGNIFICANT POINTS ON WHICH TO OPINE. THEY MAJOR ON MINORS.”

It would presumptuous of me to ‘tell’ people what they should or not discuss.

However, I raised the issue about ‘government’s’ decision to ‘stop’ PAYING pensions, ABRUPTLY…… WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE…… to a ‘handful’ of retired former employees of the National Assistance Board, some of whom were receiving pension for as long as 18 years.

Only Donna and David BU responded.

Some manufacturers and retailers of school uniforms, including Christopher Hadchity of ‘Yankee Garments Ltd., Eddie Abed of ‘Abed’s Stores’ and Martin Byran of ‘Woolworth,’ approached ‘government’ for assistance, after claiming they were left with “millions of dollars in inventory due to the decision not to have students return to the classroom this school term.”

Mia Mottley ‘HEARD THE CRIES’ of those businessmen and announced that following INITIAL MEETINGS with them, a decision was taken for government to relieve them of 70% of uniforms that were available on the island.

On the other hand, the CRIES of those SENIOR CITIZENS to ‘government’ concerning their LOSS OF INCOME…… ‘FELL ON DEAF EARS.’ Mottley, ‘government’ and NAB’s management REFUSED to MEET with them and offer a simple explanation as to WHY the pensions were ‘stopped.’

INSTEAD, they HID from those retired persons, REFUSED to TAKE or RETURN their calls, while the Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs, Cynthia Forde, under whose portfolio NAB falls, CLAIMED SHE WAS NOT AWARE of the situation.

We prefer to spend two days on BU, ‘talking’ shiite about Mottley taking a photograph beside a banana plant. And, if we can’t find anything else to criticize, we focus on ‘her hands flaring or waving, fists pumping or eyes staring…. or drift off to the newly found ‘past time’ of criticizing her scarves

22. @ Donna December 7, 2021 7:23 PM

No, it is not my intention to “kill she,” or anyone.

I asked a simple question based on the two statements the lady made. And, rather than engaging in a rational discussion or offering an explanation, she decided to become hostile and hurl her ‘trade mark’ personal abuse.

BU is an informal forum where we “join the discussion, (because) you never know how expressing your views may make a difference. “Obviously, we all have our personal opinions, with which some contributors may agree and other may not. ‘Say’ what you have to ‘say,’ and move on……. or scroll pass….. instead of spending an entire day looking to ‘pick a noise’ and waging war on you, me or the man on the ‘Cream of Wheat’ box.

Unfortunately, some of us take ourselves a bit too seriously.

I do not believe we should allow a blog or its contributors, with whom we do not know or share any intimate, casual or professional acquaintance, whether or not they use their ‘real names’ or pseudonyms….. … to define who we are.
    In my opinion, any individual who uses a blog as an important factor in defining him/herself or as a benchmark to validate his/her contributions to initiate societal change, has serious problems.

Take Kemar Saffrey, for example. Here is a guy who, according to information received, was born in Westmoreland, Jamaica and moved to Barbados when he was 8 years old, along with his mother and siblings.
    He is President/Founder of the ‘Barbados Vagrants and Homeless Society (BVHS),’ which I believe was renamed, ‘Barbados Alliance to End Homelessness (BAEH).’ Over the years, through his organisations, Saffrey has made a significant contribution to homeless people in the island. He ‘graduated’ from providing them with meals to providing them with ‘shelter’ as well.
    He did not need a blog to define him, nor did he have to remind us how many years he was on BU, how many blogs he could visit or provide us vague details of what he has been able to achieve, simply because he is ‘a man of action’ and not ‘all talk.’ His contributions are ‘tangible,’ ‘written in stone,’…… and, are there for all to see.

I also believe some of us spend TOO MUCH time TRYING to CONVINCE the forum how much MORE ‘brilliant’ we are than the average BU contributor, while ATTEMPTING to make BU all ABOUT us….. perhaps in some vain effort to PROMOTE ourselves.
    It wouldn’t be necessary for us to engage in such activities, if we possessed the “self-esteem and self-confidence” we CLAIM to be LACKING in other people.

23. Foundations start for Chinese houses
    BY THE END of this week, Government expects that 20 foundations will be completed so construction of some of the 150 prefabricated houses from China can begin.
    Minister of Housing, Lands and Maintenance Dr William Duguid gave that estimation yesterday after 125 containers packed with the houses were moved from the Bridgetown Port to the recently repurposed container park at Six Roads Industrial Park, St Philip.
    The houses are being built to assist residents of some of the 540 badly damaged homes that were affected by Hurricane Elsa in July.
    “We have about ten foundations finished and we will have another ten finished by the end of the week, so as soon we get those done, those houses will be started. Those individuals had their documents ready, approval from the landowner, owned the land and had a large enough space to get the foundations done. Those are the ones we started with,” said Duguid.
    The $27 million housing project is being undertaken in collaboration with Chinese company East West Building Solutions (Barbados). Duguid said yesterday that although Christmas was the deadline set for completion, there had been some delays.
    “The Prime Minister said Christmas and we are working very hard to get as many done as we can, but realistically we know these things take time. We got put back by a storm in China, there were difficulties coming out of Jamaica, but we are constantly working every day to get as many houses done.
    “The vast majority of these are being done by local contractors and this is only a small fraction that we are doing through the ministry. We are trying our best to get as many finished as quickly as we can,” he added.
    He said that as the homes are constructed, the containers
    will be used to store household items and eventually Government equipment.
    “If you use the containers for more than three weeks, the demurrage costs will essentially be the cost of the container, so we recognised this was an important factor. So we decided to buy the containers, first to store people’s items as we repair their houses, and once all of those repairs are completed, use them to make a storage facility for Government,” Duguid said.
    Demurrage charges are fees shipping lines set for clients not picking up containers filled with merchandise from the terminal’s facilities within the time frame prescribed. ( TG)

24. Hmmmm
    Another lecture from the boring Committe