World is put on high alert over the Omicron coronavirus variant

BIvana Kottasová, CNN

Updated 11:03 PM ET, Sat November 27, 2021

(CNN)As fears mount over the newly identified coronavirus variant Omicron, governments around the world are scrambling to protect their citizens from a potential outbreak. The new mutation, which is potentially more transmissible, was first discovered in South Africa and has since been detected in the United Kingdom, Germany, Israel, Italy, the Czech Republic and Hong Kong.Israel is banning all foreigners from entering the country in response to Omicron fears, authorities announced Saturday. The ban, pending government approval, is expected to last two weeks. Israelis returning from a country on the red list, which includes countries in southern Africa, will be required to isolate for seven days in a designated hotel. 

There are seven suspected cases of the variant in Israel, in addition to one confirmed case found in a person returning from Malawi, its Health Ministry said. 

Read full article

116 responses to “BU COVID 19 DASH – OMICRON VARIANT”

1. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

2. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

3. This was as predictable as the Sun will rise.

Too many countries of the South still have too low vaccination rates. Shot public health systems, awful diets, etc.

And if they, the countries of the North, really thought that vaccines were efficacious they would have freed up patents two years ago.

This is biological warfare. A World War 3 scenario..

4. David

You too are becoming a little dictator as well. We have long been a country imbued with dictatorial impulses.

On the thread about people waking up you just suddenly and unilaterally closed comments in the most authoritarian fashion as this writer tried engaging you.

Does your action, now becoming a more and more often deployed police state tactic, not have implications for your pet peeves of freedom of speech and freedom of expressions, even your governance idealism?

This writer fails to recall this high frequency use of this antidemocratic device before this criminal Mottley regime took over.

Why do you feel such a need to turn your back on long held principles to protect this one party state and dictatorial regime from legitimate interrogations.

If this regime cannot be criticized on matters of republicanism, which nobody voted for, in circumstance where opaqueness, even uncertainty, resides in a constitutional void, when could it be?

People like you so willing to surrender freedom for political security or to gain favour with the regime in a one party state-ism shall have neither, sic.

The Romans use to say ‘eagle lost….all lost”

5. If they were really trying to STOP THE SPREAD OF THE VIRUS….they would STOP THE WORLDWIDE TRAVELLING for at least one year…..and STOP spreading that disease and the many variants on the continent of Afrika….where they go every day and use it as a revolving door.

6. This is a matter we have discussed many times on the blog. It is obvious a few commenters if you read their comments do not appreciate the personal sacrifice the blogmaster makes to keep the blog going. Sometimes you reach the point where enough is enough.

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

It cannot be under control when these people are allowed to TRAVEL EVERYWHERE with their infected selves…

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/this-is-supposed-to-be-under-control/vi-AARdfeY?ocid=msedgntp

There is indeed a very big problem developing, the PEOPLE AGAINST THEIR WILL is pledging allegiance to the CONTINUITY of the same institutions BASED ON THE FOUNDATIONS of Black Afrikan DISEMPOWERMENT and ENSLAVEMENT>..the people better wake up to THIS REALITY really, really fast and DO SOMETHNG ABOUT IT and those keeping these crimes against Black humanity in place…

.Pacha…we can only warn, the rest is up to the people to accept OR REJECT .the direct insult and DISRESPECT..

“In September, the Barbadian Parliament unanimously approved a constitutional reform which will see the nation’s citizens swearing allegiance to their country and the continuity of its institutions rather than the Queen.”

8. Message Testing
    Another Bu issue is Covid threads bring out all the conspiracy theory troll variants

9. So Many different jabs yet multiple variants continue to wreck havoc on the lives of people and world economies
    When will countries roll.out a health plan that is strong and gives preference to how people protect their immune system a necessary and worthwhile plan that would strengthen and protect the body from the devasting attacks of the virus
    It is obvious these viruses would continue to mutate
    However when one wants to fight a war one must be physically as well as mentally prepared
    Vaccines only produced half of the support for a short period
    The immune system nature’s medical source for the maintaining the body health also plays an important role

10. With all the foreign dignitaries in town, King David has curbed nearly all communication on BU. Mia welcomes this move and can parade in her ever growing collection of lurid oversized scarves without fair of interrogation. VIVA LA REPUBLIQUE.

11. Omnicron-Omega-Killer-Mutation is coming!

We need a lockdown for all unvaccinated locals – preferably with neck irons and leg shackles.

12. Another controversy erupts
    Long Live Auntie Mia
    A jab here a jab there a jab at freedom of speech

13. Vaccine makers were fast to identify the variant as a concern. Moderna said the Omicron variant represents a ‘significant potential risk’ to its Covid-19 vaccine.

“The recently described Omicron variant includes mutations seen in the Delta variant that are believed to increase transmissibility and mutations seen in the Beta and Delta variants that are believed to promote immune escape. The combination of mutations represents a significant potential risk to accelerate the waning of natural and vaccine-induced immunity,” Moderna said Friday in a news release.

14. GP ran the blog ragged
    Now two days before celebrating over fifty years of Independence and Barbados becoming Independent
    David curtails Freedom of Speech
    Btw where is John Knox awaiting to here his opinion on this new virus and the possibility of it being in the water across the world

15. If you go to the link I included below, you can read a lengthy, free excerpt/sample from Robert Kennedy Jr.’s newly released book: The Real Anthony Fauci: Bill Gates, Big Pharma, and the Global War on Democracy and Public Health. The free book excerpt goes into detail explaining the shocking (well, shocking to those who are unaware of Pharma’s track record) anti-human, psychopathic behavior of Fauci, Gates and the Pharma Industrial Complex to unfairly and illegitimately discredit repurposed medications, like HCQ, IVM and others, to treat Covid in its early stages, since some doctors had discovered these alternatives were cutting down significantly on the numbers of their own patients that needed hospitalization (or met untimely deaths) after early treatment was offered.

The following sequence of events became an accustomed norm: Person gets symptoms – person goes to hospital ER – ER tests and confirms that he/she has Covid-19 – patient told, as Fauci advised, there were no treatment options available for Coviud-19, so go back home, but if condition worsens to the point where breathing difficulties set in you can come back to ER. From that point, after having difficulty breathing and returning to the ER, the following sequence became a norm: hospitalization – sedation – ventilation – death.

In the meantime, a minority of doctors were working (successfully) to find methods using off patent drugs, blood thinners, nutritional support etc. to treat Covid patients in early stages of the disease, but they were ignored at best, or even well established, reputable MDs found themselves dismissed as charlatans and quacks peddling “snake oil solutions” to an untreatable disease. The Fauci/Gates/Pharma approach was to pronounce that there were no effective treatments available to treat the Covid sickness until the vaccines and the patented anti-viral Remdesevir with its life threatening side effects (e.g. kidney failure) became available, and the medical profession, fortunately with some notable exceptions, fell right in line.

For the Covid-19 vaccines to be released on the public at large, they had to have the approval of an Emergency Use Authorization, as the vaccines had not been put through the standard testing regime required to complete the normal regulatory hurdles to gain approval. If there had been proven treatments that had been judged to work successfully on Covid-19, the EUAs could legally never have been granted to authorize the use of still experimental vaccines before they had completed the full testing regimes, and pharma would lose billions in sales plus perhaps find long term side effects and adverse reactions showing up that could delay even further their access to the market.

Kennedy’s book shows how the off patent medications were discredit in bogus studies that intentionally overdosed subjects with much higher doses than were really necessary to treat their condition, in effect poisoning the subjects, and/or the test drugs were administered only after the subjects’ illness had progressed to the point where it was known the alternative drugs would likely have lost their effectiveness, since they worked best in the early stages of the disease.

Also, both The Lancet and the New England Journal of Medicine published totally bogus, unsupportable papers discrediting HCQ and were forced later into withdrawing the papers, but the illegitimate papers were still effective in chilling the rising interest in using HCQ as a viable treatment option. Once the word went out initially: “Discredited by studies in The Lancet and NEJM”, it quashed rising interest by doctors on the sidelines of the treatment debate at using HCQ or even other alternatives as early treatment options, and when the papers were later withdrawn, the event was just met with a yawn as the damage had been done by the initial publication of illegitimate, unscientific papers in two of the world’s most prestigious, supposedly peer-reviewed, medical journals.

https://read.amazon.com/kp/embed?linkCode=kpd&ref_=k4w_oembed_UiM3lkLlBcfqIN&asin=1510766804&tag=kpembed-20&amazonDeviceType=A2CLFWBIMVSE9N&from=Bookcard&preview=inline&reshareId=KYSQHC6YSCF36CZR3MPE&reshareChannel=system

16. Suffering from Covid overload which has attacked my nervous system causing pain in the a.ss and exhaustion
    For now I exit stage I until when freedom of speech without surveillance is returned to BU
    Have a great day yuh all

17. Little Switzerland is a country often mocked by other European countries. At least they believe in holding referendums which involves the participation of its citizens to engage in domestic politics and the decision making process of that country. Unlike Barbados which has ushered in a soon-to-be Republic minus the involvement of the local population.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/nov/28/tensions-swiss-vote-covid-vaccine-certificate-law

18. Intelligent people have LONG REJECTED fake republic Barbados…..it’s already stillborn.

19. 1/1
    The blogmaster exercised the patience of Job. Some blogs were days past the point of being useful.

20. David you do a great job with the blog allowing people like myself to get away with murder from time to time , so dont listen to the rantings from people that take themselves far to serious. But if I may ask for one small favor if you can stop GP going on about Donnas sexual antics towards him it would be appreciated …. each time he alludes to it my mind conjures up a vision of a bulldog eating custard..

21. David
    This writer is the last one to be so accused of not knowing or not being considerate of your efforts. For the overwhelming number of Bajans are not so inclined.

It must be a labour or love, undying. Indeed, there is a matter yet to be discussed in person when next in your area..

However, these instances of curtailments cannot be justified or batted away based on legal threats, which we know you have had to deal with. Nor unfair criticisms of the party in power.

Indeed, the power relationships in Barbados could not be more deserving of fierce critique, even from DLP yardfowls. And especially at this political juncture. A watershed where everything, it seems, is unfavourable to the regime. Not all of its making, of course.

A regime which OSA warned us about that is recklessly taking the country to perdition or other parts unknown as it gives life to a dangerous personality cultism birthed within a faux respectability ethos.

If BU and you David were not born to be the bulwark against these tendencies then we are all at loss and your pragmatic nationalism replaced by naked BLP dictatorial interests.

May Aset save us all!

22. I was reading where the blogmaster stated comments will be closed within 24 hours for new blogs. Perhaps, he should revised down the time limit.

Lawson: try to submit content without any names. I don’t mind if you call my name in any context, but try.

23. fine… a four legged animal possibly english with white cropped hair sometimes spotted wearing a bowler hat eating custard

24. After Tuesday, like it or not, we will be a ‘Republic’.

I could wait until Tuesday to fully accept the fact, but my opinion does not influence what happens in anyway. As a result, i have accepted it from today.

“God grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
    Courage to change the things I can, and
    Wisdom to know the difference.”

If you want to, you can change ‘God’ to ‘The Creator’ or ‘Could someone’

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Lawson
    the chatter of which you speak was predictive? Here they were lost in the Big-O, and meanwhile another Big-O was raising its head. Why are all these variants named after Greek letters?

26. Theo you are soon to be a republic and the first thing you are going to do is ban people from africa from entering the country. Strange how life goes.

27. NO not sure must be something to do with Hippocrates

28. They had to skip two of then Nu and Xi….lol….one because posters were taking full advantage of reference to NU (new) variants by breaking out every analogy they could think of and the second is so as not to hurt XI’s Chinese feelings……so now we are down to Omnicon.

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

so now we are down to Omnicon…which is actually OMICRON, but the executives at the worlds largest ad company, Omnicom are pulling their hair out

30. Did not research
    Assumed they were naming them alphabetically like how we name hurricane s but was using the Greek alphabet.

For me, Covid is complicated. Lots of time, they are playing catch-up.

31. Actually NO on further thought ..just like today when people encounter a whiny bitch they call her a Karen so you steer clear, but in my day we would call girls pandora to let other guys know you may catch something from her. So I would suggest Pandora’s box let out all the worlds ills may be a strong contender for the greek connection.

32. Putting on my Conspiracy Theory Hat on..

Flashback
    Wheel of Time Cycle

Covid is reminiscent of British & European Colonialism stretching into all parts of the world in
    O Americas North South Middle Caribbean
    O Asia India China and all over
    O Australasia New Zealand Australia
    O Alkebulan Africa
    where genocide was committed on the indigenous peoples who were also infected with viruses to wipe out populations

British English: Colonialism is the practice by which a powerful country directly controls less powerful countries and uses their resources to increase its own power and wealth.

33. A sign of things to come. The alpha gorilla and her henchmen have muzzled King David. We are in a dark place.

Meanwhile, there have been developments in the Solomon’s islands. Its population has grown tired of its corrupt government and the menacing and growing presence of the Chinese on the island. Parallels with Barbados? Anyway, something had to give.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/11/28/riot-hit-solomons-begins-clean-up-as-more-foreign-troops-arrive

34. Vaccine inequity and hesitancy made the Omicron variant more likely, scientists say

https://www.cnn.com/2021/11/28/world/omicron-coronavirus-variant-vaccine-inequity-intl-cmd/index.html

35. Seems more likely they carried their infected selves to the continent and the virus within them MUTATED….

36. China takes over Uganda’s only int’l airport for failing to repay US$207M loan

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2021/11/28/china-takes-over-ugandas-only-intl-airport-for-failing-to-repay-us207m-loan/

37. Violence erupts in Martinique and on Guadeloupe.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/11/28/violence-erupts-martinique/

38. @ WURA-War-on-U,

Our South African friends should have kept their big mouths shut.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/11/28/chaos-among-south-africans-as-flights-halted-amid-covid-surge

39. Universal Healing
    Preempting Revelations One World Government diatribes

One People One World One Love and a Rastafari Nyabinghi World Order must be the new political tribe

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0urR0s1aMP4

40. The PM rocking yet another scarf and looking nice.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/11/28/mottley-bajans-can-walk-chew/

41. No they did the right thing but now the international community has to reward them in the way of millions of vaccinations for being vigilant.

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Closing the comments section after 24 hours guarantees that it will be dominated by those who’s lives are barren enough for them to spend time every day looking at the BU comments sections. Those of us with more active and productive lives will simply have to interject comments like this one which have nothing at all to do with the subject of the post.

43. “Our South African friends should have kept their big mouths shut.”

yep they should have and expelled all the infected tourists which means every one of them, now they are the fall guys because they detected the variant….

44. @ Pachamama November 28, 2021 8:34 AM

“May Aset save us all!”

LoL!
    Shouldn’t that be ‘Mary Mother of Jesus’ a fictitious clone of Horus and worshipped as a god by Georgie Porgie and his ilk?

After all, if the European man had the gall to steal even the religion of the people of Kemet wouldn’t the other ‘cultures’ like medicine be low hanging fruit ripe for the easy picking?

Poor Imhotep must be shaking his rod of Asclepius (that brazen serpent) as Ra, the real Creator of mankind, is about to make HIS annual solar pass through the constellation of Ophiuchus to ‘recognize’ His highest priest and to acknowledge the deification of that polymath of all time.

Maybe Bajans should return to the worship of Zeus or Jupiter instead of Yahweh to save their sorry asses from the coming wrath of RA.

45. @PLT
    I am for and against the limiting of the comments at the same time. Some blog degenerates into nothingness and should be closed instead of being allowed to continue.

This blog started to go off the rails before 24 hours (in fact at blog #20). Banning and censoring should be avoided but appear to be needed and if done they would be a full time job.

If bloggers cannot censor themselves, the blogmaster should act.

46. Keep telling them that RA is in the house and they CANNOT ESCAPE….

47. @peterlawrencethompson November 28, 2021 10:10 AM
    while it may make YOU feel better that you are posting to a thread, where your comment has some relevance, this is not the norm. Many bloggers could care less. They only post on 3 topics anyway, so blast away.
    Often thought the blogmaster could easily have a new thread each day, and interject content feed as he does with many threads anyways. Doubt it would change much.

48. Storm in a teacup!!

49. On a more serious matter …..

Too much faking.

50. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, wha up guy… again I am late to the fray but reading above is rather confusing!

What’s this about closing blog comments after 24 hrs …. particularly after u said a few days ago that you will allow bloggers to post (petty personal gripes, basically) and show everyone their inner character!!

What happened over 24 – 48 hrs to cause u such concern to make that new ruling!

Also as u so ’embarrassingly’ pointed out the fact that mature men and women would have to be ‘moderated’ and cautioned about childish behaviour emphatically explains why our nation is so corrupt of values and moral substance….

It beggars belief that an avowed man of the Bible could be one of the most rankerous, vindictive persons on the blog; or that academically successful folks who enjoyed the peer system to climb their career ladder now find it so ‘uplifting’ to abuse others with such scathing remarks or write some of the most biased, absurd commentary under the guise of their academic expertise.

Yes @David it’s pellucid (excuse the Greek) : how the A-hole can we expect this new generation to be any better when ours are filled with such ‘greatness’ … but brother (French now) WTF does that have to do with managing your blog with this new 24hr curfew!

Oh I dismissed the nonsense from the political ‘poouch lickers’ (as Piece-a-de-rock would call dem in superb Bajan) , re: “For now I exit stage I until when freedom of speech without surveillance is returned to BU”.

One can only hope they truly keep their promise!

I gone … I’ll see if I can slip back before curfew ending.

Be safe.

God Bless Bim on Republic Day.

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply