The announcement by Prime Minister Mia Mottley during the independence and republic ceremony that Rihanna was recommended by the government and accepted by the now President of the Republic of Barbados to be added to the pantheon of national heroes came as a surprise. To be expected public opinion is mixed although many appreciate Rihanna for what she has accomplished on the world stage as an entertainer, businesswoman and philanthropist.

It is instructive to to examine the criteria outlined in the Order of National Heroes Act, in particular the criteria for eligibility declared in the schedule to the Act.

Order of National Heroes

In determining the eligibility of a person referred to in section 8, the Prime Minister shall have regard to whether that person

1. (a)  has given outstanding service to Barbados and his contribution has altered the course of the history of Barbados;
  2. (b)  has given service to Barbados which has been exemplified by visionary and pioneering leadership, extraordinary achievement and the attainment of the highest excellence which has redounded to the honour of Barbados; or
  3. (c)  has, through his heroic exploits and sacrifice, contributed to the improvement of the economic and social conditions of Barbados and Barbadians generally.

The blogmaster will reserve opinion, for the moment.

174 responses to “Rihanna, National Hero of Barbados”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

As mentioned earlier….the various story angles were numerous.
    One daughter informs me, the ‘biggest’ (her take from whatever social media feeds she consumes) story is whether Rihanna is pregnant or not. Apparently, the focus of many in her burnt orange outfit, was not the missing support from one of the Savage line’s best sellers, but the way the outfit addressed a potential ‘baby bump’.

2. Here is how govt manipulate the Gold Award Achievement Act
    Can go to.u tube to hear the full.reading

https://youtu.be/Y9WCGVHSaDM

3. I noticed in the archived comments where some people complained that Rihanna’s generosity is not confined to Barbadians and I thought, “Did Barbadians alone make her a superstar and a multimillionaire?”

Some people just cannot think straight.

Was not Richard Hoad’s brother one who ran off to Australia? I know it had to be one of his relatives who said my “disrespect” of the queen was disgraceful. She did not respect my right to protest. Trayvon Martin’s right to self-defence was not repected. Our right to self-rule is not respected.

I bet the brutes hate Rihanna. She is richer than they are. And better at business.

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, u caught me by surprise with “Can you make your mind up- is she eligible to be elevated to national hero or not […].”

I believed my comments were crystally clear with no room for doubt.

I imagine that you took what was a facetious, back-handed critique literally. As u often remind me good sir: read with context!

So considering all I had said before… this was sarcastic facetiousness don’t u think:
    “Now in modern life it’s necessary to infuse youth with vigor or otherwise create upliftment so she needs to be elevated to the very select position of national heroine!”

But obviously… it wasn’t clear … sarcasm can be muddled and missed fah sure!

@Notthern, I always find your notes interesting and quite illuminating …

Your piece above needs to be read several times and digested … I surely hope u are being as facetious as I (earlier attempted) as some of your remarks at 10:52 shout WT-RH!

“The PM and Rihanna, have been tight for years. […] the understanding between big spenders and the media is often referenced. One has to believe Rihanna has been instrumental in several of the PM’s international gigs. She has the clout. […] This PM has not been shy in recognising those close to her, the first ‘Sir’ raised similar questions.”

Soooo, this repeated nuisance that it’s all about money and Bdos for sale; and too that ALL ROADS lead to and from MAM … is not nuisance ‘value’ as u see it!

And “I guess Rihanna may have been given the ‘Key to the Republic’ or similar. National Heroine, why not?”

Why not, indeed!

But this was GOOD … “this event was off the estrogen meter, a female PM, a female President, a female Heroine of international acclaim!! Plus so many other story angles.”

Female power cubed, eh!

Well orchestrated, indeed.
    Absolutely first class PR.

And @Artax I was reflecting on that this morning and yesterday when I mentioned her being an ambassador… nothing wrong with that in the least … this is at a magnitude times 10 … absolutely different dynamic.

The question of how an individual could be elevated to that of national heroine without (as far as I know) any national discourse/debate, parliamentary/cabinet review (publicly noted) or nothing of the sort is obviously not relevant in these heady days!

(David, that’s sarcasm , too 😂🙏🏿)

5. Well, well.
    BU bloggers has turned me into an old busybody. Nominated to be a hero and the BU insinuations and rumors got me googling Rhianna’s name with every other word in the English language.

Now learning things that I do/did not care about.

The expression “No good deed goes unpunished” though not fully applicable comes to mind.

A Barbadian Hero is without honor in her own country. I wish I was one of her advisors, you all would be ‘tekking’ back the honor tomorrow.

6. @ 555d ubstreet December 1, 2021 11:12 AM
    what more do all y’all self righteous sanctimonious jealous haters want or need from a young gal from the hood made good like anybody wished they could she’s probably more famous than Barbados…(Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Probably???

She is by far more famous than Barbados measured in astronomical units.

Rihanna is a super STAR around which the country Barbados has been a mere satellite.

As a citizen of Barbados she has certainly given back to her country far more than she took from it.

She is the embodiment of that aristocratic principle of ‘Noblesse Oblige’.

“To whom much is given, much is expected.”

7. The woman’s name is RIHANNA.

8. Copied from Facebook- Joanelle Prescod’s response to a post.

It’s not simply about struggle when you remove the civic and self sacrificial effort that undergurds the hero and instead make it all about individual accomplishment then we start to overlook and undervalue those that stay right here and pour blood sweat and tears into the fiber of who we are. Rihanna’s success has been celebrated and will continue to be, however that designation was for those whom outside of it would have been unsung. Sarah Ann Gill would have been forgotten for her humble and sacrificial efforts to teach the slaves to read and fight for religious freedoms. We overlook Kemar Saffery a young man who lives here and is diligently fighting for our homeless at home to award someone who has more than enough praises. As a young person it actually hurts because it reinforces that humble effort and service isn’t enough. Now I must be an international force for a national award. And this discourages the nation building that we truly need. I am one who says it’s not deserved and I’m young. But it’s because I see the bigger picture, Barbadians have a habit of bypassing those who are not extremely extraordinary. Jackie Opel created spouge and loses out on this designation which is for first and foremost the nation of Barbados to a global celebrity. This is why we have some of the lowest growth rates in the Caribbean it’s not always about being a hater. Sometimes we do need to guard what is national and local and demand that the amount of LOCAL input be seen.

9. What I have seen over the years coming to the island there is a tendency to resent people that overachieve, it seems a lot easier to accept people that come home with their tail between their legs that ones that have gone outside your shores and made a success of it. What I see here is a woman that has never failed to represent her country, gives back, looks after family and is a real rags to riches story .I know there probably is many people that are deserving of hero status ….most dead…this isnt a competition this is how do we have the most impact on the population on making a republic in a relatable way and make it special a event at the same time because for most life did not change either way. . There are many years ahead for all to be recognized but becoming a republic is looking to the future so why be dragging up people long gone there will be many years ahead for them to get their due.

10. Changing laws to satisfy a few power brokers in society is not considered good governance
    People can see and observed the political hands involved which are meant to guide and when all is said and done the result ends with a govt having the ability to circumvent laws leading to a dictatorship
    No one has problem with a gift bent towards humanitarian causes which should be rewarded
    However the underlying issue of concerns lent itself to ask where are the merits of standards applied than a humanitarian should now be considered a hero

11. @Heather

Read the eligibility criteria, does Rihanna qualify or not.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    you must know by now, writing is not my forte. No need to go too deep.
    Nuisance value? I think just reality.
    the eh! was noted (even if not intentional we Canadians know eh!)
    On a serious, non facetious note, I pay only passing attention to most awards, honours etc.
    And it is very likely that whatever the stated written requirements are, they haven’t been met.
    But who cares? Ok, I see you do. But, do you think the foreign press were sending coverage to see MacDonald Blenman be installed? Or the other cultural ambassador Anthony Carter? This group is very strong at PR. And the fact Rihanna ‘would be in attendance’ was more than enough to attract the global cameras.

13. Tell the blog how the amendment to the Act regarding the Gold Achievement Award is related to Rihanna being elevated to National Hero? The blogmaster notes it was debated in parliament and recorded on YouTube and other media, to your point about changes made in the dark.

14. @NO

Therein lies the problem. We have to hold government officers accountable based on what is written in the laws and approved procedures. In this case it is therefore not about Rihanna being elevated BUT whether those making the decision to appoint her violated our scared trust. What we are discussing is part of a systematic problem that afflicts the nation. This is why the blogmaster is stuck on the issue if her appointment veered outside the law.

15. A wise government would never bestow such a heavy burden on one so young. Why jump on the band wagon. Rihanna made her fame outside of Barbados. She deserves to be left in peace.

I can see the PR value, however she is a busy young lady. We appear to be exploitating her whilst seeking to gain brand recognition from her celebrity and business exploits.

16. We are exploiting a 33 year old billionaires?

Could be the elevation may drive her to raise the bar for herself and others in tow.

#pissinthrblogmasterpocketdo

17. Rihanna is more famous than Barbados, she makes the island famous because most people in the international arena still believe that Barbados is in Jamaica…..

you hit the nail on the head TLSN…the name of the game is exploitation while hating…..

i would be more concerned with if they will EVER GET A REPUBLIC CONSTITUTION…..lol…and apparaently they won’t (in the local parlance) unpick dey teet if they never get one…don’t seem the least bit concerned about what is very likely to transpire if they do not have a constitution in place that FREES THEM from neocolonialism and crypto-racism.

Mia really knows how to play them and divert attention away from what is really happening…. forever stuck in gossip and not seeing reality…..200 years more of slavery would not cure them….lost forever..

thieves got knight(shite)hoods and paraded around for DECADES robbing them hundreds of millions and reducing them to mere Slaves…..and they celebrated these crooks to the end…

18. btw…i have perused quite a few republic constitutions and KNOW exactly what one should look like and it SHOULD CRIMINALIZE ALL FORMS OF racism, oppression, disenfranchisment and discrimination directed at Afrikan descents…meaning that those from other groups who violate and government officials who participate SHOULD GO TO PRISON…

19. Mari

Stop with the changing law foolishness
    Dem did in when they were in power with no crying from you

It’s a tool used by both governments and is not against the law

20. WURA-War-on-U,
    I often “……hit the nail on the head…..”
    I am like a mirror that reflects the unflattering truth and this is why I have a number of haters on BU.

Does it concern me? Not in the least.

Rihanna is a diamond that will be continually exploited in Barbados. Leave the young lady to come and go as she pleases. My advice to her, if I could be so presumptuous, would be to invest some of her money in her old neighbourhood.

21. Rihanna is the new Queen of Barbados | News | The Times
    was the heading in an article today

It is a signal Barbados is moving more towards it’s future in it’s thinking instead of being stuck in it’s past

22. “I am like a mirror that reflects the unflattering truth and this is why I have a number of haters on BU”

the petty haters will always be around,, they have nothing better or more uplifting to do even when their hating fails…just ignore and most times they go away never to be heard from again or just fizzle when they have reached their mental limit…

it’s amazing what concerns people the most and it’s NOT their own or each other’s welfare, wellbeing and future………time wasters….from young i realized something was very wrong with that….until much later when i understood much better what really drives them..

23. RiRi. Is being exploited- yes
    But she also know the value to her brand she is get from being from Barbados and being honored in Barbados

It’s symbiotic – both parties are aware what’s going on and how each will benefit

24. @John2

“RiRi. Is being exploited- yes
    But she also know the value to her brand she is get from being from Barbados and being honored in Barbados”

Xxxx

As your blog-master would say “Spot on”

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, in response to my earlier ‘Eh!” post (which has apparenrly disappeared) @Northern said “It is very likely that whatever the stated written requirements are, they haven’t been met. […] But who cares?”

That’s the most apt reply to your query “Read the eligibility criteria, does Rihanna qualify or not.”

It’s for the opposition and other important officials in Barbados to ask the serious questions of our PM and determine how it’s possible for such a seminal national award to be proclaimed without ANY public discussion … not even a whiff of commentary !

Again I reflect on @Northern’s throw-away aside about the high ‘estrogen’ meter and its quite tongue-in-check reference to us discharging one queen and gracelessly anointing another.

It took us over 50 years and lots of talk and angst to cut one link and in one fell swoop … with no debate, no preamble but with an awful lot of backroom intrigue another ‘Queen’ has been created.

You should indeed be fixated on criteria and process, bro… but as the man said: Who really cares …. it’s MAM ‘s will be done!

Lata.

26. TLSN

You often hit the nail on the head what?

You mean you often Talk Lotta Shite Nonstop….. TLSN.

You and the back to Africa idiot.

How could people hate somebody they never met yet?

27. Being declared a national superhero and given the opportunity to help and promote her nation is not exactly exploitation.
    She will grow into her role as a stateswoman on the international stage and will be used in various campaigns that she chooses to support.
    She was the highlight of the ceremony the other day and got the biggest cheer by the crowds.

28. @Dee Word

Your comment inadvertently was sent to spam.

Again therein lies the issue. Barbadians are not engaged enough when it comes to governance issues.

29. What Rihanna has achieved is significant and she has borne it publicly with grace.

I am not going to comment on the yay or nay of her being anointed a national hero.

However, mulling it over, then reading DPD’s contribution, it struck me that the appointment has far more to do with psychology and national identity than money.

Of course, the brand image is part of it, we would be naive to think otherwise.

However, the psychological significance bears assessment.

30. John2December 1, 2021 3:46 PM

Mari

Stop with the changing law foolishness
    Dem did in when they were in power with no crying from you

It’s a tool used by both governments and is not against the law

Xxxxxx
    Changing laws to fit political purpose does not in anyway exemplifies Good Governance
    Laws should be changed which would reflect guidelines that are aligned and with purpose to make changes that
    are necessary and such changes would improve the social and economic landscape of a nation
    Not a willy nillie attempt to include a facade of pretense motives to satisfy a few

31. “You often hit the nail on the head what?”

TLSN…trolls can be ignorned, they have proven to be very low on mental power.

32. Success has not gone to Rhianna Head
    Hope she remains focus and don’t allow herself to become a political toy for any and every politician to use and wind up when need be
    This hero Award is just the beginning of the modern day politician throwing toys into the political arena in order to achieve their own interest
    Seems like the days of biscuits and corned beef is over making way for Awards
    What a thing doah

33. You flatter yourself. You could only be like a mirror in a funhouse.

DISTORTED!

Steupse!

34. TLSN…trolls can be ignorned, they have proven to be very low on mental power.

Look, everybody dun know that YOU DO THREE THINGS ON BU.

First, you duz repeat the same shite, 24-7-365.

Second, when you don’t be doing the first, YOU DON’T IGNORE THE TROLLS and yuh duz spend a whole day quarreling, fretting and replying to something they said to you that you don’t like, either in the morning or the day before.

Third, you put the first and second together to tell we how long you was on BU and vague descriptions of what you think you achieved for that time.

NOTHING MORE, NOTHING LESS. NOW THAT IS WHAT YUH DUZ CALL LOW MENTAL POWER.

WATCH HOW YUH GINE FRET YUH ASS FUH THE BALANCE OF THE NIGHT.

35. “Success has not gone to Rhianna Head
    Hope she remains focus and don’t allow herself to become a political toy for any and every politician to use and wind up when need be”

She’s not a political animal, but this role could help to keep her grounded as she matures.
    Many rock and pop stars lives end in tragedies, especially when their popularity wanes..
    Hip Hoppers like Jay Z, 50 Cent have gone on into making films and TV Series’.

36. @Tron December 1, 2021 7:09 AM ” She has successfully battled hurricanes, volcanic ash, national bankruptcy, lice, cockroaches, Donville Inniss, OSA, and the DLP.”

What lice you talking ’bout? In my nearly 70 years I have never seen a louse in Barbados. I don’t even know what a louse looks like, and I am as poor, working class as you can get. However a kinswoman of mine worked in public health in the great white north and she saw lice in children’s hair all of the time.

But we Bajans. We don’t do lice.

37. @Hants December 1, 2021 9:46 AM “I read The Act you posted. There is no ” her ” in The Act.”

That’s because the Act was written by a bunch of men who found it perfectly acceptable to exclude women.

In addition some people seem to believe that great honors should only to people who are old or male or dead, and even better if they are

OLD
    MALE
    and DEAD

38. @Donna December 1, 2021 10:14 AM “Did not Thomas Jefferson have a second family with one of his slaves?”

There is no evidence that Thomas Jefferson regarded the children which he begat with his black enslaved woman as family. I doubt that anyone of them could even come into his home except as servants. I would bet that none of this enslaved FAMILY ever ate at his dinner table.

We must not fool ourseles that because a man fooped his slave woman that he loved her or her children. Similar has long happened in Barbados where the white children of the plantation would be chauffeured [black chauffer] to school, while the half white children of the same plantation owner or manager walked barefoot to elementary school.

Tell me the truth now, has any one of you ever seen a white Bajan planter driving his white children and his half white children to the same school in the same car?

We must stop fooling ourselves. We must stop looking at our history through rose colored glasses.

39. @de pedantic Dribbler December 1, 2021 10:25 AM “The Dean and now Justice Cumberbatch advised the blog some many moons ago that ‘he’ or any male pronouns MUST be read generically to also be rederring to females in all legal docs of that type, as I imagine you remember. Thus I do expect you were jesting!”

But Jeff is a man, so what did you expect?

I would bet anything that neither you nor Jeff, nor David nor any of the men of BU would feel comfortable being referred to as she either privately of publicly.

I think that I might start referring to all of the men of BU as she.

40. Cuhdear BajanDecember 1, 2021 11:04 PM

@Donna December 1, 2021 10:14 AM “Did not Thomas Jefferson have a second family with one of his slaves?”

There is no evidence that Thomas Jefferson regarded the children which he begat with his black enslaved woman as family.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Read his will.

Did not need to do any of the things he did for his outside children.

https://www.monticello.org/site/research-and-collections/last-will-and-testament

41. @Tron December 1, 2021 10:37 AM “After the abolition of the colonial exams, only one question counts for higher education: Are you loyal to our Supreme Leader, state and party? Yes or no?”

My response: Perhaps, maybe, sometimes, it depends.

Actually I have never spent a day in my life being unswerving loyal to anybody, not to my parents, not to my siblings, not to my spouse, not to my children. I love them all, but they all knew/know NOT TO EXPECT absolutely loyalty from me.

It ain’t happening.

42. @Donna December 1, 2021 1:45 PM “She is richer than they are. And better at business.”

Hee!, hee!, hee!

43. @WURA-War-on-U December 1, 2021 3:26 PM “… most people in the international arena still believe that Barbados is in Jamaica…”

If this is true, and I don’t believe that it is true, since a simple Google search would reveal that Barbados is NOT in Jamaica.If this is true, is it our fault that most people in the international world are too stupid to use Google or Wikipedia?

Stupssseee!!!

44. @John December 1, 2021 11:21 PM “Did not need to do any of the things he did for his outside children.”

We know that the old white slavers wrote the law that deemed some father’s children inside children and some others outside children. And wrote the law to say that a father did not have to give anything to some of his children even while their were minors. That they gave themselves permission to enslave and to kill if they wished their own children

But how can a child be outside when ALL children come from inside of our bodies?

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

I get your point. And trust you have read the relevant documents.
    BUT….
    are we talking about laws/rules or guidelines open to subjective interpretation
    AND,,,
    if the elected run from accountability on basic requirements of several Acts/laws they are sworn to uphold, that have great clarity, how do you expect to wave the accountability flag here.
    I will say what I said re GPII…find a battle you can win.

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    you interpret well so I done.

47. Cuhdear BajanDecember 2, 2021 12:06 AM

But how can a child be outside when ALL children come from inside of our bodies?

If you knew your history you would know that his brother or nephew are also candidates for “his outside children”!!

Logic would then dictate that they would be his outside children for which he provided.

48. “If this is true, and I don’t believe that it is true, since a simple Google search would reveal that Barbados is NOT in Jamaica.If this is true, is it our fault that most people in the international world are too stupid to use Google or Wikipedia?”

you do realize that not everyone is OBSESSED WITH or care anything about where any one island is located., not with the thousands and thousands and thousands to be found worldwide…some people call it geographical ignorance, ya will be shocked at how wide spread it is………you need to get out some more…or it least get out of your head sometimes…

“However a kinswoman of mine worked in public health in the great white north and she saw lice in children’s hair all of the time.

“But we Bajans. We don’t do lice”

check out the so called white schools and ya will find all the lice that ya want and never knew existed, they breed in silky hair makes life easier to survive…harder in to breed in natural curly Afrikan hair, but they cause infection in our group when lice jump from head to head..

“WATCH HOW YUH GINE FRET YUH ASS FUH THE BALANCE OF THE NIGHT.”

i slept for the balance of the night while you spent the night on look out….low intellect, lower brain power…i got better things to do….ya have to wait for my next fret session to feel excited……they are never preplanned so ya may have a long wait….so stay on lookout…good girl….

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply