For many the decision to replace Queen Elizabeth II with former Governor General Sandra Mason will mean very little to many Barbadians. Hopefully after the government delivers on the promise to engage with the public next year about what is contained in the Barbados Constitution as a prerequisite to reform, civic awareness will be heightened. 

The time must come soon when the Constitution is regarded as a living breathing document to reflect the will and aspirations of Barbadians. One suspects it is only when such a connection is made will apathy and cynicism of Barbadians at the ‘establishment’ be replaced with trust.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the argument there was enough time for this government to have reengaged the public to deflate a narrative which suggest switching out the head of state is about naked political opportunism or laziness on the part of the Mottley government. The old people have a saying that every thing happens for a reason. The irreversible process creates the opportunity for Barbadians to be craftsmen of our fate has started, let us make the most of it.

The first step to usher in an era of citizen engagement by formalizing to a republican system will see the consciousness of Barbadians raised to fight the good fight to sustain a quality way of life for generations to come.

Key points from the blogmaster’s toast to the nation reflecting realistic expectations:

• Relevant transparency laws are proclaimed and operationalized
  • Auditor General reports and recommendations are not ignored
  • NIS and other important SOEs are ring-fenced from political interference 
  • Meaningful reform to the education system i.e. academic, technical
  • Vetoing lip service by respecting the environment i.e. waste management, educating citizens etc
  • Honouring the adage justice delayed is justice denied by improving delivery by Barbados Courts
  • Understanding the Bajan identity and implementing relevant strategies to nurture and grow pride and industry; retaining and repurchasing strategic assets for example
  • Reallocate tourism dollars to support agriculture and entrepreneurship; cottage industries to respond to a market place that prioritizes contractual arrangements above tenure for example 
  • Transform to a model for Renewable Energy in the world by banning the use of fossil fuel to a negligible number to fuel a new economy
  • Democratize the political party system with an objective of luring citizens of integrity to the political arena. Those willing to serve country first
  • Improve public transportation to a standard when vehicular traffic is banish from selected locations
  • Oversee a system of meritocracy (nuture a performance based culture) in Barbados

Members of the BU family are invited to share thoughts on the type of Barbados we must create for our children.

156 responses to “Long Live the Republic!”

1. Follow the Independence ceremony and ushering in of the Republic

2. Cast-off to chasm ?

3. David I don’t know what you are smoking, but whatever it is I want some since it seems to give you such delightful hallucinations..

4. “delightful hallucinations..”

Xxxx

Wild mushroom Spliff’s

5. If we cannot envision it then it will never appear.

6. @ David I will read later.

I have been watching the world class performances for the last couple hours.

The Nicholas Brancker band is awesome.

7. What? Something world class in Barbados?

Boom! The band is awesome. The performers are awesome. The show is awesome.

Boom boom!

8. Parody Boris Johnson
    @BorisJohnson_MP
    ·
    Nov 28
    Don’t worry – if #Omicron spreads we won’t hesitate to implement Plan B.
    Which is basically to wish we’d had a plan A.

9. “Chasm”
    Xxx

As you enter the chasm you will notice that visibility is minimal. You can still move your way around without light unlike the Tomb of the Giants.

If you feel like you have to have more light you can always cast Light or use the Skull lantern from the Tomb of the Giants.

Do not walk straight as you enter the chasm. This looks like the obvious path, but it drops off suddenly in the abyss. Instead, look to your left and begin walking down the trail. Continue in this direction until you come across a gold light. From here you have three direction choices.

The first option is to continue on to the left. Here you will find five enemies. These are the same enemy types you found in Oolacile Township — long armed purple creatures. Lure them one at a time. Be aware of the sorcerer. She will begin casting spells as soon as you lure the first enemy, so pull one and run. After you kill one or two you can hit the sorcerer with range spells or arrows without fear or pulling another enemy. After you killed all of them there will be a soul to claim.

Now head back the way you came. Walk towards the gold light. If you turn to the right there will be an enemy and a soul to claim a little further down the path. That path dead ends. Turn back around and follow the path down with the wall on your left.

As you begin to descend you will notice dozens of black Spirits. You can skip that for now. Keep walking along the path until you reach a narrow crossing over the spirits below. After crossing the bridge you will have a choice to go left or right. Go left and the floor beneath you will disappear dropping you into a new area.

From here you can find the shortcut back up to Royal Wood. Just follow the wall on the left to find the elevator. Keep in mind that with all the bonfires now lit you won’t have much need for this short cut.

10. Hants;
    I concur with your expressed views at 11:03 pm. Awesome, Fantastic, World Class, almost flawless. I first heard Nicholas Branker on Bass in the Cayman Islands 21 years ago. He was world class then. He is even better now.
    I also noted the Honours bestowed on many of the Health professionals involved in the Covid-19 battle, including Col. Bostic. They were fully deserved. The start of our new journey was impressive but if the music can be seen as a token of how we might progress on this new path, we should have no fear of success.

11. @Hants

A first step in a journey.

If yuh proud to be a Bajan, represent!

https://youtu.be/Rk3oTOm9_3Y

12. @Lyall@Donna

All who produced must be congratulated. Was that Dame Sandra shedding a tear when the old colours were removed?

13. @Simple Simon

See Donna’s comment.

We must have a dream that one day …

14. I watched some but my favorite shows were on. I hear now watching the adulterer. I wonder who wrote his speech. not bad at all.

15. Rihanna named to be a national hero. The international newsfeed will be choked.

Oh Mama Mia what have you done!

16. Seems like OSA got the part about the BLP becoming Mia’s plaything, slightly wrong. It appears that Barbados and its people have become her playthings.

🍌

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

The press coverage has been far and wide. Rihanna (we all knew it was coming?) burst it open. The feed is choked. Begging them to save a lil for next mumph when de tourisses looking for a place to go.

18. Positive and Constructive, Constructive Vibe
    God Bless Barbados
    God Bless National Hero Rihanna
    God Bless Pickney
    Barbados Underground has contained a lot of misguided partisan negative argumentative commenting
    Now a new page has been turned may it now become a source of exchange of ideas for positive upliftment
    Up! Up! Up!

19. Weeeeelllll….if Gary could be a national hero for cricket and while still alive, so can Rihanna be a national hero.

The woman has a heart of gold and never never forgets Barbados and Barbadians. Her roots are deeply planted no matter where she goes.

No matter what mistakes she may make in her life, that will never change. So the idea that living people, especially young people should not be made national heroes on those grounds, in my opinion, does not concern me.

20. Open up your spiritual channels with soul songs

Tao Meditation Music for Integrity

21. Pacha….the good news, the people will now have to be SUPER VIGILANT to ensure that they are not subjected to MORE OF THE SAME that they got for half century….by staying ON HIGH ALERT at all times…am sure they are already well prepared….and WATCHING..

22. Jolly good show.
    All the best going forward.
    Hoping you have a day full of sunshine, celebration, love and laughter – a great day.

23. @ David November 30, 2021 12:46 AM
    Rihanna named to be a national hero. The international newsfeed will be choked.
    Oh Mama Mia what have you done!

Empress Mama Mia has heeded sound advice as relayed via BU.

A political masterstroke of Emperor Constantine proportion to ensure her re-election to the throne as the anointed Supreme Leader in whom our Kingmaker friend Tron will be most pleased.

If Sarah Ann Gill (a former slave owner) can be ‘chosen’ as a National Hero why not ‘Yes’ to the elevation of Robin Rihanna Fenty a true daughter of the soil to similar status?

After all, the young Queen of Bim has done more for Barbados than all the others combined with His Most Excellency Garry just a foot step behind.

Isn’t ‘Queen’ Rihanna a true Lady of Action instead of the politicians’ many empty promises full of long talk?

After all, this Bajan Icon has been the most effective marketer of the tourism product and cultural potential of Barbados; and, as an individual, is the biggest earner of foreign exchange for this little rock of imported conspicuous consumption.

24. I take it not everyone is amused or placated.

“In typical power hungry, dictator style mannerisms, Mia has forged ahead with HER objectives regardless of what the people of this nation think. The key to it is to surround yourself with individuals who agree with you completely (despite their own motives) and blot out the naysayers. Those naysayers would be the rest of the nation and by an immense margin, the majority.”

25. The legalization of CORRUPTION, NEPOTISM, GRAFT etc is now in the final stages and leading to FULL DICTATORSHIP. Bring on the sheep to enhance the flock for fleecing. Barbados thinks WHITE SLAVERY STUNK, JUST WAIT TILL THEY GET A TASTE OF BLACK DICTATORIAL SLAVERY.

26. With no protection forthcoming from the ex-monarchy anymore ….THE PEOPLE have the POWER to STOP THEM dead in their tracks and KILL IT BEFORE IT GROWS….

27. @ Miller November 30, 2021 8:06 AM

Yes, indeed, once again a brilliant diversion for the naive masses.

Nevertheless, I am disappointed. At least a bit … How can it be that the true President of our Hearts Mia Mottley is not yet a national hero herself??? I guess the only way I can explain this it is through her legendary modesty.

28. A sweeping wind has blown over Barbados
    instituting and independently free air,
    the people have begun to see their future
    as a people of note and flare.

Drive away the web of empire,
    bring forth a attitude of creation and dreams.
    Let us build a Barbados independent of others needs.
    The British have had their day,
    their institutions helped form us all.
    Open our Barbadian eye’s to it all.

Uniting our region, called the Caribbean way.
    Cannot Barbados lead the way?
    A proud people the Barbadians,
    uniquely in tuned with their fate
    to form a greater regional nation
    beyond their island state.

Barbados is more than what others see,
    not just the sun, beaches and families,
    but a mighty democracy with pride and spunk.
    A Barbadian Nation lead by its people
    towards a bright future among others in need.

Barbados steps forth for all to see.
    a bright sun within the Caribbean Galaxy.
    Shine forth with all your creative genius,
    bring forth the Barbadian Dream.
    That Barbadians has much to show the world
    and bring forth its gentle nationality.

Barbados is the sum total of its people,
    and the Barbadian People you must see,
    for they are about to bring forth a future
    that their multi national archipelago needs.

Barbados Congratulations,
    Barbadians onward to the future please.
    Yours is a land of peaceful elegance,
    walk forward and declare yourself Free.

Steven Kaszab

29. Steupse, white man! You are suggesting that it will we worse than slavery under the white man?

That is the new narrative you are telling?

What evidence do you have to support your racist assertion?

No wonder you can never catch the road runner!

Boo hoo to you AND Richard Hoad and his family who was my classmate!

Now the protest she condemned me for has come to fruition!

Bye bye, LIZZIE!

30. the new fake republic NEEDS SLAVES to survive…open your eyes…

31. Excellent, superb performance by all involved in what i saw last night..I was especially happy to see the hard work of the medical professionals being recognised on such a historic ocassion.In my view they and all of the others honoured are fully deserving of it.The government deserves full credit for having the fortitude for pressing ahead wi5h going republic despite the naysayers like Rev Atherley and the politival nightwatchman Ms Depeiza along with in my view Nuisances on here like Waru and her sidekick TSLN.Those two can take a hike and shove their opinions where the sun don, t shine in my view .I gone.

32. It never ceases to amaze me how some people confidently declare their own opinion to be that of the majority without the taking of even a credible poll.

All this while characterising the duly elected leader who actually has the authority bestowed upon her by the people to make decisions on their behalf as a “Dictator”.

I was never a Mia lover but this is getting ridiculous!

Nothing she has done here is wrong or illegal!

STOP TALKING LOUD AND SAYING NOTHING AND SAVE YOUR VOICE FOR THE CONSTITUTIONAL DEBATE!

P.S. She seems to have been reading the crap about her scarves. The one she wore last night said a VERY BIG, and LOUD,

“TEK DAT!”

Beautiful!

33. President of the Republic of Ghana, Nana Akufo-Addo paid an excellent tribute last night. Let us hope last night’s event serves to inspire Barbadians to reach for the stars. While we thrive to improve our system of government and quality of life we must learn to enjoy the the journey.

34. Perusing those honored , in the Nation this morning, I must say that they truly represent a cross section of the community. I hope this trend continues now that we have finally gotten rid of the “ stuffy” knighthoods etc.
    The Mahogany Coconut Group congratulates Barbados on becoming a Republic.

35. Miller

My comrade in arms!
    We see the national emotional diatribes have also captured and even captivated you.

We see that you have bought into what PLT has appropriately coined as a “respectability” ethos.

Pray tell. If people who run around a cricket ground, Sobers, or make a living through entertainment, Rihanna, as they make significant contributions to national development and culture, are to be deified, what space is left for those who shed blood for freedom from slavery, colonialism and neocolonialism, in the past, in the future. The martyrs of the 1930s rebellions, a long history of rebellions, Bussa!

This writer was there when Beckles conjured the deification of this respectability ethos, now turned into a cottage industry. Where is this national preoccupation evidenced elsewhere?

How do you estimate we reward your daughters when at some time in the future they might have to again take up arms to defeat a benevolent dictator?

Something has always been wrong with this national fixation on honoraria. This writer was against it when first imagined and will remain that way disposed.

36. “along with in my view Nuisances on here like Waru and her sidekick TSLN.”

Slaves don’t have credible views,

intelligent people STAY THE COURSE and are NEVER easily distracted so are therefore NEVER BLINDED……..some of us know what A LONG CON LOOKS LIKE…

37. “Something has always been wrong with this national fixation on honoraria.”

it’s always been a SCAM…then you are BLINDSIDED and never even know it or see it coming

we know the drill….and no bullies can make us accept just anything, i don’t do slavehood, never have, never willl………told them already when my grandchildren ask what was done about it, ….i can have a ready answer…

38. (Quote):
    Bye bye, LIZZIE! (Unquote).

Ditto!

While ‘We’ are at, why not also leave behind the title “Dame” and the wearing of the royal medallion of GCMG with all its racist implications!

Why the need for this remnant of the royal navel string of conquest and subjugation when you are functioning in the new (indigenously independent) role of His /Her Excellency, the Most Hono(u)rable President of RoB?

Since “WE” the republicans are copying the T&T model why not do like ‘their’ first President Ellis Clarke who dropped the “Sir” title and just settled for ‘His Excellency’ while functioning in that office?

Like ex-Pres. Ellis, the option is there to resort to such ‘Royal’ distinction when retirement beckons.

39. I NEVER follow the multitudes to live in man-made hell on earth…

Pacha….they CAN’T get it now, but one day they will…not that i would care even then, not about saving anyone outside of immediate family, already saved myself….and opened thousands of eyes….no need for much more engagement on that front, already leaped forward..

.if they want the answers all they gotta do is read my book OR NOT…more than Enuff people already are….lol

40. Unfortunately for you Waru you have little credibility on this blog in my view.Therefore you might well be a slave like me.Unlike you i do not see myself as a slave as i have all rights and previleges in beautiful Barbados.Therefore go long back to Africa with your bulldhit and take TSLN with you.Bajans ain, t buying what you selling.Happy independece and republic day Barbados.I gone.

41. It was an excellent ceremony, many Bajans the blogmaster has been interacting were touched, some moved to shed a tear. Life is a journey with many stops along the way. We must continue to work to improve our society. There is no perfect society but we must try.

42. @ Pacha
    “ Pray tell. If people who run around a cricket ground, Sobers, ….,,,,,,,,….
    You sound a lot like these jokers who claimed a” anybody can hold a cricket bat.
    To speak so disparagingly about Sir. Garry, will remain the lowest point of any contribution , you have made on this blog or anywhere else.
    It is one thing to be critical of honoria as many including myself are but you certainly have displayed quite a high level of distaste toward one of the most creative, talented and truly genuine human beings to be ever called a Barbadian or a son of the Caribbean soil.
    BTW Sir Garry never run around the cricket field; he transformed it and lifted the hopes and dreams of millions of people who look like you and me. An inspirational leader in the true sense of the world.

43. The speech delivered by Prince Charles was interesting. Look forward in the coming days to analyze the reviews. His involvement in the proceedings lended to a dignified transfer. He could not avoid mentioning the dark period of slavery that has indelibly marked the relation between Big and Little England. Was this message was approved by Boris Johnson, what does it bodes for the future, was it meant to throw a half a biscuit at the reparation crowd.

44. History will one day acknowledge Mia Mottley’s actions as being right.

The Westminster system is dead. Long live our Supreme Leader! I’m already looking forward to seeing the new monument on Heroes’ Square … A monument dedicated to Mia Mottley the Magnificent.

Tomorrow would be the time to finally throw the opposition into an internment camp. We don’t want dissidents and other nuisance in paradise.

Tron, the court reporter
    Day 1 of our New Republic.

45. The blogmaster continues to process the appointment of Rihanna as a national hero. Hopefully in the coming days thoughts will become more clear to post on it.

46. Skinner
    Did Rihanna transform the entertainment stage as well?

And what about the sacred blood which you yourself might have shed for freedom?

And how do you estimate a life using a single data point?

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

God Bless Bim … on Republic Day!

As @LyallS suggested Bajans like Brancker have been world class for many many years now … so as we hail the awesomeness of last night and today let’s recognize all those talents and achievements; may Bajans long continue to excel.

@David, a hearty LOL to ur vision …

I reflect on those pictures of a joyful Errol Barrow [bedecked in tuxedo tails, mind you) on Independence Day 50 plus years ago; we know well of the awesome vision then expressed for our lovely nation. Much has been achieved, much untapped and much more tarnished. So onward to renewed hopes and aspirations … and as you promote: ideally we can ‘redress’ some old ones with this new Republican despatch!

And oh, as I am now past three score I feel a slight ache of that aged body whenever I hear words like “the old people have a saying …”..🙏🏿

Brother David, you must know that these type pithy words are invariably centuries old, soooo whenever we find ourselves saying “old people say” it really means that the speaker is basically an older head too, because they are reflecting on centuries old comments to set up their views , not so!

So just say: wise people say!😂😇🤦🏾‍♂️

I gone…

48. @Dee Word

Societies that dare to ignore the saying or uncomplicated philosophical mouthings of elders do so at its peril. The source of wisdom is mostly found in the wizened folks in our midst, like you…LOL.

Leave a Reply to WURA-War-on-UCancel reply